Pacific Rim

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1504 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    My inner child exploded from glee watching this movie. It delivered on its premise in spades while still showing a surprising amount of heart. The battles are epic, the CGI is stunning, and the content between the fights drives the film better than I could ever have hoped for. This is the movie of the summer, no doubt.
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim: It wasn't perfect but it was damn good. Pacific Rim doesn't try to be anything that it's not and that is why this movie is pretty awesome. It is Monster Movie, not a horror movie mind you, a MONSTER movie. Borrowing from Godzilla, Neon Genesis, and a several other films and stories, Pac Rim manages to create a believable world with characters that you actually care for by thePacific Rim: It wasn't perfect but it was damn good. Pacific Rim doesn't try to be anything that it's not and that is why this movie is pretty awesome. It is Monster Movie, not a horror movie mind you, a MONSTER movie. Borrowing from Godzilla, Neon Genesis, and a several other films and stories, Pac Rim manages to create a believable world with characters that you actually care for by the movies end. The characters were well thought out and the actors playing them knew their roles in this film. Now don't expect "Oscar award winning" performances, but they did their jobs well. One nice thing was that Pac Rim is a self contained story and, admirably, does not blatantly set itself up for a franchise. Pac Rim is not without it's faults but I went with zero expectations and left really enjoying the film. I would even venture to say it is one, if not THE, best sci fi flick out this year (and there have been several)! If you like Giant Monsters, Giant Robots, good sci fi with a healthy dose of apocalyptic threats, then go see it. You'll have a great time! Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a pretty decent summer blockbuster flick about giant robots fight over Kaiju monsters in the city. Guillermo del Toro takes his creative idea of making a big gigantic monsters and robots that references to B-movies and Japanese television series into a perspective way. The movie takes place in the futuristic world of big monsters from beneath the ocean (known as Pacific Rim)Pacific Rim is a pretty decent summer blockbuster flick about giant robots fight over Kaiju monsters in the city. Guillermo del Toro takes his creative idea of making a big gigantic monsters and robots that references to B-movies and Japanese television series into a perspective way. The movie takes place in the futuristic world of big monsters from beneath the ocean (known as Pacific Rim) start to demolish the city in each continent and the government plans to make gigantic robots to stop all Kaiju beasts and to save all the citizens in the world. So they hire recruits for joining up to fight over monsters, and they need to find the way to stop all monsters that keeps going up from the ocean and to destruct the Pacific Rim's hole. The characters are very memorable in this movie and it's nowhere very cliché like most characters from these terrible Transformer series, but they stay strong and likable. The robots fight over monsters are nice to look at and they have cool scenes where they keep going to smash every monsters with their missiles, fists, and dodging. The visuals and the effects are astounding and nice digital sets of making a monsters and robots to be realistic and very bright. Pacific Rim is a fun popcorn flick and makes a very creative idea that reminds us for watching Godzilla, Power Rangers, and other big gigantic monster flicks to enjoy. Thumb Up. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    A loud cliched ridiculous movie plagiarizing many other Sci Fi films including War Of The Worlds, Independence Day & Transformers. The actors are simply awful. No character development whatsoever. The CGI is so awful that you can't even tell who is fighting who. It is obvious that phantom critics are shilling for this movie which is a complete turkey as they have no other reviews. IA loud cliched ridiculous movie plagiarizing many other Sci Fi films including War Of The Worlds, Independence Day & Transformers. The actors are simply awful. No character development whatsoever. The CGI is so awful that you can't even tell who is fighting who. It is obvious that phantom critics are shilling for this movie which is a complete turkey as they have no other reviews. I saw this sorry excuse for a film opening night in front of a half empty theater. Avoid at all costs. Despite the heavy PR marketing my gut tells me this will be a bomb at the box office. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Dumb story. ...right we build robots to fight monsters instead of just inventing really good bombs or missiles. If you can get over some of the plot ridiculousness, the action scenes are fun, acting just okay, script pretty juvenile, etc. I was mildly entertained, but was expecting a little more. I left feeling like the good reviews from the critics were the result of a little gradeDumb story. ...right we build robots to fight monsters instead of just inventing really good bombs or missiles. If you can get over some of the plot ridiculousness, the action scenes are fun, acting just okay, script pretty juvenile, etc. I was mildly entertained, but was expecting a little more. I left feeling like the good reviews from the critics were the result of a little grade inflation due to the number of truly terrible movies currently on the market. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    When Pacific Rim focuses on its generic characters and story it’s a mediocre film. However, what saves this movie and makes it worth watching are the visuals. The presentation in this movie is fantastic and has some fun action that never gets too excessive and leaves you wanting more. Had the film’s action not been as good as it was this film would’ve been a 5/10 but because the visualsWhen Pacific Rim focuses on its generic characters and story it’s a mediocre film. However, what saves this movie and makes it worth watching are the visuals. The presentation in this movie is fantastic and has some fun action that never gets too excessive and leaves you wanting more. Had the film’s action not been as good as it was this film would’ve been a 5/10 but because the visuals were as cool as they were it’s a 6/10. I’m usually not big on dumb action movies but this is one blockbuster where I was bored when there was no action as opposed to the other way around. At the end of the day though this film is only memorable for its visuals. You won’t remember any of the characters or plot elements as they are all bland and generic but you will remember the cool visuals and fight scenes. If you are cool with a generic action film with cool visuals then definitely check this film out. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentiallyRarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentially ridiculous the premise is, so unlike most movies it doesn't waste most of it's time trying to explain how it isn't what it really is, and dedicates it's resources to amazing fights and great character moments. Half of this film is just straight up monster battles. I'm giving this a 10/10 not because I think it is one of the best movies ever made or anything like that, but because I honestly can't think of a single way to improve this movie. Expand
  8. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Kaiju fans will love this. Full of genre tropes and homages, but delivered in a unique mix. More humanity than most, with a clever plot device called "the drift". Clearly a labor of love. Great wall metaphor too.
  9. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    I was pleasantly entertained. Pacific Rim stands as a testament to how far advanced Hollywood is these days, as so little of this movie was actually filmed in real locations around the world. The execution to that end was superb very high quality a la Transformers but with a bit more humanity (which makes sense, seeing how they're basically oversized Iron Man outfits with two pilots).I was pleasantly entertained. Pacific Rim stands as a testament to how far advanced Hollywood is these days, as so little of this movie was actually filmed in real locations around the world. The execution to that end was superb very high quality a la Transformers but with a bit more humanity (which makes sense, seeing how they're basically oversized Iron Man outfits with two pilots). There was a big opportunity to really flesh out a high quality plot and drive character development with the time they spent on both, but I never felt like they ever really get emotionally invested in either of those points to where the I cared who lives and dies. But as the movie wrapped up, I simply said to those around me "that was actually pretty good", and left it at that. There's not much else to say or expect. But I definitely saw higher potential, one that would have set this movie in a much higher league, and that opportunity was unfortunately missed. Expand
  10. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Giant monsters from the deep are destroying cities, but instead of just blowing them up from a distance, the world unites to build giant robots to engage in hand-to-hand combat. This is a cross between old-school Godzilla and a variation on Transformers, but to enjoy it you must be willing to accept director Guillermo del Toro's imagination. The effects are exceptional and the action isGiant monsters from the deep are destroying cities, but instead of just blowing them up from a distance, the world unites to build giant robots to engage in hand-to-hand combat. This is a cross between old-school Godzilla and a variation on Transformers, but to enjoy it you must be willing to accept director Guillermo del Toro's imagination. The effects are exceptional and the action is pretty cool (although sometimes confusing). The trite attempts at character involvement only serve as padding between the battles. This movie is all about the fights and del Toro's vision, so don't expect more and you'll dig it. (Stay thru the early credits for a punchline.) Expand
  11. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scareThis is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scare younger kids. The only thing I wished is that we could see more, but I think the length was appropriate for the debut. I hope they get to do a sequel and we get to see more of the robots. Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    It's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it'sIt's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it's not all about the action. The characters are given a lot of attention too. They're by no means 2D and they all have backstories and their own motivations. A masterpiece really. Expand
  13. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Watched this film with my young daughter including 3D and D-Box. Hugely enjoyable with great action and fun. Plot is fairly thin but this is just another "alien/robots" film so didn't expect much more anyway. Highly recommended if you enjoy sci-fi but go an watch it very loud and in the pitch black!!
  14. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Absolutely one of my favorite movies of the summer. Probably the best big-budget robot-vs-godzilla (c'mon..you know that's what this is) movie that will ever be made. Every twist and device in the movie is a complete rip-off of something else, but it's so damned FUN that you can't help to like it...unless you are allergic to good times. As someone who enjoyed a little (ok...a lot of)Absolutely one of my favorite movies of the summer. Probably the best big-budget robot-vs-godzilla (c'mon..you know that's what this is) movie that will ever be made. Every twist and device in the movie is a complete rip-off of something else, but it's so damned FUN that you can't help to like it...unless you are allergic to good times. As someone who enjoyed a little (ok...a lot of) Voltron back in the day, the "sword" scene almost had me jumping out of my seat. If you like robots and giant monsters, you love this movie. If not, I am sure there is some Scandinavian neo-realist retrospective playing somewhere. Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta pelicula, es diferente a las muchas peliculas de robots, pasando por Real steal. Esta pelicula con tintes apocalípticos, retrata una invasión alien de esta forma un tanto diferente a lo que se había visto, a pesar de tener similitud a Evangelion; El director Guillermo del Toro ha dicho que el solo hizo una pelicula de monstruos y que retrata lo que viene haciendo en sus ultimas películas.
    Esta pelicula esta mas que recomendada.
    Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best "pop-corn movies" ever. This is the reason to go to a cinema. Spectacular in every way, but only and only if you are buying all this hugely ridiculous story. If you cringe at a first thought of "another monster/robot movie", you might just want to stay away or take a risk to see it, but you wouldn't get much else than amazing visuals, huge beautifully staged fights, greatOne of the best "pop-corn movies" ever. This is the reason to go to a cinema. Spectacular in every way, but only and only if you are buying all this hugely ridiculous story. If you cringe at a first thought of "another monster/robot movie", you might just want to stay away or take a risk to see it, but you wouldn't get much else than amazing visuals, huge beautifully staged fights, great detail in everything: environment, cities, robots, monsters (who are all different, btw). The main problem is characters, I must say, who are feeling generic in many ways. Not always do you feel compelled by them and care this much as you should've presumably. And nevertheless, this movie rocked so so much! I felt like 8 years old while watching this spectacle of a movie. But the main thing is that you just have to buy this stuff wholesale, otherwise you wont enjoy it a bit. Expand
  17. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    The movie's plot is nothing extraordinary. The acting is competent; it gets the job done. The battle scenes and visuals, however, were amazing. And having an awesome filmmaker like Guillermo del Toro directing surely did help. A great popcorn flick, but nothing more than that.
  18. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    For an action movie, this is perfect. That's the reason for a score of 10. Awesome effects, cliche but enjoyable characters and lines, predictable plot. Still an absolute pleasure to watch. From an mech-anime fan, it's like a dream come true, particularly if your a fan of the Evangelion franchise.
  19. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is a dream come true for everyone who grew up watching the classic Kaiju Mecha genre. Predictable but wonderfully executed by Del Toro. The characters, action, story all scream of nostalgia.
  20. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. It clearly takes inspiration from the Saturday morning TV shows of old like the Power Rangers. Watching people in giant metal suits fighting giant monsters is a heck of a lot of fun. The movie even throws some goofy, comedic style moments to show youSurprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. It clearly takes inspiration from the Saturday morning TV shows of old like the Power Rangers. Watching people in giant metal suits fighting giant monsters is a heck of a lot of fun. The movie even throws some goofy, comedic style moments to show you how self-aware it is. Overall though it does manage to (thankfully) stay serious. I really enjoyed the film and it is one that I would recommend to others. Expand
  21. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    Pacific Rim is wooden, shallow and as artificial as a piece of plastic. But hey, it's a movie about giant robots fighting kaiju, so what do you expect. A few more non-digital effects would have nice. Still, Pacific Rim does what it says on the box with more style than the dire Transformers franchise.
  22. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    Visually stunning and well acted, Pacific Rim succeeds in being an entertaining Summer blockbuster, despite the uneven pacing and cliche script. It certainly isn't up to par with some of del Toro's other work, but it certainly is a lot of fun!
  23. Jul 22, 2013
    6
    The most awaited film ever from the audience like me: grow up with robots and anime in my childhood.
    And probably this is the main reason of its fail.
    This film try to concentrate a lot of reference without moisturising well any of that. Plus a lot of incongruence (high tech robots controlled by switch? Neural connection to the robot but it's move with a sort of lever? What's the
    The most awaited film ever from the audience like me: grow up with robots and anime in my childhood.
    And probably this is the main reason of its fail.

    This film try to concentrate a lot of reference without moisturising well any of that.
    Plus a lot of incongruence (high tech robots controlled by switch? Neural connection to the robot but it's move with a sort of lever? What's the meaning of the neural connection so? The best robots result to be the one done in full IRON instead of the more modern titanium and so on?)

    But the very unforgettable in this film are the actors and the characters.
    Characters are just archetype. But hey, even Star Wars had archetype. But the difference is how that characters are convincing. All of them is just so shallow that the viewer just do not feel any attachment to them. The main character is just vapid, the boss, and old pilot is totally unconvincing even when he's performing his speech before the final battle. One of the most vapid speech i've ever hear in a film.

    To come to an end: This film can be a great angular stone in Cinema's story, probably like Star Wars was years before. But Del Toro just wasted it doing a mediocre film with good feeling, happy ending and very boring cliché.

    Very sad.
    Expand
  24. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    This movie requires that you disengage your brain and then attempts to reward you with a constant roller coaster adrenaline high. (Hint: after the first half hour, you just want to get off the damn ride.) It is possible to enjoy this movie....but only if you don't mind the lack of acting skill, engaging characters, plausible dialogue, or a plot that makes any sense whatsoever. ProvidedThis movie requires that you disengage your brain and then attempts to reward you with a constant roller coaster adrenaline high. (Hint: after the first half hour, you just want to get off the damn ride.) It is possible to enjoy this movie....but only if you don't mind the lack of acting skill, engaging characters, plausible dialogue, or a plot that makes any sense whatsoever. Provided you can overlook such minor flaws, you will be blown away by more than two hours of audio and visual overload. I'm pretty sure the sustained shock and awe gave me a few more grey hairs. But hey, the CGI team deserves a golf clap and a pat on the back. Nice doggie! Expand
  25. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    A summer blockbuster that is a ton of fun. The movie pushes the limits of cg effects and some surprisingly deep sci-fi story components. While it won't floor you with it's character writing and mythos, the action is fantastic and the film will have you on the edge of your seat for its duration.

    - See it in 3D, it's worth the extra money
  26. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This isn't Shakespeare by any means. It is, however, the most entertaining movie I've seen in a long time. If you enjoy movies that are kinda dumb yet super awesome (Terminator, Predator, Alien, etc), you will like this movie.
  27. Nov 14, 2015
    7
    The script and plot are awkward, almost laughably bad at times, but if you want to watch giant robots fighting giant monsters Pacific Rim's spectacular battles are sure to entertain.
  28. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A good, fun, visual feast; a concept we haven't seen in a long while on the big screen. Incredible movie all in all, one of the best movies so far this summer.
  29. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    If I were a child, this movie would be great. Just like Hellboy 2. But I'm an adult, so it was stupid. I don't feel like writing a full review, but the plotlines and characters' development were terrible.
  30. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Absolutely loved this movie. Excellent special effects, amazing action, and true fun all throughout. Only issue was the plot was a bit pointless but it personally didn't bother me because who honestly goes to a movie like Pacific Rim and expects and Academy award winning story? Pacific Rim was just plain awesome. Giant monsters vs giant robots, what more can you ask for? Ever wanna see aAbsolutely loved this movie. Excellent special effects, amazing action, and true fun all throughout. Only issue was the plot was a bit pointless but it personally didn't bother me because who honestly goes to a movie like Pacific Rim and expects and Academy award winning story? Pacific Rim was just plain awesome. Giant monsters vs giant robots, what more can you ask for? Ever wanna see a barge (really large boat) be used as a weapon? GO SEE Pacific Rim! You're guaranteed a great time. Let's hope the studio's give the green light for the sequel Del Toro already has in mind! 9.5/10 Expand
  31. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    If you enjoy human piloted robot anime you will enjoy this movie. If campy acting and generic character building is not a deal breaker for you you're also in luck with this film. The special effects are at current level dynamics and a worthy 3D experience. I'm an anime/cartoon/sci-fi etc. watching adult, however, Pacific Rim 3D, eventually made me aware that I was sitting and staring withIf you enjoy human piloted robot anime you will enjoy this movie. If campy acting and generic character building is not a deal breaker for you you're also in luck with this film. The special effects are at current level dynamics and a worthy 3D experience. I'm an anime/cartoon/sci-fi etc. watching adult, however, Pacific Rim 3D, eventually made me aware that I was sitting and staring with my head in one position for over two hours. Bring the kids and a fat wallet. Expand
  32. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    This movie is pure eye candy. If you have the chance to watch it in 3D, do so! I'm usually not a huge fan of 3D and will avoid it at any cost but I was really pleasantly surprised here. The effects and fighting scenes are very nicely done, though I guess if you hate CGI, this movie is certainly not for you as it pretty much takes up 75% of the movie. (Though there's also some fightingThis movie is pure eye candy. If you have the chance to watch it in 3D, do so! I'm usually not a huge fan of 3D and will avoid it at any cost but I was really pleasantly surprised here. The effects and fighting scenes are very nicely done, though I guess if you hate CGI, this movie is certainly not for you as it pretty much takes up 75% of the movie. (Though there's also some fighting between humans too)
    As for the plot, it's very campy and you can pretty much see where the movie is going very quickly. That being said it's a fun kind of campy and I'd definitely watch this again together with friends. Part of that campyness are the rather awful jokes.
    Over all, if you wanna have a good time watching a nice-looking action movie, go ahead and watch this one.
    Expand
  33. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Very creative, original plot with its share of surprises. The visuals and sounds are great, the acting is great. Everything is great. Hopefully, there's a sequel. Or at least a film in the same universe.
  34. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    I love Japanese mecha anime from Macross to Orguss to Evangelion and back and I never thought I'd ever be bored senseless by a film which purports to be a love letter to giant mecha and Kaiju cinema. Everything is just so bloody dull; framing and cinematography, ESPECIALLY the Jaeger designs. The clichés though! I should have brought a checklist with me, Pacific Rim had so much cheese I'mI love Japanese mecha anime from Macross to Orguss to Evangelion and back and I never thought I'd ever be bored senseless by a film which purports to be a love letter to giant mecha and Kaiju cinema. Everything is just so bloody dull; framing and cinematography, ESPECIALLY the Jaeger designs. The clichés though! I should have brought a checklist with me, Pacific Rim had so much cheese I'm practically lactose intolerant. Expand
  35. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Great movie! It's exactly what Transformers should have been. Just don't let the "science" used in this movie ruin it for you. This is a movie about giant robots fighting giant aliens, just sit back and enjoy it. My one major criticism is that the main character was weak. He's not a leading role kinda guy.
  36. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie. Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie.

    Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger rocks!

    The fact that this is (gasp!) and ORIGINAL universe gave Guillermo del Toro freedom to create as he wished, without the fear that the die hard fans would hate what he did. And create he did. If you get a chance watch the extras in the Blu-ray. I think you'll be surprised at how many small details are in the movie.

    Idris Elba is one of my favorite up-and-coming actors. His work in The Wire was incredible, and it is good that Hollywood is giving him an opportunity. Charlie Hunnam was more than serviceable as the action hero and while I am not a fan of Rinko Kikuchi, she also played her role well.

    I will not lie and say that there is anything extraordinarily NEW here. It is a story of humans v. monsters. But this minor film does BIG better than a lot of predecessors recently. The Transformers trilogy comes to mind immediately.

    While it seems like a backhanded compliment, you need to enjoy this movie for what it is. It is nothing more than a rollercoaster ride and, as such, does the job VERY well.
    Expand
  37. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    Guillermo del Toro really let me down on this one. Besides the very imaginative monsters this is nothing but a Transformers movie with a slightly higher age group target. Nothing was done with the mind "handshake" possibilities, which really surprises me.
  38. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is ok to watch. Most fun are the fight scenes and the very good special effects. Liked the setting and rainy mood. Lame was that almost anything was predictable, and the music was constantly playing in a dramatic style. There was no acoustic climax, it is constantly bombarding your ear. The characters were very stereotypic.

    Also there are some logical issues that bothered me: Why is the Jaeger using it's blades in the last moment, why not all the time? I thought you can't travel through the Portal if you are not alien, but why can the escape pot travel back? Why are the other crews not using their escape pots if they obvisiouly have one?

    All in all an ok movie for a cheesy afternoon / evening.
    Expand
  39. Aug 27, 2015
    7
    It's true that "Pacific Rim" is a child's film with big monsters and robots fighting each other; but acclaimed director Guillermo Del Toro manages to create a film with exciting energy and lively imagination, a movie truly for-your-eyes only.
  40. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    This movie was pretty great. Definitely worth watching if you like seeing giant robots punch giant monsters. The action is pretty good and pretty consistent throughout, with a little break in the middle for the requisite human stuff. Fortunately, even the human stuff has been kept pretty minimal here, no deeper than anything you'd see in any of the classic Godzilla movies. There's theThis movie was pretty great. Definitely worth watching if you like seeing giant robots punch giant monsters. The action is pretty good and pretty consistent throughout, with a little break in the middle for the requisite human stuff. Fortunately, even the human stuff has been kept pretty minimal here, no deeper than anything you'd see in any of the classic Godzilla movies. There's the traditional "rivalry", a (very thankfully) tiny bit of romance, some short parent moments, and some very light flash-backing, but overall, they did the right thing and really made the "human" part of the movie a minor player to the fighting.

    TLDR: You're not going to find anything deep here, it's strictly movie monster bang-em-up, and if you're trying to find anything else here, you're dumb.
    Expand
  41. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    It's a shallow, yet exciting, experience. Obnoxious characters, abysmal story, yet it's so fun you stop caring once the action scenes roll around. Colorful and hokey, it's reminiscent of the super hero cartoons we grew up watching and loving. If you like intense action and overwhelming visuals, you might like this film.
  42. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail,Making a film because of the B movies of yesteryear doesn't sound like a solid reason for making a film and maybe that's why Pacific Rim lacks depth and flair, because its too busy trying to remind you of what came before. When a portal opens under the Pacific Ocean and monsters begin flooding through it, humanity creates giant mechs to fight them but when this tactic begins to fail, humanity devise one last ditch effort to destroy the portal for good. Pacific Rim knows what it is and it does play to its strengths but those strengths are only really one strength, its visuals and the near perfect CGI incorporated into the movie. Don't get me wrong, the 3D is redundant and really makes watching the film difficult but in 2D Pacific Rim is terrific to look at with Director Guillermo Del Toro really understanding how to frame his action as to show the scale and wonder these mechs (refereed to as Jaegers) and monsters (Kaijus) evoke. It;s the best aspect of the movie which means the action light 2nd act is thoroughly monotonous and often times meaningless. The plot is generic which is surprising considering the films interesting premise. The writing is equally predictable with emotional scenes failing to leave a mark because they feel reused. It's a well acted film and Idris Elba continues to prove he is a gifted actor who can display many emotions at once but he is stuck with scowl inducing dialogue that is hard to swallow. Charlie Hunam is an interesting choice for the hero and while his sullen yet worldly performance as Raleigh is good it isn't great and his casting feels safe when Pacific Rim is an out there premise and film. Ultimately the film needs to take more risks in its endeavour to surprise viewers and it feels like Del Toro took a step back and played it a little too safe. Expand
  43. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    It's a wonderful world filled with amazing possibilities that you're rushed quickly through, this story should have been stretched over 2-3 movies or at least left room for a sequel.
    The movie introduces characters and tries to drag out a plot but never really succeeds in doing it, the geigers are never fully explored and there are a few of them.
    I honestly had hoped for so much more,
    It's a wonderful world filled with amazing possibilities that you're rushed quickly through, this story should have been stretched over 2-3 movies or at least left room for a sequel.
    The movie introduces characters and tries to drag out a plot but never really succeeds in doing it, the geigers are never fully explored and there are a few of them.

    I honestly had hoped for so much more, I feel like this world was made and someone sent me a postcard before closing it forever.
    Expand
  44. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    When I went to see Pacific Rim I went in with the mentality of an 8 year old boy. All I wanted to see was giant robots and giant monsters beating the crap out of each other and damn if the film didn't deliver. The fight scenes in this film are incredible to watch (if a little difficult to follow at times) and the design of the Jaegers and the Kaiju are extremely impressive. But I what IWhen I went to see Pacific Rim I went in with the mentality of an 8 year old boy. All I wanted to see was giant robots and giant monsters beating the crap out of each other and damn if the film didn't deliver. The fight scenes in this film are incredible to watch (if a little difficult to follow at times) and the design of the Jaegers and the Kaiju are extremely impressive. But I what I wasnt expecting was how good the story and writing was. Lets face it, in terms of story all this film needed was a loose thread to string the action sequences together and honestly I would've been content with that. But it's actually surprisingly deep and does a good job of making the audience feel more connected to the characters, who are also pretty engaging. Pacific Rim doesn't make the same mistake transformers made where the human characters are so dull and irritating that every time there's a scene focused on them you just want it to be over so you can get back to the cool stuff. They actually have a good deal of personality and help progress the whole thing nicely.
    Overall, the makers of this film know that you came to see action and they give you it by the generous bucket load but they still manage to make the finer details of the film relevant without letting them drag down the pace of the whole thing. Which basically means that girlfriends who have been dragged to see this won't be in quite the same state of cinematic purgatory that their boyfriends were when they were forced to watch the notebook.
    Expand
  45. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim I love you! Going in, I was afraid that I would be seeing del Toro's first miss. Fortunately I didn't. It was stripped down and lean in story but it works to keep the roller coaster going and doesn't bog down in too much jibber-jabber or any tacked on love story. This not a film for the cynical or the meta crowd. This is escapism at its best. The fights were fun to watch, andPacific Rim I love you! Going in, I was afraid that I would be seeing del Toro's first miss. Fortunately I didn't. It was stripped down and lean in story but it works to keep the roller coaster going and doesn't bog down in too much jibber-jabber or any tacked on love story. This not a film for the cynical or the meta crowd. This is escapism at its best. The fights were fun to watch, and felt real but big. The kaiju were very del Toro with Lovecraftian asides. This was a different and satisfying action film with a nod towards community. I have to see it again. Expand
  46. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. It's fun to watch (especially in IMAX 3D) and definitely not the Evangelion rip-off a lot of ignorant people might make it out to be.
  47. Xon
    Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Delivers what it promised. Perhaps there isn't such a big audience for this kind of movie to validade the budget, but the film-makers squeezed every bit of brilliance out of everything and everyone that went into this film. You have to be really cynical not to like this film. For me its like a modern fairy tale.
  48. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    As brilliant and great as the film was, there were still plenty of flaws; Charlie Hunnam's lame performance along with his generic character, the film's (probably intentional) cheesiness in the latter half, the occasional appearance of bad dialogue and some unintentionally hilarious moments. Those flaws aside, Pacific Rim was great, loud fun filled with plenty of eye-candy, a brilliantAs brilliant and great as the film was, there were still plenty of flaws; Charlie Hunnam's lame performance along with his generic character, the film's (probably intentional) cheesiness in the latter half, the occasional appearance of bad dialogue and some unintentionally hilarious moments. Those flaws aside, Pacific Rim was great, loud fun filled with plenty of eye-candy, a brilliant performance by Idris Elba and great direction. If it weren't for the flaws, the film would have deserved a perfect score. Expand
  49. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First I will say this. Guillermo Del Toro is one of my top 5 movie directors. I own Blade 2, Hellboy 1 and 2, Pans Labyrinth, The orphanage and so on. I was really looking forward to this movie for over a year and was wishing it would deliver but all it did was fail. EPICALLY. The score I gave were for visuals. Whoever says this movie is great they are the reason movies keep getting made. I left the movie theater angry. This has to be the worst movie written and edited of all time. How would anyone release this $200 million dollar cluster fudge.

    Writing is the key to success. The plot of the movie is that a crack opens that port's monsters from another dimension to our world. So its one crack. So answer this why didn't they try to nuke the thing from the beginning to see if it fails before creating the jaegars and finding out at the end that nuking it will fail. Then after creating the Jaegars which were like 30 of them. Why not have them on standby near the stupid crack. The reason being its proven that only one appears at a time. They track them as they appear. Correct. Imagine how much repair they will save if all 30 ganked this one Kaiju as he was entering our world. Why the hell would you split up the Jaegars around the world if its only one crack. Even if they decide to send 10 kaijus they will still fail. But now they decide to do this strategy when only 4 Jaegers are left.

    Next when driving the Jaegers why is there a spinning blade grinder under these guys? What happens if the accidentally fall in? Wait that actually almost happened. Bad design don't you think. Next we have the guy mind meld with a kaiju brain. Now why would they do this. Oh because once the 2 kaijus defeat the 3 Jaegars in less than a minute of movie time they need a diversion for one of the kaijus to leave. Why didn't both Kaijus leave after the scientist guy? So that Dipsey Stranger can intervene and take them out separately. Then something stupid happens. The Gorilla kaiju that's left over doesn't destroy the last non functioning Jaegar. He just walks around it and punches it in the head. Then these 2 guys get out and blind him with a flare. Seriously.

    Now we get to the kaijus defeat. Why is the Kaiju pregnant? Its proven that they are all clones. WHY? Thats easy to fix the plot hole in the scientist guy to mind meld with the baby kaiju who has no recollection of whats going on in the other dimension. WTF. Really? The thing is in an egg and it has memories. Its like saying that if a woman is pregnant and the baby is delivered I can mind meld with it and it can show me where he came from heaven or HELL. "Because this is what this movie is".

    Finally the part that I screamed at in the Theater. If you read this you know it was me. What was the purpose of having a stick fight training scene if the damn robots cannot use weapons? I didn't see them us any handheld weapons in which this would benefit them. Oh wait the sword at the end against the flying Kaiju. This is where I screamed, "ARE YOU KIDDING ME". They had this weapon the whole time and never used it. WHY? Oh that's right. If they used it in the beginning the brother wouldn't die and the other brother would not meet the Japanese girl in which they wind up have a interracial love interest. THAT DOESN'T WORK. USE THE SWORD. Then later on create kaijus that are smarter in disabling this technique.

    OK forget the sword. how about this. How many times did the jaegers had these kaijus by the neck and never once bothered to crush it with the robotic power? I lost count. As for the flying sucker hell my hands were free. Why not crush its neck with my bare robotic hands.

    Then the movie finally ends just like independence day with the stupid alien looking at the Jaeger explodinah this movie.
    Expand
  50. Jul 12, 2013
    3
    Dull, noisy, clichéd. I'm shocked that Del Toro had anything to do with this. I know fanboys eat this adolescent stuff with a spoon, but if you're looking for anything innovative and inspired, do not see this movie. Just terrible.
  51. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produceI enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produce proper visually attractive films. The makers of this film took the idea of robots fighting godzilla monsters and turned it into this beautiful film.

    I have no other words to describe this. Just go and watch it.
    Expand
  52. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Sure, it's cheesy and predictable. Yes, it's style over substance. But heck..what you are seeing is a friggin live action Robot Anime, coming to life, done with a 'Godzilla' sized budget. It's a great thing to look at and you have to commend the studio for even green lighting this thing. The action sequences are great, and Del Toro give this film his incredible attention to detail. It's aSure, it's cheesy and predictable. Yes, it's style over substance. But heck..what you are seeing is a friggin live action Robot Anime, coming to life, done with a 'Godzilla' sized budget. It's a great thing to look at and you have to commend the studio for even green lighting this thing. The action sequences are great, and Del Toro give this film his incredible attention to detail. It's a wonderful set up, but the bad thing is that when you are just being immersed in this world, the film ends. Other than that, a bold 'original film that deserves to succeed in weeks to come. C'mon people! A lot of folks complain that there isn't enough original material in blockbuster films these days. Give this one your support! Expand
  53. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a one of a kind movie: a 100% commitment to its genre and target audience with absolutely no apologies for its material. Exceptionally well crafted, with full saturation of neon colors, rain and goo. Director Del Toro probably takes the uber geek fan film into a territory the general audience might not want to go. The battle scenes deliver, and the performances from thePacific Rim is a one of a kind movie: a 100% commitment to its genre and target audience with absolutely no apologies for its material. Exceptionally well crafted, with full saturation of neon colors, rain and goo. Director Del Toro probably takes the uber geek fan film into a territory the general audience might not want to go. The battle scenes deliver, and the performances from the actors deliver maximum dedication to the material. My bet is that the film will find a devoted audience, and especially inspire young kids. This is far closer to the Godzilla 1998 film should have been. The executive who greenlit this film was fired, so be grateful that this blank check geek epic got made. Expand
  54. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    Just got done seeing this movie, and... I'm kinda disappointed. Visually, it's great--but a movie shouldn't be all spectacle, at least to an audience past a certain age group. You have all of these great hints of a mythology and character development that aren't fleshed out AT ALL. It instead goes for hokey, cliché material that makes your eyes roll. The humor is cringe-worthy, and theJust got done seeing this movie, and... I'm kinda disappointed. Visually, it's great--but a movie shouldn't be all spectacle, at least to an audience past a certain age group. You have all of these great hints of a mythology and character development that aren't fleshed out AT ALL. It instead goes for hokey, cliché material that makes your eyes roll. The humor is cringe-worthy, and the "rousing" speeches (and dialogue in general) kinda fall flat. I caught myself wishing things would move forward in-between fight sequences. Ron Perlman and Ellen McLain (voice of GLaDOS) were awesome-those are a few pluses. It's a decent movie, but don't get super-hyped--you'll leave disappointed. Expand
  55. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    If you like GDT movies you'll love Pacific Rim. A visual spectacle with some interesting concepts mixed in. But if you don't typically like GDT movies because of questionable logical beats and character motivations, dumb plot holes, and stories that just fall flat after an initial flurry then you'll find more of the same here. I largely enjoyed the first act but I just wanted it to endIf you like GDT movies you'll love Pacific Rim. A visual spectacle with some interesting concepts mixed in. But if you don't typically like GDT movies because of questionable logical beats and character motivations, dumb plot holes, and stories that just fall flat after an initial flurry then you'll find more of the same here. I largely enjoyed the first act but I just wanted it to end when the story got "moving." Granted I'm no longer a 13 year old boy. If I was I would have watched it 10 times already. Still, that's no excuse for poor storytelling. Expand
  56. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    There lies our inner child who will squeal when giant mecha heroically arrives to fend off gargantuan tower size monster in an epic battle that will surely destroy anything around them, but we really don't care about collateral damage. Pacific Rim is a homage to that forgotten child and ultimately the mecha genre. I didn't expect Japanese inspired Godzilla-esque scenes, where it was madeThere lies our inner child who will squeal when giant mecha heroically arrives to fend off gargantuan tower size monster in an epic battle that will surely destroy anything around them, but we really don't care about collateral damage. Pacific Rim is a homage to that forgotten child and ultimately the mecha genre. I didn't expect Japanese inspired Godzilla-esque scenes, where it was made from cardboard miniature and people in suit back in the old days, will be realized into hyper stylish modern day action movie. Granted, it's still marred by a few typical disaster movie cliches, but it will make your eyes open wide and mouth agape just seeing the colorful metal knight versus relentless organic behemoth as your childhood is relived once again.

    There hasn't been anything quiet like it visually. Color palette is glossy and bright, the motion of the gigantic being, either it's steel or flesh, is appropriately smooth. The scale of the encounters is immense, often showcasing stormy sea and dystopian night life to emphasis the clash. Use of 3D effect highlights it even more, its camera angle shows the threat of Kaiju, the monsters, in a daunting perspective. These walking antagonists deliver thrill light years ahead compared to usual monster type on their television counterparts. It makes the appearance of Jaegar, the robots, even more exciting and the battle that much better. There's just no shortage of colossal mayhem in Pacific Rim.

    Story takes a bleak contemporary setting where Kaiju attack gradually increases, however this is unlike gritty nuance of apocalypse, it still has some fun and humor. Humanity's answer for the Kaiju infestation is Jaegars. tall stoic robotic entities which take two persons to pilot by synchronizing their thoughts. With incredibly fast paced screenplay, the movie pulls audience to invest in the story. Charlie Hunnam from Sons of Anarchy fame takes the role of the troubled protagonist Raleigh Becket. He's clean cut with emotional baggage of losing his brother. In a way it makes him a compatible with Mako Mori, played by Rinko Kikuchi, the teen girl from Babel.

    The dynamic between them is the majority of the story, which arguable takes a bit longer than expected. They do relatively fine, although there's not much chemistry to be had. Charlie Day and Ron Perlman are present, mostly for comedy relief. It appears that the movie would like to introduce larger-than-life characters, much like those in anime. Some scenes don't really work since it's trapped in predictable cycle, such as some ridiculous death scenes or the speech before final battle.

    Credit must go to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a movie he's truly passionate about. Mecha genre is far from mainstream, especially in blockbuster, but it now has a decent representation in the form of Pacific Rim. Some silliness or occasional slow scenes aside, it's a fresh entertaining rendition of boys mecha fantasy and an especially irresistibly captivating action movie as a whole.

    Rate 8/10
    Expand
  57. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a 2013 science fiction film directed by Guillermo del Toro with Charlie Hunnam, Rinko Kikuchi and Rob Perlman.
    In a future world the earth was attacked by the giant alien monsters called Kaiju, emerged on the bottom of the Pacific Ocean through an interdimensional portal. Because, to destroy one of those monsters many lives are sacrificed, it was decided to build giant robots called Jaegers controlled by two pilots. Initially, the robots are able to get the better of the monsters, but the latter seem to adapt to new weapons and that pushes humanity to the brink of disaster. The last remaining Jaegers are taken in Hong Kong and the former pilot Jaeger, Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) is persuaded to return to the team he left after losing his brother, also a pilot, clashing against a Kaiju. Here begins the last attack to save humanity.
    Although it seems not to follow the rules of the director, Pacific Rim is a product of Del Toro and we can see it in the prologue, which serves to immerggerci in the world we are told the story and also in the memories of Mako (Rinko Kikuchi) a lot well done.
    The film is inspired by the anime of the 70s and also to those of today (especially Neo Genesis Evangelion).
    The plot is not very original but it is by no means trivial or obvious. The photography of the film is well done as well as special effects (featuring beautiful as are the Kaiju and Jaegers).
    The fight scenes between the giants are well made and it is clear that they were made in anime style (such as special moves of Jaegers).
    The film also manages to entertain with humor and never forced anything vulgar or exaggerated.
    It will not be a masterpiece but Guillermo was able to create a great film
    Expand
  58. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. TheThis is easily one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's everything an action movie should be and then some. Anyone coming to the theater looking for badass fights between giant robots and giant monsters will be utterly satisfied by some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen in all of cinema, as it keeps throwing new things at you and every single one goes over extremely well. The special effects and visual design are simply masterful; the Jaegers look exactly how a giant robotic mech suit should, their interfaces look suitably futuristic and cool, while on the other end the Kaiju look suitably otherworldly, but with enough grounding to not look out of place in our world. On the story end of things, you have a surprisingly intricate tale of multiple characters who each have personal struggles relating to the Kaiju invasion and subsequent advent of Jaegers, as well as even minor characters generally being at worst interesting and entertaining and at best well-developed and multidimensional. It's also simply astounding just how well this movie built its world, with every environment feeling exactly how it should and fitting into the rest of the setting very impressively. Certain flashback scenes which I won't spoil were simply a joy to watch, masterful displays of cinematography at its absolute best, and the rest of the movie isn't far behind them. I honestly can't think of any legitimate complaints about this movie, beyond petty gripes not worth mentioning. It's simply worth watching, no matter who you are. Expand
  59. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was alsoPacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was also up to par and the character development was fantastic, giving life and depth to characters that seem at first to be a bit superficial. There were also some nice cameos by actors like Charlie Day and Ron Perlman, who though I don't like, had a cool role. Overall, this movie takes a substantial amount of suspended disbelief but I think most people who like cool action movies will really enjoy it. Expand
  60. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Two hours of awesome! There's always room for more about the Jaegers and their crews, but the movie delivers what you'd expect it to: giant machines fighting huge monsters. [proper review coming later]
  61. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    My expectations of a visually playful blockbuster were pretty spot on. But the movie is also longer than I expected, and tends to expect the viewer to be entertained by the impressiveness of the visuals alone. The story had a more humanistic premise than usually seen in action flicks, but I'm not sure how much subtext there was. But I guess there could be something clever hidden in theMy expectations of a visually playful blockbuster were pretty spot on. But the movie is also longer than I expected, and tends to expect the viewer to be entertained by the impressiveness of the visuals alone. The story had a more humanistic premise than usually seen in action flicks, but I'm not sure how much subtext there was. But I guess there could be something clever hidden in the many symbols. I'm just not sure if it's worth bothering. Expand
  62. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Del Toro’s latest tentpole, watched in 3D format on IMAX screen, a substantial SFX Jarger Vs. Kaiju monolith which makes TRANSFORMER franchise pale in comparison. But the feeble storyline and unimaginative character-building drags the film into a scrape of torpor. especially after the seasonal actioners’ drumfire (after WHITE HOUSE DOWN 2013, 6/10 and FAST AND FURIOUS 6 2013. 6/10),Del Toro’s latest tentpole, watched in 3D format on IMAX screen, a substantial SFX Jarger Vs. Kaiju monolith which makes TRANSFORMER franchise pale in comparison. But the feeble storyline and unimaginative character-building drags the film into a scrape of torpor. especially after the seasonal actioners’ drumfire (after WHITE HOUSE DOWN 2013, 6/10 and FAST AND FURIOUS 6 2013. 6/10), PACIFIC RIM is the most costly one, and its red-hot accomplishment in the Chinese box office suggests a belated chance to break even its tepid reception in the North American domain, with its Japan opening this coming weekend, an approximate $400,000,000 worldwide turnover may green-light a sequel for its ardent followers.

    The 3D effect surely doesn’t improve at all thanks to the murky palette of the raining night combat and underwater location, under the 3D monopoly (even more absurd there are 4D version available in theaters) at least in China, we have no access to the plain 2D type, which rumor says its rendition is much better in an IMAX screen. Dedicated to Japanese Tokusatsu films, Del Toro and his crew’s reconstruction and invention of genre is groundbreaking, an eye-opener with excellent technical scrupulousness, the bombarding sound effects are overwhelming as well as its awe-inspiring and heroic battle scenes.

    There are some hiccups keep bugging me, an obvious one is that why on earth there is no conventional weaponry assistance engaging in the doomsday battle, not even as the cannon fodder; another one is the last moment sword stunt, saving the best for the last may not work here, it is only for practicability, but an ill-considered one. Hunnam doesn’t possess enough charisma to carry on the film on his shoulder and his platonic relation with Kikuchi hasn’t been dug deep enough to steal the limelight. Other actors are standard equipments, Elba is the commander whose background story desperately needs a prequel. Day is the comic relief and Perlman is the egomaniac laughing-stock.

    Del Toro’s Hollywood odyssey has been rougher than one had presumed, PACIFIC RIM is a qualified film in the sense of it is an updated product for the genre criterion (let’s wait and see how GODZILLA will handle the challenge next year), but it doesn’t live up to Del Toro’s talent if one familiars with his earlier films, notably his homespun masterpiece PAN’S LABYRINTH (2006, 9/10), where mythology and reality have been miraculously criss-crossed and not only our eyes are being opened, our hearts are also being filled with passion and vibration.
    Expand
  63. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim no es la mejor pelicula pero no me resulto aburrida a pesar de las 2 horas que dura, sumarle a eso los buenos efectos especiales que tiene, bueno que mas puedo decir, mi calificacion lo dice todo..
  64. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movieThis movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movie where you stop caring and are along for the ride. It reminded me of Transformers, meets Never Back Down, meets Cloverfield. It was an absolute thrill to watch and I can't wait to go see it again. By the way... this is some of the best 3D I've seen (especially since it was post converted). If you get the chance, go see it! Expand
  65. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    A damn good action film that, thankfully, didn't waste the awesome opportunities it was given. The film doesn't patronise it's audience by explaining *everything*; the back story is neatly fleshed out in a pre-credits sequence (sort of like James Bond, really), and then the film is left to get on with things. There is some cheese, but it's done affectionately, such as Stacker Pentecost'sA damn good action film that, thankfully, didn't waste the awesome opportunities it was given. The film doesn't patronise it's audience by explaining *everything*; the back story is neatly fleshed out in a pre-credits sequence (sort of like James Bond, really), and then the film is left to get on with things. There is some cheese, but it's done affectionately, such as Stacker Pentecost's rousing speech, or the "unproven rookie does good" thread with Mako Mori. But that's par for the course with action films these days, and it's never laid on too thick.

    One particular action sequence in the middle of film is worth the price of admission alone and, though I've never 'whooped' in a cinema before, I did mutter an "Oh wow" under my breath during a particularly awesome set-piece.

    As for mass appeal, I can imagine this being a good film to see with the family and I hope people are not put off by it's geeky affectations. I would definitely see this again, though perhaps not in 3D this time. Some of the fight scenes are a little difficult to follow in the murk. The guy sitting next to me actually held his hands up in a "What's going on?" gesture in the opening battle, and I laughed and nodded at him in agreement.

    8 out of 10, and here's to the sequels!
    Expand
  66. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    Gonna start off with the negatives Painfully generic and predictable story that you can call from a mile away. The acting is so-so and it does suffer from a few poor casting choices (Charlie Day anyone?).

    That being said, The battle scenes are freaking fantastic. So incredibly well done, They are simply addicting to watch. That alone makes the film worth watching and I really wish that
    Gonna start off with the negatives Painfully generic and predictable story that you can call from a mile away. The acting is so-so and it does suffer from a few poor casting choices (Charlie Day anyone?).

    That being said, The battle scenes are freaking fantastic. So incredibly well done, They are simply addicting to watch. That alone makes the film worth watching and I really wish that I had seen it in theaters in 3-D because it would have been a blast.

    So overall, Thankfully the story is not a major focus but the battles are. For that alone, It's worth checking out because it can be rather enjoyable to watch.
    Expand
  67. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Del Toro's vision is as grand and elaborate as ever, as the Jaegars and Kaijus indulge in guilty techno-porn. Alas, Beacham's story is painfully routine (with a few flashes of interesting here and there) but then again, we do get to see Idris Elba bellow "today we are canceling the apocalypse!".
  68. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    An amazing visual ride with a heart and soul, unlike many many blockbusters.

    The visuals alone are incredible, it's not just about making it look "realistic" but also about making it visually pleasing as well! The colors and the lighting effects were so beautiful and vibrant, an absolute delight for the eyes, and I didn't even see it in IMAX. The story and characters are pretty basic
    An amazing visual ride with a heart and soul, unlike many many blockbusters.

    The visuals alone are incredible, it's not just about making it look "realistic" but also about making it visually pleasing as well! The colors and the lighting effects were so beautiful and vibrant, an absolute delight for the eyes, and I didn't even see it in IMAX.

    The story and characters are pretty basic so you shouldn't see this movie if those are your highest priorities, but it's done well enough as to not be insulting to the audience and gets the movie going. The thing I really appreciated in this movie is that there are no "bad guy" character ruining all the pace and the fun, it's just people trying to survive and everyone doing their best against the big monsters, simple as that!

    What made this movie work above all for me is the tone, it knows how to be serious and tense when it needs to, but it never forgets that the story is ridiculous and knows not to take itself too seriously, again unlike MANY blockbusters lately. I also loved the positivity, again unlike all our current "dark" blockbusters, it's such a breath of fresh air to go see a movie that doesn't leave you depressed at the end that I just had to commend Pacific Rim for that!
    Expand
  69. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    The fighting scene was awesome. The kaijus design were great. I wish they had more interesting ability design for the kaijus like the one that had EMP wave for a weapon and the one that can fly. I wish they had one kaiju that can turn invisible or a kaiju that is similar to a hydra. So if you expect a giant mech fighting a giant monster Pacific Rim is the movie you have to watch, but ifThe fighting scene was awesome. The kaijus design were great. I wish they had more interesting ability design for the kaijus like the one that had EMP wave for a weapon and the one that can fly. I wish they had one kaiju that can turn invisible or a kaiju that is similar to a hydra. So if you expect a giant mech fighting a giant monster Pacific Rim is the movie you have to watch, but if you're on to the story or character development well this isn't the movie you have to watch. The only character that is worth to know is the character of Ida. Expand
  70. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is... Exciting. It's new and unique, but isn't groundbreaking, not by any stretch, it is really good though. It's not written incredibly well, but well nonetheless. The highlight of the film is the exciting action and the development of the story line; the incredible 3D special effects and the exciting action mix to make something very fun and enjoyable. The character buildingPacific Rim is... Exciting. It's new and unique, but isn't groundbreaking, not by any stretch, it is really good though. It's not written incredibly well, but well nonetheless. The highlight of the film is the exciting action and the development of the story line; the incredible 3D special effects and the exciting action mix to make something very fun and enjoyable. The character building is done brilliantly and the acting is good, so you get really attached to the characters as you see there memories in the 'drift' and you experience their emotions and what they have to go through with the crazy and destructive 'Kaiju War'. In a nut-shell this film is very fun and enjoyable, but also gripping and fairly emotional. So I give this film a... 85/100! Expand
  71. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is,Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is, and it's the best at what it does. Expand
  72. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i first saw ads for this film, I did not expect much, but I watched it regardless, mainly because robots. But when i saw it, i was pleasantly surprised. it was actually a pretty good film, it had a good story line, amazing visuals, and good action scenes. i really only had one complaint though, there is very little character development. Ok, maybe I've been spoiled by evangelion, but there really isn't much. i mean, with some of the characters you meet them, you see their robot, their dead. you never really get to learn much about them, but besides that this was a very good film i believe is worth watching. Expand
  73. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    What can be said? There are plenty of audience pointed blockbusters. Good ones, bad ones. Popcorn flips, But only in unique cases there are MASTERPIECEs. Like Avengers, Tron, Star Trek. As well there are some breakthrough ideas occur in every summer. Like Inception, Dark Knight, Ted or something like that. Anyway.
    PACIFIC RIM is all of it combined and multiplied at least five times. One
    What can be said? There are plenty of audience pointed blockbusters. Good ones, bad ones. Popcorn flips, But only in unique cases there are MASTERPIECEs. Like Avengers, Tron, Star Trek. As well there are some breakthrough ideas occur in every summer. Like Inception, Dark Knight, Ted or something like that. Anyway.
    PACIFIC RIM is all of it combined and multiplied at least five times. One of the greates and most underestimated director of our time Guillermo Del Toro has done one of the most incredible sci-fi movies in late 100 years. It is not Space Odyssey by Kubrick, Not a War of Worlds by Spielberg, or Nolan's Inception and anything else. It is an alien invasion on high profile. It is a hidden dangerous, comes from the abyss of our world. It is science, why two pilots? You will know and will be shocked. Why Kaiju? Keep calm and just watch.
    Does it cost 2 hours? Yes it does. It has everything from humor to drama, from love to honor. Visually Spectacular. Joyfully directed, perfectly performed characters by Idris Elba, Charlie Hunnam and ROn Pearlman. So Amazing storyline and visual show. great score. You will not have an opportunity to get some popcorn, cause you will not be able to taker your eyes away from it.
    Expand
  74. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    "Do you want to sit here or go out there and do something really stupid" Pacific Rim is a gigantic monster brawl. But not like Godzilla versus Mechagodzilla. It has awesome special effects, great acting and a amazing story. Something that you would usually get in a movie like Argo or Lincoln. But this movie delivers all that. Don't be turned off by the genre and even though it's in"Do you want to sit here or go out there and do something really stupid" Pacific Rim is a gigantic monster brawl. But not like Godzilla versus Mechagodzilla. It has awesome special effects, great acting and a amazing story. Something that you would usually get in a movie like Argo or Lincoln. But this movie delivers all that. Don't be turned off by the genre and even though it's in third place in the box office it is easily better than Grown ups 2 in critical reception and it may be better than Despicable Me 2 for older kids. So really it should be number 1. Also if you think it may be scary for little kids that's not true. There only gore that comes from the monster and one or two curses. Maybe not for 4-8 years olds but anyone older will probably be alright. So anyway this films boasts amazing visuals, great acting and a great story. I wouldn't be surprised if it won an Oscar for best visuals. This is a definite must see. Expand
  75. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    The great action sequences, which get ridiculous upon each one and less visible, can't make up for the horrible acting, stupid characters, and corniness that was frankly shockingly blatant. Its hard to enjoy a film when you have multiple 20 to 30 minute dull parts spaced throughout the movie
  76. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    "Pacific Rim" is a spectacle for the eyes and ears. I mean this movie is a visual treat from well detailed robot and monster designs to high over the top, but well choreographed action sequences and massive collateral damage. The world that Guillermo del Toro creates is imaginative and his character designs are mesmerizing and complex. The sound design and the sheer force of the films"Pacific Rim" is a spectacle for the eyes and ears. I mean this movie is a visual treat from well detailed robot and monster designs to high over the top, but well choreographed action sequences and massive collateral damage. The world that Guillermo del Toro creates is imaginative and his character designs are mesmerizing and complex. The sound design and the sheer force of the films score captivates you into a ride of sight and sound that pleases all your senses. From the metal grinding noise of the robots to the fleshy and almost beast like cry the monsters make, this film has you feeling like you are right there in the middle of the action.

    While the movie is mostly is a visual treat, it doesn’t forget about its characters and there humanity. The film isn’t all bells and whistles, it really does have some really nice character moments in its script, which are about overcoming fear, moving on and trust. These moments make us care for the events that are unfolding. However, the script isn’t all serious business, it knows when to have fun. Some of these moments can be a bit too campy though and some of the emotional moments feel forced. The film sometimes even becomes contrived, mainly towards the end. However, director Guillermo del Toro balances things pretty well.

    The actors in this film do a pretty good job, but the only real standout is Idris Elba as Stacker Pentecost.This character is sort of the leader of the resistance and Elba commands attention every second on screen. Charlie Hunnam is pretty good as Raleigh Becket, a Jaeger pilot, who left the resistance after a traumatic incident. I wish they showed more of his inner battle, it would have invested us into the story more. Rinko Kikuchi as Mako Mori is really hit or miss. The scenes where she is more reserved are good, but when she tries to emote, it can be awkward at times. The rest of the cast is pretty solid and the supporting cast is pretty good, especially Charlie Day, who brings some of the lighter moments to the film.

    Overall “Pacific Rim" as a giant robot versus giant monster movie is pretty awesome. The visuals, sound, and well directed action are all top-notch. They provide a treat for the eyes like never before. Even the 3D is spectacular, the best I’ve seen since “Avatar," it really absorbs you into del Toro’s imaginative world. The story, mainly the human element, is a bit weaker as it can feel contrived at times. It keeps us involved, but never takes us to the next level of emotional satisfaction. I give it 4/5, a blockbuster with some of the coolest and most imaginative action that I have seen this year.
    Expand
  77. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    It is an over the top feast of monsters and robots that is a visual splendor for the eyes. Exciting, action packed, and funny. To top it off, it also had a pretty cool score.
  78. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    as someone who grew up with Transformers and was heavily disappointed with Michael Bay's movies, and I also grew up with Godzilla, well this movie was just made for me and people of similar generations.
    Surprising that in the US they didn't like it, guess Mechs and Kaijus weren't as big in there back in the 80/90s.
    Although, yes, the movie has obvious cliches and one scene that simply
    as someone who grew up with Transformers and was heavily disappointed with Michael Bay's movies, and I also grew up with Godzilla, well this movie was just made for me and people of similar generations.
    Surprising that in the US they didn't like it, guess Mechs and Kaijus weren't as big in there back in the 80/90s.

    Although, yes, the movie has obvious cliches and one scene that simply showed the hand going through the building that wasn't cool nor funny, but when you grow up to that kind of things, seeing a tribute to your childhood heroes is always fun
    Expand
  79. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    If you like SCI FI, if you like anime, if you're into action movies, this is the BEST MOVIE EVER, it sure was for me, no regrets in watching it, kept me on the edge of the seat the whole time, i'm planning on seeing it a couple more time on theaters while i still can.
  80. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim gushes with love with every single scene Robot designs, one liners, the simplistic plot make for a non-cluttered enjoyable expirience for everyone involved.

    Not needed, but I personally recommmend seeing this film in 3D. Having all the battles and characters on different grounds makes everything seem very real and makes all the action easy to see.
  81. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year so far, amazing special effects, solid writing great characterization. It's pretty much Evangelion, if Evangelion wasn't awful. See it, see it again, you will not regret it.
  82. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    I will admit that Pacific Rim did not turn out to be the movie I thought it was going to be, but all in all it is a better than average summer movie. The set pieces were pretty cool, and the robots and monsters almost warrant seeing the movie twice( just so you can catch some of the details you're bound to miss the first time). The acting is pretty solid and the CGI, of course,was awesome.
  83. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    "Pacific Rim" has perhaps some of the greatest action I have ever seen. The use of 3-D is fantastic, the CGI and visuals were stunning, the acting is brilliant and both the story and script are intelligently crafted. This truly is a intense, epic, visually-stunning spectacle.
  84. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Perfect plot, best Bluray release ever, with 10+ 3D video and 10+ lossless DTS HD-MA audio track.

    You must have this movie if you loved at least one of these movies/characters:
    Godzilla
    Mazinger
    Power Rangers
    Jurassic Park
    Gamera
  85. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    A slight disappointment for me, Pacific Rim wasn't the ultimate blockbuster it seemed to be in the trailers. Don't get me wrong, the battles were absolutely spectacular, but there weren't just as many of them. Around half a movie is dedicated to its plot and it sucks. It's illogical and predictable, the characters are stereotyped and sometimes outright annoying (say, the two scientists).A slight disappointment for me, Pacific Rim wasn't the ultimate blockbuster it seemed to be in the trailers. Don't get me wrong, the battles were absolutely spectacular, but there weren't just as many of them. Around half a movie is dedicated to its plot and it sucks. It's illogical and predictable, the characters are stereotyped and sometimes outright annoying (say, the two scientists). Normally I try not to think about the plot too much during such blockbusters, but again, in the Pacific Rim there is just too much screentime devoted to it. To compare, the recent Man of Steel also didn't boast an exactly flawless plot, but action was neatly mixed with the story, a major scene ocurring every 10 minutes or so. So in my opinion, Rim is a good summer blockbuster, but it could've been more. Expand
  86. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    It does drag in the middle for sure with the pointless character development but we all know that is to pad out the time while we wait for the next ABSOLUTELY AWESOME MONSTER MASHUP! It's like the best ever video game mixed up with a crappy comic book. One thing, you really MUST see at the cinema. The only excuse for at home is a huge TV and a bag of 'mind enhancing herbs.'
  87. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Listen, this is THE popcorn SUMMER ACTION movie. This is BETTER than any other films in it's genera. I'll keep it simple. If you want to be pulled into the ride of your life, and be hit in the face with total badassness then go see this film. Ignore anything else you hear. It's a fun, action packed, insane ride.
  88. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a solid sci-fi film that mightn't stand out from the rest but at the same time is not the same thing you've seen a million times. Although the flow of the film suffers a bit, it makes up for it with memorable characters, creative ideas and an interesting plot. The acting is fairly good and the special effects are no less than amazing. It's not revolutionary, nor is itPacific Rim is a solid sci-fi film that mightn't stand out from the rest but at the same time is not the same thing you've seen a million times. Although the flow of the film suffers a bit, it makes up for it with memorable characters, creative ideas and an interesting plot. The acting is fairly good and the special effects are no less than amazing. It's not revolutionary, nor is it incredible, but it's not a failure either. It's worth seeing if you like the look of the trailer, if you don't however, you may still find that you like the characters, otherwise the trailer sums up most of what to expect. In short: Solid movie, not amazing, but not terrible either. 7/10 from me. Expand
  89. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    No esperen ver un clásico, sino una película entretenida de principio a fin con muchos guiños a Macross, Personajes secundarios carismaticos y mounstros grandes... muy grandes!!
  90. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    phenomenal...great movie, very powerful...exclusive director Guillermo del Toro, one of my favorite... spectacle for the eyes and ears. Epic from start to finish
  91. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    Devoid of emotional essence, unpredictable plot elements, quality performances and stand-out characters, Pacific Rim is saved by its stunning, visually spectacular colossal fight scenes, its fast, thrilling pace and well-constructed mythology.
  92. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    To the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plotTo the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plot was solid even if some of the physics were improbable (they would need more helicopters to lift their Jaegers). Did I enjoy the movie? All four of the friends I went with and I LOVED the movie. It was very entertaining and did have a very unique, appealing visual style. I have to admit I'm a del Toro fan and have like everything he's done (too bad that couldn't have included the Hobbit). Expand
  93. Jul 16, 2016
    7
    I really like Guillermo del Toro and this one is no exception. While a lesser work of his, Pacific Rim is a decidedly fun, action-packed, and well thought out monster/alien invasion kind of film. With fantastic special effects and impeccable creature design, as well as robot design, Pacific Rim is an impressively crafted film. At every turn, the effects never ceased to impress me andI really like Guillermo del Toro and this one is no exception. While a lesser work of his, Pacific Rim is a decidedly fun, action-packed, and well thought out monster/alien invasion kind of film. With fantastic special effects and impeccable creature design, as well as robot design, Pacific Rim is an impressively crafted film. At every turn, the effects never ceased to impress me and really was a treat to watch. The film had to have been truly impressive in 3D. That said, the film does have problems. It can be a little over-the-top and the script is sketchy at best. Some of it is well-written, but far too many of them was just not well done. Charlie Day's character can be quite annoying, largely because Day has no sense of nuance and has an annoying voice in his own right, but here, it is not reigned in. Plus, it feels totally out of place in a film that is otherwise quite serious. If it were a comedy, Charlie Day would have been appropriate pick, but not here. The acting is fine, though can be a little hammy at times and I would certainly stop short of calling it good. Fortunately, the film is fun, has an important message of togetherness to communicate, and has truly incredible special effects. Far from perfect, Pacific Rim is still a fun summer romp. Expand
  94. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim in a nutshell is the best movie in 2013 based on my opinion.

    When I was younger, I spent my time watching Ultraman movies on TV. I found the movies interesting and at that time the effects just blew me away. I loved the idea of an Ultraman fighting a giant beast in big cities as it meant destruction and more destructions. I got use to the concept of giant beasts as well and
    Pacific Rim in a nutshell is the best movie in 2013 based on my opinion.

    When I was younger, I spent my time watching Ultraman movies on TV. I found the movies interesting and at that time the effects just blew me away. I loved the idea of an Ultraman fighting a giant beast in big cities as it meant destruction and more destructions. I got use to the concept of giant beasts as well and I am fond of thinking a big evil bird or a menacing lizard as giants destroying things. I must have also wondered whether or not those movies would promote themselves into a larger screen.

    And several months back, my dream came true. I got what I had been wishing for from Pacific Rim. The premise was simple: humanity was in the brink of devastation since unknown giant beasts had invaded big cities. We created our own monsters in a shape of gigantic robots with weaponry systems most countries can only dream of. The giant beasts were proven to develop themselves as they quickly grasped every strategy thrown at them.
    I felt like a boy watching this movie. It was that nostalgic feeling that helped me loving the movie. The action sequences were just awesome and there were some moments in which I dropped my jaw due to
    The excitement I felt. The giant beasts shown here were somewhat similar to what I had watched during my childhood and it was a recipe for success. I believe that I wasn't the only person thought that way.
    Watch this movie if you watched Ultraman in your childhood.
    Expand
  95. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Great fun, amazing designs. The Jaegers especially were pure joy to watch. There's no lulling dip dragging out mankind's first contact, or over the top drama, just monsters versus robots. Absolutely brilliant.
  96. May 17, 2014
    7
    Porn for Godzilla fans, really the only why to describe Del Toro's extraordinary best of a machine "Pacific Rim", sadly im not that big a fan of Giant Mecha robot rights with aliens BUT when i wanna watch giant mecha robot fights with aliens i recommend Pacific Rim.

    Rating: Supermechalienfigterrobotpornforgodzillafans out of 10
  97. Dec 16, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is certainly a step up from the ridiculous padding (and sometimes offensive) movies that make the Transformers films, but it is not necessarily a masterpiece. It is, however, a step in the right direction.

    From the beginning this movie absolutely sucked in the originality department. Concepts of kaiju and mechas have already been exploited to hell and back by the likes of Ultraman and Super Sentai. It made no pretenses as to where the inspiration came from. It wasn't even a parody or homage film; it just outright passed it as if its something to amaze the culturally dim Western audiences. Give me a break.

    The story is simple; kaijus come to trample around the Earth from undersea, and we built giant mechas, piloted by the minds of two pilots. We get to see our protagonist with his brother. Not 5 minutes in, the brother dies, and its suppose to make the protagonist go into hiding for five years. In that period, international council members of the UN cut the funding of the mecha programme in favour of some big wall that doesn't seem to work. So the chief (Idris Elba) goes after the hero to make one last hurrah to stop the kaijus once and for all.

    Already, I see great problems with the film in the first act alone. Senseless deaths that's supposed to mean a lot to the hero, doesn't affect me if I don't connect to the deceased. Cliches are rampant in the film. Arrogant jock ala Iceman from Top Gun, the absent-minded scientist who thinks only of proving himself right above even common sense, politicians from shadowy- omnipotent councils that try to oversee a military operation (think the Council from Xcom). Its really laze writing. I especially hated the scientist because its clear as the movie progresses that he's supposed to be comic relief. His contribution to the storyline is minimal till the end of the film. To which I ask: since when stereotypes become a joke? Blackface and yellow-faces are not a joke.

    Unlike Transformers however, any non-action scene in this movie is utilised to some extent for character development. I liked Ms Mori's character being fleshed out, and you slowly begin to see a different dimension to Elba's character as well. The problem is that its the only development you see; the rest, including the hero himself, are stock and 2-dimensional characters. There's even a supposed love tension between the hero and Ms. Mori, but its passed off as weak sauce.

    The 1st act is surprisingly long compared to the other two acts. 1st act is suppose to encompass retraining the hero and Ms. Mori, and getting his mecha up and running. It does provide protected periods of character development, but it also dangerously padded up the act. Especially prominent as the 2nd and 3rd acts were action focused, a sudden tone shift from the introspective 1st Act.

    CGI in this movie is breath-taking and almost perfect. The mechas and kaijus look very real. Surroundings look very real. Not once did I cringe at an out-of-place CG artefact. Truly the same crew that worked on the CG of Transformers have worked in this movie with the same fervor, or otherwise another team did an equally impressive job as well. CG made the fight scenes between mechas and kaijus very lifelike. Ripped metal, alien blood, and explosions are perfectly showed in detail, as if it happened in the physical world. Its probably the best CGI this year.

    How does this movie rate overall? Compared to Transformers, it definitely took a more simple storytelling, but managed to flesh out a bit more dimension into two of their characters. The CGI is equally impressive. It does suffer from superfluous characters that end up padding the movie right until the end (the scientist, though Ron Perlman did ham the scenes quite comedically). The problem though, is that the movie simply has no originality, and half of its story-telling elements are lined with cliches and stereotypes. This easily satiates the appetites of action-maniacs and children, but its painfully obvious how little value the story is. Its very hard to ignore it altogether because they DID take the time focusing on back story and quiet drama moments. In the end, the movie ends up being action oriented, but failed to let the story and characters equally match. Still, at least the main characters ARE the main characters in their own movie, unlike Transformers. Juvenile humour is kept to a minimum. There is not a lot of lore behind the kaijus however, which makes them almost an archetypal alien invaders that have no soul; just targets and objects to kill.
    Expand
  98. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It was action packed robot flick! Future Perfect for any Robot movie like never before. Pacific Rim still the best summer movie of all time since The Avengers. Very Flawless!
  99. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly surprised me that the story wasn't just an excuse to watch monsters and robots fight. It also struck me how plausible things seems. At no point does it step outside of the bounds of reason in any ways that's distracting. In fact it's hard to think of anything that couldn't actually work. By making the Jaegers piloted by two people was a nice way to blend the action with the plot that was surprisingly good. I went into the movie with high expectations because of what I heard about it, and what I got shattered my already high expectations.
    Expand
  100. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and evenPacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and even the original Godzilla films, you cannot miss this. Highly recommended! Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.