Palo Alto

Palo Alto Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Shy, sensitive April (Emma Roberts) is the class virgin—a popular soccer player and frequent babysitter for her single-dad coach, Mr. B. (James Franco). Teddy (Jack Kilmer) is an introspective artist whose best friend and sidekick Fred (Nat Wolff) is an unpredictable live wire with fewShy, sensitive April (Emma Roberts) is the class virgin—a popular soccer player and frequent babysitter for her single-dad coach, Mr. B. (James Franco). Teddy (Jack Kilmer) is an introspective artist whose best friend and sidekick Fred (Nat Wolff) is an unpredictable live wire with few filters or boundaries. While April negotiates a dangerous affair with Mr. B., and Teddy performs community service for a DUI—secretly carrying a torch for April, who may or may not share his affection—Fred seduces Emily (Zoe Levin), a promiscuous loner who seeks validation through sexual encounters. One high-school party bleeds into another as April and Teddy finally acknowledge their mutual affection, and Fred's escalating recklessness spirals into chaos. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 6, 2014
    100
    The movie perfectly captures the vibe of late high school, in a way that's both of its time and timeless.
  2. Reviewed by: Alonso Duralde
    May 8, 2014
    85
    Coppola doesn't let these kids off the hook for their stupid decisions, of which they make many, but she's not judging them for their folly, either. Unchecked privilege and clueless parents are trotted out as part of the problem, but Coppola seems more interested in exploring human frailty and vulnerability than she is in digging for a social statement.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 8, 2014
    80
    A delicate tapestry of suburban gothic, romance and realism, with a surprising sweetness at its core and a wonderful star performance from Emma Roberts.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 29, 2014
    70
    The story has something of a flow, but the film feels more like someone dropping in on the characters' lives. It's more about observation than connecting dots. This isn't a detriment, particularly with strong performances to carry things along.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    May 28, 2014
    67
    As lovely as it sometimes is, what this film needs is a little more shape and a little less ambience.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 10, 2014
    60
    Fortunately Coppola’s sensitivity is always evident, especially in the open-hearted performances she gets from Roberts and Kilmer (whose father, Val, has a funny, pot-addled cameo).
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 4, 2014
    25
    Mr. Franco must have had a very boring adolescence, because Palo Alto is a very boring movie.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 18, 2014
    9
    I didn't love it while watching, but after letting it sit for awhile, I decided that I really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a lot like aI didn't love it while watching, but after letting it sit for awhile, I decided that I really, really enjoyed this movie. It's a lot like a Sofia Coppola movie-somewhat plotless, but Gia Coppola does a good job and it comes together. She uses a lot of scenes as vignettes of sorts, and towards the end I could generally see the themes it was attempting to convey. The plot is really not what won me over though, the way this was shot and the elegant soundtrack are awesome, but the acting! Damn. Jack Kilmer and Nat Wolff are great, especially Wolff's cynical, douchey character. Emma Roberts and James Franco were great and equally convincing as well. It's really kept me thinking about it since I left the theater, and for that it earns my respect. It's not a movie for everyone though and on a purely plot basis, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself from other teenage flicks. But still, everything else adds up to a really fantastic debut for Gia Coppola. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2015
    7
    The cinematography was awesome, and it's the perfect movie for showing what teenagers do in a rich nice laid-back environment. TotallyThe cinematography was awesome, and it's the perfect movie for showing what teenagers do in a rich nice laid-back environment. Totally pointless aside from that, however. Expand
  3. May 11, 2014
    7
    At the outset of the film, I was highly fearful that the director would be satisfied to tread on well-worn territory, sticking to the same oldAt the outset of the film, I was highly fearful that the director would be satisfied to tread on well-worn territory, sticking to the same old cliches that every other teen movie trots out. (The party, "Never Have I Ever", Old dude wants to hook up with young girl). But something about the look of the shots, the soundtrack, and the fresh acting talent (especially Val Kilmer's kid as the lead actor) won me over. If you didn't want kids before, you won't want kids after seeing this film - but if you're a horny kid yourself? Check it out. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    6
    A film that does a good job at showing the potential real life of a teenager, but struggles to get a good feel for the characters. Their isA film that does a good job at showing the potential real life of a teenager, but struggles to get a good feel for the characters. Their is definitely a feel of realism coming from these teens and for the most part the film doesn't hold back, but after a while I started to wonder how much I cared. All in all it's a mild recommendation. B- Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    6
    I wouldn't say the movie was boring, but it was definitely themeless, or at least seemed so to me. The characters were solid enough to leadI wouldn't say the movie was boring, but it was definitely themeless, or at least seemed so to me. The characters were solid enough to lead the narrative, but the the story as a whole was quite disconnected. Expand
  6. May 14, 2016
    2
    To summarize, Palo Alto was PONDEROUS. I can't fathom any critic giving this movie a positive review. If you want to watch a bunch ofTo summarize, Palo Alto was PONDEROUS. I can't fathom any critic giving this movie a positive review. If you want to watch a bunch of decidedly unrealistic, dysfunctional families plod through "life", well I suppose this movie is right up your alley. Everyone is always high. um, ok. (yet they don't act high, other than the touchy feely dad). Everyone is always drunk. um, ok. Everyone is constantly smoking (cigarettes when not weed). um, ok. TOTAL CRUTCHES. WEAK. Cinematography is OK, but should have been WAY edited down. Acting is OK for the most part, but the actors weren't given anything to work with. Teddy is the best, BY FAR. And speaking of direction and editing, that scene near the end where Emma's clearly blows a scene, but they decide to "leave it in" because "it looks realistic", maybe!? OMG.

    Oh, and as a soccer coach, those scenes were simply UNBEARABLE. The soccer game "kickoff" shot. U8-rec-level.

    I'm at a loss.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    you need special skill to make a unwatchable movie with Emma Roberts in,Eureka they just did it .
    This is so boring and unbearable.Another
    you need special skill to make a unwatchable movie with Emma Roberts in,Eureka they just did it .
    This is so boring and unbearable.Another proof that James franco not suited for lead actor role.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.