One Direction: This Is Us Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Stamets
    Aug 30, 2013
    75
    The true strength of Spurlock’s documentary is how he showcases the behind-the-scenes, off-stage personalities of the One Direction boys.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 2, 2013
    63
    It's misleading to call this a documentary — fan fodder is more like it.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Frisicano
    Aug 29, 2013
    60
    It may be just an hour-and-a-half commercial for the new single, “Best Song Ever,” and a victory lap following a successful arena tour, but credit where it’s due: This behind-the-scenes look at the English-Irish boy band du jour captures the group’s unpretentious stage show and regular-joe nature in all their glory.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Aug 28, 2013
    58
    We're treated to what's essentially a slick, airbrushed promo reel of a bunch of genuinely sweet superstars who can't believe their dumb luck. That's charming. But it's also a little boring. What it's most definitely not is a documentary.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Aug 29, 2013
    50
    No personal revelations surface in “This Is Us.” Also, no narrative, no conflict — no differentiation between band members, even, besides the designation of dark-eyed Zayn as “the mysterious one” (he likes to paint).
  6. 50
    It’s disappointing that Spurlock didn’t have the access, the footage or the spine to depict any of the cynicism behind such creations.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 27, 2013
    20
    Even calling the film a documentary feels deluded.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    "This is us" is a wonderful documentary/concert movie for everyone. It doesn't matter if you are a fan of one direction or not. The 1D guys"This is us" is a wonderful documentary/concert movie for everyone. It doesn't matter if you are a fan of one direction or not. The 1D guys are surprisingly charming, entertaining and also very talented. You'll enjoy it!!! Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great. At first I didn't want to go because I didn't like them but after the movie I love them. I love this movie and it's my favorite movie right now. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    The movie was not top-tier, but it was acceptable. I've listened to One Direction's music also, not a fan, but it's more or less fine, but theThe movie was not top-tier, but it was acceptable. I've listened to One Direction's music also, not a fan, but it's more or less fine, but the hate is unnecessary. Half of the 49 negative reviews are probably from haters who just gave it zero without watching the movie. I also see that some of the people created accounts just to rate this movie a terrible score. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    5
    While "This Is Us" was inspirational, charismatic, and affirmed that anything can happen it was still incoherent, sloppy, and withoutWhile "This Is Us" was inspirational, charismatic, and affirmed that anything can happen it was still incoherent, sloppy, and without direction (no pun intended). What makes the film sloppy and incoherent is the fact that much of the scenes are out of place. For example, one moment you are listening to them in concert and the next you're seeing them on "The X-Factor". Additionally, some scenes give off a staged feeling such as when Liam and Harry are talking on the dock. Finally, it is blatantly obvious by the structure of the film that the studio rushed to get this out there fully knowing that it would make a ton of money. Collapse
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    O this movies has 2 sides the directioner side and the normal man side-so this movieon the directioner side is perfect the movie is for teenO this movies has 2 sides the directioner side and the normal man side-so this movieon the directioner side is perfect the movie is for teen girls and only they will say it is perfect i had a survey whit my frends whit it so i know,and on the regular male side like me the ,ovie is pure cuz it is just no do not go and watch it if you do not like 1D i can listen to them but no so my score is 2 and that is it directioners can give it a 10000 but it will not help the movie is and that is it Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    who would make a movie on 1d there just a bunch of **** who waste there times who write songs i rather watch katy perry : this is a part ofwho would make a movie on 1d there just a bunch of **** who waste there times who write songs i rather watch katy perry : this is a part of me then watch this **** Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Absolutely appalling waste of money. Poorly constructed documentary, avoid at all costs! Nothing more than a ploy to feed out of 12 year oldAbsolutely appalling waste of money. Poorly constructed documentary, avoid at all costs! Nothing more than a ploy to feed out of 12 year old girls mother's purses. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers