Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A mischievous raccoon (Willis) and his sensitive best-buddy turtle (Shandling) along with other forest creatures try to resist the evils and temptations of encroaching suburbia.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 91
    This isn't much of a plot, but as in the "Toy Story" films the combination of a varied cast of characters and a vision of the human world from an unlikely perspective make for consistent amusement.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    88
    If they were still making Looney Tunes, they'd look a lot like Over the Hedge.
  3. This enjoyable Dreamworks animated comedy is well timed.
  4. Hedge is built for laughter rather than artistry; jokes are packed into every pixel. But despite the movie's entertaining qualities, there is something a little unsettling.
  5. A backyard ecological comedy outfitted with some fine, silly slapstick and clever animal characters.
  6. 63
    There is actually an occasional moment of inspiration, but as an experience, the movie doesn't hog much shelf space in the memory.
  7. There is no poetry here and little thought.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I didn't know there was a comic strip about it before this was made. I didn't even read it. anyway, this movie is way beyond good. its great. the animation kicks ***, the characters were well-done, and the songs were great. Over The Hedge is just the right CGI movie for people all around the world. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Over the Hedge is funny, original, visually dazzling and heartwarming. Just the film isn't as well executed as many would hope it too be. But anyways the film is great and I give it a solid 86%. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    An all-star cast of forest animals who get into trouble when they start looting through the nearby city for food. Bruce Willis does perfect as RJ, Steve Carell made the film even better when playing Hammy. Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    7
    Not the best animated film, but a solid one though. The graphics are great. The plot is good though I find it ordinary and boring for adults, but it is definitely great for kids. I would definitely recommend this film for kids........ Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    I didn't expect much when I was going to see it, but I saw it, and it was brilliant! It was really good with great animation, humor and plot. It was great but just one thing: does opening a packet of crisps mean nuclear, NO. And as for Allison Janney: here you go (puts up middle finger). And that is that. Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    The film is bogged down but some clichés, pop songs, being a little mean spirited at times, and some not so funny characters. Shame that the studio that brought us Shrek can’t create something on that level again. Thankfully though the film is not all bad. Some of the characters get some laughs and the heist feeling of the movie is cool. Unlike Madagascar the film isn’t too bogged down in arguing and does have some more fun and creativity particularly towards the end. This film is not for everyone and a lot of the issues mentioned here are going to bother some people. While these issues do bother me and hurt the film I still had fun with it particualry in the last third and am glad I saw it. If you are familiar with Dreamworks style you can figure out quickly if this is your movie. For me it wasn’t good but it was still enjoyable Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    Funny, adorable characters that bring a smile to any demographic (if you have a heart of course!).

    Poorly drafted plot and sloppy editing,
    unfortunately, underscored too much of the film. A shame. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?