Kino International | Release Date: September 20, 2006
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
32
Mixed:
4
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AshutoshR.Jan 27, 2007
Though I could not fully comprehend he movie but i still liked the movie . Kurt's acting was really good , i liked him because he had courage to lead his life the way he wanted. I wish i could be like him .The music of the movie was Though I could not fully comprehend he movie but i still liked the movie . Kurt's acting was really good , i liked him because he had courage to lead his life the way he wanted. I wish i could be like him .The music of the movie was also very soothing and the ambiance surrounding the characters was also very good ."Sorrow is like worn out joy". Now after this last line do I need to say anything more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.May 3, 2007
What happens at the hot springs, stays at the hot springs. Even we don't know. "Old Joy", a film that could be described as "Chuck & Buck Go Camping", wisely goes for the shot of omission after Kurt(Will Oldham) goes for Mark's What happens at the hot springs, stays at the hot springs. Even we don't know. "Old Joy", a film that could be described as "Chuck & Buck Go Camping", wisely goes for the shot of omission after Kurt(Will Oldham) goes for Mark's shoulders. Lucy knows. As Kurt and Mark head towards their car, Mark's clingy dog walks well ahead of the two men. Hmmm. In the opening scene, we see Mark(Daniel London), a Buddhist, meditating on his lawn. About what? Hmmm. All those tracking shots of rural Oregon as seen through their moving vehicle isn't there for just scenery's sake. It's what both men are looking at as they're thinking. There's sexual tension in all the objects that appear through the car window, and later, in the woods. I don't know what Terrence Malick has in mind when he shoots nature in close-up, but this filmmaker is telling a narrative about latent homosexuality through the use of sublimated objects. That slug, that bird, not to mention, the trees(read: phallic symbol), are all used as foreshadowing to the moment when Kurt gives Mark a massage. "Old Joy" is not a peaceful journey into the country. It just might be about the sham of marriage. This is scary stuff. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
WillN.Sep 23, 2007
Pace is so slow that I could have been real time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelG.Sep 8, 2007
This film moves slowly, but it stayed with me. I woke up wondering how the characters were doing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
danielchabannesApr 2, 2007
Very sensitive !
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanBarrSep 22, 2006
Yeah, it's good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Dec 8, 2006
For those who wish American films could be more like foreign classics, "Old Joy" is perfect. Naturalism artfully portrayed, and full of real life! I don't remember the last time I saw people on screen that I could imagine meeting in For those who wish American films could be more like foreign classics, "Old Joy" is perfect. Naturalism artfully portrayed, and full of real life! I don't remember the last time I saw people on screen that I could imagine meeting in real life. The characters in "Old Joy" are our brothers and sons, and new fathers. We equally despise and admire them, and also, we empathize with them, because our lives are not that different. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
A.G.E.Oct 8, 2006
Little ado about nothing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RickB.Jul 4, 2007
This was clearly the most boring movie I have ever seen in my life - no small feat. I didn't feel any empathy with either character. How professional reviewers could rave about this movie is a complete mystery. The only action worth This was clearly the most boring movie I have ever seen in my life - no small feat. I didn't feel any empathy with either character. How professional reviewers could rave about this movie is a complete mystery. The only action worth watching was Lucy, the dog. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaxW.Dec 10, 2006
The worst movie I've seen in years. I don't even see what the writer/director was trying to do. It was so boring and pointless that my wife and I had to walk out half-way through... I want my time back.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TankyT.Sep 25, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KaraJul 13, 2007
This is one of the stupidest movies I have ever seen. I truly fail to understand how it got such rave reviews. I would like to add that Chad's review of this movie was even more stupid than the movie. Congratulations.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BryanW.Sep 20, 2006
The 2nd worst movie I saw at Sundance this year. Not only is it boring and pretentious in reveling in its oh-so-indie-ness but the two main actors grated on my nerves, pretentiously. I know critics loved it but I can tell you firsthand that The 2nd worst movie I saw at Sundance this year. Not only is it boring and pretentious in reveling in its oh-so-indie-ness but the two main actors grated on my nerves, pretentiously. I know critics loved it but I can tell you firsthand that 3/4 of the audience at that screening jumped up at the first credit roll and didn't stay for the Q&A. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertI.Oct 29, 2006
As tedious as getting your teeth ground. The lack of dialogue! Seventy-six minutes seemed like 3 hours. And to top it off, they camp in a garbage dump! Minimalism and artlessness need not be synonymous. Critics shouldn't read each As tedious as getting your teeth ground. The lack of dialogue! Seventy-six minutes seemed like 3 hours. And to top it off, they camp in a garbage dump! Minimalism and artlessness need not be synonymous. Critics shouldn't read each others' work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonG.Oct 4, 2006
This could well be the worst movie ever to receive these kind of patronizing reviews. Shallow, empty, and pretentious, I dare those who praised it to subject themselves to a second viewing. 76 minutes of pure drivel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MLJan 10, 2007
From the second Will Oldham gets on screen, it's his movie. One of the best performances of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KathleenF.Mar 10, 2007
The only reason more people didn't leave the theater during this utterly boring and pointless film is because it is thankfully, rather short. The most interesting thing in this film is the dog with the stick. Just because you like Will The only reason more people didn't leave the theater during this utterly boring and pointless film is because it is thankfully, rather short. The most interesting thing in this film is the dog with the stick. Just because you like Will Oldham, doesn't make this a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ScottS.Jun 4, 2007
Hey Chad: Sometimes a shoulder rub is just a shoulder rub. And, trees are not phallic symbols when you're in the woods; they're "the woods".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattBOct 10, 2006
Against breathtaking scenery and a perfect soundtrack, we see a friendship that has reached the point where there is nothing left to say. Not a story so much as a rumination on the pain of aging, the way time pulls people apart. Not much Against breathtaking scenery and a perfect soundtrack, we see a friendship that has reached the point where there is nothing left to say. Not a story so much as a rumination on the pain of aging, the way time pulls people apart. Not much happens, but that's the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JWOct 16, 2006
This is the dullest piece of arty nothing to receive such a high rating! Yes the scenery is beautiful, the reunited friends somehow endearing, and the melancholy mood creates a soft tension. All that does not make up for the lack of plot, This is the dullest piece of arty nothing to receive such a high rating! Yes the scenery is beautiful, the reunited friends somehow endearing, and the melancholy mood creates a soft tension. All that does not make up for the lack of plot, pacing, and dialogue. In short, nothing happens and not in a good way. I liked the sound track. What I got out of it: destination- Bagby hot springs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
E.Oct 29, 2006
Well acted and very well directed, Old Joy lives up to all of the hype and then some.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrevorG.Oct 8, 2006
You know we're in trouble when poseur pretentious junk like this gets these kind of reviews. Yeah, the woods are pretty. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
anneb.Mar 17, 2007
There is obviously no middle ground for this movie. I do want to know where those hot springs were?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Two old friends go on a picnic to talk about their wannabe lives. Boring. Skipped to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ConnieDec 15, 2006
What were those reviewers thinking? Don't we all know these guys too well? The relunctant to grow up burn-out and the guy trying to move into adulthood grieve the loss of what? The freedom to drink and smoke too much and have What were those reviewers thinking? Don't we all know these guys too well? The relunctant to grow up burn-out and the guy trying to move into adulthood grieve the loss of what? The freedom to drink and smoke too much and have conversations that only seem profound to the stoned?? Give me a break. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PMG963Nov 6, 2011
"Old Joy" moves slowly, but a man hesitant about how to seduce his old friend is wise to move slowly too. That is how I saw the movie -- Kurt is lonely, sadly lonely. He blurts out in the night that he misses his friend. He massages Mark's"Old Joy" moves slowly, but a man hesitant about how to seduce his old friend is wise to move slowly too. That is how I saw the movie -- Kurt is lonely, sadly lonely. He blurts out in the night that he misses his friend. He massages Mark's shoulders the next day. That is all he gets. That night, he is back in the city, cruising the streets. Look at how he gives the beggar some money and hangs around for an instant, until the beggar seems to dismiss him with "Have a nice night." If this is not how to interpret the movie, then why is the last scene even there? Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
seventhsealSep 23, 2014
Did not expect too much going into watching this movie and that is exactly what I got, not very much.

Very disappointed in this movie and sadly cannot recommend it. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
Old Joy is Joy in 2006 - late 2015's generation before the new Joy replaced it. There's no mixed reviews, but I'm not planning to drop one there anyways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews