Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A trio of bodybuilders in 1990s Miami get caught up in a kidnapping and extortion scheme that goes terribly wrong.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 25, 2013
    88
    A dizzying lowlife saga that’s fast, smart, wicked, sort of ambitious and blazingly ironic. It’s as unpredictable as a Lindsay Lohan drive to the grocery store, as overstuffed as the pictures on Anthony Weiner’s Twitter feed and as hilarious as me on the bench press.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Apr 24, 2013
    75
    With Pain & Gain, his surprising true-crime comedy, Bay has finally decided to lighten up a bit.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 24, 2013
    63
    An outrageous based-on-real-life tale that's perfectly suited to director Michael Bay's insanely overblown stylistic and thematic temperament.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    There’s a certain kinetic charm to the first half of the movie, a freewheeling silliness to these outsized characters that makes you curious to see just how wrong things will go. But as the weightlifters’ plot spirals out of control, so does the movie’s.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    That sense of extreme, excess, over-the-top everything is there from start to finish. And isn't that what Bay fans count on even at cut-rate prices?
  6. Reviewed by: Ciara LaVelle
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    When the story runs off the rails and crashes headfirst into a too-perfect ending, it's because Bay was led astray by the same things that got the Sun Gym Gang into this mess in the first place: superficiality, ambition, and the belief that reality just isn't good enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Michael Bay's absurdist comedy is all pain, no gain and an utter monstrosity. It may be the most unpleasant movie I've ever seen, and I'm not forgetting "Freaks," which Pain & Gain resembles, come to think of it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 62
  2. Negative: 10 out of 62
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    nuff said.................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    Pain and Gain is by far Michael Bay's best movie since The Rock. He directed a nearly perfect movie. The naysayers or this movie are probably still rapped up in the previous film by Michael Bay, Transformers 3. We can all agree that the third and hopefully final installment of the Transformers franchise was dissapointing. However, this is definitely a redemption, it was a perfect balance between funny and serious, with a little bit of action. This movie, in better terms, was a brilliant piece of art. Expand
  3. May 7, 2013
    9
    New film from the director of Transformer's films is well-told story based on real events. Film has very stupid protagonists, funny jokes and profound subtext (somewhere). "Pain & Gain" is not without flaws some inconsistencies in the story can spoil the viewing experience. But still, this is an interesting film that would have cost his view again. Expand
  4. May 18, 2013
    7
    Despite Michael Bay, I honestly enjoyed this movie. It kept me interested the whole length of the movie, with laughs and crazy scenes. Another reason I enjoyed it so much was the fact that if I hadn't seen this movie, I don't think I ever would have heard of these guys and the true story behind the madness. I think Bay did a pretty good job keeping with the story and Marky Mark was excellent. The Rock also really surprised me here, playing his role very well and hilariously. It's not a film to break any molds but it's a fun one to be sure. Much more entertaining than most of the garbage coming out today and a pleasant surprise. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    6
    Holy crap....The Rock can actually act?

    I will admit, I had low expectations coming into this, but I found myself laughing and genuinely
    enjoying every second. It was a bizarre, action packed, dark comedy that is definitely worth a watch. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    5
    Pain and Gain was a mediocre film that fell very short in many aspects it was not really a funny comedy as everyone said neither was it and action film I really cannot think what category Pain and Gain should be in but it definitely is not a comedy and by far not and action movie. Yes there was a few funny moments in the movie but unfortunately it was just not enough to make this a funny and hilarious comedy. The acting is what saved this movie from receiving a low score but it missed the plot of the genre and really cannot receive a high score either. Although it is based on a true story I believe it needed more time to perfect it Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    I really don't know where they were going with this movie. It was a terrible mixture of action, comedy, and drama that just did not work well together. The fact that the actors put far too much effort into their characters really ruined the like-ability of them. If Pain & Gain was intended to be a comedy then they really missed the mark on this one because it was not funny...at all. It was just really, really stupid, The kind of stupid where you laugh because you can not believe someone actually thought that was a good idea to put into a film. Not to mention the run time, 2 hours long, was absolutely brutal to sit through.

    Overall, Don't even bother. Pain & Gain is a confusing mess that seems to drag on and on with no end in sight.
    Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers