Pacific Rim

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1465 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This movie just blew my expectations, Pacific Rim was damn good. The story was fine, because it doesn't have to be groundbreaking, the movie has action sequences to back it up. The fights were exciting and jaw dropping, because you can actually understand what the machines and monsters are doing, the kaiju could really bring up a fight. The acting was good, it wasn't bad and the mainThis movie just blew my expectations, Pacific Rim was damn good. The story was fine, because it doesn't have to be groundbreaking, the movie has action sequences to back it up. The fights were exciting and jaw dropping, because you can actually understand what the machines and monsters are doing, the kaiju could really bring up a fight. The acting was good, it wasn't bad and the main actor, he did a decent job. Their was also a chemistry between the two main pilots and I'm glad that their were scenes of development, for their relationship. For me Pacific Rim has the same rating with Star Trek Into Darkness, because the of these movies were so good and I'm going to give Pacific Rim a 10/10. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is a example of how to do an Action flick right, with great characters, original concept and dark storyline. It Knows when it needs to throw explosions in your face at the right times without getting boring. Take notes Michal Bay
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved this movie. Many, unfortunately, will absolutely hate it. Those who love it will compare it to Star Wars, those who hated it will tell you it's nothing but boring monster punching robot kicking monster. The truth, I think, has elements of both. The elements of Star Wars that make fans love it are, by and large, laid on thick. What it's missing are well-done soapyI absolutely loved this movie. Many, unfortunately, will absolutely hate it. Those who love it will compare it to Star Wars, those who hated it will tell you it's nothing but boring monster punching robot kicking monster. The truth, I think, has elements of both. The elements of Star Wars that make fans love it are, by and large, laid on thick. What it's missing are well-done soapy elements that help Star Wars (and Battlestar Gallactica, etc...) more palatable to people who don't flat out love them. That's clearly hurting Pacific Rim at the box office, and should have been foreseen and remedied by a director with a deft hand. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    For all of the people who wrote a bad review about this movie, it's a shame that you can't realize why this movie is a gem. A lot of the bad reviews stem from people bashing the movie due to its week story. The story is not what makes this movie great and in my opinion shouldn't be too harshly criticized. Instead of trying to make a riveting story about something so ridiculous as giantFor all of the people who wrote a bad review about this movie, it's a shame that you can't realize why this movie is a gem. A lot of the bad reviews stem from people bashing the movie due to its week story. The story is not what makes this movie great and in my opinion shouldn't be too harshly criticized. Instead of trying to make a riveting story about something so ridiculous as giant man-made robots fighting aliens from beneath the ocean/another dimension, the people behind "Pacific Rim" decided to just go with a cliche plot and story. Not just cliche though, but cheesey. They sprinkled on the ricotta and sprinkled it with cheddar. It seems as if they knew what they wanted to do and just did it without over-thinking, and that's how a movie like this should be made. The action scenes where over-the-top and fun as hell to watch. The whole movie featured top-notch computer graphics that made everything come to life and made the whole movie compelling to watch. The acting was pretty good. Despite the cheeseyness there wasn't any real over-acting or any complaints in that department. One area this movie does not disappoint in whatsoever is the badassery of it all. Certain parts (if not the whole movie) will leave you with a jaw-dropped expression.

    All in all, it was a great movie and easily worth it to see in theaters. The inner kid in you will love this movie, and it's a great one to go with "the guys" to see. I can say without a doubt that I highly recommend "Pacific Rim"
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is the result of taking one of the most imaginative directors alive today and giving him as much damn money as he wants: a truly spectacular film. While the plot and some of the characters are a little weak, the movie more than makes up for it with a magnificent sense of wonder and fun.

    The film's strongest points are easily its battles and visuals. Every set, Jaeger, and
    Pacific Rim is the result of taking one of the most imaginative directors alive today and giving him as much damn money as he wants: a truly spectacular film. While the plot and some of the characters are a little weak, the movie more than makes up for it with a magnificent sense of wonder and fun.

    The film's strongest points are easily its battles and visuals. Every set, Jaeger, and kaiju; each punch, throw, and stomp; all are lovingly realized with incredible care and attention to detail. It's hard not to experience a sense of awe watching the godlike conflict between monster and machine. Most of the battles take place during storms, and while I've heard complaints that this makes them difficult to follow, I couldn't disagree more. Not only did I have no trouble following the fights, I think the weather enhanced the overall sense of wonder. I believe del Toro was likening the power of the kaiju to that of a storm: immense, relentless, and ultimately indifferent to human suffering. Personally, I felt that visual metaphor bred a powerful atmosphere into the battles.

    While the actual plot is fairly silly, the world it takes place in is fascinating. I found the implications of the "drifting" mechanic particularly intriguing. While the film does explore its little mind-meld a bit, there are so many interesting questions about it that are left unanswered. If we are to get a sequel, I would definitely like to see a little more time spent examining the bond that forms between Jaeger pilots.

    Another common complaint involves the characters. While I actually quite liked the core cast (a little stilted dialogue here and there, but nothing ear-grating), I do wish the film had spent more time developing the less prominent Jaeger pilots. The Russian and Chinese pilots get remarkably little screen time, but simultaneously seem to have their own stories to tell.

    Despite it's lackluster characters, the film's dialogue delivers. Oh, yes, it's cheesy, but that's part of the charm. Passionately delivered lines like "Let's do this- together!" do a lot to reinforce the film's mood: big, heroic, and slightly campy.

    The soundtrack also does its part for the mood. Rather than default to "yet more vaguely dark sforzando eighth-notes," each track works to amplify the tone of the scene. The dark bits are genuinely dark, the heroic bits are genuinely heroic. Most of it doesn't work too well on its own (with tracks "Pacific Rim" and "Go Big or Go Extinct" being notable exceptions), but within the context of the movie, it's great.

    Overall, I feel like Pacific Rim is exactly what it was supposed to be: a big, beautiful, and undeniably fun love letter to mecha and kaiju, with an emphasis on fun. I'd be lying to say I felt anything less than GREAT walking out of this movie. It's that indescribable high that comes from experiencing something transcendentally awesome, and Pacific Rim doles it out in truckloads. Three days later, I'm still thinking about the movie, and loving it more and more as I do. I'm definitely going to try and scrounge up some friends and go see it again, and if I can't, I may just go alone. It's a fabulous movie, a major cut above the average summer blockbuster, so do yourself a favor and go watch the hell out of it.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Remind me much of the animated series Gundam (sorry for the spelling). Its like an animated movie come to life, with some touches of Daimos and Voltes V. :)
    Such a great action packed movie! I love it :D
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    A very entertaining movie, good special effects, good performances, but the soundtrack did not taste much, and I think they missed action scenes with daylight.
  8. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie! Lets be real though this movie was not made for its plot its robots fighting giant monsters!!! I was a big time manchild while watching this movie and I loved every second of its action scenes... The story line is definitely passable, despite some plot holes and spelling mistakes! Charlie Day is his usual hilarious self and despite my hatred of Ron Pearlman I was happyI loved this movie! Lets be real though this movie was not made for its plot its robots fighting giant monsters!!! I was a big time manchild while watching this movie and I loved every second of its action scenes... The story line is definitely passable, despite some plot holes and spelling mistakes! Charlie Day is his usual hilarious self and despite my hatred of Ron Pearlman I was happy with his part in the movie...

    If you need a reason to see this movie look no further then its GIANT ROBOTS FIGHTING GIANT MONSTERS! COOL!
    Expand
  9. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Another movie where world comes to the brink of total destruction, but unlike other flicks, this one really makes you feel the threat. Plus terrific background score, screenplay and special effects coupled with a sound story line (no unwanted stuff), this movie is bound to be a major success. Hope there is a sequel coming soon.
  10. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    This for me was a draw back to my childhood, I thought the action was great the story is no Oscar winner but still good. Compared to other giant Mech movies the shooting was better and the action cleaner, not everything was thrown in, the small touches also really brought you in to this world.

    I will be seeing it again
  11. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    This is a good action movie BUT a bad written story. It is not the worst what could be but not the best.
    Pacific Rim is one of the movie when you expect only one thing(An good action film) you will enjoy this movie.If you want good written story with characters you give a sh*t about,go far away STAY far away!!
    This is one 2 hour wtf moment. If you like explosion big robots is all in
    This is a good action movie BUT a bad written story. It is not the worst what could be but not the best.
    Pacific Rim is one of the movie when you expect only one thing(An good action film) you will enjoy this movie.If you want good written story with characters you give a sh*t about,go far away STAY far away!!
    This is one 2 hour wtf moment. If you like explosion big robots is all in this movie I think it is only in this movie.No other movie is like this.But is so rare it is it is bad. It is Not good to do a movie so rare and go and f*ck up The script and go and have the best 1 to 1 fight but I think it is too near the fights and I could not see the monsters only once or three times in the hole movie. Therefore it is only is only a 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  12. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    To put it frankly, Pacific Rim knows exactly what it's audience is, what they want to see, and delivers. Think of it like WWE or showtime wrestling. The wrestlers (robots) have some sort of distinguishable flair, that makes them a contender in the ring. And although you know it's all fake, the effort put into putting on a huge, dramatic, epic show still exhilarates you every time. YouTo put it frankly, Pacific Rim knows exactly what it's audience is, what they want to see, and delivers. Think of it like WWE or showtime wrestling. The wrestlers (robots) have some sort of distinguishable flair, that makes them a contender in the ring. And although you know it's all fake, the effort put into putting on a huge, dramatic, epic show still exhilarates you every time. You know those moments where you're watching a contact sport and a player gets blindsided with a huge hit making you cringe and let out a "ooohhhh". It's that feeling over and over again as you watch a huge heavy metal fist contact with alien face.

    It's a film that taps into that little kid in all of us that just wants to see sure unadulterated destruction at over the top levels. By goodness, the 9 year old me is beaming with pride.

    Sure the plot has about the same amount of back story as a modern pornography flick (to those who don't partake, it's not much talking and a lot of action), and sure maybe Charlie Day was the best character in the entire movie. But to take all this into consideration is futile. If you want to deal with inspiration, existential stuff, go to sundance festival and leave your critic's hat there while you're at it. This is the little rascal's tree house. No adults allowed.
    Expand
  13. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I went in to this film thinking it was going to be a typical brainless action flick, and it pleasantly surprised me. I didn't find any of the dialogue cheesy or fake, though it certainly wasn't Oscar material by any means, either. The visuals score a 10 out of 10 and the rest of the film a 7 of 10, so I averaged them out into an 8.
  14. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    phenomenal special effects, great characters and a well-thought out plot with good dialogue. This movie delivers exceptionally in several aspects especially special effects. Great summer movie with unbelievable action.
  15. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    If you didn't like this movie, then you just plain hate fun. Sure, the plot may be a little underdeveloped. Sure, the characters may almost be stock. But when you go to see a movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters and you don't like the giant robots or giant monsters part, or hell, even the FIGHTING part, then why did you even see it? You're better off watching The Notebook orIf you didn't like this movie, then you just plain hate fun. Sure, the plot may be a little underdeveloped. Sure, the characters may almost be stock. But when you go to see a movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters and you don't like the giant robots or giant monsters part, or hell, even the FIGHTING part, then why did you even see it? You're better off watching The Notebook or something, and you are not the kind of person I would want to be associated with. Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    I went into this film with the expectation that there was going to be little plot and mostly explosions with big mechs and monsters. From that standpoint I was not disappointed. The movie is your standard summer blockbuster fair. Entertaining enough, but lacking real long term substance to make me see this more then twice. There was no plot in this movie beyond the basics of aliens,I went into this film with the expectation that there was going to be little plot and mostly explosions with big mechs and monsters. From that standpoint I was not disappointed. The movie is your standard summer blockbuster fair. Entertaining enough, but lacking real long term substance to make me see this more then twice. There was no plot in this movie beyond the basics of aliens, robots, robots kill aliens, robots must stop invasion. Nothing more, nothing less. I gave this movie a 6 for one simple reason. The genre of big robots has been sorely overlooked by Western cinema. There is something to be said for big robots that are going hand to claw against big monsters. Its a basic movie concept, but one that deserves to be played up from time to time....but don't make a habit out of it Hollywood. Expand
  17. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    big robots vs giant monstrous aliens means a amazing action packed movie that is a great tribute to monster movies but also a great original worlds and story great job Del Toro great job
  18. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    This year I haven't seen such a movie with so spectacular visual effects on an epic scale like "Pacific Rim". Director Guillermo del Toro has a wonderful imagination and he still knows how to amaze us. The battles between the Jaegers and Kaiju monsters are spectacular. An excellent complement to this movie is the score composed by Ramin Djawadi. "Pacific Rim" is definitely the best summerThis year I haven't seen such a movie with so spectacular visual effects on an epic scale like "Pacific Rim". Director Guillermo del Toro has a wonderful imagination and he still knows how to amaze us. The battles between the Jaegers and Kaiju monsters are spectacular. An excellent complement to this movie is the score composed by Ramin Djawadi. "Pacific Rim" is definitely the best summer blockbuster movie of the 2013! I wouldn't be surprised if it got Academy Awards in technical categories (Best Visual Effects, Best Sound, Best Sound Editing). Expand
  19. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Neon Genesis Evangelion IRL. Thats what you need to know.
    No, srsly it was very well written and delivered a compeling story from start to finish. The Score was fantastic, as the main theme developed over the course of the film, like in many other epic oriented movies.
    I disliked the WAY to cheese character of the black market leader. It almost ruined the realistic feeling of the movie.
    Neon Genesis Evangelion IRL. Thats what you need to know.
    No, srsly it was very well written and delivered a compeling story from start to finish. The Score was fantastic, as the main theme developed over the course of the film, like in many other epic oriented movies.
    I disliked the WAY to cheese character of the black market leader. It almost ruined the realistic feeling of the movie.
    Besides that, I recommend it to anyone looking for a good scifi/action movie, and definetly to mecha fans. (altough I am not)
    The Film deserves a 8.5 in my Eyes, but the really bad, baseless reviews, are just improper and the film does not deserve this.
    Expand
  20. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Such a smart and spectacular movie. It gets you from the beginning to the end. It is everything you expected from a robots vs. monsters movie. It has also quite good 3D effects.
  21. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    Pacific rim is amazing. The best movie of the year so far and if you can watch it then go see it. it has Great action is well filmed and has visually stunning fights which feel like big robots vs big monsters should. the story is surprisingly amazing as well so with the great fights great story and it being truly coherent it makes a near perfect movie.like all of the cast are good from arePacific rim is amazing. The best movie of the year so far and if you can watch it then go see it. it has Great action is well filmed and has visually stunning fights which feel like big robots vs big monsters should. the story is surprisingly amazing as well so with the great fights great story and it being truly coherent it makes a near perfect movie.like all of the cast are good from are male and female protagonist to the scientists and the story keeps you intrigued through the entire thing Expand
  22. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    If this movie were a person.. It'd be the most interesting man and chuck norris fused into one great bunch.. It's worth seeing once just for the ride.. a second time for the special effects.. and a third time to show off to your friends.. Best movie of the summer for me besides the Hobbit.. Both are truly.. a Great Journey.
  23. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie that differs from everything else released this summer. The 3D effects in it are very well executed, and not the typical cliche "Poking-Hand-Out-Of-Screen-For-The-Sake-Of-3D" thing you see in typical 3D movies. It actually makes you feel like you're IN the world with how it's executed.

    I would heavily recommend watching this if you like big robots and monsters fighting, even though it's story is a little dry outside of the fighting in my personal opinion.
    Expand
  24. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really enjoyed this movie. had low expectations going in but left very satisfied. loved that they were not afraid of killing of characters. would have been more effective if Raleigh died at the end though, saving humanity. Also failed in the humor category. but loved the action and the character development. Expand
  25. Aug 8, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a movie for teen
    and all we know that the kid and teen like this kind of movie
    it is make the one interesting and want to watch it for the End and Know what happened

    it is wonderful in 3D
  26. LTR
    Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This is a great monster movie. The story is great, the characters are good, the action is great and the monsters are creative. This movie is a great way to show that monster movies are still great.
  27. May 25, 2014
    7
    This is one of those films you just have to watch on the big screen to have the full experience it's just awesome. The movie has had the best visuals of the year so far overtaking Star Trek Into Darkness it was so colorful i could see that just from the trailers. It has an amazing cast Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Ron Perlman, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman. Guillermo del Toro definitely showsThis is one of those films you just have to watch on the big screen to have the full experience it's just awesome. The movie has had the best visuals of the year so far overtaking Star Trek Into Darkness it was so colorful i could see that just from the trailers. It has an amazing cast Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Ron Perlman, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman. Guillermo del Toro definitely shows his directing skills again with some amazing shots. You can see just how huge the Kaiju and the robots are you really get a sense of the scale those things. Had some great dialog with some witty light sense humor that you can expect in del Toro's recent movies. Also i guess you could call this original but this kind of thing has been seen many times before just del toro pulls it off like a champ.

    Overall i give it a 7.0 for sure buying this on blu ray and watching it multiple times. Another film to add to my del Toro movie collection. So cool that Pacific rim 2 is going to happen so we can see more of these awesome fights.
    Expand
  28. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was fairly good movie yes there was some silly parts and annoying bits but over all it was an action packed movie with a few good laughs i would recommend it
  29. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    excellent and plenty of action to keep you looking at the screen and not at your ice cream the fighting and battles were to my taste and the robots though a bit far fetched played their part in making this film worth watching
  30. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    Surprising, is what I'd say. It's far from original, and heavily convoluted, but it makes up in it's effects and comical tone by Charlie Day. Overall, it stands higher than expected.
  31. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    De lo mejor de todo el 2013, es grande, fantástico, un gran boom, tan grande como los mismos Kaijus. La experiencia de Del Toro para crear personas de fantasía es innegable. No se necesita de explosiones ni exageraciones para sostener la película, con mucha trama te lleva de la emoción al asombro.
  32. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film Pacific Rim begins with some background information. We are informed that deep beneath the Pacific Ocean a rift through time and space opened up and gigantic creatures named Kaiju began to emerge from the ocean's depths. The Kaiju begin began to attack populated areas and from the start it appears that mankind does not stand a chance against these terrible creatures. In response the countries of the world pool their resources and create giant mechanical robots to fight against the Kaiju. These robots known as Jaegers are controlled by two pilots who fuse their neural centrals so that they can share the mental load that is needed to control the Jaegers. But as the war continues on for over ten years, the Jaegers begin to lose and the Kaiju are only becoming stronger. Former pilot Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) is called back into the Jaeger program for a last attempt to take out the Kaiju by the four remaining Jaegers. And if they fail their objective, it will mean the end of human race. But there is much about the Kaiju that humans still do not know.
    The film is helmed by Mexican director Guillermo Del Toro, known for directing Pan's Labyrinth (2006) and the Hellboy series. In Pacific Rim he shows all the talent he has in the past. The film can appeal to a wide audience and yet at its heart is very simple. Pacific Rim at its core is a love letter to japanese monster movies. Visually it is amazing, the special effects are pulled off quite well and you can really feel the size and weight of the Jaegers and the Kaiju. Del Toro also tosses in details that really flesh out the environment, such as acknowledgment of a group who are considered "Kaiju Groupies". By adding little details like that it makes the film's world all the more real.
    The screenplay (written by Del Toro and Travis Beacham) is well done and the characters are all very diverse and memorable. The best performance is done by Idris Elba as the leader of the Jaeger program. Going into the film I expected his performance not to be very notable but he broke the stereotype of a standard army commander and generally surprised me with his talent. Another great character is a pilot portrayed by Rinko Kikuchi, who gives a very heartfelt performance as a pilot with a tragic backstory that really brings to life the war between the humans and the Kaiju. Its just another detail that increases how immersive an environment Del Toro creates with this film. Not far into the movie I generally believed in the film's universe that included characters who acted like real people as well as machines and monsters beyond our wildest imaginations.
    But like every film Pacific Rim is not perfect and it contains flaws. Such is with an aforementioned "Kaiju Groupie" portrayed by Charlie Day. His character struck a really annoying nerve with me and I didn't enjoy the moments when he was on screen. But even with that said, his character is still realistic, its just not a person I'd like to meet in real life. The only other notable flaw I can mention is that soundtrack was fine and all but was rather repetitive. But despite its flaws I believe Del Toro once again created an incredibly immersive, action heavy, summer blockbuster that is not likely to be forgotten in the coming years.
    Expand
  33. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    The movie story and story development are excellent, as well as the CGI. Only big thing wrong with the movie is the: Generic Movie Hero #4623 aka Raleigh Becket (main character) thrown in this universe to solve its problems which are solvable in only cliché means and ways as in most of the movies today. And there is the lack of distance between events as everything seems like its piled onThe movie story and story development are excellent, as well as the CGI. Only big thing wrong with the movie is the: Generic Movie Hero #4623 aka Raleigh Becket (main character) thrown in this universe to solve its problems which are solvable in only cliché means and ways as in most of the movies today. And there is the lack of distance between events as everything seems like its piled on top of each other and glued together so it wont separate. Camera man decided to film every action scene with Zoom on 200%, and movie physics is sometimes unrealistic.

    And there is a constant question: If they have all the ranged weapons and melee weapons why don't they use them at the start of the battle and not in the most critical time? All that partially or mostly fades away (dependent on the public) as the movie action, special effects and sometimes a bad-ass scene or a moment takes place. Overall the movie is great and you should watch it.
    Expand
  34. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim: A whole lot of awesome. Story: Consistent throughout the film although I felt it could have been a bit better, but lets talk about why people really watched the film: Kaiju vs Jaegers. Giant aliens vs Giant Robots, what more could you ask for? Amazing visuals combined with huge,crazy action is just awesome. All the characters are portrayed well by their Actors/Actresses, noPacific Rim: A whole lot of awesome. Story: Consistent throughout the film although I felt it could have been a bit better, but lets talk about why people really watched the film: Kaiju vs Jaegers. Giant aliens vs Giant Robots, what more could you ask for? Amazing visuals combined with huge,crazy action is just awesome. All the characters are portrayed well by their Actors/Actresses, no standout performances as they all seem to be just doing what they have been told to do. If you want an amazing story this is not the film for you but if you want to see full on fights between giants, watch the movie. 8/10 Expand
  35. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    This movie has done something very hard, something not many movies of the genre can do. It is a movie just as entertaining and captivating to a 5 year old as it is to a 50 year old. There are not many good movies coming out in recent history, but this particular one is a gem. I am very pleased that del Toro's first major budged movie was a success, he is a spectacular writer.

    I
    This movie has done something very hard, something not many movies of the genre can do. It is a movie just as entertaining and captivating to a 5 year old as it is to a 50 year old. There are not many good movies coming out in recent history, but this particular one is a gem. I am very pleased that del Toro's first major budged movie was a success, he is a spectacular writer.

    I personally enjoy movies with heavy thought, such as Donnie Darko and movies with mindless action such as expendables. This movie didn't need to suit either category. I can only hope that other Asian to American style conversions can be as successful as Pacific Rim.
    Expand
  36. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim might not be a groundbreaking film, but it's not bad by any means and pretty much everybody can enjoy it regardless of their taste. The movie is extremely spectacular, thanks to its great visuals and music sound effects that make the action scenes truly shine. It is true, though, that the plot isn't too original (but I must admit that taking ideas from Japanese culture madePacific Rim might not be a groundbreaking film, but it's not bad by any means and pretty much everybody can enjoy it regardless of their taste. The movie is extremely spectacular, thanks to its great visuals and music sound effects that make the action scenes truly shine. It is true, though, that the plot isn't too original (but I must admit that taking ideas from Japanese culture made the plot more interesting) and it's handled in a typical and cheesy way. Despite its flaws, Pacific Rim is a decent and entertaining movie.

    Scoring:

    Production Values (Sound Visuals): 9/10 (good all-around and immersive)
    Story Characters: 4/10 (typical and a bit cheesy but has a good pacing)
    Enjoyment: 7/10 (the action scenes are well done and you don't have time to get bored)
    Total: 6.7/10
    Expand
  37. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I loved Pacific Rim. I can't say the amount of awesomeness this movie had/has, and it was BAD-ASS in the theatre. It probably won't be so epic when watched by your own little TV, but it's still epic. The fighting scenes were beautiful and very well done, the effects were super-cool and oh-my-god. THE MUSIC. Main theme is one of my favorite movie songs of all time. I totally recommend thisI loved Pacific Rim. I can't say the amount of awesomeness this movie had/has, and it was BAD-ASS in the theatre. It probably won't be so epic when watched by your own little TV, but it's still epic. The fighting scenes were beautiful and very well done, the effects were super-cool and oh-my-god. THE MUSIC. Main theme is one of my favorite movie songs of all time. I totally recommend this to ANYONE who loves epic effects, awesome action scenes and kaijus! Expand
  38. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    Guillermo del Toro nos ha entregado una de las películas más entretenida de este verano. Con una historia sencilla y liviana Pacific Rim no requiere tanto de tu mente. Más bien invita a tus ojos a pasar un momento excelsamente entretenido. Las peleas entre estos gigantes fueron increíblemente entretenidas y los detalles, que nos recuerdan quien es el director que estamos viendo, hacen deGuillermo del Toro nos ha entregado una de las películas más entretenida de este verano. Con una historia sencilla y liviana Pacific Rim no requiere tanto de tu mente. Más bien invita a tus ojos a pasar un momento excelsamente entretenido. Las peleas entre estos gigantes fueron increíblemente entretenidas y los detalles, que nos recuerdan quien es el director que estamos viendo, hacen de Pacific Rim un paseo en una montaña rusa. Entiendo que el hecho de que la historia haya sido débil no debe ser un factor para mal juzgar a este filme. Pues me parecen que las intenciones de la producción no eran poner a las personas a pensar. Simplemente, la película no es difícil de disfrutar. Si realmente te interesan los efectos especiales y visuales esta es tu película. Expand
  39. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Very, very nice! The best movie ever! I love Raleigh Becket.. he's so hot. I love that scene where he was shirtless.. Nice movie! MUST SEE. It's really worth watching. Very underrated.
  40. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    When you sit down to watch this movie, don't expect fantastic acting, interesting dialogue or a compelling story. Instead, this film is absolutley perfect at what it aims to do; its a balls out, over the top action spectacle.
  41. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Maybe the trama sounds similar like Evangelion, Godzilla, & Transformers, but Pacific Rim has something different, and is the cool part of the movie, the visual effects are A M A Z I N G, the story has a fantastic development, the 3D is great, and the performances are great. Pacific Rim is one of the most espectacular movies of this year.
  42. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    I really liked this movie. Who wouldn't want to watch Gundams finally done in a blockbuster movie? However, the mistake was in how this movie was cut. It should have shown less fight scenes and CGI destruction porn, and more of the dynamic between Mako and whatever Hunnam's character was named. There are scenes where the connection between the two does not really make sense unless thereI really liked this movie. Who wouldn't want to watch Gundams finally done in a blockbuster movie? However, the mistake was in how this movie was cut. It should have shown less fight scenes and CGI destruction porn, and more of the dynamic between Mako and whatever Hunnam's character was named. There are scenes where the connection between the two does not really make sense unless there was a bigger romantic arc between the two of them that was cut in favor of more kaiju scenes. I realize that this is not a serialized anime, and we can't have all the stories given time to unfold; however, I'm just disappointed because just like in Man of Steel, CGI carnage becomes tedious after a while. Expand
  43. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a really interesting and unique movie. The battles between the robots and the monsters are freakin amazing. This is an amazing movie to watch in 3D. The story is pretty predictable, but their are some funny moments. Overall Score=75/100
  44. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    awesome movie it was action after action i watched it first day out and i loved it its defiantly worth watching again i would recommend this movie to everyone because the story line gets you thinking
    i waited a long time to watch this movie and i wasn't disappointed
  45. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Forget anyone who whines about the film, it's fantastic. I've seen a lot of films like this and am rarely impressed. For sheer spectacle it's creative and incredible. Characters aren't all your typical American hero (although they do feature, which in this sort of gung-ho action film is entirely acceptable) they come from an array of backgrounds and provide their own basic motives,Forget anyone who whines about the film, it's fantastic. I've seen a lot of films like this and am rarely impressed. For sheer spectacle it's creative and incredible. Characters aren't all your typical American hero (although they do feature, which in this sort of gung-ho action film is entirely acceptable) they come from an array of backgrounds and provide their own basic motives, fleshing them out a little. They really try everything to create a believable atmosphere in a completely bizarre and unrealistic complex and surprisingly succeed. When reading negative reviews it's obvious that these people went into this film with far too high minded an attitude, lost in their own belief that an action epic such as this isn't good because it doesn't hold a bigger message for them I'll give them the bigger message get over yourself, stop watching so many films and enjoy them for what they are. Seriously, the cover has a giant, man-shaped robot on the front, what did you expect? Expand
  46. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is one the most visually stunning movies of this year thus far and one the best action movies in the past 5 years. With all that being said the few problems the movie does have a forgivable mainly in the story department, which is not that big of a issue. The formula is simple Giant monsters rise from the sea humans built giant robots to fight giant monsters. The other bits ofPacific Rim is one the most visually stunning movies of this year thus far and one the best action movies in the past 5 years. With all that being said the few problems the movie does have a forgivable mainly in the story department, which is not that big of a issue. The formula is simple Giant monsters rise from the sea humans built giant robots to fight giant monsters. The other bits of story at times felt more like filler but never drug on for so long that it was unbearable. Guillermo del Toro has crafted a world the likes of which is staggering to say the least. All in all it's a good movie I look forward to see if they decide to expand the universe in other forums such as comics or with more movies. Expand
  47. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    les robot sont trop cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! et puis les combat aussi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! la fin est cool tout est cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a great movie, the battle scenes between Jaegers and Kaijus are fantastic. The only thing I don't like is that they only used 5 jaegers in the battle scenes (the fifth is the Coyote Tango). It would have been better if they added more jaegers but who cares? It's a great movie for kids.

    Once again, the film is great. I just hope that they add more jaegers (or if possible: battles during days rather than night with very hard rains because, for me, everything seemed hard to see when they fight at night.) so it's more enjoyable.

    Other than that, it's a very enjoyable movie for young audiences, good job Guillermo Del Toro for making a fantastic movie!
    Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I really love the way del Toro captures the essence of what I feel is the essence of his childhood, with films like Godzilla and Creature from the Black Lagoon, and the anime of his childhood involving giant mech robots. Its a very enjoyable action film and I feel del Toro had just as much fun making it as I did watching it. Their is true imagination in this film. Its not groundbreaking inI really love the way del Toro captures the essence of what I feel is the essence of his childhood, with films like Godzilla and Creature from the Black Lagoon, and the anime of his childhood involving giant mech robots. Its a very enjoyable action film and I feel del Toro had just as much fun making it as I did watching it. Their is true imagination in this film. Its not groundbreaking in the storytelling department but I appreciate good fun and this film is great fun every second you see a Jaeger against a Kaiju! Expand
  50. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    All of my childhood fantisies all rolled into one 2 hour movie. Thank you for getting it right Guillermo Del Toro. Took me back to the good old days. It isn't perfect but come on, GIANT ROBOTS fighting GIANT MONSTERS! If you like that sort of thing, this is the movie for you.
  51. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    Pacific Rim is a movie that doesn't play to it's strong suits.

    This was a movie that needed to focus on giant robots fist fighting giant alien monsters, however what we got was a movie with split personality disorder. Sometimes it's focusing on the emotional dramas of the characters and others it's making corny jokes and fighting monsters. I wanted to suspend belief at the plot holes
    Pacific Rim is a movie that doesn't play to it's strong suits.

    This was a movie that needed to focus on giant robots fist fighting giant alien monsters, however what we got was a movie with split personality disorder. Sometimes it's focusing on the emotional dramas of the characters and others it's making corny jokes and fighting monsters. I wanted to suspend belief at the plot holes and ignore all the pointless dialog, but it just felt like a chore to wait through all the meaningless exposition dumps and pointless emotional conflicts just to get to the good stuff, the action.

    I can only partly recommend Pacific Rim as i felt quite bored waiting through all the pointlessness to get to the stuff that was exciting and fun.
    Expand
  52. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim the best summer movie ever made. It even fits the definition of a exploding summer blockbuster film which knows what it's doing. Pacific Rim also knows how to be one by not getting you bored while these titans fight in our cities. One side is made out of metal and the other is completely organic. Giant 250ft tall mechanical beings fighting equally 250 or 300 feet monsters isPacific Rim the best summer movie ever made. It even fits the definition of a exploding summer blockbuster film which knows what it's doing. Pacific Rim also knows how to be one by not getting you bored while these titans fight in our cities. One side is made out of metal and the other is completely organic. Giant 250ft tall mechanical beings fighting equally 250 or 300 feet monsters is just something that has never been done before in a long time and it's all thanks to Guillermo Del Toro for pulling the drawings of giant robots and monsters out of my head, and finally putting them into a movie! This is the only movie by far, which has action on a scale that is physically unimaginable. And what's so great about this movie as well, is not only the action, there's a really great sense of humanity in this movie. That we haven't got in a long time too. Great characters and each shows a great purpose in their roles. Charlie Hunnam, I will agree his accent is a little wonky at times. But that's not enough to bring down on how big his charisma is in the movie. A really badass likable character. Though what I wished was more character development between him and his lost brother. It's sad, we didn't get that. But still, Charlie makes the heck out of the movie. Idris Elba, the actor known for playing Heimdall in Thor, is an amazing actor. That focus, and moral center of the movie, is what defines Idris' character. Rinko Kikuchi, an actress who has less knowledge of an eye candy, yet to nail her role in playing the role of an isolated beautiful object in this movie and has really a great backstory. But she's just as good as Charlie's character, who has a badass backstory but it's a little one-dimensional. Charlie Day, from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, is hilarious in this movie. Every scene he's in is appropriate for the comedic relieves and he's the scientist who's always hyperactive on drugs, especially the Hong Kong scenes where he's in. Great! Ron Perlman, known for making his cameo longer than any cameos I've seen, does a great job as a leader of a black market Kaiju dealer. Really great. Guillermo specifically said he wanted something that looked weirder or stranger than the giant monsters, so we got this. Something to be taken with the opposite of serious. And the rest of the cast did a fine job at bringing the movie with the sense of actual continuity. Pacific Rim definitely deserves a sequel as there's so much more of it's story that we needed. And the sequel should also tell more of the prologue which is quite short in this movie, unfortunately. Not giving audiences more information and therefore having others to felt like this movie had some part of the plot that didn't make sense. But I wasn't one of them. I know everything there is to know about Pacific Rim. Now I've said this and I will say it again, Pacific Rim is not just everything about explosions and spectacle and metal and monsters fighting, it has really great human elements in this movie. Unlike the Transformers which has some really inappropriate moments that just tore the film down and it's annoying. The action in there was really subtle, meaning it's bad and it's really hard to understand which transformer is fighting which transformer. Michael Bay and Dreamworks, you got some mess to do. Okay! So overall, Pacific Rim is an awesome great action summer blockbuster movie that deserves to receive all your money and it's really worth most of our time. Really dates back to the mecha and kaiju sub-genres in the past and now it's been revived. Thank you Guillermo Del Toro and the rest of his crew for making this entire movie possible. Thank you. Can't wait for it's sequel which is in storywriting process now! XD Expand
  53. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    This movie is the most fun you can have with your clothes on. I had my arms in front of me mimicking the punches the robots made as if I was 8 years old. I took off points for more predictability than expected and Hunnam's attempt at an American accent. A solid summer movie.
  54. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    The visual effects keep it going rather than aid the story, but I guess what makes it worth the watch is the guilty pleasure of seeing monsters and robots beat the crap out of each other.
  55. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Comparing Transformers, I Robot, RoboCop (and all the movies of robots) this leaves them as the worst. Guillermo del Toro treats us to a spectacular show of special effects and action-filled moments of tension and adrenaline. The plot is very smart and keeps you tied to the seat. The performances are not like Daniel Day Lewis, Christoph Waltz, Brad Pitt and all of them, but there are goodComparing Transformers, I Robot, RoboCop (and all the movies of robots) this leaves them as the worst. Guillermo del Toro treats us to a spectacular show of special effects and action-filled moments of tension and adrenaline. The plot is very smart and keeps you tied to the seat. The performances are not like Daniel Day Lewis, Christoph Waltz, Brad Pitt and all of them, but there are good and which emphasize. The outcome and the course are sublime. Here we have another light in the dark moment is going Hollywood with a fresh idea. If not I at least nominated for an Oscar I'll descepiconar and I think I am not alone. Expand
  56. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    I couldn't help but feel like Pacific Rim should have given me some deeper dramatic elements to chew on, but maybe I'm just missing the point. That having been said, you can do a whole lot worse if you're looking for a brainless, enjoyable action extravaganza.
  57. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    The movie is a generic mix of ideas from anime super robot genre, amazing effects and fun to watch but is predictable and feels really generic, full of cliches and the giant robots have a plain and boring design, a nice try but not so memorable
  58. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    This was actually a very fun movie. It was engaging, had a neat plot, and delivered on what it was. You don't go into it looking for academy award winning performances, but you leaved having enjoyed it. I would actually love to see some kind of sequel. Definitely an enjoyable movie.
  59. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a movie to be experienced on a huge screen and in 3D. It doesn't have the best acting or writing, but the overall story is awesome and the action and visual effects are amazing. It doesn't seem like a del Toro movie, even though it has creatures and giant robots. Because it doesn't have the best writing, it focuses more on the action and visual content, so the poor writingPacific Rim is a movie to be experienced on a huge screen and in 3D. It doesn't have the best acting or writing, but the overall story is awesome and the action and visual effects are amazing. It doesn't seem like a del Toro movie, even though it has creatures and giant robots. Because it doesn't have the best writing, it focuses more on the action and visual content, so the poor writing doesn't feel as bad.

    Pacific Rim gets 7.4/10
    Expand
  60. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    Cheesy, but awesome cheesy.

    Sometimes cheesy films can be really bad and this was not that, not going to be film of the century but when you're watching it on a big screen really loud then it's really fun to watch.
  61. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Badass!! realistic movants on the robots fun dumb fun for anytime of the year. Characters that are relatable yet unreliable, with a speech to rival independents day.
  62. Jul 4, 2014
    2
    Why should someone spend approx 2 hours and watch a movie that looks exactly like a great video game, instead of playing THE video game itself (and thus, have more fun with it)? Today, most movies are using too much CGI and sometimes the producers overdo it, almost causing nausea to the viewer. Of course Pacific Rim has great visual FX. And that's it. No acting and no story at all. JustWhy should someone spend approx 2 hours and watch a movie that looks exactly like a great video game, instead of playing THE video game itself (and thus, have more fun with it)? Today, most movies are using too much CGI and sometimes the producers overdo it, almost causing nausea to the viewer. Of course Pacific Rim has great visual FX. And that's it. No acting and no story at all. Just another "shoot the aliens" movie with 70% computer graphics, 25% sound FX and 5% acting. Expand
  63. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Do you like Godzilla movies?
    Do you like Giant Robot movies?
    Would you like to watch them fight it out? If you answered yes to the three questions above, then this is the movie for you. My inner 8 year old squealed in delight seeing the trailer for the first time. And did so again while watching the movie. Sure the dialog was a bit flat and the character development was lacking.
    Do you like Godzilla movies?
    Do you like Giant Robot movies?
    Would you like to watch them fight it out?

    If you answered yes to the three questions above, then this is the movie for you. My inner 8 year old squealed in delight seeing the trailer for the first time. And did so again while watching the movie. Sure the dialog was a bit flat and the character development was lacking. But watching the trailer, I knew what I was going to get and I got it in spades. Damn now I want to watch it again.
    Expand
  64. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    I'm very surprised on how good this movie was and most especially to myself that I enjoyed this movie. Also, I was expecting a sort of 80% Transformers like war and destruction composing the majority of this movie. But it was a good balance of it.

    The acting of the actors was also phenomenal.
  65. May 2, 2014
    7
    A spectacular adventure of giant robots fighting giant monsters from deep beneath the Pacific Ocean. The plot is a little boring, but the action sequences are what make this movie an amazing groundbreaking CGI film so entertaining that you'll want to rewind it.
  66. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Pacific Rim wasn't a terrible movie. It was sort of slow in my perspective, but the last thirty minutes of the picture were pretty entertaining.
  67. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    This is an awesome movie! It features plenty of action and very good special effects. A must watch if you like Sci-fi movies! It also has quite an interesting plot. This is definitely good to watch even in 2-D as I watched it in 2-D and it still feels good even for a 2-D movie.
  68. Nov 29, 2014
    5
    Guillermo Del Toro's admittedly stunning visuals and rousing action save this motion picture from a wholly dumb story and some over-the-top characters.
  69. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    Don't have too much to say about this...maybe.

    But this is one of my ALL TIME favorite movies. !!! I think I'll take a good look on Guillermo del Toro's other movies ( whatever else he directed or maybe was a writer too ) But this redefines a great CGI monster battle out blockbuster. Pacific Rim is loaded with fantastic visuals that will appeal to many fanboys and for many people who
    Don't have too much to say about this...maybe.

    But this is one of my ALL TIME favorite movies. !!! I think I'll take a good look on Guillermo del Toro's other movies ( whatever else he directed or maybe was a writer too ) But this redefines a great CGI monster battle out blockbuster. Pacific Rim is loaded with fantastic visuals that will appeal to many fanboys and for many people who just wants a little dose of a monster verus metal clash in our great cities.

    I first saw this in a Latino theater in Ecuador located somewhere in South America ( That is where I was born ) and I loved it!!! I then got lucky enough to See it AGAIN ...but this time in 3D! ( Yes, in a latino movie theater, don't worry I understand spanish quite well. )

    The experince was again fantastic! Great monster verus giant robots fights! It was breath-taking. Another word I'll use to describe Transformers. (2007)! I have the movie on DVD, Blu-ray and Digital HD! Once I get my Blu-Ray DVD player, I'll shall watch this movie in the Blu ray version! LOVED this epic movie! Watch it please!!! HIGHLY FREAKING RECOMMEND!
    Expand
  70. May 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is one of a kind for me, it surprised me beyond belief. Upon going to see it with my brother, i initially agreed to tagging along just to be nice and was planning on falling asleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. It has been the only film i have ever wanted to watch a second time, immediately after watching it the first time.

    Critics and viewers may complain about the hilarious technological change, and how we couldn't possibly build moving robots as big as Jaegers., but who cares? The last thing I'm thinking about is how scientifically accurate the movie is. No it's not possible to build them but I for one have an imagination. There could never be an Island we don't know about with dinosaurs or ginormous gorillas on them, and we don't question them so why question these Jaegers of Kaijus?

    The action and special affects we're outstanding and it had a top notch storyline that was original and interesting. I enjoyed the relationship build between all the characters and i found every second of it enjoyable. I would recommend not missing this film to anybody.
    Expand
  71. May 26, 2014
    9
    This is a must scene for any fan of Kaiju movies and of the action genre. Pacific Rim is a non-stop thrill ride (cliché but so very true!) that gives fans exactly what they want: non stop action. Watching this with friends was some of the most fun I have ever had in a movie theatre. The Giant robots and hulking Kaiju were all beautifully presented and seeing them made me feel like a 10This is a must scene for any fan of Kaiju movies and of the action genre. Pacific Rim is a non-stop thrill ride (cliché but so very true!) that gives fans exactly what they want: non stop action. Watching this with friends was some of the most fun I have ever had in a movie theatre. The Giant robots and hulking Kaiju were all beautifully presented and seeing them made me feel like a 10 year old again. The Kaiju fight scenes are aplenty and they are very well done with a wonderful feeling of variety to them. But ultimately this movie is fun, there is a light heartedness about the characters despite being in a fight for their lives that makes you not take the movie too seriously and just enjoy the spectacle of giant battles being waged.

    Not perfect, but it comes pretty damn close. Worth seeing in the cinema, worth buying on Blue-ray and worth lining up to see the sequel.
    Expand
  72. May 27, 2014
    9
    Just fresh after watching a blu-ray edition of this movie and I have to admit that I'm very pleasantly surprised. I've expected a stupid monsters vs. robots movie but this movie has a bigger meaning underneath it's (oh so!) polished shell. PR is long but you won't feel that for a momens because action/storytelling moments are perfectly intervened to keep you on the edge of your seat.Just fresh after watching a blu-ray edition of this movie and I have to admit that I'm very pleasantly surprised. I've expected a stupid monsters vs. robots movie but this movie has a bigger meaning underneath it's (oh so!) polished shell. PR is long but you won't feel that for a momens because action/storytelling moments are perfectly intervened to keep you on the edge of your seat. Absolutely worth your money. Expand
  73. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Görsel efektler şahane, konu biraz klasik gibi görünse de film kendini bağlamayı başarıyor ne zaman başladı ne zaman bitti diye düşünmeden güzel bir 2 saat geçirtiyor. Özellikle başrolü beğendim gelecekte parlama ihtimalini görüyorum. Anime ve görsel efekt severler mutlaka izlemeli.
  74. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    Pacific Rim explodes with fantastical imagery, epic action sequences and irresistible fun while exposing emotion and balancing its otherwise average plot.
  75. Oct 6, 2014
    2
    Tough to like. Seems more intended for children than well...anyone else. It's cool to watch super huge massive monsters fight super huge massive robots, because that's original. That pretty much is the extent of the plot. How innovative. We should all like this movie...because it is entirely practical when being attacked by huge monsters, to throw all our efforts into making robots toTough to like. Seems more intended for children than well...anyone else. It's cool to watch super huge massive monsters fight super huge massive robots, because that's original. That pretty much is the extent of the plot. How innovative. We should all like this movie...because it is entirely practical when being attacked by huge monsters, to throw all our efforts into making robots to fight them, because apparently as the human race, we decided that is the best thing to do. And we won't use our really effective weapons unless we are on the verge of death. None of our guys are even really all that good at fighting these things either. Oh look, the guy who played Hell-boy. Come on! Seriously? How just plain dumb does this have to get? The CGI was well done, but that is all...they tried with a lesser known cast that wasn't a total failure as far as acting and delivery but doesn't help the lack of structure. Fight scenes were still better than Godzilla's. But still, Never Again. Expand
  76. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    No one should go into this movie expecting a flawless story because that`s not what this movie is about. This movie is about MONSTERS versus ROBOTS, enough said. Apart from the beautiful CGI and action scenes, this movie does surprise with some great characters that actually have depth and a story, especially Mako and the commanding officer, Stacker. Idris Elba delivers a brilliantNo one should go into this movie expecting a flawless story because that`s not what this movie is about. This movie is about MONSTERS versus ROBOTS, enough said. Apart from the beautiful CGI and action scenes, this movie does surprise with some great characters that actually have depth and a story, especially Mako and the commanding officer, Stacker. Idris Elba delivers a brilliant performance, making the viewing of Pacific Rim a better than expected movie. As long as you know what you're getting into, Pacific Rim should satisfy and even surprise. Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    Pretty solid movie if you are just looking to sit back and enjoy some action. I have to admit, the geek in me comes out seeing the giant robots fighting giant monsters. When I saw the previews, I thought this could go very wrong or very right. I think it went very right. The movie is well done for what it is.
  78. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    If you want to see a movie with very good special effects and lots of action of big things hitting big things, then your in luck. If you want a movie with an actual plot and visible humans for most of the movie, then this isn't for you. If it is not for you, I would not recommend it, but if you can stand no plot as long as you see giant robots fighting giant aliens, then you will be moreIf you want to see a movie with very good special effects and lots of action of big things hitting big things, then your in luck. If you want a movie with an actual plot and visible humans for most of the movie, then this isn't for you. If it is not for you, I would not recommend it, but if you can stand no plot as long as you see giant robots fighting giant aliens, then you will be more than satisfied. Afterword, you will say 'that movie was terrible,' then go look for the release date for the second one online. Expand
  79. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    Lacking any actual storyline, whatsoever, but great fun and graphics. I think this was one of the worst stories ever, but it was very entertaining, the only thing you'll think back on was the epic battles. I think I'm being a little harsh on the storyline, because it was there and... I suppose, interesting... but not very engaging. It's good for a day you just don't care.
  80. Dec 22, 2014
    7
    From Guillermo Del Toro comes a movie with stunning visual effects and make kids Masturbate from enjoyment ,Pacific Rim,Is a well done movie with a silly premise but it because of the stunning visual effects and amazing fight scene which makes this movie amazing and almost forgot this way better than Transformers:Age Of Extinction and transformers revenge of the Fallen.
  81. Oct 17, 2015
    9
    Pacific Rim is one of the coolest looking movies ever and while the humans and the parts when they are not throwing down are not as much fun,this movie can qualify as entertaining on my book.
  82. May 20, 2015
    10
    When I was younger, all I could hardly ever think about was robots. But when this movie came out in 2013, even though I was now 15 at the time, I knew it'd be nothing less than phenomenal. Went to see it in theaters with a friend and I couldn't believe how incredible this movie turned out. The acting was good, the plot was great, the characters were actually quite interesting (unlike theWhen I was younger, all I could hardly ever think about was robots. But when this movie came out in 2013, even though I was now 15 at the time, I knew it'd be nothing less than phenomenal. Went to see it in theaters with a friend and I couldn't believe how incredible this movie turned out. The acting was good, the plot was great, the characters were actually quite interesting (unlike the Transformers movies), and the visual effects were jaw-dropping! I recommend this movie to anyone. Even if you're not really into sci-fi or fantasy, I think Pacific Rim has a little bit of something for everybody in it. I couldn't have asked for better. Guillermo Del Toro is a genius! I can't wait for the sequel in April of 2017. I've been on the edge of my seat. I'm totally anticipating this sequel. Expand
  83. Dec 5, 2015
    7
    Pacific Rim is a shocking film directed by Mr. director Guillermo del Toro where to save the world have to be giant, and that giant to beat the giant Kaiju.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.