User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1348 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Guillermo del Toro really let me down on this one. Besides the very imaginative monsters this is nothing but a Transformers movie with a slightly higher age group target. Nothing was done with the mind "handshake" possibilities, which really surprises me.
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is ok to watch. Most fun are the fight scenes and the very good special effects. Liked the setting and rainy mood. Lame was that almost anything was predictable, and the music was constantly playing in a dramatic style. There was no acoustic climax, it is constantly bombarding your ear. The characters were very stereotypic.

    Also there are some logical issues that bothered me: Why is the Jaeger using it's blades in the last moment, why not all the time? I thought you can't travel through the Portal if you are not alien, but why can the escape pot travel back? Why are the other crews not using their escape pots if they obvisiouly have one?

    All in all an ok movie for a cheesy afternoon / evening.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    It's a shallow, yet exciting, experience. Obnoxious characters, abysmal story, yet it's so fun you stop caring once the action scenes roll around. Colorful and hokey, it's reminiscent of the super hero cartoons we grew up watching and loving. If you like intense action and overwhelming visuals, you might like this film.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail, humanity devise one last ditch effort to destroy the portal for good. Pacific Rim knows what it is and it does play to its strengths but those strengths are only really one strength, its visuals and the near perfect CGI incorporated into the movie. Don't get me wrong, the 3D is redundant and really makes watching the film difficult but in 2D Pacific Rim is terrific to look at with Director Guillermo Del Toro really understanding how to frame his action as to show the scale and wonder these mechs (refereed to as Jaegers) and monsters (Kaijus) evoke. It;s the best aspect of the movie which means the action light 2nd act is thoroughly monotonous and often times meaningless. The plot is generic which is surprising considering the films interesting premise. The writing is equally predictable with emotional scenes failing to leave a mark because they feel reused. It's a well acted film and Idris Elba continues to prove he is a gifted actor who can display many emotions at once but he is stuck with scowl inducing dialogue that is hard to swallow. Charlie Hunam is an interesting choice for the hero and while his sullen yet worldly performance as Raleigh is good it isn't great and his casting feels safe when Pacific Rim is an out there premise and film. Ultimately the film needs to take more risks in its endeavour to surprise viewers and it feels like Del Toro took a step back and played it a little too safe. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    When I went to see Pacific Rim I went in with the mentality of an 8 year old boy. All I wanted to see was giant robots and giant monsters beating the crap out of each other and damn if the film didn't deliver. The fight scenes in this film are incredible to watch (if a little difficult to follow at times) and the design of the Jaegers and the Kaiju are extremely impressive. But I what I wasnt expecting was how good the story and writing was. Lets face it, in terms of story all this film needed was a loose thread to string the action sequences together and honestly I would've been content with that. But it's actually surprisingly deep and does a good job of making the audience feel more connected to the characters, who are also pretty engaging. Pacific Rim doesn't make the same mistake transformers made where the human characters are so dull and irritating that every time there's a scene focused on them you just want it to be over so you can get back to the cool stuff. They actually have a good deal of personality and help progress the whole thing nicely.
    Overall, the makers of this film know that you came to see action and they give you it by the generous bucket load but they still manage to make the finer details of the film relevant without letting them drag down the pace of the whole thing. Which basically means that girlfriends who have been dragged to see this won't be in quite the same state of cinematic purgatory that their boyfriends were when they were forced to watch the notebook.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. It's fun to watch (especially in IMAX 3D) and definitely not the Evangelion rip-off a lot of ignorant people might make it out to be.
  7. Xon
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Delivers what it promised. Perhaps there isn't such a big audience for this kind of movie to validade the budget, but the film-makers squeezed every bit of brilliance out of everything and everyone that went into this film. You have to be really cynical not to like this film. For me its like a modern fairy tale.
  8. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    If you like GDT movies you'll love Pacific Rim. A visual spectacle with some interesting concepts mixed in. But if you don't typically like GDT movies because of questionable logical beats and character motivations, dumb plot holes, and stories that just fall flat after an initial flurry then you'll find more of the same here. I largely enjoyed the first act but I just wanted it to end when the story got "moving." Granted I'm no longer a 13 year old boy. If I was I would have watched it 10 times already. Still, that's no excuse for poor storytelling. Expand
  9. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a 2013 science fiction film directed by Guillermo del Toro with Charlie Hunnam, Rinko Kikuchi and Rob Perlman.
    In a future world the earth was attacked by the giant alien monsters called Kaiju, emerged on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean through an interdimensional portal. Because, to destroy one of those monsters many lives are sacrificed, it was decided to build giant robots called Jaegers controlled by two pilots. Initially, the robots are able to get the better of the monsters, but the latter seem to adapt to new weapons and that pushes humanity to the brink of disaster. The last remaining Jaegers are taken in Hong Kong and the former pilot Jaeger, Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) is persuaded to return to the team he left after losing his brother, also a pilot, clashing against a Kaiju. Here begins the last attack to save humanity.
    Although it seems not to follow the rules of the director, Pacific Rim is a product of Del Toro and we can see it in the prologue, which serves to immerggerci in the world we are told the story and also in the memories of Mako (Rinko Kikuchi) a lot well done.
    The film is inspired by the anime of the 70s and also to those of today (especially Neo Genesis Evangelion).
    The plot is not very original but it is by no means trivial or obvious. The photography of the film is well done as well as special effects (featuring beautiful as are the Kaiju and Jaegers).
    The fight scenes between the giants are well made and it is clear that they were made in anime style (such as special moves of Jaegers).
    The film also manages to entertain with humor and never forced anything vulgar or exaggerated.
    It will not be a masterpiece but Guillermo was able to create a great film
    Expand
  10. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. The special effects and visual design are simply masterful; the Jaegers look exactly how a giant robotic mech suit should, their interfaces look suitably futuristic and cool, while on the other end the Kaiju look suitably otherworldly, but with enough grounding to not look out of place in our world. On the story end of things, you have a surprisingly intricate tale of multiple characters who each have personal struggles relating to the Kaiju invasion and subsequent advent of Jaegers, as well as even minor characters generally being at worst interesting and entertaining and at best well-developed and multidimensional. It's also simply astounding just how well this movie built its world, with every environment feeling exactly how it should and fitting into the rest of the setting very impressively. Certain flashback scenes which I won't spoil were simply a joy to watch, masterful displays of cinematography at its absolute best, and the rest of the movie isn't far behind them. I honestly can't think of any legitimate complaints about this movie, beyond petty gripes not worth mentioning. It's simply worth watching, no matter who you are. Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was also up to par and the character development was fantastic, giving life and depth to characters that seem at first to be a bit superficial. There were also some nice cameos by actors like Charlie Day and Ron Perlman, who though I don't like, had a cool role. Overall, this movie takes a substantial amount of suspended disbelief but I think most people who like cool action movies will really enjoy it. Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Two hours of awesome! There's always room for more about the Jaegers and their crews, but the movie delivers what you'd expect it to: giant machines fighting huge monsters. [proper review coming later]
  13. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    My expectations of a visually playful blockbuster were pretty spot on. But the movie is also longer than I expected, and tends to expect the viewer to be entertained by the impressiveness of the visuals alone. The story had a more humanistic premise than usually seen in action flicks, but I'm not sure how much subtext there was. But I guess there could be something clever hidden in the many symbols. I'm just not sure if it's worth bothering. Expand
  14. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Del Toro’s latest tentpole, watched in 3D format on IMAX screen, a substantial SFX Jarger Vs. Kaiju monolith which makes TRANSFORMER franchise pale in comparison. But the feeble storyline and unimaginative character-building drags the film into a scrape of torpor. especially after the seasonal actioners’ drumfire (after WHITE HOUSE DOWN 2013, 6/10 and FAST AND FURIOUS 6 2013. 6/10), PACIFIC RIM is the most costly one, and its red-hot accomplishment in the Chinese box office suggests a belated chance to break even its tepid reception in the North American domain, with its Japan opening this coming weekend, an approximate $400,000,000 worldwide turnover may green-light a sequel for its ardent followers.

    The 3D effect surely doesn’t improve at all thanks to the murky palette of the raining night combat and underwater location, under the 3D monopoly (even more absurd there are 4D version available in theaters) at least in China, we have no access to the plain 2D type, which rumor says its rendition is much better in an IMAX screen. Dedicated to Japanese Tokusatsu films, Del Toro and his crew’s reconstruction and invention of genre is groundbreaking, an eye-opener with excellent technical scrupulousness, the bombarding sound effects are overwhelming as well as its awe-inspiring and heroic battle scenes.

    There are some hiccups keep bugging me, an obvious one is that why on earth there is no conventional weaponry assistance engaging in the doomsday battle, not even as the cannon fodder; another one is the last moment sword stunt, saving the best for the last may not work here, it is only for practicability, but an ill-considered one. Hunnam doesn’t possess enough charisma to carry on the film on his shoulder and his platonic relation with Kikuchi hasn’t been dug deep enough to steal the limelight. Other actors are standard equipments, Elba is the commander whose background story desperately needs a prequel. Day is the comic relief and Perlman is the egomaniac laughing-stock.

    Del Toro’s Hollywood odyssey has been rougher than one had presumed, PACIFIC RIM is a qualified film in the sense of it is an updated product for the genre criterion (let’s wait and see how GODZILLA will handle the challenge next year), but it doesn’t live up to Del Toro’s talent if one familiars with his earlier films, notably his homespun masterpiece PAN’S LABYRINTH (2006, 9/10), where mythology and reality have been miraculously criss-crossed and not only our eyes are being opened, our hearts are also being filled with passion and vibration.
    Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim no es la mejor pelicula pero no me resulto aburrida a pesar de las 2 horas que dura, sumarle a eso los buenos efectos especiales que tiene, bueno que mas puedo decir, mi calificacion lo dice todo..
  16. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    Gonna start off with the negatives Painfully generic and predictable story that you can call from a mile away. The acting is so-so and it does suffer from a few poor casting choices (Charlie Day anyone?).

    That being said, The battle scenes are freaking fantastic. So incredibly well done, They are simply addicting to watch. That alone makes the film worth watching and I really wish that
    I had seen it in theaters in 3-D because it would have been a blast.

    So overall, Thankfully the story is not a major focus but the battles are. For that alone, It's worth checking out because it can be rather enjoyable to watch.
    Expand
  17. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Del Toro's vision is as grand and elaborate as ever, as the Jaegars and Kaijus indulge in guilty techno-porn. Alas, Beacham's story is painfully routine (with a few flashes of interesting here and there) but then again, we do get to see Idris Elba bellow "today we are canceling the apocalypse!".
  18. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    An amazing visual ride with a heart and soul, unlike many many blockbusters.

    The visuals alone are incredible, it's not just about making it look "realistic" but also about making it visually pleasing as well! The colors and the lighting effects were so beautiful and vibrant, an absolute delight for the eyes, and I didn't even see it in IMAX.

    The story and characters are pretty basic
    so you shouldn't see this movie if those are your highest priorities, but it's done well enough as to not be insulting to the audience and gets the movie going. The thing I really appreciated in this movie is that there are no "bad guy" character ruining all the pace and the fun, it's just people trying to survive and everyone doing their best against the big monsters, simple as that!

    What made this movie work above all for me is the tone, it knows how to be serious and tense when it needs to, but it never forgets that the story is ridiculous and knows not to take itself too seriously, again unlike MANY blockbusters lately. I also loved the positivity, again unlike all our current "dark" blockbusters, it's such a breath of fresh air to go see a movie that doesn't leave you depressed at the end that I just had to commend Pacific Rim for that!
    Expand
  19. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is... Exciting. It's new and unique, but isn't groundbreaking, not by any stretch, it is really good though. It's not written incredibly well, but well nonetheless. The highlight of the film is the exciting action and the development of the story line; the incredible 3D special effects and the exciting action mix to make something very fun and enjoyable. The character building is done brilliantly and the acting is good, so you get really attached to the characters as you see there memories in the 'drift' and you experience their emotions and what they have to go through with the crazy and destructive 'Kaiju War'. In a nut-shell this film is very fun and enjoyable, but also gripping and fairly emotional. So I give this film a... 85/100! Expand
  20. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    It is an over the top feast of monsters and robots that is a visual splendor for the eyes. Exciting, action packed, and funny. To top it off, it also had a pretty cool score.
  21. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    as someone who grew up with Transformers and was heavily disappointed with Michael Bay's movies, and I also grew up with Godzilla, well this movie was just made for me and people of similar generations.
    Surprising that in the US they didn't like it, guess Mechs and Kaijus weren't as big in there back in the 80/90s.

    Although, yes, the movie has obvious cliches and one scene that simply
    showed the hand going through the building that wasn't cool nor funny, but when you grow up to that kind of things, seeing a tribute to your childhood heroes is always fun Expand
  22. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    If you like SCI FI, if you like anime, if you're into action movies, this is the BEST MOVIE EVER, it sure was for me, no regrets in watching it, kept me on the edge of the seat the whole time, i'm planning on seeing it a couple more time on theaters while i still can.
  23. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    "Pacific Rim" has perhaps some of the greatest action I have ever seen. The use of 3-D is fantastic, the CGI and visuals were stunning, the acting is brilliant and both the story and script are intelligently crafted. This truly is a intense, epic, visually-stunning spectacle.
  24. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Perfect plot, best Bluray release ever, with 10+ 3D video and 10+ lossless DTS HD-MA audio track.

    You must have this movie if you loved at least one of these movies/characters:
    Godzilla
    Mazinger
    Power Rangers
    Jurassic Park
    Gamera
  25. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    A slight disappointment for me, Pacific Rim wasn't the ultimate blockbuster it seemed to be in the trailers. Don't get me wrong, the battles were absolutely spectacular, but there weren't just as many of them. Around half a movie is dedicated to its plot and it sucks. It's illogical and predictable, the characters are stereotyped and sometimes outright annoying (say, the two scientists). Normally I try not to think about the plot too much during such blockbusters, but again, in the Pacific Rim there is just too much screentime devoted to it. To compare, the recent Man of Steel also didn't boast an exactly flawless plot, but action was neatly mixed with the story, a major scene ocurring every 10 minutes or so. So in my opinion, Rim is a good summer blockbuster, but it could've been more. Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim in a nutshell is the best movie in 2013 based on my opinion.

    When I was younger, I spent my time watching Ultraman movies on TV. I found the movies interesting and at that time the effects just blew me away. I loved the idea of an Ultraman fighting a giant beast in big cities as it meant destruction and more destructions. I got use to the concept of giant beasts as well and
    I am fond of thinking a big evil bird or a menacing lizard as giants destroying things. I must have also wondered whether or not those movies would promote themselves into a larger screen.

    And several months back, my dream came true. I got what I had been wishing for from Pacific Rim. The premise was simple: humanity was in the brink of devastation since unknown giant beasts had invaded big cities. We created our own monsters in a shape of gigantic robots with weaponry systems most countries can only dream of. The giant beasts were proven to develop themselves as they quickly grasped every strategy thrown at them.
    I felt like a boy watching this movie. It was that nostalgic feeling that helped me loving the movie. The action sequences were just awesome and there were some moments in which I dropped my jaw due to
    The excitement I felt. The giant beasts shown here were somewhat similar to what I had watched during my childhood and it was a recipe for success. I believe that I wasn't the only person thought that way.
    Watch this movie if you watched Ultraman in your childhood.
    Expand
  27. May 17, 2014
    7
    Porn for Godzilla fans, really the only why to describe Del Toro's extraordinary best of a machine "Pacific Rim", sadly im not that big a fan of Giant Mecha robot rights with aliens BUT when i wanna watch giant mecha robot fights with aliens i recommend Pacific Rim.

    Rating: Supermechalienfigterrobotpornforgodzillafans out of 10
  28. Dec 16, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is certainly a step up from the ridiculous padding (and sometimes offensive) movies that make the Transformers films, but it is not necessarily a masterpiece. It is, however, a step in the right direction.

    From the beginning this movie absolutely sucked in the originality department. Concepts of kaiju and mechas have already been exploited to hell and back by the likes of Ultraman and Super Sentai. It made no pretenses as to where the inspiration came from. It wasn't even a parody or homage film; it just outright passed it as if its something to amaze the culturally dim Western audiences. Give me a break.

    The story is simple; kaijus come to trample around the Earth from undersea, and we built giant mechas, piloted by the minds of two pilots. We get to see our protagonist with his brother. Not 5 minutes in, the brother dies, and its suppose to make the protagonist go into hiding for five years. In that period, international council members of the UN cut the funding of the mecha programme in favour of some big wall that doesn't seem to work. So the chief (Idris Elba) goes after the hero to make one last hurrah to stop the kaijus once and for all.

    Already, I see great problems with the film in the first act alone. Senseless deaths that's supposed to mean a lot to the hero, doesn't affect me if I don't connect to the deceased. Cliches are rampant in the film. Arrogant jock ala Iceman from Top Gun, the absent-minded scientist who thinks only of proving himself right above even common sense, politicians from shadowy- omnipotent councils that try to oversee a military operation (think the Council from Xcom). Its really laze writing. I especially hated the scientist because its clear as the movie progresses that he's supposed to be comic relief. His contribution to the storyline is minimal till the end of the film. To which I ask: since when stereotypes become a joke? Blackface and yellow-faces are not a joke.

    Unlike Transformers however, any non-action scene in this movie is utilised to some extent for character development. I liked Ms Mori's character being fleshed out, and you slowly begin to see a different dimension to Elba's character as well. The problem is that its the only development you see; the rest, including the hero himself, are stock and 2-dimensional characters. There's even a supposed love tension between the hero and Ms. Mori, but its passed off as weak sauce.

    The 1st act is surprisingly long compared to the other two acts. 1st act is suppose to encompass retraining the hero and Ms. Mori, and getting his mecha up and running. It does provide protected periods of character development, but it also dangerously padded up the act. Especially prominent as the 2nd and 3rd acts were action focused, a sudden tone shift from the introspective 1st Act.

    CGI in this movie is breath-taking and almost perfect. The mechas and kaijus look very real. Surroundings look very real. Not once did I cringe at an out-of-place CG artefact. Truly the same crew that worked on the CG of Transformers have worked in this movie with the same fervor, or otherwise another team did an equally impressive job as well. CG made the fight scenes between mechas and kaijus very lifelike. Ripped metal, alien blood, and explosions are perfectly showed in detail, as if it happened in the physical world. Its probably the best CGI this year.

    How does this movie rate overall? Compared to Transformers, it definitely took a more simple storytelling, but managed to flesh out a bit more dimension into two of their characters. The CGI is equally impressive. It does suffer from superfluous characters that end up padding the movie right until the end (the scientist, though Ron Perlman did ham the scenes quite comedically). The problem though, is that the movie simply has no originality, and half of its story-telling elements are lined with cliches and stereotypes. This easily satiates the appetites of action-maniacs and children, but its painfully obvious how little value the story is. Its very hard to ignore it altogether because they DID take the time focusing on back story and quiet drama moments. In the end, the movie ends up being action oriented, but failed to let the story and characters equally match. Still, at least the main characters ARE the main characters in their own movie, unlike Transformers. Juvenile humour is kept to a minimum. There is not a lot of lore behind the kaijus however, which makes them almost an archetypal alien invaders that have no soul; just targets and objects to kill.
    Expand
  29. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It was action packed robot flick! Future Perfect for any Robot movie like never before. Pacific Rim still the best summer movie of all time since The Avengers. Very Flawless!
  30. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    It's important to note that while I very much enjoyed Pacific Rim, I was coming in from a biased perspective of enjoying shows such as Gundam Wing and old Godzilla films from quite a young age. As long as you come in knowing what to expect from this kind of film, it's really very good. CGI was great and the fight scene choreography was fantastic, although some of the camera-work was awkward and it was hard to tell what was going on in combat sometimes. There could've been more variation in setting as well.

    I found the designs of the jaegers (mechs) and kaiju (monsters) interesting and successful, creating a very specific appearance and silhouette for each individual combatant on the battlefield, which helped give each one a sense of identity in often difficult viewing conditions.

    The plot and characters certainly aren't going to win too many awards but most of the acting was fairly sound, and I particularly enjoyed Idris Elba's performance in this film; although his character was nothing terribly original, it was well-delivered. Also, although I initially found them somewhat contrived and grating, on second viewing the scientist characters (Charlie Day and Burn Gorman) did provide something of a welcome break from all the action and grimness of the film and added something of an extra dimension to the film on top of all the fighting.

    I thought they could've done more with Charlie Hunnam and Rinko Kikuchi's character interaction, but you shouldn't come into this film expecting massive character development. You should come in for an all-action summer blockbuster and in this regard Pacific Rim mostly delivers. It also cleverly ties up most of its loose ends while still leaving some possibility of a sequel. Remarkably few plot-holes too, though there were a couple here and there all in all pretty tight writing and production, and you could tell this was a Guillermo del Toro passion-project.

    To sum up: best action film I've seen for some time, and the first one in a while that's made me leave with a real sense of 'awesome'. I could probably watch this film half a dozen times and not get bored of it, and that speaks volumes.
    Expand
  31. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    What it may lack in novel character development, "Pacific Rim" makes up for it with earnest passion in its subgenre and an irresistibly voracious undercurrent of levity. Though, I'd be remiss if I didn't also praise the incredibly satisfying set pieces and Idris Elba's starkly first-rate performance.
  32. Dec 24, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a very smart film, however it does do the giant monsters vs giant robots fighting very well. Think Cloverfield monsters vs giant mechs. Visuals are very impressive and they give it kind of a cool back story. If that's all you want, go, watch, you'll be entertained.

    Where Pacific Rim goes wrong is it has some things that just don't make any sense and you just have to suspend belief and move on. Most of them aren't jarring and don't pull you away but some might. For example: like 2 to 4 little helicopters will be able to fly in the robots that are as big as about 4 sky scrapers put together. Does gravity and weight not apply in this world? Ignore it just keep watching... Charlie from Always Sunny is a scientist. Ok, I'd probably watch just to see that.

    Some of the dialogue is pretty bad. One scene they recruit a pilot saying, "I picked you because you're the only Mark 3 robot pilot left alive." then down the road it changes to, "You were the only one to ever pilot a mech solo. That's why I chose you." Like they read the script that was written right? Lets not have a character contradict himself. Also there was a (more spoiler) scene where a pilot almost killed a bunch of people on accident because of being a pilot, and when the person who was sort of being portrayed as an antagonist gives them about it, our "hero" goes a bit overboard on defending them. Like the pilot almost killed a lot of people... It's hard to route for the guy defending that pilot from getting verbally chewed out. There was very little repercussions from that incident other than one awkward cafeteria scene.

    Next,
    Hey, what if these giant monsters were also linked to the dinosaurs? And like the same reason these new giant monsters are coming in is the same reasons the dinosaurs appeared? No, no, please no. You given us one fictional backstory to believe already. Don't spoil it. Spoiler, spoiler spoiler, insert alien destroy then colonize scheme here.* But hey, at least they do it with style.
    Expand
  33. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    The mega summer blockbuster "Pacific Rim" delivers plenty of eye-popping action and battle sequences galore, but there is not enough beneath the pyrotechnics to leave a lasting impression. The very notion of giant robots trading blows with monsters across the world is likely to induce as many groans as it is cheers. Those cynical of the premise, though, may find themselves somewhat interested that director Guillermo del Toro is bringing his signature flourish to "Pacific Rim," an ode to Japanese monster cinema. Kaiju originates as a Japanese word roughly translating as “strange monster,” but more pertinently here, Kaiju is the name for this entire genre of sci-fi, where massive creatures step on buildings and threaten to destroy civilization.

    The future of the world is threatened by an alien force, which unexpectedly, comes not from outer space, but from the center of the earth. In an attempt to stave off the seemingly inevitable domination of these creatures and the destruction of mankind as we know it, an army of giant robots manned by elite commander Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba), and his crack team including renegade officer Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam), and rookie soldier Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi), head to the edge of the Pacific Ocean for the mother of all showdowns.

    "Pacific Rim" will fully satisfy the summer blockbuster demographic and sell lots of popcorn, but the repetitive visual fireworks eventually runs thin over the course of 131 minutes. The films set pieces, in particular the destruction of Tokyo, and the climatic battle at the earth's core between the man-made monsters and their non-human adversaries, are undeniably impressive. The action is gigantic, with elaborate CG-animation staging showdowns in pouring rain or at the bottom of the ocean, delivering on sophisticated movement that’s utterly convincing. However, it stumbles in its attempts to inject spirit into the proceedings, and interactions and dialogue between the central cast of humans provides nothing to the experience. That being said, if you're a fan of big, loud popcorn movies, "Pacific Rim" is unquestionably a cut above the gnarled heaps of metal that was "Transformers" (2007).
    Expand
  34. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    Beyond the amazing special effects and epic giant robot vs. giant monster battles, which there is a good amount of, there isn't much else to say about this film. So-so acting and a predictable and questionable at times plot, which isn't really a bad thing, except it's made worse by rather dull characters and some forced dialogues and conflicts. I saw this in IMAX and didn't regret it because it was awesome to see the epic fight scenes, but not much else impressed me about the film. Expand
  35. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    As an action and visual effects blockbuster this is aces with monsters and technology galore clashing and fighting to the death in order to save or destroy. Where it falls down, predictably, is with the human element. Nearly all scenes involving real actors (and I say it some what tongue in cheek) are badly acted with the performers required to say unspeakable dialogue. In fact the script is so awful that it raises many an unintentional laugh. There is also way too much unnecessary exposition. The sound, however, is amazingly good. Expand
  36. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    I went into this with high hopes. Perhaps expecting too much from it. But I really did find it a bit dull most of the time. Sure, the special effects and the action scenes were extremely cool but in the end, this is really just another generic B-rate monster vs monster movie, except it has a huge budget and allot of big names attached.

    Characters are cliched and tired. Plot is
    uninspired and done before. To quote someone I heard on Youtube (I can't remember who) "Pacific Rim is the Power Rangers for adults" and he was right, except this had believable effects and not as cheezy acting.

    Overall:
    Regardless of my gripes, the effects were phenomenal! If you can go into this movie just wanting action and epic fight scenes, then this is the movie for you. Just, don't expect anything else.
    Expand
  37. Aug 19, 2013
    4
    O filme não ruim, mas está longe de ser um filme que eu indicaria com fervor... Me pareceu que alguém que era fã de Godzilla, quis fazer seu próprio filme e não havia recursos tecnológicos na época e agora em 2013 o filme seria capaz de ser produzido, mas o roteiro, a historia parecem perdidas no tempo, com inúmeros clichês e coisas que não funcionam mais nas telas, fiquei decepcionado, pois os 10 primeiros minutos do filme mostraram que seria algo bem atual e condizente com as produções atuais... no fim, pra mim não merece uma nota maior que 4! Expand
  38. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    perfect for 9 year olds or 10
    and you can still watch it when you're older but it's a bit toooooo giant robots pucnhing giant monsters and showing of there awesome weapons and cool looks
    this movie is probably the dumbest awesome movie ever made or the awesomest dumbest movie ever made(honest trailers)
    the story well it's ok
    it's action scene's will make every 10 year old like this
    movie even more then transformers
    in overall it's better then transformers really much better but still it's just showing off big awesome robots
    and there are expalinnations for the monster invasion not just monsters poping up and then yeah well destroying cities and the world must save them and they do and that's it
    this movie is worth watching
    Expand
  39. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    It was something different, watching Pacific Rim in the theatre. I realised how predictable it was, but I didn't have a problem with that at all. It was nice, seeing a movie that tried to set itself apart from the others, with the classic Giant Monsters Invading plot. But the downside to this, is a noticable lack of development of the characters and the story in general. It basicall came down to this: "Giants invading, kill 'em." But I still liked the movie. The CGI was great and the music was simply epic. It promised action, it promised giant robots fighting giant monsters, and we got all that. And really, isn't that what these kinds of movies are all about; the action? 9/10! Expand
  40. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim delivers on what it advertises. You've got giant robots and monsters, beating the utter crap out of each other. What else could you really ask for from this film? The action and the detailing is great and the overall story is solid. The only problems I had were with some off CGI here and there as well as some scenes that really didn't belong. Otherwise, this surely is a must see for fans of the genre. If you love anime, giant monsters, mechs and action, Pacific Rim is the film for you! Expand
  41. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    Outstanding visuals. Really impressive. However I need something else. I know fans of these type of movies-juvenile stories will love it. But really, there´s nothing else apart from the stunning visual effects. People say this is the way Transformers should have been done. And I know the director is great. Whatever. I´ve not seen those ones. I need a story and character development for crying out loud! I was really bored, I almost fell asleep (of course I was watching it at night but I always do) and it never happens to me. A 5 out of 10 for the visuals. If not it would obviously be a 0. But it is what it is and it has its public. Expand
  42. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Pacific Rim is very fun, but it's also too silly for its own good. I will admit however, that it's probably one of the best and most intelligent giant monster movies around. The film is undeniably visual stunning. The fact that it missed out on a visual effects Oscar nod is almost criminal. Fights between the kaju and yagers are huge, meticulously detailed, and about as far fetched as you can get. It's entertaining to say the least, but I wish Del Toro had gone in for a more realistic approach. I'm not saying that it doesn't look real. It does look very real, but the style is cartoonish and outlandish. There are real artistic flourishes here in small bursts, and the supporting characters are also reasonably enjoyable, especially Charlie Day, but the movie is still only a small fragment of what could have been. The actor in the leading role gives an unconvincing and clichéd performance, and the screenplay only occasionally hints at anything truly intellectual. The music also seemed pretty cheesey to me. All and all it's pretty decent, but not anywhere close to a masterwork. Expand
  43. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    [7.2] Pacific Rim knows exactly what it is at all times, and embraces its childish nature with a great passion. Never before has a mindless action movie been so thoughtful in that it is aware that is doesn't have to be. Go to hell logic.
  44. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Out of all the blockbusters this season, I'd say this is actually pretty good. Charlie Hunnam is not by any means my favorite. His monotone voice, lacking of emotion annoys me, but even with him in the movie, I could stomach it. I will give this a good score, since the movie didn't try to be more than it actually is, and I also found it entertaining. I could of course pick a few holes here and there, but I will not. Compared to for instance Man Of Steel, or Lone Ranger this was brilliant entertainment. It follows the standard recipe for movies of this genre, and executes it pretty well. All in all a good experience. Expand
  45. lox
    Dec 10, 2013
    6
    It's visuals are without a doubt beautiful and it has good pacing as well as action sequences that are popcorn fun, but the characters are entirely forgettable. The performances are good and so is the atmosphere. One thing I hated though was how 3/4th's of the action sequences took place at night time and in the rain, making it difficult to thoroughly savor the visual aspect of this film at times.
  46. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Consensus: Pacific Rim is foolishly stylish and quite entertaining but overall it's a very forgettable blockbuster. 70/100 [B]

    When monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called
    Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes - a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi) - who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind's last hope against the mounting apocalypse.

    Guillermo Del Toro's Pacific Rim is visually stunning and has all the aspects required to be summer blockbuster, it's well directed but nothing here has sense and the plot is as thin as my leg. Could be smarter, could be engaging and less cheesy. People and critics compare this film with Godzilla, both are extremely different but both have monsters and i have to say that Godzilla is a monster movie masterpiece compared to this film. Pacific Rim is well directed for what it is, it's a cheesy blockbuster with some action and stunning visuals that's why i give it a positive rating, it's not an awful film at all. The character development is impressive, i really like the character development of Rinko Kikuchi's character, also the performances are terrific Rinko Kikuchi and Charlie Hunnam are likable enough to protagonize the film.

    Though we all know the destiny of these two main characters, Pacific Rim is enjoyable and has big monsters to show. Some of the performers were painfully annoying, especially Charlie Day and Burn Gorman, their characters are so annoying, i wanted to kill myself, nobody cares about them and nobody cares the plot around them. Fortunately we have Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba and the visuals effects to save the film. Pacific Rim is not as smart or complex as it should be but is entertaining and stylish enough to satisfy a big part of the audience. [B] Visit my Blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  47. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    As a child of the 90s I loved TMNT, robots, ninjas, and more. Seeing a well funded and crafted film with giant robots fighting monsters is great. Had I been born 15-20 years later this film would be the greatest thing I'd have seen.

    As an adult I still enjoyed watching this. It did take me back, but it's difficult to enjoy it entirely without noticing it's flaws. It has a few but it
    doesn't stop one enjoyment. They just make you want to question the crew, e.g. why not use swords straight away. Forget the blood theories, the ease of using a sword makes complete sense when punching and pummelling a kaiju causes property destruction and increased chances of death for pilots.

    Aside from that and some ordinary acting in parts it's a fun film. See it if you have the chance but don't go out of your way.
    Expand
  48. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    When it comes to the fight scenes in this movie it's a 10 what makes it an 8 is some of the story and character elements don't all work. Overall it's Monsters vs Robots and with that it is pretty awesome. A-
  49. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    8.5/10. Pros: Unless you hate action films you will not be disappointed. The action/visuals are beyond impressive. This is like Avengers/Transformers/Reel Steal times 100. The script for the main outline is great. Cons: Acting is less then impressive, doable but no Emmy or Oscar any time soon. The deeper the plot get the more the outcome comes out to be bad. I would be shocked if you didn't like it because everyone in the theater was going crazy when they were fighting. Is it cliched, yeah but what film today isn't. The Conjuring was unoriginal and cliched but got like an 8.4. The only film in a good minute that wasn't cliched is probably Spring Breakers and that's a like it or hate film. Terrific monsters, robots, CGI, and sound effects.
    Yes this movie is LOUD and I mean it but unless you're just plan boring you won't enjoy it.

    Whoever said this will only appeal to 8-14 males lied. My mom (41), brother (22), girlfriend (16), her sisters (19/12), just a wide range of action movie lovers.

    3D, I know what you're thinking, Oh God another 3D movie that doesn't need to be or won't be good in it. Shut up the first MINUTE I regretted not seeing it in 3D.

    Unless you like action movies, you might hate it. But this is probably one of the top 5 of 2013.
    Expand
  50. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Pacific rim The bigger they are, the harder they brawl As I watched this movie I felt Guillermo del Toro asking me: Wanna have a dose of sweet awesome fun? Grab some popcorn, buy a red flavored Icee, lay back and enjoy this movie brother. And that was all I did. This movie tells the story about people who pilot giant robots that are up to stop the obliteration of our species when giant monsters, straight out of every ones childhood fantasy, burst out of a portal in the Pacific Ocean.
    It may sound cliche, and I can proudly say it is full of cliches and it doesn't shy away from the fact. It knows what it was sent to this good earth for and that is entertain the hell out of us. And it does that oh so good. And looks astonishing while doing so!
    From the plot it is implied you expect some ginormous robot vs big monster battles, and holy crap are they going to blow your skin of. Beautifully filmed for you to see the scale of the situations and for these brawls to look just badass. The Hong Kong battle in particular is going to stand out as a perfect set piece for me.
    And responsible for all of this are the special effects. In my opinion what helps to scale out things is are the water effects. How it cascades off these giants is as realistic as it gets.
    After all this focus on its looks and battles you may be wondering about the human element of the movie. While not perfect the arcs these characters go through with each other are fun to watch. Especially Idris Elba who transmits authority like a boss. Charlie Hunamm while not as good manages to hold as a main character. Rinko Kikuchi, the female lead is the one who should win the "Underrated hot chick of the year" award. And finally we have the two crazy scientists played by Charlie Day and Burn Gorman who while incredibly cliche and hyped up on something unknown tend to be funny and energetic.
    A curious fact in the movie is that it shows the social reaction to these monsters and robots and realistically it isn't always fear but propaganda and adapting to the situation. The second one involves Ron Perlman in it.
    After all this praise there is one stand out sequence that involves Mako's (Rinko Kikuchi's) past that you should really look out for. It changes the tone to a more serious and dark one and is made with excelence.

    And of course there has to be a negative or two in this flick and the one negative I can pick is that while the movie builds itself on cliches sometimes these go over the legal limit and strive into predictability and unoriginality.
    But in general this is an amazing achievement in entertainment and special effects that you should really look for if you are having a grey day and want to jack release your worries by watching robots beat the living crap out of some monsters.
    I'm giving this jacked up child dream a 9/10.
    Expand
  51. Jun 7, 2014
    7
    If there is one thing I love about a movie is when it's self aware and knows the kind of feeling is trying to get across, and that is exactly what Pacific Rim does.

    With not much mingling around the movie gives you exactly what you paid for, see giant robots fight giant monsters and that is what you get; it's not trying to beat you over the head with a overly complex story or trying to
    be deeper than it should be; it's like a roller coaster, you ride it to have fun and feel the rush, no more.

    I am annoyed by a few things like the forced romance and some unnecessary scenes that add absolutely nothing to the movie; but if you are looking for a fun movie to watch I am sure you will enjoy this one.
    Expand
  52. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    6 of 10 from my point of view. This movie reminds me old Japaneese films of Godzilla, I liked them back in 90th. Plot is quite simple and overused alien invasion, even from the ocean, its ok. But special effects makes me sad 90% of fights are blured to heavy fog, you almost cant see anything through smoke and darkness. Also this movie is lacking details and actions. Just try to compare recent Man of Steel and Pacific Rim. But 3D effects are very nice, I almost felt snow falling on my head, plus one point for that. So total result is 7 from 10, worth watching one time I guess. Expand
  53. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    Is there any humility left in mankind? I liked it at the start, and it's a technically well-made movie, but as it went on, it became apparent that the whole entire point of it is human worship. Shameless, blind human worship. The idea that, no matter what, we're never going to admit any vulnerability or ask for any help. That we're tough enough to just take on anything, even skyscraper-sized monsters from another dimension. If something this ridiculous happened in real life, we would just set up a wall of those plasma cannons, or utilize whatever those one-hit-kill swords are made of, or do something that's halfway clever, not build giant robots like we have the minds of neanderthals. The whole point of the robots is to put man up on a pedestal, and give him all the glory

    The characters are paper thin, cold, and care only for themselves. They know nothing of true friendship, substituting it with intrusive mind-melding that robs a person of their freedom to choose to open up and let someone in, and obliterates all notions of the sacredness of privacy and individuality. It's a very cold, technical, computer-like intimacy. This movie really gets to the heart of what it means to be a nerd. It doesn't understand human interaction, and instead of admitting it and trying to learn, it builds giant robots to fight mindlessly for its misguided ideas. And if better arguments come up against them, they'll just make a movie with even bigger robots next time as their rebuttal.
    Expand
  54. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    If all you take into account is the giant robots and monsters fighting each other, this movie would rate much higher. However its not just robots and monsters fighting of course. For kids its great, the action sequences will blow them away and they'll love it, but they will have to endure the goopy mess in between that tries to capture the adult audience and fails miserably. Suffice it to say that there just isn't enough character development, substantial plot, or even memorable acting to make it a gripping story. Much of it actually seems to be ripped from earlier science fiction movies like Independence Day. Some of the plot elements (dual pilots, which they break in their own cannon right off the bat) seem to be there simply as an excuse to create drama or a love story, neither of which are compelling in their own right. With a little more polish on the characters or at least a few more memorable performances the movie could have been much stronger. But as it stands its just a special effects extravaganza that borrows a little too much of its core elements from anime and previous movies. Expand
  55. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Saw it in 2D and 3D, fun movie. That simple. If you wanted the next Shawshank Redemption (or other oscar-contender quality film) and you went to see this you don't have a functional brain. If you bothered to watch the trailers, you knew what to expect. Cheesy, scifi, fun.

    9/10 I've see better, but not by much when it comes to Giant robots.
  56. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    If you like movies, that is to say if you actually enjoy watching movies for what they are instead of pretend that all movies are supposed to provide you with some greater understanding of time/space/people/food/whatever then this movie really should not disappoint you. Personally, I love movies, I love to watch them, think about them, rewatch them, etc, but I know how to watch a given movie and take it for what it is. If you saw Del Toro's name attached to this and assumed it would be some sort of Pan's Labyrinth type movie then you clearly did not pay attention, if you assumed anything other than what the trailer told you then you were clearly not paying attention.

    Giant robots fighting giant monsters.....That's it, nothing more needs to be said. It is not a character driven, make you think about life and the existence of yourself within the universe type movie. It is just great fun to watch. Anybody who has watched enough movies knows how this will play out but that still does not detract from actually watching it play out.

    Anybody who has watched old Godzilla movies or even played King of the Monsters at some point in their life will appreciate this movie. Anybody who understands watching movies for sheer entertainment value will also likely appreciate this as it is visually pleasing, has many interesting ideas, and is pretty much an awesome homage to entire monster movie genre from a director who knows his way around a movie.
    Expand
  57. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    As never seen a film del Toro before, I can say I was a little frustrated with this film, since noticing how much he is super esteemed by critics, I was expecting a smart movie, innovative, and that is not attached to both special effects see this film was almost the same as watching a transformers only with much larger robots and other enemies, the script is simple, a bit lazy and no surprising twists, but the battles are not surprising, they put hallucinatory packed in rhythm a trail hesitant when they start do not stop this, it seems that the director had an outbreak of concept and noted that the plot was boring and clogged the action scenes (in this case it worked masterfully). Expand
  58. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Take all the japanese mecha concepts, including Gainax's animes, mix it with western mentality, and give it all to the correct director, and you get one kick-ass giant monster beat-down.

    I'll put it this way: THIS IS HOW TRANSFORMERS SHOULD HAVE BEEN. It does not need to have over the top CGI, It does not need to have to attempt to create great character developement, it does not need to have the whole army acting on every scene and it does not need to have some hot chick to attract the 13 years old. NO

    This movie incorporate the japanese mentality for giant mech movies, the same pulse-pounding action that I found as a kid watching Power Rangers. YES PEOPLE! I wrote f*cking Power Rangers.

    The fact that this is a homage is made clear by the mech anime influences, especially Evangelion, and I dare to say that it has a little bit of Gurren Lagann involved.

    Also what is amazing is that the fact that this movie does try to make you care about the characters, and since is pretty much metal-carnage, somehow you don't worry about them or their developement, you care more about the Jaegers and the nail-biting scenes where they take damage and the pilots take damage along.

    Now the bad things that I can point out that are minimal, are that despite that the movie is two hours long, it does feels a little bit rushed towards the end, but there was no other way in my opinion to incorporate the last minute exposition with everything going on.

    Another thing that I did point out above is the character developement. Sure, you feel sorry at times with some pilots and their Jaegers, but it could use a little bit more improvement in their story telling and their personalities. The main character looks like if at any time was gonna start crying and deliver a punch at whoever looked at him with an ugly face.

    But like I said, If you're for the character developement, dont' watch it.

    If you ever wanted to see a good western film about giant robot fighting Godzilla-like creatures, this is the movie for you.

    The movie's incredible CGI and 3D makes all of the negatives go away instantly, it makes Transformers rather horrendous!

    Also for those saying that is filled with clichés, that this has done before, bla bla bla. PEOPLE! NOT ALL OF US ARE GRUMPY 60 YEARS OLD THAT WATCHED EVERY SINGLE BLACK AND WHITE MOVIE EVER MADE!

    If you are going to encourage people into hating it because some story moments felt like there were done long ago, dude, f*ck you, they don't have to watch every single movie that MAAAAAYYY have something in common with this.

    If this was a movie that is taking directly ideas and concepts and stretching them up like some kind of monstruosity (I'm looking at you, Bay), this may have been a bad movie.

    But this is a homage, an honorific way to remind us all why we enjoy giant mech animes. This is not a movie for all, but for those that enjoy the japanese genre, it's a must see.
    Expand
  59. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    The best summer blockbuster, one of the best visual picture of all time! It also has engaging but predictable plot, Ok characters. Must see in IMAX, good job Del Toro
  60. ERB
    Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Obviously better than transformers.
  61. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    yes. just yes. in every way yes. this is every fan of action,sci fi and just pure awesomeness.the acting is pretty good its the action and back story that is the meat and bones of, what will hopefully spawn a long standing franchise.
  62. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim was probably one of the most intense action movies there have ever been-giant things crashing across landscapes, hardcore special effects in explosions, impacts, and more. Cliches were relatively common, but in a good way. Some of the storyline was a little bland, but overall, the flow of the movie was pretty good.
  63. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    Great visuals and music. Good and simple story. But what is best in this movie and the most entertaining is its action sequences. Believe me, everyone one would love it.
  64. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    This movie was an enjoyable movie. It had an OK plot, OK acting, but amazing fighting scenes. CGI was pretty great. The movie at times was funny, but more cheesy then anything which is a shame. That's what I don't like about action movies today, they are all trying too hard at being funny. Sure a few laugh scenes is fine, but most of it should be serious. The best actor I could pick out of this would probably be Newt. He did a great job. The Marshall was good at his role. The rest of them seemed pretty vanilla and showed low amounts of emotion, which is a shame. There were a few inconsistencies with the plot like how one thing was a huge issue and then not a big deal in about a few minutes (Trying not to spoil anything). Overall, I enjoyed the movie and it was worth 7 bucks to see on the big screen. Sadly, I give it a 6/10 because it was just an over alright movie for action junkies. I like a good plot. I base it on how good it was, not how much I enjoyed it. Expand
  65. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    All summer long I've been raring for a summer blockbuster that’s not based on some previously established material… enter 'Pacific Rim'; and and it delivers on multiple levels. Guillermo Del Toro gives the Kaiju sub-genre a sloppy wet kiss (in spectacular fashion) in this sci-fi monster movie. From Godzilla to Gundam Wing, the spirit of Japanese monster and mecha fiction flows through this movie like a breath of fresh air (or torrential rains), without it losing its sense of originality. Destructive monsters, known as Kaijus, have emerged from an interdimensional portal on the floor of the Pacific Ocean. In resistance, the humans have developed giant robots, called Jaegers, which are piloted by two or more individuals in order share the mental load of operating such large, complex machinery. This leads to the drift, a brilliant concept, and the means by which the pilots ‘mind meld’ (so to speak) to operate the mechas together, and potentially do more. Set many years into this war, Del Toro constructs a world that feels lived in and the designs for the kaijus and jaegers were truly brilliant. Any attempt he makes to develop his characters (which is for the most part successful in my opinion) is a bonus for this spectacle. And what a spectacle it was… I haven’t been this awestruck by big, loud, action scenes in a while. These sensational battle sequences wouldn't have been possible without the bombastic visual effect and sound mix; and not to mention the exceptionally creative, and dangerous sound designs. Yes, it may have only skimmed the surface of some its dramatic potential, but I went into this for a good time, and I got something inventive and visually spectacular as well. Del Toro is a true crafts man, and he crafts the most entertaining blockbuster to hit the theaters this summer. Expand
  66. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This is, by far, one of the best movies of 2013. The fight scenes are epic and the story is well written. There's a lot to like from this movie if you enjoy giant robot action films.
  67. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This movie is ridiculously fun. The IMAX 3D version was also another bonus, because you really get to feel the enormity of the monsters and robots in the film. I

    Bottom line: Don't go into this movie trying to criticize all the flaws of this movie...do this and you will not have fun. Instead, just go with the flow and immerse yourself into the story. It's some of the best action I've
    seen in a while and what's even better is that this is AN ORIGINAL STORY. How long has it been since we've had creative work produced? Support this movie, because it's success will encourage other studios to green-light more creative works as well. Expand
  68. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    When i have seen the trailer i was like its gonna be a Micheal bay movie clone. i was so wrong. This is one of the greatest movie i ever saw. I will put this as simple as possible its an attempt to release Japanese Mecha Style of animation series like Evangelion but with real actor. And they manage to do it. The music Are great the ambiance is there the special effect close to perfection the rhythm of the movie is really great no boring part or almost. The Actors/actress Deliver really well. I could listen the movie 3 times in the same week and not get bored. A must see movie. It has is place in my collection with Aliens, Predator any science fiction fan must see this and its way better than transformers 2 and 3. Expand
  69. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Best movie of the summer, possibly the year. The gaphics in this movie are amazing. And the story line is great. And the battles very well done, they couldn't have been done better. They really are intense though. But I think this movie was very well balanced with the battle and the story. And it isn't like man of steel were their is a lot of crazy action for no reason. The action is backed up by the storyline very nicely. And I thought the casting was very good too. Quite a bit of people don't agree. But I loved all the characters. And I loved the storyline, And it was great acting to. Anyways. I would recommend seeing this movie HIGHLY while it is still in theaters. seeing it on the big screen is the best way to go. Expand
  70. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    For more info, visit B-TEN.com Bullogna Score: 7.0/10! Very good. Personal Score: 9.0/10 Based on the hype the Godzilla-esque science-fiction Guillermo Del Toro film received, I had expectations for Pacific Rim. Honestly, I’m not sure whether they were good or bad expectations, but I expected this film to be significant compared to the recently lackluster Hollywood releases found throughout the Summer. Optimistically, I entered the theater with an open-mind, which is always a rewarding experience. When standards are set high, a moviegoer is likely to be disappointed, but in the case of Pacific Rim, I was far from it.

    The movie begins with an appetite for disaster. It immediately immerses you in this beautiful CGI world in which Earth is being attacked by an “alien” race called the Kaiju which actually derived from none other than our planet’s own Pacific waters. Then the movie prematurely establishes its largest flaw: the human characters. Raleigh and Yancy Becket are two over-confident ‘dude-bros’ piloting an older Jaegar (a gigantic humanoid mecha which requires two human controllers to mend in spirit in order for the bots to properly function) who provide awful first impressions for the films’ viewers, but perhaps this was a move made intentionally by Del Toro.

    As the film progresses, especially after the death of the irritating Yancy Becket, it gets better. Raleigh, however, is now alone and in desperate need of a new co-pilot, which in turn becomes the much more suitable Mako Mori who is forced to fight the terror of her near-death experience as a child during the mending process, but expectedly arrives at a more confident state, allowing for much more fluid Jaegar maneuvering.

    In an interesting side-story featuring Charlie Day as Dr. Newton Geiszler, a scientist who attempts to control the minds of Kaiju as pilots have done with the Jaegar, and nearly dies in the attempt. Day adds plenty of excitement and mild humor to an otherwise serious tale, and ultimately serves as a similar character to his role in It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, failing to truly fit the context of Pacific Rim. After nearly dying in an attempt to control a Kaiju brain, Geiszler, tends to the matter once again, in need of a second brain to experiment on. He then contact Hannibal Chau, a black marketer who makes a living selling Kaiju organs.

    The movie ends predictably with many giant Kaiju defeated and all the important cast still living, including Hannibal Chau, who was eaten by a Kaiju but who reappears after the end credits with an unexpected one-liner. Overall, the film is best seen on a much larger scale such as IMAX or RPX, but at the very least seen in stereoscopic 3D. Pacific Rim will probably go down as the best 3D film of the year, with the added dimension complementing the larger-than-life combat between Kaiju and Jaegar, and that alone is worth the $10 or so admission fee. It’s a fun action movie with a lacking storyline, but a proficient CG design that will leave you breathless with its flawless homage to Japanese pop culture.
    Expand
  71. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Decent reimagining of the classic Japanese monster movies. Story is pretty tame but it's geared towards a young audience (if I was 12 I'd love this movie). My only complaint is that there is not enough fight scenes and not enough cool weapons for the mecha to use.
  72. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This movie just blew my expectations, Pacific Rim was damn good. The story was fine, because it doesn't have to be groundbreaking, the movie has action sequences to back it up. The fights were exciting and jaw dropping, because you can actually understand what the machines and monsters are doing, the kaiju could really bring up a fight. The acting was good, it wasn't bad and the main actor, he did a decent job. Their was also a chemistry between the two main pilots and I'm glad that their were scenes of development, for their relationship. For me Pacific Rim has the same rating with Star Trek Into Darkness, because the of these movies were so good and I'm going to give Pacific Rim a 10/10. Expand
  73. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is a example of how to do an Action flick right, with great characters, original concept and dark storyline. It Knows when it needs to throw explosions in your face at the right times without getting boring. Take notes Michal Bay
  74. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved this movie. Many, unfortunately, will absolutely hate it. Those who love it will compare it to Star Wars, those who hated it will tell you it's nothing but boring monster punching robot kicking monster. The truth, I think, has elements of both. The elements of Star Wars that make fans love it are, by and large, laid on thick. What it's missing are well-done soapy elements that help Star Wars (and Battlestar Gallactica, etc...) more palatable to people who don't flat out love them. That's clearly hurting Pacific Rim at the box office, and should have been foreseen and remedied by a director with a deft hand. Expand
  75. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    I went in wanting giant mechas beating the crap out of equally giant monsters and the movie delivered on that. Low standards? Maybe, but the movie never promised to be some life changing experience. Just switch off your noodle and watch what equates to CGI pornography.

    I will say the characters were kind of flat though, I don't think there was any development between any of them. And in
    regards to some of the lines, it was sometimes very difficult to tell what was being said. Whether that was due to my theater's speakers, I can't say. Expand
  76. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    For all of the people who wrote a bad review about this movie, it's a shame that you can't realize why this movie is a gem. A lot of the bad reviews stem from people bashing the movie due to its week story. The story is not what makes this movie great and in my opinion shouldn't be too harshly criticized. Instead of trying to make a riveting story about something so ridiculous as giant man-made robots fighting aliens from beneath the ocean/another dimension, the people behind "Pacific Rim" decided to just go with a cliche plot and story. Not just cliche though, but cheesey. They sprinkled on the ricotta and sprinkled it with cheddar. It seems as if they knew what they wanted to do and just did it without over-thinking, and that's how a movie like this should be made. The action scenes where over-the-top and fun as hell to watch. The whole movie featured top-notch computer graphics that made everything come to life and made the whole movie compelling to watch. The acting was pretty good. Despite the cheeseyness there wasn't any real over-acting or any complaints in that department. One area this movie does not disappoint in whatsoever is the badassery of it all. Certain parts (if not the whole movie) will leave you with a jaw-dropped expression.

    All in all, it was a great movie and easily worth it to see in theaters. The inner kid in you will love this movie, and it's a great one to go with "the guys" to see. I can say without a doubt that I highly recommend "Pacific Rim"
    Expand
  77. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    I didn't really expect much so when very little was delivered I wasn't disappointed. The special effects were the only really plus for the movie. Del Toro's monsters and robots were amazing to look at, but the script was horrible. The plot was full of so many holes it just left me thinking damn....really?
  78. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is the result of taking one of the most imaginative directors alive today and giving him as much damn money as he wants: a truly spectacular film. While the plot and some of the characters are a little weak, the movie more than makes up for it with a magnificent sense of wonder and fun.

    The film's strongest points are easily its battles and visuals. Every set, Jaeger, and
    kaiju; each punch, throw, and stomp; all are lovingly realized with incredible care and attention to detail. It's hard not to experience a sense of awe watching the godlike conflict between monster and machine. Most of the battles take place during storms, and while I've heard complaints that this makes them difficult to follow, I couldn't disagree more. Not only did I have no trouble following the fights, I think the weather enhanced the overall sense of wonder. I believe del Toro was likening the power of the kaiju to that of a storm: immense, relentless, and ultimately indifferent to human suffering. Personally, I felt that visual metaphor bred a powerful atmosphere into the battles.

    While the actual plot is fairly silly, the world it takes place in is fascinating. I found the implications of the "drifting" mechanic particularly intriguing. While the film does explore its little mind-meld a bit, there are so many interesting questions about it that are left unanswered. If we are to get a sequel, I would definitely like to see a little more time spent examining the bond that forms between Jaeger pilots.

    Another common complaint involves the characters. While I actually quite liked the core cast (a little stilted dialogue here and there, but nothing ear-grating), I do wish the film had spent more time developing the less prominent Jaeger pilots. The Russian and Chinese pilots get remarkably little screen time, but simultaneously seem to have their own stories to tell.

    Despite it's lackluster characters, the film's dialogue delivers. Oh, yes, it's cheesy, but that's part of the charm. Passionately delivered lines like "Let's do this- together!" do a lot to reinforce the film's mood: big, heroic, and slightly campy.

    The soundtrack also does its part for the mood. Rather than default to "yet more vaguely dark sforzando eighth-notes," each track works to amplify the tone of the scene. The dark bits are genuinely dark, the heroic bits are genuinely heroic. Most of it doesn't work too well on its own (with tracks "Pacific Rim" and "Go Big or Go Extinct" being notable exceptions), but within the context of the movie, it's great.

    Overall, I feel like Pacific Rim is exactly what it was supposed to be: a big, beautiful, and undeniably fun love letter to mecha and kaiju, with an emphasis on fun. I'd be lying to say I felt anything less than GREAT walking out of this movie. It's that indescribable high that comes from experiencing something transcendentally awesome, and Pacific Rim doles it out in truckloads. Three days later, I'm still thinking about the movie, and loving it more and more as I do. I'm definitely going to try and scrounge up some friends and go see it again, and if I can't, I may just go alone. It's a fabulous movie, a major cut above the average summer blockbuster, so do yourself a favor and go watch the hell out of it.
    Expand
  79. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim Is a bit messy but also a punch of visuals and sounds effects they could have been more deeper into this but well the scenario is classic the way the movie go aswell

    Pretty good if you want to spend some time with your brain off if you were looking for the movie of the year it isnt!
  80. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Remind me much of the animated series Gundam (sorry for the spelling). Its like an animated movie come to life, with some touches of Daimos and Voltes V. :)
    Such a great action packed movie! I love it :D
  81. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    A very entertaining movie, good special effects, good performances, but the soundtrack did not taste much, and I think they missed action scenes with daylight.
  82. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim has a lot of what I want in a movie. Epic Fights, Giant Mechs, and Giant Godzilla-like monsters wrecking havoc in cities nearby Marianas trench. This movie has really nice effects and fights that look good to the eyes and really remind me of Transformers too. The downside to this movie is almost every character in this movie is a walking cliche and the plot really drops the ball in explaining the Kaiju's purpose for coming to Earth and the UN makes some pretty stupid decisions along the way. Overall I feel that this movie is a nice refresher to see a concept that for some reason isn't really used at all in movies outside the Japanese scene but I would love to see more of Pacific Rim! Expand
  83. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie! Lets be real though this movie was not made for its plot its robots fighting giant monsters!!! I was a big time manchild while watching this movie and I loved every second of its action scenes... The story line is definitely passable, despite some plot holes and spelling mistakes! Charlie Day is his usual hilarious self and despite my hatred of Ron Pearlman I was happy with his part in the movie...

    If you need a reason to see this movie look no further then its GIANT ROBOTS FIGHTING GIANT MONSTERS! COOL!
    Expand
  84. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Another movie where world comes to the brink of total destruction, but unlike other flicks, this one really makes you feel the threat. Plus terrific background score, screenplay and special effects coupled with a sound story line (no unwanted stuff), this movie is bound to be a major success. Hope there is a sequel coming soon.
  85. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    This for me was a draw back to my childhood, I thought the action was great the story is no Oscar winner but still good. Compared to other giant Mech movies the shooting was better and the action cleaner, not everything was thrown in, the small touches also really brought you in to this world.

    I will be seeing it again
  86. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    This is a good action movie BUT a bad written story. It is not the worst what could be but not the best.
    Pacific Rim is one of the movie when you expect only one thing(An good action film) you will enjoy this movie.If you want good written story with characters you give a sh*t about,go far away STAY far away!!
    This is one 2 hour wtf moment. If you like explosion big robots is all in
    this movie I think it is only in this movie.No other movie is like this.But is so rare it is it is bad. It is Not good to do a movie so rare and go and f*ck up The script and go and have the best 1 to 1 fight but I think it is too near the fights and I could not see the monsters only once or three times in the hole movie. Therefore it is only is only a 8 out of 10. Expand
  87. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    To put it frankly, Pacific Rim knows exactly what it's audience is, what they want to see, and delivers. Think of it like WWE or showtime wrestling. The wrestlers (robots) have some sort of distinguishable flair, that makes them a contender in the ring. And although you know it's all fake, the effort put into putting on a huge, dramatic, epic show still exhilarates you every time. You know those moments where you're watching a contact sport and a player gets blindsided with a huge hit making you cringe and let out a "ooohhhh". It's that feeling over and over again as you watch a huge heavy metal fist contact with alien face.

    It's a film that taps into that little kid in all of us that just wants to see sure unadulterated destruction at over the top levels. By goodness, the 9 year old me is beaming with pride.

    Sure the plot has about the same amount of back story as a modern pornography flick (to those who don't partake, it's not much talking and a lot of action), and sure maybe Charlie Day was the best character in the entire movie. But to take all this into consideration is futile. If you want to deal with inspiration, existential stuff, go to sundance festival and leave your critic's hat there while you're at it. This is the little rascal's tree house. No adults allowed.
    Expand
  88. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    just awesome. its been a very long time i`ve not seen a movie that i would want to see twice. JUST INCREDIBLY AWESOME,,,,RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!!~
  89. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I went in to this film thinking it was going to be a typical brainless action flick, and it pleasantly surprised me. I didn't find any of the dialogue cheesy or fake, though it certainly wasn't Oscar material by any means, either. The visuals score a 10 out of 10 and the rest of the film a 7 of 10, so I averaged them out into an 8.
  90. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    phenomenal special effects, great characters and a well-thought out plot with good dialogue. This movie delivers exceptionally in several aspects especially special effects. Great summer movie with unbelievable action.
  91. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    If you didn't like this movie, then you just plain hate fun. Sure, the plot may be a little underdeveloped. Sure, the characters may almost be stock. But when you go to see a movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters and you don't like the giant robots or giant monsters part, or hell, even the FIGHTING part, then why did you even see it? You're better off watching The Notebook or something, and you are not the kind of person I would want to be associated with. Expand
  92. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pros: Delivered what was promised, Robots vs Monsters, Brilliant sound, beautiful CG
    Cons: Incredibly predictable, plot exists to tie up monster fights, cliches up the butt

    Well I got what I was expecting with the movie i'll give it that much. It delivered on what it promised in the trailers, giant robots fighting giant monsters. While some elements of the plot were obvious and cliche it still delivered and I can't fault it for doing what it set out to do.

    Pacific Rim doesn't bother giving us a massively fleshed out back story, its the most basic of stories before we're thrown right into the action. Jaegars fighting Kaiju, man it's awesome to watch.

    The plot just feels like it's there to tie in the monster fights though and you can take bets on which of the Jaegars dies next pretty much, its not trying to hide anything and 90% of the "twists" can be seen a mile off without even having both eyes open.

    Another annoying point is the constant cliche in action movies. There is always a renegade maverick who doesn't play by the rules and its because he doesn't play by the rules that he either (1. Is discharged from his job or 2. Leaves because something bad happened because he didn't play by the rules.) But then he's called back because they need someone who doesn't play by the rules and ARGH! That one cliche just p*sses me the ever loving f*ck off.

    Aside from that its what you pay to see, Monsters vs Robots. Just don't expect a thrilling epic tale of tragedy and woe thrown in with the story. It's cliche characters being cliche, and that's ok for this move.
    Expand
  93. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    I went into this film with the expectation that there was going to be little plot and mostly explosions with big mechs and monsters. From that standpoint I was not disappointed. The movie is your standard summer blockbuster fair. Entertaining enough, but lacking real long term substance to make me see this more then twice. There was no plot in this movie beyond the basics of aliens, robots, robots kill aliens, robots must stop invasion. Nothing more, nothing less. I gave this movie a 6 for one simple reason. The genre of big robots has been sorely overlooked by Western cinema. There is something to be said for big robots that are going hand to claw against big monsters. Its a basic movie concept, but one that deserves to be played up from time to time....but don't make a habit out of it Hollywood. Expand
  94. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    big robots vs giant monstrous aliens means a amazing action packed movie that is a great tribute to monster movies but also a great original worlds and story great job Del Toro great job
  95. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    This year I haven't seen such a movie with so spectacular visual effects on an epic scale like "Pacific Rim". Director Guillermo del Toro has a wonderful imagination and he still knows how to amaze us. The battles between the Jaegers and Kaiju monsters are spectacular. An excellent complement to this movie is the score composed by Ramin Djawadi. "Pacific Rim" is definitely the best summer blockbuster movie of the 2013! I wouldn't be surprised if it got Academy Awards in technical categories (Best Visual Effects, Best Sound, Best Sound Editing). Expand
  96. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Neon Genesis Evangelion IRL. Thats what you need to know.
    No, srsly it was very well written and delivered a compeling story from start to finish. The Score was fantastic, as the main theme developed over the course of the film, like in many other epic oriented movies.
    I disliked the WAY to cheese character of the black market leader. It almost ruined the realistic feeling of the movie.

    Besides that, I recommend it to anyone looking for a good scifi/action movie, and definetly to mecha fans. (altough I am not)
    The Film deserves a 8.5 in my Eyes, but the really bad, baseless reviews, are just improper and the film does not deserve this.
    Expand
  97. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Such a smart and spectacular movie. It gets you from the beginning to the end. It is everything you expected from a robots vs. monsters movie. It has also quite good 3D effects.
  98. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    Pacific rim is amazing. The best movie of the year so far and if you can watch it then go see it. it has Great action is well filmed and has visually stunning fights which feel like big robots vs big monsters should. the story is surprisingly amazing as well so with the great fights great story and it being truly coherent it makes a near perfect movie.like all of the cast are good from are male and female protagonist to the scientists and the story keeps you intrigued through the entire thing Expand
  99. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    If this movie were a person.. It'd be the most interesting man and chuck norris fused into one great bunch.. It's worth seeing once just for the ride.. a second time for the special effects.. and a third time to show off to your friends.. Best movie of the summer for me besides the Hobbit.. Both are truly.. a Great Journey.
  100. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie that differs from everything else released this summer. The 3D effects in it are very well executed, and not the typical cliche "Poking-Hand-Out-Of-Screen-For-The-Sake-Of-3D" thing you see in typical 3D movies. It actually makes you feel like you're IN the world with how it's executed.

    I would heavily recommend watching this if you like big robots and monsters fighting, even though it's story is a little dry outside of the fighting in my personal opinion.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.