Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ten years ago, tragedy struck the Russell family, leaving the lives of teenage siblings Tim and Kaylie forever changed when Tim was convicted of the brutal murder of their parents. Now in his 20s, Tim is newly released from protective custody and only wants to move on with his life; butTen years ago, tragedy struck the Russell family, leaving the lives of teenage siblings Tim and Kaylie forever changed when Tim was convicted of the brutal murder of their parents. Now in his 20s, Tim is newly released from protective custody and only wants to move on with his life; but Kaylie, still haunted by that fateful night, is convinced her parents’ deaths were caused by something else altogether: a malevolent supernatural force—unleashed through the Lasser Glass, an antique mirror in their childhood home. Determined to prove Tim’s innocence, Kaylie tracks down the mirror, only to learn similar deaths have befallen previous owners over the past century. With the mysterious entity now back in their hands, Tim and Kaylie soon find their hold on reality shattered by terrifying hallucinations, and realize, too late, that their childhood nightmare is beginning again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 10, 2014
    91
    In Oculus, the horror is at once deceptively simple and rooted in a deep, primal uneasiness. Its scariest aspects are universally familiar.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Oculus is one of the more elegant scary movies in recent memory.
  3. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Apr 9, 2014
    82
    It’s clean, lean and smart.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    How do you get revenge on an inanimate object? That’s the quandary facing the characters in Oculus, a deeply silly and mildly effective horror movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 11, 2014
    60
    Oculus is a time bomb of a psychological horror film.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    One of the problems with director Mike Flanagan’s occasionally involving but ultimately dull thriller is that the whole movie hinges on a reflective piece of glass.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 10, 2014
    20
    The result: a dangerously cracked creep flick.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 69
  2. Negative: 10 out of 69
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    After seeing oculus it was one of the greatest scary movie ever . the bad thing was the ending it really sucked . Know were on the edge ofAfter seeing oculus it was one of the greatest scary movie ever . the bad thing was the ending it really sucked . Know were on the edge of are seats and the thing are minds is "what the hell is gonna happen next ". Grade A+ Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    Gee whiz! A horror movie that does not insult your intelligence. There are a few thump/bump moments and a couple of shock-in-your-faceGee whiz! A horror movie that does not insult your intelligence. There are a few thump/bump moments and a couple of shock-in-your-face scenes, but overall "Oculus" has a plot that actually tells a satisfying story. Things happen for a reason. The movie is not exactly subtle, but it is certainly not the shear nonsense of so many recent horror movies. The Blu-Ray DVD came out today. See it! Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Oculus is probably one of the creepiest movies I have seen in a long time and it disgusted me in some parts...in a good way. If you're aOculus is probably one of the creepiest movies I have seen in a long time and it disgusted me in some parts...in a good way. If you're a horror fan then this is a must see for you, Although I do recommend that if you do not like gore at all, that you avoid this film. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2014
    7
    Despite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bendingDespite being heavy on tension instead of scares, Oculus never stops generating new ideas on the way up to the end, with a mind bending premise, complex build up with jumps back and fourth in time, and a distinctive ending, Oculus is a memorable film for generations to come. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2014
    6
    Up until the ending, this movie delivers some of the creepiest and most thrilling moments I've seen from horror movies lately. It's just aUp until the ending, this movie delivers some of the creepiest and most thrilling moments I've seen from horror movies lately. It's just a shame that it builds up all of that tension and excitement and then lets you down with the ending that can only be described as anticlimactic. In my eyes, if a movie can't stand on it's own then it can't stand at all. No one should have to say, "well this movie is great if there's gonna be a sequel." There's no sense of finality or hope at all, and while horror movies don't really need hope, it makes for a better movie in my opinion. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2015
    5
    Perhaps I went into this with far too high expectations as I had been hearing nothing but praise, but to my dismay I thought it was justPerhaps I went into this with far too high expectations as I had been hearing nothing but praise, but to my dismay I thought it was just average. Still better than the mountain of horrot garbage that has been released in recent years.

    I liked the psychological aspect of the plot, a shame it wasn't played out more, opting for a more generic twist. Acting was mostly bland, aside from Sackhoff who looked like she was trying her hardest.

    Overall:
    Oculus is an OK-ish horror that had an interesting premise but lackluster conclusion. A rental at best.
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2014
    0
    Oculus is like biting into a turd burger knowing full well it's going to taste like a big steamy dump. Sadly with that said I still watchedOculus is like biting into a turd burger knowing full well it's going to taste like a big steamy dump. Sadly with that said I still watched the piece of garbage. It is bad. Very bad, terribly bad.

    I will not say much about this piece of filth as I'd rather not relive it. Acting is bad, plot is worse, and the scares are all wanna-be jump scares. It sucks. It gets a zero. End of review.
    Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Trailers