Open Season

Open Season Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A domesticated grizzly bear finds that there's more to life than being the star attraction of a mountain town nature show when a fast-talking mule deer offers him a crash course in woodland living.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Martin Lawrence and Ashton Kutcher may seem like an odd-sounding comedy team, but in some weird way, they click as voice-actors and cartoon buddies in Open Season.
  2. 75
    Though silly and predictable, this animated comedy has stunning visuals, a catchy soundtrack and charming characters that are family-friendly crowd-pleasers.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    A witty, warmly crafted chestnut.
  4. 50
    As cartoon rip-offs go, Open Season can be surprisingly entertaining, in a made-for-6-year-olds kind of way.
  5. 50
    On the plus side, Open Season enjoys a clear narrative, real rooting interest and good interspecies rapport. On the downside, there’s a surfeit of cruel bunny-rabbit gags.
  6. 33
    No one makes it out of this laughless mess unscathed.
  7. This is the animated children's film equivalent of "Another 48 Hours."

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. StinkyP.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Great and charming film. The story was original and the animation had a cool Hanna-Barbera 3-d look to it.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    Some of the best animation I have seen in years, directing top-notch, and I laughed out loud 10-15 times. Great for kids over 5, and fun for adults.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Here we have a film that delivered very grand humour, as well as enhancing the moral of ‘letting things go’ a moral that is especiallyHere we have a film that delivered very grand humour, as well as enhancing the moral of ‘letting things go’ a moral that is especially important for children. But while the humour and evidence of moral is elegant, the story itself is quite obtrusively cliché; for example the classic ‘disagreement’ between two protagonists was not given any spice here, which made me cringe.

    Nonetheless, as long as you don’t get disappointed by cliché, you’ll enjoy this film and the humour it has to offer.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2016
    5
    Open Season is a passable first film. While it is a b-grade version of the buddy comedy story it is not terrible. Half of the duo works andOpen Season is a passable first film. While it is a b-grade version of the buddy comedy story it is not terrible. Half of the duo works and some of the fish out of water humor and side characters work. The animation especially on the backgrounds is pleasant to look at and makes you feel like you are nature. The buddy comedy doesn’t work as well as it could’ve as the writers choose to focus more on making a lot of jokes especially from the Buck rather than giving us heart and reason to care. Had the film given more heart in this area or focused on the park ranger who is the far more interesting character we could’ve had something here. Open Season isn’t bad. Kids will like it ok and parents will occasionally chuckle; but it’s nothing worth remembering or watching again. It’s a passable first film but nothing that can give Pixar, Disney, or Dreamworks any reason for concern. Expand
  5. {Anonymous]
    Sep 26, 2007
    4
    Mildly funny and at least half-decent, but sooo unimportant and forgettable when there are such better, less cliched movies out there.
  6. TravisG.
    Mar 9, 2007
    3
    I really did not like this movie. I mean, its funny in 1 or 2 parts, but overall it just wasnt that funny.
  7. ScottC.
    Sep 26, 2006
    0
    Been there. Done that.

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. April 1st Development Update: Potential New TV Shows for Fall 2010

    April 1st Development Update: Potential New TV Shows for Fall 2010 Image
    Published: April 1, 2010
    With pilot season now underway, we look at some of the more promising new shows contending for open spots on the networks' fall schedules.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.