Olympus Has Fallen

Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 20, 2013
    67
    Melissa Leo has some standout scenes as the secretary of defense, who gets pretty well beaten up for defying her captors, but others, such as Angela Bassett and Morgan Freeman, have little to do but bite their lips and look tense from the confines of their command posts.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    While Olympus Has Fallen breaks no major new ground in the political thriller genre, Fuqua has directed a sharp, very taut adventure that keeps you engrossed from start to finish.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 21, 2013
    67
    The action is the real star here, and it’s all good enough. It isn’t great – the aerial special effects are distractingly cheap – but at least there’s lots of it on display.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Any semblance of seriousness and verisimilitude suggested by the marketing campaign is quickly forgotten once director Antoine Fuqua's enjoyably tacky Die Hard-on-the-Potomac gets under way.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    Although the film's real-world credibility is shaky, it works on its own terms.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    It's that wonderful, totally unambitious yet satisfying thing, a really good movie.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    63
    The film spends its first act establishing a flimsy emotional groundwork before gleefully taking a sledgehammer to it just seconds into act two.
  8. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    Korean-American actor and former model Yune (who played a similar role in "Die Another Day," the last Pierce Brosnan James Bond film) makes a colourful villain – handsome and insufferably assured, and also an unchivalrous sadist who kicks around the Secretary of Defense (Melissa Leo in a pageboy wig) as though she’s a hacky sack.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 123
  2. Negative: 37 out of 123
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, goodThis is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    It's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinkyIt's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinky entry in the Die Hard franchise). Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Cliché, cheesy, inane, boring, predictable all could be used to sum up this horrible movie. It sucked, and I want my money back. Because thisCliché, cheesy, inane, boring, predictable all could be used to sum up this horrible movie. It sucked, and I want my money back. Because this is America, and when things suck you should be able to get your $8 back.

    I mean, I'm all about suspending disbelief in watching a movie. But Let's face it, if the only three people in the world with the detonation codes for every single nuclear missile were all being held hostage by a terrorist in the White House bunker which just happened to be the only place in the world where the detonation codes could be changed well, I feel pretty confident the order would be given to storm the White House and kill everyone in it including the President. And if the cops and the Navy SEALS couldn't handle this task, I feel pretty sure every one of us gun toting rednecks would swarm on the White House and demolish it to the ground in about 15 minutes.

    And speaking of stupid, how about that super dooper gun turret they somehow miraculously smuggled into the White House and strategically placed on the roof such that it could shoot down 6 Navy SEAL helicopters??? OMFG! STOOOPID! This movie was Die Hard on steroids. Lame lame lame lame lame, and again, lame. Of course they cap the whole thing off with the proverbial ticking time bomb at the end that our hero just manages to deactivate at the last second, saving us all from certain doom.

    What has the American population become that they would try to pass off an utterly inane and stupid piece of malarkey like this movie on us as an even marginally plausible scenario for a terrorist attack never-mind having only one goober inside able to thwart the attack and we as Americans don't stand up en masse and demand our freakin' money back for this garbage?? Cheesy!
    Full Review »