User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1836 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZabbockK.
    Oct 23, 2007
    7
    Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended the war right there by thrusting a couple more times instead of doing some dental work and then leaving. She can cut the mouth and even threaten to Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended the war right there by thrusting a couple more times instead of doing some dental work and then leaving. She can cut the mouth and even threaten to cut her own throat but can't cut the captain's and triumph? - 1 point 2. I also found it tough that the baby in Ofelia's arms just happens to silence itself as soon as ol' Captain comes tromping into the room. And if she used a special door to get in then why not use a door to get out? - 1 point 3. In the scene where she ate the grapes and ran from the wrinkle monster, why did she have to draw upward? Why not draw where she can reach and get through easier? - 1 Expand
  2. Sean
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    Oh man, my jaw was literally dropped through the whole 2 hours. The movie grabbed me from the first words and didn't let go. After watching this film, i was confused. I loved it so much, i was so enchanted and shocked by it all, that during the actual viewing, it seemed downright perfect. But i dwelled on it afterwards, to find some flaw, ANY flaw. Could a film really be as perfect Oh man, my jaw was literally dropped through the whole 2 hours. The movie grabbed me from the first words and didn't let go. After watching this film, i was confused. I loved it so much, i was so enchanted and shocked by it all, that during the actual viewing, it seemed downright perfect. But i dwelled on it afterwards, to find some flaw, ANY flaw. Could a film really be as perfect as this one first seemed? And, surpsingly, i couldnt find any flaws. While watching it, i got the same exhilaration of great filmmaking that Citizen Kane, The Godfather, and Lord of the Rings gave me. And the more i thought it over, the more i realized that, yes, indeed, this film belongs in that company, just like Metacritic would have us believe. I was also worried before the movie that i would be disappointed, because while the critical acclaim was unprecedented, many non-critics had been complaining about over-praise. But watching it, i honestly believe the critics were on to something, and that the movie is getting all the professional praise it deserves. A perfect work of art. Expand
  3. DanB.
    Jan 23, 2007
    7
    Very well done, executed, written, etc. (With the exception of one markedly goofy cow-milking scene.) In the end, though, it left me cold. Can't say why, really. I just didn't much care. Still, it's very impressive and in many parts entertaining, and I wish more movies were as inventive and unafraid of being different.
  4. JoshS.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    The most enthusiastic ten I've given in quite some time. An incredible movie.
  5. JonathanA
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Its violence is harrowing, its message is clearcut, and its fantasy is dark and gripping. But the tie-in between the two worlds - that of the civil war in the real and the fairy tale one in its midst - is carefully and expertly presented; that is where its subtlety and excellence lies. It will not hit you until the final scene about the significance of the fantasy elements, and then Its violence is harrowing, its message is clearcut, and its fantasy is dark and gripping. But the tie-in between the two worlds - that of the civil war in the real and the fairy tale one in its midst - is carefully and expertly presented; that is where its subtlety and excellence lies. It will not hit you until the final scene about the significance of the fantasy elements, and then everything else about the film's earlier sequences clicks. Incredible. Expand
  6. PacoC.
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    Guillermo del Toro has been able to give two sets of story lines that both mix and conjunt very well, One the cruel reality and other the beautifull yet twisted fantasy. With this it is interesting the way the director created a Fantasy movie for adults. Some scenes are very gore and I would not sugest small children to come and watch the film but you have to as well think that it is what Guillermo del Toro has been able to give two sets of story lines that both mix and conjunt very well, One the cruel reality and other the beautifull yet twisted fantasy. With this it is interesting the way the director created a Fantasy movie for adults. Some scenes are very gore and I would not sugest small children to come and watch the film but you have to as well think that it is what made the movie even more special and not so americanized and not so categorised for either matured adults or young children. Expand
  7. ShaneH.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    The best film i have seen since i can remember. I broke down at the end. Never has a film had such an effect on me. Guillermo del Toro is a genius.
  8. WilliamD.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Extraordinary, especially if you are aware of the events and politics of the Spanish Civil War before World War II.
  9. StinkyP.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    all the negative reviews are written in the same style here. is it one reviewer submitting in mutliples? Anyway, I loved it. Incredible cinematics. Great mood and atmosphere. Mercedes from Y Tu Mam Tambien? Magnifique! How did they make that stunner look drab? I didi see a 6 or 7 year old atthe theatre ... way too young for the disturbing scences in this film.
  10. MartynG.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing, i can't stop thinking about it; terrifing, beautiful and a courage that is unmatched.
  11. PennD.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    This is one of the finest movies to come along in a long time. It is truly groundbreaking as it merges the harsh reality that was Post Civil War Spain with the delicacy and charm of fantasy with its under story.... With so many bad offerings and incomplete attempts (Eragon for example)... this movie will truly renew your faith in the cinema.
  12. FizgigP.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both worlds in their own way were bitter and relentless towards ofellia. The Movie was very violent, but not overdone. The first scene in which captain Vidal Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both worlds in their own way were bitter and relentless towards ofellia. The Movie was very violent, but not overdone. The first scene in which captain Vidal kills a man you know what is in store for Ofellia. The monsters were beautiful in their own way each with a creepy dark fairytale aspect to them. The makeup was outstanding, and the cgi was not bad. Very Very Good Film. Expand
  13. KadathB.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open mind. It's not the gore that disturbed me [though it is at a level of detail that many could find disgusting or shocking] but rather the magnitude Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open mind. It's not the gore that disturbed me [though it is at a level of detail that many could find disgusting or shocking] but rather the magnitude and impact the movie has emotionally and visually, it's a beautiful picture but in a very dark and gothic way, in fact I don't know if I have seen a gothic fantasy work quite this well in a movie, and the tremendously well acted and portrayed vision of reality, blurs the line between the real and the fiction more than any story has before, and when it all comes together, you either feel everything the characters have felt or you feel nothing, and I can tell you the majority of the people will feel something. Pan's Labyrinth is far and away the best film in years, and considering it's limited release here, consider yourself lucky to catch it in the theatre, but even if you miss it on the big screen, you must make it a goal to see it on video- mthis is simply a film that cannot be missed, but once again keep an open mind [Also a warning for parents: It may be a fairy tale, but it is equally a horror, drama, and war film- it's most definitely not a film children under the age of at least 14 should see]. Expand
  14. Dave
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the violence, yes some parts of the film are hard to watch, but hey this is during Franco's reign near the end of WW II in Spain. If you knew anything Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the violence, yes some parts of the film are hard to watch, but hey this is during Franco's reign near the end of WW II in Spain. If you knew anything about Spanish history, you'd know what a brutal dictator Franco was, so the violence depicted was all REAL. Actually, it was probably far worse. In any case, this is a must-see, one that will be remembered many years from now. Expand
  15. MichaelH.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    The last scene silenced the entire theater in an attempt to translate the meaning of what had been 2 hours of magic.
  16. MarkW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This powerful film lingers in the heart and mind long after the credits roll. Creative, captivating stroytelling like this is why I go to the movies. Not to be missed. Highly recommended.
  17. TorontoD.
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent in all technical and artistic aspects, but I would have personally wanted to see more of the "fantasy" world, to give it a 10. Intense, daring, A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent in all technical and artistic aspects, but I would have personally wanted to see more of the "fantasy" world, to give it a 10. Intense, daring, beautiful and scary all at the same time. Expand
  18. Daniel
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    I walked in expecting a fantasy. What I got instead was a film that is achingly, bracingly, vividly about reality. Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy, of all things) writes and directs a breathtaking film that works as fantasy, as history, and as allegory. In the wrong hands, this fanciful story might be indulgent or heavy-handed, but del Toro
  19. GeorgeS.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal! Brilliantly written and directed. Brutal reality infused with innocence and fantasy. Reminds us of the power of cinema and why we enjoy the espace movies provide.
  20. JBS
    Jan 8, 2007
    6
    Visually, the fairy tale elements and half of the real world segments deserve a 10, but I do agree that there was too much time spent on the rather banal rebels versus soldiers plot. Yes, there is a political point being made which is probably important to the director, but that entire plot line is so pallid compared to the fantasy plot that it really does not deserve the amount of Visually, the fairy tale elements and half of the real world segments deserve a 10, but I do agree that there was too much time spent on the rather banal rebels versus soldiers plot. Yes, there is a political point being made which is probably important to the director, but that entire plot line is so pallid compared to the fantasy plot that it really does not deserve the amount of exposition that it was given. On balance a 6, I was intrigued by not transfixed by the film taken as a whole. Expand
  21. Michaelrobinson
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    I loved this movie. The best movie by far this year. It tells a story that is unforgetable about the choices we make and what will happen if we make the wrong choices. This is what movies should be about. Now a days all they worry about is fancy special effects but this movie focuses on not onlty the special effects but the story. Which is why i really like this movie.
  22. AnneB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant on every level. Some viewers said the violence was too "graffic [sp]" and gratuitous. It was necessary, however, to show the extent of the horror from which the child escaped through fantasy. Torture and violence on the part of those in power exist in our modern reality, but we have done a good job of not wanting to see that either.
  23. ChrisT.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I must admit that when I heard this movie was in Spanish with subtitles, I was more than a little hesitant to see it. I took a chance and am most certainly glad I did!. Pan's Labyrinth will join the ranks of one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is truly captivating and spellbinding. As a matter of fact, I'm heading back to the theater today to see it again!
  24. JoeThomas
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    best of 2006!
  25. chrisjohnson
    Feb 13, 2007
    6
    A somewhat interesting story, but with loose ends. The movie should get your attention because it is quite violent. The visuals and music should win awards.
  26. HarryK
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    A film so unbelievably good that Del Toro could retire right now at the young age of 29 and never have to make another film again and his legacy would live on forever.
  27. RheaR.
    Feb 14, 2007
    6
    The rating on this movie is too low. 14A is not appropriate and the movie should be rated 18A and the audience should warned about scenes of torture and violence. My son said a 14A rating was a trick so that people would go watch the movie. He wishes he hadn't.
  28. RobertS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    This movie delivers exactly what it intends to deliver. I didnt expect much from this movie especially with it having subtitles, but left amazed. I shutter to think the impact had I been able to speak the language.
  29. MagnificentB.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's blood and violence . . . war and facism, folks! It ain't pretty, it isn't supposed to be pretty, and if you took your kids to see it, what part of "Rated R" did you not understand? Expand
  30. XXXXXXXXX
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There'sAnyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There's part which has to do with her trying to complete her tasks to become the fantasy princess. Just go see it. Make your own judgement. Expand
  31. JFTL
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Haunting.... This movie will be in your mind days after you see it.
  32. LizzE.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and fantasy. Furthermore, it wouldn't have made it so emotionally stirring. If you're complaining because you though you could take your kids to it, you need to get over it. YOU are responsible for your kids--not everyone else is. Stop being such an entitlement jack ass. Expand
  33. TomA.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing a comedy for not being scary enough. Yes shooting children is wrong. I'm glad you think so. The movie doesn't portray the act of doing so as correct or "right" in anyway. It troubles me to see such people with such logic. Expand
  34. DreezyBaby
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see these foreign films for what they really are. This movie is not Spirited Away or Princess Mononoke, and it's not an epic as any of the LOTR movies which it trumps by the critics' ratings ... This movie is ok ... Let's say a much darker Chronicles of Narnia at best. Thank you. Expand
  35. AnaG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Masterpiece. Absolutely brilliant! I think is the best film of the year.
  36. CelesteR.
    Feb 2, 2007
    6
    I am just stunned that this movie has gotten such high reviews. The violence, cruelty, torture scenes, and birthing scenes are plainly designed to manipulate your emotions every which way, and to distract you from the fact that the movie is just not very interesting. The characters are almost cartoonish in their two-dimensionality: cruel violent stepdad, ditzy mom, noble resistance I am just stunned that this movie has gotten such high reviews. The violence, cruelty, torture scenes, and birthing scenes are plainly designed to manipulate your emotions every which way, and to distract you from the fact that the movie is just not very interesting. The characters are almost cartoonish in their two-dimensionality: cruel violent stepdad, ditzy mom, noble resistance fighters. I mean, come on, life is really more interesting than that! Expand
  37. Tiffany
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Great movie! Very weird, very disturbing, but very good.
  38. JCJC
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies in quite some time. It starts out a bit on the slow side but by the end its hard not be fascinated by all facets of the story as they come together.
  39. OpheliaH.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got my money's worth at the theatre. I say bra-friggin-va and cudos all around. (i dont know if i spelled that right). Expand
  40. Keith
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic and 99% of those who've see the movie be so wrong?! Expand
  41. MarkR.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had been long buried since childhood, but clearly aren't. There is an alchemy to this film that is breathtaking. I've never seen a film - or filmmaker - so artfully reflect our souls coping with mortality and evil. Without pandering, del Toro imagines the manifestations of wonder that guard us from reality and existential dread, as well as the monsters that rise in sleep from our reptilian fears. More importantly, he shows us these things to reveal the complexity of how we ultimately find hope. In the end, Del Toro creates ambiguity about Ofelia's fantasy, but what's ironic and beautiful and sad and heartbreaking about Pan's Labyrinth is that the movie itself is proof that magic does exist. Expand
  42. AndrewG
    Feb 5, 2007
    6
    I'm going with Celeste R. here. Cartoonish is a good way to describe this movie's moral sense and the depth of characters. I'm not convinced that the characters are 'supposed to be somewhat one dimensional'. I don't see any evidence for that claim. Instead, I think that Del Toro uses massive chunks of time for characterization, especially with "brutal" I'm going with Celeste R. here. Cartoonish is a good way to describe this movie's moral sense and the depth of characters. I'm not convinced that the characters are 'supposed to be somewhat one dimensional'. I don't see any evidence for that claim. Instead, I think that Del Toro uses massive chunks of time for characterization, especially with "brutal" scenes, but to no avail. Every time the Captain mutilates himself and others, his character becomes increasingly simple and one-dimensional, so why spend time on it? We've seen these characters a billion times before. The production quality of this movie can't be touched, but the story is a huge yawn. Expand
  43. J.P.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears that I had witnessed magic. It has been months since I have seen the movie and it is still with me. This film and Del Toro challenges us to find hope and meaning in violence and innocence as they exist all around us. The balance is always in so much danger of tipping to one side. This movie doesn't need my support; it warrants personal interpretation not mass categorization. Watch this movie and you'll be still for a long time. Expand
  44. TomD.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I would have to say most of the people who have negative words for this movie tend to like the crap that seems to make so much money but nobody really knows why. Example Epic Movie was at tops at the box office.
  45. JayF.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, the cinematography is seamless, and the narrative never slows or fizzles. An unmitigated masterpiece.
  46. CraigD.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Great Movie. Some of the special effects are unbelievable.
  47. Hunter
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    The most amazing movie I have ever seen. Period.
  48. PeteM.
    Feb 9, 2007
    6
    A little too much "reality" and not enough fantasy. The villain was just too villainous, which made it a bit boring. The trips or crossovers into the fantasy realm did not inspire any sense of wonder in me, nor was there any great build in the pacing of the movie. Given the high critic reviews, my expectations were very high, and this was a disappointment.
  49. TooBooCoo
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually stunnong and superbly acted. Indeed, in 'The Captain' I feel we have one of the best villains in cinema history.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    I had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe of all the visual effects. Sometimes it's brutal, sometimes it's just enchanting. Really worth your time and money for this masterpiece.
  51. Kim
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more would have the care that Del T^oro does for their visions, and ignore that which has become the bane of existance, the MTVGen X/next claptrap. When we as artists create or do something, we need to take that level of pride and craftsmanship seen here, as we essentially are creating our legacy for others to follow. Expand
  52. MichaelA.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and Mystifying. There was nothing wrong with this film. I'm surprised and sad to see that this did not win the Oscar for best foreign film. What won me over was the lullaby.
  53. AnastashaC.
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. I have never been so moved by anything in my entire life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
  54. FutureCritic
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie amazing, from how it was shot to the story and acting. Sergi Lopez captured the part of a heartless villain better than any performer ever did, and Ivana Baquero should have the fame of Dakota fanning, that joke of an actress. I was amazed to see it didnt win best foreign film in the oscars, Who would pick "the lives of others" compared to this, what idiots think that heap of crap was comparable to this? The only explaination is that Pans Labrynth isnt the best film of the year, its the best film in the last 15 years. Expand
  55. KayArk
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    An amazing movie. The best one I've seen this year.
  56. RafaElorduy
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    As good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain in more than a thousand words why they were not satisfied by this magical, magnificent masterpiece.
  57. LanceD.
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Predictable. Gratifying visual effects. I would rate this a B or B+ but no where near the ranks of The Godfather as Meta-Critic did.
  58. RichardW.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed this movie tremendously. It is very powerful. At the conclusion of the movie, my wife's interpretation and my own were different. Consequently it strenghthened my conviction that this truly is a great movie.
  59. Miko
    Apr 13, 2007
    7
    Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film like elaborate embroidering and the violence distracts to the point of gratuitousness. In the end, the movie fails to be truly immersive or involving and one feels like one has had a quaint trip to the theatre rather than a journey to the other side of imagination. Expand
  60. KurtisR.
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    One of the best film of 2006. The idea of magic realism translates onto the film medium with breathtakaing visual veracity and power.
  61. JasonL.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is simply one of the best movies ever made. The ending scene was simply brilliant, it makes no judgement, and lets you decide if you are sad or elated.
  62. MattP.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Although it is no longer in theaters, it will soon beout on DVD. If you are seventeen or older, and can stomach some pretty brutal scenes, you will be treated to, at least in my opinion, the best movie of 2006
  63. MojoPiN
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, believable and most of all inspiring. A beautiful flick for anyone to see, even the most alpha of males. Expand
  64. CalvinH.
    Apr 20, 2007
    6
    Honestly, I don't know what I can say about the movie. It was pretty violent and depressing and had some really weird parts. I saw the movie about a month ago, and I still don't know how I feel about it.
  65. RobinJ.
    Apr 24, 2007
    8
    I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more squeamish people, like me, this film is a bit difficult and uncomfortable to watch. But the fantasy part of the film is beautiful. The fantasy side is used to describe the hope of peace and safety that you wish for when you are facing war. It's original and i give credit for that. Expand
  66. Ghostly
    Apr 25, 2007
    8
    this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director honnored the true function of a fairy tale. we tell our children fairy tales to warn them about the world educate them about courage faith trust and honnor we educate our children that death and life exist and that magic is the power of their own hearts and souls and basically many worldy fairy tales are bloody and scary and horrid and also magical with prizes and challenges and punishements and risks. this little girl moved me...she was very very brave. she was alive and cared deeply about life about her mom s well being...about her new friend mercedes well being and understaood the wickedness of her stepp father. She was able to recognize evil. and choose good. she was a child. but she had the soul of a warrior princess. adn in this world we live in why should we hide the truth from our little children...? Dont they see hellraiser friday the 13th and other creepy movies anyways? Or what about all the cartoons on tv. do u think those cartoons are that sweet. they are more perverse. or what about the glorified politics of ou r governemtns which are killing children? Should we hide this stuff from our children. Fairy tales and life and blood have always been hand in hand. even hensel and grettel is not nice story and it is europeen. it s like pocahontas lies..made by disney...that she was in love and happy with the blond dude... but actually...she was forced to marry him and follow him to his ugly grey old england city..where she got sick from a european disease and then died. But that fairy tale with Disney made it look like colonization never happened... So thank u for Truth and for loving ly working on every single frame. Also ...I just want to say ...that it was about God and life and death...and life after Death...and spiritual life. Our world ..hahhaha...do u know how many children live thirsty..on the streets ...how many children beg...are victims of organ traffic business...victims of sex exploitation business... are victims of pedophiles... so please... do bring ur kid to see this flick. i would have loved it when i was a kid. Expand
  67. MattB.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    One of the most moving pictures I have ever seen. Unique, creative, and memorable. Simply put, it was amazing.
  68. RyanTerry
    May 15, 2007
    10
    I loved everything about this movie. Incredibly imaginative. It takes you to a whole other world.
  69. PatrickD.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted when society is falling apart. This film is worth the emotional investment
  70. ChadSwee
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Pan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of aPan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of a fascist group that overtook Spain. The captain plays the role of a ruthless ruler, similiar to that of the Nazi in Schindler's List. The actor plays this character flawlessly, but he is not the only person who brings a good acting performance to the table. The mother, doctor, maid and many others perfectly play their parts also, with the exception of the lead character, Ofelia. Ofelia comes off as a very dull and undramatic young girl, roughly the age of 12, eventhough she is supposed to be full of imagination. She has a passion for fairy tales, and as she witnesses the violent nature of the captain and his group she uses her mind to escape reality. This movie, in all actuality, is a fairy tale for adults. The plot is interesting, and definately a fresh breath of air compared to recent films that keep using revenge as a motive for every last thing. From a directing stand point Pan's Labyrinth is amazing. It's gorgeous to watch, exciting to watch, and, most importantly, fun to watch. Pan's Labyrinth may not blow you away, but is ultimately a great movie. It gets, on a scale of one to ten, five being average, a nine.
    Oh and just a little fore-warning, this movie is in spanish and therefore you have to read english subtitles. This may shy people away from watching it, but by no means should you let this one go simply because of having to read subtitles.
    Expand
  71. TriciaR.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I have spent almost as long reading these comments as I did watching the film - fascinating. Maybe the distinguishing feature of art is that 'all or nothing' engagement on many levels. Genius doesn't have to be perfect.
  72. JoeZ.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences where you are so wrapped in the drama that the consequences of the story feel real. Excellent.
  73. JarredM.
    May 19, 2007
    6
    This movie is incredibly overrated. The fantastical side of the story isn't very fantastical, and the historical side hardly has hardly any depth to it whatsover. This movie is simple and boring. I wonder if critics would get so excited about it if it was in English. I think not.
  74. LL.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as individual as each of us?
  75. ArielL.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and originally. I think my next one will be Once.
  76. BlakeW.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both its story and visuals. If you don't realize this there is something wrong with you...seriously.
  77. JayA
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Stirring, violent, emotional and fantastical. Ivana Baquero is a wonderful actress and the whole story is well thought-out and incredibly well executed by the whole cast.
  78. BruceQ.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's Labyrinth is beautiful, thrilling and poignant. Unless you are looking for Disney fare or think films with subtitles are too taxing, you will enthralled. Expand
  79. PhilO.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A display of on-screen magic perfectly crafted by Del Toro.
  80. MattF.
    May 30, 2007
    8
    I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, better films made. But what makes this film stand out is its tapestry use of these constituencies. The special effects, for example, are not made to form the alltogether trite "spectacle" reaction. The acting as well doesn't have the crying breakdown scene, another form of hollywood-derived spectacle. The film, rather, is a study in subtlety. The story does not call for crappy remake King Kong special effects, its cinematography is subdued to counterpoint some of the ultraviolent scenes, etcetera etcetera. With that said, I was actually a bit disappointed with how the fantasy realm was set up. The child was obviously utilizing this fantasy to escape the militaristic strife around her yet her fantasies did not, for me, become enough of an escape. They were still too rooted in a realism - a non-eden, non-childlike state - that left me understanding a dichotomy that wasn't entirely functional. Overall great stuff. Expand
  81. TimF.
    Jun 19, 2007
    8
    Good movie, yes. but perfect? a 10/10? No. Critics have seriously over-hyped this movie don't go along expecting to see the movie of the year and you will be richly rewarded rather than slightly disappointed.
  82. LisbethJ.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you shouldn't watch it. Expand
  83. MatthewH.
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away from the on screen fun, I'm happy to say it didn't, in fact helped the story feel even more of an escape. It is a fairy tale for adults, and one which i believe should be seen by everyone. Expand
  84. JordanR.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama & suspense like no other film I've seen before. Expand
  85. PeterJ.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie. This film had every possible emotion in it and played it out perfectly. The guy that gave it a two would probably enjoy NORBIT.
  86. MegB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Excellent film, very well done. Much darker than I expected. I've recommended it to several people since I saw it.
  87. Abbyl
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    This movie was beyond my greatest expectations. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who likes a mind blowing movie. It was intense and very real, but magical.
  88. MarkB.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point about fascism. It is necessary to see that the consequences of blind obedience and fascism is unnecessary and meaningless deaths. Get it? Expand
  89. AdrianneZ.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this whole movie is in Spanish, you understand it all.
  90. ChrisC
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography. The movie was outstanding and didnt need a great score to make it better like other movies, but Navarrete's score is a classic.
  91. GordonS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    I liked it. I don't agree with such a high marks though. There was quite a few boring scenes that didn't bring much or help building the atmosphere.
  92. ****
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    Another breathtaking example of the incomprehensible talent Guillermo del Toro has at his disposal. And to echo the discourteous Lena J, kiss my ass Fredrick T!
  93. TBird
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    For me this movie was perfect in every way. I encourage everyone to view it and form their own opinion as this movie deserves to be watched and discussed by all.
  94. PatC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of undeniable insight and power.
  95. NormL.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Awesome. Stirring. Take your breath away.
  96. SiniH.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Very sad and fantastic with solid story.
  97. SaulS.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    The Best fantastic movie, and the best, he made for a Mexican.
  98. AndrewR.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gives this movie less than a 9-- is just plain dumb. too dumb to figure out what a good movie is. this movie was brilliant, probably one of the best films I've seen in my life.
  99. RobertK.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as any visual art in recent years. (You close your eyes hoping the image will have passed; it's usually that much more intense.).
  100. EricG.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Pan's Labyrinth artfully fuses a war film with a family melodrama and a fairy tale. The result is visually stunning and emotionally shattering.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.