Third Rail Releasing | Release Date: January 23, 2009
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 62 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
14
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LongbowOct 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rather entertaining movie, with one of the few main guy characters i can understand and root for most of the time, which is quite rare. The special effects are quite impressive, lots of newer, better known movies have done way worse. In the few scenes where everything is animated, it is all animated so it fits together, so nothing looks out of place, something newer movies could also learn from.

Minor spoilers.

The flaws is that there are a few too many, action movie cliche's in there.
Few too many of the supporting characters are offed due to reasons of the film making industry that i don't understand.
Plus the obligatory "damsel in distress that can handle herself" was made up to be a bit tougher than she turned out to be, which makes me a bit sad. She had the potential to be cooler and tougher.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AlienSpaceBatsMar 15, 2014
An anomalous adventure, two parts Beowulf and one part Dragonslayer - maybe a bit of Predator, too. Outlander is an average action flick hiding some interesting, sometimes beautiful vignettes. Sadly, our only glimpses of these are shownAn anomalous adventure, two parts Beowulf and one part Dragonslayer - maybe a bit of Predator, too. Outlander is an average action flick hiding some interesting, sometimes beautiful vignettes. Sadly, our only glimpses of these are shown through a dream-haze or verbal exposition. The Viking part is not done terribly well, and Jack Huston sounds way too much of a luvvie to be taken seriously as a Norse warrior. The "shields" sequence is ridiculous, as are countless scenes that seem to have little purpose other than to try and look "cool". Kudos to the writers/director however, for creating a sympathetic figure out of a beastie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
erexxMar 1, 2014
Much better than expected.
Hard core Sci-Fi mixed with a some fantasy.
Very good special effects. Solid acting. Rewarding plot.
Sorry that I missed this in 2009
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GruffDaddyJan 9, 2014
Great sci-fi flick! The acting was great and the characters were memorable. Special effects were excellent.as well. Don't listen to the critics and check this film out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RolentoAug 23, 2013
The premise is beyond great, AND the movie itself is a simple yet very nice and enjoyable excercise of storytelling. I don't get what the critics mean by "nonsense" or any other weird complaint. It's good, it wants to tell a story, it hasThe premise is beyond great, AND the movie itself is a simple yet very nice and enjoyable excercise of storytelling. I don't get what the critics mean by "nonsense" or any other weird complaint. It's good, it wants to tell a story, it has decent special effects, some occasional b-movie gore, the usual tropes of a story, all done in... I don't know, good taste? Really, it's not like it's the best movie ever and it's not even like I'm angry or disagreeing with the critics, it's that I literally do not understand what's wrong with the movie. I guess it's about expectations. Expect a simple yet cool thing with an original spin and you're in for a treat. As for any plot elements that might not make sense, suspend your disbelief, it's no big deal and there's hardly anything plot-breaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
PahnJan 26, 2013
I can't believe I'm the first negative user reviewer. Like most, I listed to the critics and rented this movie from Amazon. The plot didn't seem all that great, nor did the preview...but I went with the positive reviews. I love sci fi, andI can't believe I'm the first negative user reviewer. Like most, I listed to the critics and rented this movie from Amazon. The plot didn't seem all that great, nor did the preview...but I went with the positive reviews. I love sci fi, and consider myself a huge fan of series like BSG, Firefly, & Star Trek. I even have the entire series of Farscape on DVD. I can put up with a lot when it comes to imaginative sci fi stories, but this story was absurd. So basically you have this space man from some far away, advanced human civilization that crashes on Earth in Norway during the time of the Vikings. And somehow stowed away on that ship was a gigantic dragon-like thing. Then the space man and vikings fight the dragon-like thing after the space man conveniently loses his space man fireblaster in a waterfall. I just wonder who blackmailed John Hurt into acting in this heap of feces. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ApocalypseGamerNov 16, 2011
Ignore ALL the critics who hate this film. The people who came up with this film had a perfect use of their thinking, intelligence and brainstorming to make this film. What is the monster, where it came from, and other details. This sci-fiIgnore ALL the critics who hate this film. The people who came up with this film had a perfect use of their thinking, intelligence and brainstorming to make this film. What is the monster, where it came from, and other details. This sci-fi creature feature that takes place in the Viking's time had made me like this film. A lot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ALFApr 3, 2011
Ah Robert Ebert, if ever there was a man who has not got a clue it is this man. Robert you have no talent and I wonder how many years it has been since you actually went to see a film. Anyway Outlander, is a sci fi version of Beowulf. TheAh Robert Ebert, if ever there was a man who has not got a clue it is this man. Robert you have no talent and I wonder how many years it has been since you actually went to see a film. Anyway Outlander, is a sci fi version of Beowulf. The creature effects are courtesy of the great Pat Tatopoulus and the Morwin is brilliant, innovative and superbly done. John Hurt, Jim Cazievel, Sophie Myles and Ron Perlman are all in gine form. This independent film deserves success and is a wonderful example of creativity. More please. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CoreySJul 31, 2009
Definitely better than the critics who blasted it. The second half is not upper crust cinema, but it is very entertaining, has a fun plot, good mix of action and at least some character development. Good action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StuCJul 9, 2009
I really wanted to like this movie. I mean Vikings and Aliens and Alien monsters, what more could you want, right? But it was mediocre at best. I just lacked in the effects and script. More appropriate for the SciFi Channel and their B movie I really wanted to like this movie. I mean Vikings and Aliens and Alien monsters, what more could you want, right? But it was mediocre at best. I just lacked in the effects and script. More appropriate for the SciFi Channel and their B movie repertoire. Maybe it's a B+ movie...but still in the B movie sphere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinSJun 13, 2009
Very nice movie indeed. The 13th Warrior meets Predator. What else do you need for a good action flick? :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JesseDJun 8, 2009
The costumes were lame and un-authentic, and all of Patrick Tatopolous' monster designs look exactly the same. Otherwise, it was a good and fun romp, better than expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RMMay 24, 2009
We had never heard of this movie and I'm not sure what the critics are talking about. We just watched it. It was a great sci-fi action movie. We would definately watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RPMay 15, 2009
I had not heard about this movie prior to seeing it so I did have low expectations. However I thought it was really good. I mean its not a sophisticated drama, its a sci-fi fantasy action movie so don't expect anything else. One of the I had not heard about this movie prior to seeing it so I did have low expectations. However I thought it was really good. I mean its not a sophisticated drama, its a sci-fi fantasy action movie so don't expect anything else. One of the best things is the decent level of authenticity in the costumes and characters. There isent any juiced up bodybuilders on the cast which just makes it more believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayHMay 13, 2009
The film has some wonderfully imaginative sequences, good special effects, but the mixing of sci-fi and vikings is a disaster. The score is a bit overdone. Midway through the film falls apart by becoming much more conventional. An The film has some wonderfully imaginative sequences, good special effects, but the mixing of sci-fi and vikings is a disaster. The score is a bit overdone. Midway through the film falls apart by becoming much more conventional. An interesting premise gone awry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.CruelMar 27, 2009
Surprisingly good. Despite what critics have said, good performances by the actors involved - with surprise appearances by John Hurt and Ron Perlman of "Hellboy" fame. An especially good performance by Sophia Myles, who really gets into her Surprisingly good. Despite what critics have said, good performances by the actors involved - with surprise appearances by John Hurt and Ron Perlman of "Hellboy" fame. An especially good performance by Sophia Myles, who really gets into her character. The sort of movie that SciFi/fantasy fanboys will really get into. I very much enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyC.Mar 16, 2009
Watch it. You'll like it. I haven't seen a fantasy/sci-fi flick like this since the good ol' before cgi back in the day movies. The genre is stuck being manipulated by Sci-fi Channel n' created into b-rated original made Watch it. You'll like it. I haven't seen a fantasy/sci-fi flick like this since the good ol' before cgi back in the day movies. The genre is stuck being manipulated by Sci-fi Channel n' created into b-rated original made for tv movies. This one takes the freakin' cake. It's been a long time coming. If you hate lord of the Rings because of it's "boringness." This movie will brighten u up! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
VictorSMar 15, 2009
Forget the critics. Great movie. Worth a watch. Interesting take on the 'monster' having a background.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EOFeb 14, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. Not perfect, but such an interesting story and the viking characters were all great. I really loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LagaM.Feb 13, 2009
Why has no one mentioned the blatantly obvious Beowulf plotline? The original, not the Jolie crapfest. Its a great take on the ancient story, presenting a semi-plausible method to bring Beowulf's monster to life.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ZebO.Feb 7, 2009
Once again, ignore the critics. It's a great flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeD.Feb 6, 2009
If you like fantasy styled films, this is about as good as it gets these days. Worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
numchuckFeb 2, 2009
Enjoyable, if you don't take it too serious. i think iti could have done far better with more cash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JulieTJan 31, 2009
It's not the best alien movie out there, but if u like the genre, you'll be entertained. You'll like it, not love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RogerS.Jan 26, 2009
This is a traditional sci-fi monster movie that does exactly what it's supposed to do: build a sense a dread, have the monster jump out of the dark and lay waste all around, and after nearly dying himself let the hero slay the beast and This is a traditional sci-fi monster movie that does exactly what it's supposed to do: build a sense a dread, have the monster jump out of the dark and lay waste all around, and after nearly dying himself let the hero slay the beast and win the maiden. It's Beowulf with aliens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful