Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A mischievous raccoon (Willis) and his sensitive best-buddy turtle (Shandling) along with other forest creatures try to resist the evils and temptations of encroaching suburbia.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 91
    Over The Hedge stands out as genuinely witty and even a little barbed. Its chipper, sneering outsider's look at suburban sprawl and conformity isn't going to change the world, but it's still self-aware enough to be reasonably smart.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    88
    It's very funny, and the little woodland critters that make up the cast are a kiddie-pleasing bunch.
  3. This enjoyable Dreamworks animated comedy is well timed.
  4. Offers plenty of modest pleasures.
  5. A backyard ecological comedy outfitted with some fine, silly slapstick and clever animal characters.
  6. Though the animation is solid and the writing reasonably clever, Over the Hedge is clearly more about packaging than freshness or substance.
  7. There is no poetry here and little thought.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I didn't know there was a comic strip about it before this was made. I didn't even read it. anyway, this movie is way beyond good. its great.I didn't know there was a comic strip about it before this was made. I didn't even read it. anyway, this movie is way beyond good. its great. the animation kicks ***, the characters were well-done, and the songs were great. Over The Hedge is just the right CGI movie for people all around the world. Expand
  2. KevinC.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    I have no idea why critics aren't more in love with this. On par with serious art? Of course not, but it's not trying. For an I have no idea why critics aren't more in love with this. On par with serious art? Of course not, but it's not trying. For an animated family movie it's top notch and sits well next to Ice Age, Toy Story, etc. Went and saw it with a group of mid-twentysomethings and we all really enjoyed it. Collapse
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Over The Hedge is an original, mature kids movie that relies less on potty humor and has more grown-up jokes. The movie isn't explicit, justOver The Hedge is an original, mature kids movie that relies less on potty humor and has more grown-up jokes. The movie isn't explicit, just sophisticated. A talented cast including Bruce Willis and Steve Carrell make this a very good movie, even for adults. Expand
  4. JustinN.
    Jun 24, 2006
    8
    Rarely does a movie ever bring out the kid in me these days (in fact, I can't remember the last one that did) but Over the Hedge was Rarely does a movie ever bring out the kid in me these days (in fact, I can't remember the last one that did) but Over the Hedge was able to complete the feat and I loved it. Despite Bruce Willis' acting like a general idiot in the public these days, he managed to hit his character right on in this movie, as did all the other voice actors. It helps that the movie was also genuinely funny. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    The ensemble voice cast give it their all in this animal-brained roller coaster. It can be funny at times, though it lacks the depth of PixarThe ensemble voice cast give it their all in this animal-brained roller coaster. It can be funny at times, though it lacks the depth of Pixar movies. But it's a witty satire on suburbia from an unlikely point-of-view that's an entertaining joyride all throughout the eighty-three minutes. On one last note, however, it has some pretty stupid moments too. But I can overlook that for the overall experience of the movie. Expand
  6. wetwebwork
    Sep 2, 2006
    7
    I didn't expect this to be as good as it was. I watched this with my two kids and we all enjoyed it. Good story, funny jokes, and a I didn't expect this to be as good as it was. I watched this with my two kids and we all enjoyed it. Good story, funny jokes, and a perfectly pitched performance from Bruce Willis. As someone else said, this isn't a classic, but Over the Hedge is better than the majority of films on release at the moment. Expand
  7. BeccaV.
    Jun 3, 2006
    0
    i think this movie was awful because of the jokes. they were sooo inapropriate. Like when they said "cookie". that has a hidden meaning.

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?