User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 472

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 31, 2013
    2
    Underwhelming. Amounts to a series of colour palette choices and some adequate CGi. This abomination should be avoided at all costs. If fast forward had been available at the screener, I would have been home in time for YouTube. Grow up!
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    1
    Everything about the original has turned into a laughable embarrassment that is heartless and mindless. The Great and Powerful Oz is bland, uninteresting and carries no magic or wonder to it. As for James Franco, this should be a wake up call that his acting career needs to end.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    Main thing is James Franco's miscasting,he was Raimi's choice, 'cause he had work him in SM trilogy.But it should have been Johnny Depp,he is kinda born to play such fantasy roles,so he is the most perfect for Oz.Weisz is quite good,as she is always,and Mila and Williams are nothing special.The story is soooo predictable at the end.A Movie to entertain the people who only care about CGIMain thing is James Franco's miscasting,he was Raimi's choice, 'cause he had work him in SM trilogy.But it should have been Johnny Depp,he is kinda born to play such fantasy roles,so he is the most perfect for Oz.Weisz is quite good,as she is always,and Mila and Williams are nothing special.The story is soooo predictable at the end.A Movie to entertain the people who only care about CGI and nothing else.And Disney cant repeat Alice's success 'cause, 3D revolution is over and WHO CARES 3D now huh??!!. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    I am going to start out right away and say this movie was terrible. Just terrible. I had hopes for this movie but they were shattered within the first twenty minutes of the movie.

    There was probably only one likable character in the entire movie and it wasn't Oz. In fact, he was probably the least likable character. I thought choosing Jame Francco to play Oz was a bad move. Most of the
    I am going to start out right away and say this movie was terrible. Just terrible. I had hopes for this movie but they were shattered within the first twenty minutes of the movie.

    There was probably only one likable character in the entire movie and it wasn't Oz. In fact, he was probably the least likable character. I thought choosing Jame Francco to play Oz was a bad move. Most of the casting for the movie was bad.

    The special effects were terrible. It reminded me of Revenge of the Sith were everything was green screened. I am serious, EVERYTHING WAS IN GREEN SCREEN. I even notice background cows that literally look like something from a 1990s PC game. Also the 'lovable' monkey awkward and obviously fake. I am unsure if they even tried to make the CG portions of the film fit with the two real things on screen.

    The overall story was pointless too. I mean was there really a need to go back and tell the story of Oz other than money? NO. I was uninterested throughout 98% of the movie. That 2% is when the china girl doll thing was on the screen, she was the one interesting character in the whole movie. They tried to portray Oz and a con man was silly and how he just suddenly changed his ways was absurd because there was no build up, all of a sudden, boom, he was good.

    I need to stop before i saw something insulting. This i a terrible movie. Don't see it, Don't buy it, Don't rent it. It ranks and one of the worst movies I have seen.
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2013
    2
    Just terrible. This movie was definitely done 100% in front of a green screen and for 3D and it clearly shows. The animations are sloppy, the 3D "gotchas" are cringe worthy, the story is terrible and the acting is just laughable. How does James Franco get acting jobs?
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    The thing that lets this film down the most is the terrible terrible dialogue. If you're drowning in water and there's nobody around, do you start yelling "I can't swim!" No you don't. It's as if the director thinks we're so moronic that we need everything spelled out for us. James Franco is incredibly annoying to the point where you want to just slap that inane smile from his face. HisThe thing that lets this film down the most is the terrible terrible dialogue. If you're drowning in water and there's nobody around, do you start yelling "I can't swim!" No you don't. It's as if the director thinks we're so moronic that we need everything spelled out for us. James Franco is incredibly annoying to the point where you want to just slap that inane smile from his face. His acting is ATROCIOUS, but with a script like that it's hardly surprising. Loaded with cliches (cackling witches anyone?) this film is a soulless, special effects driven mess that will be forever known by people with taste as a thorn in the side and embarrassment to the original. Avoid like the zombie plague Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    3
    It is boring and less magical than recent movies with almost the same plot such as Alice in Wonderland which is amazing, but this it is not entertaining not good but the thing is that it is visually stunning, it is like lyrics without music, it is not good, it is not entertaining, it is boring and
  8. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    How anyone actually likes this is a shock to me! Bad acting, bad directing, bad special effects. A pointless prequel to say the least. James Franco was awful, completely unbelievable as Oz. Sam Raimi should be embarrassed at how bad this movie is. It had no heart, no brain, and no courage.
  9. Mar 16, 2013
    1
    This movie is horrible. Dialog is bad. Horrendous. Visuals are ok, not eyecandy material. There were a few convincing moments, but that's not enough. This movie isThis movie is horrible. Dialog is bad. Horrendous. Visuals are ok, not eyecandy material. There were a few convincing moments, but that's not enough. This movie is badddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd. Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    3
    Excessive length kills an already verbally challenged storyline. I must confess to not being a huge fan of the land of Oz. There is no denying the classic status of 1939's 'The Wizard of Oz', but recent theatrical productions have either been truly awful (Wicked) or overly familiar ('Wizard of Oz). This Oz fares no better. James Franco is charismatic as the fake wizard injecting bothExcessive length kills an already verbally challenged storyline. I must confess to not being a huge fan of the land of Oz. There is no denying the classic status of 1939's 'The Wizard of Oz', but recent theatrical productions have either been truly awful (Wicked) or overly familiar ('Wizard of Oz). This Oz fares no better. James Franco is charismatic as the fake wizard injecting both humour and a liveliness into the proceedings, but the film runs out of steam long before the second half. Compensations are to be had with the aesthetics of the film. Costumes, Art-Direction, Visual effects and Make-up are all truly amazing and the film looks the millions of dollars that it probably cost to make. It is probably the best looking film of the year so far. However, it is probably the worst scripted also, and where film making is concerned it is always better to have a good story to get involved with than a visual feast. Both in sync is the ideal. This Oz is basically a boring, but beautiful series of pictures. Expand
  11. Mar 15, 2013
    0
    Disappointing does not even begin to describe how I felt when watching this movie. The only enjoyable part is the first 15-20 minutes, when everything is in black and white. After that, the movie descends into horrible cliches and the worst acting I have seen in a long time (looking at you Mr. Franco). Normally even a bad movie can keep me entertained with great visuals. Unfortunately,Disappointing does not even begin to describe how I felt when watching this movie. The only enjoyable part is the first 15-20 minutes, when everything is in black and white. After that, the movie descends into horrible cliches and the worst acting I have seen in a long time (looking at you Mr. Franco). Normally even a bad movie can keep me entertained with great visuals. Unfortunately, most of OZ's visuals were absolutely terrible. The "funny" flying monkey side kick is alarmingly fake looking. The most fun you will have seeing this movie is driving to the theater. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2013
    1
    It's March and there is finally a film released in 2013 that I was looking forward to going to the theater and watching. My expectations for this film were not super high, I certainly would never expect it to live up to the original which is one of the greatest films of all time. I expected a respectable origin story, great visuals, and maybe a few easter eggs thrown in for fans of theIt's March and there is finally a film released in 2013 that I was looking forward to going to the theater and watching. My expectations for this film were not super high, I certainly would never expect it to live up to the original which is one of the greatest films of all time. I expected a respectable origin story, great visuals, and maybe a few easter eggs thrown in for fans of the original. With Raimi directing two of the better young actors working today, and two other more than capable actresses I didn't feel that my expectations were too high. I was blown away...with how poorly this film turned out.

    In two hours plus there is no story here that we don't already know from the original material, none, the screen writing couldn't possibly have been lazier. The acting is bad, soap opera bad. Some may possibly give Franco or Williams a pass because of the material. However no one will give Kunis a pass when she is transformed into the wicked witch of the west. If you need a reminder of how an over the top stereotypical witch should be played go back and watch a few minutes of Margaret Hamilton's version.

    There are several new characters introduced, as expected and as there should be. Unfortunately not one of them worked. Some are introduced for humor, some to tug at the heart strings, and some for plot devices. Not one of them is effective, and none of them are memorable.

    Probably most disappointing of all were the visuals of the film. I know the 1939 version probably doesn't actually look better, but the fact that I had that thought several times during the course of the movie gives you a glimpse into how poor the visuals were. The only exception was the opening credits and first 20 minutes of the film. All this was the black and white portion of the movie. These are the only moments where it is not obvious that the actors are on a sound stage going through the motions.

    The Wizard Of Oz was perfect family entertainment. Whimsical, humorous, frightening, and endearing. The characters were one dimensional, yes, but they were fun and we cared about them. Oz The Great And Powerful is none of these things. All I wanted was a glimpse back into aspects of the original. Instead I received my worst theater experience since Spiderman 3. Wait who was responsible for that one?
    Expand
  13. Mar 13, 2013
    3
    One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. James Franco's slapstick/over the top/general hospital es-que performance will go down as one of the most cringe worthy performances on screen ever. Mila Kunis brings no intimidation/menace to her role, Rachel Weiss feels cold and one noted in her role. The only reason I did not give this movie a 0 rating is because the Porcelain girl,One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. James Franco's slapstick/over the top/general hospital es-que performance will go down as one of the most cringe worthy performances on screen ever. Mila Kunis brings no intimidation/menace to her role, Rachel Weiss feels cold and one noted in her role. The only reason I did not give this movie a 0 rating is because the Porcelain girl, The monkey and Glenda were all fantastic in their roles. I would have much preferred a movie about Glenda and not about Oz, or at least not about James Franco's Oz. Expand
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    Going into this "Oz", I expected at least a moderately coherent plot, serviceable acting, and some decent special effects, but apparently even those expectations were too high. For the amount of money spent on this movie, and the amount of work put into it, the result is underwhelming to put it mildly. The overall quality of the film could be compared to a Disney Channel movie. JamesGoing into this "Oz", I expected at least a moderately coherent plot, serviceable acting, and some decent special effects, but apparently even those expectations were too high. For the amount of money spent on this movie, and the amount of work put into it, the result is underwhelming to put it mildly. The overall quality of the film could be compared to a Disney Channel movie. James Franco's acting ranged from decent to bad, and Mila Kunis' performance ranged from sleepwalk-acting to soap opera-level awful (at some points she was unintentionally hilarious). I would recommend it for children 6 and under, but even then, there are scenes in "Oz" that would actually be terrifying for very young children. In the end, I will say to just avoid this movie if possible. Expand
  15. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Forget the original. Taking this film on its merits, of which there are few, there is a gaping chasm between what I might deem to be watchable and this movie. Most of the film panders to either slow children or simpering adults, don't know which. I went into the film given Sam Raimi the director yet another chance to redeem his pitiful directorial career, and again, he falls short. RachelForget the original. Taking this film on its merits, of which there are few, there is a gaping chasm between what I might deem to be watchable and this movie. Most of the film panders to either slow children or simpering adults, don't know which. I went into the film given Sam Raimi the director yet another chance to redeem his pitiful directorial career, and again, he falls short. Rachel Weisz does her usual bad job, adding to the misery of this film. While I am not a special effects guru, most of the film looked flat and boring. Another waste of time from Hollywood, thanks for another bad evening at the movies. As my children are not mouthbreathing knuckledraggers they won't be seeing this movie. Expand
  16. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    complete garbage. Disney claims that its films are for the family, but they are for kids and no one else, don't be fooled! Disney is not capable of making anything other than kid garbage. They are completely incapable of creating multidimensional characters, realistic dialog or anything that makes an actual quality film. This is nothing more than a shameless money grab. Very sad for somecomplete garbage. Disney claims that its films are for the family, but they are for kids and no one else, don't be fooled! Disney is not capable of making anything other than kid garbage. They are completely incapable of creating multidimensional characters, realistic dialog or anything that makes an actual quality film. This is nothing more than a shameless money grab. Very sad for some of these great actors that have been tarnished by this garbage. I hope they made a lot of money, and can't wait to see the return of their real careers. Expand
  17. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    This movie is a major disgrace to the 1939 version. They can't go thirty seconds into a song without being interrupted by another character. Long story short: NOTHING LIKE THE ORIGINAL
  18. Mar 11, 2013
    1
    And James Franco wakes up from his Peyote induced fever dream he suffered from realizing how completely pointless and pathetic his life was, to see all of his friends aren't in fact monkeys, or dolls, or witches. They are just normal human beings, who he has treated poorly, and continues to lie to, for what he narcissistically claims is "The Good of The People." Oz, the Great and PowerfulAnd James Franco wakes up from his Peyote induced fever dream he suffered from realizing how completely pointless and pathetic his life was, to see all of his friends aren't in fact monkeys, or dolls, or witches. They are just normal human beings, who he has treated poorly, and continues to lie to, for what he narcissistically claims is "The Good of The People." Oz, the Great and Powerful kids, hand in hand with Disney teaching you that if you scam your way along long enough, and make sure to use the emotions of every single person you step on along the way to your advantage, you too can one day make out with with your ex girlfriend (who may or may not be Eminem's mom from 8 Mile) in a dark enclosed space, waiting to offer empty promises and life lessons to cowardly lions, heartless tin men, and dumb, unappreciative little girls from Kansas. Collapse
  19. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Juvenile, awful directorship, an unfortunate use of 3D (incomparable to Ang Lee's use of 3D Life of Pi) which gave me a terrible headache. The woeful attempt at homour was absurd.
    Unsophisticated with banal motivational lines about believing blah blah. The actors possessed little acting skills, with perhaps the exception of Michelle Williams who managed to portray a tolerable (but not
    Juvenile, awful directorship, an unfortunate use of 3D (incomparable to Ang Lee's use of 3D Life of Pi) which gave me a terrible headache. The woeful attempt at homour was absurd.
    Unsophisticated with banal motivational lines about believing blah blah. The actors possessed little acting skills, with perhaps the exception of Michelle Williams who managed to portray a tolerable (but not exceptional) Glinda and Rachel Weisz (who wasn't at her best). James Franco's Oz was extremely annoying and if that's what the director hoped to achieve then he accomplished this feat extremely well. However, the dangers of manifesting the egotistical, greedy and seedy characteristics of Oz without any charming offsetting traits has its disadvantages.Consequently, I felt no empathy with any of the characters with the exception of Theodora (despite Mila Kuni's poor performance) one managed to garner some understanding relating to her hatred of the Wizard (however, I attribute that due to my own feelings of contempt towards him). This film has not lived up to its exceptions but I blame Disney for appointing a terrible Director. With a huge budget it could have done so much more.
    Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2013
    0
    Horrible
    it's not just horrible, this cost 215 million to make.
    Same as Jack the Giant Slayer ,The Lone Ranger, Man of Steel, Battleship, World War Z, Pacific Rim, Snow White & the Huntsman, Wreck-It Ralph, Furious 6. Movies that are great, impress me are great movies with very little budget, not only that movie that made huge profit. Movies like Jurassic Park, The Lion King, Ice
    Horrible
    it's not just horrible, this cost 215 million to make.

    Same as Jack the Giant Slayer ,The Lone Ranger, Man of Steel, Battleship, World War Z, Pacific Rim, Snow White & the Huntsman, Wreck-It Ralph, Furious 6.

    Movies that are great, impress me are great movies with very little budget, not only that movie that made huge profit. Movies like Jurassic Park, The Lion King, Ice Age,Independence Day, Star Wars. I don't understand why would a company let directer to spend that enormous money. Most high budget films are bad, some are good, but not worth a money.
    Expand
  21. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    One point for Michelle Williams's performance which was fantastic. Everything else in this film was poorly crafted, poorly performed, and generally uninteresting. I suppose if you thinking yelling is acting, really like James Franco for whatever reason, or have no concept of what tension is this film would be worth watching.
  22. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    Gwaaaah, what a terrible movie. James Franco should NOT be a leading actor and Mila Kunis should NOT be a leading actress. It had a good set of ideas and what could have been a really touching story that was just trampled on my ham-fisted acting. Gwah.
  23. Jun 28, 2013
    2
    Well, it did deserve a point just to see Mila Kunis in tight leather pants. Thank you, Di$ney. Oh, and another point to the actors for sticking it out through this turd. Otherwise, I'd recommend watching something with a little more substance--like Spongebob.
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    2
    A little less CGI and a maybe someone else besides James Franco in the title role would have made this movie worth watching. I enjoyed the black and white element in the beggining but a bad script is a bad script. Also for those scratching there heads to a number of scenes this is a prequal to the book Not the movie. Overall it was interesting at times but dull and lifeless overall.
  25. Dec 3, 2013
    2
    Falar que falta criatividade em Hollywood e que a onde de continuações, prequels e refilmagens confirma isso chover no molhado, mas, não deixa de ser verdade, e isso pode ser constatado na existência de Oz: mágico e poderoso, um desnecessário capítulo de acontecimentos anteriores ao clássico filme de 1939, que resolvia-se de maneira excelente por si só. Por outro lado, por maisFalar que falta criatividade em Hollywood e que a onde de continuações, prequels e refilmagens confirma isso chover no molhado, mas, não deixa de ser verdade, e isso pode ser constatado na existência de Oz: mágico e poderoso, um desnecessário capítulo de acontecimentos anteriores ao clássico filme de 1939, que resolvia-se de maneira excelente por si só. Por outro lado, por mais desnecessário que o filme possa ser, interessante (e surpreendente) constatar como ele funciona muito bem tanto como um “anteriormente no mundo de Oz”, não negando os fatos vistos no filme original, como também como uma aventura independente, não dependendo da experiência prévia do espectador com Dorothy e companhia para funcionar. E, ao se estabelecer como um bom filme, Oz: mágico e poderoso passa então, a justificar sua “desnecessária existência”.

    Iniciando em uma inspirada intertextualidade que homenageia o longa de 1939, Oz: mágico e poderoso nos apresenta Oscar Diggs (ou Oz, seu apelido), um mágico de circo que além da clara falta de talento, exibe também uma falta de ética assustadora, estabelecendo-se como uma figura resmungona, mentirosa, gananciosa e, por tudo isso, sem amigos. Rodado em preto-e-branco e com razão de aspecto de 1.33 1 (similar ao longa da década de 30 que, rodado 1.37: 1, exibia uma tela muito menor e próxima um quadrado), essa introdução eficiente ao estabelecer a existência do protagonista como uma vida pequena e sem cores (sentimentos), tornando sua chegada na terra de Oz levado por um tornado enquanto fugia de uma birga um sinal de que sua vida está para mudar, evidenciado no aumento de sua presença (a razão de aspecto cresce para 2.35 1) e pelo surgimento de cores expressivas na tela.

    Claro que, em impacto, essa cena não supera o momento em que Dorothy abre a porta de casa e, através de seu olhar subjetivo, somos espantados com as cores de Oz, mas, uma homenagem bonita, elegante e que, encontra na narrativa uma razão de ser.

    Ao chegar terra de Oz, o protagonista tomado como o mágico de uma profecia deixada pelo antigo rei do lugar, e que, viria para libertar todos das mãos da bruxa-má Theodora, que governa a cidade das esmeraldas. Para ajudá-lo em sua jornada, Oz conta com um simpático e divertido macaco voador, uma boneca de porcelana e a bruxa-boa, Glinda. Porém, tudo se complica quando, Evanora, a terceira bruxa (irmã de Glinda e Theodora) tem seu coração partido pelo mágico e se torna a terrível bruxa-má do leste enfrentada por Dorothy.

    Contando com um roteiro irregular (de autoria de Mitchell Kapner e David Lindsay), Oz: mágico e poderoso alterna escolhas inspiradas com outras claramente equivocadas. Na primeira definição podemos encaixar a maneira como o filme nos faz “entrar” em sua história e nos importar com o final de seus personagens que, apesar de conhecido ora, já vimos os acontecimentos posteriores em outro filme, não mesmo? em momento algum torna o que vemos na tela menos satisfatório, conseguindo por vezes, despertar o suspense no espectador. Da mesma forma, a maneira como diversas situações posteriores são explicadas de maneira interessantíssima (a ideia do mágico de projetar-se em um rosto gigante) e rimas temáticas são criadas (os presentes entregues ao fim do filme), contribui para angariar pontos positivos para a projeção. Por outro lado, os roteiristas parecem não confiar na capacidade dos espectadores de se entreter com um filme sem um clímax recheado de ação e lutas, já que todo o confronto final entre Glinda e Theodora parece ter sido inserido na trama apenas para dizer “olha, prometemos um grande combate e aqui está ele”.

    Irregular também em sua técnica, Oz: mágico e poderoso apresenta um excelente design de produção, amparado em cenários grandiosos e belos em sua explosão de cores e, claro, em figurinos precisos que, por si só, já evidenciam importantes traços da personalidade de seus personagens repare como Glinda usa roupas sóbrias e claras, enquanto Theodora usa um vestido escuro e mais ostensivo e, como a mudança de personalidade de Evanora retratada apenas através de uma inversão no chapéu, revelando por si só como a maldade já era algo inerente bruxa. A fotografia e os efeitos visuais, por outro, surgem irregulares, indo do orgânico (os planos aéreos que passeiam pelos cenários e as expressões realistas do macaco e da boneca de porcelana) ao completo desperdício das técnicas (planos claramente criados em função do 3D, com coisas arremessadas na tela e, claro, a falta de cuidado em certas cenas recheadas de efeitos, onde percebemos nitidamente a “falsidade” do que visto em tela).

    O elenco, por outro lado, se sai muito bem. James Franco no papel-título exibe carisma e presença de tela que o garantem como escolha acertada para protagonizar o longa. Rachel Weisz se diverte com suas caras e bocas de má, convencendo como a traiçoeira Theodora. Michelle Willians retrata a bondade de Glinda de maneira eficiente, com expressões e fala t
    Expand
  26. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    La pelicula es muy mala, es mas me arrepiento un poco de esta nota tan alta comparada a lo aburrido que la pase viendo, la pelicula...................
  27. Jun 9, 2013
    1
    Oz the Great and Powerful? More like Oz the Lame and Terrible. I can't believe I wanted to see this movie in the first place. My least favorite person in this movie was Mila Kunis, mostly because of her performance in the second half of the movie.
  28. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    I was so disappointed, it is a nothing movie, charmless and colorless misadventure and misunderstanding for the world magical movies for ex. Alice in Wonderland wasn't perfect but at least it delivered a good time, unlike this powerless, unfunny movie, don't let any of the visuals trick you or catch your eyes. Here is nothing.
  29. Aug 28, 2013
    2
    The story is bad from the beginning to the end. The visuals are not the astonishing art that a usual blockbuster should deliver. James Franco and his wonderful moment is the only nice thing I can save from this one.
  30. Dec 16, 2013
    2
    At the beginning normal, then slow and boring and at the end poisonous, there's nothing good to say about this movie besides its good for kids to watch, but as a movie, it is just a film that takes away time of your life. I thought it would be a better representation of the meaning of "Oz, the great and powerful", as its title says. Hopefully, there are other millions of films in the world.
  31. Dec 23, 2013
    1
    This movie was garbage. The black-and-white portion is the best part, and the green screening was horrendous, the visuals were terrible, the supporting cast was little help to Oz, many parts that came were predictable, and was a waste of 215 million dollars, if they even used that much.
  32. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    This movie is basically about Oz who ends up in an enchanted world and has to face 3 witches. Its not like The Wizard of Oz in case you have not seen it. This movie may make some people angry as I am one of the viewers who was Oz (James Franco) is a selfish and greedy fraud. His acting is very good and he fits in well with his role. He meets Theodora (Mila Kunis) eventually throughout hisThis movie is basically about Oz who ends up in an enchanted world and has to face 3 witches. Its not like The Wizard of Oz in case you have not seen it. This movie may make some people angry as I am one of the viewers who was Oz (James Franco) is a selfish and greedy fraud. His acting is very good and he fits in well with his role. He meets Theodora (Mila Kunis) eventually throughout his journey pretending to be the powerful Oz because he knows that he will get money. He is very lucky and manages to trick pretty much everyone there that he is Oz even though he is not. She then takes him to meet her sister one of the witches who he then also tricks into thinking he loves but she doesn't take it to heart as much. He is basically a player. He then leads Theodora on to thinking he loves her but he does not he doesnt know that she is one of the witches and he breaks her heart when she finds out he was a fraud. Her sister Evanora (Racheal Weisz) is also one of the witches they all posses a different power. is the one who he has also lead on. Theodora comes to Evanora crying telling her about "Oz" she then cries in a scene and her tears burn her flesh she does very good acting throughout this whole time. She becomes furious when her face burns and her sister Evanora convinces her to take a potion of some sort to get rid of the pain in her heart. This makes her an evil green which who seeks revenge on Oz. Mila Kunis does not fit in well at all with this role she plays her "evil laugh" is very weak and she just cant pull it off its ridiculous. Eventually Oz meets many more people till he meets the nice witch Glinda who he also then starts make to fall for him he is very good at playing a player in the movie. She also does a very good job playin her role. The evil witch then plans to destroy the land and Oz witch is why she told Theodora to take that potion to turn into an evil witch. The movie seems like it could have been good but these people are dumb..... they just get tricked and think that Oz is the powerful wizard and he is not. Mila Kunis should not have played the evil witch seems like she just got the role because she is a big actress. This guy basically a player, a fraud, a lair, and yet at the end he ends up with falling for the nice princess its just not a good message to kids if that's why its a Disney movie I regret even witching this movie there's much more to the movie but bare with me people. Expand
  33. Jul 10, 2014
    2
    In all honesty, the only reason I watched this movie was because it happened to be on TV and I had nothing else to do. I expected this movie to be okay, not anything truly amazing, and it still managed to greatly disappoint me and waste my time despite my standards not being set very high at all. The visual effects are average and at some points very cheesy, the actors are moreIn all honesty, the only reason I watched this movie was because it happened to be on TV and I had nothing else to do. I expected this movie to be okay, not anything truly amazing, and it still managed to greatly disappoint me and waste my time despite my standards not being set very high at all. The visual effects are average and at some points very cheesy, the actors are more good-looking than talented, and the writing was fairly poor, resulting in a story that lacks sense throughout and that somehow manages to stretch on for over two hours. I was never really a Wizard of Oz fan to begin with, so that may have impacted my level of enjoyment, but none the less, it is difficult to watch this movie and not be distracted by all the nonsense over the course of this movie. Expand
  34. Mar 20, 2014
    2
    Some of the worst acting i have ever seen. the movie is just pointless, stupid, and corny. if i didnt pay i wouldve left halfway through. very tough to watch
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Mar 18, 2013
    30
    At the center of the movie, in place of the ardent, emotionally pulverizing Judy Garland, there is James Franco...as he smirks and winks, his reflexive self-deprecation comes off as a gutless kind of cool, and it sinks this odd, fretful, uncertain movie like a boulder. [18 March 2013, p.86]
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 10, 2013
    58
    What we get here is Oz the Amiable and Unthreatening.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 10, 2013
    75
    It's familiar enough to be comfortable but not so familiar that it feels worn and repetitive.