Olympus Has Fallen

Olympus Has Fallen Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    Korean-American actor and former model Yune (who played a similar role in "Die Another Day," the last Pierce Brosnan James Bond film) makes a colourful villain – handsome and insufferably assured, and also an unchivalrous sadist who kicks around the Secretary of Defense (Melissa Leo in a pageboy wig) as though she’s a hacky sack.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    While Olympus Has Fallen breaks no major new ground in the political thriller genre, Fuqua has directed a sharp, very taut adventure that keeps you engrossed from start to finish.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Any semblance of seriousness and verisimilitude suggested by the marketing campaign is quickly forgotten once director Antoine Fuqua's enjoyably tacky Die Hard-on-the-Potomac gets under way.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Butler serves the cause well, considering. Think that cause is a thankless one? Shhh, don’t tell Secret Service agent Channing Tatum or president Jamie Foxx, headed your way in June with, yes, “White House Down.”
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    This is for those who like their political thrillers far-fetched, far-reaching and filled with pretty people.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Part of the weirdness of this film lies in the fact that the tense North Korean situation in the real world gives it no realism or satirical edge, or prophetic authority of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Olympus Has Fallen is no fun at all. To the contrary, it soon grows tedious, odious and oppressive.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 129
  2. Negative: 38 out of 129
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, goodThis is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    This film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in aThis film was great for me it was the die hard film we didn't get in February really good acting and action it was everything I wish for in a action movie. I would definitely see it again. See I have no idea why people are moaning about this film I think people are really angry recently every film what has been out recently getting awful reviews everybody must be on their periods or summit Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only knowing a little bit about the film to start with (it has Gerard Butler and Morgan Freeman), I took the film with a pinch of salt. Now I'm not saying this is a brilliant film, because it's not, but it's still a great film to keep you giddy on the way home.

    Now the beginning 20 minutes are somewhat flawed. Gerard's character, Mike, is the security to the President, his wife and his son. Unfortunately, something happens (which was kind of predictable). The car the president and his wife are in spirals out of control after a crash and ends up leaning off a bridge (the car wasn't really going fast mind you. The driver must have sped the car up instead of slowed it down after the car in front got hit). Unfortunately, a tragic accident occurs to which Mike had tried to help in, and 18 months later, it see's that Mike has been taken off the security, purely because his face reminds the president of that tragic day... ah wha? Now I'm not saying these are the only flaws of the movie, because there are spots here and there that don't add up, but if you try, you can just ignore them and enjoy the film.

    The premise of the film is that the Koreans come to the United States and end up taking control of the white house. They leave a mess behind to do it too, mind you. They take control, and their aim is to try and make the United States as vulnerable as Korea has been in its time, what with poverty and pain occurring everyday in some places. The only one who can try and stop them however, is... Mike. And don't get me wrong, this is no doubt one movie Gerard was suited for, and his performance really pulls you in from the middle to end.

    This movie tended to be surprising in some cases, because there were a lot of moments where I thought "this is going to happen, I know it" and before I knew it..... it didn't happen. So that was a nice change.

    As for Morgan Freeman's performance, as much as I like the guy, I'm kind of wondering what the point of his character was. I mean, he came into the film, did a bit of commanding, and then went out again... barely no backstory to his character. In fact, one part of his character made me think "well that escalated quickly". See if you can guess which part.

    Another big name is Aaron Eckhart, who you might remember as Two-Face in The Dark Knight. It was weird to not see his character turn out to be a villain like in TDK, even though I half expected him to just come out and go "Hi. I'm two-face". However, he played the role of a President quite well, even if there are a few kinks into his story.

    Overall, with great action sequences, some surprising moments and great performances, Olympus Has Fallen deserved my money... even if there are some moments that make no sense... for example: is it REALLY this easy to take down the white house? Cause if so... damn...
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    6
    This movie brings up memories from the past(Die Hard 1...), it's an ok action picture with decent acting, but it doesn't have single originalThis movie brings up memories from the past(Die Hard 1...), it's an ok action picture with decent acting, but it doesn't have single original thing, plot little bit generic! Overall good time. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    Decent action and effects. Acting is okay. Plot is ludicrous and the way the Secret Service and the Capitol Police were portrayed were...Decent action and effects. Acting is okay. Plot is ludicrous and the way the Secret Service and the Capitol Police were portrayed were... unbelievable and ridiculously stupid. Some of the effects were very obviously fake but thankfully only some since most were done fairly well. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    3
    Olympus Has Fallen short of a great finale. For the last scene reveals an incredible disrespect of tempo, form, and reality. Where is rheOlympus Has Fallen short of a great finale. For the last scene reveals an incredible disrespect of tempo, form, and reality. Where is rhe Medic when you need it? Shouldn't the good all boys of the EMS had arrives to take care of the President rather than the President walking all the huge distance from the steps of the House to the ambulance? Those last ten minutes makea the great movie that it was unsummonarble. There gpes another great movie down the piles of failure in the last secuence. One Star for that horrendous finale. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    Ambitiously stupid movie. And the sentiment is way past its prime. I don't think anyone, anywhere gives a **** about the "United States" orAmbitiously stupid movie. And the sentiment is way past its prime. I don't think anyone, anywhere gives a **** about the "United States" or its whorish capital of Washington DC. I was rooting for the Koreans to be quite honest. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked

    20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked Image
    Published: June 14, 2016
    We rank 20 films featuring fictitious American presidents.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.