User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 302 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 302

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really, really stupid plot. Action and CGI were fine but the plot did this movie in. Way too many convenient plot points like all of the three code holders in the same place. And letting the South Korean delegation in the bunker is just beyond the pale. How did the bad guys know so much? And how were they able to gain advanced U.S. weaponry. Stupid, stupid, stupid! Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    5
    Typical for Hollywood.. Countless other examples of action hero films that are much better than this one. I would recommend you to miss this film, not worth watching. I don't think there's much to explain about this film. Dull and trite, president in danger, one man army, saves president, happy ever after.. I would recommend you to walk out on this one. Adequate acting, but the main issue with the film is how it was executed and it's cliche plot. This film would have been better if the plot was original. Expand
  3. May 29, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I could only make it through about 30 minutes of this movie. The premise is unbelievable-- somehow a lone aircraft sneaks past all our technologies and takes out several F/A-18s-- this is followed by ground troops appearing in D.C. and several spies in the white house taking out the S.S guarding the President. Of course, no explanation is give for how the ground troops (complete with tanks and trucks) somehow managed to enter our country, or how the spies somehow ended up in the bunker with the President and his personal guard.

    To make this all even more unbelievable, the attackers are Korean. Now, wtf is Korea gonna do to the U.S.? Not a M.F. thing, that's what.

    This film seems to rely on lots and lots of big gunfights-- there were several in the first half hour. Not only were they unimpressive, they were far from making up for the lack of coherent story.

    The 2 is purely for the actors sake. If it wasn't for what I saw out of them, it would be a 0.
    Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    7
    HaHa North Korea so funny!

    I was pleased with this movie i'm glad that The people behind it knew what it was and it did it's job well. It was good to see this being a rated "R" just because you know studio's do make it "PG13" just for the sake of MONEY but i'm glad they didn't with this one. Aaron Eckhart plays the president and he did his role good noting special but just enough.
    Gerard Butler is just a badass kinda like that 80's 90's action movie feel does it great since i mean he just kicks ass the whole time

    Overall i give this movie a 7.0 a good action movie that i will buy
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    6
    Olympus Has Fallen is a decent action flick. The attempts by Gerad Bulter’s character to save the day are entertaining and engaging with some fun action and nice tension. The acting is good and the presentation in the film is well done. What stops this film from being anything more than that is the film being a little too long and generic rehashing various plot elements from Die Hard. In all honesty if you want to see a great action movie you are better off watching Die Hard because this movie is a cheap imitation of that film. Its not a bad movie mind it does have its entertainment but at times it feels like its trying to copy one of the greatest action movies of all time. Check it out if you are interested but at the same time you don’t need to go rush out and see this movie. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2014
    6
    This film borrows heavily from Die Hard, it's about Gerard Butler who acts as an inside man to stopping a terrorist attack. But overall, this movie is well-acted, tense and enjoyable (which is enough for action junkies with little expectation).
  7. Apr 4, 2014
    2
    The most generic, Americanised crap action movie ever. Yes OK it's all action and seems big budget, but the story and character development couldn't be any more generic. I simply cannot understand why anyone would watch this over playing a CoD game. It's predictable, run-of-the-mill and completely uninteresting. You've seen it before, and seen it done better. If you must watch a dumb American action film with lots of killing, watch the original Die Hard instead. Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    Olympus Has Fallen is a perfect blend of annoying and violent. To even prompt basic enjoyment out of this flick you will need to suspend disbelief by a crane, forget anything you know about technology, and sit casually by as practically all good sense gets trampled. If you are ready to balance a whole lot of mediocre on the head of a pin without expecting a collapse, this movie is for you.
  9. Jan 17, 2014
    4
    An idea clichéd to a point of no return, and acting (Freeman is pardoned, as is Eckhart), and the Koreans, rogue or not, are in no shape or form, threatening to us. The story itself destroys any creativity, and all the devastation cannot be recuperated from in just one day. There isn't really a happy ending out of all the people who died to save one man, and it's a disgrace that they even try at an optimistic conclusion for the waste of time and filming this movie took from Freeman and Eckhart, the only decent actors in the film. Expand
  10. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    Olympus Has Fallen short of a great finale. For the last scene reveals an incredible disrespect of tempo, form, and reality. Where is rhe Medic when you need it? Shouldn't the good all boys of the EMS had arrives to take care of the President rather than the President walking all the huge distance from the steps of the House to the ambulance? Those last ten minutes makea the great movie that it was unsummonarble. There gpes another great movie down the piles of failure in the last secuence. One Star for that horrendous finale. Expand
  11. Jan 8, 2014
    7
    Olympus Has Fallen is the latest big budget action film from revolutionary Director, Antoine Fuqua. The film has a ton of stars and some great effects, but unfortunately it is very similar to a popular action classic. All is well in Washington, as the President prepares to meet with a delegation from South Korea. All of a sudden the capital is attacked and the White House is taken with some very important people still inside. The task of getting them out alive falls to one man, Secret Service Agent, Mike Banning (Gerard Butler). If you took the cast of the original Die Hard and had them re-shoot the movie, scene by scene, at the White House, you'd have Olympus Has Fallen. Normally I find Fuqua's take on the action genre, refreshing and original, but you wouldn't know it by watching this film. It is freaky how similar this film was to Die Hard, they even have some of the same twist, goals, types of terrorist, all that's missing is a short fat cop and a hand radio. Don't get me wrong, I did find the movie entertaining and Gerard Butler has really stepped up and taken the reigns as the lead you want in your action film. The effects are terrific and unlike Die Hard, this film has a ton of big named stars in it, that really do give the film some teeth. Olympus Has Fallen was a great idea, with a ton of stars, and the right Director. The film made a ton of money and gave us action junkies the edge of your seat entertainment we crave. If you saw Die Hard though, you're going to find many of the scenes familiar to the point of being ridiculous. Expand
  12. Dec 31, 2013
    3
    A ridiculous rah rah American political movie that is a joke from start to finish. The anti terrorist sentiment rules every aspect with the righteousness of running rampant over every scene. Infantile and terribly predictable.
  13. Dec 27, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie that seems to be a precautionary lesson about letting "Liberal wussies" be in charge of hostage negotiations and running a country (this coming from a Liberal to boot), rather than being about anything remotely believable. Brainless action, bad dialogue and idiotic logic from the US military and leadership all make the aforementioned real world organizations look incredibly bad. Terrorists send in a C-130 over American soil? Only send the jets when they're within spitting distance of Washington! The White House is under attack?! Have the Secret Service and police all walk across the front lawn and get gun down, rather than both sides (Not just the Terrorists) taking cover and using tactics to fight the battle. Terrorist has the president hostage and potentially have access to all of America's nukes, and demand the US military backs off from the White House? Cave! Gotta save the President over 300 million Americans and countless South Koreans right? The Terrorists start executing hostages? Cave! They want you out of the Korean area and off the North-South Korean DMZ so they can attack? Cave! Gotta save the President!!! The three codes needed to arm all nukes in America belong to the three politicians in the bunker, and they're being threatened? CAVE OF COURSE! Nothing bad could happen right? It's important to save three lives vs 300 million right? RIGHT?

    Aside from stupid sloppy writing, the characters have very little personality, and the action is drab. Too many fast paced cuts in editing make the action little more than a blur. Forget this movie and avoid.
    Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    4
    Well, that movie was a disappointment. The potential was there for a good movie, the relationship with the President was well done, the lead character was believable and the attack on the White House was clever enough to suspend your disbelief. And then it all fell apart terribly.

    Why did they not use the son more? That's your tension right there. They seemed to be building it up
    and it was like they just gave up on the stroryline. Don't get me started on the codes nonsense.

    And oh the plot-holes. Look it's an action movie, I can forgive bullets that never hit the hero, magic weapons, stuff like that but what's unforgivable are characters that do things and situations that would never, ever happen. They just spoiled the movie completely.

    And the violence. Wow. I think the director watched too much Walking Dead. It was completely gratuitous and overly graphic.

    Overall the movie had all the right ingredients but were spoiled completely by the terrible plot holes. Not recommended.
    Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2013
    1
    I give this a one because of the fight scenes they were done well. But the rest of the film was a silly, stupid, inane pile of doo-doo. There were some great actors, but they had nothing to work with, as the story is so paper thin, there is barely no character development at all. If you're looking for a really cheap thrill, then this is your ticket, but otherwise stay away. There are plenty of other action films that don't insult your intelligence like this film does. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good acting, & great movie.
    The only thing I would complain god the visual effects, they should've work more on that aspect but wtvr I liked enough to watched again
    Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    A thoroughly racist, flag-waving action movie that inculcates the absurd notion of the secret service and capitol hill counter assault forces being overwhelmed by a small band of N. Korean terrorists. Sorry, not possible. Even taken in it's own insular reality and removing the integral political and racial themes, this movie blows hard and mainly borrows and steals it's plot arc and action-sequences from forebears like the Die Hard series. Not that I was able to appreciate anything after the initially stupefying interpretation of how the capitol would be invaded, as numerically superior and well-fortified Secret Service forces are somehow slaughtered piecemeal, tactically outmaneuvered and out-marksmanned by terrorists marching in an easy to target crowd. Not to mention the archaic looking single war-plane able to dodge all gunfire and release an endless supply of smart missile jammers against the 1 anti-aircraft battery in all of Washington, D.C. Oh, and it's gunner somehow has perfect accuracy. So obnoxious, and the sad part is that there are people who could possibly believe this. Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Olympus Has Fallen is a very horribly inaccurate movie that does not really make much sense how 40 north koreans can do that. This movie had an AC-130 flown by North Koreans just fly over Washington D.C. and the Air Force did not intervene until they were almost over the White house. Then the North Koreans had codes to SELF DESTRUCT/DISARM America's nukes not detonate (which is a difference) And had the U.S. pull all the troops out of the DMZ. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Ugh. I've seen the same actors do well in other productions; in this movie, every scene is overacted to the extreme. Never mind the terrible contrieved, inconsistent and unrealistic plot, I believe the director is to blame here. Where else would the actors have gotten the idea to suddenly underperfom like that? As other reviewers have pointed out, trite cliches abound. I am shocked and disappointed that a sequel is in the works. Then again, it could hardly be worse. Expand
  20. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Gerrard Butler, I salute you! Both Butler and Freeman make this an engaging, fast paced action movie work well. Contrary to many incredibly intelligent reviewers (:D) I'm not of the opinion that every element of a movie should conform to the realms of plausibility If only insurgency operations were executed as well as this! I'd like to agree with a few reviews that strike resemblances to the 80's action movie era, to any movie lovers who say all to often "They just don't make em like they used to".. it's worth a watch, and it's on Netflix! Expand
  21. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    Like alot have already said, it's quite Die Hard-esque, the attack sequences were pretty decent, but there's an element called "plausibility" that they punted and that makes this a one-time watch instead of a classic to view repeatedly. I do wonder, though, if Obama requested a Secret Service briefing to ensure such elements of attack couldn't be exploited.
  22. Oct 18, 2013
    2
    This is a movie so bad, I actually began writing this review while watching it. I'm all for pointless action, but the cliched plot and absolutely implausible takeover of the White House is near maddening. An army of Koreans sneak into the United States, some disguised as delegates who are mysteriously allowed to carry weapons within the White House, manage to capture the President. Meanwhile, the Secret Service, the men and women who are arguably the best trained agents in the world, run mindlessly into the open to take stray bullets from all directions. It's insane how badly this movie is set up from the beginning. It's not just bad, it's insulting. It's doesn't ever try to be funny like it's Jamie Fox counterpart. Expand
  23. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    Butler is a good actor but the plot makes suspension of disbelief impossible, the action has nothing special and the ending is very predictable. Prefer to watch the Die Hard trilogy again.
    argonautis.eu
  24. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    Decent action and effects. Acting is okay. Plot is ludicrous and the way the Secret Service and the Capitol Police were portrayed were... unbelievable and ridiculously stupid. Some of the effects were very obviously fake but thankfully only some since most were done fairly well.
  25. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    What are Gerrard Butler and Morgan Freeman doing in this movie?
    Surely Hollywood can find something better to do with its investment Dollars?
    There are good movies to be made out there!
    Unbelievable tawdry hackneyed plodding but mostly totally unbelievable rubbish

    Gerrard takin the moolah ain't always the right career move
  26. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    A straightforward predictable action movie. Think of all the action cliches known to man, now throw them all together and restore Aaron Eckharts' face. You have Olympus Has Fallen. Not boring, but not exciting. Morgan Freeman and Aaron Eckhart do provide some relief from all the explosions and gunfights by giving good performances. But it's not enough to save the whole 2 hour movie
  27. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    First, let me say that I truly enjoyed this movie. It was fun, fast paced, and overall filled with some fun twists and turns. The characters are interesting, and decently developed (i.e. they won't win character development awards but they are believable in the movie's context).

    The film features a low-frequency heavy DTS-MA audio track, with solid explosions, 360º range of bullet fire,
    and generally clear dialogue (a bit low on the volume scale for my tastes but with "night mode" on my receiver, it brought this a bit more in line). The movie was fun and kept me interested, whether as I was ducking under my coffee table with the sound of a bullet flying by or my breathing slowing as the character sneaks.

    The video was good, presented in a well saturated 1080P. It was generally a dark movie though filled with some bright moments. For this reason it may be best to watch the movie in a dark room or at night so that the textures in the darkness aren't washed out by sunlight on the TV.

    Overall, while enjoyable this movie isn't something I would go back to. The movie was good, and features a Die Hard-esque plot (one man vs. incredible odds) which is predictable once you get a quarter of the way into the movie. The characters are fun and they had my interest, but I never found myself truly "routing" for any characters. I couldn't get behind them fully as I never felt I understood the villains motives. The plot just kind of drops the motive on you and keeps going without any build up or solid explanation.

    While the plot had it's weaknesses, it was fun, enjoyable and a fresh action romp that will keep those looking for a fun action movie without too much depth satisfied.
    Expand
  28. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Olympus Has Fallen is probably one of my favorite political thrillers of all time. The suspense, action, disaster sequences, likable characters, etc. makes for a solid film with little going wrong in it. A few "why did they do that" moments, with some tighter plot lines could've done the trick to make this better, but other than that, it hits the mark on all levels. This movie took me back to John McTiernan's 1988 action thriller "Die Hard". This movie had all of the Die hard characteristics we all know and love, and in my opinion, was better than the newest installment to the series! Unlike that film, this movie had tight spaces, a lone ranger in a hostage situation, and even went lengths to feature one of the villains pretending to be a good guy, and is offered cigarettes, just like in 1988. Gerard Butler puts on a solid performance, and leaves me wanting more. A bunch of witty one liners are packed into a superb script by Creighton Rothenberger and Katrin Benedikt. My favorite line: "Here's a game we can play. It's called "Go F**k Yourself". You go first." A couple of funny moments and much drama and action make this an excellent thriller. And, to top it off, this movie has Morgan Freeman. Plus! Expand
  29. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. After seeing both White House Down and Olympus Has Fallen, I can confidently say that though the idea is the same of terrorists taking over the Whitehouse, both directors (Roland Emmerich and Antoine Fuqua) made the movies extremely different.

    The movie starts by showing President Benjamin Asher (Aaron Eckhart) and his family at Camp David. Within the first five minutes or so in the movie we can clearly tell that Benjamin and Mike Banning (Gerard Butler, Head of Secret Service) are great friends in and out of work. On the way back from the retreat it is snowing very badly in basically blizzard type weather. Out of nowhere we see a big tree hit the President's Escalade and the van starts to swerve off the road. As all of the Secret Service are trying to pull the car back onto the road, they are able to get the president out, but not his wife gruesomely passes away. Mike takes full credit of this and resigns from his job. Almost two years later he decides to reapply for a job in the Secret Service. He is sitting at his desk when he sees an unknown jet shoot down two American jets and begin open firing on civilians and soon, the White House. Meanwhile President Asher is meeting with Prime Minister Lee (Keong Sim) and aside him, Kang Yeonsak (Rick Yune) who are at the White House during the attack. Kindly Mr. Asher takes them to the bunker along with McMillan, Rodriguez, and others. From there on, a turn of rather predictable events occur such as Koreans turning on Americans and much more.

    I thought that from there forward, Olympus Has Fallen was extremely gory which in my opinion was not necessary at all. Seeing the guts inside one of the hostage’s neck was not necessary to cause the same audience reaction of fear.

    Overall I think that Faqua picked a great cast of actors and actresses and they played their roles at the best of their ability. I honestly do not think that White House Down was better than Olympus Has Fallen or vice versa. I do recommend you see this movie though just go into it with a little bit of caution because there are times where I cringed at the gory scenes.

    The deciding factor of which movie the audience would rather see though basically is would you rather see a comedy action movie (White House Down) or an action thriller (Olympus Has Fallen).
    Expand
  30. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    This is one wild ride! It will be too much for some people (too much noise, too much blood, etc etc) but that's okay. If you're able to suspend your disbelief, Fuqua's pacing zips along so fast that you bounce over the plot holes. It's like a roller coaster you'll want to get back on as soon as it's over. Butler, Freeman, Basset, Eckhart, et al are terrific!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    The thrills and the effects are cheap, but this is in hard-driving, good-humoured command of its own silliness.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Part of the weirdness of this film lies in the fact that the tense North Korean situation in the real world gives it no realism or satirical edge, or prophetic authority of any kind.
  3. 30
    Olympus Has Fallen is a disgusting piece of work, but it certainly hits its marks — it makes you sick with suspense.