Pain & Gain

Pain & Gain Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A trio of bodybuilders in 1990s Miami get caught up in a kidnapping and extortion scheme that goes terribly wrong.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 25, 2013
    88
    A dizzying lowlife saga that’s fast, smart, wicked, sort of ambitious and blazingly ironic. It’s as unpredictable as a Lindsay Lohan drive to the grocery store, as overstuffed as the pictures on Anthony Weiner’s Twitter feed and as hilarious as me on the bench press.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Apr 24, 2013
    75
    With Pain & Gain, his surprising true-crime comedy, Bay has finally decided to lighten up a bit.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 24, 2013
    63
    An outrageous based-on-real-life tale that's perfectly suited to director Michael Bay's insanely overblown stylistic and thematic temperament.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    There’s a certain kinetic charm to the first half of the movie, a freewheeling silliness to these outsized characters that makes you curious to see just how wrong things will go. But as the weightlifters’ plot spirals out of control, so does the movie’s.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 25, 2013
    50
    That sense of extreme, excess, over-the-top everything is there from start to finish. And isn't that what Bay fans count on even at cut-rate prices?
  6. Reviewed by: Ciara LaVelle
    Apr 23, 2013
    40
    When the story runs off the rails and crashes headfirst into a too-perfect ending, it's because Bay was led astray by the same things that got the Sun Gym Gang into this mess in the first place: superficiality, ambition, and the belief that reality just isn't good enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Michael Bay's absurdist comedy is all pain, no gain and an utter monstrosity. It may be the most unpleasant movie I've ever seen, and I'm not forgetting "Freaks," which Pain & Gain resembles, come to think of it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 73
  2. Negative: 12 out of 73
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    nuffnuff said.................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Pain & Gain is what it looks like when Michael Bay decides he wants to make a little movie, as opposed to another action epic. The directorPain & Gain is what it looks like when Michael Bay decides he wants to make a little movie, as opposed to another action epic. The director known for making bombastic action blockbusters has taken a step back to make a smaller film based on a true story, but it does not mean he put his signature style in check. Pain & Gain is very glossy film, gorgeous at times, and certainly not subtle. It is also an incredibly dark comedy, with a story so ridiculous that it has to be true, and it is. Based on a true crime story, this film does its best to depict what happens when seemingly good-natured crooks get in way over their heads and resort to drastic measures to achieve their American dream. While Bay's style can be grating for some, the mix of a strong cast and a messy, but compelling story makes this a film with a lot more going on than the standard Bay blockbuster. You want to be the same as they?
    www.pharmbalkan.com make the dream a reality!
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    after you watch A Micheal film you feel like crap and you hate it. I have BIG expectations when i see Micheal Bay's movies my expectations areafter you watch A Micheal film you feel like crap and you hate it. I have BIG expectations when i see Micheal Bay's movies my expectations are having no stereotypes also no more sexy girls , cut out the dumb humor But the humor was great in this movie; the fact that it is Based on the true story which well it does describe that the killer's were plan old dumb but they were smart at times This movie is not an " A + " performance by the actors and the film itself There was only one stereotype in this movie Micheal Bay's casting choices for Sexual girls now the strip club scene was awesome and sexy but Bar Paly can not act she had a terrible backround story of her life , she can not act she is not beautiful she's Micheal Bay's worst girl yet since megan fox since the Transformers. Bay you are a good director you returned to your genre fim since ' Bad Boys' and well you made a worst version there is no explosions which a cime genre like this should obviously have an explosion scene. Grade B Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Idiocy, and to a lesser extent, wonder. Truly that's what I took away with me. How there 3 criminals could be that confident and stupid madeIdiocy, and to a lesser extent, wonder. Truly that's what I took away with me. How there 3 criminals could be that confident and stupid made me wonder why they weren't caught sooner, people didn't suspect anything let alone how they performed it.

    Twice the audience is told this is a true story. It must be if were told twice because this surely could happen in the real world? But then you find out it was and I curiously looked it up after the movie to learn more. Wow.

    I'm not sure if it was intended but there is a message in this film: The American dream is not achievable for everyone, which means people will resort to any means to get it. Especially when you're a fitness freak with unlimited, zealous confidence and optimism. I left the cinema thinking all these positive messages out there are great but they too needs to be restrained. Otherwise we'd be like Daniel Lugo have an inflated sense of self worth, importance and direct all the energy into something wrong, stupid or bad. And that corrective thought is a good thing.

    It's a silly, funny, ridiculous ride with a serious ending to reaffirm that desires can make you do stupid things
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2014
    6
    Michael Bay makes good movies that's right. Me one I liked this movie. True, it's very crazy, but it makes one really nice. American Dream ...Michael Bay makes good movies that's right. Me one I liked this movie. True, it's very crazy, but it makes one really nice. American Dream ... Great action movie. Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    5
    Yah lets make a movie about true story of murders but let's put a comedy feel to it so we try to make root for the bad guys. The movie overallYah lets make a movie about true story of murders but let's put a comedy feel to it so we try to make root for the bad guys. The movie overall is entertaining but nothing special i wouldn't recommend that watch this expecting it to anything other then another Michael Bay movie. The editing is weird is it supposed to a comedy or is it a dark comedy either way Michael Bay can not due comedy simple as that. The film is so choppy and there is no one main character. Everyone has their own voice over about what's going on and so it just seems all over the place with no structure.

    The characters all were good Dwayne Johnson was my favorite though it was great seeing Tony Shalhoub in baller status. Ed Harris is a bad ass detective he has a minor role in the film but when he is on the screen it's great

    Overall i give it a 5.0 the trailers did makes this look good and i was hoping for a god Michael Bay film but i guess that will not happen
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I went to the movies hoping to have a fun, casual experience with some friends. I really had no idea what this movie was about, other than itI went to the movies hoping to have a fun, casual experience with some friends. I really had no idea what this movie was about, other than it was a comedy about some body builders. I discovered pretty quickly that this movie was pure trash. The majority of the "humor" in the movie was made at the expense of Christians and Jesus Christ. I left shortly after the Jesus bashing commenced, thoroughly disgusted. It's pretty shameful what the world is coming to, and what is now considered humor.
    Anti-christian humor aside, the other aspects of the movie were mind numbingly dull and boring. Watching this movie was about the equivalent of having a lobotomy. You may, however, enjoy this movie if your IQ is in the single digits, or if you are incredibly high while viewing it.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.