User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1353 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    No one should go into this movie expecting a flawless story because that`s not what this movie is about. This movie is about MONSTERS versus ROBOTS, enough said. Apart from the beautiful CGI and action scenes, this movie does surprise with some great characters that actually have depth and a story, especially Mako and the commanding officer, Stacker. Idris Elba delivers a brilliant performance, making the viewing of Pacific Rim a better than expected movie. As long as you know what you're getting into, Pacific Rim should satisfy and even surprise. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Two hours of awesome! There's always room for more about the Jaegers and their crews, but the movie delivers what you'd expect it to: giant machines fighting huge monsters. [proper review coming later]
  3. qev
    Aug 17, 2014
    0
    i gave it a second chance, having read many reviews, thinking wait a minute qev, did you see the right movie? it was after all a torrented version (from an undisclosed source, not me, that is right out and i deny that!) cos you never know etc, and low and behold, no, it was the same rubbish i saw the first time, only THIS time i wanted to shout "Why doesn't somebody fire the BIG WEAPONS at the awful Godzillaesque loping toy mock-ups FIRST THING when they're still out of 'about to destroy you for certain' range? and then i thought, wait a second, it's a comedy! hooray! but then, wait a third, no, no it's not! final verdict? atrocious Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    When i have seen the trailer i was like its gonna be a Micheal bay movie clone. i was so wrong. This is one of the greatest movie i ever saw. I will put this as simple as possible its an attempt to release Japanese Mecha Style of animation series like Evangelion but with real actor. And they manage to do it. The music Are great the ambiance is there the special effect close to perfection the rhythm of the movie is really great no boring part or almost. The Actors/actress Deliver really well. I could listen the movie 3 times in the same week and not get bored. A must see movie. It has is place in my collection with Aliens, Predator any science fiction fan must see this and its way better than transformers 2 and 3. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is ok to watch. Most fun are the fight scenes and the very good special effects. Liked the setting and rainy mood. Lame was that almost anything was predictable, and the music was constantly playing in a dramatic style. There was no acoustic climax, it is constantly bombarding your ear. The characters were very stereotypic.

    Also there are some logical issues that bothered me: Why is the Jaeger using it's blades in the last moment, why not all the time? I thought you can't travel through the Portal if you are not alien, but why can the escape pot travel back? Why are the other crews not using their escape pots if they obvisiouly have one?

    All in all an ok movie for a cheesy afternoon / evening.
    Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    Is there any humility left in mankind? I liked it at the start, and it's a technically well-made movie, but as it went on, it became apparent that the whole entire point of it is human worship. Shameless, blind human worship. The idea that, no matter what, we're never going to admit any vulnerability or ask for any help. That we're tough enough to just take on anything, even skyscraper-sized monsters from another dimension. If something this ridiculous happened in real life, we would just set up a wall of those plasma cannons, or utilize whatever those one-hit-kill swords are made of, or do something that's halfway clever, not build giant robots like we have the minds of neanderthals. The whole point of the robots is to put man up on a pedestal, and give him all the glory

    The characters are paper thin, cold, and care only for themselves. They know nothing of true friendship, substituting it with intrusive mind-melding that robs a person of their freedom to choose to open up and let someone in, and obliterates all notions of the sacredness of privacy and individuality. It's a very cold, technical, computer-like intimacy. This movie really gets to the heart of what it means to be a nerd. It doesn't understand human interaction, and instead of admitting it and trying to learn, it builds giant robots to fight mindlessly for its misguided ideas. And if better arguments come up against them, they'll just make a movie with even bigger robots next time as their rebuttal.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Görsel efektler şahane, konu biraz klasik gibi görünse de film kendini bağlamayı başarıyor ne zaman başladı ne zaman bitti diye düşünmeden güzel bir 2 saat geçirtiyor. Özellikle başrolü beğendim gelecekte parlama ihtimalini görüyorum. Anime ve görsel efekt severler mutlaka izlemeli.
  8. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Pacific Rim wasn't a terrible movie. It was sort of slow in my perspective, but the last thirty minutes of the picture were pretty entertaining.
  9. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Consensus: Pacific Rim is foolishly stylish and quite entertaining but overall it's a very forgettable blockbuster. 70/100 [B]

    When monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called
    Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes - a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi) - who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind's last hope against the mounting apocalypse.

    Guillermo Del Toro's Pacific Rim is visually stunning and has all the aspects required to be summer blockbuster, it's well directed but nothing here has sense and the plot is as thin as my leg. Could be smarter, could be engaging and less cheesy. People and critics compare this film with Godzilla, both are extremely different but both have monsters and i have to say that Godzilla is a monster movie masterpiece compared to this film. Pacific Rim is well directed for what it is, it's a cheesy blockbuster with some action and stunning visuals that's why i give it a positive rating, it's not an awful film at all. The character development is impressive, i really like the character development of Rinko Kikuchi's character, also the performances are terrific Rinko Kikuchi and Charlie Hunnam are likable enough to protagonize the film.

    Though we all know the destiny of these two main characters, Pacific Rim is enjoyable and has big monsters to show. Some of the performers were painfully annoying, especially Charlie Day and Burn Gorman, their characters are so annoying, i wanted to kill myself, nobody cares about them and nobody cares the plot around them. Fortunately we have Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba and the visuals effects to save the film. Pacific Rim is not as smart or complex as it should be but is entertaining and stylish enough to satisfy a big part of the audience. [B] Visit my Blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  10. Jul 4, 2014
    2
    Why should someone spend approx 2 hours and watch a movie that looks exactly like a great video game, instead of playing THE video game itself (and thus, have more fun with it)? Today, most movies are using too much CGI and sometimes the producers overdo it, almost causing nausea to the viewer. Of course Pacific Rim has great visual FX. And that's it. No acting and no story at all. Just another "shoot the aliens" movie with 70% computer graphics, 25% sound FX and 5% acting. Expand
  11. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    Pacific Rim is wooden, shallow and as artificial as a piece of plastic. But hey, it's a movie about giant robots fighting kaiju, so what do you expect. A few more non-digital effects would have nice. Still, Pacific Rim does what it says on the box with more style than the dire Transformers franchise.
  12. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    My expectations of a visually playful blockbuster were pretty spot on. But the movie is also longer than I expected, and tends to expect the viewer to be entertained by the impressiveness of the visuals alone. The story had a more humanistic premise than usually seen in action flicks, but I'm not sure how much subtext there was. But I guess there could be something clever hidden in the many symbols. I'm just not sure if it's worth bothering. Expand
  13. Jun 7, 2014
    7
    If there is one thing I love about a movie is when it's self aware and knows the kind of feeling is trying to get across, and that is exactly what Pacific Rim does.

    With not much mingling around the movie gives you exactly what you paid for, see giant robots fight giant monsters and that is what you get; it's not trying to beat you over the head with a overly complex story or trying to
    be deeper than it should be; it's like a roller coaster, you ride it to have fun and feel the rush, no more.

    I am annoyed by a few things like the forced romance and some unnecessary scenes that add absolutely nothing to the movie; but if you are looking for a fun movie to watch I am sure you will enjoy this one.
    Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    When Pacific Rim focuses on its generic characters and story it’s a mediocre film. However, what saves this movie and makes it worth watching are the visuals. The presentation in this movie is fantastic and has some fun action that never gets too excessive and leaves you wanting more. Had the film’s action not been as good as it was this film would’ve been a 5/10 but because the visuals were as cool as they were it’s a 6/10. I’m usually not big on dumb action movies but this is one blockbuster where I was bored when there was no action as opposed to the other way around. At the end of the day though this film is only memorable for its visuals. You won’t remember any of the characters or plot elements as they are all bland and generic but you will remember the cool visuals and fight scenes. If you are cool with a generic action film with cool visuals then definitely check this film out. Expand
  15. May 27, 2014
    9
    Just fresh after watching a blu-ray edition of this movie and I have to admit that I'm very pleasantly surprised. I've expected a stupid monsters vs. robots movie but this movie has a bigger meaning underneath it's (oh so!) polished shell. PR is long but you won't feel that for a momens because action/storytelling moments are perfectly intervened to keep you on the edge of your seat. Absolutely worth your money. Expand
  16. May 26, 2014
    9
    This is a must scene for any fan of Kaiju movies and of the action genre. Pacific Rim is a non-stop thrill ride (cliché but so very true!) that gives fans exactly what they want: non stop action. Watching this with friends was some of the most fun I have ever had in a movie theatre. The Giant robots and hulking Kaiju were all beautifully presented and seeing them made me feel like a 10 year old again. The Kaiju fight scenes are aplenty and they are very well done with a wonderful feeling of variety to them. But ultimately this movie is fun, there is a light heartedness about the characters despite being in a fight for their lives that makes you not take the movie too seriously and just enjoy the spectacle of giant battles being waged.

    Not perfect, but it comes pretty damn close. Worth seeing in the cinema, worth buying on Blue-ray and worth lining up to see the sequel.
    Expand
  17. May 25, 2014
    10
    This film completely defied my expectations! What i expected to be a passible action flick ended up being a non stop thrill ride with cooler action than i could have imagined! Do yourself a favor and go watch this one right now!
  18. May 25, 2014
    7
    This is one of those films you just have to watch on the big screen to have the full experience it's just awesome. The movie has had the best visuals of the year so far overtaking Star Trek Into Darkness it was so colorful i could see that just from the trailers. It has an amazing cast Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Ron Perlman, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman. Guillermo del Toro definitely shows his directing skills again with some amazing shots. You can see just how huge the Kaiju and the robots are you really get a sense of the scale those things. Had some great dialog with some witty light sense humor that you can expect in del Toro's recent movies. Also i guess you could call this original but this kind of thing has been seen many times before just del toro pulls it off like a champ.

    Overall i give it a 7.0 for sure buying this on blu ray and watching it multiple times. Another film to add to my del Toro movie collection. So cool that Pacific rim 2 is going to happen so we can see more of these awesome fights.
    Expand
  19. May 22, 2014
    0
    This movie was utter **** with laughable acting, poor writing, and tropes galore that don't even give the viewer any sense of charm. Everything in this movie was poorly executed, and everybody knows it. The only reason the user score is up is due to it being a monster movie. If you want to see a good giant monster film, go see the 2014 western adaptation of Godzilla.
  20. May 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is one of a kind for me, it surprised me beyond belief. Upon going to see it with my brother, i initially agreed to tagging along just to be nice and was planning on falling asleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. It has been the only film i have ever wanted to watch a second time, immediately after watching it the first time.

    Critics and viewers may complain about the hilarious technological change, and how we couldn't possibly build moving robots as big as Jaegers., but who cares? The last thing I'm thinking about is how scientifically accurate the movie is. No it's not possible to build them but I for one have an imagination. There could never be an Island we don't know about with dinosaurs or ginormous gorillas on them, and we don't question them so why question these Jaegers of Kaijus?

    The action and special affects we're outstanding and it had a top notch storyline that was original and interesting. I enjoyed the relationship build between all the characters and i found every second of it enjoyable. I would recommend not missing this film to anybody.
    Expand
  21. May 17, 2014
    7
    Porn for Godzilla fans, really the only why to describe Del Toro's extraordinary best of a machine "Pacific Rim", sadly im not that big a fan of Giant Mecha robot rights with aliens BUT when i wanna watch giant mecha robot fights with aliens i recommend Pacific Rim.

    Rating: Supermechalienfigterrobotpornforgodzillafans out of 10
  22. May 2, 2014
    7
    A spectacular adventure of giant robots fighting giant monsters from deep beneath the Pacific Ocean. The plot is a little boring, but the action sequences are what make this movie an amazing groundbreaking CGI film so entertaining that you'll want to rewind it.
  23. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fails
    Where are all the women? Why does the oxygen fail on only HER suit? It was her story of revenge: why the hell didn't she get the glory? And why was she the only woman who spoke for more than five seconds? GRRRRR!!!!

    The second time I watched, I noticed there were two other women in the whole story - both got murdered, one of them was also pregnant. And why does the white man always get the goods? The last battle was ruined with white men saying and doing things that interfered with the flow of the action. And there was only one black guy in the whole movie, but he of course dies. How boring. The plot of the entire movie centered on him!!

    Wins
    OMG I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Despite the huge gender/race fails, I cared about the two core characters Pentacost and Mori. Almost cared about the Beckets. Seldom do I care at all! I loved the Jagers and the Kaiju - excellent use of CGI vs. real that perfectly matched the style and genre of the movie! LOVED the corny and black humour! This movie left me feeling moved and good - yet apprehensive about reality.

    Final Comment: Ya!
    Expand
  24. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Pacific Rim is a great movie.It`s kind of like Transformers without all the unnecessary BS. It`s Godzilla vs human controlled BOTS.It`s a fun movie to watch.
  25. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    I love Japanese mecha anime from Macross to Orguss to Evangelion and back and I never thought I'd ever be bored senseless by a film which purports to be a love letter to giant mecha and Kaiju cinema. Everything is just so bloody dull; framing and cinematography, ESPECIALLY the Jaeger designs. The clichés though! I should have brought a checklist with me, Pacific Rim had so much cheese I'm practically lactose intolerant. Expand
  26. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is, and it's the best at what it does. Expand
  27. MSY
    Feb 12, 2014
    4
    Terrible writing and cardboard acting plagues this otherwise entertaining movie. The special effects are great but that's about it. Expected more from Del Toro, a very average movie from an otherwise talented director.
  28. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    2013’s most surprisingly awesome film was Pacific Rim. How did I miss this? Well…

    Even though it was directed by Guillermo del Toro, who has to date made only excellent films, the trailers and the marketing for Pacific Rim did not do the film justice. There was only a bare-bones connection linking del Toro’s star power to this film. For the average person who may know del Toro’s other
    films, Pan’s Labyrinth and Hellboy 1 & 2, but not his name, the little “directed by” box at the bottom of the promotional poster would not have rung any bells, at least not in the same way a giant “From the Director of…” promotion would have. Still, I know del Toro by name and I still didn’t realize this was his film. Wayyy after it was already out of theatres I watched it on a plane. It was great.

    Not only did the marketing not exploit any of the film’s star power, it didn’t even really give us any idea what it was about. The trailer just showed huge metal warriors battling Godzilla-like creatures, much in the fashion of recent mindless action movies such as Battleship (I did actually enjoy Battleship) or anything from the recent Transformers franchise. I hypothesis that this complete disconnect must have been intentional. In this way Pacific Rim attracted the same audience as the previously mentioned movies. A huge audience base that is easily swayed and turned on by special effects, battle scenes, and stuff blowing up, but they are potentially turned off by something that could be considered “cinema,” or too arty. This audience needed to be brought in from the beginning.

    As for the more savvy movie-goers, although turned off by the meat head marketing, they are generally more inquisitive than the average Transformers fan, and so it seems the producers relied on these movie-goer’s inquisitive nature. Since it’s an actual good film, the savvy will find their way to it eventually. This film’s crappy marketing was actually a ploy to lure multiple demographics in subliminal ways, and thus mucho bank was made. Just a hypothesis.

    FYI: According to Slashfilm.com, Transformers2 was the highest grossing, most negatively rated film in history, so getting the Transformers audience was just good business. The fact that the movie is also good is just a rare and wonderful freak, but not accidental, occurrence for the Transformers audience.

    What makes Pacific Rim so great? Using a montage

    sequence and voiceover, in the first five minutes of the film we learn all about the world that Earth has become. Monster Kaijus have invaded from a dimension shifting portal in the ocean, humans have built fighting machines called Jaegers to combat the Kaijus, and this on-going threat, the conflict between the two entities has eventually just becomes a routine part of common culture. Then suddenly things change.

    The set designs are spectacular. Hong Kong is specially tailored here to fit a Kaiju bashing society. The encampments where the machinery and pilots are based is a gloomy complex that looks like the inside of a submarine. Being a big budget action film, Pacific Rim relies heavily on computer-generated graphics and spectacular special effects for its visual telling. Truthfully I have no idea how any of these action scenes would have been shot as almost every one is an epic between giant monsters, earthy and not. But it is not the visuals alone that make this a great movie. Transformers has great visuals.

    It is the script that is so awesome. Co-written by Travis Beachman and del Toro, it is a sci-fi monster movie, but it is the nuances that make the film so much fun to watch. All the intricacies of the world. For instance, two people whose brain functions combine in a process called “the drift” pilot Jaegers. Pilots’ ability to drift effectively in unison is what creates great pilots. The drift is probably the single coolest thing about this film, and the idea is used later for purposes even crazier.

    The Kaijus become so powerful that mankind is forced into a final standoff using all the remaining Jaegers against multiple super strong Kaijus. The prospects for humanity’s survival look grim. In final act of the film a spectacular twist takes place thanks to some unlikely scientists, and the fate of all humanity hangs on their wild hunch, the functioning of the aging military machinery, and the drift between the last two standing Jaeger pilots. I wish I had seen this film in theatres.

    Let's see if Pacific Rim 2 ever makes it from the hard-drive on Travis Beachman's desk to the screen. This time, I'd give it a chance.
    Expand
  29. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    (Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM)
    I'm not a big fan of sci-fi movies, but I did enjoy Pacific Rim. Not your typical aliens from space movie. Good story line, not a lot o fluff between action scenes . The action scenes were well choreographed. Overall an entertaining movie.
  30. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    Pacific Rim is very fun, but it's also too silly for its own good. I will admit however, that it's probably one of the best and most intelligent giant monster movies around. The film is undeniably visual stunning. The fact that it missed out on a visual effects Oscar nod is almost criminal. Fights between the kaju and yagers are huge, meticulously detailed, and about as far fetched as you can get. It's entertaining to say the least, but I wish Del Toro had gone in for a more realistic approach. I'm not saying that it doesn't look real. It does look very real, but the style is cartoonish and outlandish. There are real artistic flourishes here in small bursts, and the supporting characters are also reasonably enjoyable, especially Charlie Day, but the movie is still only a small fragment of what could have been. The actor in the leading role gives an unconvincing and clichéd performance, and the screenplay only occasionally hints at anything truly intellectual. The music also seemed pretty cheesey to me. All and all it's pretty decent, but not anywhere close to a masterwork. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.