Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: When monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity's resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes-a washed up former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi)-who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind's last hope against the mounting apocalypse. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    If I were nine years old, I would see the monsters-versus-robots adventure Pacific Rim 50 times. Because I'm in my forties and have two kids and two jobs, I'll have to be content with seeing it a couple more times in theaters and re-watching it on video.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 10, 2013
    88
    Pacific Rim is, hands down, the blockbuster event of the summer — a titanic sci-fi action fantasy that has been invested, against all expectations, with a heart, a brain, and something approximating a soul.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    Of all this year’s loud, over-long summer action movies that, in various ways, simulate the experience of having a tin bucket placed over your head and being struck repeatedly with a stick, it must be said that Guillermo del Toro’s Pacific Rim is by far the most entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 10, 2013
    67
    There’s no denying Pacific Rim is the best film of its kind. It remains to be seen whether the film’s epic clawing and clanking satisfies a pent-up demand equal to its ambitions.
  5. 63
    Del Toro’s robots have weight and mass, and their epic, Hong Kong-smashing fights with the four and six-legged, clawed and horned monsters are visually coherent, unlike the messy blur of the “Transformers” movies. There’s a light, humorous feel to “Pacific Rim” because the science is silly and logic takes a flying leap.
  6. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 15, 2013
    50
    It is possible to applaud Pacific Rim for the efficacy of its business model while deploring the tale that has been engendered — long, loud, dark, and very wet. You might as well watch the birth of an elephant.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    Laudable as its world-building is, the film drags not just in its interminable middle hour, but also during the redundant monster-on-mechawarrior smackdowns.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 361
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: I loved this movie. I watched it twice, back-to-back, in 3D.

    I loved the action and the spectacle. The battles, despite the one
    absurdity of giant robots fighting alien invaders had sense of realism that was rather unnerving. Everything but that (minor detail) was eerily plausible. I also liked the other messages found throughout. Mostly, though, I loved how it all came together as a kind of celebration of the value science and technology when coupled with human courage, ingenuity, innovation, self-sacrifice, individualism (when appropriate), and cooperation (when appropriate).

    It's the many minor messages within the movie that made it stand out from mindless summer action movie fare (which are fine, on occasion).

    First, what I like the most: I liked abiding theme of science and technology being tools for human salvation. There are literally no scenes without some object of human ingenuity in view. The giant robots are man-machine saviours that aid humanity in fighting against grotesque organic monsters.

    (As an aside: I like nature. I was raised in a rural area, and I enjoyed camping. But make no mistake, nature can be brutal, and it is only human scientific, technological, social, and other developments that can keep the monster at bay. If you doubt me, try surviving alone and without man-made equipment for a week in virtually any natural environment. You may not be dead, but you'll almost wish you were. Where I live (just outside a city of 1 million), you’d be dead in less than 5 hours without winter clothing, six months a year. Nature can be subservient to us, but it must never again be our master. Precambrian humans had an average life expectancy of 31 years. Also, like the monsters in this movie, any number larger wild animals would kill a human without a second thought. A bear will rip a child to shreds. Wolves (prior to their gradual domestication by killing the more violent ones over the centuries), were a particularly large threat in Europe. An elephant will gore a grown man. And so on. **It is solely our scientific, technological, and social advancements made possible by an appropriate mix of individual initiative and group cooperation that keep the nightmare at bay.** The movie Pacific Rim acknowledges this. Unlike the technological luddism of, for example, the Terminator movies or Avatar [which both partially denigrate technology and science], this movie celebrates human achievement and progress. And movies could use more of that.)

    I liked that movie (unlike almost all American blockbusters) takes place in several locations, none of which are large American cities. The United States comprises about 5% of the global population, and it’s nice to see that represented in an American blockbuster. And how many times do you really want to see New York destroyed, for instance?

    I appreciated the message that both cooperation and individual initiative are prudent and necessary. The fight against (for instance, there are several instances of insubordination and deviations from military procedure, but they mostly involve serving the greater good).

    I liked the love story component. The lead man was not a handsome male Brad Pitt lookalike, and the female love interest was not the typical American supermodel of action flicks. Rather, she was an English-speaking Chinese national who models the very best traits of many females from that culture. She is polite and respectful, yet stands up for her beliefs non-confrontationally, and she is obviously intelligent. She is "equal but different" from the main male protagonist.

    I appreciated the cursory mention of the cause for the alien invasion: global environmental degradation, the (spoiler) reason for the alien invasion.

    Although there is much "apocalyptic porn" (hey, I like it too), the body count is actually quite low. While we see entire skyscrapers destroyed, because civilians are evacuated in shelters, the number of civilian casualties is less than 100. (Contrast that with "Man of Steel", which had a casualty count of six or seven figures).

    It was nice to see scientists portrayed are heroes. The two scientist characters literally risk their lives to test a theory and gain evidence that is crucial to a positive outcome. This world needs more scientists and technologists. Even the characters' stereotypical eccentricity is endearing: they have their foibles, but they are each aware of it. Sometimes, human foibles are unavoidable, and condemning people for (relatively) harmless quirks that they cannot change serves no purpose.

    I did like that movie avoids many Hollywood clichés (for the above reasons).

    If I had one complaint, it's that the movie is too short. It's 2 hours and 10 minutes. However, there is less action than I would have liked. It's not that there is too much "non-action" content. It's just that another 30 minutes or so of giant robot battles would have been swell.

    In short: see it.
    Expand
  2. May 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is one of a kind for me, it surprised me beyond belief. Upon going to see it with my brother, i initially agreed to tagging along just to be nice and was planning on falling asleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. It has been the only film i have ever wanted to watch a second time, immediately after watching it the first time.

    Critics and viewers may complain about the hilarious technological change, and how we couldn't possibly build moving robots as big as Jaegers., but who cares? The last thing I'm thinking about is how scientifically accurate the movie is. No it's not possible to build them but I for one have an imagination. There could never be an Island we don't know about with dinosaurs or ginormous gorillas on them, and we don't question them so why question these Jaegers of Kaijus?

    The action and special affects we're outstanding and it had a top notch storyline that was original and interesting. I enjoyed the relationship build between all the characters and i found every second of it enjoyable. I would recommend not missing this film to anybody.
    Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A good, fun, visual feast; a concept we haven't seen in a long while on the big screen. Incredible movie all in all, one of the best movies so far this summer. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    E o típico filme com otimos efeitos especias, mais com uma história horrivel.
    Alem do mais robos gigantes que lutam na cidade ja não e
    novidade, mais acho que Pacific Rim e um grande concorrente da Franquia Transformer. Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    While a very entertaining flick which delivered exactly on its premise, the movie was a bit disappointing. Maybe it was because of high expectations from Del Toro, but the film felt overall quite flat.
    It had a very interesting premise and something new and creative to add to the monster movie genre (specifically, the effect constant kaiju attacks would have on our society), it nevertheless never got too deep. The characters all had some interesting moments but never managed to get really deep. This lackluster characterization, coupled with some plot holes, made the movie feel very two dimensional.
    I noticed this immediately after leaving the theatre, because I tried to strike up a conversation with my friends about what we thought of the movie. It ended up being a very short conversation about how the movie was pretty okay.
    The movie is very enjoyable and delivers on the giant robots being heroes theme. My advice watching the movie is to not expect not much else from it. I do hope that when the sequel comes out, that Del Toro will be willing to incorporate more interesting concepts and more in-depth character development.
    Because I think that this particular kind of movie can hold a lot of potential.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    Pacific Rim has a lot of what I want in a movie. Epic Fights, Giant Mechs, and Giant Godzilla-like monsters wrecking havoc in cities nearby Marianas trench. This movie has really nice effects and fights that look good to the eyes and really remind me of Transformers too. The downside to this movie is almost every character in this movie is a walking cliche and the plot really drops the ball in explaining the Kaiju's purpose for coming to Earth and the UN makes some pretty stupid decisions along the way. Overall I feel that this movie is a nice refresher to see a concept that for some reason isn't really used at all in movies outside the Japanese scene but I would love to see more of Pacific Rim! Expand
  7. qev
    Aug 17, 2014
    0
    i gave it a second chance, having read many reviews, thinking wait a minute qev, did you see the right movie? it was after all a torrented version (from an undisclosed source, not me, that is right out and i deny that!) cos you never know etc, and low and behold, no, it was the same rubbish i saw the first time, only THIS time i wanted to shout "Why doesn't somebody fire the BIG WEAPONS at the awful Godzillaesque loping toy mock-ups FIRST THING when they're still out of 'about to destroy you for certain' range? and then i thought, wait a second, it's a comedy! hooray! but then, wait a third, no, no it's not! final verdict? atrocious Expand

See all 361 User Reviews

Trailers