Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Stamets
    Aug 30, 2013
    75
    The true strength of Spurlock’s documentary is how he showcases the behind-the-scenes, off-stage personalities of the One Direction boys.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 2, 2013
    63
    It's misleading to call this a documentary — fan fodder is more like it.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Frisicano
    Aug 29, 2013
    60
    It may be just an hour-and-a-half commercial for the new single, “Best Song Ever,” and a victory lap following a successful arena tour, but credit where it’s due: This behind-the-scenes look at the English-Irish boy band du jour captures the group’s unpretentious stage show and regular-joe nature in all their glory.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Aug 28, 2013
    58
    We're treated to what's essentially a slick, airbrushed promo reel of a bunch of genuinely sweet superstars who can't believe their dumb luck. That's charming. But it's also a little boring. What it's most definitely not is a documentary.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Aug 29, 2013
    50
    No personal revelations surface in “This Is Us.” Also, no narrative, no conflict — no differentiation between band members, even, besides the designation of dark-eyed Zayn as “the mysterious one” (he likes to paint).
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 26, 2013
    50
    It’s disappointing that Spurlock didn’t have the access, the footage or the spine to depict any of the cynicism behind such creations.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 27, 2013
    20
    Even calling the film a documentary feels deluded.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 17 out of 23
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    "This is us" is a wonderful documentary/concert movie for everyone. It doesn't matter if you are a fan of one direction or not. The 1D guys are surprisingly charming, entertaining and also very talented. You'll enjoy it!!! Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great. At first I didn't want to go because I didn't like them but after the movie I love them. I love this movie and it's my favorite movie right now. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    The movie was not top-tier, but it was acceptable. I've listened to One Direction's music also, not a fan, but it's more or less fine, but the hate is unnecessary. Half of the 49 negative reviews are probably from haters who just gave it zero without watching the movie. I also see that some of the people created accounts just to rate this movie a terrible score. Collapse
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    3
    Let's be clear, if you're not a fan of this guys there's no reason why you should watch this movie. You'll end up being more annoyed than entertained, (The 3D isn't bad but it won't improve your experience) I don't hate 1D as much as other people do, however, It's true when they say that this movie is only meant for their die hard fans. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    O this movies has 2 sides the directioner side and the normal man side-so this movieon the directioner side is perfect the movie is for teen girls and only they will say it is perfect i had a survey whit my frends whit it so i know,and on the regular male side like me the ,ovie is pure cuz it is just no do not go and watch it if you do not like 1D i can listen to them but no so my score is 2 and that is it directioners can give it a 10000 but it will not help the movie is and that is it Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    If you're like me and think 1D makes ears bleed, then the obviously-scripted terrible humor movie this claims to be (heh, calling it a movie as if its good... trust me its not) will throw constant amateur footage of concerts at you instead of giving any scenes with the group in and if so, it will just be dumb little skits. Bad, ripoff, and it seems like on of those movies quickly made off a TV show just to make money and not entertain you in the slightest. Give it a miss. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    who would make a movie on 1d there just a bunch of **** who waste there times who write songs i rather watch katy perry : this is a part of me then watch this **** Expand

See all 23 User Reviews