Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2268 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,977
Mixed:
157
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JIMD.Mar 11, 2007
This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Mar 10, 2007
This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DaveD.Mar 10, 2007
I appreciate Del Toro's indictment of 20th century Europe. Ultimately, though, this film's rather unsubtle, unimaginative message: guerillas good, fascists bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
2RoadsMar 20, 2007
This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
T.userMar 28, 2007
This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could not leave my seat for fear of missing anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NenadJ.Mar 4, 2007
Mix of fairy tale and cruel war film, incredible feeling during watching, must watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JosephP.Mar 9, 2007
It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a highly overrated foreign film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiianaBighamApr 14, 2007
a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood and Adulthood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SenBApr 27, 2007
The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom where the rations were held. *shivers* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonS.Apr 6, 2007
A transcendent movie experience. Perhaps not as perfect as a '10' implies but it deserves the highest rank if only to distinguish it from movies, however worthy, that are merely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 8, 2007
This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant cinematography and rich art direction of any film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewY.Apr 8, 2007
I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll understand what I'm talking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinJ.May 14, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is a dark and well crafted movie which deserved the Academy Award. Pan's Labyrinth is unique and is hands down interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanS.May 16, 2007
Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantV.May 16, 2007
Great movie and a note to Alex H. Pan was the fawn not the girl. If you didn't know that much, no wonder you only gave the movie a 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrattyB.nMay 20, 2007
The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of the simple fact that it was original. Yes, del Toro put many parallels of Alice in Wonderland and countless fairy tails, and Narnia into the movie, but he isn't copying these stories, he is taking some of their ideas and creatures and applying them to his original story. When you watch the movie you can feel the heart and soul of everyone involved projecting from the screen. This is what is wrong with today's films, there is no heart. All we see today are blockbusters and sequels. But this movie is different. Most movies like blockbusters blatently tell you what to think and what you should feel coming out of the movie. But Pan's Labyrinth leaves so many decisions up to the viewer to interpret that it makes you feel like the adult who dismisses the magic of fairy tales or feel like you do in fact believe that what Ofelia saw was real. And on one last note about the ending. I believe when she gets to the kingdom it is in fact heaven and it may be insinuating that everyone has their own version of heaven, and that was hers because of what she believed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMay 20, 2007
Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's hard because the main character is an 11 year old girl who did phenominally, but still just can't be expected to develop the on screen complexity of an adult. I'll address a few people's stupid issues at this time: 1. PnArdy--art is not supposed to be entertaining. It's supposed to be beautiful. You're obviously not Spanish, so the facists mean nothing to you, but it dominates the psyches of most Spaniards born before 1975 (including my current teacher.) It is one of the most profound horrors in human history, even if it is almost entirely overlooked by Americans. 2. P E--the ending is not a cop out. It shows that peace and the ability to resist facism, as represented by the girl who disobeyed her facist leader, is only a fantasy. The reality is all those rebels are going to die within 24 hours. It's actually one of the most profound endings I've ever seen. 3. E R--the characters are not one dimensional entirely. Why does Mercedes continue to serve the captain instead of fighting with her brother? Why does the mother allow the captain to dominate her and why does she crush her girl's fantasies? Why does the girl decide to eat the grapes? One dimensional characters would not do such things. Admittedly, there is little moral gray area within the characters (except the mother, who is not evil but is considered worthy of death, apparently, for her passivity, which is one of the strongest and most powerful messages of the entire movie.) However, the movie is an allegory. Allegories are not meant to have much gray area. Also, the fact that the fantasy world was unpleasant until the end is the point of the allegory (fantasy=facism except in the fantasy land, when the girl disobeys she is exalted and lives while in real life she dies.) It is actually one of the most difficult films to interpret I've ever seen. I've had to think about it for half an hour and write about it. 4. Doug R--go see Spiderman. Not going to go on. Basically, one must know a lot about the Spanish Civil War to appreciate this movie, and one must be willing to understand the allegory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.May 27, 2007
A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were supposed to be told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobE.May 7, 2007
I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanB.May 7, 2007
This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen or heard. If you hve an open mind and the IQ to handle it, it could be one of the best movies you've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.May 9, 2007
Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her imagination. For those of you trying to apply historical theory: this is not a documentary-- it is a fictional narrative that comes from the imagination of one person and should be viewed as just that: FICTION. Personally, talking fauns and magical doors dissuade me from trying to apply any sort of realist theory... but there are always those who will try to find the worst in everything. I personally respect anyone's opinion that this is a bad film -- I just strongly disagree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.Jun 10, 2007
My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch the movie with a closed-mind will you hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Jun 15, 2007
Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't like analyzing that is, which is probably why many fantasy fans gave it bad grades. A perfect mix in my point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattGJun 21, 2007
An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the core. I am definitely with the critics on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanF.Jun 2, 2007
This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave deep thinkers in awe at the end........almost as if for that last moment of the movie.....you look at life in a whole different way. Pan's Labyrinth=masterpeice 10++ no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimSJun 5, 2007
This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy movie like "Lost in Translation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberCameronJul 1, 2007
Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy,Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who is carrying his child, and seemingly only in it for security, Ofelia is trapped in a wasteland. The pain inflicted on her mother Carmen, physically by her unborn child, can also be construed as a representation of the pain she may feel emotionally about marrying a fascist murderer, who only cares about the child she bears, and has no good sentiments towards her daughter. Ofelia, alone and afraid in a troubling time, has been so desensitized by the war, that she begins to repress her feelings, and create a world entirely her own, where she is a princess. One would also be blind however, not to notice that the fantasy world is as dark as reality. It is a mirror image of the real world, the only difference being that Ofelia could give herself hope. She was put through trials, including facing a child eating monster (who could easily be construed as her step father) and had to watch as her hopes started to die. We often see how reality coincides with Ofelia Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 12, 2007
Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickLJul 3, 2007
Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IsaacCJul 4, 2007
A film that has the ideas and the story to be a classic for the older children fantasy picture bracket but misses its own point and descends into unnecessary violence to cover its lack of script, plot and any kind of satisfactory ending. Yes A film that has the ideas and the story to be a classic for the older children fantasy picture bracket but misses its own point and descends into unnecessary violence to cover its lack of script, plot and any kind of satisfactory ending. Yes the world Ofelia lives in is bleak and the Spanish Civil war was violent but the stark good bad divide depicted feels forced and unnatural. Captain Vidal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NontayaK.Jul 6, 2007
Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterR.Jul 6, 2007
Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and overwhelmed by it's brilliance and power. See it...I beg you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nasrim.Jul 7, 2007
Perfect, amazing soundtrack, photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisD.Jul 7, 2007
A moving, many layered masterpiece. Far more than fantasy, this film compares with the Ring trilogy for symbolic meaning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 8, 2007
Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. There's a little blood but it's not a shock or scare film in the least. Remember the Dark Crystal? It's like that--fantasy in its darkest color. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyM.Aug 24, 2007
An excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement forAn excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply set (realistically) in a time when the victors of a terrible civil war were still violently suppressing guerrillas from the losing side (btw this continued into the 1950s and estimates are that as many as 200K people were killed). Read a book, and learn some history. Orwell's Homage to Catalonia is a good start, although it takes place well before these (fictional) events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregRRAug 20, 2007
Beautiful. Haunting. Ending featured an astounding juxtaposition of heartbreak and joy. Took my breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Sep 30, 2007
Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble understanding the setup. Simply amazing is all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentA.Sep 5, 2007
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE IT! A majority of bad ratings nowadays come from people who haven't seen the movie yet. Don't be ignorant like that. Anyway, see this movie, love it, rate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannesW.Oct 11, 2008
The best film I have ever seen. It was a perfect story between fantasy and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CalebH.Nov 21, 2008
Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not enough fantasy and not enough distinction between the two. The ending was the best part. The movie drags on in some places and should have been 30 mintues shorter. Good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanReyP.Oct 13, 2008
My expectation was that this movie is a great fantasy movie. But through the course of the film, I felt the war concept of the film more. And the war part was I could only say, finely done. And I still enjoyed it.I have seen anything like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosRDec 30, 2008
If you can't understand the movie, shut your traphole. This movie was awesome and illustrated two separate worlds: that of war and that of innocence and fantasy. Amazing across the board, regardless of what lesser-able individuals say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikFeb 10, 2008
Not a gilded treasure from the vaults of xerxes, like teh critics think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelB.Feb 5, 2008
I can say lots of great things on this movie, but I will only say It honestly made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Feb 5, 2008
This movie is awesome. Never have I seen such different concepts of movies blended into one so well. War, Fantasy, and Horror. A true emotional roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanMayerMar 4, 2008
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting.
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting. But to comment that there was "no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening" is missing the entire point of the film. The film is about a young girl coping with the horrors of war and fascism, not about the events actually going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KakesarS.Apr 7, 2008
I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh rating as 4, letalone 0. The movie was dark and emotional. There was enough fantasy to satisfy and the switching between harsh reality and mystical adventure brought a very powerful twist to the movie. I felt that the few violent scenes were well placed and did well to demonstrate the barbaric and sadistic behaviour of the fascist stepfather. That said, I was slightly disappointed as I feel the movie could have offered more. Unlike some people, though, I'm not going to give the movie a bad score just because it had untapped potential - it was still a fantastic viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeaneSJun 16, 2008
Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning or significance is largely left to interpretation by the audience. Also the characters IQ, i dont know who specifically Baz refers to but i believe she is referring to a part (i wont reveal it) involving the child character in the story in which case simple mistakes are just a common child error. Definitely worth a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Jul 10, 2008
A beautiful, emotional, and spellbinding film that is the single best film I've seen in 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaN.Jul 19, 2008
Brilliant movie. It's so refreshing to watch a film like this. Each scene was obviously very well thought out. The sound and picture seemed so beautifully crisp. Marvelous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaO.Aug 15, 2008
For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you will enjoy this movie. To end it I will say 4 words! BOTTLE IN THE FACE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Sep 29, 2008
A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions are misguided and, at their worst, completely irrelevant. For example, you say Del Toro is obese, but my next door neighbor has an orange cat (and if that confuses you, you've just subtly got my point)... Del Toro rocks. I could hug his big, cuddly ass. P.S. What are you even doing reading this anyway? I won't be bothering; better things to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrettKOct 10, 2009
Very good movie. Reminded me of a cross between Schindler's List and The Secret Garden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaBOct 28, 2009
Really good story of the Spanish Civil War and its effect on a little girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrFFeb 1, 2009
Deadly yet beautiful, I still can't get over how amazing this film was! Great in every way, my fav. P.S. If you find yourself giving it less then an 8 you just don't get the movie (or have a weak stomach)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot of people do not realize that this is not an American made movie, but are judging i on American standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jul 13, 2009
Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with nothing taxing your brain throughout the whole safe, bland experience. @ Brian L: I would not call the violence in this movie 'exquisite', but neither do I agree with all your negative inaccuracies about the film. There is horror in this film, to be sure. And it is brutal and shocking - I guarantee you that's how it happened in real life. I hate to break it to you, but humans can be more monstrous than any fantastical creature. In sync and alongside the horrifying way humans treat each other in the film is the fantastical element of the piece. No, it's not Disney - and you seem upset by this. I am not sure what you were expecting but I think you were definitely on the wrong track mate, regarding fairies and what-have-you. The torture scenes were very tastefully done - you barely see anything, but are left with a lot of nasty things to the imagination. You mentioned exploding brains - not a one to be seen - are you mixing this film up with a more mindless horror flick? I graduated from film school. but I am not a 'pro reviewer', as you say: I just see and appreciate the movie for what it is, don't let any preconceived ideas taint my online text. My quick summary of this film - honestly a truly powerful film. A quite stunning blend of brutal history with an seamless injection of fantasy that has to be seen to be understood how effortlessly it entwines into the story. In fact, I don't think I've experienced another film that blends reality and fantasy as seamlessly as this film. The only detraction for me is the ultimate ending, and even this is fine except for certain little things. The 'correct choice' at the end seems rather cliched, in the sense that the film deals with it very quickly and moves on with such speed that it feels we are running out of time. However, apart from that small flaw this film truly is quite incredible. I encourage all of you to watch this film - you probably won't see anything quite as incredible for a few years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBJul 1, 2009
A brilliant mix of fantasy, brutal violence, and horror in Del Toro's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraSJan 6, 2010
You should know a bit more about the spanish history and u will understand that the movie is not as violent as the true. Its a wonderful way to show us the cruel true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EfraimA.Feb 6, 2010
Interesting movie, very freaky and weird at first... but the story is incredible and the acting is inconceivable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanK.May 2, 2010
This is definitely one of the best movies ever. It is so compelling story-wise and has a lot of meaning behind it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephPJun 18, 2010
This movie focuses more on the real world Spanish civil war rather than the fantasy element, although it terrifically interwoven into the plot. For those who complain about the high level of gore, i completely agree but you must realise the This movie focuses more on the real world Spanish civil war rather than the fantasy element, although it terrifically interwoven into the plot. For those who complain about the high level of gore, i completely agree but you must realise the Spanish civil war is the 'bloodiest' war to date in human history, and infact the violence is actually tremendously toned down. Unless you know a bit of Spanish history, I'd recommend you study up before watching this movie, as this is a MUST SEE. If you are a close-minded person or don't like the big bad world, don't watch it and stop littering the score with 0's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GattWDec 29, 2006
Grand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GustavoFDec 29, 2006
Just beautful. In every way. I won't say any more, just go see it. Saw this in Madrid last month and I really recommend everyone in the States goes and sees it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Dec 29, 2006
Really really good - you must see Pan's Labyrinth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.CrowlyDec 31, 2006
Absolutely incredible. Brought me close tears, and hasn't left my mind since I saw it...one of the very best films i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 30, 2006
One of the year's very best films. A dazzling mix of fantasy, horror, politics and history. It's an exhilarating and damn near fautless film. A must see on the large screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasF.Jan 11, 2007
Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our children and so forth. this movie is no for the weak of mind which is where any bad reviews came from. Personally i think this is the greatest movie of all time, its mix of reality and fantasy makes this the ultimate movie to be seen by our children and so forth. this movie is no for the weak of mind which is where any bad reviews came from. if any movie deserves higher than a 10, its this one Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahBeckettNov 19, 2007
Some people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idioticSome people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idiotic reviews and go back to watching Norbit and Big Mommas House 2. It's heartbreaking for me to see these bad reviews for a film so undeserving of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyL.Jan 10, 2007
I initially went to see this movie thinking it was a fantasy movie, a mistake that has been made by many it seems like, though I wasn't disappointed to find out that it wasn't as much a fantasy as it was a war drama. This was one I initially went to see this movie thinking it was a fantasy movie, a mistake that has been made by many it seems like, though I wasn't disappointed to find out that it wasn't as much a fantasy as it was a war drama. This was one of the best movie going experiences of my life. after screening the movie I wasn't able to get out of my head. I can't stop thinking about it. I will be forced a second viewing just so i can think of something else except Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickMJan 12, 2007
A rich, beautiful and profound film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimmyJan 13, 2007
In Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro masterfully reminds us of the dark emotions that are tucked away in each one of us, lovingly cuts each one open, oozing just enough for our souls to willingly drown.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Jan 13, 2007
Disappointing. After peeping the 97 Metascore on this site, I was expecting...more. More gorgeous visuals. More nightmarish monsters. More lullabies into the dreamy world which del Toro was creating. Just...more. Ultimately, I felt short Disappointing. After peeping the 97 Metascore on this site, I was expecting...more. More gorgeous visuals. More nightmarish monsters. More lullabies into the dreamy world which del Toro was creating. Just...more. Ultimately, I felt short changed. The movie was good...but very...far short on the promise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAJan 13, 2007
I drove 50 miles to see this movie and after having seen it, I would have driven 100. It was amazing. Best movie I have seen in a looooong time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianA.Jan 13, 2007
incredible storyline very deep to the point that some people are unsure if the faun and the fairies were real or if it was just her imagining everything to try to escape reality. I believe it was just her mind making up for the horror of her incredible storyline very deep to the point that some people are unsure if the faun and the fairies were real or if it was just her imagining everything to try to escape reality. I believe it was just her mind making up for the horror of her life so the bad reviews and calling it a Mexican SciFi came from someone unable to comprehend the true message of a story like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryP.Jan 13, 2007
When the films of 2006 are talked about, years from now, this will be seen as the Everest among the foothills of the piedmont.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimS.Jan 14, 2007
An earlier post mentioned the film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbeS.Jan 14, 2007
I swear this is the best movie I have seen in my whole life. The story is perfect also the setting and the actors. YOU MUST GO AND SEE IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanaL.Nov 4, 2007
A good movie. Possible answer to Zabbock, she might've drawn upward cause it would be more difficult for the wrinkler to climb upwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryL.Jan 14, 2007
Best film I've seen in 35 years. A masterwork of originality -- I really don't have the language for how good Pan's Labyrinth is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsraelB.Jan 15, 2007
Excellent movie, the best of all 2006. I can´t think of nothing else but this movie. Del Toro is a true master of this kind of movie, really, you can´t miss this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintonM.Jan 15, 2007
This lyrical movie was one of the saddest I have ever seen. Its battle scenes seemed to be heavy-handed at times, and the screenplay on the whole could have been stronger. Nevertheless, it is an extraordinary movie of breathtaking vision.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeB.Jan 16, 2007
Maybe not everybody agrees with the story but the film itself is a masterpiece. It's very different from what Hollywood usually does, Del Toro now is among the greatest filmmakers. His imagination is inspiring. I´m very glad to Maybe not everybody agrees with the story but the film itself is a masterpiece. It's very different from what Hollywood usually does, Del Toro now is among the greatest filmmakers. His imagination is inspiring. I´m very glad to have had the opportunity to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanD.Jan 16, 2007
If Pan's Labyrinth was a book it would be a Gabriel Garcia Marquez at the height of his powers. Moving, beautiful and deeply moral. I can't wait to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilmfanJan 17, 2007
This is a must see film. It has qualities similar to the Rings films--an engaging tale being told as fate unfolds. My most serious criticism is too much graphic violence, which the filmmaker probably thought supported a grotesque atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJan 19, 2007
Incredible movie. Incredible contrast between the fantasy escapism plotline and the gritty real world plotline. It's like a fairy tale, except bloody. The commercials were deceptive, but your expectations being off the mark wasn't Incredible movie. Incredible contrast between the fantasy escapism plotline and the gritty real world plotline. It's like a fairy tale, except bloody. The commercials were deceptive, but your expectations being off the mark wasn't the movie's fault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jan 21, 2007
Splendid. This film is beautifully shot, the SFX are astounding, the acting -- especially Ivana Baquero -- is sterling, and the multi-layered maessages resonate throughout. One of, if not the, best films I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ThatMovieGuyJan 21, 2007
Eh. It wasn't as great as people made it out to be. I was expecting more fantasy and less gore, but my expectations aside, I think it was well done. Just not that great. I recommend you go see Children of Men if you want to see the best Eh. It wasn't as great as people made it out to be. I was expecting more fantasy and less gore, but my expectations aside, I think it was well done. Just not that great. I recommend you go see Children of Men if you want to see the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeslieC.Jan 21, 2007
This is a brilliant movie which is made for mature audiences that are willing to put in the effort to THINK about the deeper context of the film, rather than serve as eyecandy for the easily swayed. That said. people who gave it a zero were This is a brilliant movie which is made for mature audiences that are willing to put in the effort to THINK about the deeper context of the film, rather than serve as eyecandy for the easily swayed. That said. people who gave it a zero were clearly having a brain fart while watching it.WATCH IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Jan 2, 2007
Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, Works on so many levels, intellectual and visceral, artistic, humanistic and historical, with gripping peformances, stunning visual effects that are seamlessly part of the narrative. The cinematography is rich and appropriate to the moment, the score unobtrusive but persuasive. What a vision this man has! To me, the most original film in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanS.Jan 2, 2007
One of the best films I've ever seen...6 times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Jan 2, 2007
Is it fable or political commentary......or vice versa? Either way, it's fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahJan 2, 2007
An extremely captivating movie and highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 2, 2007
A graceful and amazing film of historic proportions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KerryM.Jan 21, 2007
This movie was GOOD, not GREAT. It is visually spectacular, yet definitely not a 4-star movie. Avoiding spoilers, I would say only that it is not what you think it would be. The previews make it sound like a fairy tale. While it does have a This movie was GOOD, not GREAT. It is visually spectacular, yet definitely not a 4-star movie. Avoiding spoilers, I would say only that it is not what you think it would be. The previews make it sound like a fairy tale. While it does have a fairy tale elemement and things tie together, the magical element is only half of the movie. I would describe this movie as a fairy tale within a gritty and violent movie. I do recommend this movie, but just be aware that is isn't along the lines of Mirror Mask, Labrynth, or the Never Ending Story. Also, it is definitely not for children! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancoC.Jan 21, 2007
An absolutely fantastic movie. the visuals are fantastic, the story line is deeply engrossing and the sheer complexity of the story, the great allusions and scenes it gives us is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
M.S.Jan 20, 2007
Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CynthiaR.Jan 21, 2007
I just saw this movie yesterday inside a packed theater. Two words: absolutely incredible. Del Torro geniously interweaves the fantasy and reality aspects of the film, with the reality being more frightening. The actors were astounding, and I just saw this movie yesterday inside a packed theater. Two words: absolutely incredible. Del Torro geniously interweaves the fantasy and reality aspects of the film, with the reality being more frightening. The actors were astounding, and although Ivana Baquero did an amazing job portraying the innocent Ofelia, my props go to the captured stuttering soldier who was about to be tortured. The fear was just so believable and intense that me and my friends were hiding under our jackets. Another thing to add, some people may have felt that the general was too cruel to be real (my friend said that was the only downer), but I took a course on Spain last semester, and that's really how Franco's dictatorship was like. Overall 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DigitalPharaohJan 20, 2007
Brilliant...no matter what the last few reviewers wrote. Best movie I've seen in years. Breathtaking fantasy...
0 of 0 users found this helpful