Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 1999
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
10
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mm007Feb 16, 2017
[10/10]
Pros:
1.Based on a true story.
2.One of those few movies that reach the emotional core.
3.Inspiring yet realistic, the story depicts ordinary kids doing extra ordinary things through will and effort.
4.A boy's journey to his dreams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyFeb 15, 2017
October Sky is a really inspirational movie for people growing up and why it is important to follow your dreams. It has a great message, really good performances and writing, and is just overall a really enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscJun 19, 2015
Jake Gyllenhaal can act in anything! Based on a true story, the true story of Homer Hickam, a coal miner's son who was inspired by the first Sputnik launch to take up rocketry against his father's wishes. It's compelling and inspiring;Jake Gyllenhaal can act in anything! Based on a true story, the true story of Homer Hickam, a coal miner's son who was inspired by the first Sputnik launch to take up rocketry against his father's wishes. It's compelling and inspiring; director Joe Johnston's shots for the film are realistic and powerful, his cast is why the film is important. The film is inspiring and uplifting understanding it's message. Grade A Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tom-AndersonApr 15, 2015
Inspiring movie that is well-acted. Of all the movies I could recommend to my students it is this movie, to which they all invariably respond in the most positive way.

Don't pay attention to the curmudgeons and holier-than-thou critics
Inspiring movie that is well-acted. Of all the movies I could recommend to my students it is this movie, to which they all invariably respond in the most positive way.

Don't pay attention to the curmudgeons and holier-than-thou critics who rarely have a good word to say about any movie, especially one that celebrates ambition and intelligence. This movie has great heart even as it appeals to the mind.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmVirtueJan 11, 2015
Both inspiring and entertaining "October Sky" is the kind of drama that uplifts you with I'ts content rather than pin you in a corner and cry. An inspirational drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cheesycNov 8, 2014
October Sky is a horrible movie. The acting was bad, the score was bad, the writing was bad, and it tried WAY to hard to be sad or serious. BUT, I still liked and enjoyed it. It was entertaining, even though some parts were laughably bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Jul 22, 2014
An absolute masterpiece for everyone. A great movie to watch while studying rocketry. This movie has many morals and lessons and touches on some issues in life like social life and friends, family problems, problem solving and not giving up,An absolute masterpiece for everyone. A great movie to watch while studying rocketry. This movie has many morals and lessons and touches on some issues in life like social life and friends, family problems, problem solving and not giving up, and following your dream. An absolute must see for all ages! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DuckNationJun 3, 2014
"Look at it go, Homer. This one's gunna go for miles."

October Sky is such an amazing film and is by far Joe Johnston at his finest. I know some people don't like Jake Gyllenhaal but seriously the guy isnt that bad of an actor and if more
"Look at it go, Homer. This one's gunna go for miles."

October Sky is such an amazing film and is by far Joe Johnston at his finest. I know some people don't like Jake Gyllenhaal but seriously the guy isnt that bad of an actor and if more people had seen this movie they would now that. Based on the true life story of Homer Hickam (Gyllenhaal) a normal kid living in the small coal mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia. He dreams of being something more then just a coal miner and after seeing the sputnik rocket streak across the nights sky his dreams of doing something bigger and better is something he has to achieve. Despite him and his friends being laughed at, they shoot off many rockets and with each one gaining more and more confidence and experience. After wining the state and country science fair Homer goes back to his hometown to be praised and honored but yet to have seek the approval of his father John Hickam (Chris Cooper) Its not until the very last rocket does his dad show up to see a lunch of a rocket and is struck with amazement when he finally sees it. Seriously though Jake Gyllenhaal is one of my top 25 favorite actors and i have yet to see him put on a performance better then this. The surrounding cast is just as great with Chris Cooper, Laura Dern, Chris Owen and Natalie Canerday all doing solid performances.

Overall i give it a 8.5 Iv'e been waiting for the past several years for a Blu ray release and i seriously hope it get does. October Sky is for sure its one of my favorite movie of all times and with such a beautiful heartwarming story i never get tired of watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 10, 2013
Just a genuinely happy movie. It leaves feeling good at the end and makes you want to watch it again. Great acting all-around as see a boy's journey to his dreams. Touching, heartfelt, and beautiful are great words to sum this one up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SummersausageMar 4, 2013
There certainly was an emotional core to this movie that made it appealing along with some heavy hitter acting from Chris cooper it was almost good. The moral and general feel was curious and fun but the downfalls of the script, the youngThere certainly was an emotional core to this movie that made it appealing along with some heavy hitter acting from Chris cooper it was almost good. The moral and general feel was curious and fun but the downfalls of the script, the young acting, and the lack of true meaning falls flat. The outcome is a well directed after school special that I could do without. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Hmm. . .well that was refreshing. I can honestly say that after watching Joe Johnston's "October Sky" I feel a whole lot better about everything. Truly just an overwhelmingly inspiring and uplifting film. I mean you could take the mostHmm. . .well that was refreshing. I can honestly say that after watching Joe Johnston's "October Sky" I feel a whole lot better about everything. Truly just an overwhelmingly inspiring and uplifting film. I mean you could take the most cynical, mysanthropic soul on this planet, have him watch "October Sky", and he'd have a healthier outlook on his life. I swear, during the last 10 minutes of this movie, I had the biggest **** grin on my face - one of those endings you just can't help but get caught up in. The film features an abundant amount of fine performances. Namely, Jake Gyllenhaal's portrayal of Homer Hickam, and Chris Cooper's compelling turn as his father, John. Other great performances came from Laura Dern, Chris Owen, William Lee Scott, and Chad Lindberg. The movie is shot to a magnificent degree. For instance, Cinematographer Fred Murphy really uses dismal lighting to magnify the miserable atmosphere within Coalwood, West Virginia. The movie is also edited to a tee. "October Sky" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
And one more time at all, watching without knowing that it was based on a true story. The story is very beautiful, despite overcoming the prejudices and limitations they had at the time, beyond the relationship between father and son that heAnd one more time at all, watching without knowing that it was based on a true story. The story is very beautiful, despite overcoming the prejudices and limitations they had at the time, beyond the relationship between father and son that he shows in a way pretty intense. I was impressed with the performance of Jake aged at 19, won me over. And priceless the first scene of Jake Gyllenhaal and Chad Lindberg in the car listening to Jailhouse Rock by Elvis! Great movie, it's gripping and fun at the same time... and why not, it is also stimulating, encouraging. Well worth seeing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MurtazaS.Oct 24, 2007
One of those few movies that reach the emotional core. Inspiring yet realistic, the story depicts ordinary kids doing extra ordinary things through will and effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiamSep 22, 2007
I watched 1000s of movies and this is one of those rare movies that touches u only movies have watched that have done that is this and stand by me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MithyusApr 7, 2007
Inspirational and beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleP.Jun 13, 2003
I remember seeing this movie when I was in 3rd grade. Though I didn't understand it too much, I remember that it was still able to hold my attention. A few days ago I watched it and loved it even more. It's a beautiful and moving I remember seeing this movie when I was in 3rd grade. Though I didn't understand it too much, I remember that it was still able to hold my attention. A few days ago I watched it and loved it even more. It's a beautiful and moving story with superb acting, good characters, beautiful forest settings, and a compelling, inspiring, and touching story. I absolutely loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful