Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A trio of bodybuilders in 1990s Miami get caught up in a kidnapping and extortion scheme that goes terribly wrong.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 25, 2013
    88
    A dizzying lowlife saga that’s fast, smart, wicked, sort of ambitious and blazingly ironic. It’s as unpredictable as a Lindsay Lohan drive to the grocery store, as overstuffed as the pictures on Anthony Weiner’s Twitter feed and as hilarious as me on the bench press.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Apr 24, 2013
    75
    With Pain & Gain, his surprising true-crime comedy, Bay has finally decided to lighten up a bit.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 24, 2013
    63
    An outrageous based-on-real-life tale that's perfectly suited to director Michael Bay's insanely overblown stylistic and thematic temperament.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    There’s a certain kinetic charm to the first half of the movie, a freewheeling silliness to these outsized characters that makes you curious to see just how wrong things will go. But as the weightlifters’ plot spirals out of control, so does the movie’s.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    That sense of extreme, excess, over-the-top everything is there from start to finish. And isn't that what Bay fans count on even at cut-rate prices?
  6. Reviewed by: Ciara LaVelle
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    When the story runs off the rails and crashes headfirst into a too-perfect ending, it's because Bay was led astray by the same things that got the Sun Gym Gang into this mess in the first place: superficiality, ambition, and the belief that reality just isn't good enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Michael Bay's absurdist comedy is all pain, no gain and an utter monstrosity. It may be the most unpleasant movie I've ever seen, and I'm not forgetting "Freaks," which Pain & Gain resembles, come to think of it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 73
  2. Negative: 13 out of 73
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    nuffnuff said.................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    An action comedy about a few body builders, getting into a venture. Everybody acted well making it come to life - Tony Shalhoub from The Monk,An action comedy about a few body builders, getting into a venture. Everybody acted well making it come to life - Tony Shalhoub from The Monk, Mark Wahlberg from Italian Job, and especially The Rock who definitely takes the cake - because of his character, and because of portraying it so well!

    Apparently this is based on real life incidents which makes it even more hilarious. Watch it and you will definitely have more than a few laughs!
    Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Had to say i had great time with this movie! Watched it on projection in Belgrade... had quite a laugh.. can't believe it's true story.. butHad to say i had great time with this movie! Watched it on projection in Belgrade... had quite a laugh.. can't believe it's true story.. but people do crazy things.. Great cast crazy story... what else you need to watch a movie... Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Idiocy, and to a lesser extent, wonder. Truly that's what I took away with me. How there 3 criminals could be that confident and stupid madeIdiocy, and to a lesser extent, wonder. Truly that's what I took away with me. How there 3 criminals could be that confident and stupid made me wonder why they weren't caught sooner, people didn't suspect anything let alone how they performed it.

    Twice the audience is told this is a true story. It must be if were told twice because this surely could happen in the real world? But then you find out it was and I curiously looked it up after the movie to learn more. Wow.

    I'm not sure if it was intended but there is a message in this film: The American dream is not achievable for everyone, which means people will resort to any means to get it. Especially when you're a fitness freak with unlimited, zealous confidence and optimism. I left the cinema thinking all these positive messages out there are great but they too needs to be restrained. Otherwise we'd be like Daniel Lugo have an inflated sense of self worth, importance and direct all the energy into something wrong, stupid or bad. And that corrective thought is a good thing.

    It's a silly, funny, ridiculous ride with a serious ending to reaffirm that desires can make you do stupid things
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    6
    Pain and gain is one crazy mess.Not all bad, I did find some stuff pretty funny. It`s crazy, funny, strange, and dumb, all in one movie. IPain and gain is one crazy mess.Not all bad, I did find some stuff pretty funny. It`s crazy, funny, strange, and dumb, all in one movie. I find some of this stuff hard to believe that it could be a true Story. I mean if you pick out any of the ridiculous stuff that happen I can believe it, but all in one wow! The Rocks character lol How did this guy not die by age 15.This was definitely original for me. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    5
    Pain and Gain was a mediocre film that fell very short in many aspects it was not really a funny comedy as everyone said neither was it andPain and Gain was a mediocre film that fell very short in many aspects it was not really a funny comedy as everyone said neither was it and action film I really cannot think what category Pain and Gain should be in but it definitely is not a comedy and by far not and action movie. Yes there was a few funny moments in the movie but unfortunately it was just not enough to make this a funny and hilarious comedy. The acting is what saved this movie from receiving a low score but it missed the plot of the genre and really cannot receive a high score either. Although it is based on a true story I believe it needed more time to perfect it Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I went to the movies hoping to have a fun, casual experience with some friends. I really had no idea what this movie was about, other than itI went to the movies hoping to have a fun, casual experience with some friends. I really had no idea what this movie was about, other than it was a comedy about some body builders. I discovered pretty quickly that this movie was pure trash. The majority of the "humor" in the movie was made at the expense of Christians and Jesus Christ. I left shortly after the Jesus bashing commenced, thoroughly disgusted. It's pretty shameful what the world is coming to, and what is now considered humor.
    Anti-christian humor aside, the other aspects of the movie were mind numbingly dull and boring. Watching this movie was about the equivalent of having a lobotomy. You may, however, enjoy this movie if your IQ is in the single digits, or if you are incredibly high while viewing it.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers