Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ten years ago, tragedy struck the Russell family, leaving the lives of teenage siblings Tim and Kaylie forever changed when Tim was convicted of the brutal murder of their parents. Now in his 20s, Tim is newly released from protective custody and only wants to move on with his life; but Kaylie, still haunted by that fateful night, is convinced her parents’ deaths were caused by something else altogether: a malevolent supernatural force—unleashed through the Lasser Glass, an antique mirror in their childhood home. Determined to prove Tim’s innocence, Kaylie tracks down the mirror, only to learn similar deaths have befallen previous owners over the past century. With the mysterious entity now back in their hands, Tim and Kaylie soon find their hold on reality shattered by terrifying hallucinations, and realize, too late, that their childhood nightmare is beginning again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 10, 2014
    91
    In Oculus, the horror is at once deceptively simple and rooted in a deep, primal uneasiness. Its scariest aspects are universally familiar.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Oculus is one of the more elegant scary movies in recent memory.
  3. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Apr 9, 2014
    82
    It’s clean, lean and smart.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    How do you get revenge on an inanimate object? That’s the quandary facing the characters in Oculus, a deeply silly and mildly effective horror movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 11, 2014
    60
    Oculus is a time bomb of a psychological horror film.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    One of the problems with director Mike Flanagan’s occasionally involving but ultimately dull thriller is that the whole movie hinges on a reflective piece of glass.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 10, 2014
    20
    The result: a dangerously cracked creep flick.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 50
  2. Negative: 9 out of 50
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    After seeing oculus it was one of the greatest scary movie ever . the bad thing was the ending it really sucked . Know were on the edge of are seats and the thing are minds is "what the hell is gonna happen next ". Grade A+ Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    "Oculus" is a very well-made horror film. It relies on a dark atmosphere rather than blood or jump scares, and the mirror is quite interesting and disturbing. The way the story is told, the past and the present being told at the same time and eventually interconnecting towards the end, is pretty cool, but it becomes somewhat confusing in the third act when the past and the present are blended together. It's overall a very satisfying, enjoyable, and interesting movie, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    An interesting twist on a genre begging for an interesting twist. Two distinct story lines of two siblings horrored past and attempt to confront and resolve that horror in the present. As the story progresses the two story lines become more and more intertwined and the resulting film is an often creepy and scary as it unfolds from the eyes of this girl and boy both as children and grown to adulthood. It centers around a haunted mirror whose influence affects all around it. Seamless transitions from one time to the next keep you on the edge of your seat and the whole time the mirror has us doubting our own eyes. Horror done well with excellent performances all around. Definitely one of my favorites over the last several years. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2014
    7
    I was really impressed considering I didn't have much expectations. The story was interesting and never boring. Even more so, I felt the overall acting was strong. The movie was a nice surprise. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2014
    6
    #sosa #Boring #weakScript #badActors No asusta , #goodPhoto buena fotografía . buuuu zzzzzz Es un copy paste mal hecho de películas de terror de culto. Espera a que salga en DVD Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2014
    5
    This movie doesn't have the jump scares most thought it would have but it does have its moments. The way the movie is shown is very creative and makes it a unique horror movie. However, the ending seemed forced which made me and my friends feel annoyed when it was over. What could of been a great horror movie was ruined by the ending. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2014
    0
    Certainly not your typical paranormal horror film considering it actually has a plot and it does make you think through out. My biggest issue with out, and why I rated it so low, was that it was tough to get into. It was painfully slow and over acted through out, It really took a toll on you after a short while. It's still worth giving a shot but I simply did not care for it. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers