Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: When monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlledWhen monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes-a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi)-who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind's last hope against the mounting apocalypse. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    If I were nine years old, I would see the monsters-versus-robots adventure Pacific Rim 50 times. Because I'm in my forties and have two kids and two jobs, I'll have to be content with seeing it a couple more times in theaters and re-watching it on video.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 10, 2013
    88
    Pacific Rim is, hands down, the blockbuster event of the summer — a titanic sci-fi action fantasy that has been invested, against all expectations, with a heart, a brain, and something approximating a soul.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    Of all this year’s loud, over-long summer action movies that, in various ways, simulate the experience of having a tin bucket placed over your head and being struck repeatedly with a stick, it must be said that Guillermo del Toro’s Pacific Rim is by far the most entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 10, 2013
    67
    There’s no denying Pacific Rim is the best film of its kind. It remains to be seen whether the film’s epic clawing and clanking satisfies a pent-up demand equal to its ambitions.
  5. 63
    Del Toro’s robots have weight and mass, and their epic, Hong Kong-smashing fights with the four and six-legged, clawed and horned monsters are visually coherent, unlike the messy blur of the “Transformers” movies. There’s a light, humorous feel to “Pacific Rim” because the science is silly and logic takes a flying leap.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    Laudable as its world-building is, the film drags not just in its interminable middle hour, but also during the redundant monster-on-mechawarrior smackdowns.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 371
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came together as a kind of celebration of the value science and technology when coupled with human courage, ingenuity, innovation, self-sacrifice, individualism (when appropriate), and cooperation (when appropriate).

    It's the many minor messages within the movie that made it stand out from mindless summer action movie fare (which are fine, on occasion).

    First, what I like the most: I liked abiding theme of science and technology being tools for human salvation. There are literally no scenes without some object of human ingenuity in view. The giant robots are man-machine saviours that aid humanity in fighting against grotesque organic monsters.

    (As an aside: I like nature. I was raised in a rural area, and I enjoyed camping. But make no mistake, nature can be brutal, and it is only human scientific, technological, social, and other developments that can keep the monster at bay. If you doubt me, try surviving alone and without man-made equipment for a week in virtually any natural environment. You may not be dead, but you'll almost wish you were. Where I live (just outside a city of 1 million), you’d be dead in less than 5 hours without winter clothing, six months a year. Nature can be subservient to us, but it must never again be our master. Precambrian humans had an average life expectancy of 31 years. Also, like the monsters in this movie, any number larger wild animals would kill a human without a second thought. A bear will rip a child to shreds. Wolves (prior to their gradual domestication by killing the more violent ones over the centuries), were a particularly large threat in Europe. An elephant will gore a grown man. And so on. **It is solely our scientific, technological, and social advancements made possible by an appropriate mix of individual initiative and group cooperation that keep the nightmare at bay.** The movie Pacific Rim acknowledges this. Unlike the technological luddism of, for example, the Terminator movies or Avatar [which both partially denigrate technology and science], this movie celebrates human achievement and progress. And movies could use more of that.)

    I liked that movie (unlike almost all American blockbusters) takes place in several locations, none of which are large American cities. The United States comprises about 5% of the global population, and it’s nice to see that represented in an American blockbuster. And how many times do you really want to see New York destroyed, for instance?

    I appreciated the message that both cooperation and individual initiative are prudent and necessary. The fight against (for instance, there are several instances of insubordination and deviations from military procedure, but they mostly involve serving the greater good).

    I liked the love story component. The lead man was not a handsome male Brad Pitt lookalike, and the female love interest was not the typical American supermodel of action flicks. Rather, she was an English-speaking Chinese national who models the very best traits of many females from that culture. She is polite and respectful, yet stands up for her beliefs non-confrontationally, and she is obviously intelligent. She is "equal but different" from the main male protagonist.

    I appreciated the cursory mention of the cause for the alien invasion: global environmental degradation, the (spoiler) reason for the alien invasion.

    Although there is much "apocalyptic porn" (hey, I like it too), the body count is actually quite low. While we see entire skyscrapers destroyed, because civilians are evacuated in shelters, the number of civilian casualties is less than 100. (Contrast that with "Man of Steel", which had a casualty count of six or seven figures).

    It was nice to see scientists portrayed are heroes. The two scientist characters literally risk their lives to test a theory and gain evidence that is crucial to a positive outcome. This world needs more scientists and technologists. Even the characters' stereotypical eccentricity is endearing: they have their foibles, but they are each aware of it. Sometimes, human foibles are unavoidable, and condemning people for (relatively) harmless quirks that they cannot change serves no purpose.

    I did like that movie avoids many Hollywood clichés (for the above reasons).

    If I had one complaint, it's that the movie is too short. It's 2 hours and 10 minutes. However, there is less action than I would have liked. It's not that there is too much "non-action" content. It's just that another 30 minutes or so of giant robot battles would have been swell.

    In short: see it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I'm not gonna go out and say that Pacific Rim was one of the best movies of all time, but it's definitely one of the boldest. Adopting a lotI'm not gonna go out and say that Pacific Rim was one of the best movies of all time, but it's definitely one of the boldest. Adopting a lot of elements from both anime and the Kaiju and mecha genres, Pacific Rim clearly knows its roots and pays homages to its roots and looks great doing it. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, butThis movie was fantastic. I'd give this a better rating than any other movie this summer. Iron Man 3, Man of Steel, those were decent, but this movie, not once did it break my attention for dragging on or being uninteresting. Sure there are times when you think it's unrealistic for other universes and a tanker ship to be used as a sword and not fall apart. But it's a FUN awesome movie where you stop caring and are along for the ride. It reminded me of Transformers, meets Never Back Down, meets Cloverfield. It was an absolute thrill to watch and I can't wait to go see it again. By the way... this is some of the best 3D I've seen (especially since it was post converted). If you get the chance, go see it! Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Two hours of awesome! There's always room for more about the Jaegers and their crews, but the movie delivers what you'd expect it to: giantTwo hours of awesome! There's always room for more about the Jaegers and their crews, but the movie delivers what you'd expect it to: giant machines fighting huge monsters. [proper review coming later] Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    As far as movie quality, I thought it was cheesy. If I was 10 years old again I would have thought it was the greatest movie of all time.As far as movie quality, I thought it was cheesy. If I was 10 years old again I would have thought it was the greatest movie of all time. Robots and aliens- who couldn't love it. This movie was such a visual treat, I had to rate it a 7. The acting was cheesy, and the gags were a little cliché, but it was definitely the summer blockbuster that 'The Avengers' was. 7/10! Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    For more info, visit B-TEN.com

    Bullogna Score: 7.0/10! Very good. Personal Score: 9.0/10 Based on the hype the Godzilla-esque
    For more info, visit B-TEN.com

    Bullogna Score: 7.0/10! Very good.
    Personal Score: 9.0/10

    Based on the hype the Godzilla-esque science-fiction Guillermo Del Toro film received, I had expectations for Pacific Rim. Honestly, I’m not sure whether they were good or bad expectations, but I expected this film to be significant compared to the recently lackluster Hollywood releases found throughout the Summer. Optimistically, I entered the theater with an open-mind, which is always a rewarding experience. When standards are set high, a moviegoer is likely to be disappointed, but in the case of Pacific Rim, I was far from it.

    The movie begins with an appetite for disaster. It immediately immerses you in this beautiful CGI world in which Earth is being attacked by an “alien” race called the Kaiju which actually derived from none other than our planet’s own Pacific waters. Then the movie prematurely establishes its largest flaw: the human characters. Raleigh and Yancy Becket are two over-confident ‘dude-bros’ piloting an older Jaegar (a gigantic humanoid mecha which requires two human controllers to mend in spirit in order for the bots to properly function) who provide awful first impressions for the films’ viewers, but perhaps this was a move made intentionally by Del Toro.

    As the film progresses, especially after the death of the irritating Yancy Becket, it gets better. Raleigh, however, is now alone and in desperate need of a new co-pilot, which in turn becomes the much more suitable Mako Mori who is forced to fight the terror of her near-death experience as a child during the mending process, but expectedly arrives at a more confident state, allowing for much more fluid Jaegar maneuvering.

    In an interesting side-story featuring Charlie Day as Dr. Newton Geiszler, a scientist who attempts to control the minds of Kaiju as pilots have done with the Jaegar, and nearly dies in the attempt. Day adds plenty of excitement and mild humor to an otherwise serious tale, and ultimately serves as a similar character to his role in It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, failing to truly fit the context of Pacific Rim. After nearly dying in an attempt to control a Kaiju brain, Geiszler, tends to the matter once again, in need of a second brain to experiment on. He then contact Hannibal Chau, a black marketer who makes a living selling Kaiju organs.

    The movie ends predictably with many giant Kaiju defeated and all the important cast still living, including Hannibal Chau, who was eaten by a Kaiju but who reappears after the end credits with an unexpected one-liner. Overall, the film is best seen on a much larger scale such as IMAX or RPX, but at the very least seen in stereoscopic 3D. Pacific Rim will probably go down as the best 3D film of the year, with the added dimension complementing the larger-than-life combat between Kaiju and Jaegar, and that alone is worth the $10 or so admission fee. It’s a fun action movie with a lacking storyline, but a proficient CG design that will leave you breathless with its flawless homage to Japanese pop culture.
    Expand
  7. qev
    Aug 17, 2014
    0
    i gave it a second chance, having read many reviews, thinking wait a minute qev, did you see the right movie? it was after all a torrentedi gave it a second chance, having read many reviews, thinking wait a minute qev, did you see the right movie? it was after all a torrented version (from an undisclosed source, not me, that is right out and i deny that!) cos you never know etc, and low and behold, no, it was the same rubbish i saw the first time, only THIS time i wanted to shout "Why doesn't somebody fire the BIG WEAPONS at the awful Godzillaesque loping toy mock-ups FIRST THING when they're still out of 'about to destroy you for certain' range? and then i thought, wait a second, it's a comedy! hooray! but then, wait a third, no, no it's not! final verdict? atrocious Expand

See all 371 User Reviews

Trailers