User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1414 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scareThis is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scare younger kids. The only thing I wished is that we could see more, but I think the length was appropriate for the debut. I hope they get to do a sequel and we get to see more of the robots. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A good, fun, visual feast; a concept we haven't seen in a long while on the big screen. Incredible movie all in all, one of the best movies so far this summer.
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim gushes with love with every single scene Robot designs, one liners, the simplistic plot make for a non-cluttered enjoyable expirience for everyone involved.

    Not needed, but I personally recommmend seeing this film in 3D. Having all the battles and characters on different grounds makes everything seem very real and makes all the action easy to see.
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Besides the glaring physical, logical, and downright even possible fallacies that these piece of poo movie has, I am more dumbfounded at the 824 positive reviews out of 983. There's 103 negative, so I'm obviously not alone, but it's a scary thought that I'm the minority in realizing how terrible this movie is. My favorite parts are where there are no vital signs at the end and he miraculously starts breathing and talking, and when they're getting their asses kicked they're like, "we're not done yet," and whips out the sword...Just stupid. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Kaiju fans will love this. Full of genre tropes and homages, but delivered in a unique mix. More humanity than most, with a clever plot device called "the drift". Clearly a labor of love. Great wall metaphor too.
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Giant monsters from the deep are destroying cities, but instead of just blowing them up from a distance, the world unites to build giant robots to engage in hand-to-hand combat. This is a cross between old-school Godzilla and a variation on Transformers, but to enjoy it you must be willing to accept director Guillermo del Toro's imagination. The effects are exceptional and the action isGiant monsters from the deep are destroying cities, but instead of just blowing them up from a distance, the world unites to build giant robots to engage in hand-to-hand combat. This is a cross between old-school Godzilla and a variation on Transformers, but to enjoy it you must be willing to accept director Guillermo del Toro's imagination. The effects are exceptional and the action is pretty cool (although sometimes confusing). The trite attempts at character involvement only serve as padding between the battles. This movie is all about the fights and del Toro's vision, so don't expect more and you'll dig it. (Stay thru the early credits for a punchline.) Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    It's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it'sIt's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it's not all about the action. The characters are given a lot of attention too. They're by no means 2D and they all have backstories and their own motivations. A masterpiece really. Expand
  8. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    This movie requires that you disengage your brain and then attempts to reward you with a constant roller coaster adrenaline high. (Hint: after the first half hour, you just want to get off the damn ride.) It is possible to enjoy this movie....but only if you don't mind the lack of acting skill, engaging characters, plausible dialogue, or a plot that makes any sense whatsoever. ProvidedThis movie requires that you disengage your brain and then attempts to reward you with a constant roller coaster adrenaline high. (Hint: after the first half hour, you just want to get off the damn ride.) It is possible to enjoy this movie....but only if you don't mind the lack of acting skill, engaging characters, plausible dialogue, or a plot that makes any sense whatsoever. Provided you can overlook such minor flaws, you will be blown away by more than two hours of audio and visual overload. I'm pretty sure the sustained shock and awe gave me a few more grey hairs. But hey, the CGI team deserves a golf clap and a pat on the back. Nice doggie! Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movieThis movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movie where you stop caring and are along for the ride. It reminded me of Transformers, meets Never Back Down, meets Cloverfield. It was an absolute thrill to watch and I can't wait to go see it again. By the way... this is some of the best 3D I've seen (especially since it was post converted). If you get the chance, go see it! Expand
  10. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    phenomenal...great movie, very powerful...exclusive director Guillermo del Toro, one of my favorite... spectacle for the eyes and ears. Epic from start to finish
  11. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    To the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plotTo the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plot was solid even if some of the physics were improbable (they would need more helicopters to lift their Jaegers). Did I enjoy the movie? All four of the friends I went with and I LOVED the movie. It was very entertaining and did have a very unique, appealing visual style. I have to admit I'm a del Toro fan and have like everything he's done (too bad that couldn't have included the Hobbit). Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly surprised me that the story wasn't just an excuse to watch monsters and robots fight. It also struck me how plausible things seems. At no point does it step outside of the bounds of reason in any ways that's distracting. In fact it's hard to think of anything that couldn't actually work. By making the Jaegers piloted by two people was a nice way to blend the action with the plot that was surprisingly good. I went into the movie with high expectations because of what I heard about it, and what I got shattered my already high expectations.
    Expand
  13. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Took me back to the early 80s, when Robotec and Godzilla ruled my world; to all the weird and wonderful Japanese toys and cartoons that infiltrated my youth. I love it. It's a lot of fun, excellent special effects. The story may seem simple, and it is, but really it is paying homage to all the classic Japanese movies that inspired it. Very cool.
  14. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    I went in wanting an epic movie about Giant robots, and I got it. The fight scenes were well done and at times pretty intense. The story in between was a bit ho hum, but I wasn't expecting anything amazing. I think this movies succeeds in what it set out to do, and what us Giant Robot fans expected.
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The acting could be better at times, but what it lacks in dialogue and speech, it more than makes up in beautiful, fun and unique action. This is not Transformers. It's Godzilla meets Gundam! Great movie for kids also. No sexual content whatsoever.
  16. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The reason why this movie is such a masterful work is that Guillermo Del Toro knows exactly how to set emotional tones. He sets up an atmosphere so easy to fall in love with it'll remind you that movies truly can have soul to them.
  17. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Pretty much everything i could ever want out of a giant monster movie. The only downside is that every time someone who isn't Idris Elba had some lines, it distracted my attention a little from Idris Elba being named Stacker Pentecost.

    Sorry, i just need to say that name again: Stacker Pentecost.

    Stacker Pentecost. I lied. Stacker Pentecost.
  18. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I Remember when directors made movies with so much passion (early George Lucas, Spielberg, etc.) well that's what i sense after seeing Pacific Rim. It's has that spark of passion the same passion i feel most movies been lacking lately, there's no big Celebrities here or a big Franchise superhero, It focuses on delivering that "Magic" on the screen, and in my opinion that's what movies areI Remember when directors made movies with so much passion (early George Lucas, Spielberg, etc.) well that's what i sense after seeing Pacific Rim. It's has that spark of passion the same passion i feel most movies been lacking lately, there's no big Celebrities here or a big Franchise superhero, It focuses on delivering that "Magic" on the screen, and in my opinion that's what movies are all about, it all comes together so well. Big applause to Guillermo del Toro for showing us that movies can still be magic. Giant robots, monsters, what more could you ask. must see, if you are into Mecha, or Sci-fi. films you won't be disappointed. Expand
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    2nd best movie I've seen this year, I wish people would see it and rate it first than just rate it. If you just want to see action and a simple story this is it
  20. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    quite possibly the best movie of the summer. Michael Bay can learn something from the CGI fight scenes in this movie for the next Transformers installment
  21. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    An insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focusesAn insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focuses on intriguing story details as well. A must watch, definitely not a movie you wanna miss. 9/10. Expand
  22. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    You can see a lot of different movies or series here. You can see the old japanese metal warrior (Changemen, Flashman, Jaspion, Ultraman), Transformers, the anime Evangelion and even Lord Of The Rings (The "You canot pass" scene). But you canor see anything new. Tre script is shallow: Giant Robots have to destroy Giant Monsters, but there is a complication, not too complicate.
    The movie
    You can see a lot of different movies or series here. You can see the old japanese metal warrior (Changemen, Flashman, Jaspion, Ultraman), Transformers, the anime Evangelion and even Lord Of The Rings (The "You canot pass" scene). But you canor see anything new. Tre script is shallow: Giant Robots have to destroy Giant Monsters, but there is a complication, not too complicate.
    The movie tries to be an action movie, emotional, dramatic and more... fails in everything. And it"s too long. Seriously, it is a crap full of especial efects.
    Expand
  23. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    This movie was pretty great. Definitely worth watching if you like seeing giant robots punch giant monsters. The action is pretty good and pretty consistent throughout, with a little break in the middle for the requisite human stuff. Fortunately, even the human stuff has been kept pretty minimal here, no deeper than anything you'd see in any of the classic Godzilla movies. There's theThis movie was pretty great. Definitely worth watching if you like seeing giant robots punch giant monsters. The action is pretty good and pretty consistent throughout, with a little break in the middle for the requisite human stuff. Fortunately, even the human stuff has been kept pretty minimal here, no deeper than anything you'd see in any of the classic Godzilla movies. There's the traditional "rivalry", a (very thankfully) tiny bit of romance, some short parent moments, and some very light flash-backing, but overall, they did the right thing and really made the "human" part of the movie a minor player to the fighting.

    TLDR: You're not going to find anything deep here, it's strictly movie monster bang-em-up, and if you're trying to find anything else here, you're dumb.
    Expand
  24. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    The great action sequences, which get ridiculous upon each one and less visible, can't make up for the horrible acting, stupid characters, and corniness that was frankly shockingly blatant. Its hard to enjoy a film when you have multiple 20 to 30 minute dull parts spaced throughout the movie
  25. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    It was, I believe, 1999 when I sat in darkened theater and beheld what I felt was the first true live-action anime done by Hollywood. It was The Matrix, and it stands alone as a classic of the genre (Sequels? WHAT sequels? *AHEM*) Well, today I got to experience that giddy, geektastic sensation all over again. Pacific Rim is a love letter to giant monster and anime fans the worldIt was, I believe, 1999 when I sat in darkened theater and beheld what I felt was the first true live-action anime done by Hollywood. It was The Matrix, and it stands alone as a classic of the genre (Sequels? WHAT sequels? *AHEM*) Well, today I got to experience that giddy, geektastic sensation all over again. Pacific Rim is a love letter to giant monster and anime fans the world over. The story is nothing you haven't heard before its us against an alien foe of unbelievable power. Everything from Independence Day to Evangelion gets cherry picked for ideas, and some of the references feel like intentional nods to del Toro's sources of inspiration. The acting is more than passable particularly Elba's and what little comedy relief there is comes mostly from secondary (but still important) characters played by extremely talented folks. One of them is essentially a national caricature, but its still quite endearing. I could go on and on about specifics but more eloquent voices than mine have already hit most of the high points. The bottom line is that Pacific Rim and del Toro absolutely delivered. This movie helped remove the awful taste left by Man of Steel and is in my opinion the first true summer "event" film worth seeing. Oh, and ILM absolutely knocked it out of the park on the visuals. You will believe a giant robot can fly (even if its being kicked across town by an angry monster). Oh, and did I mention that the PG-13 is a *mild* PG-13? Except for a very small amount of language with nary an f-bomb to be heard, this is a family-friendly movie. It might scare a few of the younger kids but with the stuff on Cartoon Network these days its pretty unlikely. See it. See it again. Reward this director/producer who probably had to call in every marker he had to get this film made. There aren't even Pacific Rim toys in the stores around here. Supposedly you can get them online and I assume in bigger cities, but that tells you something about how little regard the industry has for this kind of material in live-action form. My fear now is that the film, which has a nicely wrapped-up ending, will do well enough that the studio will demand a sexed-up sequel. If that happens and del Toro resists they'll push him aside. Should this come to pass, nerds the world over should grab their torches and pitchforks.

    * Most similar films: Independence Day, Transformers, Godzilla vs Megalon. My score: a solid 7.5 if MC would allow it, but I'll go with an 8 for devotion to the genre, solid if unimaginative story and mind-boggling visuals and audio. I was humming the music when I left the theater if that tells you anything.
    Expand
  26. Sep 10, 2013
    1
    I expected better from Guillermo del Toro. How could he possibly have thought that this would work? But maybe he was looking for something different. The movie did earn hugely, so maybe money was what he was looking for this time. But seriously, one would expect better things from the guy who brought us Pan's Labyrinth. The one is for the cinematography, because it looked like they hadI expected better from Guillermo del Toro. How could he possibly have thought that this would work? But maybe he was looking for something different. The movie did earn hugely, so maybe money was what he was looking for this time. But seriously, one would expect better things from the guy who brought us Pan's Labyrinth. The one is for the cinematography, because it looked like they had worked hard on it. The story, characters, ending, and pretty much everything else was below par. Very disappointing. Expand
  27. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Movie gets you fired up that's for sure... As for dramatic acting, well, not going to be winning any globes, but certainly a fun concept, and a potential franchise at that.
  28. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    I was worried that this movie would be dumb, soulless like those other robot movies, but Del Toro fills Pacific Rim with a sense of wonder and awe, amazing visuals, and some characters that I actually cared about. There are definitely some cliches taken straight out of movies like Top Gun, and some of the dialogue is wooden or a little cringe inducing. And the characters don't have theI was worried that this movie would be dumb, soulless like those other robot movies, but Del Toro fills Pacific Rim with a sense of wonder and awe, amazing visuals, and some characters that I actually cared about. There are definitely some cliches taken straight out of movies like Top Gun, and some of the dialogue is wooden or a little cringe inducing. And the characters don't have the most depth. But overall the story was told well and I found myself really rooting for the heroes to win at the end.

    The real stars of this movies are the Jaegers, especially when they start bashing giant sea monsters.
    They look absolutely spectacular, and have a real sense of weight and presence that made me go "wow", something a rarely experience in a movie. The monsters are very well done too. And when they clash with the Jaegers, it is just awe inspiring. Sadly, it was kinda hard to see the action at times as it fairly dark usually. Maybe it was the polarized glasses?

    Del Toro's great visuals also extend to the sets which have a gritty, well used realness to them. Also, the score was cool and felt unique.

    This movie doesn't challenge you mentally, or give you complex characters, or a smart story. But it has a big heart, is gorgeous to look at, and wants you to have fun and I had fun.
    Expand
  29. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This was a wonderful experience I just felt like a child again, the movie is intelligent, intriguint and so excited. Guillermo del Toro must be one of the best directors of this era. Congratulation for our mexican artist
  30. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim is pure unadulterated entertainment. The acting isn't the best, the script is kinda cheesy but it doesn't matter because the film works 100%. Visually amazing and when watched in the cinema on IMAX and 3D the mix of visuals and sound is overwhelmingly stunning and for a simple film it manages to keep you on the edge of your seat through to the end.
  31. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The action is good, but everyone told you that, here's what's bad: The characters are flat, poorly develop, do not undergo any development or share chemistry. The best acting was Idris Elba, but there was only one or two memorable scenes. The "2 pilots have to be in sync"-plot device gets totally ignored by the end, would've opened up so much more chances for actual story and character. Same with the syncing with the alien mind, so much potential. Overall there are many glimpses of infinitively better movies around and I wouldn't be surprised, if a lot of character development was cut out to make room for more fight scenes.
    Talk about glimpses of other movies, this is probably the most disappointing and the greatest deal breaker. After I saw the trailer and read a review or two I thought: Godzilla vs. Gundam, a homage/exploration of Mecha/Kaiju movies that sounds good. The movie is not a homage or an exploration of the topic, but rather the results of a circle wank of Neon Genesis Evangelion, Godzilla (the new one), War of Worlds and Transformers. There is nothing fresh or new or interesting about it, we've seen it all before (in 2D and less extensive special effects). It's technically a remake of those movies, with 0 own ideas that are worked out (as the intimately fused minds led to nowhere). Also for Christ's sake, if you can't live without ripping off other movies, why for the love of god can't you rip off more good ones?
    Expand
  32. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I find this movie quite stupid. Scenes and effects were great but the plot is unclear and i didnt even feel there was a climax. Poor logic also. Poor fighting strategies. I enjoy sci fi movies like transformers but this movie just lacked what it takes to keep intelligent viewers hooked. Im not impressed at all. I could have tons of suggestions if only i could talk to thr director.
  33. Jul 27, 2013
    1
    Hands down, the worst movie I have seen in the last 20 years. I cannot possibly overstate how bad this film was, absolutely horrible in every way, and no, the special effects did not even come close to saving this disaster. Do not believe the positive user reviews, anybody over the age of 8 that would give this movie anything over a 1-2 should really have their head examined, I justHands down, the worst movie I have seen in the last 20 years. I cannot possibly overstate how bad this film was, absolutely horrible in every way, and no, the special effects did not even come close to saving this disaster. Do not believe the positive user reviews, anybody over the age of 8 that would give this movie anything over a 1-2 should really have their head examined, I just can't imagine an adult seeing this and thinking enough of it that they would log in and give it a 10.....ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Trust me, every single person involved in this POS is embarrassed that they had anything to do with it and are laughing at the rubes who don't seem to know trash when they see it. 0 out of 10, truly a pathetic effort in every way. Expand
  34. Aug 14, 2013
    3
    when I say that it was a movie by del toro I really wanted to see pacific rim... well what can I say, just disappointing. It is really hard so watch the fights scenes because they are filled up with so many effects it hurts the eyes. The story isn't suitable for me, but maybe for others. As a result it is pretty much subjective if you like the story or not, but all the visual effects madewhen I say that it was a movie by del toro I really wanted to see pacific rim... well what can I say, just disappointing. It is really hard so watch the fights scenes because they are filled up with so many effects it hurts the eyes. The story isn't suitable for me, but maybe for others. As a result it is pretty much subjective if you like the story or not, but all the visual effects made it nearly unenjoyable. Expand
  35. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Perfect visuals and eye catching fights save the horrible plot from making this movie a disaster.
    But they aren't enough to grant it a good score from me.
  36. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the record, I had zero preconceptions about this movie. The only thing I knew about it was from a cup from Carl's Jr. that had the robots on it (which came to be called Jaegers). My boss decided to have a team building day the friday it came out and he took us to see it.

    Story interesting, but contrived and predictable.

    Dialogue terrible. I was rewriting the script in my mind. The Japanese girl does not speak like a Japanese girl, aside from her accent. It's unnatural. Raleigh apparently just isn't intelligent. And the black guy tries so hard to be "bad cop" but his demeanor doesn't fit it. You can tell he cares about everything and everyone. He doesn't just want to win, though that's how he's trying to come off. The best part was the "don't touch me" conversation about 5 seconds of dialogue.

    Cinematography most of the fight scenes were so close up you couldn't tell if it was kaiju or jaeger.

    Visual aspects Amazing. This was the reason it didn't get a zero. The kaiju and the jaegers were mind blowing creations that really came to life. The insides, the outsides, their movement (though I will touch on that in the next section)

    Execution I have a problem with suspension of disbelief. Whereas one person may say "THAT WAS AWESOME!!" I would say "that is impossible because of these reasons" and completely check out of the movie. This is what we had here. The way certain things were done were so fantastical that I couldn't get my mind to wrap around them. The jaegers are too big to move the way they do. And to be lifted like that with helicopters (if six helicopters can't pick up a freight ship, they sure as hell can't pick up a jaeger that uses a freight ship as a baseball bat). And not to crush themselves when they fall. It cheapened them for me.

    Also, how is it that the sword becomes the most useful weapon, but isn't used until the end? And why is the plasma cannon not the first line of defense? If my hand became a giant firearm, you can bet that i'd put it in a headlock (which was done several times) and blow it's head clean off of its shoulders. Kaiju dead. This is why I say the story is contrived.
    Expand
  37. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Make no mistake: the plot and writing in this movie are subpar at best, and everybody involved with the movie obviously realized that their script was corny and their plot was paper-thin. But it just doesn't matter. The concept is solid as a rock, the pacing is wonderfully built, and del Toro does a masterful job with withholding and revealing information at the perfect times for maximumMake no mistake: the plot and writing in this movie are subpar at best, and everybody involved with the movie obviously realized that their script was corny and their plot was paper-thin. But it just doesn't matter. The concept is solid as a rock, the pacing is wonderfully built, and del Toro does a masterful job with withholding and revealing information at the perfect times for maximum effect. The result is a well-crafted, $200 million on-screen embodiment of the movie your 10-year-old self dreamed of seeing someday. Pacific Rim knows exactly what it is: two hours and ten minutes of totally bad ass fun. Expand
  38. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    This movie is what I'd consider the "Transformers" movie that never made. The feel of this really big. It's really made on such a large scale. It's a fun movie that everyone will enjoy. As far as storytelling goes, it's decent. But lets face it, no one's going to watch this movie for the story. Yet, there are characters that are really good like Idris Elba and Charlie Day. There are othersThis movie is what I'd consider the "Transformers" movie that never made. The feel of this really big. It's really made on such a large scale. It's a fun movie that everyone will enjoy. As far as storytelling goes, it's decent. But lets face it, no one's going to watch this movie for the story. Yet, there are characters that are really good like Idris Elba and Charlie Day. There are others that are also pretty good like Charlie Hunnam. And then there are those that you honestly just don't care about. But the ginormous fight scenes are visually breathtaking. You'll feel like you're actually in the fight. Overall, it's a fun, exciting and visual masterpiece. Expand
  39. Jul 21, 2013
    3
    7.7...really...please...this nonsense will appeal to the 8 to 14 male crowd because the special effects are first rate but after that the movie falls apart. Bad acting, weak storyline, shallow cliché characters all cobbled together claiming to be 2 hours of entertainment. Save the gas and ticket and watch "Dinoshark" or any other SYFY channel movies, you will get the same type storyline,7.7...really...please...this nonsense will appeal to the 8 to 14 male crowd because the special effects are first rate but after that the movie falls apart. Bad acting, weak storyline, shallow cliché characters all cobbled together claiming to be 2 hours of entertainment. Save the gas and ticket and watch "Dinoshark" or any other SYFY channel movies, you will get the same type storyline, acting and characters, but you will have to do without the big screen special effects. Thumbs down on this one... Expand
  40. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a pretty decent summer blockbuster flick about giant robots fight over Kaiju monsters in the city. Guillermo del Toro takes his creative idea of making a big gigantic monsters and robots that references to B-movies and Japanese television series into a perspective way. The movie takes place in the futuristic world of big monsters from beneath the ocean (known as Pacific Rim)Pacific Rim is a pretty decent summer blockbuster flick about giant robots fight over Kaiju monsters in the city. Guillermo del Toro takes his creative idea of making a big gigantic monsters and robots that references to B-movies and Japanese television series into a perspective way. The movie takes place in the futuristic world of big monsters from beneath the ocean (known as Pacific Rim) start to demolish the city in each continent and the government plans to make gigantic robots to stop all Kaiju beasts and to save all the citizens in the world. So they hire recruits for joining up to fight over monsters, and they need to find the way to stop all monsters that keeps going up from the ocean and to destruct the Pacific Rim's hole. The characters are very memorable in this movie and it's nowhere very cliché like most characters from these terrible Transformer series, but they stay strong and likable. The robots fight over monsters are nice to look at and they have cool scenes where they keep going to smash every monsters with their missiles, fists, and dodging. The visuals and the effects are astounding and nice digital sets of making a monsters and robots to be realistic and very bright. Pacific Rim is a fun popcorn flick and makes a very creative idea that reminds us for watching Godzilla, Power Rangers, and other big gigantic monster flicks to enjoy. Thumb Up. Expand
  41. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    I was pleasantly entertained. Pacific Rim stands as a testament to how far advanced Hollywood is these days, as so little of this movie was actually filmed in real locations around the world. The execution to that end was superb very high quality a la Transformers but with a bit more humanity (which makes sense, seeing how they're basically oversized Iron Man outfits with two pilots).I was pleasantly entertained. Pacific Rim stands as a testament to how far advanced Hollywood is these days, as so little of this movie was actually filmed in real locations around the world. The execution to that end was superb very high quality a la Transformers but with a bit more humanity (which makes sense, seeing how they're basically oversized Iron Man outfits with two pilots). There was a big opportunity to really flesh out a high quality plot and drive character development with the time they spent on both, but I never felt like they ever really get emotionally invested in either of those points to where the I cared who lives and dies. But as the movie wrapped up, I simply said to those around me "that was actually pretty good", and left it at that. There's not much else to say or expect. But I definitely saw higher potential, one that would have set this movie in a much higher league, and that opportunity was unfortunately missed. Expand
  42. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Listen, this is THE popcorn SUMMER ACTION movie. This is BETTER than any other films in it's genera. I'll keep it simple. If you want to be pulled into the ride of your life, and be hit in the face with total badassness then go see this film. Ignore anything else you hear. It's a fun, action packed, insane ride.
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and evenPacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and even the original Godzilla films, you cannot miss this. Highly recommended! Expand
  44. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This Movie has a bad story with weak characters, mostly bad actors and a terrible screenplay. I cant really belive del Toro did this. Even "Battleship" was better. If you are over 16 years old, dont waste your time.
  45. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Very fun and entertaining! I think I will see it again. Worth a see on the big screen. It will keep your attention and is a welcome addition to the monster movie genre. Hoping a prequel is made.
  46. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentiallyRarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentially ridiculous the premise is, so unlike most movies it doesn't waste most of it's time trying to explain how it isn't what it really is, and dedicates it's resources to amazing fights and great character moments. Half of this film is just straight up monster battles. I'm giving this a 10/10 not because I think it is one of the best movies ever made or anything like that, but because I honestly can't think of a single way to improve this movie. Expand
  47. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    What am i seeing is not able to believe, so gave10/10 no more numbers to give rating.....excellent movie...Don't miss it....u may not see this kinda movie these days....thanx for all the team worked in it and expecting more parts.....2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
  48. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    This film is a spectacle, no doubt about it. The battles are full of outrageous and entertaining action which anyone who is a fan of monster movies will enjoy. Unfortunately the film is slowed to a crawl by the un-ironically cliched and poorly acted attempt to inject plot and heart into what could gave been a simple and entertaining special effects extravaganza.

    I personally found it
    This film is a spectacle, no doubt about it. The battles are full of outrageous and entertaining action which anyone who is a fan of monster movies will enjoy. Unfortunately the film is slowed to a crawl by the un-ironically cliched and poorly acted attempt to inject plot and heart into what could gave been a simple and entertaining special effects extravaganza.

    I personally found it hard to care about many of the characters in the film simply because, for the most part, their personal stories are nothing more than a transparent gap-filler between action sequences (of which there ate only 3 worth mentioning, although I won't for the sake of spoiler avoidance).
    All in all this film is almost saved by it's gloriously over the top action, but sadly there just isn'nt enough of it to balance out the dire plot.
    Expand
  49. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim, WOW? At first, the Jaegers seem like the perfect deterrent for the Kaiju menace; but when the monsters start getting smarter and deadlier and Jaegers begin falling quicker than they can be rebuilt mankind finds itself on the brink of extinction. Our last hope lies with the desperate plan of Marshall Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba) and his handful of remaining Jaeger pilots,Pacific Rim, WOW? At first, the Jaegers seem like the perfect deterrent for the Kaiju menace; but when the monsters start getting smarter and deadlier and Jaegers begin falling quicker than they can be rebuilt mankind finds itself on the brink of extinction. Our last hope lies with the desperate plan of Marshall Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba) and his handful of remaining Jaeger pilots, including war-worn veteran Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) and rookie Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi), an unlikely pair who may prove to be the best pilot team the world has ever seen. We can make this short and easy: If the spectacle of big robots battling it out with big monsters is all you’re interested in, then Pacific Rim is going to be a five-star experience that you should wholly enjoy in the biggest IMAX 3D theater you can find (earplugs recommended). However, if you require a deeper story and mythos to sell you on all the spectacle? You will get plenty of mythos, but despite a parade of “cool moments,” a mishandled central storyline ultimately makes the experience a hollow one. Director Guillermo del Toro is known for his wonderful imagination and abilities as a filmmaker demonstrated in signature works like Pan’s Labyrinth and the Hellboy movies and Pacific Rim is alive and crackling with some of his best work. From the robot and monster designs, to the well-staged battle sequences and overall concept, Pacific Rim is something uniquely its own within the crowded genre of summer blockbusters. Best of all, there’s a pervading sense of fun and joy that the director has infused his passion project with; the goal is to entertain and entertain it does, for the most part (it does get cartoony, but that cartoon is still pretty fun). On the downside, there are plenty of moments that will indeed seem less like homages and more derivative copy of other films not necessarily even related to the “Kaiju/Mecha” sub-genre. See if you can catch those Independence Day and/or Deep Blue Sea moments and you’ll know the sort of “borrowing” I’m referring to. The script co-written by del Toro and Clash of the Titans scribe Travis Beacham is not impressive. The story is straightforward enough, but an abundance of sub-plots often makes it feel scattered-brained. The emotional core and character development are even more unfocused: this is supposedly Raleigh and Mako’s story we are being told and Hunnam and Kikuchi are both solid leads with solid chemistry but beyond a couple of superficial dramatic moments, there is no real conflict between our central characters, and no real arc for them to complete as individual characters. In short: our protagonists are often the least interesting parts of the film, which inevitably means a sort of detached viewing experience. Oddly enough it is Idris Elba’s Stacker Pentecost who is the most dynamic character in Pacific Rim, and seems to get the most complete and engaging character arc of the whole ensemble. Elba (by now well established for his talent to stand out even in bit roles see: Prometheus or Thor) walks away owning every one of the many scenes he’s in which is great for him, but is also clear indication that the writers are not driving the story with full control of the wheel. The sound design is awesome and by awesome I mean very, very, loud. Actual dialogue sometimes had a cavernous echo to it that made it hard to make out but whether that was just my theater or the movie itself, I can’t say for sure. This is definitely an IMAX experience to be had; but the post-converted 3D, while very well done, doesn’t feel as necessary. A 2D IMAX experience would be more than sufficient but if you are a big fan of the robot/monster stuff, the extra splurging will be worth it to you. On the whole, Pacific Rim has its creator to thank for elevating it above so many similar and forgettable action blockbusters, through sheer creativity, love and force of will. While the storyline and emotional core aren’t strong, the action and spectacle are, and del Toro builds his world well enough to create plenty of future opportunities for re-visits, spin-offs, multi-media projects and everything else fans (and movie studios) love in a good fanboy franchise. Expand
  50. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    This movie was a ton of big action fun. The plot contains no real twists or turns that will throw anyone over 8 for a loop, but that doesn't hurt the brawny, intense fun in the film. The weakest part of the film was the male lead, who really doesn't emote or provide much of substance outside his 'rugged good looks'.Thank heaven for Idris Elba, who brings serious acting chops to the tableThis movie was a ton of big action fun. The plot contains no real twists or turns that will throw anyone over 8 for a loop, but that doesn't hurt the brawny, intense fun in the film. The weakest part of the film was the male lead, who really doesn't emote or provide much of substance outside his 'rugged good looks'.Thank heaven for Idris Elba, who brings serious acting chops to the table and carries the emotional load of the film. Strongly recommended to big action fans, kaiju lovers and people who just want to have a good time watching fantastical monstrosities go at one another in big action scenes, Expand
  51. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First I will say this. Guillermo Del Toro is one of my top 5 movie directors. I own Blade 2, Hellboy 1 and 2, Pans Labyrinth, The orphanage and so on. I was really looking forward to this movie for over a year and was wishing it would deliver but all it did was fail. EPICALLY. The score I gave were for visuals. Whoever says this movie is great they are the reason movies keep getting made. I left the movie theater angry. This has to be the worst movie written and edited of all time. How would anyone release this $200 million dollar cluster fudge.

    Writing is the key to success. The plot of the movie is that a crack opens that port's monsters from another dimension to our world. So its one crack. So answer this why didn't they try to nuke the thing from the beginning to see if it fails before creating the jaegars and finding out at the end that nuking it will fail. Then after creating the Jaegars which were like 30 of them. Why not have them on standby near the stupid crack. The reason being its proven that only one appears at a time. They track them as they appear. Correct. Imagine how much repair they will save if all 30 ganked this one Kaiju as he was entering our world. Why the hell would you split up the Jaegars around the world if its only one crack. Even if they decide to send 10 kaijus they will still fail. But now they decide to do this strategy when only 4 Jaegers are left.

    Next when driving the Jaegers why is there a spinning blade grinder under these guys? What happens if the accidentally fall in? Wait that actually almost happened. Bad design don't you think. Next we have the guy mind meld with a kaiju brain. Now why would they do this. Oh because once the 2 kaijus defeat the 3 Jaegars in less than a minute of movie time they need a diversion for one of the kaijus to leave. Why didn't both Kaijus leave after the scientist guy? So that Dipsey Stranger can intervene and take them out separately. Then something stupid happens. The Gorilla kaiju that's left over doesn't destroy the last non functioning Jaegar. He just walks around it and punches it in the head. Then these 2 guys get out and blind him with a flare. Seriously.

    Now we get to the kaijus defeat. Why is the Kaiju pregnant? Its proven that they are all clones. WHY? Thats easy to fix the plot hole in the scientist guy to mind meld with the baby kaiju who has no recollection of whats going on in the other dimension. WTF. Really? The thing is in an egg and it has memories. Its like saying that if a woman is pregnant and the baby is delivered I can mind meld with it and it can show me where he came from heaven or HELL. "Because this is what this movie is".

    Finally the part that I screamed at in the Theater. If you read this you know it was me. What was the purpose of having a stick fight training scene if the damn robots cannot use weapons? I didn't see them us any handheld weapons in which this would benefit them. Oh wait the sword at the end against the flying Kaiju. This is where I screamed, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME". They had this weapon the whole time and never used it. WHY? Oh that's right. If they used it in the beginning the brother wouldn't die and the other brother would not meet the Japanese girl in which they wind up have a interracial love interest. THAT DOESN'T WORK. USE THE SWORD. Then later on create kaijus that are smarter in disabling this technique.

    OK forget the sword. how about this. How many times did the jaegers had these kaijus by the neck and never once bothered to crush it with the robotic power? I lost count. As for the flying sucker hell my hands were free. Why not crush its neck with my bare robotic hands.

    Then the movie finally ends just like independence day with the stupid alien looking at the Jaeger explodinah this movie.
    Expand
  52. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    Just got done seeing this movie, and... I'm kinda disappointed. Visually, it's great--but a movie shouldn't be all spectacle, at least to an audience past a certain age group. You have all of these great hints of a mythology and character development that aren't fleshed out AT ALL. It instead goes for hokey, cliché material that makes your eyes roll. The humor is cringe-worthy, and theJust got done seeing this movie, and... I'm kinda disappointed. Visually, it's great--but a movie shouldn't be all spectacle, at least to an audience past a certain age group. You have all of these great hints of a mythology and character development that aren't fleshed out AT ALL. It instead goes for hokey, cliché material that makes your eyes roll. The humor is cringe-worthy, and the "rousing" speeches (and dialogue in general) kinda fall flat. I caught myself wishing things would move forward in-between fight sequences. Ron Perlman and Ellen McLain (voice of GLaDOS) were awesome-those are a few pluses. It's a decent movie, but don't get super-hyped--you'll leave disappointed. Expand
  53. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    The fighting scene was awesome. The kaijus design were great. I wish they had more interesting ability design for the kaijus like the one that had EMP wave for a weapon and the one that can fly. I wish they had one kaiju that can turn invisible or a kaiju that is similar to a hydra. So if you expect a giant mech fighting a giant monster Pacific Rim is the movie you have to watch, but ifThe fighting scene was awesome. The kaijus design were great. I wish they had more interesting ability design for the kaijus like the one that had EMP wave for a weapon and the one that can fly. I wish they had one kaiju that can turn invisible or a kaiju that is similar to a hydra. So if you expect a giant mech fighting a giant monster Pacific Rim is the movie you have to watch, but if you're on to the story or character development well this isn't the movie you have to watch. The only character that is worth to know is the character of Ida. Expand
  54. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    It does drag in the middle for sure with the pointless character development but we all know that is to pad out the time while we wait for the next ABSOLUTELY AWESOME MONSTER MASHUP! It's like the best ever video game mixed up with a crappy comic book. One thing, you really MUST see at the cinema. The only excuse for at home is a huge TV and a bag of 'mind enhancing herbs.'
  55. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    BIG GIANT FIGHTING ROBOTS!!!. That is all this movie has so if that first sentence does not excite you then pass on this one. If that first sentence made you jump up and down in your seat like a 10 year old with a bladder problem then enjoy the ride.
  56. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Not bad, but really, this is designed for 10 year old boys who find Godzilla movies mesmerising. Del Toro is unapologetic here about what he is doing, which is basically giving you as many giant robots slugging it out with giant monsters as you can conceivably squeeze into a movie. It sounded like a bit of fun beforehand, but in the end, I just found it noisy, too repetitive and a bitNot bad, but really, this is designed for 10 year old boys who find Godzilla movies mesmerising. Del Toro is unapologetic here about what he is doing, which is basically giving you as many giant robots slugging it out with giant monsters as you can conceivably squeeze into a movie. It sounded like a bit of fun beforehand, but in the end, I just found it noisy, too repetitive and a bit unrewarding. Script, characterisation and dialogue are strictly for kiddies, and the 3D was nothing special either. As an Australian, I have to say I laughed a bit at the stereotyping of the Aussie jaegermeisters who were basically portrayed as borderline psychotics with vague homoerotic issues issues that they simply couldn't articulate except through tongue tied rage and interpersonal violence. Though, come to think of it, pretty well all the jaegermeisters fell into that category. I suppose tearing the heads off giant lizards that don't say anything does require a certain psychological predisposition towards random violence. Anyway, just a popcorn movie (largely aimed at the Asian market). I hope Del Toro does well out of it but he is a much, much better director than this movie would indicate to the casual viewer. Expand
  57. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This movie was great. While it is not perfect, it is still better then many of the critics say it is. The movie moved right along, the cast was great and the graphics for this type of movie are outstanding. No spoilers, the ending was good to and it did not try to force room for a sequel. My only problem was a lack of fight scenes, but not to such an extent that it was ever slow or boring.This movie was great. While it is not perfect, it is still better then many of the critics say it is. The movie moved right along, the cast was great and the graphics for this type of movie are outstanding. No spoilers, the ending was good to and it did not try to force room for a sequel. My only problem was a lack of fight scenes, but not to such an extent that it was ever slow or boring. A must watch for summer 2013. Expand
  58. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    The acting was rubbish, the story was lame and the premise was awful. The special effects were good but with an 180 million dollar budget you'd expect that, but you'd also expect a good movie. I was literally bored watching this. The original score was good but after the 6 note tune was replayed about 100 times the music lost it's impact. Overall, a waste of my £10, and a waste ofThe acting was rubbish, the story was lame and the premise was awful. The special effects were good but with an 180 million dollar budget you'd expect that, but you'd also expect a good movie. I was literally bored watching this. The original score was good but after the 6 note tune was replayed about 100 times the music lost it's impact. Overall, a waste of my £10, and a waste of Hollywoood's $180 million. Also, for "the world to come together" it's surprising how all the robots are designed in America, piloted by Americans and mostly manufactured in America, all with the American flag on the side. Expand
  59. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    The detail put into the visuals and sounds for the fights certainly looked pretty amazing. Though the storyline wasn't really solid, it was enough to keep me interested.
  60. Rem
    Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Pacific Rim definitely has some big shoes to fill. With Guillermo Del Toro directing, you'd expect a great time, and I did, but I had to sit through bad storytelling, lame and bad humor, and downright awful acting. It's also in the mantra for one of the cheesiest movies of the year.
  61. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    I've been a fan of Gundam I through Z, Dunbine, Votoms, Megazone 23, Macross, Space Runaway Ideon, Iczer One, L. Gaim, Orguss, etc. all my life. That said... Pacific Rim is for kids.

    The effects, as usual anymore, were great but the dialogue, stereotypes, accents, acting pretty much everything else was corny. I loved the guy running the Jaeger program; he's the same guy who
    I've been a fan of Gundam I through Z, Dunbine, Votoms, Megazone 23, Macross, Space Runaway Ideon, Iczer One, L. Gaim, Orguss, etc. all my life. That said... Pacific Rim is for kids.

    The effects, as usual anymore, were great but the dialogue, stereotypes, accents, acting pretty much everything else was corny.

    I loved the guy running the Jaeger program; he's the same guy who played the ship's captain in Prometheus. Why the director decided he needed an Aussie accent is so far beyond me I fall off my chair when considering it.

    Rinko Kikuchi is... a bad actress. Sorry. I know she's Japanese, I know she's cute, but bad is bad. Period.

    ITM (in this movie) we plug me into a hive mind and find out that all my memories are G-rated. Really? The protagonist's memories are all of Norman Rockwell paintings, mom in the kitchen making oatmeal and dad on his recliner reading a newspaper? Rinko gets one memory (and can't even manage that!) the day a beastie chased her into an alley. Apparently no one in this movie has ever had sex or fantasized about killing his/her boss.

    The Jaeger designs are kind of childish. And by "kind of" I mean "utterly". The tandem pilot configuration isn't original the first time I saw that was in Iczer in like 1984 or something and it was done better.

    When I left this movie I did so angry that no one had spent that kind of time and money on a [proper] live action Gundam movie.

    Also, this movie was MAD LONG.

    Still, it wasn't nearly as bad as I'd been led to believe.
    Expand
  62. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    Entretenida e innovadora, renueva el cine de robots luego de las aburridísimas entregas de Transformers, sin embargo, aunque tiene la estampa de Guillermo del Toro, al final se siente haber visto una película hecha por encargo, queda muy lejos de la fantástica Laberinto del Fauno.
    Actuaciones acartonadas y un ritmo lento, evitan que la película tenga una mejor calificación, en cuanto al
    Entretenida e innovadora, renueva el cine de robots luego de las aburridísimas entregas de Transformers, sin embargo, aunque tiene la estampa de Guillermo del Toro, al final se siente haber visto una película hecha por encargo, queda muy lejos de la fantástica Laberinto del Fauno.
    Actuaciones acartonadas y un ritmo lento, evitan que la película tenga una mejor calificación, en cuanto al final, adolece que falta de creatividad (Independence Day, Avengers, The Dark Knight), espermos que Del Toro pueda conseguir los $150mdd que necesita para Hell Boy 3

    Comentarios @_Ininteligible, gracias.
    Expand
  63. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    When walking into this film, I wasn't JUST expecting pure, exhilarating action, I expected a thorough human story and at least some acceptable dialogue. Beside from a few characters, the human story is weak and though the jaegers are totally awesome, along with the effects, it's still in my mind a dumb, fun summer blockbuster.
  64. Nov 14, 2013
    2
    one of the dumbest movies i've ever seen... way too much machine on monster fighting and a completely cliched plot... yeah, great graphics but that's not much of a draw when the story is just stupid...
  65. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim raises the bar for IMAX 3D action. Unbelievable set pieces including one particularly gripping scene that will cater to fans of Inception. Poor script & acting unfortunately hold Pacific Rim back from being great. District 9 & Jurassic Park are still the kings of "non-human" CGI flicks, but this surpasses them in action quality.
  66. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Pacific Rim is a very tough movie to review. The plot is quite simple, monsters rise out of a pit in the Pacific Ocean, and we build giant robots called Jeagers that two pilots control in order to defeat them. Now where the difficulty comes from in reviewing this film is that, truth be told, it's not very good. The Action is why you'll see this movie anyways, as nobody would see this moviePacific Rim is a very tough movie to review. The plot is quite simple, monsters rise out of a pit in the Pacific Ocean, and we build giant robots called Jeagers that two pilots control in order to defeat them. Now where the difficulty comes from in reviewing this film is that, truth be told, it's not very good. The Action is why you'll see this movie anyways, as nobody would see this movie for Plot or Brilliant Acting, but for Monsters vs Robots. Although, that doesn't excuse the fact that everything other than the Action is just stupid. The story isn't engaging, you never care about the characters, the writing is laughably awful, and the 2nd Act is more or less, quite boring. As a film, it's not great, but it has the makings of a cult classic, and certainly has breathtaking action, but that's not enough to save a film that's otherwise consumed in mediocrity. Expand
  67. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    I'll start with the good because it will be short: Great special effects. No question about it! You can see the budget on-screen. Got to see it at an IMAX 3D theater and it looked and sounded great. Too bad they didn't spend a dime on screenplay writers or acting coaches! Holy cow is that movie bad and boring! No one cares about any character. And they can't act. Weird because bothI'll start with the good because it will be short: Great special effects. No question about it! You can see the budget on-screen. Got to see it at an IMAX 3D theater and it looked and sounded great. Too bad they didn't spend a dime on screenplay writers or acting coaches! Holy cow is that movie bad and boring! No one cares about any character. And they can't act. Weird because both Charlie Hunnam and Idris Elba are rahther good in Sons of Anarchy (FX) and Luther (BBC). But here, they're so bad. As for the leading actress, Rinko Kikuchi, it's a real disaster!!! So bad that I couldn't stop laughing at the end. One of those "so bad it's good" movies. Too bad it cost me over $15. My 9-yr old will love it though! But if you're a grown-up and enjoy good comics movies (Iron Man) or good sci-fi (Prometheus), save yourself the trouble... Expand
  68. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    As far as movie quality, I thought it was cheesy. If I was 10 years old again I would have thought it was the greatest movie of all time. Robots and aliens- who couldn't love it. This movie was such a visual treat, I had to rate it a 7. The acting was cheesy, and the gags were a little cliché, but it was definitely the summer blockbuster that 'The Avengers' was. 7/10!
  69. May 22, 2014
    0
    This movie was utter **** with laughable acting, poor writing, and tropes galore that don't even give the viewer any sense of charm. Everything in this movie was poorly executed, and everybody knows it. The only reason the user score is up is due to it being a monster movie. If you want to see a good giant monster film, go see the 2014 western adaptation of Godzilla.
  70. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    An sf movie about giant monsters and giant robots fighting it out what could go wrong, well a lot. Story is bad and boring to say the least and some things make no sense (walls don't work against humans and other small vermin let alone against monsters the size of buildings). Robots look bad and so do monsters, anyway the movie was a waste of my time.
  71. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Horrible !
    characters
    robots
    monsters
    ugly
    battle scenes
    bad story
    boring
    too large characters
    and too tiny characters
    robot martial arts ?
    Power Rangers ?
    Evangelion ?
    omg
    everything
    all horrible
  72. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    Save your money, never see a film that's rated PG-13/ 12A. It's always a pile of Hollywood turd by directors given to much money, by studios that have no idea how decent films are made.
    Plot 0
    Acting 0 Sub-Plots 0 Character development 0 How much I cared about any characters 0 How much I cared about chinese womans backstory 0 Interest in why Idris Elba still has the red shoe
    Save your money, never see a film that's rated PG-13/ 12A. It's always a pile of Hollywood turd by directors given to much money, by studios that have no idea how decent films are made.
    Plot 0
    Acting 0
    Sub-Plots 0
    Character development 0
    How much I cared about any characters 0
    How much I cared about chinese womans backstory 0
    Interest in why Idris Elba still has the red shoe after a decade 8
    CGI 7

    Overall rating sandwich.
    Expand
  73. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is the epitome of a summer action blockbuster, though it excels in direction and aesthetic. Fans of over-the-top, visually engaging action movies, particularly those about giant robots, should not hesitate to watch this movie.
  74. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    A loud cliched ridiculous movie plagiarizing many other Sci Fi films including War Of The Worlds, Independence Day & Transformers. The actors are simply awful. No character development whatsoever. The CGI is so awful that you can't even tell who is fighting who. It is obvious that phantom critics are shilling for this movie which is a complete turkey as they have no other reviews. IA loud cliched ridiculous movie plagiarizing many other Sci Fi films including War Of The Worlds, Independence Day & Transformers. The actors are simply awful. No character development whatsoever. The CGI is so awful that you can't even tell who is fighting who. It is obvious that phantom critics are shilling for this movie which is a complete turkey as they have no other reviews. I saw this sorry excuse for a film opening night in front of a half empty theater. Avoid at all costs. Despite the heavy PR marketing my gut tells me this will be a bomb at the box office. Expand
  75. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    By far the worst movie of the decade. This movie is filled with crap and horrible special effects. The two douche bags from Sons of Anarchy are in it so that in itself should tell you that this movie isn't worth watching. I wouldn't watch this movie again if you paid me. I wouldn't waste my server speed streaming this movie. Seriously...save your money and time.
  76. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a solid sci-fi film that mightn't stand out from the rest but at the same time is not the same thing you've seen a million times. Although the flow of the film suffers a bit, it makes up for it with memorable characters, creative ideas and an interesting plot. The acting is fairly good and the special effects are no less than amazing. It's not revolutionary, nor is itPacific Rim is a solid sci-fi film that mightn't stand out from the rest but at the same time is not the same thing you've seen a million times. Although the flow of the film suffers a bit, it makes up for it with memorable characters, creative ideas and an interesting plot. The acting is fairly good and the special effects are no less than amazing. It's not revolutionary, nor is it incredible, but it's not a failure either. It's worth seeing if you like the look of the trailer, if you don't however, you may still find that you like the characters, otherwise the trailer sums up most of what to expect. In short: Solid movie, not amazing, but not terrible either. 7/10 from me. Expand
  77. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    If I were a child, this movie would be great. Just like Hellboy 2. But I'm an adult, so it was stupid. I don't feel like writing a full review, but the plotlines and characters' development were terrible.
  78. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    Devoid of emotional essence, unpredictable plot elements, quality performances and stand-out characters, Pacific Rim is saved by its stunning, visually spectacular colossal fight scenes, its fast, thrilling pace and well-constructed mythology.
  79. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    7.5 Decent popcorn entertainment. As expected of Del Toro the set-pieces totally delivered. Dud totally showed his class since they were so expertly paced they didn't feel wearisome like Man of Steel's. The script was a friggin' misery though. It was a convoluted mess and the movie's sad attempt at humor only exacerbated the trouble (It was totally bad, like "Michael Bay" bad).

    In
    7.5 Decent popcorn entertainment. As expected of Del Toro the set-pieces totally delivered. Dud totally showed his class since they were so expertly paced they didn't feel wearisome like Man of Steel's. The script was a friggin' misery though. It was a convoluted mess and the movie's sad attempt at humor only exacerbated the trouble (It was totally bad, like "Michael Bay" bad).

    In terms of cast it was a mixed bag. As i said before Elba stood out. There was a surprisingly considerable amount of writing made for his character and Elba delivered. There was nothing special about Mako Mori though she was absolutely gorgeous. Charlie Hunnam was pretty plain though he didn't turn out as exasperating as i thought. But the rest was horrendous, yes including Charlie Day (They could have given him better jokes).

    I say a sequel wouldn't be a bad brainchild but i'm not totally against stopping right here either. The loose ends were tied up nicely.
    Expand
  80. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Its a great Mech movie that I always have wanted to see. Heading in I was begging that this movie doesn't remind me of anything from horrible transformers movie, and it doesn't. It has a nice simple three act structure that is easy to follow and doesn't mix tones between serious and comic relief tones like in transformers. Their are a few plot holes that are minor and just silly thatIts a great Mech movie that I always have wanted to see. Heading in I was begging that this movie doesn't remind me of anything from horrible transformers movie, and it doesn't. It has a nice simple three act structure that is easy to follow and doesn't mix tones between serious and comic relief tones like in transformers. Their are a few plot holes that are minor and just silly that don't take anything away from the whole movie experience like the Ocean Wall idea. I also wish that the movie explained what each weapons each Jaeger had before they fought so I had some foreshadowing before they fought. Overall if you want to see a good original movie this summer, you should go see it and get hyped! Expand
  81. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    Like any other sci fi action movie this has a simple plot but way too much action and not much storyline. Some of the acting is exceptionally bad. However it is an interesting concept
  82. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    When a sci-fi "blockbuster" nearly puts you to sleep, that's a bad sign. The only thing keeping me awake during this fiasco of a film was the occasional explosion sound effect and the echoes I could hear coming from the gigantic plot holes. My ticket was free, and I felt like I overpaid for the experience. Seeing the average rating by critics and viewers alike... I question whether weWhen a sci-fi "blockbuster" nearly puts you to sleep, that's a bad sign. The only thing keeping me awake during this fiasco of a film was the occasional explosion sound effect and the echoes I could hear coming from the gigantic plot holes. My ticket was free, and I felt like I overpaid for the experience. Seeing the average rating by critics and viewers alike... I question whether we are evolving as a species or regressing into slack-jawed "Oh shiny!" viewers. Expand
  83. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Dumb story. ...right we build robots to fight monsters instead of just inventing really good bombs or missiles. If you can get over some of the plot ridiculousness, the action scenes are fun, acting just okay, script pretty juvenile, etc. I was mildly entertained, but was expecting a little more. I left feeling like the good reviews from the critics were the result of a little gradeDumb story. ...right we build robots to fight monsters instead of just inventing really good bombs or missiles. If you can get over some of the plot ridiculousness, the action scenes are fun, acting just okay, script pretty juvenile, etc. I was mildly entertained, but was expecting a little more. I left feeling like the good reviews from the critics were the result of a little grade inflation due to the number of truly terrible movies currently on the market. Expand
  84. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    It's a wonderful world filled with amazing possibilities that you're rushed quickly through, this story should have been stretched over 2-3 movies or at least left room for a sequel.
    The movie introduces characters and tries to drag out a plot but never really succeeds in doing it, the geigers are never fully explored and there are a few of them.
    I honestly had hoped for so much more,
    It's a wonderful world filled with amazing possibilities that you're rushed quickly through, this story should have been stretched over 2-3 movies or at least left room for a sequel.
    The movie introduces characters and tries to drag out a plot but never really succeeds in doing it, the geigers are never fully explored and there are a few of them.

    I honestly had hoped for so much more, I feel like this world was made and someone sent me a postcard before closing it forever.
    Expand
  85. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    They managed to make giant robots fighting monsters boring. A few snippets at the start then an hour and half of moronic storylines. Then extremely disappointing monster fights, a few punches and its over. I was expecting epic sprawling battles. Waste of time.
  86. Jul 15, 2013
    1
    At about an hour in, when the robot and monster get it on, in the fighting sense, i think i saw someone in the street below them walking into a cinema, probably to see something better.. This is a patchwork quilt of a film containing material from hundreds of crap stained sheets. If audiences love this then we should all be praying for our ultimate demise at the hands of the enormous dumbAt about an hour in, when the robot and monster get it on, in the fighting sense, i think i saw someone in the street below them walking into a cinema, probably to see something better.. This is a patchwork quilt of a film containing material from hundreds of crap stained sheets. If audiences love this then we should all be praying for our ultimate demise at the hands of the enormous dumb animal, the USA as it's more commonly known. Expand
  87. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    Visually stunning and well acted, Pacific Rim succeeds in being an entertaining Summer blockbuster, despite the uneven pacing and cliche script. It certainly isn't up to par with some of del Toro's other work, but it certainly is a lot of fun!
  88. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail,Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail, humanity devise one last ditch effort to destroy the portal for good. Pacific Rim knows what it is and it does play to its strengths but those strengths are only really one strength, its visuals and the near perfect CGI incorporated into the movie. Don't get me wrong, the 3D is redundant and really makes watching the film difficult but in 2D Pacific Rim is terrific to look at with Director Guillermo Del Toro really understanding how to frame his action as to show the scale and wonder these mechs (refereed to as Jaegers) and monsters (Kaijus) evoke. It;s the best aspect of the movie which means the action light 2nd act is thoroughly monotonous and often times meaningless. The plot is generic which is surprising considering the films interesting premise. The writing is equally predictable with emotional scenes failing to leave a mark because they feel reused. It's a well acted film and Idris Elba continues to prove he is a gifted actor who can display many emotions at once but he is stuck with scowl inducing dialogue that is hard to swallow. Charlie Hunam is an interesting choice for the hero and while his sullen yet worldly performance as Raleigh is good it isn't great and his casting feels safe when Pacific Rim is an out there premise and film. Ultimately the film needs to take more risks in its endeavour to surprise viewers and it feels like Del Toro took a step back and played it a little too safe. Expand
  89. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    An amazing visual ride with a heart and soul, unlike many many blockbusters.

    The visuals alone are incredible, it's not just about making it look "realistic" but also about making it visually pleasing as well! The colors and the lighting effects were so beautiful and vibrant, an absolute delight for the eyes, and I didn't even see it in IMAX. The story and characters are pretty basic
    An amazing visual ride with a heart and soul, unlike many many blockbusters.

    The visuals alone are incredible, it's not just about making it look "realistic" but also about making it visually pleasing as well! The colors and the lighting effects were so beautiful and vibrant, an absolute delight for the eyes, and I didn't even see it in IMAX.

    The story and characters are pretty basic so you shouldn't see this movie if those are your highest priorities, but it's done well enough as to not be insulting to the audience and gets the movie going. The thing I really appreciated in this movie is that there are no "bad guy" character ruining all the pace and the fun, it's just people trying to survive and everyone doing their best against the big monsters, simple as that!

    What made this movie work above all for me is the tone, it knows how to be serious and tense when it needs to, but it never forgets that the story is ridiculous and knows not to take itself too seriously, again unlike MANY blockbusters lately. I also loved the positivity, again unlike all our current "dark" blockbusters, it's such a breath of fresh air to go see a movie that doesn't leave you depressed at the end that I just had to commend Pacific Rim for that!
    Expand
  90. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    A slight disappointment for me, Pacific Rim wasn't the ultimate blockbuster it seemed to be in the trailers. Don't get me wrong, the battles were absolutely spectacular, but there weren't just as many of them. Around half a movie is dedicated to its plot and it sucks. It's illogical and predictable, the characters are stereotyped and sometimes outright annoying (say, the two scientists).A slight disappointment for me, Pacific Rim wasn't the ultimate blockbuster it seemed to be in the trailers. Don't get me wrong, the battles were absolutely spectacular, but there weren't just as many of them. Around half a movie is dedicated to its plot and it sucks. It's illogical and predictable, the characters are stereotyped and sometimes outright annoying (say, the two scientists). Normally I try not to think about the plot too much during such blockbusters, but again, in the Pacific Rim there is just too much screentime devoted to it. To compare, the recent Man of Steel also didn't boast an exactly flawless plot, but action was neatly mixed with the story, a major scene ocurring every 10 minutes or so. So in my opinion, Rim is a good summer blockbuster, but it could've been more. Expand
  91. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    Beyond the amazing special effects and epic giant robot vs. giant monster battles, which there is a good amount of, there isn't much else to say about this film. So-so acting and a predictable and questionable at times plot, which isn't really a bad thing, except it's made worse by rather dull characters and some forced dialogues and conflicts. I saw this in IMAX and didn't regret itBeyond the amazing special effects and epic giant robot vs. giant monster battles, which there is a good amount of, there isn't much else to say about this film. So-so acting and a predictable and questionable at times plot, which isn't really a bad thing, except it's made worse by rather dull characters and some forced dialogues and conflicts. I saw this in IMAX and didn't regret it because it was awesome to see the epic fight scenes, but not much else impressed me about the film. Expand
  92. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    As an action and visual effects blockbuster this is aces with monsters and technology galore clashing and fighting to the death in order to save or destroy. Where it falls down, predictably, is with the human element. Nearly all scenes involving real actors (and I say it some what tongue in cheek) are badly acted with the performers required to say unspeakable dialogue. In fact the scriptAs an action and visual effects blockbuster this is aces with monsters and technology galore clashing and fighting to the death in order to save or destroy. Where it falls down, predictably, is with the human element. Nearly all scenes involving real actors (and I say it some what tongue in cheek) are badly acted with the performers required to say unspeakable dialogue. In fact the script is so awful that it raises many an unintentional laugh. There is also way too much unnecessary exposition. The sound, however, is amazingly good. Expand
  93. Aug 19, 2013
    4
    O filme não ruim, mas está longe de ser um filme que eu indicaria com fervor... Me pareceu que alguém que era fã de Godzilla, quis fazer seu próprio filme e não havia recursos tecnológicos na época e agora em 2013 o filme seria capaz de ser produzido, mas o roteiro, a historia parecem perdidas no tempo, com inúmeros clichês e coisas que não funcionam mais nas telas, fiquei decepcionado,O filme não ruim, mas está longe de ser um filme que eu indicaria com fervor... Me pareceu que alguém que era fã de Godzilla, quis fazer seu próprio filme e não havia recursos tecnológicos na época e agora em 2013 o filme seria capaz de ser produzido, mas o roteiro, a historia parecem perdidas no tempo, com inúmeros clichês e coisas que não funcionam mais nas telas, fiquei decepcionado, pois os 10 primeiros minutos do filme mostraram que seria algo bem atual e condizente com as produções atuais... no fim, pra mim não merece uma nota maior que 4! Expand
  94. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    6 of 10 from my point of view. This movie reminds me old Japaneese films of Godzilla, I liked them back in 90th. Plot is quite simple and overused alien invasion, even from the ocean, its ok. But special effects makes me sad 90% of fights are blured to heavy fog, you almost cant see anything through smoke and darkness. Also this movie is lacking details and actions. Just try to compare6 of 10 from my point of view. This movie reminds me old Japaneese films of Godzilla, I liked them back in 90th. Plot is quite simple and overused alien invasion, even from the ocean, its ok. But special effects makes me sad 90% of fights are blured to heavy fog, you almost cant see anything through smoke and darkness. Also this movie is lacking details and actions. Just try to compare recent Man of Steel and Pacific Rim. But 3D effects are very nice, I almost felt snow falling on my head, plus one point for that. So total result is 7 from 10, worth watching one time I guess. Expand
  95. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    For more info, visit B-TEN.com

    Bullogna Score: 7.0/10! Very good. Personal Score: 9.0/10 Based on the hype the Godzilla-esque science-fiction Guillermo Del Toro film received, I had expectations for Pacific Rim. Honestly, I’m not sure whether they were good or bad expectations, but I expected this film to be significant compared to the recently lackluster Hollywood releases found
    For more info, visit B-TEN.com

    Bullogna Score: 7.0/10! Very good.
    Personal Score: 9.0/10

    Based on the hype the Godzilla-esque science-fiction Guillermo Del Toro film received, I had expectations for Pacific Rim. Honestly, I’m not sure whether they were good or bad expectations, but I expected this film to be significant compared to the recently lackluster Hollywood releases found throughout the Summer. Optimistically, I entered the theater with an open-mind, which is always a rewarding experience. When standards are set high, a moviegoer is likely to be disappointed, but in the case of Pacific Rim, I was far from it.

    The movie begins with an appetite for disaster. It immediately immerses you in this beautiful CGI world in which Earth is being attacked by an “alien” race called the Kaiju which actually derived from none other than our planet’s own Pacific waters. Then the movie prematurely establishes its largest flaw: the human characters. Raleigh and Yancy Becket are two over-confident ‘dude-bros’ piloting an older Jaegar (a gigantic humanoid mecha which requires two human controllers to mend in spirit in order for the bots to properly function) who provide awful first impressions for the films’ viewers, but perhaps this was a move made intentionally by Del Toro.

    As the film progresses, especially after the death of the irritating Yancy Becket, it gets better. Raleigh, however, is now alone and in desperate need of a new co-pilot, which in turn becomes the much more suitable Mako Mori who is forced to fight the terror of her near-death experience as a child during the mending process, but expectedly arrives at a more confident state, allowing for much more fluid Jaegar maneuvering.

    In an interesting side-story featuring Charlie Day as Dr. Newton Geiszler, a scientist who attempts to control the minds of Kaiju as pilots have done with the Jaegar, and nearly dies in the attempt. Day adds plenty of excitement and mild humor to an otherwise serious tale, and ultimately serves as a similar character to his role in It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, failing to truly fit the context of Pacific Rim. After nearly dying in an attempt to control a Kaiju brain, Geiszler, tends to the matter once again, in need of a second brain to experiment on. He then contact Hannibal Chau, a black marketer who makes a living selling Kaiju organs.

    The movie ends predictably with many giant Kaiju defeated and all the important cast still living, including Hannibal Chau, who was eaten by a Kaiju but who reappears after the end credits with an unexpected one-liner. Overall, the film is best seen on a much larger scale such as IMAX or RPX, but at the very least seen in stereoscopic 3D. Pacific Rim will probably go down as the best 3D film of the year, with the added dimension complementing the larger-than-life combat between Kaiju and Jaegar, and that alone is worth the $10 or so admission fee. It’s a fun action movie with a lacking storyline, but a proficient CG design that will leave you breathless with its flawless homage to Japanese pop culture.
    Expand
  96. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    I went in wanting giant mechas beating the crap out of equally giant monsters and the movie delivered on that. Low standards? Maybe, but the movie never promised to be some life changing experience. Just switch off your noodle and watch what equates to CGI pornography.

    I will say the characters were kind of flat though, I don't think there was any development between any of them. And in
    I went in wanting giant mechas beating the crap out of equally giant monsters and the movie delivered on that. Low standards? Maybe, but the movie never promised to be some life changing experience. Just switch off your noodle and watch what equates to CGI pornography.

    I will say the characters were kind of flat though, I don't think there was any development between any of them. And in regards to some of the lines, it was sometimes very difficult to tell what was being said. Whether that was due to my theater's speakers, I can't say.
    Expand
  97. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    I didn't really expect much so when very little was delivered I wasn't disappointed. The special effects were the only really plus for the movie. Del Toro's monsters and robots were amazing to look at, but the script was horrible. The plot was full of so many holes it just left me thinking damn....really?
  98. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim Is a bit messy but also a punch of visuals and sounds effects they could have been more deeper into this but well the scenario is classic the way the movie go aswell

    Pretty good if you want to spend some time with your brain off if you were looking for the movie of the year it isnt!
  99. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim has a lot of what I want in a movie. Epic Fights, Giant Mechs, and Giant Godzilla-like monsters wrecking havoc in cities nearby Marianas trench. This movie has really nice effects and fights that look good to the eyes and really remind me of Transformers too. The downside to this movie is almost every character in this movie is a walking cliche and the plot really drops thePacific Rim has a lot of what I want in a movie. Epic Fights, Giant Mechs, and Giant Godzilla-like monsters wrecking havoc in cities nearby Marianas trench. This movie has really nice effects and fights that look good to the eyes and really remind me of Transformers too. The downside to this movie is almost every character in this movie is a walking cliche and the plot really drops the ball in explaining the Kaiju's purpose for coming to Earth and the UN makes some pretty stupid decisions along the way. Overall I feel that this movie is a nice refresher to see a concept that for some reason isn't really used at all in movies outside the Japanese scene but I would love to see more of Pacific Rim! Expand
  100. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just awesome. its been a very long time i`ve not seen a movie that i would want to see twice. JUST INCREDIBLY AWESOME,,,,RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!!~
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.