Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    Its anti-abortion stance aside, October Baby looks and feels like a Lifetime movie waiting not to happen.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 24, 2012
    30
    That whole aspect of October Baby creeped me out a lot more than the blood-curdling failed-abortion story did, honestly. I've seen a lot of movies where crazy and impossible things happen, and you just have to roll with them. Real life is much more frightening.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 22, 2012
    30
    Not even a dewy heroine and a youth-friendly vibe can disguise the essential ugliness at its core: like the bloodied placards brandished by demonstrators outside women's health clinics, the film communicates in the language of guilt and fear.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 23, 2012
    25
    May be well-intentioned, but it's as obvious and inert as a spoonful of mashed potatoes.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 11, 2012
    20
    October Baby earns points for the originality of its protagonist but it has no chance of preaching to anyone but the choir.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Mar 21, 2012
    0
    This is no mere tale of redemption or reaffirming of faith; this is a film with an extreme agenda.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    The target audience as pro-life, evangelicals and this flick probably nails that demographic. The movie has plastic characters and the plot is quite predictable. Some of the coincidences that move the plot along are laughable and unbelievable but then again if one does believe in "divine intervention..." they work. If you have been enamored with this movie, stay through the credits for a powerful testimony by one of the actors. It is one of the few highlights of the movie. The theology in the movie was not offensive to me, the pro-life stand was over the top... Full Review »
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    this movie has terrible acting, poor cinematography and the writing makes me think that a group of middle school children in bible camp wrote it. i was forced to see it by my catholic school and it was a terrible experience that honestly makes me want to go pro choice. the plot is as generic as any other movie about "finding yourself" and the main character is as flat as the wafers they give out during mass. don't waste your time on this because you don't have to be pro life and also think this movie is good. Full Review »
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The movie reviewers who dislike this movie are clearly biased. There is some legitimate criticism, but for the budget of this film, the acting, cinematography, and storyline are outstanding. It is certainly a hot-button topic, but delivered in a way that truly makes you think about what it is that makes a person have dignity and rights. There is a wonderful message of genuine love and healing that only the most hard-hearted and cruel can shun. I recommend it highly, especially over the other bilge that is foisted on us as "entertainment". Full Review »