User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 216
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    3
    Ocean's Twelve replaces the fun, simple plot of its predecessor with less wit and humour and a densely complex plot which confuses, rather than entertain.
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    The movie was fluent as ever, the characters all but themselves - which awokes more humour than in some other cases. Yet the sequel lacks the imagination and surprising element we had in "Ocean's Eleven".

    But I have to admit, as much as I dislike Julia Roberts, her part playing "herself" was hilarious.

    Even if not as good as the first part, still a good watch.
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    Much of the zeal of the original is lost; however, there's still plenty of fun here... especially surrounding Julia Roberts and the recent addition of Catherine Zeta-Jones.
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Personally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable, sufficiently complex and full of twists. I suspect that people who are complaining that it's "too complicated" are not among the smart ones. I would also like to point out that the soundtrack is as great as in the original, the antagonist is awesomePersonally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable, sufficiently complex and full of twists. I suspect that people who are complaining that it's "too complicated" are not among the smart ones. I would also like to point out that the soundtrack is as great as in the original, the antagonist is awesome and Catherine Zeta-Jones looks absolutely ravishing in this, a real joy to watch (unlike Julia Roberts). The only minor fault I see here is that the focus in the script switches a bit too much to Pitt, Clooney and Damon, not leaving the others too much screen time. Still, I highly enjoyed Ocean's Twelve and strongly disagree with ones saying that this is "terrible", "worst part of the trilogy", etc. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2014
    6
    Ocean's Twelve is the weakest in the series, but nonetheless entertaining. The action and thrills are more dull than sharp, but it gets the job done in the end.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    6
    Feels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuation from Oceans eleven. It's like twelve was one too many, but like I said it's a baconater: a little messier, greasier and floppier. But (there's always a 'but' in a 6/10 rating) even though I was kind of confused with the narrative at times Ocean's TwelveFeels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuation from Oceans eleven. It's like twelve was one too many, but like I said it's a baconater: a little messier, greasier and floppier. But (there's always a 'but' in a 6/10 rating) even though I was kind of confused with the narrative at times Ocean's Twelve is still cool and like Wendy's, even though it's not good for you at all you still go back, even more so than that fancy restaurant. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    Ocean's Twelve replaces the fun, simple plot of its predecessor with less wit and humour and a densely complex plot which confuses, rather than entertain.
  8. Jul 23, 2013
    3
    Ocean's Twelve gives ammunition to those who are against the concept of sequels. It started out ridiculous, dragged quite a bit, became mildly interesting, became even more ridiculous, then was stupid, and then finally even more ridiculous. The acting was once again fantastic but outside of a few main characters, none of the side characters seemed to get any further development or decentOcean's Twelve gives ammunition to those who are against the concept of sequels. It started out ridiculous, dragged quite a bit, became mildly interesting, became even more ridiculous, then was stupid, and then finally even more ridiculous. The acting was once again fantastic but outside of a few main characters, none of the side characters seemed to get any further development or decent screen time. Bernie Mac and Don Cheadle especially seemed like almost wasted roles because they were both so underutilized. Yes, George Clooney and Brad Pitt got more screen time and Catherine Zeta-Jones got quite a bit as well but still, it felt like the great cast just wasn't used properly. The writing was the worst part though. It's almost like they said "hey, let's make a movie and then if the ending doesn't work, let's just make some stupid stuff up and if it doesn't really make sense or seem plausible, who cares, at least we get the ending we want." Expand
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    Same as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previous movie required suspension of disbelief, but it was tolerable). The whole Julia Robert playing the alter ego of Julia Roberts was pointless, and the Catherine Zeta-Jones subplot was too simplified... The director tried too hard to be "stylish" and theSame as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previous movie required suspension of disbelief, but it was tolerable). The whole Julia Robert playing the alter ego of Julia Roberts was pointless, and the Catherine Zeta-Jones subplot was too simplified... The director tried too hard to be "stylish" and the music and editing felt heavy handed. Overall the movie was decent, but nothing outstanding. Expand
  10. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    A sequel with little action that fails the first part, but it's still good.
  11. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    The fun in Ocean's Twelve does not lie with the absurdly over-the-top plot, but what happens in between. Twelve isn't the easy going heist movie, with razor-sharp wit and dialog, that made Eleven one of the most enjoyable films of 2001. I was really disappointed with Ocean's Twelve when leaving the theater on opening night, but after re-watching it several times, I've grown to realize justThe fun in Ocean's Twelve does not lie with the absurdly over-the-top plot, but what happens in between. Twelve isn't the easy going heist movie, with razor-sharp wit and dialog, that made Eleven one of the most enjoyable films of 2001. I was really disappointed with Ocean's Twelve when leaving the theater on opening night, but after re-watching it several times, I've grown to realize just how much fun it can be once you look past the plot, and enjoy a bunch of excellent actors simply enjoying themselves on screen. And that's what it comes down to for Twelve: shutting your brain off and just having fun with Clooney & Pals. Expand
  12. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    Ocean's Twelve has lost the main thing that made its predecessor a fun diversion - pace. In this sequel, nothing happens, and it happens slowly - it's only in the last fifteen minutes or so that anything makes you sit up and pay attention. The returning characters are still pretty dull and under-developed, and the new ones are uninspired. The script isn't by any means awful, andOcean's Twelve has lost the main thing that made its predecessor a fun diversion - pace. In this sequel, nothing happens, and it happens slowly - it's only in the last fifteen minutes or so that anything makes you sit up and pay attention. The returning characters are still pretty dull and under-developed, and the new ones are uninspired. The script isn't by any means awful, and stylistically the film is polished, but this doesn't make the film entertaining enough overall. The best part of the whole film is Don Cheadle saying in his cringe-inducing mockney drawl "the accent is crucial - the first thing people notice is the accent", and I sincerely hope this was a bit of self-deprecating humour on the script writer's part. In the end though, chief among Ocean's Twelve's crimes is not that it's boring, or empty, or even that the actors appear to be doing it purely for the money, it's that it is unashamedly smug. Expand
  13. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    The story has become overly complex followed by trivial humor that was not necessary. Makes me remind myself if the director was the same guy that made 'Sex, Lies, and Videotape' and 'Traffic'.
  14. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This movie has a interesting plot but it's very difficult to understand if you watch it for the first time. It definitely helps to watch Ocean's Eleven first.
    The actors are succesful in bringing you the characters closer.
  15. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Until the last 15 minutes or so, "Ocean's Twelve" is pretty damn perfect. It has insane amounts of style and swagger and does things in unusually quirky but fascinating ways. The locations are gorgeous and the dialogue is hilarious and the jokes are really funny if you pay attention to what the actors are trying to do. But the ending...there are MIT graduates who probably got confused byUntil the last 15 minutes or so, "Ocean's Twelve" is pretty damn perfect. It has insane amounts of style and swagger and does things in unusually quirky but fascinating ways. The locations are gorgeous and the dialogue is hilarious and the jokes are really funny if you pay attention to what the actors are trying to do. But the ending...there are MIT graduates who probably got confused by what had just happened. It's rather poorly done and leaves a bitter taste in one's mouth, because they feel like their intelligence was just demoralized. Still a good movie however, especially if you were a fan of the first. Collapse
  16. Riren
    Apr 15, 2007
    5
    Take all the celebrities from the first film, add a few more faces, and remove all sense of pacing. That's your sequel. Less sense of purpose, even less screen time for its characters, less witty dialogue - Ocean's Twelve makes you wait an hour before the crew start doing what you've been waiting for them to do. It feels less like a story and more like playground for Take all the celebrities from the first film, add a few more faces, and remove all sense of pacing. That's your sequel. Less sense of purpose, even less screen time for its characters, less witty dialogue - Ocean's Twelve makes you wait an hour before the crew start doing what you've been waiting for them to do. It feels less like a story and more like playground for wealthy actors. Matt Damon is the sole individual who ups the charm from the first movie, and while there is entertainment and wit in here, it shouldn't be so hard to excavate. Don't bother watching it without friends to help you laugh. Expand
  17. JaredC.
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    In a way, I think this one was better than the first. Ocean's Eleven had some style, but this one ruled the comedy room. Even though this one was kind of slow, it had a cool plot and amazing acting.
  18. StephenB.
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    I was stunned at how unbearably dull this film was. Please do not think that the first film was good so how bad can the sequel be. Its awful. There are some talented actors on the screen, however all the wit and verve of the first film has been removed with a dreadful script and surprisingly poor pacing and direction from Soderberg. Please avoid.
  19. MeU
    Jun 13, 2006
    8
    This movie is the best stages and filmed ever. Sure it doesn't look like it but the filming, scenery, and everything goes with the feel of the movie. Also, i am glad they went for a different feel using music unlike all the other movies. Sure it was filled with all famous stars but without them being great actors who would even declare them!
  20. MatthewM.
    May 8, 2006
    0
    I think this is the worst film I have ever seen. The Slate review had it right. All smarm. Tries to be far more clever than it actualy is. A plotless piece of self-indulgence from start to finish, this is the only film I have ever considered walking out of. The only reason I didn't was because I thought it had nearly finished..... it hadn't.
  21. ThugThug
    Nov 17, 2005
    3
    One of the worst movies I have seen recently. Oceans 11 was good. This... is not.
  22. OmegaR.
    Sep 1, 2005
    4
    Of course David Sterritt of the Christian Science Monitor liked this film, its full of Hollywood's most outspoken Liberals!!!
  23. JamesP.
    Jun 21, 2005
    3
    Compared to the first not even worth a look in.
  24. Michael
    May 16, 2005
    7
    Just like the first movie. Very sneaky. Only problem is that you can't possibly figure out on your own how they were pulling the heist off until the very end when they talked about how they did it. You had to wait and you alwasy thought they were caught - but yet there was always a twist where they would get out of the bind (like it was already planned). I give it a 7 - a lot of good Just like the first movie. Very sneaky. Only problem is that you can't possibly figure out on your own how they were pulling the heist off until the very end when they talked about how they did it. You had to wait and you alwasy thought they were caught - but yet there was always a twist where they would get out of the bind (like it was already planned). I give it a 7 - a lot of good actors, has a decent plot, and they fooled me. Expand
  25. MikeN.
    May 13, 2005
    0
    The movie kept flashing forward, and back and forward - you didn't know where you were; and you were looking for a big finish - and nothing happens.
  26. MatthewA.
    May 12, 2005
    5
    Good movie sort of thin plot to many stars plus you can't have julia roberts fake playing julia roberts.
  27. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    5
    Ocean's Twelve is a sequel to the 2001 Ocean's Eleven. This go around, Terry Benedict (Andy Garcia), the casino owner who lost 160 million to the thieves, wants his money back -- actually, he wants revenge and needs to "save face", since the insurance company has already paid him for the loss. He confronts each member of the group individually and lets them all know that he Ocean's Twelve is a sequel to the 2001 Ocean's Eleven. This go around, Terry Benedict (Andy Garcia), the casino owner who lost 160 million to the thieves, wants his money back -- actually, he wants revenge and needs to "save face", since the insurance company has already paid him for the loss. He confronts each member of the group individually and lets them all know that he wants them to pay him back his money, plus interest, within the next two weeks ... or else! And so, once more Danny Ocean (George Clooney) gets his band together to pull off another job so they can get themselves out of this mess. The plot gets twisted and a bit convoluted (to say the least) as the director seems almost to go out of his way to see which story line the audience will fall for only to be tricked yet again. I give it a 5. Expand
  28. RobertR.
    May 3, 2005
    0
    Trash!
  29. Ian
    May 3, 2005
    2
    Boring, slow, terrible. Enjoyed Oceans Eleven but this ranks up to one of the worse movies I have seen.
  30. DilipK.
    May 2, 2005
    0
    I can't believe that reviewers are still saying nice things about such entirely inconsequential trash. Endless fawning remarks concerning Soderbergh's genius only show the minimal objectivity of most of the media critics. This is a rip off. It's not funny, has no plot and no plausibility.
  31. RickK
    Apr 30, 2005
    5
    A reasonable sequel to Ocean's 11, but certainly not as good as the original. And I'd recommend other similar type movies (e.g. The Italian Job, The Thomas Crowne Affair) way ahead of this one.
  32. GregT
    Apr 25, 2005
    1
    I took this movie off of the DVD player after 1 hour. It was disjointed, jumbled up, all over the map, and lacked any suspense. A cast of thousands like a Cecil B. DeMille epic and not one character had anything to say of interest. Rubbish.
  33. GAustin
    Apr 20, 2005
    0
    Most unwatchable movie I have ever rented. Thank God for fast forward and mute on DVD's. Anyone who had the misfortune to have paid to watch this crap would of had no choice but to walk out- the earlier the better.
  34. EricS
    Apr 18, 2005
    0
    This movie is pure trash, I cannot believe it made it by the screeners. This proves that Hollywood, throw 14 stars in a movie, that has NO plot, hard to follow, and BRAIN NUMBING boring will want to take your money away. if I wanted that, I would just watch Entertainment tonight, this was like the movie version of it.
  35. BowenL.
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Worst excuse for a movie I have ever seen. The star power never jells; they only smile when the receive their paychecks. Crap extordinare'.
  36. TyS
    Mar 27, 2005
    2
    Laura took the words out of my mouth.
  37. MattC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    It would have been easy to reproduce the storyline from the first film but Soderbergh and his team had the sense to try something a little different. And even though it doesn't have the originality of its predecessor it still maintains the swagger. This is a film to simply enjoy, from the effortless cool of the acting to the no-expense-spared beauty of the cinematography. It may not It would have been easy to reproduce the storyline from the first film but Soderbergh and his team had the sense to try something a little different. And even though it doesn't have the originality of its predecessor it still maintains the swagger. This is a film to simply enjoy, from the effortless cool of the acting to the no-expense-spared beauty of the cinematography. It may not be clever but it is certainly cool, again. Expand
  38. JohnS.
    Mar 22, 2005
    1
    The only reason this movie even rates a 1/10 is the usual style added by Brad & Cathy. The rest is awful, probably the worst movie I've ever seen, certainly the worst I've ever paid to see. The makers of this movie deserve to be dragged through the streets and to forced to payback every penny paid by audiences throughout the world before being banned permanently from anything to The only reason this movie even rates a 1/10 is the usual style added by Brad & Cathy. The rest is awful, probably the worst movie I've ever seen, certainly the worst I've ever paid to see. The makers of this movie deserve to be dragged through the streets and to forced to payback every penny paid by audiences throughout the world before being banned permanently from anything to do with movie production & creation. It is the worst case of making a movie to make money under false pretences ever. It should be investigated under inaccurate trade descriptions acts as falsely claiming to be entertainment. Total and absolute rubbish. It doesn't have a story, and the one it does even makes the bad actors look like idiots. And Ron Cheadle? You're a good actor, but you should be ashamed of this performance. Expand
  39. ChadS.
    Mar 3, 2005
    7
    "Ocean's 12" is not a movie, but more an assemblage of bits. My favorite moment is when Ocean(George Clooney) encounters comments about the unflattering speculation concerning his age. It's obviously an in-joke and suitable for Clooney, who is more persona than character on the silver screen anyway. Despite being one of our better celebrity actors, he never makes us forget that "Ocean's 12" is not a movie, but more an assemblage of bits. My favorite moment is when Ocean(George Clooney) encounters comments about the unflattering speculation concerning his age. It's obviously an in-joke and suitable for Clooney, who is more persona than character on the silver screen anyway. Despite being one of our better celebrity actors, he never makes us forget that we're watching Dr. Ross from "ER", so when Don Cheadle confirms Ocean's worse nightmare, he confirm's Clooney's one as well. The scene is so off-the-cuff, you'll feel like Soderbergh wrote it after seeing Clooney being teased by his colleagues and friends. Julia Roberts' round of self-reflexiveness if fun, too. Listen carefully for the wonderful zinger about Roberts' acting style when Damon and the other second-stringers prep her for their museum visit. Pair this moment with Roberts' attempts to win a brownie with her self-deprecating soliloquy in "Notting Hill", and what's revealed is a reported diva who does possess a streak of humility. "Ocean's 12" is pretty routine, but it's repetitive story of the big job has a touch of the subversive this time. Trying to break even doesn't offer the same concentration of rooting for the anti-heroes like in the original. The real drama this time, albeit not completely successful, lies in the personal. Expand
  40. Laura
    Feb 26, 2005
    3
    Watchable yet cringeable, the whole film is a whole pile of either obvious(bordering on slapstick) jokes and other "jokes" that you feel like your not quite getting(like your somehow out of the loop!). Frustratingly boring robbery in the end after all the lead up to it.
  41. PrateekG.
    Feb 25, 2005
    3
    One question: why? As fun as the first movie was, this wasn't. The plot stunk, the twist in the movie was horrible. I usually enjoy Pitt, Damon, Clooney, et al, but this was about as bad as Clooney's Batman movie.
  42. QuinnL
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    I liked it, a well done sequel to another well done film.
  43. Captainc
    Feb 18, 2005
    3
    Ho Humm.. Proves you should leave a good thing...or a relitive good thing, alone!
  44. PaulW.
    Feb 17, 2005
    9
    If you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this, granted its not aqs gd but its entertaining nonthsless, very gd music!
  45. PaulM.
    Feb 13, 2005
    9
    Watch it twice and it all falls into places. Great show!
  46. ZachL
    Feb 12, 2005
    7
    Was it as good as ocean's eleven? no. was it the most amazing film of all time? no. was it enjoyable to watch them all back together again? yes. sometimes it's better just to go to a movie for a good time.
  47. MarkDavidC.
    Feb 9, 2005
    0
    If you want to see a bunch of celebrities parading around telling each other how amazing they are (which makes up 95% of this movie) watch the Oscars, they're free.
  48. SimonK.
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    I cannot believe the low rating for this film! This was the most enjoyable film of the year. Apart from a shockingly cringey appearance of Julia Roberts as herself this sequel makes for an excellent view. The plot is complex, but well explained, comical, without being cheesy. This film collects some of the finest acotrs of modern cinema and yet allows all of them to simultaneously shine I cannot believe the low rating for this film! This was the most enjoyable film of the year. Apart from a shockingly cringey appearance of Julia Roberts as herself this sequel makes for an excellent view. The plot is complex, but well explained, comical, without being cheesy. This film collects some of the finest acotrs of modern cinema and yet allows all of them to simultaneously shine in the same movie. GIVE THIS FILM A CHANCE WHATEVER YOUR FRIENDS HAVE TOLD YOU! Expand
  49. johns.
    Feb 7, 2005
    1
    I hope the actors got a big fat paycheck for this pierce of dribble. Because there aren't gonna be an oceans 13 after this crap. A box office flop. The story is weak and the actors like Brad can't act so there you go.
  50. J-DubS.
    Feb 7, 2005
    0
    This movie was a terrible waste of talent. Oceans Eleven was great. This movie made me wish i had had a denist's appointment..... it was that bad!
  51. NaKetaJ.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I was very excited to see what this movie would bring due to the fact that all of the initial cast would return. That's what made the movie, besides Pitt and Clooney's fantastic on-screen chemistry.
  52. AnkarinoL.
    Jan 25, 2005
    4
    So-so. They really lost something by not having Ted Griffin write the script. The storyline is incredibly convoluted, the actors are sleepwalking, and really the only pleasure is watching a rude Frenchman perform some Santa Cruz assembly-quality Capoeira through a laser field. I
  53. GraemeD.
    Jan 24, 2005
    0
    This movie is so amateurish. Terrible script and cinematography! It appeared that this was all first-take material and is an embarrassemnt for the actors involved. I was sooooo bored.
  54. richardd
    Jan 18, 2005
    0
    This was a boring, contrived movie that couldn't hold itself together, and made little sense. What a disappointment after the original. Next time, they should have a script before shooting begins.
  55. ToddF.
    Jan 17, 2005
    1
    Worst movie I have seen in a long time. Don't waste your money. Oceans Eleven was much better.
  56. [Anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2005
    0
    This movie...sucked! Do this so called actors...have too much money and time on their hands. If anything, this movie reminded me not to go to an film that has one or all of them in it again. Their intelligence...is not there....how disappointing that some people stoop so low to make trash out of trash.
  57. LizV
    Jan 14, 2005
    6
    This movie is not the greatest, but it's not meant to be the same type of show as the first. This one is more simple humor, less scheming, and if you're looking for something that's going to analyze and think, "That's amazing! How did they do that?" you're not going to love it. Just sit back and enjoy a well written, but different style show.
  58. ZinStar
    Jan 12, 2005
    2
    Just check it out when DVD come out, casue the $$ you spend in the cinema will be bteer donated to Tsunami Victim. Trus me I like big buff movie just for the HYPE of it, but this is worse then T3 and all the biggest flop that been out lately.
  59. burtonm
    Jan 12, 2005
    5
    Funny and pleasant in a sort of coffee table book kind of way.
  60. MarkB.
    Jan 10, 2005
    1
    You know that Steven Soderbergh's sequel to his diverting caper-movie remake Ocean's Eleven is in deep, deep trouble during a scene in which professional criminals George Clooney and Brad Pitt are somnabulistically muttering to one another while watching a Happy Days rerun, and you desperately want the camera to go back to Richie and The Fonz. Lewis Milestone's 1960 Rat You know that Steven Soderbergh's sequel to his diverting caper-movie remake Ocean's Eleven is in deep, deep trouble during a scene in which professional criminals George Clooney and Brad Pitt are somnabulistically muttering to one another while watching a Happy Days rerun, and you desperately want the camera to go back to Richie and The Fonz. Lewis Milestone's 1960 Rat Pack Vegas heist film (the original Ocean's Eleven) was, terrific surprise ending notwithstanding, not a good film by any standards, but at least it delivered plenty of what everybody paid to see: Frank, Dino, Sammy, et. al. Soderbergh's 2001 remake featured lots of big names (Clooney, Pitt, Julia Roberts, etc.) working hard but clearly having a good time, backed up by genuinely amusing supporting turns by Carl Reiner, Elliott Gould and Bernie Mac. The second, excuse me, THIRD time's clearly not the charm here: most of the stars' work here epitomizes the dictionary definition of "picking up a paycheck" (sadly and ironically in the manner of Sinatra, Martin and Davis Jr, in 1981's Cannonball Run, and at least in that instance they had the partial excuse of being old and not in the best of 2004's most pretentiously, off-puttingly directed film since Coffee and Cigarettes; the difference being that in that one Jim Jarmusch wouldn't move the camera if you put a gun to his head, and here Soderbergh is so irritatingly hyperactive with it that health.) Meanwhile, Reiner, Gould and Mac are virtually nonexistent! Worse still is that this is you want to sneak some Ritalin into his Evian water. (One similarity between the two heavily star-driven films is their filmic snobbery: both feature bit players with quite a few lines of dialogue who are obviously overjoyed to be there with the big guns, and clearly are acting their hearts out, only to be rewarded by their directors' smug refusal to show their faces onscreen.)Soderbergh can't or won't focus on two people having a simple conversation if he can spin the camera around an empty room, or out a window with nothing of particular interest outside, or into a badly -lit corner. Perhaps he thinks he's emulating the overachieving compositions of Sidney J. Furie, who would bury perfectly serviceable mid-1960s thrillers like The Ipcress File beneath a ton of flashy, superfluous Chinese angles, but I was reminded more of the work of the late Doris Wishman, the inept auteuress of such zero-budgert softcore grinders from the same period as Bad Girls Go To Hell and My Brother's Wife, in which two characters would chat and we'd be treated to three minutes of a shoe tree or a table lamp. Stylistically, F. Gary Gray's relatively straightforward handling of The Italian Job in 2003 reveals that Gray is a thousand times more confident in the strength of his material. On the other hand, perhaps Soderbergh is once again demonstrating a peculiar kind of self-loathing specific to Soderbergh; everytime he has an enjoyable, accessible box office success he feels perversely compelled to kamikaze himself with his next effort. Just as he followed the engrossing and poignant debut sex, lies and videotape with the maddeningly obtuse Kafka, so Soderbergh further punishes himself (and us) for pulling off three consecutive critical and popular $100 million-plus smashes (Erin Brockovich, Traffic and Ocean's Eleven) with a Trifecta O' Unwatchability that includes Full Frontal, Solaris and this. One final note to Julia Roberts, who plays the central figure in Ocean's Twelve's most talked about sequence (a showbiz-meets-reality-meets showbiz farrago that reminded me that my time in supermarkerlines is better spent composing my next shopping list than perusing Us, People or tabloids): I realize that Soderbergh is a dear friend and you feel you owe him a lot, but at this point you're only being an enabler. When you get off celebrity maternity leave in a couple years and Soderbergh starts approaching you again for roles, please, PLEASE in the name of all that's good and decent: READ. THE. SCRIPT. FIRST. Expand
  61. EricL.
    Jan 10, 2005
    4
    Somewhat painful. The bar was set high with Ocean's 11 and Ocean's 12 was nowhere near.
  62. KobeeH.
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    Okay. I really can't take this. Too many people hating on this movie. Ocean's Twelve is an excellent sequel, and an awesome movie in it's on right. Great directing, writing, very interesting cinematography, and once again, the cast really mesh well together. The story is just as good, if not better than the first. It never takes itself to seriously, which is a definite Okay. I really can't take this. Too many people hating on this movie. Ocean's Twelve is an excellent sequel, and an awesome movie in it's on right. Great directing, writing, very interesting cinematography, and once again, the cast really mesh well together. The story is just as good, if not better than the first. It never takes itself to seriously, which is a definite plus. You just kind of sit back and enjoy watching what happens to the 12 next. It's just a geniunely fun and smart film. Period. Stop nitpicking at things that really aren't there, and just enjoy what is. Expand
  63. KyleA
    Jan 1, 2005
    4
    Ocean's 11 was great--full of wit and clever humor. But the charming part of that movie was getting to know all the quirky characters, as it was more about their interactions. Ocean's 12 is ALL plot--and a mediocre one at that; it sucks whatever life was left in the characters--which is a testament to the awfulness of the movie (as the awesome cast was secondary to the storyline).
  64. bryan
    Dec 28, 2004
    2
    Whereas the first installment maintained a focus, this film was scattershot. it appeared to me that instead of creating a story and further developing characters to woo the audience, those involved chose to exploit the beautiful locations and toss in ad hoc problems and implausible solutions. the movie steamrolled into complete absurdity when julia roberts' character impersonated Whereas the first installment maintained a focus, this film was scattershot. it appeared to me that instead of creating a story and further developing characters to woo the audience, those involved chose to exploit the beautiful locations and toss in ad hoc problems and implausible solutions. the movie steamrolled into complete absurdity when julia roberts' character impersonated julia roberts. why didn't don cheadle just imitate himself? and to have new characters added all the way to the end of the movie showed that the storyline was thin. my only wish was that the movie would have been much shorter. either that or never to have made the movie. Expand
  65. JoeA.
    Dec 25, 2004
    5
    Wow, what a waste of talent. I liked the first movie as the characters were likeable and the story/scheme was intriguing. I got nothing of the same from this movie. It could have been rescued if the scheme was half as good as the first, but it was nowhere near that creative. The telling aspect of this movie: in a full theater, there was more non-emotion and "blank" time from the audience, Wow, what a waste of talent. I liked the first movie as the characters were likeable and the story/scheme was intriguing. I got nothing of the same from this movie. It could have been rescued if the scheme was half as good as the first, but it was nowhere near that creative. The telling aspect of this movie: in a full theater, there was more non-emotion and "blank" time from the audience, that it was eerie. The silence was deafening. Expand
  66. Mr.JT
    Dec 25, 2004
    8
    Bob A : you are a moron. I am terribly sorry that, first of all, this movie did not meet the standard 'prerequisite' of moving so quickly that you can't think about what is actually occuring. I'm also not too sure about how to the plot "didn't really get off the ground." Perhaps you became so lost in the moderate tempo and intriguing sequences and flashbacks that Bob A : you are a moron. I am terribly sorry that, first of all, this movie did not meet the standard 'prerequisite' of moving so quickly that you can't think about what is actually occuring. I'm also not too sure about how to the plot "didn't really get off the ground." Perhaps you became so lost in the moderate tempo and intriguing sequences and flashbacks that you had a headache by the end of the film when much of the plot was resolved. I am also wondering why Soderbergh would have spent time introducing characters when he already did so for two hours in Oceans 11. The unique aspect of 12 lies in the fact that the characters had already been developed; now, we are able to watch a film devoted to a unique plot, interesting cinematography, and excellent colloquial dialoque (similar to, maybe, Tarentino sans profanity). Like the Sinatra, 12 expresses a distinctive language that is both interesting and amusing. Rarely are 'action' movies so complex, challeging, and fun (complexity and challenge being attributes for those viewers out there without ADHD). If you want to be amused, intrigued, confused and then relieved, Oceans 12 is a great choice. Bob, I think you would be better off staying at home and renting Die Hard for now on. Expand
  67. DermN.
    Dec 23, 2004
    5
    A fun but forgettable popcorn movie. The story is convoluted and the script lacks the witty dialogue between Clooney and Pitt that made the first shine. Plus, the Julia Roberts gag didn't work for me. Best part of the movie? David Holmes' acid jazz musical score.
  68. RonK
    Dec 23, 2004
    3
    I was sucked in by the original and that with this cast, it couldn't be as bad as the critics were saying. But it is. What a waste of talent and 2&1/2 hours of my time.
  69. JosephH.
    Dec 22, 2004
    2
    Badly directed, badly written, and way too long -- who in the world could have greelighted a heist script where every trick and twist is unbelievably dumb. There isn't a single five minute stretch of this film that doesn't feel like a seventh-grader's idea of a heist film. Biggest howlers of the year: the Night Fox reveals how he bypassed the intricate laser defense system. Badly directed, badly written, and way too long -- who in the world could have greelighted a heist script where every trick and twist is unbelievably dumb. There isn't a single five minute stretch of this film that doesn't feel like a seventh-grader's idea of a heist film. Biggest howlers of the year: the Night Fox reveals how he bypassed the intricate laser defense system. Tied with the method the Ocean Twelve's crew reveals at the very end to steal the worlds most valuable object -- which any two-bit pickpocket could pull off. And which, by the way, would seem to make the rest of the movie unnecessary. Awful. Expand
  70. RonK.
    Dec 20, 2004
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] This has to be one of cinema's great over-rated failures. It has a completely perplexing screenplay which offers little explanation nor the subtle dialogue required by the viewer to discern the plot theme. No flow, little forethought to the ending vs the middle vs the beginning. Annoying little scene with Bruce Willis, playing himself, which adds absolutely nothing of[***SPOILERS***] This has to be one of cinema's great over-rated failures. It has a completely perplexing screenplay which offers little explanation nor the subtle dialogue required by the viewer to discern the plot theme. No flow, little forethought to the ending vs the middle vs the beginning. Annoying little scene with Bruce Willis, playing himself, which adds absolutely nothing of entertainment value to the film and Julia ($20 million dollar baby) Roberts will wnat to forget this role almost as much as Ben and J-Lo wish to put "Gigli" behind them. I felt cheated by the promotional scenes and feel that Soderburgh owes me seventeen bucks.....I'll pay for the stale popcorn. Also, have him explain to me how it's possible to raise a masonry structure from it's foundation without disturbing it or the buildings connected to it????? And why bother with the putty and paint to repair the divot in the wall??? For that matter......why proceed with the false theft at all???? They purportedly had already stolen the real Faberge egg. Expand
  71. LeeY.
    Dec 20, 2004
    1
    Loved '11'...wanted to walk out of '12'. to the guy who said this was a 'thinking' movie, well, if you thought too much about the holes in the plot, then it'd get a 'zero' from me. the bruce willis 'subplot' was ludicrous, as was the laser beam dance (coulda swore more than 1 passed thru his body). very disappointed...
  72. RibberRib
    Dec 19, 2004
    4
    Good acteors, bad script, bad filming, bad story. If you need to reduce yourself to Julia Roberts having to play Julia Roberts, Oh my god.
  73. DanijelD.
    Dec 18, 2004
    3
    What a dissapointment, the movie ends up making a fool of itself with the excession of "stylish" scenes. The only thing that was heisted was the cinema-audience.
  74. BobA.
    Dec 18, 2004
    3
    "Ocean's Eleven" was an entertaining, high energy film. The sequel, therefore, had everything going for it - good reputation of the previous film, all star cast, beautiful locations throughout Europe and the addition of Catherine Zeta-Jones. Instead, we got a collection of disjointed scenes, absolutely no pace (a prerequisite for a film of this genre) and a plot that didn't "Ocean's Eleven" was an entertaining, high energy film. The sequel, therefore, had everything going for it - good reputation of the previous film, all star cast, beautiful locations throughout Europe and the addition of Catherine Zeta-Jones. Instead, we got a collection of disjointed scenes, absolutely no pace (a prerequisite for a film of this genre) and a plot that didn't really get off the ground. Traditionally, you would say that most films introduce the characters, set the premise, and off they go. Ocean's 11 did that quite well. But this film never started cooking. I felt as though the whole cinema was shifting about in their seats. Scenes lingered for far too long, actors weren't putting energy into their performances and I'm sure that somehow the "Deleted Scenes" portion of the DVD was included entirely in the film. Loud, pacey music couldn't even keep the tempo high. It is disturbing when you're in a film and you start to think about how you're going to rate it on Metacritic - for me, it hovered between 1 and 3 out of 10. The wheels really fell off when Tess, played by Julia Roberts, was coerced to fly to Rome to play - wait for it - Julia Roberts. The concept of the hologram egg just screamed at me, "We don't have a plot!" It is acceptable to make allowances in films of this genre, but introducing absolute science fiction SFX bordered on the desperately ridiculous. The only highlights were the European locations - Rome, Amsterdam, Paris and coastal scenes. Fans of Catherine Zeta-Jones may get some value - she looks pretty, rather than sexy. She too was wasted in this film. And I couldn't really say who Ocean's 12 were - one would assume Catherine Zeta-Jones, but even this wasn't all that strongly emphasised. See it on DVD if there's nothing else available at your video library. Better yet, why not track down the original "Ocean's Eleven" with Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. Expand
  75. JoeY
    Dec 17, 2004
    1
    Another one of those movies that revolve around rich self-absorbed celebrities involved in the generic get-rich heist movie plotline. It's just another attempt for hollywood to make themselves look better than everyone else in this celebrity lovefest.
  76. AlexA.
    Dec 17, 2004
    1
    This movie was very painfull to sit through. While Matt Damon was hilarious, the rest of the movie waned in disilusion with a terrible plot. I had been waiting for quite some time and it was a dissapointment.
  77. SusanM.
    Dec 16, 2004
    6
    I was very disappointed in this movie, it tries to be clever but fails. It relies too mch on the big stars in it and comes up short in very other aspect. I must say. Brad Pitt is a truly beautiful man.
  78. ScottJ
    Dec 15, 2004
    5
    This is a good mvie if you want to watch a stand up comedy where they make fun of each other and crack jokes. The plot has more holes then swiss chesse and non existent. A decent movie in terms of jokes and being funny, but the plot keeps this from being an awesome movie and reaching its potential.
  79. BrittP
    Dec 15, 2004
    1
    Maybe i would have been sucked in by he movie magic of this film had I not seen Ocean's 11. the ending completely surprises you and it is such a masterpiece you could watch it over and over. Ocean's twelve left me feeling like the whole thing was an inside joke that I missed. Pehaps I did. I was hoping for a more intricate piece but all I saw was fluff.
  80. DaddyG
    Dec 15, 2004
    9
    The poor reviews on this movie reflect the IQ of our culture. This movie was so well done I think it confused the less than bright and so...they hated it. You have to pay attention throughout this excellent movie in order to "get it". Too much thinking makes the viewers with a room temperature intelligence quotient tired and more excited by their laundry than with a brilliantly written The poor reviews on this movie reflect the IQ of our culture. This movie was so well done I think it confused the less than bright and so...they hated it. You have to pay attention throughout this excellent movie in order to "get it". Too much thinking makes the viewers with a room temperature intelligence quotient tired and more excited by their laundry than with a brilliantly written dialog. If you're someone who likes mental excersize, see this film. If not, stay home and try to step up your reading. Expand
  81. Ray
    Dec 15, 2004
    7
    The original first one (Sinatra) was bad. The remade first one (Clooney) is one of my all-time favorites. This one isn't what it was sold to be. Similar to how Hero (Jet Li) was sold as an action movie, but was actually more Chinese drama than anything else, this one was sold as Ocean's 11, but was really more a drama about their new twelfth member. It was hilarious nonetheless. The original first one (Sinatra) was bad. The remade first one (Clooney) is one of my all-time favorites. This one isn't what it was sold to be. Similar to how Hero (Jet Li) was sold as an action movie, but was actually more Chinese drama than anything else, this one was sold as Ocean's 11, but was really more a drama about their new twelfth member. It was hilarious nonetheless. I'm not a fan of any of the stars in this movie, but I would see it again, just to experience it with the proper mindset (drama, not heist). Expand
  82. LeighM.
    Dec 15, 2004
    2
    This Movie was so boring i just wanted to get up and leave! It is nothing like the first one! If you wanna go and see a good movie go and watch the Oceans 11!
  83. GregA.
    Dec 15, 2004
    5
    With such a great cast it's a pity they didn't make an equally great movie. I went into this film expecting a lot more than I got, and though the twist at the end was good I just didn't feel this movie had anything solid about it. Oh well, it got me out of the house for a night...
  84. beaum.
    Dec 13, 2004
    6
    1st one was way better.
  85. mikeb.
    Dec 13, 2004
    3
    Well the first one was really good but this was the same movie minus all the things that made the first one good. How can you create a movie about robbing when you dont even spend time on the details and tricks of the robbery. This filmed forced creativity and tried to hard to make the audience think "man these guys/actors are cool" The difference is the original rat pack was naturally Well the first one was really good but this was the same movie minus all the things that made the first one good. How can you create a movie about robbing when you dont even spend time on the details and tricks of the robbery. This filmed forced creativity and tried to hard to make the audience think "man these guys/actors are cool" The difference is the original rat pack was naturally cool, these guys are just trying to hard. Expand
  86. JeromeB.
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    I'm moving to Hollywood to become a screen writer; I promise a better script than this mush. The actual heist and ending were particularly lame. Think about it; people get paid serious money to crank out this junk. I found this movie to be about as exciting as doing my bi-weekly laundry.
  87. CrapmovieBadmovie
    Dec 13, 2004
    0
    Boring, random and just made to make quick cash.
  88. VinceH.
    Dec 12, 2004
    8
    People don't really seem to understand what Soderbergh was going for here, though it seems quite obvious to me. Oceans 11 was mainly about the heist: the rehearsal of it, the mechanics, the preparation, the outcome, etc. with very little in way of extras. It was a very lean, terse, plot-driven piece of fun with some really crackling dialogue. This movie feels like all the deleted People don't really seem to understand what Soderbergh was going for here, though it seems quite obvious to me. Oceans 11 was mainly about the heist: the rehearsal of it, the mechanics, the preparation, the outcome, etc. with very little in way of extras. It was a very lean, terse, plot-driven piece of fun with some really crackling dialogue. This movie feels like all the deleted scenes from the first one and set to a different continent. And that's a good thing. The fact that the "heist" in this film is just a throwaway gag on a train should tell you what the intentions are here. This is essentially a very expensive home movie of a bunch of people enjoying a vacation who really don't need a vacation, but we don't begrudge them for it because the results are so good. First of all, the whole movie seems as if it were being made up as it goes along. It doesn't feel forced or plot-driven: scenes seem half-completed and then immediately jump to another new direction and most of the great lines feel like improvisations. The movie completely goes beserk in the last 30 minutes or so where Soderbergh completely breaks the fourth wall and pulls a Charlie Kaufman almost better than Kaufman could. He seems to be playing on the idea that no matter what movie she is in, a star of Julia's caliber is always in someway playing herself. The whole movie is the closest to the feeling of the early French New Wave films as any American director has gotten (the different fonts and typeletter on the screen, the freeze-frames, jump-cuts, excellent pulsing jazz-meets-Gotan Project music sometimes almost driving over the dialogue). Not to mention Catherine Zeta-Jones' killer leather-and-stilleto heels ensemble which is reason enough to see this film. Soderbergh truly establishes himself as the American Francois Truffaut. Enough with the QT jock-riders out there. I'd rather see anything from a REAL filmmaker like Soderbergh or Scorsese or De Palma than a hack like Tarantino. Expand
  89. SeanW.
    Dec 12, 2004
    5
    "Lazy," indeed.
  90. metacriticgirl
    Dec 12, 2004
    5
    The best part of the movie is hilarious Elliott Gould. And George Clooney is definitely easy on the eyes. Otherwise, very average.
  91. KenK.
    Dec 12, 2004
    1
    Yuck! Bad plot, bad dialogue, bad acting.
  92. GaborA.
    Dec 12, 2004
    4
    The jokes are still here but the incoherent plot ruins everything. Actually better yet the otherwise terrible picture is somewhat elevated by amusing jokes. The problem with this set up is that i saw the movie about 2 hours ago and i cant remember a single joke. I saw the first one a year ago and the jokes are still fresh in my mind because they were imbedded in a rock solid script.
  93. VikramM.
    Dec 12, 2004
    5
    I loved Ocean's Eleven, the 2001 version. I am a huge sucker for heist movies. When I thought of Ocean's Twelve I thought, huh another heist movie. WRONG! This movie's plot was SO screwed up! They are paying off the guy they robbed and you are in a contest with this other guy to see who's the better thief. I mean a five year old could have made up that. It went in too I loved Ocean's Eleven, the 2001 version. I am a huge sucker for heist movies. When I thought of Ocean's Twelve I thought, huh another heist movie. WRONG! This movie's plot was SO screwed up! They are paying off the guy they robbed and you are in a contest with this other guy to see who's the better thief. I mean a five year old could have made up that. It went in too many different directions, it was slow and it dragged on for some time. Heist movies are supposed to be tight. Ocean's Eleven was simply robbing a casino and it was a fun movie to go along. There are two reasons I am not giving it a 0. One, it was hilarious. If I had to reccomend it for something, it was it's comedy. I was laughing throughout the movie. The other reason is its allstar cast. Geroge Clooney, Julia Roberts, Andy Garcia, Brad Pitt, you know. I'm not saying I hated the movie (once again I laughed a lot), but it had no plot, you basically saw them steal nothing, and it was definietly NOT a heist movie. It was purely a comedy. I like comedies, but I expect more from the allstar cast and Ocean's crew. See the first one, much better. Expand
  94. omary.
    Dec 12, 2004
    8
    This movie has flaws, but its redeeming qualities more than offset them. Oh yes -- two words: laser scene. That is all.
  95. JohnD.
    Dec 12, 2004
    1
    Worst... movie... ever. Well, not that bad, but a hell of a stinker. Doesn't touch the first one, which itself wasn't anything close to a masterpiece. Save yourself the trouble and avoid this lame duck.
  96. DanB.
    Dec 11, 2004
    9
    I didn't like the first much. I loved this one. It was sprightly, funny. It didn't bother itself with setting up an elaborate heist, knowing that any elaborate heist in a movie will end up feeling false, or like it's been done a dozen times. Here they're just having fun. And you hate them for being so pretty and getting paid so much for having so much fun. But then, I didn't like the first much. I loved this one. It was sprightly, funny. It didn't bother itself with setting up an elaborate heist, knowing that any elaborate heist in a movie will end up feeling false, or like it's been done a dozen times. Here they're just having fun. And you hate them for being so pretty and getting paid so much for having so much fun. But then, you're laughing too. Expand
  97. BitBurn
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    Very good, More like 8.6/10. I don't understand why such average critics. For once I totally disagree with some reviewers. If you liked the first one, you will enjoy this one as well. A few flaws here and there but overall you'll get what you pay for guarantee.
  98. JamesC.
    Dec 11, 2004
    2
    You can thank me later for saving 2 hours and 20 minutes of your life. I had to sit through this awful movie and no one else should have to be this unlucky. Mr. Soderbergh, just because you throw in slick music, it does not mean the scene is slick and arty. It's a collage of really bad scenes with snappy music that makes you think you're just a having a ball watching this movie. You can thank me later for saving 2 hours and 20 minutes of your life. I had to sit through this awful movie and no one else should have to be this unlucky. Mr. Soderbergh, just because you throw in slick music, it does not mean the scene is slick and arty. It's a collage of really bad scenes with snappy music that makes you think you're just a having a ball watching this movie. The audience I had, got up so many times to go to toilet, you would have thought they were giving away free popcorn. To be honest I'm sure the sound of flushing toilets was more entertaining than this sad excuse for a film. Why did I give it 2 stars instead of 0? It's the holidays and I'm in a giving mood. Expand
  99. RickyQ.
    Dec 11, 2004
    5
    The original had charm and style. This sequel is missing it as it goes in too many directions. If you are going to do a rush job than don't make a sequel. It just shouldn't be!
  100. TonyB.
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    Not the most engaging film. Not as good as the first. But it was quite entertaining. There wasn't much tension at all...but it was funny, all the characters were good. You know, nothing you'll talk about a week, or even a day later, but it's not a bad way to spend your time.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. 63
    Even frothier and more frivolous than the first movie: It's a heist picture so laid-back and unconcerned, even the heist feels like an afterthought.
  2. As soon as it's over, and you find yourself back in the harsh light of the workaday world, you'll be hard-pressed to remember what happened. Except that you'll remember enjoying yourself - immensely.
  3. Isn't just a double whammy, it's a whammy squared - a goofy, stylish heist movie that'll steal moviegoers from other pictures.