Pan's Labyrinth

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 2116 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. HollyC.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite complex, though even if you're not familiar with Franco's Spain during WWII, the story is still profound & relevant. What a great film.
  2. CarmineT.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Mythic, political and visually stunning. Well crafted with something to say at many levels of the human experience.
  3. DavidH
    May 28, 2007
    6
    Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale much in the vein of a Grimm Brothers or H.C Andersen story (pre 19th-20th century 'happy ending' rewritings) Not suitable for children, the story is set in franco spain, and much of the story is allegorical, and in parts this tale is also very brutal. It is, in many ways, an adults only film.
    So why the low score? Well after watching the
    Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale much in the vein of a Grimm Brothers or H.C Andersen story (pre 19th-20th century 'happy ending' rewritings) Not suitable for children, the story is set in franco spain, and much of the story is allegorical, and in parts this tale is also very brutal. It is, in many ways, an adults only film.
    So why the low score? Well after watching the film, and reading the reviews, I began to wonder whether the amazingly high rating was in fact due to americans incredulity that a film can even be made outside of hollywood. I was also slightly worried that it gains an extra 20-30 points (or 2-3 marks) simply because the critic wishes to appear cultured. Is there anything intrinsically wrong with Pan's Labyrinth? No. But there are stories better told, and movies better shot. If you watch pans labyrinth, you won't go away particularly disappointed. If you watch pans labyrinth based on the reviews on this site, you will go away feeling empty, as this film is average at best
    Expand
  4. WinstonA.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    One of the bet films I've ever seen. It touched me on many levels and left me gagging for more.
  5. BrandonB.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    Enchanting, frightening, and an overall achievement in movie making.
  6. JosephM.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing movie that is a solemn retreat.
  7. David
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    If you are curious about the meaning of this movie, you must listen to Terri Gross' interview with the director Guillermo Del Toro. Very illuminating. He is a visionary.
  8. TonyV
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. All I can say is that you should continue to read the sanitized news and t.v. reports about the horrors of war. Go outside the U.S. to Spain, Ireland, the Middle East, Algeria, most of Africa, Cambodia, Vietnam, so you can see what gruesome, gratuitous violence really looks like. Yes, go to sleep soundly, blissfully unaware of what real living is like. For those who don't like the fantasy, let me suggest The Wind that Shakes the Barley. Reminds you that there are tougher choices out there than what color SUV you want to drive. America is populated with so many lazy people it is sickening. Expand
  9. AdrianG.
    Jun 22, 2007
    6
    Kinda like Peter Pan and Hostel in one movie.
  10. Timothy
    Jun 23, 2007
    8
    It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a brilliant blend between reality and fantasy before. And I appreciate it very much that there are still directors out there trying to enrich the rare pool of It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a brilliant blend between reality and fantasy before. And I appreciate it very much that there are still directors out there trying to enrich the rare pool of fantasy movies. I would compare "Pan's Labyrinth" with "The Cell": it feels like someone of the commercial industry was involved. So it's visually stunning but its content is somehow shallow. There is neither much to think about nor enough room to build up your own fantasy world like when you read a book. And it hardly has a poetic or philosophic aspect. Nevertheless this is a nice dark fairy tale for adults ... and kids with strong nerves of course Expand
  11. LenaJ.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Despite what some closed minded users of this website might have said, I found it absolutely nothing short of fantastic. Kiss my ass Kyriakos, you worthless pile of shit.
  12. KoryN
    Jul 23, 2007
    6
    Pan's Labyrinth is better than many movies. Unfortunately, that is not saying very much. The movie is very visually attractive: beautiful photography, very good effects and make-up, and great scenery. It has decent acting and the story is told in an interesting manner. However, portions of the plot are foggy at best. Writer/director del Toro eventually gets around to presenting the Pan's Labyrinth is better than many movies. Unfortunately, that is not saying very much. The movie is very visually attractive: beautiful photography, very good effects and make-up, and great scenery. It has decent acting and the story is told in an interesting manner. However, portions of the plot are foggy at best. Writer/director del Toro eventually gets around to presenting the viewer with a moral to the story, which is good enough and perhaps even insightful. But the key (if they can even be considered as much...) events in the plot simply transpire for little or no reason. No significance is given to the tasks that the main character performs. We see no consequences, good or bad, occur as a result of the protagonist's seemingly purposeful quests. Fairy tales, as this story may be described, may normally contain some arbitrary elements, but this is a bit much. This movie could be likened to a connect-the-dots or paint-by-number activity that, when completed, looks like a blob. And the moral of the blob is to make your own decisions, don't just follow orders. Expand
  13. MichaelR.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    If you've lost faith in what a movie can be, see this one. Very few artists--in any medium--will ever achieve what Guillermo del Toro did in this movie. Stark, stirring and terrifying, always in the right amount. A true masterwork.
  14. FernandoH.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece. Point.
  15. RodrigoA.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) who's dying because of the baby she's carrying with. The Faun is almost the fantasy version of Mercedes. I'd like to say to the user that gave it a 1 because of it's unrealistic look, etc. that there are things way more important than un-accurate effects of the luger pistol, the blood, etc. I tell you this and you might think im a nerd who adores Del Toro. (I'm a film student, so I know how to analyze a movie) and I think the reason Americans are an active consumer of Foreign films because most of them have quite more interesting story than most of the garbage hollywood is producing. Expand
  16. MarcusS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved it. It's theme of being half about the Spanish Revolution and the fantasy of escaping to a peaseful immortal world was the most immaginative thing ever! It has the best ending I have ever seen! The actors did a great job, and the visual effects are the best I have ever seen! The most amaving movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Expand
  17. JonathanA.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Wonderful movie. The contrast of a child's imagination with the realities of war makes this film extremely moving. Just know that it is not a traditional fantasy movie.
  18. SamuelL.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I have been told incessantly by indoctrinated critics that there is no such thing as perfection. I beg to differ. This movie is haunting, exquisite, and the ending will haunt you and leave you thinking. For a long time.
  19. JoeJ.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Great movie all around, a must see.
  20. ShaananC.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. From the elements of realism brought in by Del Toro's portray of the Spanish cvil war to the amazing fantasy world developed throughout the film. I can't see where the poor reviews are coming from.
  21. NicoleJ.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative and a great movie from every aspect.
  22. AdityaA
    Nov 24, 2009
    6
    I think this movie is overrated, the ending was good but the plot was bit boring & violent for me.
  23. RogerE
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.
  24. DavidT
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight necessary to accurately portray fascism. This is movie making at its absolute highest level. Expand
  25. ashleeb
    May 12, 2009
    9
    We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a good movie and recomend it highly =] I think that anyone who rates it that lowely clearly doesnt have a very broad imagination and is too set on the We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a good movie and recomend it highly =] I think that anyone who rates it that lowely clearly doesnt have a very broad imagination and is too set on the real world and thats finee.. just dont watch fantasy films. Expand
  26. mikek
    May 26, 2009
    10
    I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts you to another place you have never been before and when i left the theater that night something happened that hadn't before no one was talking that's how blown away by this film it is a must see for anyone who thinks out side the box. Expand
  27. EnzoP.
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I am still trying to figure it out.
  28. meelan
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for hellboy 2.
  29. SebastianF.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a logic, and speaks of a reality: the cruelty of war, the loss of inocence and the experiences of children in dangerous enviromets. It has to be said that it's also the most imaginative film of the year and it's not for children like almost every fantasy movie. In fact it's also the most violent movie I saw in the year. The fantasy functions like a counterpoint for the violent reality of war. It is a beautyful film. The art direction and the cinematography are just perfect, So grim, obscure, powerful, touching, and... again beautiful. The music, a simple lullaby so sweet and sinester stiks in your head and doesn't let go. The performances are exellent too. On the top is Lopez as Capitan Vidal, so deadly, precise and scary. Expand
  30. luisr.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, dark, powerful, the best movie of the year and one of the ten best fantasy movies of the history, mexico must win an academy award as best foreign film, this movie is the masterpiece of guillermo del toro.
  31. lizzyd.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    Now, this is an a-m-a-z-i-n-g film, very touching and poetic... probably the best film in a foreign language I've seen in a looong time... 10/10.
  32. luisV
    Dec 29, 2006
    7
    NO le encontré lo que la mayoria de los críticos le estan encontrando de impresionante.
  33. MattHarrison
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best filmThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Collapse
  34. JohnS.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
  35. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    It is, in my humble opinion, perfect from start to finish, a visionary, thrilling, moving, completely unique film-watching experience. I love this movie.
  36. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardlyI don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardly ever gets boring. Expand
  37. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow people really didnt like this movie... i guess they just didnt get it, the violence is not some sort of sick twisted torture porn, it was to show exactly the world the girl was living in and just how hard it was for her. And for the record I'm not sure what everyones crying about how BAD the violence was in the movie when half the movies out there use so much more and its done just for the sake of it being there. The whole point of the fantasy world was the girls escape from this violence, so now it didnt have to be a mirror image of the war plot, instead it is a look into the mind of the girl and simply from the world she creates for herself we learn more about her as a character. *spoilers in this paragraph* Even though she creates this world she still puts an evil/violent spin on it as she cannot escape it but in her world she overcomes it. Sure she may not survive in the real world, she may not live and there may not be a happy ending in the real world, yet she still holds onto that belief that its possible and that right there gives us so much insight into the character of the girl, that even in her dying moments she still holds tight to this notion that everything is going to be ok... THAT is why we cry at the end of the film, that she, despite all this violence and even her dying she is still able to hold onto that innocence. The plot is very much modernist in so far as it creates a story that is trying to mimic that of real life, modernists were very much into the idea that a story didnt totally have a coherent plot or that it didnt follow the usual rising and following action or have a happy ending as that did not mimic real life. This movie does just that.

    The problem is most people get it, some dont, they long for the comfort of the familiar rising and falling where everything is resolved in the end and if it doesnt follow that basic idea, that outline they get upset and storm off claiming its "screwed up" or "twisted" or just simply "stupid".

    Though the one thing i can agree on it was marketed wrongly, I bought the movie when it first came out on DVD and expected a fantasy movie just like everyone else.
    Expand
  38. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    A young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ran away from her kingdom only to be killed. Her father vowed he would wait for her return as long as breath still flowed through his body. Upon herA young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ran away from her kingdom only to be killed. Her father vowed he would wait for her return as long as breath still flowed through his body. Upon her arrival, Ofelia is visited by fantastical creatures urging her to claim her rightful crown as the missing Princess, a process that sends her on a journey that provides an escape from the horrific real world events all around her.

    Pan's Labyrinth is a dark movie with most scenes set in the brutal, and very real world, of the Spanish encampment that sees some shocking moments of violence. Sergi Lopez plays the Spanish captain to perfection making the events seem all the more real and horrifying. The visual effects of the fantasy world are simply stunning, providing an excellent contrast to the real world in which Ofelia lives and making her decisions all the more understandable.

    Where Pan's Labyrinth really succeeds though is in allowing the audience to make up their own mind about what is real and what is not. Talk to a selection of people who have watched the movie and each will have their own take on events, all of which are plausible when watching the film for a second time.
    Expand
  39. Sep 23, 2014
    7
    I seriously don't understand the love for this movie. It is far from being a bad movie but its a 7 out of 10, not an 11 like most would have you believe.
  40. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    A fairy tale mature in it's aproach and dazzling in it's dramatic and visual effect. What is so wonderful about this film is the way the end is done. Under a hollywood production the film would have never ended the way it did.
  41. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Del Toro has created a dark and enriching film. You'll be mesmerized by the wonders of the fairy tale world that Ofelia dives into while and at the same time be shocked and terrified of the reality she lives in. The result is one of the best fantasy films in a long time.
  42. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Literally the best of them all.
  43. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Bravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and the horrific impact of War. The acting is superb,Ivana Baquero is brilliant as Ophelia, vulnerable and inquisitive, her performance is frankly, worthy of anBravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and the horrific impact of War. The acting is superb,Ivana Baquero is brilliant as Ophelia, vulnerable and inquisitive, her performance is frankly, worthy of an Oscar Nomination. Sergi Lopez is also brilliant as Vidal, Del Toro has effectively contrasted the respective natures of the two characters, Ophelia represents youth, creativity and optimism whilst Vidal is callous and violent. Del Toro's greatest success is the creation of Ophelia's alternate dimension. Stunning visual captivate a scene both beautiful and morbid. Del Toro has succeeded again in constructing a brilliant story from a concept that, without exceptional acting, set design, score and screenplay composition would fail to impress. Expand
  44. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    Damn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes, the visual effects, are all ravishing. In addition, the thrills, the darkness, the terror, all work extremely well and have the desired effect on theDamn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes, the visual effects, are all ravishing. In addition, the thrills, the darkness, the terror, all work extremely well and have the desired effect on the audience. This one is truly magical to watch and really keeps you on the edge of your seat as you watch the events unfold. The comparisons It is truly impossible to not like this film. The combination of the fantasy elements with the war elements are very well done as well and both only serve to further one another. While the film is undeniably about the fantasy element, it would be nothing without the war element. Not a minute of the film was wasted.

    On the negative, I only have one thing, but it is a big thing for me that turned me off at times. The violence was over the top, it was far too graphic for my liking. I can connect the dots as to what is about to happen without having to see it happen. Most films do not commit this sin, but sadly, this one does. I still love the film, but I cannot give it a higher rating for that reason.
    Expand
  45. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Master-peace is really the only way to describe Pan's Labyrinth, what the film does with a simple premise is amazing, it basically reinvents the fairy tale genre by adding Darker, more realistic, circumstances to the situation presented by the film, Believable yet still feeling very Fictional, a fine blend between the two. Del Toro has really out done himself and you can see how much passion and work went into the project throughout chemistry between characters, the dialog, the amazing setting and visuals, every scene takes you by the hand and guides you through this fantastic film giving every little device detail and personality.

    Watch the Film, it will win you other, truly the only way to watch this film is Subbed, if it is ever remade in English the simple structure, charm and beauty within the movie will be violated.

    10/10: Master-peace
    Expand
  46. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Should have been nominated for best picture. It is and continues to be one of my all time favorite movies. It is deeply original in design, and I still have not seen anything quiet like it. The story is heartbreaking as well and I would take this movie over the departed any day of the week.
  47. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Good movie, but i don't understand why everyone gives this a 10/10, its really good done but i don't see how this story is good enough for more...i don't see the big meaning in the movie or story for more than 7 or 8.
  48. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    Heartbreakingly apt in its musings on war and fascism, but also simultaneously poetic with its eye-teasing cinematography and production design, Guillermo Del Toro's seminal fantasy/drama is sure to move even the stoniest of fellows.
  49. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    In my opinion, this movie was so good beacuse it was sad, exiting an at the same time dark, only if there werent so much blood it would be the best movie of 2006
  50. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    Pan's labyrinth is a beautiful film (not only is it pretty to look at, but the story is also captivating). The acting is also excellent particularly from Baquero and Lopez. Baquero is particularly deserving of praise given the fact she was only 12 years old when this was filmed. Pan's labyrinth is pure escapism which commands your attention and will leave you stunned by the end of thePan's labyrinth is a beautiful film (not only is it pretty to look at, but the story is also captivating). The acting is also excellent particularly from Baquero and Lopez. Baquero is particularly deserving of praise given the fact she was only 12 years old when this was filmed. Pan's labyrinth is pure escapism which commands your attention and will leave you stunned by the end of the film. An absolute must see! Expand
  51. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    great. This movie shows the pain and tragedy of war.
    i can't enlish. so i can't write a reaview in english. but. this movie great i know it
  52. May 14, 2013
    10
    It's like a fairy tale a brutal fairy tale.
    The characters, the costumes, the makeup, the amazing but sad story a really great fantasy highlight!
  53. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Una película espectacular, divertida, reflexiva, entretenida.
    Es grandiosa de principio a fin. Sin duda de lo mejor que he visto en mi vida y la mejor pelicula que ha hecho Guillermo
  54. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This movie blew my mind. Filled with a moving story and amazing visuals, Guillermo del Toro crafted his best movie to date. Be careful: it's not at all a kids movie.
  55. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Marvelous to the deep core, 'Pan's Labyrinth' is s astounding, so fantastic, that one must wonder how Guillermo del Toro came about some of the instances in the film.
  56. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    With incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts its protagonist through a distressing (and at times disturbing) adventure leading up to its tragic conclusion that will resonate with its viewers longWith incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts its protagonist through a distressing (and at times disturbing) adventure leading up to its tragic conclusion that will resonate with its viewers long after its closing credits pass. Expand
  57. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. do not pan Pan's labyrinth, because quite frankly, it happens to be a truly fabulous and greatly inspired mish-mash of fairy-tale fantasy (told in an eerie, unnerving perspective) and a little historical adventure too (the film is based in the Spanish civil war). As a little advice though, don't go crawling inside large trees to go looking for giant burping frogs, no 1: because there won't be any, just insects and not very happy badgers, and no 2: like Ophelia in the film, you'll be very muddy. otherwise, enjoy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  58. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    During and after for a while, I didn't know how to think of this movie to be a masterpiece. But as one of my early mature film experiences, it took a day;s venture to discover that Pan's Labyrinth is the most unforgettably harmonious and well-contrasted and magical piece of cinematic film I've ever seen. Just my style, just my kind.
  59. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    ''Stunning.'' Inventive.'' ''A Masterpiece and nearly the greatest film ever made..'' In misery there can be beauty... In death there can be life..In simplicity, there can be Greatness... Pan's Labyrinth will fires your nerve.
  60. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    Few movies shock me like Del Toro's masterpiece "Pan's Labyrinth". This is a movie which manages to present an original and brilliantly written fantasy world with some fantastic characters. I don't even know what should I talk about next: the beautiful cinematography or the amazing soundtrack. Well, let's start with the one that pleases our eyes: this movie looks beautiful with every frameFew movies shock me like Del Toro's masterpiece "Pan's Labyrinth". This is a movie which manages to present an original and brilliantly written fantasy world with some fantastic characters. I don't even know what should I talk about next: the beautiful cinematography or the amazing soundtrack. Well, let's start with the one that pleases our eyes: this movie looks beautiful with every frame being dominated by a certain color, more than a simple film grain. But our ears aren't ignored either, the soundtrack being mesmerizing and epic. These two elements combined create an amazing body of art which make the movie looking like a dystopian fantasy painting. So, these two elements are great, but the script it's what sends this movie into a class of its own. This is not just another fantasy picture, this is a deeply emotional and thrilling battle between the cruel reality which is Fascist Spain and the beautiful world of fantasy. Yes, I said beautiful, because through all the grotesque imaging of the fantasy world, it is more beautiful in the end because of the power of human emotion which surpass all the evil.

    In the end, I think this movie's greatest achievement it's that it managed to show us that there it's beauty in the dissonance, and it managed this through its artful cinematography and soundtrack, and, of course. through the sheer originality and complexity of the script.
    Expand
  61. Jan 31, 2015
    5
    The movie is visually stunning and the special effects are awesome,but,the movie is boring.Nothing really interesting happens in it and the movie is long for nothing.But,at least the acting is pretty good.
  62. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    Visually stunning , with an excellent amount of depth and some of the best storytelling and Pale face was as perfect as I imagined. It was just let down by its stupid characters such as Omelia and at times I found my self yelling at the screen at her stupidity.
  63. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    It's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the most beautifully and painstakingly crafted films in recent memory (and all on a budget of only $19 million too, which is pretty impressive considering the sizeIt's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the most beautifully and painstakingly crafted films in recent memory (and all on a budget of only $19 million too, which is pretty impressive considering the size of a lot of movie budgets these days), but the writing manages to seamlessly blend a dark fairytale (that doesn't lose its sense of childhood wonder and mystery) with the searing drama of the Spanish Civil War. Everyone's acting is up to the task too, even the 11 year old's. Expand
  64. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    ¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las criaturas y demonios que Del Toro creo para esta película es de admirarse y de respetarse, pues a mi consideración creo unos personajes tan únicos y¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las criaturas y demonios que Del Toro creo para esta película es de admirarse y de respetarse, pues a mi consideración creo unos personajes tan únicos y originales que le dan un toque fresco y innovador a esta película y se agradece que usaron poco CGI, el maquillaje y el diseño de vestuario se ve mas real y mas clásico. Es una de las mejores películas de fantasía de todos los tiempos, la mezcla de fantasía, horror, magia y suspenso hacen que "Pan's Labyrinth" sea un triunfo. Una aventura épica y mágica! Expand
  65. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    I have long felt this was Del Toro at his best. If you happen to be bi-lingual you would notice that the Spanish version offers a bit more depth and meaning to each scene. It can't be helped really, all translations lose a little something. Nonetheless, Pan and Ofelia found a way into my own dreams, or nightmares? You can't help but respect this film.
  66. Oct 16, 2015
    6
    I skipped this movie when it was being hyped and only watched it much, much later. Then I immediately understood that it works like a dream - with sudden changes in setting as well as emotional turns. As a vivid dreamer, I can usually tell movies that are designed after dreams. For example, David Lynch's movies most definitely are. Quite often, traumatic events trigger mystical dreams (orI skipped this movie when it was being hyped and only watched it much, much later. Then I immediately understood that it works like a dream - with sudden changes in setting as well as emotional turns. As a vivid dreamer, I can usually tell movies that are designed after dreams. For example, David Lynch's movies most definitely are. Quite often, traumatic events trigger mystical dreams (or series of dreams), and Pan's Labyrinth successfully visualizes one of those. As a mystical dream, it is enormously captivating - but as such, it also lacks cleverness.
    The most interesting statement this movie *could* make, I would argue, is this: Good and Evil do only exist in fantasy. Although reality (including love and violence) spans some extreme moments, it cannot be divided like that. Reality is complex, its events do not follow that logic, and injustice will often go unpunished - while Good and Evil remain concepts of literature, an attempt to provide some solace. That being known beforehand, this film has not much to say. It does offer a dream.
    Expand
  67. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    wonderful movie and one of the great fantasy movies of all times.
    it shows us borders between fantasy and real, between children's world and adult's world.
  68. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    An interesting fantasy movie based on fairy tale like coating. Though I personally did not like the ending. Anybody who wants to watch this film, I'm warning you that it contains sheer violent scenes.Overall better than avg movie (rated :8/10)
  69. mcp
    Mar 4, 2015
    4
    I opened an account in metacritic just so I could share how much I disliked this movie. I am a fan of fantasy; even at my ripe age, The Wizard of Oz is my favorite movie. But in Pan's Labyrinth, the character of the captain was so over the top as to be annoying, not really evil. That the mother could be in love with him, or even just using him for security, sex, etc. was simply notI opened an account in metacritic just so I could share how much I disliked this movie. I am a fan of fantasy; even at my ripe age, The Wizard of Oz is my favorite movie. But in Pan's Labyrinth, the character of the captain was so over the top as to be annoying, not really evil. That the mother could be in love with him, or even just using him for security, sex, etc. was simply not believable. On the other hand, Miss Gulch and the Wicked Witch were believable.

    I am still baffled that a talented filmmaker like Del Toro could leave me so flat, and that many others give this move such high ratings.

    The movie does deserve kudos for its special effects.
    Expand
  70. Jan 14, 2016
    10
    Not much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, the film is perfectly directed and acted, and with some really nice visuals as well. Not all the CG looks that great (the frog, for example), but itNot much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, the film is perfectly directed and acted, and with some really nice visuals as well. Not all the CG looks that great (the frog, for example), but it doesn't take away from the experience. Pan's Labyrinth is Guillermo del Toro's masterpiece, a film that will always be remembered for it's brilliance, it's brutal violence, and it's enthralling story, as well as a perfect ending. The only thing that could really take away from your experience with this fantastic film is that it's a bit lower-key than many might expect. Don't get caught up in all the hype. Does it deserve it? Every bit of it. But it's always best to go into a film with no expectations, lest you be let down, even by something as well-done as this. In the end, Pan's Labyrinth has quickly made it's way into my top 10 favorite films of all time, and is my favorite foreign language film. I highly recommend Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
  71. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    It really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more than just a fairytale. While most fantasy concepts are in some way predicated upon resolved suspense throughout its plot and in reaching its conclusion,It really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more than just a fairytale. While most fantasy concepts are in some way predicated upon resolved suspense throughout its plot and in reaching its conclusion, not all are able to fuse the two such that neither one or the other is its own. As a result, Pan's Labyrinth transcends our expectations and preconceptions and reaches its audience in more than one way. Expand
  72. Oct 16, 2015
    9
    An astonishing movie. Well directed, well written and visually amazing. The best part about it isn't the visuals though. See, the movie's set back during the Spanish Civil War and combines fantasy with harsh political realism. That's what makes it so great. And I'm willing to bet that a lot of people negatively reviewing the movie missed the point-without the war elements, it might haveAn astonishing movie. Well directed, well written and visually amazing. The best part about it isn't the visuals though. See, the movie's set back during the Spanish Civil War and combines fantasy with harsh political realism. That's what makes it so great. And I'm willing to bet that a lot of people negatively reviewing the movie missed the point-without the war elements, it might have gotten a 79 on Meteoritic but Doubt it would have gotten a 98. I'm in shock that it didn't win Best Foreign Language movie at the Oscars. In fact, if it weren't for this movie, I doubt I could forgive Del Toro for that disaster of a film, Pacific Rim. An amazing movie, truly as good as they say. Expand
  73. Oct 5, 2015
    8
    Pan's Labyrinth has all the elements of a fantasy adventure: costumes, props, effects, sounds, score, sympathetic heroines, detestable villains, mystery, and wonder. However, there is a great deal of cruelty in the film, and it is taken such a high degree that it detracts from the experience.
  74. Feb 19, 2016
    9
    Pan's Labyrinth is so heartbreaking that it actually takes your life away and burns it so you won't see your life ever again after see this awesome and burning movie.
  75. Jan 5, 2016
    10
    An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

    A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine period of great brutality set in Spain. But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense of both watching and being
    An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

    A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine
    period of great brutality set in Spain.

    But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and
    with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense
    of both watching and being sucked into a powerful story.

    The film makes sense when you put in an even more brutal scene played out
    almost nine months previously. The captain has clearly terrorised the area
    and all the surrounding communities. We have learnt that mother knows it is
    important that Ofelia recognise the captain as father; we know that Ofelia is
    coldly indifferent or more towards him; that at the time of the dinner she
    wilfully rolls in the mud – though ostensibly away with a faun (Pan has
    always been the go-between twixt man and gods, being half man and half
    mythical beast, a messenger and chord of communication with the other
    World) – ruining the expensive shoes and beautiful dress that her mother has
    given her for the occasion – Ofelia of course knows that such dress was
    provided indirectly by her “father” the captain.

    We learn that the mother is considered a great beauty, though in the film she
    does not come across so, seeming a shadow, a shell of her perhaps previously
    vibrant self; in conversation between her brother-to-be-born, Ofelia talks of
    the wondrous way her mother comes alive when she smiles, informing he and
    us that her present austerity and zombie condition is not all she can be ..
    We know that Ofelia’s real father was a tailor, that the captain was one of his
    clients; and the unseen, unshot scene of nine months previous comes
    harrowingly view.

    The captain whilst being fitted for a new uniform espies the beautiful wife of
    his tailor, he must have her and he kills the father and rapes the mother. In
    shades on the Tin Drum we see Ofelia perhaps observing this from beneath
    the table and we understand what has driven this child to seek the solace and
    comfort of her make-believe book-driven world…

    We now understand the opening scene; the late arrival with birth imminent of
    the mother and Ofelia and the Faustian pact that mother has made.
    We can imagine this butcher, this captain, king of his territory seeing this
    beautiful woman ripen into pregnancy carrying the child he must have
    fathered and in the death-throes of a war he knows is lost the imperative of
    the necessity for him to gather to him his heir – we have been told that he is
    illogically certain that the unborn is a boy and we know he is totally unfeeling
    to the mother and that her death is of no concern, but rather, at all costs, and
    at any risk to the mother, the birth of his son and heir is paramount.
    So he sends his troops and convoy to fetch this woman, this carrier of his
    ripening seed, such that he too can pass on his watch..

    The last scene, the death of Ofelia shot by the captain sees that as her life force
    ebbs she seeks refuge in becoming her fairy princess alongside her mother
    and real father and thus can, and does die, with an almost smile on her lips.. This is the only way that makes sense of this sometimes graphically brutal tragedy; the way a young girl seeks refuge from brutal reality and in the understanding comes an even greater sense of this time of brutality and savagery, which whilst set in the aftermath of the real civil war – the captain at one point reminding us of this by proclaiming that such war his side had “won” – sees an extension of this under the cloak of the broader 2nd world war. One of the best, perhaps even the best film I have seen that clearly has marked the psyche and consciousness of all who have seen it; though not one for either the faint-hearted or those without the backdrop understanding of this traumatic period. The impact and trauma of the times and the way this reverberates through the generations to the present day is a theme indirectly explored in the book by Robert Wilson, “The Blindman of Seville”, which book I am now moved to reread; or should I instead re-read “The Wisdom of Crocodiles” a book which explores the extreme consequentiality of disparate actions… A powerful film that has had me thinking all night and caused me to put pen to paper at 4am…..
    Expand
  76. Jan 21, 2016
    8
    Beautiful, violent, magical and sad....captivating from start to finish and one of my favorite movies.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-584-Pans-Labyrinth-online-free
  77. Apr 5, 2016
    10
    Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

    The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and the "real life" portions mirror each other perfectly and artfully. I will never forget this movie as long as I live. There are very, very few movies
    Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

    The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and the "real life" portions mirror each other perfectly and artfully. I will never forget this movie as long as I live.

    There are very, very few movies that deserve a 10/10, and this is one of them.
    Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Pan's Labyrinth artfully fuses a war film with a family melodrama and a fairy tale. The result is visually stunning and emotionally shattering.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.