Outlander

Outlander Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Outlander begins when a space craft crashes into the majestic fjords of ancient Norway and into the time of the Vikings. From the wreckage emerge two bitter enemies: a soldier from another world – Kainan – and a bloodthirsty creature known as the Moorwen. Man and monster both seekingOutlander begins when a space craft crashes into the majestic fjords of ancient Norway and into the time of the Vikings. From the wreckage emerge two bitter enemies: a soldier from another world – Kainan – and a bloodthirsty creature known as the Moorwen. Man and monster both seeking revenge for violence committed against them. As the Moorwen ravages the Viking world, killing everything in its path, Kainan forms an unlikely alliance with the primitive but fierce warriors. Combining his advanced technology with ancient Iron Age weapons, the hero leads a desperate attempt to kill the monster - before it destroys them all. (The Weinstein Company) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. It's entertaining nonsense with major league special effects, larger-than-life characters and inventive monsters that draw on the "Aliens" and "Predator" models, being terrifying but also vaguely sympathetic.
  2. 67
    Surprise number one: It's smarter than it looks. Surprise number two: That doesn't entirely ruin it as an action film.
  3. An enjoyably goofy hybrid of extraterrestrial sci-fi and Iron Age action, Outlander boasts a super-serious Jim Caviezel in the title role
  4. If only Outlander was as fun as the premise makes it sound on paper.
  5. The nuttiest hunk of junk in many months.
  6. 50
    By taking nonsense seriously Outlander never achieves camp. It's a comic book that's mistaken itself for scripture.
  7. 20
    Writer-director Howard McCain bids fair to dethrone Uwe Boll as the king of crap action flicks, and every second feels like time on the cross.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. TonyC.
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Watch it. You'll like it. I haven't seen a fantasy/sci-fi flick like this since the good ol' before cgi back in the day Watch it. You'll like it. I haven't seen a fantasy/sci-fi flick like this since the good ol' before cgi back in the day movies. The genre is stuck being manipulated by Sci-fi Channel n' created into b-rated original made for tv movies. This one takes the freakin' cake. It's been a long time coming. If you hate lord of the Rings because of it's "boringness." This movie will brighten u up! Expand
  2. RP
    May 15, 2009
    10
    I had not heard about this movie prior to seeing it so I did have low expectations. However I thought it was really good. I mean its not a I had not heard about this movie prior to seeing it so I did have low expectations. However I thought it was really good. I mean its not a sophisticated drama, its a sci-fi fantasy action movie so don't expect anything else. One of the best things is the decent level of authenticity in the costumes and characters. There isent any juiced up bodybuilders on the cast which just makes it more believable. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Great sci-fi flick! The acting was great and the characters were memorable. Special effects were excellent.as well. Don't listen to theGreat sci-fi flick! The acting was great and the characters were memorable. Special effects were excellent.as well. Don't listen to the critics and check this film out! Expand
  4. numchuck
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    Enjoyable, if you don't take it too serious. i think iti could have done far better with more cash.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    The premise is beyond great, AND the movie itself is a simple yet very nice and enjoyable excercise of storytelling. I don't get what theThe premise is beyond great, AND the movie itself is a simple yet very nice and enjoyable excercise of storytelling. I don't get what the critics mean by "nonsense" or any other weird complaint. It's good, it wants to tell a story, it has decent special effects, some occasional b-movie gore, the usual tropes of a story, all done in... I don't know, good taste? Really, it's not like it's the best movie ever and it's not even like I'm angry or disagreeing with the critics, it's that I literally do not understand what's wrong with the movie. I guess it's about expectations. Expect a simple yet cool thing with an original spin and you're in for a treat. As for any plot elements that might not make sense, suspend your disbelief, it's no big deal and there's hardly anything plot-breaking. Expand
  6. ZebO.
    Feb 7, 2009
    7
    Once again, ignore the critics. It's a great flick.
  7. Jan 26, 2013
    2
    I can't believe I'm the first negative user reviewer. Like most, I listed to the critics and rented this movie from Amazon. The plot didn'tI can't believe I'm the first negative user reviewer. Like most, I listed to the critics and rented this movie from Amazon. The plot didn't seem all that great, nor did the preview...but I went with the positive reviews. I love sci fi, and consider myself a huge fan of series like BSG, Firefly, & Star Trek. I even have the entire series of Farscape on DVD. I can put up with a lot when it comes to imaginative sci fi stories, but this story was absurd. So basically you have this space man from some far away, advanced human civilization that crashes on Earth in Norway during the time of the Vikings. And somehow stowed away on that ship was a gigantic dragon-like thing. Then the space man and vikings fight the dragon-like thing after the space man conveniently loses his space man fireblaster in a waterfall. I just wonder who blackmailed John Hurt into acting in this heap of feces. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.