FilmDistrict | Release Date: March 22, 2013
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 361 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
157
Mixed:
123
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
2CatShakurMar 22, 2013
It's essentially the first Die Hard meets Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2... (and actually, it was way better than that most recent stinky entry in the Die Hard franchise).
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
8
rafaramApr 9, 2013
A movie that bring the audience right back to 80's action movies. Crappy effects, unbelievable plot and over the top action sequences. This is the recipe to a good old action movie, simple yet many other movies have failed at it like the lastA movie that bring the audience right back to 80's action movies. Crappy effects, unbelievable plot and over the top action sequences. This is the recipe to a good old action movie, simple yet many other movies have failed at it like the last stand. Great movie for good old mindless fun.
I dot think this movie is gonna wipe the oscars but is certainly worth a matinee price.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
rmjbonesMar 23, 2013
This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie.
14 of 26 users found this helpful1412
All this user's reviews
9
JPG127Mar 22, 2013
This is a great action movie. Reminiscent of the original Die Hard and Under Siege. Well acted, high body count and well paced, the film never gets preachy or off topic. Not believable, but still a great experience and still better than theThis is a great action movie. Reminiscent of the original Die Hard and Under Siege. Well acted, high body count and well paced, the film never gets preachy or off topic. Not believable, but still a great experience and still better than the other action movies that have come out this year. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryMar 28, 2013
Gerard Butler has had a long string on movie duds, but this one will put him back on solid ground as an intrepid Secret Service agent. After terrorists stage a spectacular attack on the White House and hold President Aaron Eckhart hostage,Gerard Butler has had a long string on movie duds, but this one will put him back on solid ground as an intrepid Secret Service agent. After terrorists stage a spectacular attack on the White House and hold President Aaron Eckhart hostage, Butler is the only one who can save the day. As this genre goes, this is pretty much by the numbers, but it's well staged and well acted (who even recognized Melissa Leo in that wig?). The fights are sometimes too jumbled to follow, but the plot (pun intended) offers a frightening theory that's effectively played out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ivan_terribleMay 3, 2013
The rating was just so so on imdb. I thought this would be as terrible as die hard 5, but i was wrong. This one was so much better and much more entertaining than die hard 5. Full throttle action, very enjoyable, intense and great acting. IThe rating was just so so on imdb. I thought this would be as terrible as die hard 5, but i was wrong. This one was so much better and much more entertaining than die hard 5. Full throttle action, very enjoyable, intense and great acting. I could have given it 10, but since there were too much civilians killing and massacre scenes therefore i reduce it to 8. This movie worth every and my time on big screen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JamesAlexeiApr 15, 2013
I first want to say, I am anti-American. Born and raised in Russia, my parents abandoned me because of the economy. I've always blamed that on America.

I honestly think this could never happen to the White House but it is still a great
I first want to say, I am anti-American. Born and raised in Russia, my parents abandoned me because of the economy. I've always blamed that on America.

I honestly think this could never happen to the White House but it is still a great film to watch. It had me on the edge of my seat. It is quite a cheesy (how many movies have a plot similar to this?) but I didn't mind.

A great political thriller. I highly recommend it.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
lilschreckMar 22, 2013
What a great F#cking movie. I have no idea why some people are giving it such bad reviews. If you like action thrillers then this movie will get your blood boiling and heart pounding. When certain part of the movie occurred (which will remainWhat a great F#cking movie. I have no idea why some people are giving it such bad reviews. If you like action thrillers then this movie will get your blood boiling and heart pounding. When certain part of the movie occurred (which will remain nameless as not to spoil anyone) the crowd started cheering and there was an applause at the end of the film. The only downfall that I saw in the movie were some real life inaccuracies. other than that it was one of Gerard Butler's best films. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
weetiger3Mar 22, 2013
This is one wild ride! It will be too much for some people (too much noise, too much blood, etc etc) but that's okay. If you're able to suspend your disbelief, Fuqua's pacing zips along so fast that you bounce over the plot holes. It's like aThis is one wild ride! It will be too much for some people (too much noise, too much blood, etc etc) but that's okay. If you're able to suspend your disbelief, Fuqua's pacing zips along so fast that you bounce over the plot holes. It's like a roller coaster you'll want to get back on as soon as it's over. Butler, Freeman, Basset, Eckhart, et al are terrific! Do not be swayed see it for yourself Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Olympus Has Fallen" is a taunt, exciting, edgy and just a flat out terrific action movie. More along the lines of a Die Hard for this generation, Antoine Fuqua has created one truly kick ass film, Olympus does not fall, in fact its quite the"Olympus Has Fallen" is a taunt, exciting, edgy and just a flat out terrific action movie. More along the lines of a Die Hard for this generation, Antoine Fuqua has created one truly kick ass film, Olympus does not fall, in fact its quite the opposite.".. A- Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeApr 4, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this action packed thrill ride of a movie. Yes it does seem completely impossible at times and the secret service looks pretty incompetent but it doesn't take away from the many awesomeness factors. I think the plot doesI thoroughly enjoyed this action packed thrill ride of a movie. Yes it does seem completely impossible at times and the secret service looks pretty incompetent but it doesn't take away from the many awesomeness factors. I think the plot does of good job of making you care about its characters and the many twists and turns keep you engaged. All in all the movie can be a little cheesy at times but I highly recommend you see it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 22, 2013
It's Die Hard in the White House. Olympus has Fallen has a great edgy feeling to it, making the film just like Die Hard movies. The plot was great and the action was mesmerizing. This is the movie for action fanatics but it seems like itsIt's Die Hard in the White House. Olympus has Fallen has a great edgy feeling to it, making the film just like Die Hard movies. The plot was great and the action was mesmerizing. This is the movie for action fanatics but it seems like its more than that. Die Hard 5 is just what I wanted this to be, but the stinky Good Day To Die Hard entered and blowed my mind. Olympus has Fallen is great. Maybe it's the best movie of 2013. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
cell989Mar 25, 2013
This movie in my book gets a 10/10 for accomplishing what it set out to be, and ACTION movie. Forget the Oscars and Golden Globes ladies and gentlemen, this is a true action movie with the right premise and the right excuse to blow car up andThis movie in my book gets a 10/10 for accomplishing what it set out to be, and ACTION movie. Forget the Oscars and Golden Globes ladies and gentlemen, this is a true action movie with the right premise and the right excuse to blow car up and shoot anything that moves. Yes the plot is unrealistic, but thats not what I expect from this movie. I wanted tension, suspense, action, and thrill and Olympus Has Fallen delivers in spades. If I had to choose between watching this or Argo, I would watch this. Dont get me wrong Argo was a good movie, but Olympus Has Fallen is more ENTERTAINING, and at the end of the day, thats why I watch movies, for entertainment. This is the Die Hard sequel I was waiting for. PS: thank you Antoine Fuqua for giving us some old school 90's action it was about time someone nailed this genre again Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KranitokoApr 17, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only knowing a little bit about the film to start with (it has Gerard Butler and Morgan Freeman), I took the film with a pinch of salt. Now I'm not saying this is a brilliant film, because it's not, but it's still a great film to keep you giddy on the way home.

Now the beginning 20 minutes are somewhat flawed. Gerard's character, Mike, is the security to the President, his wife and his son. Unfortunately, something happens (which was kind of predictable). The car the president and his wife are in spirals out of control after a crash and ends up leaning off a bridge (the car wasn't really going fast mind you. The driver must have sped the car up instead of slowed it down after the car in front got hit). Unfortunately, a tragic accident occurs to which Mike had tried to help in, and 18 months later, it see's that Mike has been taken off the security, purely because his face reminds the president of that tragic day... ah wha? Now I'm not saying these are the only flaws of the movie, because there are spots here and there that don't add up, but if you try, you can just ignore them and enjoy the film.

The premise of the film is that the Koreans come to the United States and end up taking control of the white house. They leave a mess behind to do it too, mind you. They take control, and their aim is to try and make the United States as vulnerable as Korea has been in its time, what with poverty and pain occurring everyday in some places. The only one who can try and stop them however, is... Mike. And don't get me wrong, this is no doubt one movie Gerard was suited for, and his performance really pulls you in from the middle to end.

This movie tended to be surprising in some cases, because there were a lot of moments where I thought "this is going to happen, I know it" and before I knew it..... it didn't happen. So that was a nice change.

As for Morgan Freeman's performance, as much as I like the guy, I'm kind of wondering what the point of his character was. I mean, he came into the film, did a bit of commanding, and then went out again... barely no backstory to his character. In fact, one part of his character made me think "well that escalated quickly". See if you can guess which part.

Another big name is Aaron Eckhart, who you might remember as Two-Face in The Dark Knight. It was weird to not see his character turn out to be a villain like in TDK, even though I half expected him to just come out and go "Hi. I'm two-face". However, he played the role of a President quite well, even if there are a few kinks into his story.

Overall, with great action sequences, some surprising moments and great performances, Olympus Has Fallen deserved my money... even if there are some moments that make no sense... for example: is it REALLY this easy to take down the white house? Cause if so... damn...
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMar 23, 2013
this film is much better than I expected. Its extremely action-packed and has very interesting characters. America FTW guys! The most patriotic movie i've seen in a while.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFMay 3, 2013
Olympus has fallen is the first of the big White House action to pieces to be released this year, followed by White House Down later on. While there is plenty to see and enough action to please the masses, the film isn't without its problems.Olympus has fallen is the first of the big White House action to pieces to be released this year, followed by White House Down later on. While there is plenty to see and enough action to please the masses, the film isn't without its problems.
Gerard Butler takes the lead as Mike Branning, a secret service agent of the President Asher's (Aaron Eckhart) personal detail who after a tragic accident is working in the treasury office job 18 months later, missing his old job. Business continues as normal throughout the White House, but an air assault from a rogue aircraft begins to shoot up most of Washington, on its way to the White House.
Branning makes his way towards the White House, now a graveyard of unfortunate victims, and of course now under siege.
When he eventually makes contact with the outside world, he is tasked with rescuing the Presidents son who hasn't been seen since the events unfolded, and he then must try his best to save the President, who has problems of his own inside the Presidents bunker.
Olympus does have all the brass to be one of the most enjoyable popcorn films of the year..and it should be, save for a view errors that cannot be brushed aside.
Gerard Butler, through no fault of his own, is quite wooden throughout the film..he didn't really have a whole lot to say and his funny moments were just simply a few swear words to many, his acting is great and he looks tough, but his dialogue and character development suffered in the process. This was an ongoing problem throughout the film, there was a lot of characters to know about but enough to remember them. Morgan Freeman, again didn't have a lot to do but call the shots for a while, but Melissa Leo had the the most memorable lines as Secretary of Defence Ruth McMillan, delivering an exciting and fiery performance.
Dylan McDermott continues to shine in his limited roles onscreen, he was excellent in The Campaign and succeeds in creating a powerful character in this film as Secret Service agent Dave Forbes.
It's exciting to see a large talented cast come together, and in this case an explosive and fast-paced thrill has been created that certainly isn't without it's problems, but is definitely worth an entertaining two hours of your time
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FinfidJun 27, 2013
The Navy Admiral SHOULD have died before giving his code. The "Madaam" Secretary would have died before giving her code. "Send in the Seals"? They should have sent the Army Rangers... Ah well. Hollywood is seldom right. Still, a good actionThe Navy Admiral SHOULD have died before giving his code. The "Madaam" Secretary would have died before giving her code. "Send in the Seals"? They should have sent the Army Rangers... Ah well. Hollywood is seldom right. Still, a good action flick with a capable protagonist. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer4life1985Apr 12, 2013
Very good film. I quite enjoyed it for an action movie and thought the actors did a great job. A couple things could have been touched up on or more utilized, but nothing major and the ending could have been a little more extended but notVery good film. I quite enjoyed it for an action movie and thought the actors did a great job. A couple things could have been touched up on or more utilized, but nothing major and the ending could have been a little more extended but not much... Those are minor grips. Otherwise, check it out. Definately worth the price of admission (I went to an afternoon viewing of it) Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
SmeeJun 29, 2013
its a good action movie with advanced gun fights and well written script.they were some loop holes such as even after Bulter resigned from secret service his access were not removed.Fight scenes and acting is quite professional.Certainlyits a good action movie with advanced gun fights and well written script.they were some loop holes such as even after Bulter resigned from secret service his access were not removed.Fight scenes and acting is quite professional.Certainly worth the money and time i spend.End is bit an american propaganda but its an Hollywood movie so deal with it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Coletrain128Mar 23, 2013
You are really going to have to suspend your disbelief with this film if you want to enjoy it. Its pretty obvious that a situation like this would never happen and if you can put this and a few flaws aside, its actually a surprising goodYou are really going to have to suspend your disbelief with this film if you want to enjoy it. Its pretty obvious that a situation like this would never happen and if you can put this and a few flaws aside, its actually a surprising good action film. If Die Hard 5 was actually good, it would be this movie. Sure, some of the dialogue is cheesy and hit or miss and you can tell how hard Butler is trying to keep his accent hidden but these are just nit picks. Its a solid action movie if you can forgive the minor flaws. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
idohakerMar 24, 2013
the first part of the movie was.......boring.but after 15 minutes the movie was very good actually,and it was very interasting and thrilling so it succeed to help this movie get a 9 out of me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JohnrieberMar 27, 2013
"Olympus Has Fallen" was surprisingly effective the effects were excellent, the action non-stop, and the acting strong from all the major players and yes, I was surprised by this! I read a review that trashed the dialogue but it was kind"Olympus Has Fallen" was surprisingly effective the effects were excellent, the action non-stop, and the acting strong from all the major players and yes, I was surprised by this! I read a review that trashed the dialogue but it was kind of shooting ducks in a pond, as this movie is "Die Hard In The White House" not "Lincoln." It's a populist action thriller that delivered action and thrills...check your artistic pretensions at the door and take the ride it was fun! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Mar 25, 2013
It may be wholly unoriginal and occasionally outrageous, but those factors don't change the truth "Olympus Has Fallen" is a suspenseful, thrilling, well-acted, and (Most importantly) fun action flick.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Mar 29, 2013
This movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!! From start to finish you don't know what's coming. The action scenes were fantastic and the execution of the story was great. Morgan Freeman and Gerard Butler had great performances. Some people say that itThis movie was awesome!!!!!!!!!!! From start to finish you don't know what's coming. The action scenes were fantastic and the execution of the story was great. Morgan Freeman and Gerard Butler had great performances. Some people say that it was a ripoff of Air force one but in my opinion it was much better. The only tiny flaw was that at first the dialogue was kind of corny but it straightened out as the story progressed. Everyone go see this because you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
WayneThomas412Mar 24, 2013
First of all, to hell with the reviewers on here that bashed the film because of the terrorist scenes. Did you not watch the trailer or read what the film is about? Stop playing politics. Tea Party morons upset over a film, Do us a favor,First of all, to hell with the reviewers on here that bashed the film because of the terrorist scenes. Did you not watch the trailer or read what the film is about? Stop playing politics. Tea Party morons upset over a film, Do us a favor, leave your ridiculous political opinions to yourselves and just stay home and watch Atlas Shrugged or old Ronald Reagan Youtube clips. Olympus Has Fallen is everything you want in an action film. Sure, The situation itself is incredibly unrealistic. It's total mayhem, but Damn its fun! I hope Bruce Willis is taking notes, After "A Good Day To Die Hard" he could use Antoine Fuqua for the next film. Daring, nonstop action. Wonderful to see Gerard Butler back as a Badass! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
Is this a Die Hard movie, yes. Is there cheesy dialogue, yes. Is there some sub par CGI, yes. Is this a fun time, absolutely. When people talk about brainless action movies this is what they mean. Unlike movies like the Expendables orIs this a Die Hard movie, yes. Is there cheesy dialogue, yes. Is there some sub par CGI, yes. Is this a fun time, absolutely. When people talk about brainless action movies this is what they mean. Unlike movies like the Expendables or Die Hard 5 this film had a story that was at least interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kabilakingApr 30, 2013
This film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in a action movie. I would definitely see it again. See I have no idea why people are moaning about thisThis film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in a action movie. I would definitely see it again. See I have no idea why people are moaning about this film I think people are really angry recently every film what has been out recently getting awful reviews everybody must be on their periods or summit Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
asaddesaiMar 22, 2013
Putting into mind that its fiction based on could be reality, than you can consider it as the first valid action flick this summer and could be one of the best this year. Gerard butler makes his comeback in his favorite genre as a seriousPutting into mind that its fiction based on could be reality, than you can consider it as the first valid action flick this summer and could be one of the best this year. Gerard butler makes his comeback in his favorite genre as a serious warrior type image. all the rest played around him but played well. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
creyes8519Mar 22, 2013
The film was a lot of fun. If you really don't over-think the movie, you're going to enjoy it. Much better than "Red Dawn". I would say if you enjoyed the movie "Salt", you'll enjoy this one.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MyTakeRadioMar 27, 2013
My Take:
Gerard Butler has had a very interesting career littered with some solid films as well as some duds. When I saw the initial trailer for Olympus Has Fallen I was glad to see his return to the action genre where I think he fares the
My Take:
Gerard Butler has had a very interesting career littered with some solid films as well as some duds. When I saw the initial trailer for Olympus Has Fallen I was glad to see his return to the action genre where I think he fares the best. While everyone will always remember his role as Leonidas in 300 he has a few notable other films that I have liked, particularly Law Abiding Citizen which I felt was enjoyable because of his work as Clyde Shelton. Antoine Fuqua is known for his stellar work on action thrillers, the most well-known being Training Day which we all know got Denzel Washington his second Academy Award. Fuqua did a tremendous job showing theater-goers a visceral and at times an all too real depiction of how a terrorist attack on the White House can occur. (Let’s hope the terrorists aren’t taking notes.) While there were a few elements that definitely screamed far-fetched, the fact remains that those moments were few and far between. Gerard Butler delivered an excellent performance as Banning and Aaron Eckhart channeled his pre-Two-Face Harvey Dent to deliver some great lines and bring cohesiveness to a well paced action thriller. I am sure many will ask about Morgan Freeman’s performance which I feel needs no breakdown because Morgan Freeman’s acting is in a class all its own. If I ever had my life story turned into a movie, I’d want Freeman to narrate it. If there is one actor I need to discuss a bit further it is the consistently solid Rick Yune who I saw in action this weekend as well in The Man With The Iron Fists. Rick Yune has great screen presence and seems to add an air of finesse to any villain he plays. I think Yune has the potential to be a solid lead after playing such great villains. Olympus Has Fallen delivered hard-hitting action scenes coupled with great acting and fight choreography I commend Antoine Fuqua for putting together such a solid cast with standouts such as Melissa Leo, Angela Bassett and Dylan McDermott and allowing them ample screen time to make audiences connect with them throughout the film.

Recommendation:
It is very easy to call this film “Die Hard at The White House” and honestly it wouldn’t be a stretch considering the way Gerard Butler portrayed Banning, but there is more to this film and it’s plot is engaging enough to keep you interested for its two-hour run time. I am glad to see Butler doing action films again. I thought his stock had taken a tumble after those terrible romantic comedies he has done recently. Olympus Has Fallen in a solid film from start to finish with copious servings of violence wrapped and side of good acting. This is film that I am sure will go under the radar much like another one of Fuqua’s movies Shooter, but my hope is that audiences prove me wrong.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meganfoxlover12Mar 30, 2013
The movie could have been a little bit happier and switched scenes more often. the movie wasn't too great but did have a lot of action and a good sense of humor in it
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DRTApr 7, 2013
I can't believe Hollywood became this pathetic weak story over done what a waste of 2 hours of the weekend this crew should be ashamed of them selves
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
S_C_SApr 25, 2013
Although it suffers from a slow buildup, I found the action quite good and overall it had a nice Die Hard feel to it. The story suffers from some clichés, however, and I felt it difficult to believe such an attack would be so easy but after aAlthough it suffers from a slow buildup, I found the action quite good and overall it had a nice Die Hard feel to it. The story suffers from some clichés, however, and I felt it difficult to believe such an attack would be so easy but after a while I was hooked. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
marioiker03Apr 27, 2013
A good action movie full of Gerard Butler's role is good I liked it and as always Starring Morgan Freeman doing another excellent Aaron Eckhart is not far behind as U.S. president
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
calebstammMay 10, 2013
Great acting. Great effects. Great story. Quality film. The story kept me watching, and i nevere got tired of it. Very exciting. Cant wait til it comes out on dvd!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
J-ForceJun 9, 2013
Very intense and very violent. Its a pretty good movie but it needs more story to it and a better plot. The action was very successful and the actors played good parts to the characters. Overall it was a good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A fun action film that has a very 80s feel to it, "Olympus Has Fallen" doesn't take itself too seriously. Well choreographed action and fight scenes laced with adrenaline
"Olympus Has Fallen" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A fun action film that has a very 80s feel to it, "Olympus Has Fallen" doesn't take itself too seriously. Well choreographed action and fight scenes laced with adrenaline and intensity. I haven't been a fan of Gerard Butler's work as of late, but he was pretty good in this film. Great villain. Consistently cold and ruthless, he helped make the movie. In a time where you can pretty much guess what is going to happen, this movie does a good job keeping the outcome in doubt.

The Bad: Doesn't exactly bring anything new to the genre. I have seen it described as "Die Hard in the White House" and that is pretty accurate. The film does suffer from a handful of tired cliches and overly patriotic moments. Also: I understand that the White House being taken out is the focal point, but the film portrays the Secret Service and overall defenses in place as weak and idiotic.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jan 8, 2014
Olympus Has Fallen is the latest big budget action film from revolutionary Director, Antoine Fuqua. The film has a ton of stars and some great effects, but unfortunately it is very similar to a popular action classic. All is well inOlympus Has Fallen is the latest big budget action film from revolutionary Director, Antoine Fuqua. The film has a ton of stars and some great effects, but unfortunately it is very similar to a popular action classic. All is well in Washington, as the President prepares to meet with a delegation from South Korea. All of a sudden the capital is attacked and the White House is taken with some very important people still inside. The task of getting them out alive falls to one man, Secret Service Agent, Mike Banning (Gerard Butler). If you took the cast of the original Die Hard and had them re-shoot the movie, scene by scene, at the White House, you'd have Olympus Has Fallen. Normally I find Fuqua's take on the action genre, refreshing and original, but you wouldn't know it by watching this film. It is freaky how similar this film was to Die Hard, they even have some of the same twist, goals, types of terrorist, all that's missing is a short fat cop and a hand radio. Don't get me wrong, I did find the movie entertaining and Gerard Butler has really stepped up and taken the reigns as the lead you want in your action film. The effects are terrific and unlike Die Hard, this film has a ton of big named stars in it, that really do give the film some teeth. Olympus Has Fallen was a great idea, with a ton of stars, and the right Director. The film made a ton of money and gave us action junkies the edge of your seat entertainment we crave. If you saw Die Hard though, you're going to find many of the scenes familiar to the point of being ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LokathorDec 28, 2014
I'm looking at the 41 metacritic on this movie and I'm not seeing why the score is that low. This is basically the darker and grittier version of Whitehouse Down. It's a solid action movie, and because it's R they shout **** a lot and there'sI'm looking at the 41 metacritic on this movie and I'm not seeing why the score is that low. This is basically the darker and grittier version of Whitehouse Down. It's a solid action movie, and because it's R they shout **** a lot and there's a ton of headshots. It's grand if you're just wanting an action feature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lobones0033Jul 5, 2013
If your a action buff your enjoy it but if you want a serious movie don't waste your time watching it because your wont enjoy it. Cheesy plot decent action and typical over the top bs type action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AVTRlover41Aug 14, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was actually a lot better than I expected it to be. It had a lot of bloody violence, and the survival count of people that were taken hostage was 4. This was good fun, but definitely not for the squeamish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
HaHa North Korea so funny!

I was pleased with this movie i'm glad that The people behind it knew what it was and it did it's job well. It was good to see this being a rated "R" just because you know studio's do make it "PG13" just for the
HaHa North Korea so funny!

I was pleased with this movie i'm glad that The people behind it knew what it was and it did it's job well. It was good to see this being a rated "R" just because you know studio's do make it "PG13" just for the sake of MONEY but i'm glad they didn't with this one. Aaron Eckhart plays the president and he did his role good noting special but just enough. Gerard Butler is just a badass kinda like that 80's 90's action movie feel does it great since i mean he just kicks ass the whole time

Overall i give this movie a 7.0 a good action movie that i will buy
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
film_bugAug 18, 2013
Overly dramatic; been there, done that. Yet, I sat through it fully entertained. Another movie suggesting that the White House has the security level of a fast food chain. Butler knows action like Freeman knows drama. I do not particularlyOverly dramatic; been there, done that. Yet, I sat through it fully entertained. Another movie suggesting that the White House has the security level of a fast food chain. Butler knows action like Freeman knows drama. I do not particularly enjoy movies with unrealistic plotlines, but a strong cast certainly made the difference in this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FirebalaAug 31, 2013
This is one wild ride! It will be too much for some people (too much noise, too much blood, etc etc) but that's okay. If you're able to suspend your disbelief, Fuqua's pacing zips along so fast that you bounce over the plot holes. It's like aThis is one wild ride! It will be too much for some people (too much noise, too much blood, etc etc) but that's okay. If you're able to suspend your disbelief, Fuqua's pacing zips along so fast that you bounce over the plot holes. It's like a roller coaster you'll want to get back on as soon as it's over. Butler, Freeman, Basset, Eckhart, et al are terrific! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexProductionsSep 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. After seeing both White House Down and Olympus Has Fallen, I can confidently say that though the idea is the same of terrorists taking over the Whitehouse, both directors (Roland Emmerich and Antoine Fuqua) made the movies extremely different.

The movie starts by showing President Benjamin Asher (Aaron Eckhart) and his family at Camp David. Within the first five minutes or so in the movie we can clearly tell that Benjamin and Mike Banning (Gerard Butler, Head of Secret Service) are great friends in and out of work. On the way back from the retreat it is snowing very badly in basically blizzard type weather. Out of nowhere we see a big tree hit the President's Escalade and the van starts to swerve off the road. As all of the Secret Service are trying to pull the car back onto the road, they are able to get the president out, but not his wife gruesomely passes away. Mike takes full credit of this and resigns from his job. Almost two years later he decides to reapply for a job in the Secret Service. He is sitting at his desk when he sees an unknown jet shoot down two American jets and begin open firing on civilians and soon, the White House. Meanwhile President Asher is meeting with Prime Minister Lee (Keong Sim) and aside him, Kang Yeonsak (Rick Yune) who are at the White House during the attack. Kindly Mr. Asher takes them to the bunker along with McMillan, Rodriguez, and others. From there on, a turn of rather predictable events occur such as Koreans turning on Americans and much more.

I thought that from there forward, Olympus Has Fallen was extremely gory which in my opinion was not necessary at all. Seeing the guts inside one of the hostage’s neck was not necessary to cause the same audience reaction of fear.

Overall I think that Faqua picked a great cast of actors and actresses and they played their roles at the best of their ability. I honestly do not think that White House Down was better than Olympus Has Fallen or vice versa. I do recommend you see this movie though just go into it with a little bit of caution because there are times where I cringed at the gory scenes.

The deciding factor of which movie the audience would rather see though basically is would you rather see a comedy action movie (White House Down) or an action thriller (Olympus Has Fallen).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Olympus Has Fallen is probably one of my favorite political thrillers of all time. The suspense, action, disaster sequences, likable characters, etc. makes for a solid film with little going wrong in it. A few "why did they do that" moments, with some tighter plot lines could've done the trick to make this better, but other than that, it hits the mark on all levels. This movie took me back to John McTiernan's 1988 action thriller "Die Hard". This movie had all of the Die hard characteristics we all know and love, and in my opinion, was better than the newest installment to the series! Unlike that film, this movie had tight spaces, a lone ranger in a hostage situation, and even went lengths to feature one of the villains pretending to be a good guy, and is offered cigarettes, just like in 1988. Gerard Butler puts on a solid performance, and leaves me wanting more. A bunch of witty one liners are packed into a superb script by Creighton Rothenberger and Katrin Benedikt. My favorite line: "Here's a game we can play. It's called "Go F**k Yourself". You go first." A couple of funny moments and much drama and action make this an excellent thriller. And, to top it off, this movie has Morgan Freeman. Plus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
R4z3rSep 18, 2013
First, let me say that I truly enjoyed this movie. It was fun, fast paced, and overall filled with some fun twists and turns. The characters are interesting, and decently developed (i.e. they won't win character development awards but theyFirst, let me say that I truly enjoyed this movie. It was fun, fast paced, and overall filled with some fun twists and turns. The characters are interesting, and decently developed (i.e. they won't win character development awards but they are believable in the movie's context).

The film features a low-frequency heavy DTS-MA audio track, with solid explosions, 360º range of bullet fire, and generally clear dialogue (a bit low on the volume scale for my tastes but with "night mode" on my receiver, it brought this a bit more in line). The movie was fun and kept me interested, whether as I was ducking under my coffee table with the sound of a bullet flying by or my breathing slowing as the character sneaks.

The video was good, presented in a well saturated 1080P. It was generally a dark movie though filled with some bright moments. For this reason it may be best to watch the movie in a dark room or at night so that the textures in the darkness aren't washed out by sunlight on the TV.

Overall, while enjoyable this movie isn't something I would go back to. The movie was good, and features a Die Hard-esque plot (one man vs. incredible odds) which is predictable once you get a quarter of the way into the movie. The characters are fun and they had my interest, but I never found myself truly "routing" for any characters. I couldn't get behind them fully as I never felt I understood the villains motives. The plot just kind of drops the motive on you and keeps going without any build up or solid explanation.

While the plot had it's weaknesses, it was fun, enjoyable and a fresh action romp that will keep those looking for a fun action movie without too much depth satisfied.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tarzan1Sep 27, 2013
What are Gerrard Butler and Morgan Freeman doing in this movie?
Surely Hollywood can find something better to do with its investment Dollars?
There are good movies to be made out there! Unbelievable tawdry hackneyed plodding but
What are Gerrard Butler and Morgan Freeman doing in this movie?
Surely Hollywood can find something better to do with its investment Dollars?
There are good movies to be made out there!
Unbelievable tawdry hackneyed plodding but mostly totally unbelievable rubbish

Gerrard takin the moolah ain't always the right career move
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
k0ngNov 5, 2013
Gerrard Butler, I salute you! Both Butler and Freeman make this an engaging, fast paced action movie work well. Contrary to many incredibly intelligent reviewers (:D) I'm not of the opinion that every element of a movie should conform to theGerrard Butler, I salute you! Both Butler and Freeman make this an engaging, fast paced action movie work well. Contrary to many incredibly intelligent reviewers (:D) I'm not of the opinion that every element of a movie should conform to the realms of plausibility If only insurgency operations were executed as well as this! I'd like to agree with a few reviews that strike resemblances to the 80's action movie era, to any movie lovers who say all to often "They just don't make em like they used to".. it's worth a watch, and it's on Netflix! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Peque93Nov 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good acting, & great movie.
The only thing I would complain god the visual effects, they should've work more on that aspect but wtvr I liked enough to watched again
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingMar 8, 2016
Intense, action packed and fun, Olympus Has Fallen is a brilliant outing from director Antoine Fuqua and a treat for moviegoers seeking an entertaining blockbuster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
evokingsMay 29, 2017
The movie reminded me a lot of die hard, the real problem with the movie is, I constantly had a hard time believing that the weapons that the secret service have in reality are nothing like what they typically carry in this movie, also theyThe movie reminded me a lot of die hard, the real problem with the movie is, I constantly had a hard time believing that the weapons that the secret service have in reality are nothing like what they typically carry in this movie, also they are typically ex marines so the tear gas is a laugh, they are trained to fight in and around tear gas situations, the whole movie is inaccurate on what would happen if this happened in reality, so the movie should not be taken at face value, it's an entertaining action movie and I enjoyed watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
horizonbtsFeb 26, 2016
Don't be fooled, I waited a long time to watch this movie. I looked and saw the ratings thinking it would be just an average movie-believe me the ratings are messed up. Not sure why viewers weren't rating this movie higher. Mind you thisDon't be fooled, I waited a long time to watch this movie. I looked and saw the ratings thinking it would be just an average movie-believe me the ratings are messed up. Not sure why viewers weren't rating this movie higher. Mind you this movie wasn't up for any Oscars nor should it have been, but still if you love non-stop over the top action then this is the movie for you!! Based on current affairs this movie makes you think a little about waht could happen if we were under siege. As a citiizen we just don't know how fallible our white house is?? Hopefully they would put up more safe guards than they did in the movie. That said remind yourself this is a movie and yes some of the content was over the top, but I still give it a 9 because of the actors and the actresses involved, and for the top notch edge of your seat action. Don't make the same mistake I did, if you haven't seen it give it a try. Now I am all set to go see the sequel out in two weeks!!!!!! I can't wait.................... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
raciocinioNov 12, 2015
...............................................................................................................................................................................................................A Die hard in white-house but is great....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoOct 17, 2015
....................................Gerard Butler always do a great job behind the camera,as well as Aaron Eckhart and Morgan Freeman is clear that seems like Die Hard in white house so What.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews