User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1361 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came
    together as a kind of celebration of the value science and technology when coupled with human courage, ingenuity, innovation, self-sacrifice, individualism (when appropriate), and cooperation (when appropriate).

    It's the many minor messages within the movie that made it stand out from mindless summer action movie fare (which are fine, on occasion).

    First, what I like the most: I liked abiding theme of science and technology being tools for human salvation. There are literally no scenes without some object of human ingenuity in view. The giant robots are man-machine saviours that aid humanity in fighting against grotesque organic monsters.

    (As an aside: I like nature. I was raised in a rural area, and I enjoyed camping. But make no mistake, nature can be brutal, and it is only human scientific, technological, social, and other developments that can keep the monster at bay. If you doubt me, try surviving alone and without man-made equipment for a week in virtually any natural environment. You may not be dead, but you'll almost wish you were. Where I live (just outside a city of 1 million), you’d be dead in less than 5 hours without winter clothing, six months a year. Nature can be subservient to us, but it must never again be our master. Precambrian humans had an average life expectancy of 31 years. Also, like the monsters in this movie, any number larger wild animals would kill a human without a second thought. A bear will rip a child to shreds. Wolves (prior to their gradual domestication by killing the more violent ones over the centuries), were a particularly large threat in Europe. An elephant will gore a grown man. And so on. **It is solely our scientific, technological, and social advancements made possible by an appropriate mix of individual initiative and group cooperation that keep the nightmare at bay.** The movie Pacific Rim acknowledges this. Unlike the technological luddism of, for example, the Terminator movies or Avatar [which both partially denigrate technology and science], this movie celebrates human achievement and progress. And movies could use more of that.)

    I liked that movie (unlike almost all American blockbusters) takes place in several locations, none of which are large American cities. The United States comprises about 5% of the global population, and it’s nice to see that represented in an American blockbuster. And how many times do you really want to see New York destroyed, for instance?

    I appreciated the message that both cooperation and individual initiative are prudent and necessary. The fight against (for instance, there are several instances of insubordination and deviations from military procedure, but they mostly involve serving the greater good).

    I liked the love story component. The lead man was not a handsome male Brad Pitt lookalike, and the female love interest was not the typical American supermodel of action flicks. Rather, she was an English-speaking Chinese national who models the very best traits of many females from that culture. She is polite and respectful, yet stands up for her beliefs non-confrontationally, and she is obviously intelligent. She is "equal but different" from the main male protagonist.

    I appreciated the cursory mention of the cause for the alien invasion: global environmental degradation, the (spoiler) reason for the alien invasion.

    Although there is much "apocalyptic porn" (hey, I like it too), the body count is actually quite low. While we see entire skyscrapers destroyed, because civilians are evacuated in shelters, the number of civilian casualties is less than 100. (Contrast that with "Man of Steel", which had a casualty count of six or seven figures).

    It was nice to see scientists portrayed are heroes. The two scientist characters literally risk their lives to test a theory and gain evidence that is crucial to a positive outcome. This world needs more scientists and technologists. Even the characters' stereotypical eccentricity is endearing: they have their foibles, but they are each aware of it. Sometimes, human foibles are unavoidable, and condemning people for (relatively) harmless quirks that they cannot change serves no purpose.

    I did like that movie avoids many Hollywood clichés (for the above reasons).

    If I had one complaint, it's that the movie is too short. It's 2 hours and 10 minutes. However, there is less action than I would have liked. It's not that there is too much "non-action" content. It's just that another 30 minutes or so of giant robot battles would have been swell.

    In short: see it.
    Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    3
    Dull, noisy, clichéd. I'm shocked that Del Toro had anything to do with this. I know fanboys eat this adolescent stuff with a spoon, but if you're looking for anything innovative and inspired, do not see this movie. Just terrible.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a one of a kind movie: a 100% commitment to its genre and target audience with absolutely no apologies for its material. Exceptionally well crafted, with full saturation of neon colors, rain and goo. Director Del Toro probably takes the uber geek fan film into a territory the general audience might not want to go. The battle scenes deliver, and the performances from the actors deliver maximum dedication to the material. My bet is that the film will find a devoted audience, and especially inspire young kids. This is far closer to the Godzilla 1998 film should have been. The executive who greenlit this film was fired, so be grateful that this blank check geek epic got made. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    "Pacific Rim" is a spectacle for the eyes and ears. I mean this movie is a visual treat from well detailed robot and monster designs to high over the top, but well choreographed action sequences and massive collateral damage. The world that Guillermo del Toro creates is imaginative and his character designs are mesmerizing and complex. The sound design and the sheer force of the films score captivates you into a ride of sight and sound that pleases all your senses. From the metal grinding noise of the robots to the fleshy and almost beast like cry the monsters make, this film has you feeling like you are right there in the middle of the action.

    While the movie is mostly is a visual treat, it doesn’t forget about its characters and there humanity. The film isn’t all bells and whistles, it really does have some really nice character moments in its script, which are about overcoming fear, moving on and trust. These moments make us care for the events that are unfolding. However, the script isn’t all serious business, it knows when to have fun. Some of these moments can be a bit too campy though and some of the emotional moments feel forced. The film sometimes even becomes contrived, mainly towards the end. However, director Guillermo del Toro balances things pretty well.

    The actors in this film do a pretty good job, but the only real standout is Idris Elba as Stacker Pentecost.This character is sort of the leader of the resistance and Elba commands attention every second on screen. Charlie Hunnam is pretty good as Raleigh Becket, a Jaeger pilot, who left the resistance after a traumatic incident. I wish they showed more of his inner battle, it would have invested us into the story more. Rinko Kikuchi as Mako Mori is really hit or miss. The scenes where she is more reserved are good, but when she tries to emote, it can be awkward at times. The rest of the cast is pretty solid and the supporting cast is pretty good, especially Charlie Day, who brings some of the lighter moments to the film.

    Overall “Pacific Rim" as a giant robot versus giant monster movie is pretty awesome. The visuals, sound, and well directed action are all top-notch. They provide a treat for the eyes like never before. Even the 3D is spectacular, the best I’ve seen since “Avatar," it really absorbs you into del Toro’s imaginative world. The story, mainly the human element, is a bit weaker as it can feel contrived at times. It keeps us involved, but never takes us to the next level of emotional satisfaction. I give it 4/5, a blockbuster with some of the coolest and most imaginative action that I have seen this year.
    Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Exactly what you would expect from a robot vs monster movie. So if you think you might be into that I recommend seeing this movie. This was a treat to for the eyes if you can see it in 3D I thought it was worth the extra
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    A perfect popcorn summer fun movie. Those looking for in depth commentary on the human condition should look elsewhere. Just a badass movie that's lots of fun.
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    4
    It looks nice. That's about it. There's little character and no plot so none of the action sequences make one feel as if something is at stake, so the sequences themselves become dull, negating their purpose: excitement. Thanks to this, I fell asleep twice. I know that I didn't miss anything, however, because crap didn't happen. I guess my naps helped inadvertently redeem the film of its excessive running time; being unconscious was more exciting. 4.4/10, bad, two thumbs down, below average, etc. Expand
  8. Jul 12, 2013
    4
    This is a boring movie, the only scenes that I found pleasant were the fighting ones that eventually get boring after a few minutes. It's full of scientific mistakes that make the movie ridiculously distorted and absurd, its story is poorly developed and made just to glue together the fight scenes with modern cinema clichés: I could foretell almost every single dialogue and I found it pretty annoying. I need my 9.5€ and 2 hours of my time back. Please don't watch it unless you're a lobotomized 12 years old boy in an adult's body. Expand
  9. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim is another wonderful brought to us by Guillermo del Toro, as this film is a visual masterpiece with great acting and a terrific story. But most of all, it is undeniably a fun ride at the movies
  10. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    If you enjoy human piloted robot anime you will enjoy this movie. If campy acting and generic character building is not a deal breaker for you you're also in luck with this film. The special effects are at current level dynamics and a worthy 3D experience. I'm an anime/cartoon/sci-fi etc. watching adult, however, Pacific Rim 3D, eventually made me aware that I was sitting and staring with my head in one position for over two hours. Bring the kids and a fat wallet. Expand
  11. Jul 12, 2013
    3
    Between the miserable script, the cardboard acting(Except for Edris), the mish mash action sequences. It seemed as though you could barely see what was heppening in any fight. Either the Rain, the darkness, or the ocean kept messing up the fights. I found myself looking way to hard to say "What just happened there" "How" and "What?" The monsters were hardly relatable as was the story itself. Great for 13 year olds. I love action movies and monster movies but at one point you could really care less who was getting crushed, stomped, or killed because you really dont care. Expand
  12. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Wow, what an incredible movie. I enjoyed the effects more than those in Avatar and the movie has the best 3D effects I've ever seen. There were a few moments where I was on the edge of my seat and the fighters made moves that just floored me--really great action sequences that will awe you. So cool
  13. Jul 17, 2013
    0
    The script was awful, the CGI was good, the story was stupid, and the physics of everything... just impossible.
    - Seriously, building enormous robots, out of heavy metal, only to have them fist-fight with sea monsters? Punching and throwing monsters on buildings? I have no words to describe how stupid that really feels. Why do they have plasma guns if they only use it AFTER being ass
    kicked Is the plasma too expensive for them? Are they running on car batteries and they don't want to waste the power?
    At the end, one of the robots seem to have discovered a swordlike weapon. Wow, that could have been useful earlier.
    - Another gem was the UN chairman saying they wont fund the robots anymore... like they have a choice... I cannot see the other choice though... Do not tell me the other choice was building walls. It's ridiculous.
    - Judging by the size of the robots and monsters fighting... in the sea... every time they fell, a giant wave should have started and clean the land. Instead, nothing like that happens.
    - The worst scene ever was when the ginormous robot picks up 2 buses and use them to splatter the head of a monster... Like just using it's ginormous metal hands wouldn't be enough. The buses must be built of stronger steel than the robot itself?

    - It was "awesome" the fact that the scientists had to physically go to the army base in order to tell them that it's not gonna work (the plan). This is happening in 2017 or 2027? Awesome... so they uninvented the phones cellphones...
    - It picks up buses in it's hand, then later it picks up a huge navy boat. Judging by their proportions, that ship was no taller than a bus, only longer. Really?
    - In the ending fight scene... underwater... those monsters roar like they are on the surface. Awesome again.
    - The idea to send an atomic bomb inside the rift came to them after 10-15 years from the beginning of the attacks, after tens of millions of civilian deaths... sounds reeeeaallly realistic :)
    - On the base, the oxygen levels from inside the robot, are still readable from inside the rift (inter-dimensional portal)
    - When the rift (bridge) collapses, it's representation in the army base shows it as it happens... in realtime... with nice effects... wow... the programmers of the future thought of everything, also installed sensors from top to bottom of the rift without even going there?
    - The fighting scenes are so dark and shot from such angles so that I could not understand what was happening most of the time.
    - And seriously... 6 helicopters move around the robots? Those giant metal machines? That is impossible, to say the least.
    - The black market guy, just stands and chats while at two feet from a giant monster that 10 seconds ago was demolishing buildings and boats, and only seemed to die from no reason at all? That is realistic in what universe?
    - Why would the head of the robot need to be detachable from the body? Why did the pilots have to enter the head... somewhere 10 feet above the 20 meters high robot, and after they entered the head... it would start descending into it's place... These stupid moments could have been used to develop some characters background stories
    - No story for the characters. Besides the surviving brother and the surviving Japanese girl no other character has any story? Let's say I liked the fighting scenes... More like the idea of the fights. But they were too long, and too silly. Fighting with their fists against sea monsters... that is just peachy.

    I expected so much more from this movie... now I have no idea why
    Expand
  14. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the record, I had zero preconceptions about this movie. The only thing I knew about it was from a cup from Carl's Jr. that had the robots on it (which came to be called Jaegers). My boss decided to have a team building day the friday it came out and he took us to see it.

    Story interesting, but contrived and predictable.

    Dialogue terrible. I was rewriting the script in my mind. The Japanese girl does not speak like a Japanese girl, aside from her accent. It's unnatural. Raleigh apparently just isn't intelligent. And the black guy tries so hard to be "bad cop" but his demeanor doesn't fit it. You can tell he cares about everything and everyone. He doesn't just want to win, though that's how he's trying to come off. The best part was the "don't touch me" conversation about 5 seconds of dialogue.

    Cinematography most of the fight scenes were so close up you couldn't tell if it was kaiju or jaeger.

    Visual aspects Amazing. This was the reason it didn't get a zero. The kaiju and the jaegers were mind blowing creations that really came to life. The insides, the outsides, their movement (though I will touch on that in the next section)

    Execution I have a problem with suspension of disbelief. Whereas one person may say "THAT WAS AWESOME!!" I would say "that is impossible because of these reasons" and completely check out of the movie. This is what we had here. The way certain things were done were so fantastical that I couldn't get my mind to wrap around them. The jaegers are too big to move the way they do. And to be lifted like that with helicopters (if six helicopters can't pick up a freight ship, they sure as hell can't pick up a jaeger that uses a freight ship as a baseball bat). And not to crush themselves when they fall. It cheapened them for me.

    Also, how is it that the sword becomes the most useful weapon, but isn't used until the end? And why is the plasma cannon not the first line of defense? If my hand became a giant firearm, you can bet that i'd put it in a headlock (which was done several times) and blow it's head clean off of its shoulders. Kaiju dead. This is why I say the story is contrived.
    Expand
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    My inner child exploded from glee watching this movie. It delivered on its premise in spades while still showing a surprising amount of heart. The battles are epic, the CGI is stunning, and the content between the fights drives the film better than I could ever have hoped for. This is the movie of the summer, no doubt.
  16. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    By far the best Kaiju/Mecha movie out there. The science behind the jaegers actually advances the relationships between the characters, and you end up liking them all as you learn more and more of their story. Of course, the battles themselves are big, loud, and visually stunning.
  17. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wish i could be writing a positive review. I really do. Unfortunately i just cant. But at the same time, i can't write a negative review. The movie was by no means good or bad. It had potential but i think it was poorly executed. The concept was gold. But the film was plagued by bad acting and poor character development along with numerous other flaws.

    I will start with characters. First of all, i hardly knew the names for any of them. names were hardly ever mentioned and if they were it was in a robot while screaming with tons of background noise. Characters such as the Asian basketball team or the Russian duo were given little to no development that i felt could have really helped the movie. Now for the main character (whose name i do not even know). He was casted poorly. The main character in a movie like this should be a bad ass who is loveable and relateable. He was not. He was not a very good actor who to me did not even fit the role. His Asian partner, Mako i believe her name was, was awful. Her part was terrible to me. She was the worst actor, her script was terrible, and i think her part brought down the movie completely. My favorite characters were the British man and his son. They had a good amount of screen time, multiple fights, and were the best actors by far. Overall i felt that Pacific Rim would have succeeded so much more for me if it had better actors and a better script.

    Now for the visuals and the fights. The movie was not all bad. After the first hour or so of bad plot and letdowns i was treated to a visual and audible show. The fight for Tokyo/ Tokyo Bay was great. The giant robots were all designed very well, had good visuals, moved realistically, and were entertaining. The monsters were also visually pleasing and some of them were downright scary, and they should have been. However, a problem i had with the fights was the rain. Most if not all of the fight were doused in rain, which made it difficult for me to fully appreciated the fighting. Regardless, the fights themselves were still the best part of the movie. I think that the team spent so much time and focused too much on the fights that it hurt if not ruined the rest of the movie.

    Now i will point out my biggest problems with Pacific Rim. The first hour sucked. The main characters motivation was not strong enough and he acted poorly. I understand the point of the stick fight to find a good partner, but it was unnecessary and poorly choreographed. In the beginning of the movie, i was given a summery of how the world came to its situation. How San Francisco was destroyed along with other cities and how the world united to fight back. Instead of the hour of garbage development, why not devote that hour to actually showing those fights instead of telling me for 3 minutes or so? If you are going to capitalize on the fights, REALLY capitalize the fights and give me more. Maybe there might have been a problem with length but if they took out the things they did poorly for more fights, a movie like this would not suffer. Now for my number one flaw. This might not seem like a big deal to many but it made me so angry that i was shaking my head. The sword. I get that the fights cannot be too short. I get the punches look cool and make an interesting visual. But when the sword was treated as a last resort i just lost it. The sword should have been a standard thing. If i have a sword and i am fighting someone or something, i am going to use it. I would not be punching and not use it. Now maybe instead of using it all the time they could have given a reason why it had to be limited. Maybe it puts too much stress on the arm or uses up too much power. Anything. Near the end, underwater, the sword was all they had and it was bad ass. I can not get over how mad that sword made me. The use of the reactor as a secret weapon to burn the monster was creative and it was a twist. A sword should not have been used as a twist. Maybe they could have had it ripped of and be forced to punch. I am sorry it was so aggravating. At the end of the movie, both Mako and the main character made it out alive. I was lead to believe it was a suicide mission, and it should have been. I was fine with Mako making it out. But i would not have had the main character make it out too. A more fitting ending would have been him alone, sinking down, thinking to himself that he avenged his brother and saved the world and sacrificed himself for humanity. But for whatever reason they chose to go the opposite way and give me no sense of an ending.

    Had i directed Pacific Rim, i could not sit back and watch it and say to myself "This is ready for the public. This is a good thing." It suffered from poor directing, casting, acting, and plot. However, the true redeeming qualities were the fights, which were not perfect. I can not say to not go see the movie. If you are into monster fights and that is all you want, then by all means go. If not, don't. 5/10
    Expand
  18. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    An epic, gloriously goofy summer film for lovers of giant monsters and robots. Guillermo del Toro must have had a blast making this film, and it shows. Beautiful visuals, offbeat characters, and awesome battles. The dialogue is corny and cliched, but thats part of the fun. Great casting also, everyone fits perfectly into there parts. Those that are fans of Anime will have a lot of fun picking out the numerous references to various past works, there is even a couple nods to Star Wars. Expand
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    To all those critics that they don't have the slight imagination in their heads ,disconnect for the harsh stuff that is happening in the world and put your self in the fantasy world of a movie like this and really by heart enjoy it you can't call your selfs critic ,the movie it's awesome refreshing it brings me back to those days of mazinger z robotec or even gundan, if you don't take your mine to that era,your not going to enjoy the movie, for me it bring back my inner child and for the entire movie my mind was running wild remembering waking up rushing to see those cartoons or just walking in the street thinking that i was a giant robot and that the ants where the people lol to resume this ,great job del toro. Expand
  20. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Pacific Rim I love you! Going in, I was afraid that I would be seeing del Toro's first miss. Fortunately I didn't. It was stripped down and lean in story but it works to keep the roller coaster going and doesn't bog down in too much jibber-jabber or any tacked on love story. This not a film for the cynical or the meta crowd. This is escapism at its best. The fights were fun to watch, and felt real but big. The kaiju were very del Toro with Lovecraftian asides. This was a different and satisfying action film with a nod towards community. I have to see it again. Expand
  21. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Truly EPIC movie from start to finish. Hands down the best movie so far this summer and a very very nice surprise. Did not expect to like it this much, The kid inside me was coming out like a chest buster from Aliens. Grand scale, great special effects, amazing sound effects, decent acting, and above avg story/script. Worth seeing.
  22. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year so far, amazing special effects, solid writing great characterization. It's pretty much Evangelion, if Evangelion wasn't awful. See it, see it again, you will not regret it.
  23. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim may be the most delightful summer blockbuster I've ever seen because it is EXACTLY what it promised it would be. Giant robots fighting giant monsters with absolutely beautiful visuals.
  24. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Pacific Rim: It wasn't perfect but it was damn good. Pacific Rim doesn't try to be anything that it's not and that is why this movie is pretty awesome. It is Monster Movie, not a horror movie mind you, a MONSTER movie. Borrowing from Godzilla, Neon Genesis, and a several other films and stories, Pac Rim manages to create a believable world with characters that you actually care for by the movies end. The characters were well thought out and the actors playing them knew their roles in this film. Now don't expect "Oscar award winning" performances, but they did their jobs well. One nice thing was that Pac Rim is a self contained story and, admirably, does not blatantly set itself up for a franchise. Pac Rim is not without it's faults but I went with zero expectations and left really enjoying the film. I would even venture to say it is one, if not THE, best sci fi flick out this year (and there have been several)! If you like Giant Monsters, Giant Robots, good sci fi with a healthy dose of apocalyptic threats, then go see it. You'll have a great time! Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best "pop-corn movies" ever. This is the reason to go to a cinema. Spectacular in every way, but only and only if you are buying all this hugely ridiculous story. If you cringe at a first thought of "another monster/robot movie", you might just want to stay away or take a risk to see it, but you wouldn't get much else than amazing visuals, huge beautifully staged fights, great detail in everything: environment, cities, robots, monsters (who are all different, btw). The main problem is characters, I must say, who are feeling generic in many ways. Not always do you feel compelled by them and care this much as you should've presumably. And nevertheless, this movie rocked so so much! I felt like 8 years old while watching this spectacle of a movie. But the main thing is that you just have to buy this stuff wholesale, otherwise you wont enjoy it a bit. Expand
  26. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    A damn good action film that, thankfully, didn't waste the awesome opportunities it was given. The film doesn't patronise it's audience by explaining *everything*; the back story is neatly fleshed out in a pre-credits sequence (sort of like James Bond, really), and then the film is left to get on with things. There is some cheese, but it's done affectionately, such as Stacker Pentecost's rousing speech, or the "unproven rookie does good" thread with Mako Mori. But that's par for the course with action films these days, and it's never laid on too thick.

    One particular action sequence in the middle of film is worth the price of admission alone and, though I've never 'whooped' in a cinema before, I did mutter an "Oh wow" under my breath during a particularly awesome set-piece.

    As for mass appeal, I can imagine this being a good film to see with the family and I hope people are not put off by it's geeky affectations. I would definitely see this again, though perhaps not in 3D this time. Some of the fight scenes are a little difficult to follow in the murk. The guy sitting next to me actually held his hands up in a "What's going on?" gesture in the opening battle, and I laughed and nodded at him in agreement.

    8 out of 10, and here's to the sequels!
    Expand
  27. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    I will admit that Pacific Rim did not turn out to be the movie I thought it was going to be, but all in all it is a better than average summer movie. The set pieces were pretty cool, and the robots and monsters almost warrant seeing the movie twice( just so you can catch some of the details you're bound to miss the first time). The acting is pretty solid and the CGI, of course,was awesome.
  28. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Guillermo Del Toro is the Man! Pacific Rim was as good as I had hoped. I was thoroughly entertained and it went by rather quickly. I wasn't sitting in my seat all tired and ready to go like some other of the summer movies I've seen so far. I liked that the story was original as were the monsters and robots. I also liked that it was explained why the monsters are attacking. The entire subject of "the drift" and controlling of the Jaegers was completely original and I appreciate everything about it. The CGI was top notch and the use of colors was amazing.

    The only issue I have with this movie is that I had hoped to see more fighting between the other Jaegers....not just Gypsy Danger. Spoiler Alert...the only scene where we see multiple Jaegers fighting two Kaiju pretty much went the way I had worried it might go. You have (3) Jaegers fighting one Kaiju and they two get their asses handed to them in short order. It reminds me of Iron Man 3. At the end of the movie, he has all of these suits that come to help, but they don't last more than a minute when fighting the enemy. What is the point of having all of those cool suits if you don't get to enjoy them being used for an extended amount of time. The same thing happens here with the Jaegers. In any case...that is a small issue of mine, but not a deal breaker.

    Aside from that malarkey of mine, I'd like to point out that the cast is fantastic. I never really cared for Charlie Hunnam before, but I liked him in this. Idris Elba is a great actor and I hope to see more of him in the coming years. I didn't care for the movies he's been cast in before, but this was a great role for him. I've never heard of Rinko Kikuci before, but she really grew on me. I hope to see more of her in the future. Lastly, Charlie Day has been on fire the past string of movies he's done. I really liked his character. When Charlie Day and Ron Pearlman are on screen together, it's nothing but gold.

    I hope that there's a sequel in the works. I enjoyed this one so much I didn't want it to end. I was surprised at how fast it paced along. It's over two hours long, but it flew by. I highly recommend you see it. Great flick!
    Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Completely over the top and overall very enjoyable. I loved it! Definitely worth seeing in IMAX 3D. My only complaint is about the woeful fake Australian accents, but Ron Perlman's character is so funny it just about makes up for that. And for those reviewers who complain about the "why" not being explained it most certainly is.
  30. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    The movie relies heavily on action and is well acted by most of the actors. It is entertaining and a nonstop ride that will make my blu ray collection.
  31. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    By far the worst movie of the decade. This movie is filled with crap and horrible special effects. The two douche bags from Sons of Anarchy are in it so that in itself should tell you that this movie isn't worth watching. I wouldn't watch this movie again if you paid me. I wouldn't waste my server speed streaming this movie. Seriously...save your money and time.
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    As brilliant and great as the film was, there were still plenty of flaws; Charlie Hunnam's lame performance along with his generic character, the film's (probably intentional) cheesiness in the latter half, the occasional appearance of bad dialogue and some unintentionally hilarious moments. Those flaws aside, Pacific Rim was great, loud fun filled with plenty of eye-candy, a brilliant performance by Idris Elba and great direction. If it weren't for the flaws, the film would have deserved a perfect score. Expand
  33. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    This movie is full of cliché, but every element of it is on the right place. The robots and monsters look realistic. Overall the movie is decent if you do not expect a twisted storyline and deep characters.
  34. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Make no mistake: the plot and writing in this movie are subpar at best, and everybody involved with the movie obviously realized that their script was corny and their plot was paper-thin. But it just doesn't matter. The concept is solid as a rock, the pacing is wonderfully built, and del Toro does a masterful job with withholding and revealing information at the perfect times for maximum effect. The result is a well-crafted, $200 million on-screen embodiment of the movie your 10-year-old self dreamed of seeing someday. Pacific Rim knows exactly what it is: two hours and ten minutes of totally bad ass fun. Expand
  35. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    A spectacular tour de force of visuals and characters both larger than life and inspiring. It would be easy to get lost in the sheer gobsmacking action; however, charismatic and emotional performances by most of the cast propel this action thriller beyond the orbit of what we've come to expect from FX driven titles.

    Not for the faint of heart, Pacific Rim will reward you with powerful
    imagination and a heart of its own. Expand
  36. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    It's a movie about giant robots fighting giant monsters. What do you expect? It's a generic action movie at heart. You'll be able to predict the ending of the movie about 10 minutes in because it follows the exact blueprint of all action movies. But that's not a bad thing. The movie is full of awesome action, comic relief (Charlie Day... need I say more?) and generic pump-up speeches. And it's all awesome. It's a fun movie from beginning to end and has some of the coolest looking and sounding fights of any movie I've seen to date. Expand
  37. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    After seeing the trailers and talking it over with a couple friends of mine, I wasn't really excited for it, but then July 12th drew closer and closer, I was getting more and more excited. After watching it I was shocked on how well it was put together. CGI was pretty good. I mean who doesn't like giant bad ass robots fighting these ugly looking aliens. Any kid would enjoy this movie. Maybe not little kids that might have nightmares over the aliens as they will be afraid to swim. Overall it was actually funny, interesting, action packed (except for the middle for like 30 minutes), but other than that it was well worth seeing. Go see it kids and whoever else. Whoever gave this movie under a 6 is a dumbass and/or don't have a sense of a kid side in them Expand
  38. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The "Citizen Kane" of spectacle films. It wears it's identity as a spectacle film on its sleeve and that will turn off some. For the rest of us we get some of the most fun we've had in a theater all summer. Everything from the music to the production design get you amped for the next monster encounter. Del Toro captures lighting in a bottle by giving us a spectacle film that also has a depth of mythology not seen in these types of films. It's biggest weakness is the wooden characters and cliched tropes, but even these feed into what Del Toro was trying to do which is give us a live action anime of sorts. Those flaws do not outweigh the genius of the robot on monster fights. This film delivered everything as advertised. Expand
  39. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    What am i seeing is not able to believe, so gave10/10 no more numbers to give rating.....excellent movie...Don't miss it....u may not see this kinda movie these days....thanx for all the team worked in it and expecting more parts.....2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10
  40. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    This film is a spectacle, no doubt about it. The battles are full of outrageous and entertaining action which anyone who is a fan of monster movies will enjoy. Unfortunately the film is slowed to a crawl by the un-ironically cliched and poorly acted attempt to inject plot and heart into what could gave been a simple and entertaining special effects extravaganza.

    I personally found it
    hard to care about many of the characters in the film simply because, for the most part, their personal stories are nothing more than a transparent gap-filler between action sequences (of which there ate only 3 worth mentioning, although I won't for the sake of spoiler avoidance).
    All in all this film is almost saved by it's gloriously over the top action, but sadly there just isn'nt enough of it to balance out the dire plot.
    Expand
  41. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Horrible !
    characters
    robots
    monsters
    ugly
    battle scenes
    bad story
    boring
    too large characters
    and too tiny characters
    robot martial arts ?
    Power Rangers ?
    Evangelion ?
    omg
    everything
    all horrible
  42. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    A loud cliched ridiculous movie plagiarizing many other Sci Fi films including War Of The Worlds, Independence Day & Transformers. The actors are simply awful. No character development whatsoever. The CGI is so awful that you can't even tell who is fighting who. It is obvious that phantom critics are shilling for this movie which is a complete turkey as they have no other reviews. I saw this sorry excuse for a film opening night in front of a half empty theater. Avoid at all costs. Despite the heavy PR marketing my gut tells me this will be a bomb at the box office. Expand
  43. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Rarely does a movie get everything right. The story is interesting and playful. The characters are dynamic, and fun, and a little silly at times, but fleshed out enough to be believable people you can empathize, respect, and in one case fear a little. However, the best part is that this film understand and get's what it its. It isn't afraid to admit what it is, and how essentially ridiculous the premise is, so unlike most movies it doesn't waste most of it's time trying to explain how it isn't what it really is, and dedicates it's resources to amazing fights and great character moments. Half of this film is just straight up monster battles. I'm giving this a 10/10 not because I think it is one of the best movies ever made or anything like that, but because I honestly can't think of a single way to improve this movie. Expand
  44. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This is probably the best revitalization of a monster movie since B&W Godzilla. The only thing I've come across as good was a South Korean movie The Host (2006). Which is probably like comparing District 9 to the Upcoming Film Elysium, because the scope and scale the Director and ILM achieved was phenomenal. It's PG-13 so it's a 'Family' movie but I'd expect some of the scenes to scare younger kids. The only thing I wished is that we could see more, but I think the length was appropriate for the debut. I hope they get to do a sequel and we get to see more of the robots. Expand
  45. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A good, fun, visual feast; a concept we haven't seen in a long while on the big screen. Incredible movie all in all, one of the best movies so far this summer.
  46. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim gushes with love with every single scene Robot designs, one liners, the simplistic plot make for a non-cluttered enjoyable expirience for everyone involved.

    Not needed, but I personally recommmend seeing this film in 3D. Having all the battles and characters on different grounds makes everything seem very real and makes all the action easy to see.
  47. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Besides the glaring physical, logical, and downright even possible fallacies that these piece of poo movie has, I am more dumbfounded at the 824 positive reviews out of 983. There's 103 negative, so I'm obviously not alone, but it's a scary thought that I'm the minority in realizing how terrible this movie is. My favorite parts are where there are no vital signs at the end and he miraculously starts breathing and talking, and when they're getting their asses kicked they're like, "we're not done yet," and whips out the sword...Just stupid. Expand
  48. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Hope it does well at the box office. I enjoyed it, there was a lot of entertaining fight sequences, but they were a little marred by the overuse of rain effects. Either way, solid summer flick.
  49. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim, WOW? At first, the Jaegers seem like the perfect deterrent for the Kaiju menace; but when the monsters start getting smarter and deadlier and Jaegers begin falling quicker than they can be rebuilt mankind finds itself on the brink of extinction. Our last hope lies with the desperate plan of Marshall Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba) and his handful of remaining Jaeger pilots, including war-worn veteran Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam) and rookie Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi), an unlikely pair who may prove to be the best pilot team the world has ever seen. We can make this short and easy: If the spectacle of big robots battling it out with big monsters is all you’re interested in, then Pacific Rim is going to be a five-star experience that you should wholly enjoy in the biggest IMAX 3D theater you can find (earplugs recommended). However, if you require a deeper story and mythos to sell you on all the spectacle? You will get plenty of mythos, but despite a parade of “cool moments,” a mishandled central storyline ultimately makes the experience a hollow one. Director Guillermo del Toro is known for his wonderful imagination and abilities as a filmmaker demonstrated in signature works like Pan’s Labyrinth and the Hellboy movies and Pacific Rim is alive and crackling with some of his best work. From the robot and monster designs, to the well-staged battle sequences and overall concept, Pacific Rim is something uniquely its own within the crowded genre of summer blockbusters. Best of all, there’s a pervading sense of fun and joy that the director has infused his passion project with; the goal is to entertain and entertain it does, for the most part (it does get cartoony, but that cartoon is still pretty fun). On the downside, there are plenty of moments that will indeed seem less like homages and more derivative copy of other films not necessarily even related to the “Kaiju/Mecha” sub-genre. See if you can catch those Independence Day and/or Deep Blue Sea moments and you’ll know the sort of “borrowing” I’m referring to. The script co-written by del Toro and Clash of the Titans scribe Travis Beacham is not impressive. The story is straightforward enough, but an abundance of sub-plots often makes it feel scattered-brained. The emotional core and character development are even more unfocused: this is supposedly Raleigh and Mako’s story we are being told and Hunnam and Kikuchi are both solid leads with solid chemistry but beyond a couple of superficial dramatic moments, there is no real conflict between our central characters, and no real arc for them to complete as individual characters. In short: our protagonists are often the least interesting parts of the film, which inevitably means a sort of detached viewing experience. Oddly enough it is Idris Elba’s Stacker Pentecost who is the most dynamic character in Pacific Rim, and seems to get the most complete and engaging character arc of the whole ensemble. Elba (by now well established for his talent to stand out even in bit roles see: Prometheus or Thor) walks away owning every one of the many scenes he’s in which is great for him, but is also clear indication that the writers are not driving the story with full control of the wheel. The sound design is awesome and by awesome I mean very, very, loud. Actual dialogue sometimes had a cavernous echo to it that made it hard to make out but whether that was just my theater or the movie itself, I can’t say for sure. This is definitely an IMAX experience to be had; but the post-converted 3D, while very well done, doesn’t feel as necessary. A 2D IMAX experience would be more than sufficient but if you are a big fan of the robot/monster stuff, the extra splurging will be worth it to you. On the whole, Pacific Rim has its creator to thank for elevating it above so many similar and forgettable action blockbusters, through sheer creativity, love and force of will. While the storyline and emotional core aren’t strong, the action and spectacle are, and del Toro builds his world well enough to create plenty of future opportunities for re-visits, spin-offs, multi-media projects and everything else fans (and movie studios) love in a good fanboy franchise. Expand
  50. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    This movie is what I'd consider the "Transformers" movie that never made. The feel of this really big. It's really made on such a large scale. It's a fun movie that everyone will enjoy. As far as storytelling goes, it's decent. But lets face it, no one's going to watch this movie for the story. Yet, there are characters that are really good like Idris Elba and Charlie Day. There are others that are also pretty good like Charlie Hunnam. And then there are those that you honestly just don't care about. But the ginormous fight scenes are visually breathtaking. You'll feel like you're actually in the fight. Overall, it's a fun, exciting and visual masterpiece. Expand
  51. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    An sf movie about giant monsters and giant robots fighting it out what could go wrong, well a lot. Story is bad and boring to say the least and some things make no sense (walls don't work against humans and other small vermin let alone against monsters the size of buildings). Robots look bad and so do monsters, anyway the movie was a waste of my time.
  52. Jul 21, 2013
    3
    7.7...really...please...this nonsense will appeal to the 8 to 14 male crowd because the special effects are first rate but after that the movie falls apart. Bad acting, weak storyline, shallow cliché characters all cobbled together claiming to be 2 hours of entertainment. Save the gas and ticket and watch "Dinoshark" or any other SYFY channel movies, you will get the same type storyline, acting and characters, but you will have to do without the big screen special effects. Thumbs down on this one... Expand
  53. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    When a sci-fi "blockbuster" nearly puts you to sleep, that's a bad sign. The only thing keeping me awake during this fiasco of a film was the occasional explosion sound effect and the echoes I could hear coming from the gigantic plot holes. My ticket was free, and I felt like I overpaid for the experience. Seeing the average rating by critics and viewers alike... I question whether we are evolving as a species or regressing into slack-jawed "Oh shiny!" viewers. Expand
  54. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    Save your money, never see a film that's rated PG-13/ 12A. It's always a pile of Hollywood turd by directors given to much money, by studios that have no idea how decent films are made. Plot 0 Acting 0 Sub-Plots 0 Character development 0 How much I cared about any characters 0 How much I cared about chinese womans backstory 0 Interest in why Idris Elba still has the red shoe after a decade 8
    CGI 7

    Overall rating sandwich.
    Expand
  55. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    I was actually looking forward to this film, and boy oh boy was I disappointed. Yup the effects looked expansive and no doubt were expensive but seriously what was the point?Just a terrible terrible film. I have only considered leaving the cinema for one film prior to today and that was for the Catherine Zeta Jones epic no reservations, which is better than this film. Remember the scene from Wayne's World 2, when he meets the "can we not get better than this" guy on his way to Gordon Street? That guy is like Alec Guiness to this cast. I have already wasted too much time on this film in my life, so as summary just really do not bother Expand
  56. Oct 16, 2013
    3
    Nonsense. The graphics team deserves a lot of praise, but this movie was not well thought out at all. Cliche followed by cliche, followed by wasting time with a story that barely made any sense at all and contradicted itself. It's amazing that so much money can be put into a movie and nobody tried to actually think about much beyond the initial idea. They just jammed in as many things they could rip off from other movies and robot animes. Probably would've been amazing if they had just released a 20 minute robot fight without attempting to add a plot Expand
  57. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a pretty decent summer blockbuster flick about giant robots fight over Kaiju monsters in the city. Guillermo del Toro takes his creative idea of making a big gigantic monsters and robots that references to B-movies and Japanese television series into a perspective way. The movie takes place in the futuristic world of big monsters from beneath the ocean (known as Pacific Rim) start to demolish the city in each continent and the government plans to make gigantic robots to stop all Kaiju beasts and to save all the citizens in the world. So they hire recruits for joining up to fight over monsters, and they need to find the way to stop all monsters that keeps going up from the ocean and to destruct the Pacific Rim's hole. The characters are very memorable in this movie and it's nowhere very cliché like most characters from these terrible Transformer series, but they stay strong and likable. The robots fight over monsters are nice to look at and they have cool scenes where they keep going to smash every monsters with their missiles, fists, and dodging. The visuals and the effects are astounding and nice digital sets of making a monsters and robots to be realistic and very bright. Pacific Rim is a fun popcorn flick and makes a very creative idea that reminds us for watching Godzilla, Power Rangers, and other big gigantic monster flicks to enjoy. Thumb Up. Expand
  58. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Kaiju fans will love this. Full of genre tropes and homages, but delivered in a unique mix. More humanity than most, with a clever plot device called "the drift". Clearly a labor of love. Great wall metaphor too.
  59. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    I was pleasantly entertained. Pacific Rim stands as a testament to how far advanced Hollywood is these days, as so little of this movie was actually filmed in real locations around the world. The execution to that end was superb very high quality a la Transformers but with a bit more humanity (which makes sense, seeing how they're basically oversized Iron Man outfits with two pilots). There was a big opportunity to really flesh out a high quality plot and drive character development with the time they spent on both, but I never felt like they ever really get emotionally invested in either of those points to where the I cared who lives and dies. But as the movie wrapped up, I simply said to those around me "that was actually pretty good", and left it at that. There's not much else to say or expect. But I definitely saw higher potential, one that would have set this movie in a much higher league, and that opportunity was unfortunately missed. Expand
  60. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Giant monsters from the deep are destroying cities, but instead of just blowing them up from a distance, the world unites to build giant robots to engage in hand-to-hand combat. This is a cross between old-school Godzilla and a variation on Transformers, but to enjoy it you must be willing to accept director Guillermo del Toro's imagination. The effects are exceptional and the action is pretty cool (although sometimes confusing). The trite attempts at character involvement only serve as padding between the battles. This movie is all about the fights and del Toro's vision, so don't expect more and you'll dig it. (Stay thru the early credits for a punchline.) Expand
  61. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    It's not often we get a treat like this. A solid story laid the foundation for one of the coolest, most thrilling movie experiences I've had in a long whole. The action set pieces are on such a scale and really get your blood pumping. The brawls look fantastic and really brutal. Watching colossal aliens being punched repeatedly in the face by these metal beasts is just amazing, But it's not all about the action. The characters are given a lot of attention too. They're by no means 2D and they all have backstories and their own motivations. A masterpiece really. Expand
  62. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    This movie requires that you disengage your brain and then attempts to reward you with a constant roller coaster adrenaline high. (Hint: after the first half hour, you just want to get off the damn ride.) It is possible to enjoy this movie....but only if you don't mind the lack of acting skill, engaging characters, plausible dialogue, or a plot that makes any sense whatsoever. Provided you can overlook such minor flaws, you will be blown away by more than two hours of audio and visual overload. I'm pretty sure the sustained shock and awe gave me a few more grey hairs. But hey, the CGI team deserves a golf clap and a pat on the back. Nice doggie! Expand
  63. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movie where you stop caring and are along for the ride. It reminded me of Transformers, meets Never Back Down, meets Cloverfield. It was an absolute thrill to watch and I can't wait to go see it again. By the way... this is some of the best 3D I've seen (especially since it was post converted). If you get the chance, go see it! Expand
  64. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. I give a 10 rating once every 5 yrs or so and this rates that big time! This film is Transformers vs Godzillas on steroids, amped up to the max. The intensity is phenomenal, you'll wish the entire film was just mega-sized fight scenes.Yes, you can criticize this and that about the story, plot, etc but you'll be missing the entire point of the film. Enjoy this for what it is, and it's the best at what it does. Expand
  65. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    What can be said? There are plenty of audience pointed blockbusters. Good ones, bad ones. Popcorn flips, But only in unique cases there are MASTERPIECEs. Like Avengers, Tron, Star Trek. As well there are some breakthrough ideas occur in every summer. Like Inception, Dark Knight, Ted or something like that. Anyway.
    PACIFIC RIM is all of it combined and multiplied at least five times. One
    of the greates and most underestimated director of our time Guillermo Del Toro has done one of the most incredible sci-fi movies in late 100 years. It is not Space Odyssey by Kubrick, Not a War of Worlds by Spielberg, or Nolan's Inception and anything else. It is an alien invasion on high profile. It is a hidden dangerous, comes from the abyss of our world. It is science, why two pilots? You will know and will be shocked. Why Kaiju? Keep calm and just watch.
    Does it cost 2 hours? Yes it does. It has everything from humor to drama, from love to honor. Visually Spectacular. Joyfully directed, perfectly performed characters by Idris Elba, Charlie Hunnam and ROn Pearlman. So Amazing storyline and visual show. great score. You will not have an opportunity to get some popcorn, cause you will not be able to taker your eyes away from it.
    Collapse
  66. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Listen, this is THE popcorn SUMMER ACTION movie. This is BETTER than any other films in it's genera. I'll keep it simple. If you want to be pulled into the ride of your life, and be hit in the face with total badassness then go see this film. Ignore anything else you hear. It's a fun, action packed, insane ride.
  67. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim is a solid sci-fi film that mightn't stand out from the rest but at the same time is not the same thing you've seen a million times. Although the flow of the film suffers a bit, it makes up for it with memorable characters, creative ideas and an interesting plot. The acting is fairly good and the special effects are no less than amazing. It's not revolutionary, nor is it incredible, but it's not a failure either. It's worth seeing if you like the look of the trailer, if you don't however, you may still find that you like the characters, otherwise the trailer sums up most of what to expect. In short: Solid movie, not amazing, but not terrible either. 7/10 from me. Expand
  68. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    phenomenal...great movie, very powerful...exclusive director Guillermo del Toro, one of my favorite... spectacle for the eyes and ears. Epic from start to finish
  69. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    To the "0" review titled "Fantasy" No duh. It's a fantasy/sci-fi flick and wears it proudly and does not laugh off the peril the world faces. Yes, it has some "borrowings" from Godzilla, but I don't see independence day. I think del Toro has been explicit about his influences. I saw this movie in Imax 3D and I was blown away. Was it a plot worthy of Shakespeare? No. But the plot was solid even if some of the physics were improbable (they would need more helicopters to lift their Jaegers). Did I enjoy the movie? All four of the friends I went with and I LOVED the movie. It was very entertaining and did have a very unique, appealing visual style. I have to admit I'm a del Toro fan and have like everything he's done (too bad that couldn't have included the Hobbit). Expand
  70. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    In short, see it. You won't regret it, stop wasting your time looking at this and look at the movie!
    Anyways, this movie does everything I can think of right. The action is amazing with the best special effects I have ever seen. There isn't as much as you might expect but it certainly makes up for that in quality. The story is good, not really anything special, but it certainly
    surprised me that the story wasn't just an excuse to watch monsters and robots fight. It also struck me how plausible things seems. At no point does it step outside of the bounds of reason in any ways that's distracting. In fact it's hard to think of anything that couldn't actually work. By making the Jaegers piloted by two people was a nice way to blend the action with the plot that was surprisingly good. I went into the movie with high expectations because of what I heard about it, and what I got shattered my already high expectations. Expand
  71. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim was glorious. It was Power Rangers vs Godzilla. Giant crabs attacking Japan, pterodactyls lifting giant mechs into the sky, attacks moves being shouted at the screen-- stupendous! The film does not take itself seriously and plays out like a live-action anime, specifically like the 70s and 80s mech anime I grew up with. If you remember Voltron, Patlabor, Power Rangers, and even the original Godzilla films, you cannot miss this. Highly recommended! Expand
  72. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    watching a bunch of giant robots fighting monsters is awesome. There is no denying that. Pacific Rim embodies this notion. Pacific Rim is The robot vs monster movie. That being said, everything else about it is pretty damn terrible. The actors are all trying way too hard and it seems that everyone involved was having a hard time taking the subject matter seriously. Maybe because everything in this movie has been done
    before. The whole plot is ripped from every aliens attack movie.
    "Aliens attack and humans put aside their petty differences to work
    together to destroy the attackers". Its so cliché its ridiculous. I was
    constantly having flash backs to other movies. Most notably would be of
    course Godzilla, Transformers and also Independence day. Even the
    ending reeked of Indep Day. The black market for kaiju parts was
    somewhat interesting but it was all way too Hollywood. The scientist's
    were also vaguely interesting but watching them interact and grow as
    characters made me want to puke. Jackson Teller just looks like he
    hopped out of Sons of Anarchy and into a robot suit. Again, robots
    fighting monsters will always be cool and the special effects are top
    notch but everything else is unintentionally cheesy and cliché, its
    very much similar to the Transformers series.
    Expand
  73. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Easily the best action movie this year. Pacific Rim does something actually unexpected: Its really good, and it keeps you invested. Guillermo Del Toro take relativity unknown actors, mixed in with some more better known ones and makes this massive, visually enticing film that only leaves you wishing and/or wanting more. Will the sequel come? That'll be something for Warner Bros. to decide, but if they want another hit, green light the sequel and let Del Toro do his thing. This movie more than makes up for the disaster horror movie he released earlier in the year, in "Mama". Nobody was expecting this to be what it has become, so its easily a major surprise. I wouldn't go so far as to say, "best movie of the year" (that, personally for me, still lies with "The Place Beyond The Pines"). Its certainly best Action Movie of the year, and biggest surprise of the year. Worth seeing. Very fun adventure. Expand
  74. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This is a movie whose parts would never work by themselves, but when mixed together make the whole experience AWESOME. I could poke holes in the plot, characters and logic of the movie all day long(easily, in fact), and it wouldn't change my opinion at all. It was like watching Robotech and Godzilla for the first time when I was a kid.

    No, it wouldn't win Best Picture, and it's not
    deep and thought-provoking. Just listen to del Toro talk about the movie. You can tell that was NOT the type of movie he wanted to make. He wanted to make a fun movie about robots fighting giant monsters, because he loves those kinds of movies. And that's exactly what he did. And that's why you should go watch it. Expand
  75. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Took me back to the early 80s, when Robotec and Godzilla ruled my world; to all the weird and wonderful Japanese toys and cartoons that infiltrated my youth. I love it. It's a lot of fun, excellent special effects. The story may seem simple, and it is, but really it is paying homage to all the classic Japanese movies that inspired it. Very cool.
  76. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    I went in wanting an epic movie about Giant robots, and I got it. The fight scenes were well done and at times pretty intense. The story in between was a bit ho hum, but I wasn't expecting anything amazing. I think this movies succeeds in what it set out to do, and what us Giant Robot fans expected.
  77. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This Movie has a bad story with weak characters, mostly bad actors and a terrible screenplay. I cant really belive del Toro did this. Even "Battleship" was better. If you are over 16 years old, dont waste your time.
  78. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Very fun and entertaining! I think I will see it again. Worth a see on the big screen. It will keep your attention and is a welcome addition to the monster movie genre. Hoping a prequel is made.
  79. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The acting could be better at times, but what it lacks in dialogue and speech, it more than makes up in beautiful, fun and unique action. This is not Transformers. It's Godzilla meets Gundam! Great movie for kids also. No sexual content whatsoever.
  80. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    This movie was a ton of big action fun. The plot contains no real twists or turns that will throw anyone over 8 for a loop, but that doesn't hurt the brawny, intense fun in the film. The weakest part of the film was the male lead, who really doesn't emote or provide much of substance outside his 'rugged good looks'.Thank heaven for Idris Elba, who brings serious acting chops to the table and carries the emotional load of the film. Strongly recommended to big action fans, kaiju lovers and people who just want to have a good time watching fantastical monstrosities go at one another in big action scenes, Expand
  81. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    The reason why this movie is such a masterful work is that Guillermo Del Toro knows exactly how to set emotional tones. He sets up an atmosphere so easy to fall in love with it'll remind you that movies truly can have soul to them.
  82. Aug 6, 2013
    7
    In a world where every second movie in this genre is based on a comic book comic book character(s) it's refreshing seeing something new, especially when these guys actually try and create a bit of story and not just mindless action even though there is allot of that. The only negatives to this movie for me would be the fact that for some reason most fights happen in darkened environments; and on one or two sections I found the writing script to be sub par, but nothing to take away from the enjoyment of the movie. Other than that I much prefer this movie to the latest incarnation of the Superman franchise. Expand
  83. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Incredible! Just one of the many words to describe this film overall. The emotional depth of the characters was deep and sincere, creating attachment to each unique individual as the story progressed with a captivating intensity rarely attained in movies of this epic caliber. The visual effects were beyond breathtaking with some of the most monumental battle scenes in movie history. In the end, this is without a doubt, a great achievement in cinema, and has a heart and hardcore attitude that'll please any moviegoer and have them cheering in elation. Expand
  84. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Pretty much everything i could ever want out of a giant monster movie. The only downside is that every time someone who isn't Idris Elba had some lines, it distracted my attention a little from Idris Elba being named Stacker Pentecost.

    Sorry, i just need to say that name again: Stacker Pentecost.

    Stacker Pentecost. I lied. Stacker Pentecost.
  85. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I Remember when directors made movies with so much passion (early George Lucas, Spielberg, etc.) well that's what i sense after seeing Pacific Rim. It's has that spark of passion the same passion i feel most movies been lacking lately, there's no big Celebrities here or a big Franchise superhero, It focuses on delivering that "Magic" on the screen, and in my opinion that's what movies are all about, it all comes together so well. Big applause to Guillermo del Toro for showing us that movies can still be magic. Giant robots, monsters, what more could you ask. must see, if you are into Mecha, or Sci-fi. films you won't be disappointed. Expand
  86. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    2nd best movie I've seen this year, I wish people would see it and rate it first than just rate it. If you just want to see action and a simple story this is it
  87. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    quite possibly the best movie of the summer. Michael Bay can learn something from the CGI fight scenes in this movie for the next Transformers installment
  88. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    An insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focuses on intriguing story details as well. A must watch, definitely not a movie you wanna miss. 9/10. Expand
  89. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    That it was my best visiting of cinema in this year. Epic robots, epic pokemons, epic EVERYTHING! And so sweet that none of main characters are AAA-stars. Its must see in the cinema only because huge robots should be HUUGE!
  90. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    An amazing movie, where cliches didn't bothered me, because it was compensated with the astonishing special effects, the creativity of the Jaegers design, and the emotion that is injected to your bloodstream when you see them fight in unique and incredible locations. The acting was also amazing and it had very funny moments, classic of a Mexican director. I was also excited because it reminded me the classics of Evangelion and Godzilla, being mixed up to become a stronger entretaining movie. Very well done del Toro! Expand
  91. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Those who say this movie is boring, just have no taste in a decent mecha anime, or hate all science fiction. I personally watched this movie and enjoyed it. Sure, most of the acting sucked, but most people would not care for such tripe. Most movie watchers these days would like to see a lot of action. However, movie critics that cal this movie trash are drama-freaks who hate science fiction (or Romantic Fiction as it was called back in the early days: LOOK IT UP, baka) because it makes no sense to them. Expand
  92. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    If you like robots and monsters you can't really go wrong here. The acting isn't bad, the characters likable, the effects and *amazing*, and there's enough plot to keep things going but not enough to get in the way of what you went to see: robots beating up on monsters. I was actually really impressed with the characters and plot, initially worried there would be too much of them and I wouldn't see enough action. The science in this world mostly makes some sense and technical plot holes are few(once you accept the general setup). If you're a fan of mecha themed anime, grew up with Ultraman, or play video games that are action packed then you'll like this movie. Expand
  93. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I was thinking about what conditional promise to make for this review on the way home from Pacific Rim tonight. "If you love Transformers, you'll love Pacific Rim!" or "If you love Godzilla/Guillermo del Toro/action movies-- you'll love Pacific Rim!" These scratch the surface, however. I can promise you: if you love *movies,* you will *love* Pacific Rim. This movie is the definition of fun, entertainment-- it reset my mind. Like us all, I've got life that I like to escape from, and I've found that movies granting me that escape have been becoming increasingly rare. This is a work of movie-art, a labour of love, and it's obvious the people behind it *threw* themselves into it. Go. See. Pacific. Rim. This gets a well-earned ten. Expand
  94. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best movie of the summer! Plain and simple fun. good old fashion Rock um Sock um action movie. I will go see it again. If you want to have fun watching a great fight movie just like those good old GODZILLA movies, this is the movie for you but with better Graphs.
  95. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    The movie's special effects ALONE are worth the money. Then you got the great story, the mysteries about the monsters and you always feel like O.O THESE GUYS GONNA DAI! And half the time they do... Oh also there's Hellboy.

    Although the movie was great in terms of story AND special effects, the humor is just not satisfying enough, and you never really care for the characters other than
    the main ones.

    So for that, this GREAT movie gets an 8.1
    Expand
  96. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I felt like I was watching a modern version of a classic Toho film. It took me back, like when the food critic bites into the ratatouille in the movie Ratatouille.
  97. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Pacific Rim is what action based movies should be. It delivers it's plot early on and gives you an idea of how grim the situation is, but it fortunately doesn't linger on the base exposition long enough to bore you to tears. The action scenes are exceptionally well made and really reflect the realism (what realism there can be with giant robots fighting monsters) of how a battle like this would happen. All the actors play their characters fantastically, helping to really deliver the experience, such as Raleigh Becket's washed up pilot character type. Overall the soundtrack had me shivering in my seat with excitement as the first track accompanied the pilots suiting up to pilot their Jaeger, and it kept me intensified during each Kaiju battle that came on screen. While the overall plot did have many cliches in it, they were delivered in the proper way as to improve the story. I highly recommend that anyone see this movie at least once, as I've already seen it twice in IMAX. Expand
  98. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    I wasn't expecting much from this film which I went to see in the holidays with my boy. That said we were both pleasantly surprised. It had a plot... It had a coherent thread running through the story as to where and why the kaiju came from... It was well acted... The special effects were second to none... It was thoroughly entertaining, enjoyable and satisfying. The quintessential blockbuster monster pic. Oh, and we both agreed Mako was extremely cute Expand
  99. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Despite the plot being extremely predictable, you can't help but feel electrified walking out of the theater after seeing giant otherworldly sea monsters duke it out with man-made robotic giants.
  100. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    You can see a lot of different movies or series here. You can see the old japanese metal warrior (Changemen, Flashman, Jaspion, Ultraman), Transformers, the anime Evangelion and even Lord Of The Rings (The "You canot pass" scene). But you canor see anything new. Tre script is shallow: Giant Robots have to destroy Giant Monsters, but there is a complication, not too complicate.
    The movie
    tries to be an action movie, emotional, dramatic and more... fails in everything. And it"s too long. Seriously, it is a crap full of especial efects. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The Kaijus make zombies look like wusses, so at least the fights in this film are battles royal. But overload sets in early, and it all turns into battle boring.
  3. 50
    Pacific Rim made me marvel at the technology of movies, but never the magic of them.