DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: February 21, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 238 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
205
Mixed:
24
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DamianFeb 4, 2011
One of my favourite movies of the decade! It made me laugh, which is no mean feat. I've only ever heard good things from people I know who've seen it. A must see!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 6, 2012
-"You my boy blue!"
-"Well, um, actually a pretty nice little Saturday, we're going to go to Home Depot"
-Earmuffs
This movie has more than enough laughs to go around, Very very enjoyable movie.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
cilincescuFeb 8, 2013
A CRIMINAL comedy It was awesome !!!
It's not the story, it was common... It's how it's made... full of funny jokes, crazy situations :)))
I'm sure that everyone of you know 3 guys exactly like the 3 main characters :D
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
geedupJul 5, 2012
These movie critics are the only people I know that do not like this movie. Sure it is a bit immature and freekishly simple comedy, but a laugh from beginning to end. One of my favorites- Frank the tank baby! Guys forming a frat for losersThese movie critics are the only people I know that do not like this movie. Sure it is a bit immature and freekishly simple comedy, but a laugh from beginning to end. One of my favorites- Frank the tank baby! Guys forming a frat for losers just to keep a home near a college campus. "You're my boy Blue!" Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Childish, terrible story, vulgar, ridiculous, silly & cliche ridden but made me laugh more than I expected & I enjoyed it..
I'm still laughing at the wedding band now. I'm sure I once saw a band like this in Oldham!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jan 28, 2015
Old School is a classic 2000's comedy. Overall it is likely one of the best film released starring the so called "frat-pack". For me this is really the movie that sets Will Ferrell up for the future he had (Anchorman and Blades of GloryOld School is a classic 2000's comedy. Overall it is likely one of the best film released starring the so called "frat-pack". For me this is really the movie that sets Will Ferrell up for the future he had (Anchorman and Blades of Glory followed and for Vince Vaughn Dodge ball and Wedding Crashers). There were several times hat I found myself in stitches over this movie. Its just as significant now as it was in 2003, and its aged well over the 12 years since its release. If you are a fan of any of the stars in this film Old School is worth watching because this is really the beginning of the revolution for these actors, except for Luke Wilson who we would certainly like to see back in a film like this again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
It was funny for the most part, Can get rather boring and stale as well. Acting was solid and there are a lot of hilarious parts through out. It was a solid comedy worth watching.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Hangover" Director Todd Phillips delivers a sort of "Animal House" throwback with "Old School". The film tells the story of Mitch, played by Luke Wilson, whose life basically falls apart before his eyes. He then decides to move in to a house"Hangover" Director Todd Phillips delivers a sort of "Animal House" throwback with "Old School". The film tells the story of Mitch, played by Luke Wilson, whose life basically falls apart before his eyes. He then decides to move in to a house on a college campus. Mitch's friends Frank and Beanie, played by Ferrell and Vaughn, convince him to start a fraternity within the college campus. Hilarity, of course, ensues. I found myself laughing a fair amount in this movie. There were a couple moments that were made me laugh hysterically, but overall the laughs came pretty moderately for me. Luke Wilson is great at playing. . .well the straight man - I feel that that's all he plays in movies unfortunately. And Will Ferrell and Vince Vaughn are excellent as Wilson's flawed but fun friends. Overall I found the movie pretty darn hilarious. Even though some of the subplot stuff was rather annoyingly predictable, the movie still managed to make me laugh a bit. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuSep 3, 2011
A homage to the eighties college movies such as Back To School but it is rescued from mediocrity by a hilarious performance by Will Ferrell. Still worth a watch and it's guaranteed you'll find at least one moment that will make you laugh out loud.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 4, 2012
This movie is flat out stupid. Had some really dumb parts in the film and some that were very funny. Characters are totally worthless and the acting was quite pitiful. Decent enough for a comedy.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
The jokes aren't as frequent as they should be, and it doesn't have much of a plot, but Old School delivers the goods nevertheless. It's a crowd pleaser, with some uproarious monologues from Ferrell.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
RichardSOct 15, 2006
1 vote for Will Ferrell, at least he knows what comedy is. His pratfalling and stupidity is funny. Everything else is beyond bad. Absolutely hateful rip off of Animal House with maybe 4 smirks all film, all Ferrell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenMAug 24, 2005
Loved the movie...a masterpiece. I was pleased to see that it just made Vanity Fair's top 50 films of all time list. Frank the Tank is one of the best characters to come along in a long time. If you don't enjoy this movie, you need Loved the movie...a masterpiece. I was pleased to see that it just made Vanity Fair's top 50 films of all time list. Frank the Tank is one of the best characters to come along in a long time. If you don't enjoy this movie, you need to lighten up and live a little. Fart jokes and one liners aside, there is a fair amount of real world insight in the film for those of us at the same stage in life (early 30s). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonLSep 2, 2005
This is a legendary film that should be remembered forever. It is so funny; this must be one of the best films I own. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did. If anyone has not seen this the WATCH IT!!! NOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidG.Oct 21, 2005
I don't get it. A few funny moments and a lot of pap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveF.Oct 22, 2005
A big disappointment. Everyone was saying, "you gotta see this movie!" Maybe Will Farrell flailing around with a dart in his neck is funny if you work with zoo animals? This movie is a wannabe Animal House, and its attempts at humor range A big disappointment. Everyone was saying, "you gotta see this movie!" Maybe Will Farrell flailing around with a dart in his neck is funny if you work with zoo animals? This movie is a wannabe Animal House, and its attempts at humor range from sad to irritating. This isn't coming from some highfalutin critic who doesnt appreciate lowbrow jokes. I laughed non-stop at The Longest Yard and The 40 Year old Virgin. If you want silly, raunchy humor, rent one of those two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhillB.Jul 21, 2003
You're my boy Blue!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RitaP.Jan 26, 2006
Some very funny moments but nowhere as good as Anchorman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.S.Jul 29, 2006
This movie is no disappointment forget all the bad reviews. Will ferrell is so funny and this movie is hilarious. A must see. Not appropriate for younger viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Meth-dudeSep 24, 2016
It wasn't always funny, it was predictable and the characters were cliché but it was still pretty entertaining and the soundtrack was really good. Old School is definitely not a great comedy but it's still good enough to keep you entertainedIt wasn't always funny, it was predictable and the characters were cliché but it was still pretty entertaining and the soundtrack was really good. Old School is definitely not a great comedy but it's still good enough to keep you entertained for the entirety of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews