• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: For aspiring comedian Donna Stern (Jenny Slate), everyday life as a female twenty-something provides ample material for her incredibly relatable brand of humor. On stage, Donna is unapologetically herself, joking about topics as intimate as her sex life and as crude as her day-old underwear.For aspiring comedian Donna Stern (Jenny Slate), everyday life as a female twenty-something provides ample material for her incredibly relatable brand of humor. On stage, Donna is unapologetically herself, joking about topics as intimate as her sex life and as crude as her day-old underwear. But when Donna gets dumped, loses her job, and finds herself pregnant just in time for Valentine’s Day, she has to navigate the murky waters of independent adulthood for the first time. As she grapples with an uncertain financial future, an unwanted pregnancy, and a surprising new suitor, Donna begins to discover that the most terrifying thing about adulthood isn’t facing it all on her own. It’s allowing herself to accept the support and love of others. And be truly vulnerable. Never failing to find the comedy and humanity in each awkward situation she encounters, Donna finds out along the way what it means to be as brave in life as she is on stage. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alonso Duralde
    Jun 5, 2014
    92
    The only agenda of this scruffy and urbane comedy, about a young comic contemplating abortion, is to be true and funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 12, 2014
    88
    There are as many awkward, discomfiting sequences in Obvious Child as there are interludes of genuine fun and romance. The result is a movie that feels risky and forgiving and, despite its traditional rom-com contours, refreshingly new.
  3. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Jun 3, 2014
    80
    Despite its attention-grabbing logline and gleeful embrace of raunchy, frequently scatological humor, Obvious Child is at heart a well-realized, straight-ahead rom-com, one with the potential to reinvigorate a genre that’s been flagging for decades.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Frankl
    Sep 22, 2014
    80
    This is a film of ideas, but it's a comedy first, and its boldness is that it doesn't aim to address a pro-choice or pro-life stance - it's about Donna just getting on with it all the same.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Obvious Child is a romcom with a sting in its tail. And Slate is a dynamo, nailing every laugh while showing a true actor's gift for nuance.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 26, 2014
    75
    Sorry, partisans, but there’s nothing obvious about Obvious Child.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 4, 2014
    38
    No, this film by director/co-writer Gillian Robespierre just isn’t funny, and the mismatched leads aren’t even interesting together.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Wow. So honest. So funny. I'm so glad I saw it. Not like any rom com I've ever seen (including indies). Jenny Slate is a great greatWow. So honest. So funny. I'm so glad I saw it. Not like any rom com I've ever seen (including indies). Jenny Slate is a great great talent. The rest of the cast is perfect. I hope lots of people get to see it. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Jenny Slate is a revelation. I can't wait to see what she does next. This movie's topic may rile some moviegoers but it really shouldn't. I'mJenny Slate is a revelation. I can't wait to see what she does next. This movie's topic may rile some moviegoers but it really shouldn't. I'm surprised that more standup comedians don't venture out to do this sort of movie more often. Come to think of it I would love to see Louis CK do this type of movie even though his TV show is essentially that. Collapse
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    Fantastic movie. Jenny Slate is going to be a huge star. She's funny as hell, but not in an obnoxious way. Entirely sympathetic in herFantastic movie. Jenny Slate is going to be a huge star. She's funny as hell, but not in an obnoxious way. Entirely sympathetic in her approach. And immensely likable. The story is a classic choice for a good modern comedian. It's handled with care and a degree of class, yet it's riddled with very funny low-brow humor. Great supporting cast with Cross and Hoffman. See it. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2014
    7
    Through the eyes of Obvious Child, Jenny Slate reveals herself as a dominating force in comedy as well as meaningful drama. There are ideasThrough the eyes of Obvious Child, Jenny Slate reveals herself as a dominating force in comedy as well as meaningful drama. There are ideas and moments--just like life. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    5
    A fine showcase for the standup comedy of Jenny Slate and an entertaining vehicle for a cast of colorful supporting characters -- but not muchA fine showcase for the standup comedy of Jenny Slate and an entertaining vehicle for a cast of colorful supporting characters -- but not much else. The thin, unimpressive script always feels like it's leading somewhere but never arrives at a recognizable destination. Watch the trailer, and you'll pretty much see what this underwhelming offering is all about. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    3
    i really wanted to like this. i liked parts of it. the trope of the brooklyn almost-30-person-who's-still-a-child is played out. everythingi really wanted to like this. i liked parts of it. the trope of the brooklyn almost-30-person-who's-still-a-child is played out. everything that donna had to say was clever and funny, but, really, who talks like that all the time? and, of course, she doesn't have anything resembling a real job. the ultimate goy boyfriend was annoying. as were the coincidences. worth watching for jenny slate. hope she graduates to a better role next time. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. The main character is a female comic who simply isn't funny. The film is dull and plodding andThis is the worst movie I have ever seen. The main character is a female comic who simply isn't funny. The film is dull and plodding and filled with potty humor and jokes about abortion. It ends with a thud. 90 minutes of my life I will never get back. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.