Pacific Rim

Pacific Rim Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1504 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: When monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlledWhen monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes-a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi)-who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind's last hope against the mounting apocalypse. [Warner Bros.] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    If I were nine years old, I would see the monsters-versus-robots adventure Pacific Rim 50 times. Because I'm in my forties and have two kids and two jobs, I'll have to be content with seeing it a couple more times in theaters and re-watching it on video.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 10, 2013
    88
    Pacific Rim is, hands down, the blockbuster event of the summer — a titanic sci-fi action fantasy that has been invested, against all expectations, with a heart, a brain, and something approximating a soul.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    Of all this year’s loud, over-long summer action movies that, in various ways, simulate the experience of having a tin bucket placed over your head and being struck repeatedly with a stick, it must be said that Guillermo del Toro’s Pacific Rim is by far the most entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 10, 2013
    67
    There’s no denying Pacific Rim is the best film of its kind. It remains to be seen whether the film’s epic clawing and clanking satisfies a pent-up demand equal to its ambitions.
  5. 63
    Del Toro’s robots have weight and mass, and their epic, Hong Kong-smashing fights with the four and six-legged, clawed and horned monsters are visually coherent, unlike the messy blur of the “Transformers” movies. There’s a light, humorous feel to “Pacific Rim” because the science is silly and logic takes a flying leap.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    Laudable as its world-building is, the film drags not just in its interminable middle hour, but also during the redundant monster-on-mechawarrior smackdowns.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 387
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came together as a kind of celebration of the value science and technology when coupled with human courage, ingenuity, innovation, self-sacrifice, individualism (when appropriate), and cooperation (when appropriate).

    It's the many minor messages within the movie that made it stand out from mindless summer action movie fare (which are fine, on occasion).

    First, what I like the most: I liked abiding theme of science and technology being tools for human salvation. There are literally no scenes without some object of human ingenuity in view. The giant robots are man-machine saviours that aid humanity in fighting against grotesque organic monsters.

    (As an aside: I like nature. I was raised in a rural area, and I enjoyed camping. But make no mistake, nature can be brutal, and it is only human scientific, technological, social, and other developments that can keep the monster at bay. If you doubt me, try surviving alone and without man-made equipment for a week in virtually any natural environment. You may not be dead, but you'll almost wish you were. Where I live (just outside a city of 1 million), you’d be dead in less than 5 hours without winter clothing, six months a year. Nature can be subservient to us, but it must never again be our master. Precambrian humans had an average life expectancy of 31 years. Also, like the monsters in this movie, any number larger wild animals would kill a human without a second thought. A bear will rip a child to shreds. Wolves (prior to their gradual domestication by killing the more violent ones over the centuries), were a particularly large threat in Europe. An elephant will gore a grown man. And so on. **It is solely our scientific, technological, and social advancements made possible by an appropriate mix of individual initiative and group cooperation that keep the nightmare at bay.** The movie Pacific Rim acknowledges this. Unlike the technological luddism of, for example, the Terminator movies or Avatar [which both partially denigrate technology and science], this movie celebrates human achievement and progress. And movies could use more of that.)

    I liked that movie (unlike almost all American blockbusters) takes place in several locations, none of which are large American cities. The United States comprises about 5% of the global population, and it’s nice to see that represented in an American blockbuster. And how many times do you really want to see New York destroyed, for instance?

    I appreciated the message that both cooperation and individual initiative are prudent and necessary. The fight against (for instance, there are several instances of insubordination and deviations from military procedure, but they mostly involve serving the greater good).

    I liked the love story component. The lead man was not a handsome male Brad Pitt lookalike, and the female love interest was not the typical American supermodel of action flicks. Rather, she was an English-speaking Chinese national who models the very best traits of many females from that culture. She is polite and respectful, yet stands up for her beliefs non-confrontationally, and she is obviously intelligent. She is "equal but different" from the main male protagonist.

    I appreciated the cursory mention of the cause for the alien invasion: global environmental degradation, the (spoiler) reason for the alien invasion.

    Although there is much "apocalyptic porn" (hey, I like it too), the body count is actually quite low. While we see entire skyscrapers destroyed, because civilians are evacuated in shelters, the number of civilian casualties is less than 100. (Contrast that with "Man of Steel", which had a casualty count of six or seven figures).

    It was nice to see scientists portrayed are heroes. The two scientist characters literally risk their lives to test a theory and gain evidence that is crucial to a positive outcome. This world needs more scientists and technologists. Even the characters' stereotypical eccentricity is endearing: they have their foibles, but they are each aware of it. Sometimes, human foibles are unavoidable, and condemning people for (relatively) harmless quirks that they cannot change serves no purpose.

    I did like that movie avoids many Hollywood clichés (for the above reasons).

    If I had one complaint, it's that the movie is too short. It's 2 hours and 10 minutes. However, there is less action than I would have liked. It's not that there is too much "non-action" content. It's just that another 30 minutes or so of giant robot battles would have been swell.

    In short: see it.
    Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Comparing Transformers, I Robot, RoboCop (and all the movies of robots) this leaves them as the worst. Guillermo del Toro treats us to aComparing Transformers, I Robot, RoboCop (and all the movies of robots) this leaves them as the worst. Guillermo del Toro treats us to a spectacular show of special effects and action-filled moments of tension and adrenaline. The plot is very smart and keeps you tied to the seat. The performances are not like Daniel Day Lewis, Christoph Waltz, Brad Pitt and all of them, but there are good and which emphasize. The outcome and the course are sublime. Here we have another light in the dark moment is going Hollywood with a fresh idea. If not I at least nominated for an Oscar I'll descepiconar and I think I am not alone. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    An insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes thatAn insanely fun and imaginative movie. It has its aspects of action, drama, comedy and much more. There are so many great fight scenes that you wish you could watch over and over again. The Jaegers and the Kaiju are menacing but at the same time fun to look at. While it does have minor flaws, the movie not only focuses on robots and aliens blowing the crap out of each other but focuses on intriguing story details as well. A must watch, definitely not a movie you wanna miss. 9/10. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. ItSurprisingly nowhere near as cheesy as the trailers made it look. It's an action packed spectacle that makes for one heck of a good watch. It clearly takes inspiration from the Saturday morning TV shows of old like the Power Rangers. Watching people in giant metal suits fighting giant monsters is a heck of a lot of fun. The movie even throws some goofy, comedic style moments to show you how self-aware it is. Overall though it does manage to (thankfully) stay serious. I really enjoyed the film and it is one that I would recommend to others. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    When monsters come out from the deep and starts to destroy everything at sight,when must create monsters ourselves... as simple as that'sWhen monsters come out from the deep and starts to destroy everything at sight,when must create monsters ourselves... as simple as that's sounds, The movie is very entertaining, a joy to watch and one of Guillermo del Toro's finest works.And here's how:

    First of all, let's talk about the fights between the kaiju(Japanese for strange monster) and the Jaegars,the giant robots and humanity's best weapons against this threat.it's brilliant, the effects are brilliant and the movements of the robots are brilliant, since you won't expect the machines to move at a fast pace,.it is also reinforce by an impressive score too and the right sound effects. I appreciate that you can see what's going on in the scenes and they are well executed.This is one of the main reason that you should see this film.Period.

    and then the visual design,And oh man, how I loved the uniqueness of every monster and machine. it scales to the older, more bulky models to the more sleek, agile and let's say,a more modernized style of architecture.I have to admit, each has a distinctive style of fighting, one with brute force, and the other with specialized in close-quarter combat via melee weapons. and the monsters are unique too,each having a different style and design with them with one with the ability to fly, one that has a knife for a head(which reminds me of an episode in Dexter's lab with a monster with the axe head).

    The story is simple and straightforward, two brothers, Raleigh (played by Charlie Hunnam) and Yancy Becket, who is played by Diego Klattenhoff, set out on a mission to take down their latest kaiju by the orders of Comandder Stacker Pentecost (Idris Elba). Unfortunately,it overpowers the duo and one of has their life taken by the Kaiju.this leads to one of the brothers to work in making a wall, that replaces the jaegars since the jaegars are no longer effective.Then Pentecost finds Raleigh and convince him to return to the battlefield. where they head to Hong Kong, meeting with the Comannder's brightest pupil Mako Mori played by Rinko Kikuchi. I refuse to spoil the rest of the story, but it's basically that machines are set to eliminate the threat once and for all.What I liked about he story is the mythos, a pilot must have a co- pilot, otherwise the person will die due to incompatibility with the jaegar so two are used to control each side of the brain.And also, when a new kaiju arrives, they evolve, which is the sole reason how the main character loses his brother and the changes in terms of strategy.it's a love it or hate it factor and for the record, I like it,

    and it's reinforced by the acting and the writing,sure it's not all impressive but Elba's performance is the highlight, it's like he's born as a commander, you will always have your attention to him.The main characters of Charlie and Rinko are above average, but the chemestry between the duo feels right. But then again, it's not bad, but it's really good overall. the script is realistic (other than the stereotypes) and and surprising as well for example, then Pentecost is confronted by Raleigh, and the two points are repeated,i did not expect to hear that and was a surprise as well.Also the way the movie is played out is like a high octane anime.

    But what i didn't like was the stereotypes,we have a scientist that is so obviously unrealistic and very campy,that i feel that it was like a cartoon.no offense but i'd think that the scientist should me more calm and less well... paranoid and the other one is that hotshot Australian.
    , why does act like a total douche and a freaking whiner that Becket is around? i feel that he should show at least some respect towards the veteran rather to act as a douche overall at the early parts.also, i was disappointed that the other jaegars didn't have a longer screen time, and if there was a prequel,i would like how Pentecost was back then.

    In conclusion, the movie is by no means a very sophisticated or spectacular story wise, but if you seek a satisfying movie flick,ignoring any other details, this is a must see. I like how the movie didn't bother to be like a Hollywood blockbuster with the annoying cliches surrounding it, but it took a concept that is loved in japan (The kaiju movie genre and inspiration from many anime shows) and also filling out any plotholes, so simply all questions are answered.
    Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    6 of 10 from my point of view. This movie reminds me old Japaneese films of Godzilla, I liked them back in 90th. Plot is quite simple and6 of 10 from my point of view. This movie reminds me old Japaneese films of Godzilla, I liked them back in 90th. Plot is quite simple and overused alien invasion, even from the ocean, its ok. But special effects makes me sad 90% of fights are blured to heavy fog, you almost cant see anything through smoke and darkness. Also this movie is lacking details and actions. Just try to compare recent Man of Steel and Pacific Rim. But 3D effects are very nice, I almost felt snow falling on my head, plus one point for that. So total result is 7 from 10, worth watching one time I guess. Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    0
    This movie was utter **** with laughable acting, poor writing, and tropes galore that don't even give the viewer any sense of charm.This movie was utter **** with laughable acting, poor writing, and tropes galore that don't even give the viewer any sense of charm. Everything in this movie was poorly executed, and everybody knows it. The only reason the user score is up is due to it being a monster movie. If you want to see a good giant monster film, go see the 2014 western adaptation of Godzilla. Expand

See all 387 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 28, 2013
    Watch new trailers for "Escape Plan," "Pacific Rim," "The Counselor," "Prisoners," and more, get the first look at Lars von Trier's "Nymphomaniac," and browse a recap of this week's movie news.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 17, 2013
    This week, watch new trailers for "Pacific Rim," "Fruitvale Station," "Riddick," "Berberian Sound Studio," and more, and catch up on the latest film news, including reports about a major new project for Christopher Nolan.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: December 14, 2012
    In our final Film Friday column of 2012, watch new trailers for "Pacific Rim," "Man of Steel, "Oblivion," "After Earth," and more upcoming films, and get a quick recap of all the week's film news.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.