Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: As the curtain rises, Hannah hesitantly steps onto the stage for her theatrical debut in college. Yet before her first lines, she collapses. Countless medical tests all point to one underlying factor: Hannah's difficult birth. This revelation is nothing compared to discovering that she was actually adopted... after a failed abortion attempt. Bewildered, angered and confused, Hannah embarks on a journey with Jason, her oldest friend. In the midst of her incredible journey to discover her hidden past and find hope for her unknown future, Hannah sees that life can be so much more than what you have planned. (Samuel Goldwyn Films)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Mar 22, 2012
    70
    A film whose poignancy is hard to deny whatever side of the abortion debate you fall on.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 22, 2012
    60
    Newcomer Rachel Hendrix grabs attention and sustains sympathy as a lovely yet troubled 19-year-old student determined to unlock the secrets of her past after learning the circumstances of her birth.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 22, 2012
    60
    The filmmakers, longtime music video veterans, have delivered a technically polished production that belies the film's low budget. They've also elicited mostly strong performances.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 20, 2012
    40
    A slick piece of pro-life propaganda, it has relatively luxe production values, painfully earnest performances, and a drippy "inspirational" score.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Apr 12, 2012
    38
    Its anti-abortion stance aside, October Baby looks and feels like a Lifetime movie waiting not to happen.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 24, 2012
    30
    That whole aspect of October Baby creeped me out a lot more than the blood-curdling failed-abortion story did, honestly. I've seen a lot of movies where crazy and impossible things happen, and you just have to roll with them. Real life is much more frightening.
  7. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Mar 21, 2012
    0
    This is no mere tale of redemption or reaffirming of faith; this is a film with an extreme agenda.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    The target audience as pro-life, evangelicals and this flick probably nails that demographic. The movie has plastic characters and the plot is quite predictable. Some of the coincidences that move the plot along are laughable and unbelievable but then again if one does believe in "divine intervention..." they work. If you have been enamored with this movie, stay through the credits for a powerful testimony by one of the actors. It is one of the few highlights of the movie. The theology in the movie was not offensive to me, the pro-life stand was over the top... Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This movie was VERY disappointing to me. #1. The girl was VERY disrespectful to her parents. They were loving, footing the bill for her expensive college, yet she hated herself and wanted to die?? Please.
    Not very believable.
    #2. She is Baptist, yet has to go to a Catholic Priest to find out about grace and forgiveness?? That should be turned around, because it's the BAPTIST church where IN REALITY she would most likely find out about grace and forgiveness.
    #3. This movie is TOO serious. There is no light hearted laughable moments. Even in very serious films, there needs to be a light hearted laughable moment.
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    The movie reviewers who dislike this movie are clearly biased. There is some legitimate criticism, but for the budget of this film, the acting, cinematography, and storyline are outstanding. It is certainly a hot-button topic, but delivered in a way that truly makes you think about what it is that makes a person have dignity and rights. There is a wonderful message of genuine love and healing that only the most hard-hearted and cruel can shun. I recommend it highly, especially over the other bilge that is foisted on us as "entertainment". Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I just got back from seeing October Baby. I'll say that, from a Christian film perspective, it was a definite step up from the overall quality of Fireproof and Courageous (both of which I have seen). The actors and actresses were better, the filmography was better, and the story was better. There were a few weak parts from what I remember, yet I still feel that those didn't detract too much from the greater picture.

    I don't think that this film will resonate well with those who have something against Christianity (or with those who believe that a film should not push religious agenda to any degree), but for those who aren't put off by such things, the message is truly one of healing. I think this film speaks with a loving tone toward all involved in the abortion process, and even though it might not endure along with the canon of "classic films", it will most assuredly work as a healing salve to some very deep wounds.
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    October Baby is one of those films that most media critics will pan for its pro-life message and give little credit to the quality of the film. The quality performances and script give it a less amateurish feel than its Sherwood productions predecessors, and the film's script touches on many deeper issues such as forgiveness and family relationships without being preachy. Yet while this film has many great qualities that make it stand apart, the critics will not be able to put aside their political biases to give credit where credit is due. Too bad. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    The message and social issue are relevant, but most of October Baby comes across as heavy handed and poorly written melodrama. A few scenes that touch on the issue and are very powerful but most scenes are heavy handed and poorly written. Too bad a much better film on the issue would have been great for a time like today. Collapse
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    this movie has terrible acting, poor cinematography and the writing makes me think that a group of middle school children in bible camp wrote it. i was forced to see it by my catholic school and it was a terrible experience that honestly makes me want to go pro choice. the plot is as generic as any other movie about "finding yourself" and the main character is as flat as the wafers they give out during mass. don't waste your time on this because you don't have to be pro life and also think this movie is good. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers