Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. 30
    Olympus Has Fallen is a disgusting piece of work, but it certainly hits its marks — it makes you sick with suspense.
  2. 30
    Olympus Has Fallen is a disgusting piece of work, but it certainly hits its marks — it makes you sick with suspense.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 21, 2013
    10
    [Antoine Fuqua] gives in to terrible instincts here, flirting with overwrought patriotism, one too many laugh lines amid numerous characters being shot in the head, and a general chaos-inspired editing technique all too rampant in today's action cinema.
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Mar 21, 2013
    35
    Feels from start to finish like a throwback to the action cinema and military thrillers of decades past.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Olympus Has Fallen is no fun at all. To the contrary, it soon grows tedious, odious and oppressive.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 21, 2013
    20
    It may be too much to ask for anything more, but, on the other hand, if you’re going to go to the trouble of pretending to blow up the White House, you might also want to pretend that something was at stake.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 20, 2013
    25
    Nearly everything that happens in Olympus Has Fallen is ludicrous, yet because the fate of the president and the nation hangs in the balance, the crisis is treated with the gravitas of Paul Scofield at the West End.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 302 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 117
  2. Negative: 34 out of 117
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    It's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinky entry in the Die Hard franchise). Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Cliché, cheesy, inane, boring, predictable all could be used to sum up this horrible movie. It sucked, and I want my money back. Because this is America, and when things suck you should be able to get your $8 back.

    I mean, I'm all about suspending disbelief in watching a movie. But Let's face it, if the only three people in the world with the detonation codes for every single nuclear missile were all being held hostage by a terrorist in the White House bunker which just happened to be the only place in the world where the detonation codes could be changed well, I feel pretty confident the order would be given to storm the White House and kill everyone in it including the President. And if the cops and the Navy SEALS couldn't handle this task, I feel pretty sure every one of us gun toting rednecks would swarm on the White House and demolish it to the ground in about 15 minutes.

    And speaking of stupid, how about that super dooper gun turret they somehow miraculously smuggled into the White House and strategically placed on the roof such that it could shoot down 6 Navy SEAL helicopters??? OMFG! STOOOPID! This movie was Die Hard on steroids. Lame lame lame lame lame, and again, lame. Of course they cap the whole thing off with the proverbial ticking time bomb at the end that our hero just manages to deactivate at the last second, saving us all from certain doom.

    What has the American population become that they would try to pass off an utterly inane and stupid piece of malarkey like this movie on us as an even marginally plausible scenario for a terrorist attack never-mind having only one goober inside able to thwart the attack and we as Americans don't stand up en masse and demand our freakin' money back for this garbage?? Cheesy!
    Full Review »