Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 21, 2013
    75
    Korean-American actor and former model Yune (who played a similar role in "Die Another Day," the last Pierce Brosnan James Bond film) makes a colourful villain – handsome and insufferably assured, and also an unchivalrous sadist who kicks around the Secretary of Defense (Melissa Leo in a pageboy wig) as though she’s a hacky sack.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    While Olympus Has Fallen breaks no major new ground in the political thriller genre, Fuqua has directed a sharp, very taut adventure that keeps you engrossed from start to finish.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    63
    Any semblance of seriousness and verisimilitude suggested by the marketing campaign is quickly forgotten once director Antoine Fuqua's enjoyably tacky Die Hard-on-the-Potomac gets under way.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Butler serves the cause well, considering. Think that cause is a thankless one? Shhh, don’t tell Secret Service agent Channing Tatum or president Jamie Foxx, headed your way in June with, yes, “White House Down.”
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    This is for those who like their political thrillers far-fetched, far-reaching and filled with pretty people.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 19, 2013
    40
    Part of the weirdness of this film lies in the fact that the tense North Korean situation in the real world gives it no realism or satirical edge, or prophetic authority of any kind.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Olympus Has Fallen is no fun at all. To the contrary, it soon grows tedious, odious and oppressive.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 120
  2. Negative: 35 out of 120
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, goodThis is a GREAT action movie. I'm judging it based on an action movie not a movie up for an oscar. It has a lot of cool action scenes, good plot, well acted and was intense. I think it is the perfect action movie. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    the first part of the movie was.......boring.but after 15 minutes the movie was very good actually,and it was very interasting and thrillingthe first part of the movie was.......boring.but after 15 minutes the movie was very good actually,and it was very interasting and thrilling so it succeed to help this movie get a 9 out of me. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    My Take:
    Gerard Butler has had a very interesting career littered with some solid films as well as some duds. When I saw the initial trailer
    My Take:
    Gerard Butler has had a very interesting career littered with some solid films as well as some duds. When I saw the initial trailer for Olympus Has Fallen I was glad to see his return to the action genre where I think he fares the best. While everyone will always remember his role as Leonidas in 300 he has a few notable other films that I have liked, particularly Law Abiding Citizen which I felt was enjoyable because of his work as Clyde Shelton. Antoine Fuqua is known for his stellar work on action thrillers, the most well-known being Training Day which we all know got Denzel Washington his second Academy Award. Fuqua did a tremendous job showing theater-goers a visceral and at times an all too real depiction of how a terrorist attack on the White House can occur. (Let’s hope the terrorists aren’t taking notes.) While there were a few elements that definitely screamed far-fetched, the fact remains that those moments were few and far between. Gerard Butler delivered an excellent performance as Banning and Aaron Eckhart channeled his pre-Two-Face Harvey Dent to deliver some great lines and bring cohesiveness to a well paced action thriller. I am sure many will ask about Morgan Freeman’s performance which I feel needs no breakdown because Morgan Freeman’s acting is in a class all its own. If I ever had my life story turned into a movie, I’d want Freeman to narrate it. If there is one actor I need to discuss a bit further it is the consistently solid Rick Yune who I saw in action this weekend as well in The Man With The Iron Fists. Rick Yune has great screen presence and seems to add an air of finesse to any villain he plays. I think Yune has the potential to be a solid lead after playing such great villains. Olympus Has Fallen delivered hard-hitting action scenes coupled with great acting and fight choreography I commend Antoine Fuqua for putting together such a solid cast with standouts such as Melissa Leo, Angela Bassett and Dylan McDermott and allowing them ample screen time to make audiences connect with them throughout the film.

    Recommendation:
    It is very easy to call this film “Die Hard at The White House” and honestly it wouldn’t be a stretch considering the way Gerard Butler portrayed Banning, but there is more to this film and it’s plot is engaging enough to keep you interested for its two-hour run time. I am glad to see Butler doing action films again. I thought his stock had taken a tumble after those terrible romantic comedies he has done recently. Olympus Has Fallen in a solid film from start to finish with copious servings of violence wrapped and side of good acting. This is film that I am sure will go under the radar much like another one of Fuqua’s movies Shooter, but my hope is that audiences prove me wrong.
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    6
    This movie brings up memories from the past(Die Hard 1...), it's an ok action picture with decent acting, but it doesn't have single originalThis movie brings up memories from the past(Die Hard 1...), it's an ok action picture with decent acting, but it doesn't have single original thing, plot little bit generic! Overall good time. Collapse
  5. Jun 2, 2014
    5
    Typical for Hollywood.. Countless other examples of action hero films that are much better than this one. I would recommend you to miss thisTypical for Hollywood.. Countless other examples of action hero films that are much better than this one. I would recommend you to miss this film, not worth watching. I don't think there's much to explain about this film. Dull and trite, president in danger, one man army, saves president, happy ever after.. I would recommend you to walk out on this one. Adequate acting, but the main issue with the film is how it was executed and it's cliche plot. This film would have been better if the plot was original. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    3
    A ridiculous rah rah American political movie that is a joke from start to finish. The anti terrorist sentiment rules every aspect with theA ridiculous rah rah American political movie that is a joke from start to finish. The anti terrorist sentiment rules every aspect with the righteousness of running rampant over every scene. Infantile and terribly predictable. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Ugh. I've seen the same actors do well in other productions; in this movie, every scene is overacted to the extreme. Never mind the terribleUgh. I've seen the same actors do well in other productions; in this movie, every scene is overacted to the extreme. Never mind the terrible contrieved, inconsistent and unrealistic plot, I believe the director is to blame here. Where else would the actors have gotten the idea to suddenly underperfom like that? As other reviewers have pointed out, trite cliches abound. I am shocked and disappointed that a sequel is in the works. Then again, it could hardly be worse. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers