Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    The thrills and the effects are cheap, but this is in hard-driving, good-humoured command of its own silliness.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 23, 2013
    60
    A deep supporting cast brings its A-game to the ridiculous dialogue.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 21, 2013
    60
    Perhaps every generation gets the movie stars it deserves. “Olympus” has quite a bit to say about the current state of our country. Intentions aside, not all of it is entirely flattering.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 19, 2013
    60
    Generates a fair amount of tension and produces the kind of nationalistic outrage that rock-ribbed Americans will feel in their guts.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 19, 2013
    60
    A Red Dawn for the Tea Party era, Olympus Has Fallen is pretty ridiculously entertaining—or at least entertainingly ridiculous—for long stretches, dulled only by the realization that there are many parts of the country where this will play as less than total farce.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Mar 22, 2013
    50
    Olympus Has Fallen at least possesses the frisson of timeliness amid otherwise hoary action-movie cliches.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    This unapologetic B-movie at least keeps the action rolling, and the time goes by quickly. To put it another way, I’d rather see Gerard Butler stab a terrorist in the neck than flirt with Katherine Heigl.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    This is for those who like their political thrillers far-fetched, far-reaching and filled with pretty people.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    A North Korean terrorist may be responsible for taking the president hostage, but it’s Bulgarian-made CGI that does the most damage in Antoine Fuqua’s intense, ugly, White-House-under-siege actioner Olympus Has Fallen.
  10. 50
    For all the bursts of blood, the gunplay and execution-style head-shots that punctuate scores of deaths, it’s hard to see Olympus Has Fallen (Secret Service code) as much more than another movie manifestation of a first-person shooter video game.
  11. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Butler serves the cause well, considering. Think that cause is a thankless one? Shhh, don’t tell Secret Service agent Channing Tatum or president Jamie Foxx, headed your way in June with, yes, “White House Down.”
  12. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 20, 2013
    50
    The countdown-to-Armageddon structure generates almost no tension, but Olympus Has Fallen does have lots of squalidly bloody hand-to-hand action, all of which is so pulpy and standardthat the film actually makes you grateful for the presence of Gerard Butler, gnashing his teeth in the Bruce Willis role.
  13. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 21, 2013
    42
    The movie is so apolitical; there could have been a nice slant to the movie, about how both sides of the aisle could get together to kick out these Korean terrorists. Instead, it remains totally void.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Part of the weirdness of this film lies in the fact that the tense North Korean situation in the real world gives it no realism or satirical edge, or prophetic authority of any kind.
  15. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    The movie isn’t a desecration, but it’s action filmmaking, not America, that needs to be reborn.
  16. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Mar 21, 2013
    40
    If you’re just going to rip off the action movies of yore, why not rip off more of the good stuff?
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 123
  2. Negative: 37 out of 123
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, goodThis is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    It's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinkyIt's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinky entry in the Die Hard franchise). Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Cliché, cheesy, inane, boring, predictable all could be used to sum up this horrible movie. It sucked, and I want my money back. Because thisCliché, cheesy, inane, boring, predictable all could be used to sum up this horrible movie. It sucked, and I want my money back. Because this is America, and when things suck you should be able to get your $8 back.

    I mean, I'm all about suspending disbelief in watching a movie. But Let's face it, if the only three people in the world with the detonation codes for every single nuclear missile were all being held hostage by a terrorist in the White House bunker which just happened to be the only place in the world where the detonation codes could be changed well, I feel pretty confident the order would be given to storm the White House and kill everyone in it including the President. And if the cops and the Navy SEALS couldn't handle this task, I feel pretty sure every one of us gun toting rednecks would swarm on the White House and demolish it to the ground in about 15 minutes.

    And speaking of stupid, how about that super dooper gun turret they somehow miraculously smuggled into the White House and strategically placed on the roof such that it could shoot down 6 Navy SEAL helicopters??? OMFG! STOOOPID! This movie was Die Hard on steroids. Lame lame lame lame lame, and again, lame. Of course they cap the whole thing off with the proverbial ticking time bomb at the end that our hero just manages to deactivate at the last second, saving us all from certain doom.

    What has the American population become that they would try to pass off an utterly inane and stupid piece of malarkey like this movie on us as an even marginally plausible scenario for a terrorist attack never-mind having only one goober inside able to thwart the attack and we as Americans don't stand up en masse and demand our freakin' money back for this garbage?? Cheesy!
    Full Review »