User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1266 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    It's a wonderful world filled with amazing possibilities that you're rushed quickly through, this story should have been stretched over 2-3 movies or at least left room for a sequel.
    The movie introduces characters and tries to drag out a plot but never really succeeds in doing it, the geigers are never fully explored and there are a few of them.

    I honestly had hoped for so much more,
    I feel like this world was made and someone sent me a postcard before closing it forever. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First I will say this. Guillermo Del Toro is one of my top 5 movie directors. I own Blade 2, Hellboy 1 and 2, Pans Labyrinth, The orphanage and so on. I was really looking forward to this movie for over a year and was wishing it would deliver but all it did was fail. EPICALLY. The score I gave were for visuals. Whoever says this movie is great they are the reason movies keep getting made. I left the movie theater angry. This has to be the worst movie written and edited of all time. How would anyone release this $200 million dollar cluster fudge.

    Writing is the key to success. The plot of the movie is that a crack opens that port's monsters from another dimension to our world. So its one crack. So answer this why didn't they try to nuke the thing from the beginning to see if it fails before creating the jaegars and finding out at the end that nuking it will fail. Then after creating the Jaegars which were like 30 of them. Why not have them on standby near the stupid crack. The reason being its proven that only one appears at a time. They track them as they appear. Correct. Imagine how much repair they will save if all 30 ganked this one Kaiju as he was entering our world. Why the hell would you split up the Jaegars around the world if its only one crack. Even if they decide to send 10 kaijus they will still fail. But now they decide to do this strategy when only 4 Jaegers are left.

    Next when driving the Jaegers why is there a spinning blade grinder under these guys? What happens if the accidentally fall in? Wait that actually almost happened. Bad design don't you think. Next we have the guy mind meld with a kaiju brain. Now why would they do this. Oh because once the 2 kaijus defeat the 3 Jaegars in less than a minute of movie time they need a diversion for one of the kaijus to leave. Why didn't both Kaijus leave after the scientist guy? So that Dipsey Stranger can intervene and take them out separately. Then something stupid happens. The Gorilla kaiju that's left over doesn't destroy the last non functioning Jaegar. He just walks around it and punches it in the head. Then these 2 guys get out and blind him with a flare. Seriously.

    Now we get to the kaijus defeat. Why is the Kaiju pregnant? Its proven that they are all clones. WHY? Thats easy to fix the plot hole in the scientist guy to mind meld with the baby kaiju who has no recollection of whats going on in the other dimension. WTF. Really? The thing is in an egg and it has memories. Its like saying that if a woman is pregnant and the baby is delivered I can mind meld with it and it can show me where he came from heaven or HELL. "Because this is what this movie is".

    Finally the part that I screamed at in the Theater. If you read this you know it was me. What was the purpose of having a stick fight training scene if the damn robots cannot use weapons? I didn't see them us any handheld weapons in which this would benefit them. Oh wait the sword at the end against the flying Kaiju. This is where I screamed, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME". They had this weapon the whole time and never used it. WHY? Oh that's right. If they used it in the beginning the brother wouldn't die and the other brother would not meet the Japanese girl in which they wind up have a interracial love interest. THAT DOESN'T WORK. USE THE SWORD. Then later on create kaijus that are smarter in disabling this technique.

    OK forget the sword. how about this. How many times did the jaegers had these kaijus by the neck and never once bothered to crush it with the robotic power? I lost count. As for the flying sucker hell my hands were free. Why not crush its neck with my bare robotic hands.

    Then the movie finally ends just like independence day with the stupid alien looking at the Jaeger explodinah this movie.
    Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produce proper visually attractive films. The makers of this film took the idea of robots fighting godzilla monsters and turned it into this beautiful film.

    I have no other words to describe this. Just go and watch it.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Sure, it's cheesy and predictable. Yes, it's style over substance. But heck..what you are seeing is a friggin live action Robot Anime, coming to life, done with a 'Godzilla' sized budget. It's a great thing to look at and you have to commend the studio for even green lighting this thing. The action sequences are great, and Del Toro give this film his incredible attention to detail. It's a wonderful set up, but the bad thing is that when you are just being immersed in this world, the film ends. Other than that, a bold 'original film that deserves to succeed in weeks to come. C'mon people! A lot of folks complain that there isn't enough original material in blockbuster films these days. Give this one your support! Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    Just got done seeing this movie, and... I'm kinda disappointed. Visually, it's great--but a movie shouldn't be all spectacle, at least to an audience past a certain age group. You have all of these great hints of a mythology and character development that aren't fleshed out AT ALL. It instead goes for hokey, cliché material that makes your eyes roll. The humor is cringe-worthy, and the "rousing" speeches (and dialogue in general) kinda fall flat. I caught myself wishing things would move forward in-between fight sequences. Ron Perlman and Ellen McLain (voice of GLaDOS) were awesome-those are a few pluses. It's a decent movie, but don't get super-hyped--you'll leave disappointed. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    There lies our inner child who will squeal when giant mecha heroically arrives to fend off gargantuan tower size monster in an epic battle that will surely destroy anything around them, but we really don't care about collateral damage. Pacific Rim is a homage to that forgotten child and ultimately the mecha genre. I didn't expect Japanese inspired Godzilla-esque scenes, where it was made from cardboard miniature and people in suit back in the old days, will be realized into hyper stylish modern day action movie. Granted, it's still marred by a few typical disaster movie cliches, but it will make your eyes open wide and mouth agape just seeing the colorful metal knight versus relentless organic behemoth as your childhood is relived once again.

    There hasn't been anything quiet like it visually. Color palette is glossy and bright, the motion of the gigantic being, either it's steel or flesh, is appropriately smooth. The scale of the encounters is immense, often showcasing stormy sea and dystopian night life to emphasis the clash. Use of 3D effect highlights it even more, its camera angle shows the threat of Kaiju, the monsters, in a daunting perspective. These walking antagonists deliver thrill light years ahead compared to usual monster type on their television counterparts. It makes the appearance of Jaegar, the robots, even more exciting and the battle that much better. There's just no shortage of colossal mayhem in Pacific Rim.

    Story takes a bleak contemporary setting where Kaiju attack gradually increases, however this is unlike gritty nuance of apocalypse, it still has some fun and humor. Humanity's answer for the Kaiju infestation is Jaegars. tall stoic robotic entities which take two persons to pilot by synchronizing their thoughts. With incredibly fast paced screenplay, the movie pulls audience to invest in the story. Charlie Hunnam from Sons of Anarchy fame takes the role of the troubled protagonist Raleigh Becket. He's clean cut with emotional baggage of losing his brother. In a way it makes him a compatible with Mako Mori, played by Rinko Kikuchi, the teen girl from Babel.

    The dynamic between them is the majority of the story, which arguable takes a bit longer than expected. They do relatively fine, although there's not much chemistry to be had. Charlie Day and Ron Perlman are present, mostly for comedy relief. It appears that the movie would like to introduce larger-than-life characters, much like those in anime. Some scenes don't really work since it's trapped in predictable cycle, such as some ridiculous death scenes or the speech before final battle.

    Credit must go to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a movie he's truly passionate about. Mecha genre is far from mainstream, especially in blockbuster, but it now has a decent representation in the form of Pacific Rim. Some silliness or occasional slow scenes aside, it's a fresh entertaining rendition of boys mecha fantasy and an especially irresistibly captivating action movie as a whole.

    Rate 8/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    The fighting scene was awesome. The kaijus design were great. I wish they had more interesting ability design for the kaijus like the one that had EMP wave for a weapon and the one that can fly. I wish they had one kaiju that can turn invisible or a kaiju that is similar to a hydra. So if you expect a giant mech fighting a giant monster Pacific Rim is the movie you have to watch, but if you're on to the story or character development well this isn't the movie you have to watch. The only character that is worth to know is the character of Ida. Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i first saw ads for this film, I did not expect much, but I watched it regardless, mainly because robots. But when i saw it, i was pleasantly surprised. it was actually a pretty good film, it had a good story line, amazing visuals, and good action scenes. i really only had one complaint though, there is very little character development. Ok, maybe I've been spoiled by evangelion, but there really isn't much. i mean, with some of the characters you meet them, you see their robot, their dead. you never really get to learn much about them, but besides that this was a very good film i believe is worth watching. Expand
  9. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    "Do you want to sit here or go out there and do something really stupid" Pacific Rim is a gigantic monster brawl. But not like Godzilla versus Mechagodzilla. It has awesome special effects, great acting and a amazing story. Something that you would usually get in a movie like Argo or Lincoln. But this movie delivers all that. Don't be turned off by the genre and even though it's in third place in the box office it is easily better than Grown ups 2 in critical reception and it may be better than Despicable Me 2 for older kids. So really it should be number 1. Also if you think it may be scary for little kids that's not true. There only gore that comes from the monster and one or two curses. Maybe not for 4-8 years olds but anyone older will probably be alright. So anyway this films boasts amazing visuals, great acting and a great story. I wouldn't be surprised if it won an Oscar for best visuals. This is a definite must see. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    The great action sequences, which get ridiculous upon each one and less visible, can't make up for the horrible acting, stupid characters, and corniness that was frankly shockingly blatant. Its hard to enjoy a film when you have multiple 20 to 30 minute dull parts spaced throughout the movie
  11. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    It does drag in the middle for sure with the pointless character development but we all know that is to pad out the time while we wait for the next ABSOLUTELY AWESOME MONSTER MASHUP! It's like the best ever video game mixed up with a crappy comic book. One thing, you really MUST see at the cinema. The only excuse for at home is a huge TV and a bag of 'mind enhancing herbs.'
  12. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    No esperen ver un clásico, sino una película entretenida de principio a fin con muchos guiños a Macross, Personajes secundarios carismaticos y mounstros grandes... muy grandes!!
  13. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    phenomenal...great movie, very powerful...exclusive director Guillermo del Toro, one of my favorite... spectacle for the eyes and ears. Epic from start to finish
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    Devoid of emotional essence, unpredictable plot elements, quality performances and stand-out characters, Pacific Rim is saved by its stunning, visually spectacular colossal fight scenes, its fast, thrilling pace and well-constructed mythology.
  15. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Great fun, amazing designs. The Jaegers especially were pure joy to watch. There's no lulling dip dragging out mankind's first contact, or over the top drama, just monsters versus robots. Absolutely brilliant.
  16. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    BIG GIANT FIGHTING ROBOTS!!!. That is all this movie has so if that first sentence does not excite you then pass on this one. If that first sentence made you jump up and down in your seat like a 10 year old with a bladder problem then enjoy the ride.
  17. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    As a massive Del Torro fan, and a huge Mange, Anime and Mecha fan this film was everything I wanted it to be.

    It made me feel like a child again, it made me feel the same way Jurassic Park made me feel when I was 5 years time, I was in awe. People will of course compare this brilliantly designed and thought of almost Film Noir epic to the atrocity that is is Michael Bay's orange
    backdrop and explosion fest that is the Transformer series, but this film is everything Bay could only dream of making and so much more. The Jeagers had a real sense of proportion, much like the classic PS2 game Shadow of the Colossus you really felt how big they were and when the [spoiler] Kaiju unfurled its wings my jaw actually dropped.

    It wasn't a perfect film, but it was everything I hoped for and so much more!
    Expand
  18. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    They managed to make giant robots fighting monsters boring. A few snippets at the start then an hour and half of moronic storylines. Then extremely disappointing monster fights, a few punches and its over. I was expecting epic sprawling battles. Waste of time.
  19. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    It was, I believe, 1999 when I sat in darkened theater and beheld what I felt was the first true live-action anime done by Hollywood. It was The Matrix, and it stands alone as a classic of the genre (Sequels? WHAT sequels? *AHEM*) Well, today I got to experience that giddy, geektastic sensation all over again. Pacific Rim is a love letter to giant monster and anime fans the world over. The story is nothing you haven't heard before its us against an alien foe of unbelievable power. Everything from Independence Day to Evangelion gets cherry picked for ideas, and some of the references feel like intentional nods to del Toro's sources of inspiration. The acting is more than passable particularly Elba's and what little comedy relief there is comes mostly from secondary (but still important) characters played by extremely talented folks. One of them is essentially a national caricature, but its still quite endearing. I could go on and on about specifics but more eloquent voices than mine have already hit most of the high points. The bottom line is that Pacific Rim and del Toro absolutely delivered. This movie helped remove the awful taste left by Man of Steel and is in my opinion the first true summer "event" film worth seeing. Oh, and ILM absolutely knocked it out of the park on the visuals. You will believe a giant robot can fly (even if its being kicked across town by an angry monster). Oh, and did I mention that the PG-13 is a *mild* PG-13? Except for a very small amount of language with nary an f-bomb to be heard, this is a family-friendly movie. It might scare a few of the younger kids but with the stuff on Cartoon Network these days its pretty unlikely. See it. See it again. Reward this director/producer who probably had to call in every marker he had to get this film made. There aren't even Pacific Rim toys in the stores around here. Supposedly you can get them online and I assume in bigger cities, but that tells you something about how little regard the industry has for this kind of material in live-action form. My fear now is that the film, which has a nicely wrapped-up ending, will do well enough that the studio will demand a sexed-up sequel. If that happens and del Toro resists they'll push him aside. Should this come to pass, nerds the world over should grab their torches and pitchforks.

    * Most similar films: Independence Day, Transformers, Godzilla vs Megalon. My score: a solid 7.5 if MC would allow it, but I'll go with an 8 for devotion to the genre, solid if unimaginative story and mind-boggling visuals and audio. I was humming the music when I left the theater if that tells you anything.
    Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Not perfect, but still really good. It's pure nerd porn. As good as Iron Man 3 (if not better), definitely better than Star Trek:Into Darkness and Man Of Steel. And I liked all three of those other movies.
  21. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Not bad, but really, this is designed for 10 year old boys who find Godzilla movies mesmerising. Del Toro is unapologetic here about what he is doing, which is basically giving you as many giant robots slugging it out with giant monsters as you can conceivably squeeze into a movie. It sounded like a bit of fun beforehand, but in the end, I just found it noisy, too repetitive and a bit unrewarding. Script, characterisation and dialogue are strictly for kiddies, and the 3D was nothing special either. As an Australian, I have to say I laughed a bit at the stereotyping of the Aussie jaegermeisters who were basically portrayed as borderline psychotics with vague homoerotic issues issues that they simply couldn't articulate except through tongue tied rage and interpersonal violence. Though, come to think of it, pretty well all the jaegermeisters fell into that category. I suppose tearing the heads off giant lizards that don't say anything does require a certain psychological predisposition towards random violence. Anyway, just a popcorn movie (largely aimed at the Asian market). I hope Del Toro does well out of it but he is a much, much better director than this movie would indicate to the casual viewer. Expand
  22. Aug 1, 2013
    5
    First off, great concept: giant machines fighting aliens. Then the movie started, this overly dramatic and long, nagging story-telling that is typical for American Hollywood movies was something that I certainly didn't expect from Guillermo del Toro. Even the jokes in-battle were abundant and broke the tension that actually made me want to see more of this film. The acting is stiffer than Expandables and in the end I thought Guillermo was pulling a leg at everyone, pointing out how cliche and staged action movies are these days. When I walked out the cinema I wondered whether I watched WWE or just the South Park episode... Expand
  23. Sep 10, 2013
    1
    I expected better from Guillermo del Toro. How could he possibly have thought that this would work? But maybe he was looking for something different. The movie did earn hugely, so maybe money was what he was looking for this time. But seriously, one would expect better things from the guy who brought us Pan's Labyrinth. The one is for the cinematography, because it looked like they had worked hard on it. The story, characters, ending, and pretty much everything else was below par. Very disappointing. Expand
  24. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This movie was great. While it is not perfect, it is still better then many of the critics say it is. The movie moved right along, the cast was great and the graphics for this type of movie are outstanding. No spoilers, the ending was good to and it did not try to force room for a sequel. My only problem was a lack of fight scenes, but not to such an extent that it was ever slow or boring. A must watch for summer 2013. Expand
  25. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    I didn't expect to like this movie as much as I did. Wow, was it ever a satisfying monster/giant robot movie that was visually pleasing in an anime style. It has a relatively straight forward story, but it doesn't need to be complicated. It was well acted, had substance, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. This is what awful robot movies like Transformers or Robot Jox should have been like, and it was better than monster movies like Cloverfield. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    think this is the last time i'll ever listen to bad reviews. this movie is great! and definitely a nice watch on Blu-ray. it had everything i wanted, and took me back in memory of a game with mech warriors from sega. i'll actually be buying this.
  27. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an amazing and original story it is simply excellent movie is a bit predictable on some scenes but is so laughable we don't need to talk about effects it is clearly the best effects of this year! trust me u will not get bored and lose money watching this movie. Expand
  28. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    The acting was rubbish, the story was lame and the premise was awful. The special effects were good but with an 180 million dollar budget you'd expect that, but you'd also expect a good movie. I was literally bored watching this. The original score was good but after the 6 note tune was replayed about 100 times the music lost it's impact. Overall, a waste of my £10, and a waste of Hollywoood's $180 million. Also, for "the world to come together" it's surprising how all the robots are designed in America, piloted by Americans and mostly manufactured in America, all with the American flag on the side. Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    The detail put into the visuals and sounds for the fights certainly looked pretty amazing. Though the storyline wasn't really solid, it was enough to keep me interested.
  30. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie for what it is, a magificent tribute to the Mecha and Kaiju generes. The fights are simply amazing and the visual effects are top notch. Del Toro makes this colosual Mechas come alive in a way that I've never seen before. Of course it has many cliches but it's a Robot vs Monster movie, what did you expect? The character do feel generic but IMHO they fit in a perfect way. If this movie would had been released in the 90s it would have marked my childhood.

    If you are a fan of Mecha anime or shows this is a must see.
    Expand
  31. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I appreciated the fact that "Pacific Rim" wasn't overly hyped like a lot of films usually are. I guess that's probably Guillermo del Toro's MO when it comes to films.

    That being said, I loved it. The fights were epic, with each Kaiju requiring a different tactic to defeat and the introductory timeline showing the dwindling numbers of Jaegers still active set a tone of desperation for humanity. That leads back to the film's battle sequences, where you don't know if a Jaeger (and its pilots) will survive the fight or not. Sudden twists with the Kaiju elicited a "what??" response from me on more than one occasion. An engaging story together with intense battles made the movie one of the best films I've seen this summer.
    Expand
  32. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Let go of your scientific knowledge for this movie. A lot of stuff that happens juts isn't all that plausible, but you should know that before you even go in. You are about to watch giant robots suckerpunch demons from another dimension.

    The movie is pretty great. It's fresh in the movie industry, and creates a new world for your mind to explore. The characters develop in realistic
    ways, and while they could have been fleshes out more, Guillermo del Toro does a great job with the 131 minutes he had.

    I went into this movie as a big skeptic. Whenever I see movies like this, I think it is going to be as mindless as the Transformers series or just plain silly. Instead, there was some great tropes that made you think more about the characters and their role in this war they are fighting.

    A great new movie that creates a fun new world. I definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  33. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Movie gets you fired up that's for sure... As for dramatic acting, well, not going to be winning any globes, but certainly a fun concept, and a potential franchise at that.
  34. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    7.5 Decent popcorn entertainment. As expected of Del Toro the set-pieces totally delivered. Dud totally showed his class since they were so expertly paced they didn't feel wearisome like Man of Steel's. The script was a friggin' misery though. It was a convoluted mess and the movie's sad attempt at humor only exacerbated the trouble (It was totally bad, like "Michael Bay" bad).

    In
    terms of cast it was a mixed bag. As i said before Elba stood out. There was a surprisingly considerable amount of writing made for his character and Elba delivered. There was nothing special about Mako Mori though she was absolutely gorgeous. Charlie Hunnam was pretty plain though he didn't turn out as exasperating as i thought. But the rest was horrendous, yes including Charlie Day (They could have given him better jokes).

    I say a sequel wouldn't be a bad brainchild but i'm not totally against stopping right here either. The loose ends were tied up nicely.
    Expand
  35. Rem
    Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Pacific Rim definitely has some big shoes to fill. With Guillermo Del Toro directing, you'd expect a great time, and I did, but I had to sit through bad storytelling, lame and bad humor, and downright awful acting. It's also in the mantra for one of the cheesiest movies of the year.
  36. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    This isn't your typical monster movie.
    After just seeing this movie only a few hours ago, I can safely say this movie is a MUST SEE. This movie is what the Transformers films should be, and by that I mean unlike Transformers which has such small fight scenes and too much character development. Pacific Rim has little to just the right amount of character development and HUGE, grandiose
    fight scenes. These fight scenes are just so incredibly well done and really show the scale of what they are but if you want to see my full review you can watch it at http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqfOgWFfBvqgqLbVEtvNw4g?feature=watch. Expand
  37. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific rim may have been the only movie I wanted to see this summer; heck maybe this year! So the time has finally come, and I am overjoyed. Yes I do like anime and kaiju films, but I only watch anime films now and I rarely see a kaiju film again now a days. So that tells you where I'm coming from. Anyways, Pacific does best what the other blockbusters do but aren't quite there yet. This film gives you all its got, there's no cliffhanger or any major loose ends; I do think man of steel is real close in that does world building, but that film is definitely getting a sequel. Back to Pacific rim, it gives very cool action sequences; the best being the Hong Kong battle, and tries to slow the action for the better. It is "logical" after all that giant creatures and mechs should move at this pace, so therefor the action is easy to follow even in the dark. So obviously the visuals is the high point, the middle ground is the cast. No one is terrible, or even bad; in fact Idris is the best actor in this film, but the scientist and Ron Perlman are a bit distracting. (Disclaimer: Ron Perlman is awesome). With the basic film critique out of the way, I can now just say what I liked and disliked; because I appreciate a film more when I can acknowledge its pros and cons. I liked the action, the design of the Jaegers and Kaijus, that characters aren't too sophisticated, and the sheer size of it makes it a masterpiece in eye candy. However, I disliked some of the characters; the scientists in particular and the jerk from Australia, that the Russian and Chinese Jaegers get the short strip and get defeated too quickly; I loved their designs the most, and some of the logic is either nonsensical or just plain silly. Expand
  38. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    When monsters come out from the deep and starts to destroy everything at sight,when must create monsters ourselves... as simple as that's sounds, The movie is very entertaining, a joy to watch and one of Guillermo del Toro's finest works.And here's how:

    First of all, let's talk about the fights between the kaiju(Japanese for strange monster) and the Jaegars,the giant robots and
    humanity's best weapons against this threat.it's brilliant, the effects are brilliant and the movements of the robots are brilliant, since you won't expect the machines to move at a fast pace,.it is also reinforce by an impressive score too and the right sound effects. I appreciate that you can see what's going on in the scenes and they are well executed.This is one of the main reason that you should see this film.Period.

    and then the visual design,And oh man, how I loved the uniqueness of every monster and machine. it scales to the older, more bulky models to the more sleek, agile and let's say,a more modernized style of architecture.I have to admit, each has a distinctive style of fighting, one with brute force, and the other with specialized in close-quarter combat via melee weapons. and the monsters are unique too,each having a different style and design with them with one with the ability to fly, one that has a knife for a head(which reminds me of an episode in Dexter's lab with a monster with the axe head).

    The story is simple and straightforward, two brothers, Raleigh (played by Charlie Hunnam) and Yancy Becket, who is played by Diego Klattenhoff, set out on a mission to take down their latest kaiju by the orders of Comandder Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba). Unfortunately,it overpowers the duo and one of has their life taken by the Kaiju.this leads to one of the brothers to work in making a wall, that replaces the jaegars since the jaegars are no longer effective.Then Pentecost finds Raleigh and convince him to return to the battlefield. where they head to Hong Kong, meeting with the Comannder's brightest pupil Mako Mori played by Rinko Kikuchi. I refuse to spoil the rest of the story, but it's basically that machines are set to eliminate the threat once and for all.What I liked about he story is the mythos, a pilot must have a co- pilot, otherwise the person will die due to incompatibility with the jaegar so two are used to control each side of the brain.And also, when a new kaiju arrives, they evolve, which is the sole reason how the main character loses his brother and the changes in terms of strategy.it's a love it or hate it factor and for the record, I like it,

    and it's reinforced by the acting and the writing,sure it's not all impressive but Elba's performance is the highlight, it's like he's born as a commander, you will always have your attention to him.The main characters of Charlie and Rinko are above average, but the chemestry between the duo feels right. But then again, it's not bad, but it's really good overall. the script is realistic (other than the stereotypes) and and surprising as well for example, then Pentecost is confronted by Raleigh, and the two points are repeated,i did not expect to hear that and was a surprise as well.Also the way the movie is played out is like a high octane anime.

    But what i didn't like was the stereotypes,we have a scientist that is so obviously unrealistic and very campy,that i feel that it was like a cartoon.no offense but i'd think that the scientist should me more calm and less well... paranoid and the other one is that hotshot Australian.
    , why does act like a total douche and a freaking whiner that Becket is around? i feel that he should show at least some respect towards the veteran rather to act as a douche overall at the early parts.also, i was disappointed that the other jaegars didn't have a longer screen time, and if there was a prequel,i would like how Pentecost was back then.

    In conclusion, the movie is by no means a very sophisticated or spectacular story wise, but if you seek a satisfying movie flick,ignoring any other details, this is a must see. I like how the movie didn't bother to be like a Hollywood blockbuster with the annoying cliches surrounding it, but it took a concept that is loved in japan (The kaiju movie genre and inspiration from many anime shows) and also filling out any plotholes, so simply all questions are answered.
    Expand
  39. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Separemos desde un principio dos cosas. Esta es una película de acción y efectos especiales, esto no es Sci-fi. Así que no vamos a hablar de excelsas linea de dialogo o profundidad en los personajes. Teniendo esto en cuenta, analicemos por que los Jeager de Pacific Rim son los Mechas mas increíbles que ha tenido el cine. Transformers marco una etapa donde los efectos habían empatado a la fotografía de la película y todo después de Transformers era un post, era un "ya lo vimos, y mejor". Ahora tenemos estos colosales mechas, del tamaño de un rascacielos, rompiendo los margenes establecidos en Transformers, y ademas, peleando con criaturas que a pesar de ser oscuras y sin ningún previo en que basar el arte, terminaron por encantarnos, por tener una personalidad, y en lo mas profundo del monstruo; una relación con alguna fobia. A este punto, la película marca un nuevo nivel, una nueva base en efectos limpios y secuencias de acción monumental que nos impiden olvidarlas, y por supuesto; querer mas.

    La película puede tener tropiezos, pero estos están en partes que no nos interesan. Uno no fue a ver Les miserables por los efectos visuales. Hay quienes quieren neciamente compararla con Neon Genesis Evangelion, y la película tiene dos cosas:
    1.- NO es Neon Genesis Evangelion, y
    2.- Es lo mas cerca y mejor logrado, en el ahora un genero de películas; los Mechas.

    Es conmovedor leer que la película esta dedicada a Harryhausen y Honda. Al saber un poco de producción cinematográfica puedo decir sin problemas, que las secuencias donde pelean en Hong Kong es un logro técnico, un parte-aguas en la implementacion de efectos que solo Industrial Light and Magic pudo lograr, un gran tributo, un respeto y regalo a aquellos que nos hicieron imaginar cosas como esta hace muchos años.

    Hoy digo Gracias por crear Pacific Rim, espero que de alguna manera Guillermo pueda convencer de hacer Bioshock.
    Expand
  40. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Its a great Mech movie that I always have wanted to see. Heading in I was begging that this movie doesn't remind me of anything from horrible transformers movie, and it doesn't. It has a nice simple three act structure that is easy to follow and doesn't mix tones between serious and comic relief tones like in transformers. Their are a few plot holes that are minor and just silly that don't take anything away from the whole movie experience like the Ocean Wall idea. I also wish that the movie explained what each weapons each Jaeger had before they fought so I had some foreshadowing before they fought. Overall if you want to see a good original movie this summer, you should go see it and get hyped! Expand
  41. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    I've been a fan of Gundam I through Z, Dunbine, Votoms, Megazone 23, Macross, Space Runaway Ideon, Iczer One, L. Gaim, Orguss, etc. all my life. That said... Pacific Rim is for kids.

    The effects, as usual anymore, were great but the dialogue, stereotypes, accents, acting pretty much everything else was corny.

    I loved the guy running the Jaeger program; he's the same guy who
    played the ship's captain in Prometheus. Why the director decided he needed an Aussie accent is so far beyond me I fall off my chair when considering it.

    Rinko Kikuchi is... a bad actress. Sorry. I know she's Japanese, I know she's cute, but bad is bad. Period.

    ITM (in this movie) we plug me into a hive mind and find out that all my memories are G-rated. Really? The protagonist's memories are all of Norman Rockwell paintings, mom in the kitchen making oatmeal and dad on his recliner reading a newspaper? Rinko gets one memory (and can't even manage that!) the day a beastie chased her into an alley. Apparently no one in this movie has ever had sex or fantasized about killing his/her boss.

    The Jaeger designs are kind of childish. And by "kind of" I mean "utterly". The tandem pilot configuration isn't original the first time I saw that was in Iczer in like 1984 or something and it was done better.

    When I left this movie I did so angry that no one had spent that kind of time and money on a [proper] live action Gundam movie.

    Also, this movie was MAD LONG.

    Still, it wasn't nearly as bad as I'd been led to believe.
    Expand
  42. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    Entretenida e innovadora, renueva el cine de robots luego de las aburridísimas entregas de Transformers, sin embargo, aunque tiene la estampa de Guillermo del Toro, al final se siente haber visto una película hecha por encargo, queda muy lejos de la fantástica Laberinto del Fauno.
    Actuaciones acartonadas y un ritmo lento, evitan que la película tenga una mejor calificación, en cuanto al
    final, adolece que falta de creatividad (Independence Day, Avengers, The Dark Knight), espermos que Del Toro pueda conseguir los $150mdd que necesita para Hell Boy 3

    Comentarios @_Ininteligible, gracias.
    Expand
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    When walking into this film, I wasn't JUST expecting pure, exhilarating action, I expected a thorough human story and at least some acceptable dialogue. Beside from a few characters, the human story is weak and though the jaegers are totally awesome, along with the effects, it's still in my mind a dumb, fun summer blockbuster.
  44. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    I was worried that this movie would be dumb, soulless like those other robot movies, but Del Toro fills Pacific Rim with a sense of wonder and awe, amazing visuals, and some characters that I actually cared about. There are definitely some cliches taken straight out of movies like Top Gun, and some of the dialogue is wooden or a little cringe inducing. And the characters don't have the most depth. But overall the story was told well and I found myself really rooting for the heroes to win at the end.

    The real stars of this movies are the Jaegers, especially when they start bashing giant sea monsters.
    They look absolutely spectacular, and have a real sense of weight and presence that made me go "wow", something a rarely experience in a movie. The monsters are very well done too. And when they clash with the Jaegers, it is just awe inspiring. Sadly, it was kinda hard to see the action at times as it fairly dark usually. Maybe it was the polarized glasses?

    Del Toro's great visuals also extend to the sets which have a gritty, well used realness to them. Also, the score was cool and felt unique.

    This movie doesn't challenge you mentally, or give you complex characters, or a smart story. But it has a big heart, is gorgeous to look at, and wants you to have fun and I had fun.
    Expand
  45. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Start with an unoriginal science fiction monster movie script-and then ingraft numerous moments of creativity well acted and shot and this is Pacific Rim. Giant amphibian monsters enter our world from a portal in the pacific ocean attacking coastal cities and threatening the entire planet. Earth unites and builds giant robots each operated by two human pilots. Especially brilliant are the scenes showing character Mako Mori's past. The pacing is thrilling. the characters are interesting, and there are several humorous moments. At the end battle scenes there were times when it was difficult to hear what the characters were yelling because of the score and special effects which were too loud. Otherwise all is well done. If you like this kind of film ---this is a film you are going to like. I was entertained throughout and awestruck at the best scenes. Expand
  46. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    Okay, first off. Definitely not a Transformers Rip Off. I felt that this was very fresh. It built on the long lost "Oh That's a Giant Monster Destroying our City!" concept which I haven't seen since the new King Kong. The Monsters themselves, the Kaiju were beastly, very cool. Then the Jaigers...Damn, just damn. Loved it from start to finish, I felt that there was not really a "main" character and there were reasons to root for and become attached to all of them. I could see t he Del Toro flavor in much of the design, specifically the Ron Pearlman character. So to sum up, just watch it! Classic Summer flick. Enjoy. Expand
  47. Aug 6, 2013
    7
    In a world where every second movie in this genre is based on a comic book comic book character(s) it's refreshing seeing something new, especially when these guys actually try and create a bit of story and not just mindless action even though there is allot of that. The only negatives to this movie for me would be the fact that for some reason most fights happen in darkened environments; and on one or two sections I found the writing script to be sub par, but nothing to take away from the enjoyment of the movie. Other than that I much prefer this movie to the latest incarnation of the Superman franchise. Expand
  48. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is the epitome of a summer action blockbuster, though it excels in direction and aesthetic. Fans of over-the-top, visually engaging action movies, particularly those about giant robots, should not hesitate to watch this movie.
  49. Nov 14, 2013
    2
    one of the dumbest movies i've ever seen... way too much machine on monster fighting and a completely cliched plot... yeah, great graphics but that's not much of a draw when the story is just stupid...
  50. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim raises the bar for IMAX 3D action. Unbelievable set pieces including one particularly gripping scene that will cater to fans of Inception. Poor script & acting unfortunately hold Pacific Rim back from being great. District 9 & Jurassic Park are still the kings of "non-human" CGI flicks, but this surpasses them in action quality.
  51. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Pacific Rim is a very tough movie to review. The plot is quite simple, monsters rise out of a pit in the Pacific Ocean, and we build giant robots called Jeagers that two pilots control in order to defeat them. Now where the difficulty comes from in reviewing this film is that, truth be told, it's not very good. The Action is why you'll see this movie anyways, as nobody would see this movie for Plot or Brilliant Acting, but for Monsters vs Robots. Although, that doesn't excuse the fact that everything other than the Action is just stupid. The story isn't engaging, you never care about the characters, the writing is laughably awful, and the 2nd Act is more or less, quite boring. As a film, it's not great, but it has the makings of a cult classic, and certainly has breathtaking action, but that's not enough to save a film that's otherwise consumed in mediocrity. Expand
  52. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This was a wonderful experience I just felt like a child again, the movie is intelligent, intriguint and so excited. Guillermo del Toro must be one of the best directors of this era. Congratulation for our mexican artist
  53. Jul 15, 2013
    1
    At about an hour in, when the robot and monster get it on, in the fighting sense, i think i saw someone in the street below them walking into a cinema, probably to see something better.. This is a patchwork quilt of a film containing material from hundreds of crap stained sheets. If audiences love this then we should all be praying for our ultimate demise at the hands of the enormous dumb animal, the USA as it's more commonly known. Expand
  54. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Want a fresh break for Sci fi fans. If you ever grew up seeing the movie robot joxs as a kid and wanted more this is it. My only grip was alot was just simply spoiled by the trailers. Fight scenes were tone back from the Michael bay catastrophe action. Great for the kid geek at heart better to take your kids to. Del Toro did a great job and it makes up for a lot of the past Sci fi let downs over this year. Worth a see on the big screen but, could be just as content at home with a good surround system. Expand
  55. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim is pure unadulterated entertainment. The acting isn't the best, the script is kinda cheesy but it doesn't matter because the film works 100%. Visually amazing and when watched in the cinema on IMAX and 3D the mix of visuals and sound is overwhelmingly stunning and for a simple film it manages to keep you on the edge of your seat through to the end.
  56. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    A great action film. Little/basic dialog but fits the tone of a film thats all about giant robots fighting giant monsters. Action set pieces live up to high standard Del Toro has set in some of his previous work. Basically the film transformers could have been.
  57. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    I'll start with the good because it will be short: Great special effects. No question about it! You can see the budget on-screen. Got to see it at an IMAX 3D theater and it looked and sounded great. Too bad they didn't spend a dime on screenplay writers or acting coaches! Holy cow is that movie bad and boring! No one cares about any character. And they can't act. Weird because both Charlie Hunnam and Idris Elba are rahther good in Sons of Anarchy (FX) and Luther (BBC). But here, they're so bad. As for the leading actress, Rinko Kikuchi, it's a real disaster!!! So bad that I couldn't stop laughing at the end. One of those "so bad it's good" movies. Too bad it cost me over $15. My 9-yr old will love it though! But if you're a grown-up and enjoy good comics movies (Iron Man) or good sci-fi (Prometheus), save yourself the trouble... Expand
  58. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    FUN!!! Yes, it's about giant robots battling giant monsters. And somehow a couple of scenes made me tear up. (I'm a father and the father-daughter scenes worked on me.) I'll be buying this one.
  59. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I thought, that "Pacific Rim" was a thoroughly, enjoyable, action-packed movie that got me gripping the seat and biting my nails. I don't get how people can stand to give it a low rating. The plot may have been lost a few times, but the intense action and graphics make up for everything. No famous celebs? Pssh. They're introducing brilliant new people, for God's sake, don't judge too much. This is a quality movie, guys. They've spent millions on making it, and they deserve the millions back. This is what summertime in the cinemas should be consisting of. Critics, if you can find a movie in this genre that beats it, (in graphics, plot, and mind-blowing action), give me a call. I loved it. Expand
  60. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Walked in with my disappointment cap on, lost the cap somewhere in the first 20 minutes of the film.

    I was pleased at the facts they;
    1. didn't ruin it with a love plot
    2. kept me entertained with different robot designs and monster "abilities"
    3. didn't throw some whining runt as the main protagonist.
    4. using the rule of fighting robots always save the best weapon for last.

    I was dissapointed with;
    1. Scientist Duo (ya corny comedy relief)
    2. The apparent and confusing day and night jumps from a few select scenes
    3. Action time 2/4 robots received while they were deployed.
    (you would think a three armed Jaeger with a formation called the Thundercloud wouldn't go down in the span of 2 minutes right?)

    Overall a good film to watch just be prepared to be blown away literally from the amazing sound.
    Expand
  61. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The action is good, but everyone told you that, here's what's bad: The characters are flat, poorly develop, do not undergo any development or share chemistry. The best acting was Idris Elba, but there was only one or two memorable scenes. The "2 pilots have to be in sync"-plot device gets totally ignored by the end, would've opened up so much more chances for actual story and character. Same with the syncing with the alien mind, so much potential. Overall there are many glimpses of infinitively better movies around and I wouldn't be surprised, if a lot of character development was cut out to make room for more fight scenes.
    Talk about glimpses of other movies, this is probably the most disappointing and the greatest deal breaker. After I saw the trailer and read a review or two I thought: Godzilla vs. Gundam, a homage/exploration of Mecha/Kaiju movies that sounds good. The movie is not a homage or an exploration of the topic, but rather the results of a circle wank of Neon Genesis Evangelion, Godzilla (the new one), War of Worlds and Transformers. There is nothing fresh or new or interesting about it, we've seen it all before (in 2D and less extensive special effects). It's technically a remake of those movies, with 0 own ideas that are worked out (as the intimately fused minds led to nowhere). Also for Christ's sake, if you can't live without ripping off other movies, why for the love of god can't you rip off more good ones?
    Expand
  62. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I find this movie quite stupid. Scenes and effects were great but the plot is unclear and i didnt even feel there was a climax. Poor logic also. Poor fighting strategies. I enjoy sci fi movies like transformers but this movie just lacked what it takes to keep intelligent viewers hooked. Im not impressed at all. I could have tons of suggestions if only i could talk to thr director.
  63. Jul 27, 2013
    1
    Hands down, the worst movie I have seen in the last 20 years. I cannot possibly overstate how bad this film was, absolutely horrible in every way, and no, the special effects did not even come close to saving this disaster. Do not believe the positive user reviews, anybody over the age of 8 that would give this movie anything over a 1-2 should really have their head examined, I just can't imagine an adult seeing this and thinking enough of it that they would log in and give it a 10.....ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Trust me, every single person involved in this POS is embarrassed that they had anything to do with it and are laughing at the rubes who don't seem to know trash when they see it. 0 out of 10, truly a pathetic effort in every way. Expand
  64. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    While a very entertaining flick which delivered exactly on its premise, the movie was a bit disappointing. Maybe it was because of high expectations from Del Toro, but the film felt overall quite flat.
    It had a very interesting premise and something new and creative to add to the monster movie genre (specifically, the effect constant kaiju attacks would have on our society), it
    nevertheless never got too deep. The characters all had some interesting moments but never managed to get really deep. This lackluster characterization, coupled with some plot holes, made the movie feel very two dimensional.
    I noticed this immediately after leaving the theatre, because I tried to strike up a conversation with my friends about what we thought of the movie. It ended up being a very short conversation about how the movie was pretty okay.
    The movie is very enjoyable and delivers on the giant robots being heroes theme. My advice watching the movie is to not expect not much else from it. I do hope that when the sequel comes out, that Del Toro will be willing to incorporate more interesting concepts and more in-depth character development.
    Because I think that this particular kind of movie can hold a lot of potential.
    Expand
  65. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    Like any other sci fi action movie this has a simple plot but way too much action and not much storyline. Some of the acting is exceptionally bad. However it is an interesting concept
  66. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    As far as movie quality, I thought it was cheesy. If I was 10 years old again I would have thought it was the greatest movie of all time. Robots and aliens- who couldn't love it. This movie was such a visual treat, I had to rate it a 7. The acting was cheesy, and the gags were a little cliché, but it was definitely the summer blockbuster that 'The Avengers' was. 7/10!
  67. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    In times when cities collapse due to heroes, robots, villains, aliens or mythical creatures mostly soulless white noises of explosions and clunky strapped on stories to imply deepness of characters we needed a movie that combines the heart of 80s classics such as Top Gun, the trash factor of 70s monster movies and the scale of actual blockbuster cinema. And whoop, there it is!

    No
    McGuffins, no "awww I can't handle the responsibility of being a hero", no dark deep metaphorical jibber jabber. Two heroes who have to manage their problems due to the storie's basic thesis: To kick some aline butt and close the rim, you have to work as a unit.

    The result is a stereotype heavy movie with meaningfull fistfight and visible effects on the world around the main story. Go watch it, if somewhere inside of you still exists a big child that loves giant robots and city crushing monsters.
    Expand
  68. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Despite the plot being extremely predictable, you can't help but feel electrified walking out of the theater after seeing giant otherworldly sea monsters duke it out with man-made robotic giants.
  69. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    An epic movie!This movie is basically better than transformers or any other robot movies out there.The story might not be good but the action is thrilling and very exciting.I am telling you guys to go out there and watch this movie.It will be great.
  70. Aug 14, 2013
    3
    when I say that it was a movie by del toro I really wanted to see pacific rim... well what can I say, just disappointing. It is really hard so watch the fights scenes because they are filled up with so many effects it hurts the eyes. The story isn't suitable for me, but maybe for others. As a result it is pretty much subjective if you like the story or not, but all the visual effects made it nearly unenjoyable. Expand
  71. Sep 7, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing lots of good things about Pacific Rim from Rotten Tomatoes, IMDB, and more, I was expecting to walk out of the theater ready to text my friends recommending they see it. I have to say that I did the very opposite. Not only was I disappointed with the film, it had many scenes leaving me unsure of what just happened.

    After 18 minutes of the film catching us up to present day, we finally learn the film’s title, Pacific Rim, just in case someone in the theater wasn't sure. Massive creatures known as Kaiju have managed to make their way to earth and are wiping out entire cities at a time. The only thing able to kill them is a Jaeger which uses the same concept as the movie Real Steel, (fighter robots controlled by humans) only they are much bigger and take nine helicopters to carry.

    The Kaiju are much more advanced than first considered, and are arriving on earth in stages. The higher the stage, the more advanced and powerful the creature is. The highest stage reached in Pacific Rim is a stage five. Along with the Kaiju being just flat out creepy, we learn that they also shoot their eerie blue blood out of their mouths causing whatever it hits to fall apart and basically disintegrate.

    As they continue to get smarter and stronger, they are wrecking the Jaegers; it is up to Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnan) and Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) to stop them. As they are about to go into battle, Dr. Newton Geiszler (Charlie Day) introduces a plan that could save the rest of the world, and kill off all of the Kaiju, permanently.

    Pacific Rim officially proved that long is not always better, as the 131 minute film had more back-story and irrelevant content, than meaningful scenes. I felt that the film was rushed, and just as I began to understand one scene, they would cut to another. After watching the film, I realized that it was really more about the CGI (Computer-Generated Imagery) editors, then the actors. Without them, Pacific Rim would've been nothing. Director Guillermo del Toro, had a great idea for a movie, but could have made Pacific Rim overall much better.
    Expand
  72. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Perfect visuals and eye catching fights save the horrible plot from making this movie a disaster.
    But they aren't enough to grant it a good score from me.
  73. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    There's no way you can't love this movie. Being a fan of Gundam and the original Godzilla movies, seeing those two things together was like my dream becoming true. The plot is amazing with a major focus on the humans, the actors playing the characters are pretty good, but sometimes, they feel a bit generic in personality. The Kaiju x Jaeger scenes are this movie's selling point, and oh boy, it is amazing. The soundtrack is also amazing. I can't wait to see the sequel. 10/10 Expand
  74. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    (Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM)
    I'm not a big fan of sci-fi movies, but I did enjoy Pacific Rim. Not your typical aliens from space movie. Good story line, not a lot o fluff between action scenes . The action scenes were well choreographed. Overall an entertaining movie.
  75. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Watched this film with my young daughter including 3D and D-Box. Hugely enjoyable with great action and fun. Plot is fairly thin but this is just another "alien/robots" film so didn't expect much more anyway. Highly recommended if you enjoy sci-fi but go an watch it very loud and in the pitch black!!
  76. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta pelicula, es diferente a las muchas peliculas de robots, pasando por Real steal. Esta pelicula con tintes apocalípticos, retrata una invasión alien de esta forma un tanto diferente a lo que se había visto, a pesar de tener similitud a Evangelion; El director Guillermo del Toro ha dicho que el solo hizo una pelicula de monstruos y que retrata lo que viene haciendo en sus ultimas películas.
    Esta pelicula esta mas que recomendada.
    Expand
  77. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    The movie's plot is nothing extraordinary. The acting is competent; it gets the job done. The battle scenes and visuals, however, were amazing. And having an awesome filmmaker like Guillermo del Toro directing surely did help. A great popcorn flick, but nothing more than that.
  78. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    For an action movie, this is perfect. That's the reason for a score of 10. Awesome effects, cliche but enjoyable characters and lines, predictable plot. Still an absolute pleasure to watch. From an mech-anime fan, it's like a dream come true, particularly if your a fan of the Evangelion franchise.
  79. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is a dream come true for everyone who grew up watching the classic Kaiju Mecha genre. Predictable but wonderfully executed by Del Toro. The characters, action, story all scream of nostalgia.
  80. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. It clearly takes inspiration from the Saturday morning TV shows of old like the Power Rangers. Watching people in giant metal suits fighting giant monsters is a heck of a lot of fun. The movie even throws some goofy, comedic style moments to show you how self-aware it is. Overall though it does manage to (thankfully) stay serious. I really enjoyed the film and it is one that I would recommend to others. Expand
  81. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    Visually stunning and well acted, Pacific Rim succeeds in being an entertaining Summer blockbuster, despite the uneven pacing and cliche script. It certainly isn't up to par with some of del Toro's other work, but it certainly is a lot of fun!
  82. Jul 22, 2013
    6
    The most awaited film ever from the audience like me: grow up with robots and anime in my childhood.
    And probably this is the main reason of its fail.

    This film try to concentrate a lot of reference without moisturising well any of that.
    Plus a lot of incongruence (high tech robots controlled by switch? Neural connection to the robot but it's move with a sort of lever? What's the
    meaning of the neural connection so? The best robots result to be the one done in full IRON instead of the more modern titanium and so on?)

    But the very unforgettable in this film are the actors and the characters.
    Characters are just archetype. But hey, even Star Wars had archetype. But the difference is how that characters are convincing. All of them is just so shallow that the viewer just do not feel any attachment to them. The main character is just vapid, the boss, and old pilot is totally unconvincing even when he's performing his speech before the final battle. One of the most vapid speech i've ever hear in a film.

    To come to an end: This film can be a great angular stone in Cinema's story, probably like Star Wars was years before. But Del Toro just wasted it doing a mediocre film with good feeling, happy ending and very boring cliché.

    Very sad.
    Expand
  83. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    A summer blockbuster that is a ton of fun. The movie pushes the limits of cg effects and some surprisingly deep sci-fi story components. While it won't floor you with it's character writing and mythos, the action is fantastic and the film will have you on the edge of your seat for its duration.

    - See it in 3D, it's worth the extra money
  84. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This isn't Shakespeare by any means. It is, however, the most entertaining movie I've seen in a long time. If you enjoy movies that are kinda dumb yet super awesome (Terminator, Predator, Alien, etc), you will like this movie.
  85. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Absolutely loved this movie. Excellent special effects, amazing action, and true fun all throughout. Only issue was the plot was a bit pointless but it personally didn't bother me because who honestly goes to a movie like Pacific Rim and expects and Academy award winning story? Pacific Rim was just plain awesome. Giant monsters vs giant robots, what more can you ask for? Ever wanna see a barge (really large boat) be used as a weapon? GO SEE Pacific Rim! You're guaranteed a great time. Let's hope the studio's give the green light for the sequel Del Toro already has in mind! 9.5/10 Expand
  86. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    This movie is pure eye candy. If you have the chance to watch it in 3D, do so! I'm usually not a huge fan of 3D and will avoid it at any cost but I was really pleasantly surprised here. The effects and fighting scenes are very nicely done, though I guess if you hate CGI, this movie is certainly not for you as it pretty much takes up 75% of the movie. (Though there's also some fighting between humans too)
    As for the plot, it's very campy and you can pretty much see where the movie is going very quickly. That being said it's a fun kind of campy and I'd definitely watch this again together with friends. Part of that campyness are the rather awful jokes.
    Over all, if you wanna have a good time watching a nice-looking action movie, go ahead and watch this one.
    Expand
  87. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Very creative, original plot with its share of surprises. The visuals and sounds are great, the acting is great. Everything is great. Hopefully, there's a sequel. Or at least a film in the same universe.
  88. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    I love Japanese mecha anime from Macross to Orguss to Evangelion and back and I never thought I'd ever be bored senseless by a film which purports to be a love letter to giant mecha and Kaiju cinema. Everything is just so bloody dull; framing and cinematography, ESPECIALLY the Jaeger designs. The clichés though! I should have brought a checklist with me, Pacific Rim had so much cheese I'm practically lactose intolerant. Expand
  89. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Great movie! It's exactly what Transformers should have been. Just don't let the "science" used in this movie ruin it for you. This is a movie about giant robots fighting giant aliens, just sit back and enjoy it. My one major criticism is that the main character was weak. He's not a leading role kinda guy.
  90. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie.

    Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger
    rocks!

    The fact that this is (gasp!) and ORIGINAL universe gave Guillermo del Toro freedom to create as he wished, without the fear that the die hard fans would hate what he did. And create he did. If you get a chance watch the extras in the Blu-ray. I think you'll be surprised at how many small details are in the movie.

    Idris Elba is one of my favorite up-and-coming actors. His work in The Wire was incredible, and it is good that Hollywood is giving him an opportunity. Charlie Hunnam was more than serviceable as the action hero and while I am not a fan of Rinko Kikuchi, she also played her role well.

    I will not lie and say that there is anything extraordinarily NEW here. It is a story of humans v. monsters. But this minor film does BIG better than a lot of predecessors recently. The Transformers trilogy comes to mind immediately.

    While it seems like a backhanded compliment, you need to enjoy this movie for what it is. It is nothing more than a rollercoaster ride and, as such, does the job VERY well.
    Expand
  91. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Guillermo del Toro really let me down on this one. Besides the very imaginative monsters this is nothing but a Transformers movie with a slightly higher age group target. Nothing was done with the mind "handshake" possibilities, which really surprises me.
  92. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    It's a shallow, yet exciting, experience. Obnoxious characters, abysmal story, yet it's so fun you stop caring once the action scenes roll around. Colorful and hokey, it's reminiscent of the super hero cartoons we grew up watching and loving. If you like intense action and overwhelming visuals, you might like this film.
  93. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail, humanity devise one last ditch effort to destroy the portal for good. Pacific Rim knows what it is and it does play to its strengths but those strengths are only really one strength, its visuals and the near perfect CGI incorporated into the movie. Don't get me wrong, the 3D is redundant and really makes watching the film difficult but in 2D Pacific Rim is terrific to look at with Director Guillermo Del Toro really understanding how to frame his action as to show the scale and wonder these mechs (refereed to as Jaegers) and monsters (Kaijus) evoke. It;s the best aspect of the movie which means the action light 2nd act is thoroughly monotonous and often times meaningless. The plot is generic which is surprising considering the films interesting premise. The writing is equally predictable with emotional scenes failing to leave a mark because they feel reused. It's a well acted film and Idris Elba continues to prove he is a gifted actor who can display many emotions at once but he is stuck with scowl inducing dialogue that is hard to swallow. Charlie Hunam is an interesting choice for the hero and while his sullen yet worldly performance as Raleigh is good it isn't great and his casting feels safe when Pacific Rim is an out there premise and film. Ultimately the film needs to take more risks in its endeavour to surprise viewers and it feels like Del Toro took a step back and played it a little too safe. Expand
  94. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    When I went to see Pacific Rim I went in with the mentality of an 8 year old boy. All I wanted to see was giant robots and giant monsters beating the crap out of each other and damn if the film didn't deliver. The fight scenes in this film are incredible to watch (if a little difficult to follow at times) and the design of the Jaegers and the Kaiju are extremely impressive. But I what I wasnt expecting was how good the story and writing was. Lets face it, in terms of story all this film needed was a loose thread to string the action sequences together and honestly I would've been content with that. But it's actually surprisingly deep and does a good job of making the audience feel more connected to the characters, who are also pretty engaging. Pacific Rim doesn't make the same mistake transformers made where the human characters are so dull and irritating that every time there's a scene focused on them you just want it to be over so you can get back to the cool stuff. They actually have a good deal of personality and help progress the whole thing nicely.
    Overall, the makers of this film know that you came to see action and they give you it by the generous bucket load but they still manage to make the finer details of the film relevant without letting them drag down the pace of the whole thing. Which basically means that girlfriends who have been dragged to see this won't be in quite the same state of cinematic purgatory that their boyfriends were when they were forced to watch the notebook.
    Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. It's fun to watch (especially in IMAX 3D) and definitely not the Evangelion rip-off a lot of ignorant people might make it out to be.
  96. Xon
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Delivers what it promised. Perhaps there isn't such a big audience for this kind of movie to validade the budget, but the film-makers squeezed every bit of brilliance out of everything and everyone that went into this film. You have to be really cynical not to like this film. For me its like a modern fairy tale.
  97. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    If you like GDT movies you'll love Pacific Rim. A visual spectacle with some interesting concepts mixed in. But if you don't typically like GDT movies because of questionable logical beats and character motivations, dumb plot holes, and stories that just fall flat after an initial flurry then you'll find more of the same here. I largely enjoyed the first act but I just wanted it to end when the story got "moving." Granted I'm no longer a 13 year old boy. If I was I would have watched it 10 times already. Still, that's no excuse for poor storytelling. Expand
  98. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a 2013 science fiction film directed by Guillermo del Toro with Charlie Hunnam, Rinko Kikuchi and Rob Perlman.
    In a future world the earth was attacked by the giant alien monsters called Kaiju, emerged on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean through an interdimensional portal. Because, to destroy one of those monsters many lives are sacrificed, it was decided to build giant robots called Jaegers controlled by two pilots. Initially, the robots are able to get the better of the monsters, but the latter seem to adapt to new weapons and that pushes humanity to the brink of disaster. The last remaining Jaegers are taken in Hong Kong and the former pilot Jaeger, Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) is persuaded to return to the team he left after losing his brother, also a pilot, clashing against a Kaiju. Here begins the last attack to save humanity.
    Although it seems not to follow the rules of the director, Pacific Rim is a product of Del Toro and we can see it in the prologue, which serves to immerggerci in the world we are told the story and also in the memories of Mako (Rinko Kikuchi) a lot well done.
    The film is inspired by the anime of the 70s and also to those of today (especially Neo Genesis Evangelion).
    The plot is not very original but it is by no means trivial or obvious. The photography of the film is well done as well as special effects (featuring beautiful as are the Kaiju and Jaegers).
    The fight scenes between the giants are well made and it is clear that they were made in anime style (such as special moves of Jaegers).
    The film also manages to entertain with humor and never forced anything vulgar or exaggerated.
    It will not be a masterpiece but Guillermo was able to create a great film
    Expand
  99. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. The special effects and visual design are simply masterful; the Jaegers look exactly how a giant robotic mech suit should, their interfaces look suitably futuristic and cool, while on the other end the Kaiju look suitably otherworldly, but with enough grounding to not look out of place in our world. On the story end of things, you have a surprisingly intricate tale of multiple characters who each have personal struggles relating to the Kaiju invasion and subsequent advent of Jaegers, as well as even minor characters generally being at worst interesting and entertaining and at best well-developed and multidimensional. It's also simply astounding just how well this movie built its world, with every environment feeling exactly how it should and fitting into the rest of the setting very impressively. Certain flashback scenes which I won't spoil were simply a joy to watch, masterful displays of cinematography at its absolute best, and the rest of the movie isn't far behind them. I honestly can't think of any legitimate complaints about this movie, beyond petty gripes not worth mentioning. It's simply worth watching, no matter who you are. Expand
  100. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was also up to par and the character development was fantastic, giving life and depth to characters that seem at first to be a bit superficial. There were also some nice cameos by actors like Charlie Day and Ron Perlman, who though I don't like, had a cool role. Overall, this movie takes a substantial amount of suspended disbelief but I think most people who like cool action movies will really enjoy it. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.