Ocean's Twelve

Ocean's Twelve Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Soderbergh seems to have found his vision again. It'll be a great day when he returns to writing his own material, but until then, this is none too shabby.
  2. 75
    Forget the plot of Ocean's Twelve - you will by the time you leave the theater, if not sooner. This slickly entertaining sequel is all about savoring eye candy.
  3. Isn't just a double whammy, it's a whammy squared - a goofy, stylish heist movie that'll steal moviegoers from other pictures.
  4. 70
    Funnier and sprightlier than Eleven, which exhibited a genial self-consciousness but never thought to challenge the genre textbook, Twelve is committed to not taking itself seriously.
  5. Is it style over substance? Absolutely. But as with "Ocean's Eleven," style wins -- only just barely this time around.
  6. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    60
    Busier, messier and thinner than its predecessor...the studied hipness can get so pleased with itself it borders on the smug.
  7. About halfway through you'll get an incredible hunger to see a movie.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 107
  2. Negative: 47 out of 107
  1. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Personally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable,Personally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable, sufficiently complex and full of twists. I suspect that people who are complaining that it's "too complicated" are not among the smart ones. I would also like to point out that the soundtrack is as great as in the original, the antagonist is awesome and Catherine Zeta-Jones looks absolutely ravishing in this, a real joy to watch (unlike Julia Roberts). The only minor fault I see here is that the focus in the script switches a bit too much to Pitt, Clooney and Damon, not leaving the others too much screen time. Still, I highly enjoyed Ocean's Twelve and strongly disagree with ones saying that this is "terrible", "worst part of the trilogy", etc. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    A sequel with little action that fails the first part, but it's still good.
  3. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This movie has a interesting plot but it's very difficult to understand if you watch it for the first time. It definitely helps to watchThis movie has a interesting plot but it's very difficult to understand if you watch it for the first time. It definitely helps to watch Ocean's Eleven first.
    The actors are succesful in bringing you the characters closer.
    Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    6
    Feels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuationFeels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuation from Oceans eleven. It's like twelve was one too many, but like I said it's a baconater: a little messier, greasier and floppier. But (there's always a 'but' in a 6/10 rating) even though I was kind of confused with the narrative at times Ocean's Twelve is still cool and like Wendy's, even though it's not good for you at all you still go back, even more so than that fancy restaurant. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    Same as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previousSame as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previous movie required suspension of disbelief, but it was tolerable). The whole Julia Robert playing the alter ego of Julia Roberts was pointless, and the Catherine Zeta-Jones subplot was too simplified... The director tried too hard to be "stylish" and the music and editing felt heavy handed. Overall the movie was decent, but nothing outstanding. Collapse
  6. ThugThug
    Nov 17, 2005
    3
    One of the worst movies I have seen recently. Oceans 11 was good. This... is not.
  7. MatthewM.
    May 8, 2006
    0
    I think this is the worst film I have ever seen. The Slate review had it right. All smarm. Tries to be far more clever than it actualy is. A I think this is the worst film I have ever seen. The Slate review had it right. All smarm. Tries to be far more clever than it actualy is. A plotless piece of self-indulgence from start to finish, this is the only film I have ever considered walking out of. The only reason I didn't was because I thought it had nearly finished..... it hadn't. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.