User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1264 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Pacific Rim is a great movie.It`s kind of like Transformers without all the unnecessary BS. It`s Godzilla vs human controlled BOTS.It`s a fun movie to watch.
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    I love Japanese mecha anime from Macross to Orguss to Evangelion and back and I never thought I'd ever be bored senseless by a film which purports to be a love letter to giant mecha and Kaiju cinema. Everything is just so bloody dull; framing and cinematography, ESPECIALLY the Jaeger designs. The clichés though! I should have brought a checklist with me, Pacific Rim had so much cheese I'm practically lactose intolerant. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is, and it's the best at what it does. Expand
  4. MSY
    Feb 12, 2014
    4
    Terrible writing and cardboard acting plagues this otherwise entertaining movie. The special effects are great but that's about it. Expected more from Del Toro, a very average movie from an otherwise talented director.
  5. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    2013’s most surprisingly awesome film was Pacific Rim. How did I miss this? Well…

    Even though it was directed by Guillermo del Toro, who has to date made only excellent films, the trailers and the marketing for Pacific Rim did not do the film justice. There was only a bare-bones connection linking del Toro’s star power to this film. For the average person who may know del Toro’s other
    films, Pan’s Labyrinth and Hellboy 1 & 2, but not his name, the little “directed by” box at the bottom of the promotional poster would not have rung any bells, at least not in the same way a giant “From the Director of…” promotion would have. Still, I know del Toro by name and I still didn’t realize this was his film. Wayyy after it was already out of theatres I watched it on a plane. It was great.

    Not only did the marketing not exploit any of the film’s star power, it didn’t even really give us any idea what it was about. The trailer just showed huge metal warriors battling Godzilla-like creatures, much in the fashion of recent mindless action movies such as Battleship (I did actually enjoy Battleship) or anything from the recent Transformers franchise. I hypothesis that this complete disconnect must have been intentional. In this way Pacific Rim attracted the same audience as the previously mentioned movies. A huge audience base that is easily swayed and turned on by special effects, battle scenes, and stuff blowing up, but they are potentially turned off by something that could be considered “cinema,” or too arty. This audience needed to be brought in from the beginning.

    As for the more savvy movie-goers, although turned off by the meat head marketing, they are generally more inquisitive than the average Transformers fan, and so it seems the producers relied on these movie-goer’s inquisitive nature. Since it’s an actual good film, the savvy will find their way to it eventually. This film’s crappy marketing was actually a ploy to lure multiple demographics in subliminal ways, and thus mucho bank was made. Just a hypothesis.

    FYI: According to Slashfilm.com, Transformers2 was the highest grossing, most negatively rated film in history, so getting the Transformers audience was just good business. The fact that the movie is also good is just a rare and wonderful freak, but not accidental, occurrence for the Transformers audience.

    What makes Pacific Rim so great? Using a montage

    sequence and voiceover, in the first five minutes of the film we learn all about the world that Earth has become. Monster Kaijus have invaded from a dimension shifting portal in the ocean, humans have built fighting machines called Jaegers to combat the Kaijus, and this on-going threat, the conflict between the two entities has eventually just becomes a routine part of common culture. Then suddenly things change.

    The set designs are spectacular. Hong Kong is specially tailored here to fit a Kaiju bashing society. The encampments where the machinery and pilots are based is a gloomy complex that looks like the inside of a submarine. Being a big budget action film, Pacific Rim relies heavily on computer-generated graphics and spectacular special effects for its visual telling. Truthfully I have no idea how any of these action scenes would have been shot as almost every one is an epic between giant monsters, earthy and not. But it is not the visuals alone that make this a great movie. Transformers has great visuals.

    It is the script that is so awesome. Co-written by Travis Beachman and del Toro, it is a sci-fi monster movie, but it is the nuances that make the film so much fun to watch. All the intricacies of the world. For instance, two people whose brain functions combine in a process called “the drift” pilot Jaegers. Pilots’ ability to drift effectively in unison is what creates great pilots. The drift is probably the single coolest thing about this film, and the idea is used later for purposes even crazier.

    The Kaijus become so powerful that mankind is forced into a final standoff using all the remaining Jaegers against multiple super strong Kaijus. The prospects for humanity’s survival look grim. In final act of the film a spectacular twist takes place thanks to some unlikely scientists, and the fate of all humanity hangs on their wild hunch, the functioning of the aging military machinery, and the drift between the last two standing Jaeger pilots. I wish I had seen this film in theatres.

    Let's see if Pacific Rim 2 ever makes it from the hard-drive on Travis Beachman's desk to the screen. This time, I'd give it a chance.
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    (Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM)
    I'm not a big fan of sci-fi movies, but I did enjoy Pacific Rim. Not your typical aliens from space movie. Good story line, not a lot o fluff between action scenes . The action scenes were well choreographed. Overall an entertaining movie.
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Pacific Rim is very fun, but it's also too silly for its own good. I will admit however, that it's probably one of the best and most intelligent giant monster movies around. The film is undeniably visual stunning. The fact that it missed out on a visual effects Oscar nod is almost criminal. Fights between the kaju and yagers are huge, meticulously detailed, and about as far fetched as you can get. It's entertaining to say the least, but I wish Del Toro had gone in for a more realistic approach. I'm not saying that it doesn't look real. It does look very real, but the style is cartoonish and outlandish. There are real artistic flourishes here in small bursts, and the supporting characters are also reasonably enjoyable, especially Charlie Day, but the movie is still only a small fragment of what could have been. The actor in the leading role gives an unconvincing and clichéd performance, and the screenplay only occasionally hints at anything truly intellectual. The music also seemed pretty cheesey to me. All and all it's pretty decent, but not anywhere close to a masterwork. Expand
  8. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    I'm not gonna go out and say that Pacific Rim was one of the best movies of all time, but it's definitely one of the boldest. Adopting a lot of elements from both anime and the Kaiju and mecha genres, Pacific Rim clearly knows its roots and pays homages to its roots and looks great doing it.
  9. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    I'm very surprised on how good this movie was and most especially to myself that I enjoyed this movie. Also, I was expecting a sort of 80% Transformers like war and destruction composing the majority of this movie. But it was a good balance of it.

    The acting of the actors was also phenomenal.
  10. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Del Toro's vision is as grand and elaborate as ever, as the Jaegars and Kaijus indulge in guilty techno-porn. Alas, Beacham's story is painfully routine (with a few flashes of interesting here and there) but then again, we do get to see Idris Elba bellow "today we are canceling the apocalypse!".
  11. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Do you like Godzilla movies?
    Do you like Giant Robot movies?
    Would you like to watch them fight it out?

    If you answered yes to the three questions above, then this is the movie for you. My inner 8 year old squealed in delight seeing the trailer for the first time. And did so again while watching the movie. Sure the dialog was a bit flat and the character development was lacking.
    But watching the trailer, I knew what I was going to get and I got it in spades. Damn now I want to watch it again. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Pacific rim The bigger they are, the harder they brawl As I watched this movie I felt Guillermo del Toro asking me: Wanna have a dose of sweet awesome fun? Grab some popcorn, buy a red flavored Icee, lay back and enjoy this movie brother. And that was all I did. This movie tells the story about people who pilot giant robots that are up to stop the obliteration of our species when giant monsters, straight out of every ones childhood fantasy, burst out of a portal in the Pacific Ocean.
    It may sound cliche, and I can proudly say it is full of cliches and it doesn't shy away from the fact. It knows what it was sent to this good earth for and that is entertain the hell out of us. And it does that oh so good. And looks astonishing while doing so!
    From the plot it is implied you expect some ginormous robot vs big monster battles, and holy crap are they going to blow your skin of. Beautifully filmed for you to see the scale of the situations and for these brawls to look just badass. The Hong Kong battle in particular is going to stand out as a perfect set piece for me.
    And responsible for all of this are the special effects. In my opinion what helps to scale out things is are the water effects. How it cascades off these giants is as realistic as it gets.
    After all this focus on its looks and battles you may be wondering about the human element of the movie. While not perfect the arcs these characters go through with each other are fun to watch. Especially Idris Elba who transmits authority like a boss. Charlie Hunamm while not as good manages to hold as a main character. Rinko Kikuchi, the female lead is the one who should win the "Underrated hot chick of the year" award. And finally we have the two crazy scientists played by Charlie Day and Burn Gorman who while incredibly cliche and hyped up on something unknown tend to be funny and energetic.
    A curious fact in the movie is that it shows the social reaction to these monsters and robots and realistically it isn't always fear but propaganda and adapting to the situation. The second one involves Ron Perlman in it.
    After all this praise there is one stand out sequence that involves Mako's (Rinko Kikuchi's) past that you should really look out for. It changes the tone to a more serious and dark one and is made with excelence.

    And of course there has to be a negative or two in this flick and the one negative I can pick is that while the movie builds itself on cliches sometimes these go over the legal limit and strive into predictability and unoriginality.
    But in general this is an amazing achievement in entertainment and special effects that you should really look for if you are having a grey day and want to jack release your worries by watching robots beat the living crap out of some monsters.
    I'm giving this jacked up child dream a 9/10.
    Expand
  13. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    As an action and visual effects blockbuster this is aces with monsters and technology galore clashing and fighting to the death in order to save or destroy. Where it falls down, predictably, is with the human element. Nearly all scenes involving real actors (and I say it some what tongue in cheek) are badly acted with the performers required to say unspeakable dialogue. In fact the script is so awful that it raises many an unintentional laugh. There is also way too much unnecessary exposition. The sound, however, is amazingly good. Expand
  14. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Badass!! realistic movants on the robots fun dumb fun for anytime of the year. Characters that are relatable yet unreliable, with a speech to rival independents day.
  15. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    Cheesy, but awesome cheesy.

    Sometimes cheesy films can be really bad and this was not that, not going to be film of the century but when you're watching it on a big screen really loud then it's really fun to watch.
  16. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    watching a bunch of giant robots fighting monsters is awesome. There is no denying that. Pacific Rim embodies this notion. Pacific Rim is The robot vs monster movie. That being said, everything else about it is pretty damn terrible. The actors are all trying way too hard and it seems that everyone involved was having a hard time taking the subject matter seriously. Maybe because everything in this movie has been done
    before. The whole plot is ripped from every aliens attack movie.
    "Aliens attack and humans put aside their petty differences to work
    together to destroy the attackers". Its so cliché its ridiculous. I was
    constantly having flash backs to other movies. Most notably would be of
    course Godzilla, Transformers and also Independence day. Even the
    ending reeked of Indep Day. The black market for kaiju parts was
    somewhat interesting but it was all way too Hollywood. The scientist's
    were also vaguely interesting but watching them interact and grow as
    characters made me want to puke. Jackson Teller just looks like he
    hopped out of Sons of Anarchy and into a robot suit. Again, robots
    fighting monsters will always be cool and the special effects are top
    notch but everything else is unintentionally cheesy and cliché, its
    very much similar to the Transformers series.
    Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    There's no way you can't love this movie. Being a fan of Gundam and the original Godzilla movies, seeing those two things together was like my dream becoming true. The plot is amazing with a major focus on the humans, the actors playing the characters are pretty good, but sometimes, they feel a bit generic in personality. The Kaiju x Jaeger scenes are this movie's selling point, and oh boy, it is amazing. The soundtrack is also amazing. I can't wait to see the sequel. 10/10 Expand
  18. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film very much. Everything from the acting to the CGI is brilliant and high quality. It's visual desert. Of course, like all these type of godzilla-esque films comes the Japanese themes. The Japanese have always enjoyed designing these types of films. Be it Godzilla, Godzilla vs Mothra, Godzilla vs Gomora, Godzilla vs Baragon and so on, but they lack resources to produce proper visually attractive films. The makers of this film took the idea of robots fighting godzilla monsters and turned it into this beautiful film.

    I have no other words to describe this. Just go and watch it.
    Expand
  19. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a movie to be experienced on a huge screen and in 3D. It doesn't have the best acting or writing, but the overall story is awesome and the action and visual effects are amazing. It doesn't seem like a del Toro movie, even though it has creatures and giant robots. Because it doesn't have the best writing, it focuses more on the action and visual content, so the poor writing doesn't feel as bad.

    Pacific Rim gets 7.4/10
    Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    The movie is a generic mix of ideas from anime super robot genre, amazing effects and fun to watch but is predictable and feels really generic, full of cliches and the giant robots have a plain and boring design, a nice try but not so memorable
  21. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    This was actually a very fun movie. It was engaging, had a neat plot, and delivered on what it was. You don't go into it looking for academy award winning performances, but you leaved having enjoyed it. I would actually love to see some kind of sequel. Definitely an enjoyable movie.
  22. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    think this is the last time i'll ever listen to bad reviews. this movie is great! and definitely a nice watch on Blu-ray. it had everything i wanted, and took me back in memory of a game with mech warriors from sega. i'll actually be buying this.
  23. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    I couldn't help but feel like Pacific Rim should have given me some deeper dramatic elements to chew on, but maybe I'm just missing the point. That having been said, you can do a whole lot worse if you're looking for a brainless, enjoyable action extravaganza.
  24. Dec 24, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a very smart film, however it does do the giant monsters vs giant robots fighting very well. Think Cloverfield monsters vs giant mechs. Visuals are very impressive and they give it kind of a cool back story. If that's all you want, go, watch, you'll be entertained.

    Where Pacific Rim goes wrong is it has some things that just don't make any sense and you just have to suspend belief and move on. Most of them aren't jarring and don't pull you away but some might. For example: like 2 to 4 little helicopters will be able to fly in the robots that are as big as about 4 sky scrapers put together. Does gravity and weight not apply in this world? Ignore it just keep watching... Charlie from Always Sunny is a scientist. Ok, I'd probably watch just to see that.

    Some of the dialogue is pretty bad. One scene they recruit a pilot saying, "I picked you because you're the only Mark 3 robot pilot left alive." then down the road it changes to, "You were the only one to ever pilot a mech solo. That's why I chose you." Like they read the script that was written right? Lets not have a character contradict himself. Also there was a (more spoiler) scene where a pilot almost killed a bunch of people on accident because of being a pilot, and when the person who was sort of being portrayed as an antagonist gives them about it, our "hero" goes a bit overboard on defending them. Like the pilot almost killed a lot of people... It's hard to route for the guy defending that pilot from getting verbally chewed out. There was very little repercussions from that incident other than one awkward cafeteria scene.

    Next,
    Hey, what if these giant monsters were also linked to the dinosaurs? And like the same reason these new giant monsters are coming in is the same reasons the dinosaurs appeared? No, no, please no. You given us one fictional backstory to believe already. Don't spoil it. Spoiler, spoiler spoiler, insert alien destroy then colonize scheme here.* But hey, at least they do it with style.
    Expand
  25. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    Cool concept, ok acting, nonexistent oomph. It's a fun flick, but it couldn't quite get me to cheer for the characters and delve into the world of the Jagers and Kaiju. It sort of felt like someone walked up to you randomly, introduced themselves, and then walked away; flattered they came to say hi, but a bit confused with the sudden departure. As integrated as they make the kaiju appearances sound to daily life, it gives very little insight into what that's like, not quite getting the audience to immerse themselves into the word. If anything, it's an inspiring concept with nice visuals for a very tiny peek into the universe of Pacific Rim. Expand
  26. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Comparing Transformers, I Robot, RoboCop (and all the movies of robots) this leaves them as the worst. Guillermo del Toro treats us to a spectacular show of special effects and action-filled moments of tension and adrenaline. The plot is very smart and keeps you tied to the seat. The performances are not like Daniel Day Lewis, Christoph Waltz, Brad Pitt and all of them, but there are good and which emphasize. The outcome and the course are sublime. Here we have another light in the dark moment is going Hollywood with a fresh idea. If not I at least nominated for an Oscar I'll descepiconar and I think I am not alone. Expand
  27. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    When you sit down to watch this movie, don't expect fantastic acting, interesting dialogue or a compelling story. Instead, this film is absolutley perfect at what it aims to do; its a balls out, over the top action spectacle.
  28. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    E o típico filme com otimos efeitos especias, mais com uma história horrivel.
    Alem do mais robos gigantes que lutam na cidade ja não e novidade, mais acho que Pacific Rim e um grande concorrente da Franquia Transformer.
  29. Dec 16, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is certainly a step up from the ridiculous padding (and sometimes offensive) movies that make the Transformers films, but it is not necessarily a masterpiece. It is, however, a step in the right direction.

    From the beginning this movie absolutely sucked in the originality department. Concepts of kaiju and mechas have already been exploited to hell and back by the likes of Ultraman and Super Sentai. It made no pretenses as to where the inspiration came from. It wasn't even a parody or homage film; it just outright passed it as if its something to amaze the culturally dim Western audiences. Give me a break.

    The story is simple; kaijus come to trample around the Earth from undersea, and we built giant mechas, piloted by the minds of two pilots. We get to see our protagonist with his brother. Not 5 minutes in, the brother dies, and its suppose to make the protagonist go into hiding for five years. In that period, international council members of the UN cut the funding of the mecha programme in favour of some big wall that doesn't seem to work. So the chief (Idris Elba) goes after the hero to make one last hurrah to stop the kaijus once and for all.

    Already, I see great problems with the film in the first act alone. Senseless deaths that's supposed to mean a lot to the hero, doesn't affect me if I don't connect to the deceased. Cliches are rampant in the film. Arrogant jock ala Iceman from Top Gun, the absent-minded scientist who thinks only of proving himself right above even common sense, politicians from shadowy- omnipotent councils that try to oversee a military operation (think the Council from Xcom). Its really laze writing. I especially hated the scientist because its clear as the movie progresses that he's supposed to be comic relief. His contribution to the storyline is minimal till the end of the film. To which I ask: since when stereotypes become a joke? Blackface and yellow-faces are not a joke.

    Unlike Transformers however, any non-action scene in this movie is utilised to some extent for character development. I liked Ms Mori's character being fleshed out, and you slowly begin to see a different dimension to Elba's character as well. The problem is that its the only development you see; the rest, including the hero himself, are stock and 2-dimensional characters. There's even a supposed love tension between the hero and Ms. Mori, but its passed off as weak sauce.

    The 1st act is surprisingly long compared to the other two acts. 1st act is suppose to encompass retraining the hero and Ms. Mori, and getting his mecha up and running. It does provide protected periods of character development, but it also dangerously padded up the act. Especially prominent as the 2nd and 3rd acts were action focused, a sudden tone shift from the introspective 1st Act.

    CGI in this movie is breath-taking and almost perfect. The mechas and kaijus look very real. Surroundings look very real. Not once did I cringe at an out-of-place CG artefact. Truly the same crew that worked on the CG of Transformers have worked in this movie with the same fervor, or otherwise another team did an equally impressive job as well. CG made the fight scenes between mechas and kaijus very lifelike. Ripped metal, alien blood, and explosions are perfectly showed in detail, as if it happened in the physical world. Its probably the best CGI this year.

    How does this movie rate overall? Compared to Transformers, it definitely took a more simple storytelling, but managed to flesh out a bit more dimension into two of their characters. The CGI is equally impressive. It does suffer from superfluous characters that end up padding the movie right until the end (the scientist, though Ron Perlman did ham the scenes quite comedically). The problem though, is that the movie simply has no originality, and half of its story-telling elements are lined with cliches and stereotypes. This easily satiates the appetites of action-maniacs and children, but its painfully obvious how little value the story is. Its very hard to ignore it altogether because they DID take the time focusing on back story and quiet drama moments. In the end, the movie ends up being action oriented, but failed to let the story and characters equally match. Still, at least the main characters ARE the main characters in their own movie, unlike Transformers. Juvenile humour is kept to a minimum. There is not a lot of lore behind the kaijus however, which makes them almost an archetypal alien invaders that have no soul; just targets and objects to kill.
    Expand
  30. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    The visual effects keep it going rather than aid the story, but I guess what makes it worth the watch is the guilty pleasure of seeing monsters and robots beat the crap out of each other.
  31. lox
    Dec 10, 2013
    6
    It's visuals are without a doubt beautiful and it has good pacing as well as action sequences that are popcorn fun, but the characters are entirely forgettable. The performances are good and so is the atmosphere. One thing I hated though was how 3/4th's of the action sequences took place at night time and in the rain, making it difficult to thoroughly savor the visual aspect of this film at times.
  32. Dec 10, 2013
    7
    perfect for 9 year olds or 10
    and you can still watch it when you're older but it's a bit toooooo giant robots pucnhing giant monsters and showing of there awesome weapons and cool looks
    this movie is probably the dumbest awesome movie ever made or the awesomest dumbest movie ever made(honest trailers)
    the story well it's ok
    it's action scene's will make every 10 year old like this
    movie even more then transformers
    in overall it's better then transformers really much better but still it's just showing off big awesome robots
    and there are expalinnations for the monster invasion not just monsters poping up and then yeah well destroying cities and the world must save them and they do and that's it
    this movie is worth watching
    Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    Outstanding visuals. Really impressive. However I need something else. I know fans of these type of movies-juvenile stories will love it. But really, there´s nothing else apart from the stunning visual effects. People say this is the way Transformers should have been done. And I know the director is great. Whatever. I´ve not seen those ones. I need a story and character development for crying out loud! I was really bored, I almost fell asleep (of course I was watching it at night but I always do) and it never happens to me. A 5 out of 10 for the visuals. If not it would obviously be a 0. But it is what it is and it has its public. Expand
  34. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    If you like GDT movies you'll love Pacific Rim. A visual spectacle with some interesting concepts mixed in. But if you don't typically like GDT movies because of questionable logical beats and character motivations, dumb plot holes, and stories that just fall flat after an initial flurry then you'll find more of the same here. I largely enjoyed the first act but I just wanted it to end when the story got "moving." Granted I'm no longer a 13 year old boy. If I was I would have watched it 10 times already. Still, that's no excuse for poor storytelling. Expand
  35. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. It clearly takes inspiration from the Saturday morning TV shows of old like the Power Rangers. Watching people in giant metal suits fighting giant monsters is a heck of a lot of fun. The movie even throws some goofy, comedic style moments to show you how self-aware it is. Overall though it does manage to (thankfully) stay serious. I really enjoyed the film and it is one that I would recommend to others. Expand
  36. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    "Pacific Rim" has perhaps some of the greatest action I have ever seen. The use of 3-D is fantastic, the CGI and visuals were stunning, the acting is brilliant and both the story and script are intelligently crafted. This truly is a intense, epic, visually-stunning spectacle.
  37. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    I went into this with high hopes. Perhaps expecting too much from it. But I really did find it a bit dull most of the time. Sure, the special effects and the action scenes were extremely cool but in the end, this is really just another generic B-rate monster vs monster movie, except it has a huge budget and allot of big names attached.

    Characters are cliched and tired. Plot is
    uninspired and done before. To quote someone I heard on Youtube (I can't remember who) "Pacific Rim is the Power Rangers for adults" and he was right, except this had believable effects and not as cheezy acting.

    Overall:
    Regardless of my gripes, the effects were phenomenal! If you can go into this movie just wanting action and epic fight scenes, then this is the movie for you. Just, don't expect anything else.
    Expand
  38. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Perfect plot, best Bluray release ever, with 10+ 3D video and 10+ lossless DTS HD-MA audio track.

    You must have this movie if you loved at least one of these movies/characters:
    Godzilla
    Mazinger
    Power Rangers
    Jurassic Park
    Gamera
  39. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    This movie is the most fun you can have with your clothes on. I had my arms in front of me mimicking the punches the robots made as if I was 8 years old. I took off points for more predictability than expected and Hunnam's attempt at an American accent. A solid summer movie.
  40. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    It is an over the top feast of monsters and robots that is a visual splendor for the eyes. Exciting, action packed, and funny. To top it off, it also had a pretty cool score.
  41. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim explodes with fantastical imagery, sillybutt action sequences and irresistable fun while exposing emotion and balancing its otherwise average plot.
  42. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    As far as monster vs big bad robots are concerned, not bad at all. But don't think too much! Why the actors have to walk inside the thing (to make the mech walk) is beyond me. Also, much of the action totally defies physics (that's a common complaint for this film). Personally, I was a bit disappointed, but mostly over nuances why this, what's that. Good entertainment. Nothing to go nuts over.
  43. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I really love the way del Toro captures the essence of what I feel is the essence of his childhood, with films like Godzilla and Creature from the Black Lagoon, and the anime of his childhood involving giant mech robots. Its a very enjoyable action film and I feel del Toro had just as much fun making it as I did watching it. Their is true imagination in this film. Its not groundbreaking in the storytelling department but I appreciate good fun and this film is great fun every second you see a Jaeger against a Kaiju! Expand
  44. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I loved this flick. Saw it with my daughter, who is in to all things anime, and she also loved it.

    Saw it in an IMAX theater and that lead to my biggest complaint: all the rain in 3D made it hard to focus on the action once in a while. But since that is my biggest complaint, that should tell you what I think of the rest of the movie.

    Loved the Jaegers and Kaijus. Gipsy Danger
    rocks!

    The fact that this is (gasp!) and ORIGINAL universe gave Guillermo del Toro freedom to create as he wished, without the fear that the die hard fans would hate what he did. And create he did. If you get a chance watch the extras in the Blu-ray. I think you'll be surprised at how many small details are in the movie.

    Idris Elba is one of my favorite up-and-coming actors. His work in The Wire was incredible, and it is good that Hollywood is giving him an opportunity. Charlie Hunnam was more than serviceable as the action hero and while I am not a fan of Rinko Kikuchi, she also played her role well.

    I will not lie and say that there is anything extraordinarily NEW here. It is a story of humans v. monsters. But this minor film does BIG better than a lot of predecessors recently. The Transformers trilogy comes to mind immediately.

    While it seems like a backhanded compliment, you need to enjoy this movie for what it is. It is nothing more than a rollercoaster ride and, as such, does the job VERY well.
    Expand
  45. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim the best summer movie ever made. It even fits the definition of a exploding summer blockbuster film which knows what it's doing. Pacific Rim also knows how to be one by not getting you bored while these titans fight in our cities. One side is made out of metal and the other is completely organic. Giant 250ft tall mechanical beings fighting equally 250 or 300 feet monsters is just something that has never been done before in a long time and it's all thanks to Guillermo Del Toro for pulling the drawings of giant robots and monsters out of my head, and finally putting them into a movie! This is the only movie by far, which has action on a scale that is physically unimaginable. And what's so great about this movie as well, is not only the action, there's a really great sense of humanity in this movie. That we haven't got in a long time too. Great characters and each shows a great purpose in their roles. Charlie Hunnam, I will agree his accent is a little wonky at times. But that's not enough to bring down on how big his charisma is in the movie. A really badass likable character. Though what I wished was more character development between him and his lost brother. It's sad, we didn't get that. But still, Charlie makes the heck out of the movie. Idris Elba, the actor known for playing Heimdall in Thor, is an amazing actor. That focus, and moral center of the movie, is what defines Idris' character. Rinko Kikuchi, an actress who has less knowledge of an eye candy, yet to nail her role in playing the role of an isolated beautiful object in this movie and has really a great backstory. But she's just as good as Charlie's character, who has a badass backstory but it's a little one-dimensional. Charlie Day, from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, is hilarious in this movie. Every scene he's in is appropriate for the comedic relieves and he's the scientist who's always hyperactive on drugs, especially the Hong Kong scenes where he's in. Great! Ron Perlman, known for making his cameo longer than any cameos I've seen, does a great job as a leader of a black market Kaiju dealer. Really great. Guillermo specifically said he wanted something that looked weirder or stranger than the giant monsters, so we got this. Something to be taken with the opposite of serious. And the rest of the cast did a fine job at bringing the movie with the sense of actual continuity. Pacific Rim definitely deserves a sequel as there's so much more of it's story that we needed. And the sequel should also tell more of the prologue which is quite short in this movie, unfortunately. Not giving audiences more information and therefore having others to felt like this movie had some part of the plot that didn't make sense. But I wasn't one of them. I know everything there is to know about Pacific Rim. Now I've said this and I will say it again, Pacific Rim is not just everything about explosions and spectacle and metal and monsters fighting, it has really great human elements in this movie. Unlike the Transformers which has some really inappropriate moments that just tore the film down and it's annoying. The action in there was really subtle, meaning it's bad and it's really hard to understand which transformer is fighting which transformer. Michael Bay and Dreamworks, you got some mess to do. Okay! So overall, Pacific Rim is an awesome great action summer blockbuster movie that deserves to receive all your money and it's really worth most of our time. Really dates back to the mecha and kaiju sub-genres in the past and now it's been revived. Thank you Guillermo Del Toro and the rest of his crew for making this entire movie possible. Thank you. Can't wait for it's sequel which is in storywriting process now! XD Expand
  46. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    Pacific Rim is a movie that doesn't play to it's strong suits.

    This was a movie that needed to focus on giant robots fist fighting giant alien monsters, however what we got was a movie with split personality disorder. Sometimes it's focusing on the emotional dramas of the characters and others it's making corny jokes and fighting monsters. I wanted to suspend belief at the plot holes
    and ignore all the pointless dialog, but it just felt like a chore to wait through all the meaningless exposition dumps and pointless emotional conflicts just to get to the good stuff, the action.

    I can only partly recommend Pacific Rim as i felt quite bored waiting through all the pointlessness to get to the stuff that was exciting and fun.
    Expand
  47. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    All of my childhood fantisies all rolled into one 2 hour movie. Thank you for getting it right Guillermo Del Toro. Took me back to the good old days. It isn't perfect but come on, GIANT ROBOTS fighting GIANT MONSTERS! If you like that sort of thing, this is the movie for you.
  48. LTR
    Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This is a great monster movie. The story is great, the characters are good, the action is great and the monsters are creative. This movie is a great way to show that monster movies are still great.
  49. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This Movie has a bad story with weak characters, mostly bad actors and a terrible screenplay. I cant really belive del Toro did this. Even "Battleship" was better. If you are over 16 years old, dont waste your time.
  50. Nov 14, 2013
    2
    one of the dumbest movies i've ever seen... way too much machine on monster fighting and a completely cliched plot... yeah, great graphics but that's not much of a draw when the story is just stupid...
  51. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    A movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. It's fun to watch (especially in IMAX 3D) and definitely not the Evangelion rip-off a lot of ignorant people might make it out to be.
  52. Nov 13, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beside some funny stuff by Charlie Day and Ron Pearlman, this movie stinks. I love cheesy fun action movies, but this was boring, long and dumb. The action was slow, as I prefer fast action with my robots, like Transformers. The effects where decent, but hidden by the dark and rain. The characters were very poorly portrayed as well. Expand
  53. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    It's a shallow, yet exciting, experience. Obnoxious characters, abysmal story, yet it's so fun you stop caring once the action scenes roll around. Colorful and hokey, it's reminiscent of the super hero cartoons we grew up watching and loving. If you like intense action and overwhelming visuals, you might like this film.
  54. Nov 11, 2013
    2
    The only positive thing about this film was the visual effects which were great.

    The plot is easily the most ridiculous thing about this film. I'm sure whoever drummed up the giant mech vs monster thing has watched too many Saturday morning cartoons. A lot of things in this film didn't make sense to a rational mind, it's like the screen play was designed for 10 years old's.
    The
    dialogue was basic, none of the characters were interesting and had very little development. The casting was poor and the acting even worse.

    This film was big, dumb and rudimentary. Unless you're prepared to turn off your brain for two hours and suffer complete nonsense, then this isn't the film for you.
    Expand
  55. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    Really terrible movie. The plot was extremely bad, the acting was also lacking. They for some reason chose to focus the movie around the poorly made characters which made the movie really dull. The only thing that kept this movie together were the amazingly well done graphical animations.
  56. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim might not be a groundbreaking film, but it's not bad by any means and pretty much everybody can enjoy it regardless of their taste. The movie is extremely spectacular, thanks to its great visuals and music sound effects that make the action scenes truly shine. It is true, though, that the plot isn't too original (but I must admit that taking ideas from Japanese culture made the plot more interesting) and it's handled in a typical and cheesy way. Despite its flaws, Pacific Rim is a decent and entertaining movie.

    Scoring:

    Production Values (Sound Visuals): 9/10 (good all-around and immersive)
    Story Characters: 4/10 (typical and a bit cheesy but has a good pacing)
    Enjoyment: 7/10 (the action scenes are well done and you don't have time to get bored)
    Total: 6.7/10
    Expand
  57. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pacific Rim is a great movie, the battle scenes between Jaegers and Kaijus are fantastic. The only thing I don't like is that they only used 5 jaegers in the battle scenes (the fifth is the Coyote Tango). It would have been better if they added more jaegers but who cares? It's a great movie for kids.

    Once again, the film is great. I just hope that they add more jaegers (or if possible: battles during days rather than night with very hard rains because, for me, everything seemed hard to see when they fight at night.) so it's more enjoyable.

    Other than that, it's a very enjoyable movie for young audiences, good job Guillermo Del Toro for making a fantastic movie!
    Expand
  58. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    les robot sont trop cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! et puis les combat aussi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! la fin est cool tout est cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  59. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    big robots vs giant monstrous aliens means a amazing action packed movie that is a great tribute to monster movies but also a great original worlds and story great job Del Toro great job
  60. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim was surprisingly one of the best movies I've seen this year. I expected an entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, but a movie void of any quality acting or plot. Boy was I wrong. While it was a very entertaining action movie with mechs fighting monsters, it had a very interesting storyline with solid plot development, granted a little brief. The acting was also up to par and the character development was fantastic, giving life and depth to characters that seem at first to be a bit superficial. There were also some nice cameos by actors like Charlie Day and Ron Perlman, who though I don't like, had a cool role. Overall, this movie takes a substantial amount of suspended disbelief but I think most people who like cool action movies will really enjoy it. Expand
  61. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    The movie's plot is nothing extraordinary. The acting is competent; it gets the job done. The battle scenes and visuals, however, were amazing. And having an awesome filmmaker like Guillermo del Toro directing surely did help. A great popcorn flick, but nothing more than that.
  62. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Decent reimagining of the classic Japanese monster movies. Story is pretty tame but it's geared towards a young audience (if I was 12 I'd love this movie). My only complaint is that there is not enough fight scenes and not enough cool weapons for the mecha to use.
  63. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    [7.2] Pacific Rim knows exactly what it is at all times, and embraces its childish nature with a great passion. Never before has a mindless action movie been so thoughtful in that it is aware that is doesn't have to be. Go to hell logic.
  64. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    It was action packed robot flick! Future Perfect for any Robot movie like never before. Pacific Rim still the best summer movie of all time since The Avengers. Very Flawless!
  65. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is one the most visually stunning movies of this year thus far and one the best action movies in the past 5 years. With all that being said the few problems the movie does have a forgivable mainly in the story department, which is not that big of a issue. The formula is simple Giant monsters rise from the sea humans built giant robots to fight giant monsters. The other bits of story at times felt more like filler but never drug on for so long that it was unbearable. Guillermo del Toro has crafted a world the likes of which is staggering to say the least. All in all it's a good movie I look forward to see if they decide to expand the universe in other forums such as comics or with more movies. Expand
  66. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    8.5/10. Pros: Unless you hate action films you will not be disappointed. The action/visuals are beyond impressive. This is like Avengers/Transformers/Reel Steal times 100. The script for the main outline is great. Cons: Acting is less then impressive, doable but no Emmy or Oscar any time soon. The deeper the plot get the more the outcome comes out to be bad. I would be shocked if you didn't like it because everyone in the theater was going crazy when they were fighting. Is it cliched, yeah but what film today isn't. The Conjuring was unoriginal and cliched but got like an 8.4. The only film in a good minute that wasn't cliched is probably Spring Breakers and that's a like it or hate film. Terrific monsters, robots, CGI, and sound effects.
    Yes this movie is LOUD and I mean it but unless you're just plan boring you won't enjoy it.

    Whoever said this will only appeal to 8-14 males lied. My mom (41), brother (22), girlfriend (16), her sisters (19/12), just a wide range of action movie lovers.

    3D, I know what you're thinking, Oh God another 3D movie that doesn't need to be or won't be good in it. Shut up the first MINUTE I regretted not seeing it in 3D.

    Unless you like action movies, you might hate it. But this is probably one of the top 5 of 2013.
    Expand
  67. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    I really liked this movie. Who wouldn't want to watch Gundams finally done in a blockbuster movie? However, the mistake was in how this movie was cut. It should have shown less fight scenes and CGI destruction porn, and more of the dynamic between Mako and whatever Hunnam's character was named. There are scenes where the connection between the two does not really make sense unless there was a bigger romantic arc between the two of them that was cut in favor of more kaiju scenes. I realize that this is not a serialized anime, and we can't have all the stories given time to unfold; however, I'm just disappointed because just like in Man of Steel, CGI carnage becomes tedious after a while. Expand
  68. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim is a example of how to do an Action flick right, with great characters, original concept and dark storyline. It Knows when it needs to throw explosions in your face at the right times without getting boring. Take notes Michal Bay
  69. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Forget anyone who whines about the film, it's fantastic. I've seen a lot of films like this and am rarely impressed. For sheer spectacle it's creative and incredible. Characters aren't all your typical American hero (although they do feature, which in this sort of gung-ho action film is entirely acceptable) they come from an array of backgrounds and provide their own basic motives, fleshing them out a little. They really try everything to create a believable atmosphere in a completely bizarre and unrealistic complex and surprisingly succeed. When reading negative reviews it's obvious that these people went into this film with far too high minded an attitude, lost in their own belief that an action epic such as this isn't good because it doesn't hold a bigger message for them I'll give them the bigger message get over yourself, stop watching so many films and enjoy them for what they are. Seriously, the cover has a giant, man-shaped robot on the front, what did you expect? Expand
  70. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    awesome movie it was action after action i watched it first day out and i loved it its defiantly worth watching again i would recommend this movie to everyone because the story line gets you thinking
    i waited a long time to watch this movie and i wasn't disappointed
  71. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    As a child of the 90s I loved TMNT, robots, ninjas, and more. Seeing a well funded and crafted film with giant robots fighting monsters is great. Had I been born 15-20 years later this film would be the greatest thing I'd have seen.

    As an adult I still enjoyed watching this. It did take me back, but it's difficult to enjoy it entirely without noticing it's flaws. It has a few but it
    doesn't stop one enjoyment. They just make you want to question the crew, e.g. why not use swords straight away. Forget the blood theories, the ease of using a sword makes complete sense when punching and pummelling a kaiju causes property destruction and increased chances of death for pilots.

    Aside from that and some ordinary acting in parts it's a fun film. See it if you have the chance but don't go out of your way.
    Expand
  72. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a really interesting and unique movie. The battles between the robots and the monsters are freakin amazing. This is an amazing movie to watch in 3D. The story is pretty predictable, but their are some funny moments. Overall Score=75/100
  73. Oct 16, 2013
    3
    Nonsense. The graphics team deserves a lot of praise, but this movie was not well thought out at all. Cliche followed by cliche, followed by wasting time with a story that barely made any sense at all and contradicted itself. It's amazing that so much money can be put into a movie and nobody tried to actually think about much beyond the initial idea. They just jammed in as many things they could rip off from other movies and robot animes. Probably would've been amazing if they had just released a 20 minute robot fight without attempting to add a plot Expand
  74. Oct 15, 2013
    4
    The movie was okay, but had so many flaws I had problems looking passed, and I'm sure you will too.
    First off, the characters were as cliche as cliche gets, the main protagonist is the "dude with the 'tude", holding the belt above his crotch and acting like it's a highs chool drama rather than acting like a professional soldier with years of combat experience under his belt. The main
    female lead is a scientist, expert martial artist, and scored top of her class in the piloting of the mechs, yet can barely handle talking to the male lead without looking like the only thing going through her head is his body.

    The combat could have been so much better, but the pilots seem to refuse to use any of their weapons until the last possible second, often resulting is cataclysmic failure, in lieu of punching the Kaiju in the mouth. When they DO use their weapons, they're granted victory almost immediately, as the Kaiju can handle a punch, but not being cut in half or incinerated with plasma.

    I'd say the movie isn't really worth the investment of time.
    Expand
  75. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    The mega summer blockbuster "Pacific Rim" delivers plenty of eye-popping action and battle sequences galore, but there is not enough beneath the pyrotechnics to leave a lasting impression. The very notion of giant robots trading blows with monsters across the world is likely to induce as many groans as it is cheers. Those cynical of the premise, though, may find themselves somewhat interested that director Guillermo del Toro is bringing his signature flourish to "Pacific Rim," an ode to Japanese monster cinema. Kaiju originates as a Japanese word roughly translating as “strange monster,” but more pertinently here, Kaiju is the name for this entire genre of sci-fi, where massive creatures step on buildings and threaten to destroy civilization.

    The future of the world is threatened by an alien force, which unexpectedly, comes not from outer space, but from the center of the earth. In an attempt to stave off the seemingly inevitable domination of these creatures and the destruction of mankind as we know it, an army of giant robots manned by elite commander Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba), and his crack team including renegade officer Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam), and rookie soldier Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi), head to the edge of the Pacific Ocean for the mother of all showdowns.

    "Pacific Rim" will fully satisfy the summer blockbuster demographic and sell lots of popcorn, but the repetitive visual fireworks eventually runs thin over the course of 131 minutes. The films set pieces, in particular the destruction of Tokyo, and the climatic battle at the earth's core between the man-made monsters and their non-human adversaries, are undeniably impressive. The action is gigantic, with elaborate CG-animation staging showdowns in pouring rain or at the bottom of the ocean, delivering on sophisticated movement that’s utterly convincing. However, it stumbles in its attempts to inject spirit into the proceedings, and interactions and dialogue between the central cast of humans provides nothing to the experience. That being said, if you're a fan of big, loud popcorn movies, "Pacific Rim" is unquestionably a cut above the gnarled heaps of metal that was "Transformers" (2007).
    Expand
  76. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Besides the glaring physical, logical, and downright even possible fallacies that these piece of poo movie has, I am more dumbfounded at the 824 positive reviews out of 983. There's 103 negative, so I'm obviously not alone, but it's a scary thought that I'm the minority in realizing how terrible this movie is. My favorite parts are where there are no vital signs at the end and he miraculously starts breathing and talking, and when they're getting their asses kicked they're like, "we're not done yet," and whips out the sword...Just stupid. Expand
  77. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    Gonna start off with the negatives Painfully generic and predictable story that you can call from a mile away. The acting is so-so and it does suffer from a few poor casting choices (Charlie Day anyone?).

    That being said, The battle scenes are freaking fantastic. So incredibly well done, They are simply addicting to watch. That alone makes the film worth watching and I really wish that
    I had seen it in theaters in 3-D because it would have been a blast.

    So overall, Thankfully the story is not a major focus but the battles are. For that alone, It's worth checking out because it can be rather enjoyable to watch.
    Expand
  78. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    The movie story and story development are excellent, as well as the CGI. Only big thing wrong with the movie is the: Generic Movie Hero #4623 aka Raleigh Becket (main character) thrown in this universe to solve its problems which are solvable in only cliché means and ways as in most of the movies today. And there is the lack of distance between events as everything seems like its piled on top of each other and glued together so it wont separate. Camera man decided to film every action scene with Zoom on 200%, and movie physics is sometimes unrealistic.

    And there is a constant question: If they have all the ranged weapons and melee weapons why don't they use them at the start of the battle and not in the most critical time? All that partially or mostly fades away (dependent on the public) as the movie action, special effects and sometimes a bad-ass scene or a moment takes place. Overall the movie is great and you should watch it.
    Expand
  79. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Out of all the blockbusters this season, I'd say this is actually pretty good. Charlie Hunnam is not by any means my favorite. His monotone voice, lacking of emotion annoys me, but even with him in the movie, I could stomach it. I will give this a good score, since the movie didn't try to be more than it actually is, and I also found it entertaining. I could of course pick a few holes here and there, but I will not. Compared to for instance Man Of Steel, or Lone Ranger this was brilliant entertainment. It follows the standard recipe for movies of this genre, and executes it pretty well. All in all a good experience. Expand
  80. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    I didn't expect to like this movie as much as I did. Wow, was it ever a satisfying monster/giant robot movie that was visually pleasing in an anime style. It has a relatively straight forward story, but it doesn't need to be complicated. It was well acted, had substance, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. This is what awful robot movies like Transformers or Robot Jox should have been like, and it was better than monster movies like Cloverfield. Expand
  81. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    You can see a lot of different movies or series here. You can see the old japanese metal warrior (Changemen, Flashman, Jaspion, Ultraman), Transformers, the anime Evangelion and even Lord Of The Rings (The "You canot pass" scene). But you canor see anything new. Tre script is shallow: Giant Robots have to destroy Giant Monsters, but there is a complication, not too complicate.
    The movie
    tries to be an action movie, emotional, dramatic and more... fails in everything. And it"s too long. Seriously, it is a crap full of especial efects. Expand
  82. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    The great action sequences, which get ridiculous upon each one and less visible, can't make up for the horrible acting, stupid characters, and corniness that was frankly shockingly blatant. Its hard to enjoy a film when you have multiple 20 to 30 minute dull parts spaced throughout the movie
  83. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    An sf movie about giant monsters and giant robots fighting it out what could go wrong, well a lot. Story is bad and boring to say the least and some things make no sense (walls don't work against humans and other small vermin let alone against monsters the size of buildings). Robots look bad and so do monsters, anyway the movie was a waste of my time.
  84. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    Great visuals and music. Good and simple story. But what is best in this movie and the most entertaining is its action sequences. Believe me, everyone one would love it.
  85. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    They managed to make giant robots fighting monsters boring. A few snippets at the start then an hour and half of moronic storylines. Then extremely disappointing monster fights, a few punches and its over. I was expecting epic sprawling battles. Waste of time.
  86. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    All summer long I've been raring for a summer blockbuster that’s not based on some previously established material… enter 'Pacific Rim'; and and it delivers on multiple levels. Guillermo Del Toro gives the Kaiju sub-genre a sloppy wet kiss (in spectacular fashion) in this sci-fi monster movie. From Godzilla to Gundam Wing, the spirit of Japanese monster and mecha fiction flows through this movie like a breath of fresh air (or torrential rains), without it losing its sense of originality. Destructive monsters, known as Kaijus, have emerged from an interdimensional portal on the floor of the Pacific Ocean. In resistance, the humans have developed giant robots, called Jaegers, which are piloted by two or more individuals in order share the mental load of operating such large, complex machinery. This leads to the drift, a brilliant concept, and the means by which the pilots ‘mind meld’ (so to speak) to operate the mechas together, and potentially do more. Set many years into this war, Del Toro constructs a world that feels lived in and the designs for the kaijus and jaegers were truly brilliant. Any attempt he makes to develop his characters (which is for the most part successful in my opinion) is a bonus for this spectacle. And what a spectacle it was… I haven’t been this awestruck by big, loud, action scenes in a while. These sensational battle sequences wouldn't have been possible without the bombastic visual effect and sound mix; and not to mention the exceptionally creative, and dangerous sound designs. Yes, it may have only skimmed the surface of some its dramatic potential, but I went into this for a good time, and I got something inventive and visually spectacular as well. Del Toro is a true crafts man, and he crafts the most entertaining blockbuster to hit the theaters this summer. Expand
  87. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    yes. just yes. in every way yes. this is every fan of action,sci fi and just pure awesomeness.the acting is pretty good its the action and back story that is the meat and bones of, what will hopefully spawn a long standing franchise.
  88. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    Guillermo del Toro nos ha entregado una de las películas más entretenida de este verano. Con una historia sencilla y liviana Pacific Rim no requiere tanto de tu mente. Más bien invita a tus ojos a pasar un momento excelsamente entretenido. Las peleas entre estos gigantes fueron increíblemente entretenidas y los detalles, que nos recuerdan quien es el director que estamos viendo, hacen de Pacific Rim un paseo en una montaña rusa. Entiendo que el hecho de que la historia haya sido débil no debe ser un factor para mal juzgar a este filme. Pues me parecen que las intenciones de la producción no eran poner a las personas a pensar. Simplemente, la película no es difícil de disfrutar. Si realmente te interesan los efectos especiales y visuales esta es tu película. Expand
  89. Sep 21, 2013
    5
    Perfect visuals and eye catching fights save the horrible plot from making this movie a disaster.
    But they aren't enough to grant it a good score from me.
  90. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Maybe the trama sounds similar like Evangelion, Godzilla, & Transformers, but Pacific Rim has something different, and is the cool part of the movie, the visual effects are A M A Z I N G, the story has a fantastic development, the 3D is great, and the performances are great. Pacific Rim is one of the most espectacular movies of this year.
  91. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim in a nutshell is the best movie in 2013 based on my opinion.

    When I was younger, I spent my time watching Ultraman movies on TV. I found the movies interesting and at that time the effects just blew me away. I loved the idea of an Ultraman fighting a giant beast in big cities as it meant destruction and more destructions. I got use to the concept of giant beasts as well and
    I am fond of thinking a big evil bird or a menacing lizard as giants destroying things. I must have also wondered whether or not those movies would promote themselves into a larger screen.

    And several months back, my dream came true. I got what I had been wishing for from Pacific Rim. The premise was simple: humanity was in the brink of devastation since unknown giant beasts had invaded big cities. We created our own monsters in a shape of gigantic robots with weaponry systems most countries can only dream of. The giant beasts were proven to develop themselves as they quickly grasped every strategy thrown at them.
    I felt like a boy watching this movie. It was that nostalgic feeling that helped me loving the movie. The action sequences were just awesome and there were some moments in which I dropped my jaw due to
    The excitement I felt. The giant beasts shown here were somewhat similar to what I had watched during my childhood and it was a recipe for success. I believe that I wasn't the only person thought that way.
    Watch this movie if you watched Ultraman in your childhood.
    Expand
  92. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    What it may lack in novel character development, "Pacific Rim" makes up for it with earnest passion in its subgenre and an irresistibly voracious undercurrent of levity. Though, I'd be remiss if I didn't also praise the incredibly satisfying set pieces and Idris Elba's starkly first-rate performance.
  93. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Very, very nice! The best movie ever! I love Raleigh Becket.. he's so hot. I love that scene where he was shirtless.. Nice movie! MUST SEE. It's really worth watching. Very underrated.
  94. Sep 10, 2013
    1
    I expected better from Guillermo del Toro. How could he possibly have thought that this would work? But maybe he was looking for something different. The movie did earn hugely, so maybe money was what he was looking for this time. But seriously, one would expect better things from the guy who brought us Pan's Labyrinth. The one is for the cinematography, because it looked like they had worked hard on it. The story, characters, ending, and pretty much everything else was below par. Very disappointing. Expand
  95. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I loved Pacific Rim. I can't say the amount of awesomeness this movie had/has, and it was BAD-ASS in the theatre. It probably won't be so epic when watched by your own little TV, but it's still epic. The fighting scenes were beautiful and very well done, the effects were super-cool and oh-my-god. THE MUSIC. Main theme is one of my favorite movie songs of all time. I totally recommend this to ANYONE who loves epic effects, awesome action scenes and kaijus! Expand
  96. Sep 7, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing lots of good things about Pacific Rim from Rotten Tomatoes, IMDB, and more, I was expecting to walk out of the theater ready to text my friends recommending they see it. I have to say that I did the very opposite. Not only was I disappointed with the film, it had many scenes leaving me unsure of what just happened.

    After 18 minutes of the film catching us up to present day, we finally learn the film’s title, Pacific Rim, just in case someone in the theater wasn't sure. Massive creatures known as Kaiju have managed to make their way to earth and are wiping out entire cities at a time. The only thing able to kill them is a Jaeger which uses the same concept as the movie Real Steel, (fighter robots controlled by humans) only they are much bigger and take nine helicopters to carry.

    The Kaiju are much more advanced than first considered, and are arriving on earth in stages. The higher the stage, the more advanced and powerful the creature is. The highest stage reached in Pacific Rim is a stage five. Along with the Kaiju being just flat out creepy, we learn that they also shoot their eerie blue blood out of their mouths causing whatever it hits to fall apart and basically disintegrate.

    As they continue to get smarter and stronger, they are wrecking the Jaegers; it is up to Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnan) and Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) to stop them. As they are about to go into battle, Dr. Newton Geiszler (Charlie Day) introduces a plan that could save the rest of the world, and kill off all of the Kaiju, permanently.

    Pacific Rim officially proved that long is not always better, as the 131 minute film had more back-story and irrelevant content, than meaningful scenes. I felt that the film was rushed, and just as I began to understand one scene, they would cut to another. After watching the film, I realized that it was really more about the CGI (Computer-Generated Imagery) editors, then the actors. Without them, Pacific Rim would've been nothing. Director Guillermo del Toro, had a great idea for a movie, but could have made Pacific Rim overall much better.
    Expand
  97. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    I love the action, scenes, CGI, and special effects. I at first though that this movie was going to be dumb, but it was very good. Sure, its not the most original movie or idea ever and some parts may be cheesy, but its overall an excellent film. The Jaegars (the robots) and the Kaiju (alien monsters) are a visual treat. They look beautiful. My one complaint was that Raleigh and Mako's relationship was slightly rushed. I would have liked to see them interact a bit more. I hope there will be a sequel. THANK YOU GUILLERMO DEL TORO!

    If you liked this review, read my other ones and mark this review as helpful.
    Expand
  98. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    This movie has done something very hard, something not many movies of the genre can do. It is a movie just as entertaining and captivating to a 5 year old as it is to a 50 year old. There are not many good movies coming out in recent history, but this particular one is a gem. I am very pleased that del Toro's first major budged movie was a success, he is a spectacular writer.

    I
    personally enjoy movies with heavy thought, such as Donnie Darko and movies with mindless action such as expendables. This movie didn't need to suit either category. I can only hope that other Asian to American style conversions can be as successful as Pacific Rim. Expand
  99. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim: A whole lot of awesome. Story: Consistent throughout the film although I felt it could have been a bit better, but lets talk about why people really watched the film: Kaiju vs Jaegers. Giant aliens vs Giant Robots, what more could you ask for? Amazing visuals combined with huge,crazy action is just awesome. All the characters are portrayed well by their Actors/Actresses, no standout performances as they all seem to be just doing what they have been told to do. If you want an amazing story this is not the film for you but if you want to see full on fights between giants, watch the movie. 8/10 Expand
  100. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Best movie of the summer, possibly the year. The gaphics in this movie are amazing. And the story line is great. And the battles very well done, they couldn't have been done better. They really are intense though. But I think this movie was very well balanced with the battle and the story. And it isn't like man of steel were their is a lot of crazy action for no reason. The action is backed up by the storyline very nicely. And I thought the casting was very good too. Quite a bit of people don't agree. But I loved all the characters. And I loved the storyline, And it was great acting to. Anyways. I would recommend seeing this movie HIGHLY while it is still in theaters. seeing it on the big screen is the best way to go. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.