Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: David Parkinson
    Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Ironically, it lacks journalistic rigour but it's a fond, nostalgic look at the gilded history of the Grey Lady.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    60
    As an avid media watcher, I didn't come away from this with any new insights, but the movie is a pretty good snapshot of the daily newspaper business in transition and turmoil.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 30, 2011
    60
    The film is interesting and at times enlightening, but it's all over the map.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 14, 2011
    60
    The falsely euphoric close is a big misstep - Pulitzers, it would seem, are the ultimate Band-Aid. What was that old adage about printing the legend?
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 17, 2011
    50
    The film spends too much time wringing its hands over the all-too-evident fact that journalism is in crisis, when it could be documenting that crisis from the inside.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    An intriguing documentary on an incredibly timely topic, however its depressive nature combined with a lack of solutions presented make thisAn intriguing documentary on an incredibly timely topic, however its depressive nature combined with a lack of solutions presented make this little more than a revelation of something most already know. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    We enjoyed this insight into print journalism although we though it did not go into great depth. We had seen David Carr on Real Time with BillWe enjoyed this insight into print journalism although we though it did not go into great depth. We had seen David Carr on Real Time with Bill Maher the week before which made us interested in the film. The film did not not toot the NY Times horn to much excess and gave us some insight into how a paper operates in today's recessionary world. Beat going to see "Transformers". Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    A good, exciting movie which could have gone further. Not a hint about the alleged ideological bias which many believe is on display in theA good, exciting movie which could have gone further. Not a hint about the alleged ideological bias which many believe is on display in the news section of the Gray Lady. It discussed Blair & Miller, but not quite enough about how the top level editors decide what makes A1. But I enjoyed it despite these issues. Full Review »