Screen Gems | Release Date: April 24, 2009
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
23
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JonJun 25, 2010
Chad S, your review is the greatest example of jackin off in front of a mirror I've ever seen. Well done sir Oh yeah, this this film was an abomination.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaikeoMJul 9, 2009
This movie sucked! I had to give it to Idris for his part. When you can predict a movie from the beginning, that movie is done. It did not even had a twist to the plot. This movie should have gone straight to DVD. It wouldn't had been This movie sucked! I had to give it to Idris for his part. When you can predict a movie from the beginning, that movie is done. It did not even had a twist to the plot. This movie should have gone straight to DVD. It wouldn't had been no. 1 if there were some real movie coming out that weekend. It seems like they know when to play something out. Stop making films and sing b/c you are not even good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
shanmApr 25, 2009
Beyonce can not act her way out of a paper bag to save her life!!!!! Weak plot with bad acting. Atleast, Idirs and Ali tried to resurrect the movie but, to no avail. Ali rocked in the movie; good job. However, Beyonce dragged the movie Beyonce can not act her way out of a paper bag to save her life!!!!! Weak plot with bad acting. Atleast, Idirs and Ali tried to resurrect the movie but, to no avail. Ali rocked in the movie; good job. However, Beyonce dragged the movie through the gutters. I don't recall seeing any A-list actors at the premier!!!!! I should have taken that as a sign to stay home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckTApr 25, 2009
Cliches and silliness abound. Starts out ok, albeit with sophomoric, predictable dialogue. Ends with a goofy fight scence that was more comical than climactic. Most troubling part is that the reason for the obsession is never revealed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
kittykatApr 27, 2009
Since this was #1 this weekend is this evidence that people prefer power to equality? What other racial mix would work for this story in our society today? None. Except if all the characters are black. But then the sick mobs would have no Since this was #1 this weekend is this evidence that people prefer power to equality? What other racial mix would work for this story in our society today? None. Except if all the characters are black. But then the sick mobs would have no reason to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
lisabApr 28, 2009
Beyonce cnat act at all ita was like a bad Lifetime with a cheesy fight scene at the end. Beyonce fighting! What a joke! People only want to see it because of her name. This movie is an insult to real actors and a slap in the face for fans Beyonce cnat act at all ita was like a bad Lifetime with a cheesy fight scene at the end. Beyonce fighting! What a joke! People only want to see it because of her name. This movie is an insult to real actors and a slap in the face for fans because she actually thinks that she is famous enough to make a bad movie and no one would notice. She knew people would spend their money! We've been had! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jamiefMay 1, 2009
To kitty kat : why do you white people always have to make everything about race this is a moive review not your soap box to preach your stupid thoughts. You people always complain that blacks always overuse the race card but people like you To kitty kat : why do you white people always have to make everything about race this is a moive review not your soap box to preach your stupid thoughts. You people always complain that blacks always overuse the race card but people like you are the reason they do. So next time you want to comment just remember no one cares about your stupid opinion being a white woman I know you think you know everything and are better than everyone else but let me tell you your stupid opinion is just that YOUR stupid opinion. My rating is for you and not this movie (we all know it's crap). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mikebMay 2, 2009
When will directors understand if a movie does not have humor, thrill,drama, nudity, a shocking twist to it or an attempt to give its audience some goosebumps, then it will fail miserably. You can project exactly what was going to happen at When will directors understand if a movie does not have humor, thrill,drama, nudity, a shocking twist to it or an attempt to give its audience some goosebumps, then it will fail miserably. You can project exactly what was going to happen at the end from watching the beginning. This movie is more of a comedy then anything else!! good actors, written badly, They could have been way more creative!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArthurC.Jun 2, 2009
If you have a catfight scene where one of the women is dressed in only a t-shirt and panties, and I'm not interested: Epic Fail! The characters are so by the book that Beyonce has better character depth in her Nintendo DS commercials. If you have a catfight scene where one of the women is dressed in only a t-shirt and panties, and I'm not interested: Epic Fail! The characters are so by the book that Beyonce has better character depth in her Nintendo DS commercials. And the plot is so ludicrous that it hurts. After the umpteenth time that Idris reminds Beyonce to set the alarm, you know exactly what she's about to forget to do. If you are going to be predictable with the plot, at least, give me something...anything...interesting. I long for the old days when character and story was more interesting than beautiful people just redoing an old story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
johnjSep 2, 2009
Don't waste your time.. You could see the ending coming from the 1st two minutes of the move. Wow Beyonce' gets pissed.. who would have thought?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CherieCDec 27, 2009
Beyonce was terrible, how the hell you going to have a full out fight in 5 inch heels. This was straight BS. Bey needs to stick to singing, this movie thing is not for her. I didn't pay at the theater, I waited till it came to saty. Bey Beyonce was terrible, how the hell you going to have a full out fight in 5 inch heels. This was straight BS. Bey needs to stick to singing, this movie thing is not for her. I didn't pay at the theater, I waited till it came to saty. Bey is terrible actress. Sorry! But the chick from the Game she was very good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadSApr 24, 2009
Lisa(Ali Larter) covets what Sharon(Beyonce Knowles) has. Inside the black couple's home, we see a close-up of the white woman's hand touching their belongings with a sense of proprietorship. The delusional siren brings into bed a Lisa(Ali Larter) covets what Sharon(Beyonce Knowles) has. Inside the black couple's home, we see a close-up of the white woman's hand touching their belongings with a sense of proprietorship. The delusional siren brings into bed a champagne bottle and two flutes. To complete her fantasy of romance with Sharon's husband, she sprinkles rose petals on their marital bed. In John Singleton's "Rosewood", the impoverished Caucasians wonder aloud as to why the homeowning "Negroes" have pianos, and they don't. While the catfight in "Obsessed" is terrific fun, the presence of rose petals(a partial signifier from the 1997 movie that told the story about a community of well-to-do ex-slaves) calls attention to the historicism that exists whenever people from both ethnic groups engage in violence. Like the impoverished Caucasians in "Rosewood", Lisa has no qualms about taking what she feels is rightfully hers. "Obsessed" reverses the inroads that Sanaa Hanri's "Something New" made in normalizing the filmic image of upper-middle class blacks. Instead of burning crosses, the only thing that burns in "Obsessed" is the "For Sale" sign which Sharon and her husband Derek(Idris Elbra), a successful corporate businessman, use as kindling for their fireplace, at the film's outset. Since African-Americans are often confined to the margins of society on film, "Obsessed" unintentionally(to be fair) carries a latent racism in the fact that their historical nemesis(represented here by Lisa) attempts to take everything away from them, out of jealousy. While her ancestors waged war with the ex-slaves, Lisa wages war with Sharon, so she too can make beautiful music, and not from just a mere piano, but with the piano player himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
iamtrent424Feb 17, 2011
horrible movie; this story could have been way better. They did a horrible job with the script . If you expected to watch a thriller movie don't watch this movie. it just so bad. It gets worst and worst . This is beyonce worst movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AI88Nov 27, 2010
One of the worst movies ever made. I wish I could give this rotten pile of excrement a negative 1000000000 as a score. This movie is pure filth and the people responsible should be punished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PYRiAHDec 12, 2010
Wow. Thatâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JbrizzyJan 15, 2012
THIS movie had sooooooooo much potential, but i hate to say it but Beyonce really ruined this movie for me. Singers becoming actors just doesn't work, i mean look at Mariah Carey and Chris Brown. They really shoulda casted Taraji .P. HensonTHIS movie had sooooooooo much potential, but i hate to say it but Beyonce really ruined this movie for me. Singers becoming actors just doesn't work, i mean look at Mariah Carey and Chris Brown. They really shoulda casted Taraji .P. Henson for Beyonce's role. She woulda gave that character some life. Idris and Ali Larter were good and their roles but they shoulda expanded more on why she was OBSSESSED with him to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews