Screen Gems | Release Date: April 24, 2009
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
23
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
csw12Feb 17, 2015
The movie is filled with cliches all over the place and yet still can be entertaining at times because of the somewhat intense scene setups. Beyonce is embarrassing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
rainsargeDec 5, 2013
I love Ali Larter Beyonce and Idris Alba each is convincing in their individual parts so if you are a fan watch it. But as a movie it never takes it to the next level or goes into the grey area. Each actor plays their stock character well butI love Ali Larter Beyonce and Idris Alba each is convincing in their individual parts so if you are a fan watch it. But as a movie it never takes it to the next level or goes into the grey area. Each actor plays their stock character well but the story never explores anyone back story nobody has a skeletons no plot twists nothing. Ali does a great jobs as one of America most underexposed actresses Beyonce and Alba were good but it was just so flat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SarahMichelleNov 18, 2013
Ali Larter was good but the movie fails to give heat or tention or even be a thriller. Not even as trilling as the movies they play on lifetime or LMN. But otherwise this is an alright movie. I'm not saying it is terrible but it should haveAli Larter was good but the movie fails to give heat or tention or even be a thriller. Not even as trilling as the movies they play on lifetime or LMN. But otherwise this is an alright movie. I'm not saying it is terrible but it should have been better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989May 3, 2013
I'll admit that I probably like this film more for the fact that it has Beyoncé playing a badass black woman trying to get her revenge, but overall it's quite an entertaining and thrilling film. Props to the two leading ladies as well asI'll admit that I probably like this film more for the fact that it has Beyoncé playing a badass black woman trying to get her revenge, but overall it's quite an entertaining and thrilling film. Props to the two leading ladies as well as Idris Elba who is between them. It's a type of film that has been done before, but I personally don't think this well. It didn't get the best of reviews, but I quite liked it right to the very end with that rather forceful girl-on-girl fight! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
It kills me to say that this movie wasn't all that bad. It was pretty damn tense. It might have been unintentionally funny at times, but it was still creepy. The main girl was a total psycho.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JbrizzyJan 15, 2012
THIS movie had sooooooooo much potential, but i hate to say it but Beyonce really ruined this movie for me. Singers becoming actors just doesn't work, i mean look at Mariah Carey and Chris Brown. They really shoulda casted Taraji .P. HensonTHIS movie had sooooooooo much potential, but i hate to say it but Beyonce really ruined this movie for me. Singers becoming actors just doesn't work, i mean look at Mariah Carey and Chris Brown. They really shoulda casted Taraji .P. Henson for Beyonce's role. She woulda gave that character some life. Idris and Ali Larter were good and their roles but they shoulda expanded more on why she was OBSSESSED with him to begin with. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Well, the movie has two amazing woman, Beyoncé and Ali Larter. Beyoncé's performance really surprised me and Ali's was good as always. I didn't think the movie is great, screenplay wasn't original, I already had seenWell, the movie has two amazing woman, Beyoncé and Ali Larter. Beyoncé's performance really surprised me and Ali's was good as always. I didn't think the movie is great, screenplay wasn't original, I already had seen many movies like this but I enjoyed a lot the fight at the end. It's a decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
iamtrent424Feb 17, 2011
horrible movie; this story could have been way better. They did a horrible job with the script . If you expected to watch a thriller movie don't watch this movie. it just so bad. It gets worst and worst . This is beyonce worst movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PYRiAHDec 12, 2010
Wow. Thatâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AI88Nov 27, 2010
One of the worst movies ever made. I wish I could give this rotten pile of excrement a negative 1000000000 as a score. This movie is pure filth and the people responsible should be punished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JonJun 25, 2010
Chad S, your review is the greatest example of jackin off in front of a mirror I've ever seen. Well done sir Oh yeah, this this film was an abomination.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MadHouseFeb 1, 2010
The Movie Obsessed is Flawed in more ways than 1, & I cant even put my finger on most. Its predictability is probably #1, & Beys acting in this movie was more so hit & miss & thats kinda due to bad direction from the directer, they get so The Movie Obsessed is Flawed in more ways than 1, & I cant even put my finger on most. Its predictability is probably #1, & Beys acting in this movie was more so hit & miss & thats kinda due to bad direction from the directer, they get so happy that she agreed to do the movie that they forget to Critique what needs to be critiqued like for instance, The scene where Bey calls Lisa & leaves a message & then walks over to see how to use the burglary alarm. Oh God, I CRINGE JUST THINKING ABOUT IT... Yes, Visually this movie is Superb but would any1 want to see it more than once? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CherieCDec 27, 2009
Beyonce was terrible, how the hell you going to have a full out fight in 5 inch heels. This was straight BS. Bey needs to stick to singing, this movie thing is not for her. I didn't pay at the theater, I waited till it came to saty. Bey Beyonce was terrible, how the hell you going to have a full out fight in 5 inch heels. This was straight BS. Bey needs to stick to singing, this movie thing is not for her. I didn't pay at the theater, I waited till it came to saty. Bey is terrible actress. Sorry! But the chick from the Game she was very good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
johnjSep 2, 2009
Don't waste your time.. You could see the ending coming from the 1st two minutes of the move. Wow Beyonce' gets pissed.. who would have thought?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHJul 30, 2009
Granted, the story is all too familiar, and a bit far fetched, but I was never bored for a minute. Fast pace, interesting. The performances were fine, good editing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WlaterSJul 13, 2009
I found this Movie to Be Very Entertaining!!! Though the Trailer did basically give the movie away!! my only problem was Beyonce's acting it seemed better in other movies that she made besides that awesome.. Love Ali Larter she is a I found this Movie to Be Very Entertaining!!! Though the Trailer did basically give the movie away!! my only problem was Beyonce's acting it seemed better in other movies that she made besides that awesome.. Love Ali Larter she is a spectacular Actress and Does an Obsessed very Good!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaikeoMJul 9, 2009
This movie sucked! I had to give it to Idris for his part. When you can predict a movie from the beginning, that movie is done. It did not even had a twist to the plot. This movie should have gone straight to DVD. It wouldn't had been This movie sucked! I had to give it to Idris for his part. When you can predict a movie from the beginning, that movie is done. It did not even had a twist to the plot. This movie should have gone straight to DVD. It wouldn't had been no. 1 if there were some real movie coming out that weekend. It seems like they know when to play something out. Stop making films and sing b/c you are not even good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrentPJun 16, 2009
Not original, but visually pleasing. It's filmed very well, but the story is lackluster. The ending is sort-of anti-climactic. Beyonce will need to step it up to get the Oscar gold she covets so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArthurC.Jun 2, 2009
If you have a catfight scene where one of the women is dressed in only a t-shirt and panties, and I'm not interested: Epic Fail! The characters are so by the book that Beyonce has better character depth in her Nintendo DS commercials. If you have a catfight scene where one of the women is dressed in only a t-shirt and panties, and I'm not interested: Epic Fail! The characters are so by the book that Beyonce has better character depth in her Nintendo DS commercials. And the plot is so ludicrous that it hurts. After the umpteenth time that Idris reminds Beyonce to set the alarm, you know exactly what she's about to forget to do. If you are going to be predictable with the plot, at least, give me something...anything...interesting. I long for the old days when character and story was more interesting than beautiful people just redoing an old story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
kennybMay 26, 2009
Well i wouldn't say this film was bad but their was lack of action. Only at the ending you get a treat but really the dioluge sometimes don't even really go good together. Feels really long and boring and you don't even you Well i wouldn't say this film was bad but their was lack of action. Only at the ending you get a treat but really the dioluge sometimes don't even really go good together. Feels really long and boring and you don't even you forget why their their. a couple stupid scenes in it. I would of gave it a 4 out of 10 but it started to get intense and interesting near the ending. so a 6/10 Who's the single ladies now ali larter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BGoreMay 10, 2009
It held my interest, had good acting and was an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LawrenceTMay 5, 2009
I have seen this movie before and poor acting and the actors get tired. I will give this film overwhelming negative reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mikebMay 2, 2009
When will directors understand if a movie does not have humor, thrill,drama, nudity, a shocking twist to it or an attempt to give its audience some goosebumps, then it will fail miserably. You can project exactly what was going to happen at When will directors understand if a movie does not have humor, thrill,drama, nudity, a shocking twist to it or an attempt to give its audience some goosebumps, then it will fail miserably. You can project exactly what was going to happen at the end from watching the beginning. This movie is more of a comedy then anything else!! good actors, written badly, They could have been way more creative!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferMay 2, 2009
I actually found the movie entertaining. What I would give a low score, something around a 3, was Beyonce's acting. It took away from the movie and was a complete distraction. You could see her thinking every step, every word, there was I actually found the movie entertaining. What I would give a low score, something around a 3, was Beyonce's acting. It took away from the movie and was a complete distraction. You could see her thinking every step, every word, there was nothing natural about it. The movie is a Fatal Attraction remake and nothing compares to the performances in that film, not sure why anyone would even try. For the time I was in the theater I was completely involved in the movie, partly because of the story line, partly because of the other two leading actors, and partly because Beyonce's acting was so laughable. While the movie will not land in the top 100 movies or top 500 movies of all time, it is entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jamiefMay 1, 2009
To kitty kat : why do you white people always have to make everything about race this is a moive review not your soap box to preach your stupid thoughts. You people always complain that blacks always overuse the race card but people like you To kitty kat : why do you white people always have to make everything about race this is a moive review not your soap box to preach your stupid thoughts. You people always complain that blacks always overuse the race card but people like you are the reason they do. So next time you want to comment just remember no one cares about your stupid opinion being a white woman I know you think you know everything and are better than everyone else but let me tell you your stupid opinion is just that YOUR stupid opinion. My rating is for you and not this movie (we all know it's crap). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RickSMay 1, 2009
What in the hell is Kitty Kat talking about, i could see this movie with a host of different races, indian guy, crazy asian girl, white guy,crazy hispanic girl. Hell it might have even been better if that was the case. The movie is ok, it What in the hell is Kitty Kat talking about, i could see this movie with a host of different races, indian guy, crazy asian girl, white guy,crazy hispanic girl. Hell it might have even been better if that was the case. The movie is ok, it really is stale if it's trying to go for something racial here, the critics are dil holes, Stephen Holden what! OJ Simpson, Nicole Brown,what were you smoking when you watched this movie, it's just a kinda bad sorta good cable movie, thats all. If you have a girlfriend/wife chances are she like DRAMA, this is a movie for that, and only that. Guys like whating sh** blow up, well women like drama, if any of the critics knew that, they would not be critics! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexHApr 30, 2009
I'm not going to say this movie was well casted, because it wasn't really, but "Obsessed" definitely proves to be a enjoyable movie. Ali Larter also proves that she can be probably the most annoying and aggravating character I have I'm not going to say this movie was well casted, because it wasn't really, but "Obsessed" definitely proves to be a enjoyable movie. Ali Larter also proves that she can be probably the most annoying and aggravating character I have probably ever seen in a movie, makes you want to go up to the screen and do something to stop her from stalking Idris Elba, who I personally thought gave a great performance just like Mr. Jerry O'Connel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RickyQ.Apr 29, 2009
Is it cheesy? Yes. Predictable? Yes. Plausible? Not really. But what matters most is that it's much better than you would think. Sure, no one will be getting an Oscar for this film, but it is a fun thriller that is bigger on corny Is it cheesy? Yes. Predictable? Yes. Plausible? Not really. But what matters most is that it's much better than you would think. Sure, no one will be getting an Oscar for this film, but it is a fun thriller that is bigger on corny laughs than action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
lisabApr 28, 2009
Beyonce cnat act at all ita was like a bad Lifetime with a cheesy fight scene at the end. Beyonce fighting! What a joke! People only want to see it because of her name. This movie is an insult to real actors and a slap in the face for fans Beyonce cnat act at all ita was like a bad Lifetime with a cheesy fight scene at the end. Beyonce fighting! What a joke! People only want to see it because of her name. This movie is an insult to real actors and a slap in the face for fans because she actually thinks that she is famous enough to make a bad movie and no one would notice. She knew people would spend their money! We've been had! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
kgmApr 27, 2009
Despite the many flaws in this movie and its
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
kittykatApr 27, 2009
Since this was #1 this weekend is this evidence that people prefer power to equality? What other racial mix would work for this story in our society today? None. Except if all the characters are black. But then the sick mobs would have no Since this was #1 this weekend is this evidence that people prefer power to equality? What other racial mix would work for this story in our society today? None. Except if all the characters are black. But then the sick mobs would have no reason to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KayKApr 27, 2009
Predictable, but overall entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tabathafApr 26, 2009
Beyonce definitely did her thing. i was convinced of her character. there was no singing. this is the best movie performance for her yet. the white girl also was great. she really did her thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomLApr 26, 2009
More entertaining than most critics would have you believe. It's the kind of film that needs to be accepted on its own terms. I don't think anyone is aiming at high art here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarieJApr 26, 2009
I thought this movie was actually pretty good. It's the best performance I have seen Beyonce do especially becase she is not singing. Even though the plot was pretty predictable it gives the audience a chance to see how far she can go I thought this movie was actually pretty good. It's the best performance I have seen Beyonce do especially becase she is not singing. Even though the plot was pretty predictable it gives the audience a chance to see how far she can go when she acts. Also Idris Elba did an amazing job and so did Ali Larter. Kudos to them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
blackpApr 25, 2009
Now i understand why there's so much porn.Because white males loves having two faces.And lie to there mates,Finally a movie with some common sense.If you lie there's a price to pay.Great movie period,maybe white women will wake the Now i understand why there's so much porn.Because white males loves having two faces.And lie to there mates,Finally a movie with some common sense.If you lie there's a price to pay.Great movie period,maybe white women will wake the hell up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaraBApr 25, 2009
The overall movie is meant for pure entertainment, not to go down in AFI's best features of the year. It seems like two movies however, a somewhat Tyler Perry-esque feature about the struggles of a seemingly perfect marraige and a The overall movie is meant for pure entertainment, not to go down in AFI's best features of the year. It seems like two movies however, a somewhat Tyler Perry-esque feature about the struggles of a seemingly perfect marraige and a homage to Fatal Attraction (sans boiling bunnies) Ali Larter does an ok job, but the plot wasn't thrilling enough. However, I'm sure fans will appreciate the over-the-top fight sequence between her and Beyonce. The acting overall is solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
shanmApr 25, 2009
Beyonce can not act her way out of a paper bag to save her life!!!!! Weak plot with bad acting. Atleast, Idirs and Ali tried to resurrect the movie but, to no avail. Ali rocked in the movie; good job. However, Beyonce dragged the movie Beyonce can not act her way out of a paper bag to save her life!!!!! Weak plot with bad acting. Atleast, Idirs and Ali tried to resurrect the movie but, to no avail. Ali rocked in the movie; good job. However, Beyonce dragged the movie through the gutters. I don't recall seeing any A-list actors at the premier!!!!! I should have taken that as a sign to stay home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckTApr 25, 2009
Cliches and silliness abound. Starts out ok, albeit with sophomoric, predictable dialogue. Ends with a goofy fight scence that was more comical than climactic. Most troubling part is that the reason for the obsession is never revealed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadSApr 24, 2009
Lisa(Ali Larter) covets what Sharon(Beyonce Knowles) has. Inside the black couple's home, we see a close-up of the white woman's hand touching their belongings with a sense of proprietorship. The delusional siren brings into bed a Lisa(Ali Larter) covets what Sharon(Beyonce Knowles) has. Inside the black couple's home, we see a close-up of the white woman's hand touching their belongings with a sense of proprietorship. The delusional siren brings into bed a champagne bottle and two flutes. To complete her fantasy of romance with Sharon's husband, she sprinkles rose petals on their marital bed. In John Singleton's "Rosewood", the impoverished Caucasians wonder aloud as to why the homeowning "Negroes" have pianos, and they don't. While the catfight in "Obsessed" is terrific fun, the presence of rose petals(a partial signifier from the 1997 movie that told the story about a community of well-to-do ex-slaves) calls attention to the historicism that exists whenever people from both ethnic groups engage in violence. Like the impoverished Caucasians in "Rosewood", Lisa has no qualms about taking what she feels is rightfully hers. "Obsessed" reverses the inroads that Sanaa Hanri's "Something New" made in normalizing the filmic image of upper-middle class blacks. Instead of burning crosses, the only thing that burns in "Obsessed" is the "For Sale" sign which Sharon and her husband Derek(Idris Elbra), a successful corporate businessman, use as kindling for their fireplace, at the film's outset. Since African-Americans are often confined to the margins of society on film, "Obsessed" unintentionally(to be fair) carries a latent racism in the fact that their historical nemesis(represented here by Lisa) attempts to take everything away from them, out of jealousy. While her ancestors waged war with the ex-slaves, Lisa wages war with Sharon, so she too can make beautiful music, and not from just a mere piano, but with the piano player himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TedMApr 24, 2009
I enjoyed it. Beyonce did a good job. Ali is the bomb. Can hardly wait for the DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheoWApr 24, 2009
I saw this movie as soon as it came out! OMG, it is so good. I won't spoil it for others since it is so early in the day, but let's just say there is a twist that no one saw coming! Beyonce did a great job, so did Ali and Idris is I saw this movie as soon as it came out! OMG, it is so good. I won't spoil it for others since it is so early in the day, but let's just say there is a twist that no one saw coming! Beyonce did a great job, so did Ali and Idris is always doing well! It is a MUST see....It's like a Fatal Attraction...but twisted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful