Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2277 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,984
Mixed:
159
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
UnaiMJan 7, 2010
Absolutely brilliant
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SandraSJan 6, 2010
You should know a bit more about the spanish history and u will understand that the movie is not as violent as the true. Its a wonderful way to show us the cruel true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiagoFJan 6, 2010
Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece will NOT be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRMMJan 3, 2010
Few movies are perfect: Pan's Labyrinth is one of the perfect ones. Truly one of the greatest fantasy films ever made. Among my top 20 favorite films of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidTDec 25, 2009
This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight necessary to accurately portray fascism. This is movie making at its absolute highest level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerEDec 2, 2009
One of the greatest of all fantasy films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
joeqNov 4, 2009
Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so great, so I'd have to say you're the one who is being "simply ridiculous". I though the film was good movie, and be a big Guillermo del Toro fan certainly doesn't hurt. I though it was creative enough, but also a little excessive at points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillLOct 29, 2009
Flawless masterpiece. Unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DianaBOct 28, 2009
Really good story of the Spanish Civil War and its effect on a little girl.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantZOct 25, 2009
Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around her mad? Examine the story closely and it can be made more life-like. The fawn that tells the girl to steal the baby and do all this bad stuff could just be paedophile. She lives in a war torn area. So the monster with eyes in it's hands couldbe a blind person, who has been tortured to feel their way around. The film is deep, you have to think to get it and it's also beautifully haunting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrettKOct 10, 2009
Very good movie. Reminded me of a cross between Schindler's List and The Secret Garden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanMOct 9, 2009
Anybody who says Pan's Labyrinth is boring is a totally unsophisticated person with the mind of a 10 year old. My full review is on Rotten Tomatoes. My SN on there is Ryguy4738 M.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReneCSep 25, 2009
Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these people should go and live in Disneyland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EusebioPSep 7, 2009
Wonderful fairy tales and atrocious reality melt a lake of fantasy where you will drown like a child in the bed reading the Lord of the Rings for the first time. Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UnknownSep 7, 2009
After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described as one the most provocative films of the decade. The story brilliantly portrays the harsh realities of the Spanish war and a young girl's desperate need to escape it, which leads to a heartbreaking climax which will annoy most, and leave others wallowing in its wondrously ironic metaphor. This is a thinking persons movie, and for those who say complain about the graphic violence, are the types of people who live in complete ignorance and shelter themselves from the realities of war. Although I would have liked to see more the subtly stylized fantasy aspect of the film, I understand why they abruptly cut it short - fairy tales do not last forever. With a haunting soundtrack, brilliantly well told story, fantastic acting and exquisitely disturbing images of the war - this is one film a smart person MUST see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizSAug 16, 2009
Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of cinematography. It is simply perfect and enchanting. It has some much more meaning than most of the films out there playing in theaters at the present moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmericCAug 11, 2009
Great movie, great actors. But something's missing in the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDJul 20, 2009
This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into the human need for religion, the need to believe in life beyond death etc. in a world that is often cruel and without meaning. I'm personally an agnostic but this film gave me a new understanding of the religious mindset. A beautiful film that works on almost every level. Everyone should see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
meelanJul 18, 2009
The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for hellboy 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jul 13, 2009
Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with nothing taxing your brain throughout the whole safe, bland experience. @ Brian L: I would not call the violence in this movie 'exquisite', but neither do I agree with all your negative inaccuracies about the film. There is horror in this film, to be sure. And it is brutal and shocking - I guarantee you that's how it happened in real life. I hate to break it to you, but humans can be more monstrous than any fantastical creature. In sync and alongside the horrifying way humans treat each other in the film is the fantastical element of the piece. No, it's not Disney - and you seem upset by this. I am not sure what you were expecting but I think you were definitely on the wrong track mate, regarding fairies and what-have-you. The torture scenes were very tastefully done - you barely see anything, but are left with a lot of nasty things to the imagination. You mentioned exploding brains - not a one to be seen - are you mixing this film up with a more mindless horror flick? I graduated from film school. but I am not a 'pro reviewer', as you say: I just see and appreciate the movie for what it is, don't let any preconceived ideas taint my online text. My quick summary of this film - honestly a truly powerful film. A quite stunning blend of brutal history with an seamless injection of fantasy that has to be seen to be understood how effortlessly it entwines into the story. In fact, I don't think I've experienced another film that blends reality and fantasy as seamlessly as this film. The only detraction for me is the ultimate ending, and even this is fine except for certain little things. The 'correct choice' at the end seems rather cliched, in the sense that the film deals with it very quickly and moves on with such speed that it feels we are running out of time. However, apart from that small flaw this film truly is quite incredible. I encourage all of you to watch this film - you probably won't see anything quite as incredible for a few years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnzoP.Jul 12, 2009
Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I am still trying to figure it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KanePJul 2, 2009
Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of film making at its finest. A film made with care, love and passion for the medium that is rarely seen in modern film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeBJul 1, 2009
A brilliant mix of fantasy, brutal violence, and horror in Del Toro's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot Those who gave this movie below a 7 probably aren't very credible voters. This movie is beautiful on so many levels. This movie isn't slow. This movie isn't for those with ADD, this isnt a fast action thriller... I thin a lot of people do not realize that this is not an American made movie, but are judging i on American standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobKJun 14, 2009
Without a doubt, this is the epitome of cinema. Everything in the movie is so beautiful. I wish the people giving the movie bad ratings had the patience could go half of a second without seeing someone get shot. It's not that kind of movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 26, 2009
I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts you to another place you have never been before and when i left the theater that night something happened that hadn't before no one was talking that's how blown away by this film it is a must see for anyone who thinks out side the box. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
goodmovielolzMay 26, 2009
Kevin c is incredibly ignorant. this movie is brilliant. im sorry that some of you are too stupid to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ashleebMay 12, 2009
We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a good movie and recomend it highly =] I think that anyone who rates it that lowely clearly doesnt have a very broad imagination and is too set on the real world and thats finee.. just dont watch fantasy films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineCMay 3, 2009
i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a smart argument for why it wasnt a great movie, post it here, Miguel V, you and kevin c are the only morons that rated it with a 2, you are not critics, me neither, but i see good movies and i can differ a good movie from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxBApr 14, 2009
Truly an exceptional movie. The two stories are flawlessly incorporated together and the movie is actually quite terrifying, but without being a horror movie. An instant classic that will be remembered as one of the greatest films ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EddieEagleFeb 27, 2009
Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic performances by the lead actors. Del toro cleverly interweaves the fantasy world and the real world proving to be a true master of his art. Bodes well for his next project- the hobbit. If you have not seen this film I would encourage you to check it out and if you do not have a tear in you eye at the end you are made of some stern stuff Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianB.Feb 10, 2009
The only movie you need to see before you die
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MrFFeb 1, 2009
Deadly yet beautiful, I still can't get over how amazing this film was! Great in every way, my fav. P.S. If you find yourself giving it less then an 8 you just don't get the movie (or have a weak stomach)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomTJan 27, 2009
Brilliant elements, but they don't quite cohere. For me, the graphic ultra-violence limits the appeal. Yet the savagery of the Spanish conflict can hardly be overstated. A friend's father was a youngster who fled his bombed Brilliant elements, but they don't quite cohere. For me, the graphic ultra-violence limits the appeal. Yet the savagery of the Spanish conflict can hardly be overstated. A friend's father was a youngster who fled his bombed provincial town with thousands of civilians, mostly women and children. Every warplane they encountered, of either side, bombed and strafed these innocents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarioJan 15, 2009
Pan's labyrinth is a must, if you haven't rent it, then DO IT! it's a nice movie I loved it and I hope everyone else does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosRDec 30, 2008
If you can't understand the movie, shut your traphole. This movie was awesome and illustrated two separate worlds: that of war and that of innocence and fantasy. Amazing across the board, regardless of what lesser-able individuals say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetCDec 22, 2008
A BEAUTIFUL anti-Fascist allegory, which can also be enjoyed merely on a surface, aesthetic level. Anybody who fails to be impressed by this has no heart, no soul and no mind. Flawless in concept, casting and execution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusS.Nov 21, 2008
It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved it. It's theme of being half about the Spanish Revolution and the fantasy of escaping to a peaseful immortal world was the most immaginative thing ever! It has the best ending I have ever seen! The actors did a great job, and the visual effects are the best I have ever seen! The most amaving movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CalebH.Nov 21, 2008
Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not enough fantasy and not enough distinction between the two. The ending was the best part. The movie drags on in some places and should have been 30 mintues shorter. Good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 16, 2008
obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoA.Nov 11, 2008
I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) who's dying because of the baby she's carrying with. The Faun is almost the fantasy version of Mercedes. I'd like to say to the user that gave it a 1 because of it's unrealistic look, etc. that there are things way more important than un-accurate effects of the luger pistol, the blood, etc. I tell you this and you might think im a nerd who adores Del Toro. (I'm a film student, so I know how to analyze a movie) and I think the reason Americans are an active consumer of Foreign films because most of them have quite more interesting story than most of the garbage hollywood is producing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 1, 2008
This movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the SpartansThis movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the Spartans or Epic Movie, since you obviously don't know what a real film is. A perfect 10/10 for Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Oct 27, 2008
Wonderful movie. The contrast of a child's imagination with the realities of war makes this film extremely moving. Just know that it is not a traditional fantasy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanReyP.Oct 13, 2008
My expectation was that this movie is a great fantasy movie. But through the course of the film, I felt the war concept of the film more. And the war part was I could only say, finely done. And I still enjoyed it.I have seen anything like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannesW.Oct 11, 2008
The best film I have ever seen. It was a perfect story between fantasy and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Sep 29, 2008
A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions are misguided and, at their worst, completely irrelevant. For example, you say Del Toro is obese, but my next door neighbor has an orange cat (and if that confuses you, you've just subtly got my point)... Del Toro rocks. I could hug his big, cuddly ass. P.S. What are you even doing reading this anyway? I won't be bothering; better things to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaO.Aug 15, 2008
For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you For all the naysayers who gave this movie a low score, i'm sorry that you have zero imagination and must be spoon fed a boring run of the mill plot. But for those who enjoy the strange and enthralling worlds of mythos and fables, you will enjoy this movie. To end it I will say 4 words! BOTTLE IN THE FACE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveJ.Jul 24, 2008
My wife & I rarely watch a rented movie twice--preferring to return the movie as soon as we can & get another one. This one we not only watched twice, but we also invited others to join us when we watched it the second time! Loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChenL.Jul 22, 2008
What a beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Jul 20, 2008
A very entertaining movie with some violence and a fantastic fairy tale central story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EmmaN.Jul 19, 2008
Brilliant movie. It's so refreshing to watch a film like this. Each scene was obviously very well thought out. The sound and picture seemed so beautifully crisp. Marvelous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleJ.Jul 17, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative and a great movie from every aspect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceM.Jul 11, 2008
The most beautiful and shocking film I've ever seen. It's incredibly imaginative, with a perfect mixture of fantasy and reality interwoven. I can't really fault it. I was genuinely moved by it, it even got me crying. If The most beautiful and shocking film I've ever seen. It's incredibly imaginative, with a perfect mixture of fantasy and reality interwoven. I can't really fault it. I was genuinely moved by it, it even got me crying. If you're feeling strong enough for some very serious cinema, I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Jul 10, 2008
A beautiful, emotional, and spellbinding film that is the single best film I've seen in 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeaneSJun 16, 2008
Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning or significance is largely left to interpretation by the audience. Also the characters IQ, i dont know who specifically Baz refers to but i believe she is referring to a part (i wont reveal it) involving the child character in the story in which case simple mistakes are just a common child error. Definitely worth a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisS.Jun 6, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is a beautiful fairytale for adults, that will remain in someone's mind for a long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jun 1, 2008
Imaginative, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.May 24, 2008
Holy Shit! This movie kicked ass! The gory bloody parts are amazing and the fact that it's in a different langauge totally ROCKS!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeNMay 20, 2008
Honestly, this film is simply confused. Del Toro should have choosen one story line or the other to be the center of the film and the other story to support and enrich it. As it stands, neither story seems real. That said, the imagery is Honestly, this film is simply confused. Del Toro should have choosen one story line or the other to be the center of the film and the other story to support and enrich it. As it stands, neither story seems real. That said, the imagery is unforgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoB.May 17, 2008
Most beautiful, emotional and gripping movie I've ever seen. I was left feeling happy and sad all in one go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroM.May 15, 2008
Excellent movie. Very entertaining, really a classic. It has lots of violence, but instead of insulting it is sad, and makes one aware that reality is more violent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaananC.Apr 22, 2008
I absolutely loved this movie. From the elements of realism brought in by Del Toro's portray of the Spanish cvil war to the amazing fantasy world developed throughout the film. I can't see where the poor reviews are coming from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeJ.Apr 18, 2008
Great movie all around, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichYApr 14, 2008
I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a hold on you that you're virtually reading them subconsciously. The idiots who scored 0 for this film are the ones that can't watch and read at the same time, or just refuse to accept that a foreign language film can be good too! Maybe if it was dubbed they would have scored it higher? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KakesarS.Apr 7, 2008
I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh rating as 4, letalone 0. The movie was dark and emotional. There was enough fantasy to satisfy and the switching between harsh reality and mystical adventure brought a very powerful twist to the movie. I felt that the few violent scenes were well placed and did well to demonstrate the barbaric and sadistic behaviour of the fascist stepfather. That said, I was slightly disappointed as I feel the movie could have offered more. Unlike some people, though, I'm not going to give the movie a bad score just because it had untapped potential - it was still a fantastic viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanMayerMar 4, 2008
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting.
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting. But to comment that there was "no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening" is missing the entire point of the film. The film is about a young girl coping with the horrors of war and fascism, not about the events actually going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Feb 21, 2008
This film is haunting in every sense of the word. In fact, this movie redefined it for me. Every scene has stayed with me in a way that entire movies rarely do. An accomplished feat of filmmaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamuelL.Feb 14, 2008
I have been told incessantly by indoctrinated critics that there is no such thing as perfection. I beg to differ. This movie is haunting, exquisite, and the ending will haunt you and leave you thinking. For a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikFeb 10, 2008
Not a gilded treasure from the vaults of xerxes, like teh critics think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
The most successful of it's kind. Great, memorable scenes. Beautiful and grotesque, always tense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelB.Feb 5, 2008
I can say lots of great things on this movie, but I will only say It honestly made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Feb 5, 2008
This movie is awesome. Never have I seen such different concepts of movies blended into one so well. War, Fantasy, and Horror. A true emotional roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JajaMFeb 3, 2008
It was so beautiful shot and i fell in love with the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Jan 29, 2008
Stunning visuals and a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CooperH.Jan 26, 2008
I have never fallen so much in love with a story before seeing this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanBJan 21, 2008
This movie is definitely not a fantasy film. If you judge by the normal measures of cinema, and not by your own arbitrary expectations, you will find an truly epic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonMJan 3, 2008
A great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thoughtA great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of the film is nigh on criminal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
mikeDec 27, 2007
Definitely a cool movie. It's the only movie I know of that mixes graphic violence with fairy tale sequences. It also shows the terrors of war from the eyes of a child, and it sheds some light on how a child might comprehend all of it byDefinitely a cool movie. It's the only movie I know of that mixes graphic violence with fairy tale sequences. It also shows the terrors of war from the eyes of a child, and it sheds some light on how a child might comprehend all of it by creating some elaborate fantasy. It's not actually the most entertaining movie of the year, in fact it can be boring at times, it's just one of the most unique movies of the year. My advice is to go into with the goal of experiencing it in your own way, without preconceived notions of hating it or loving it. Once again, I personally was not entertained, but it has been 3 weeks and I am still haunted by the violent images, haunted by the cruelty displayed in the film. It seems to me that the movie presents violence and cruelty as being real and hope as being fantasy, and thus presents a bleak view of life that I am still thinking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisStoikoffDec 14, 2007
Quickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the factQuickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the fact that there are subtitles to truly appreciate this masterpiece. Knowing Spanish would probably be a great asset to you as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevensNov 23, 2007
An impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was soAn impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was so terrifying that the baby couldn't even make a sound. Mercedes inflicted damage on the captain but didn't make absolute sure before she fled in terror. Ofelia draws the door above her because she knew that was the way she came in and that she'd just end up in a wall.

And to those who say it doesn't have substance, well, that just makes me sad. The film drew beautifully off most classic fairy tales but then threw in ingenious parallels to the real world so some people would have an easier time taking it in context.

My 06 film of the year... so far. There's one left that could knock it out that I have yet to see and will be watching tomorrow called The Lives of Others. I also need to get my hands on a copy of Mutual Appreciation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahBeckettNov 19, 2007
Some people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idioticSome people really get on my nerves. Do the people giving this film a zero honestly think that it's the worst film ever and undeserving of a single point towards its name. Quit wasting intelligent people's time with your idiotic reviews and go back to watching Norbit and Big Mommas House 2. It's heartbreaking for me to see these bad reviews for a film so undeserving of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattHarrisonNov 19, 2007
There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thingThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
madsp.Nov 5, 2007
Terrifying, sweet.. Dark, light.. Fantasy, reality... Imagination, truth.. Hope, Despair... Life, death... Pans Labyrinth is one of the best movies of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanaL.Nov 4, 2007
A good movie. Possible answer to Zabbock, she might've drawn upward cause it would be more difficult for the wrinkler to climb upwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneH.Oct 27, 2007
The best film i have seen since i can remember. I broke down at the end. Never has a film had such an effect on me. Guillermo del Toro is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithJOct 26, 2007
Possibly the best movie I've ever seen. It's this or Casablanca. I guess the critics thought they were seeing either The Ferryman or Alice In Wonderland. Next time, read some previews first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZabbockK.Oct 23, 2007
Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended Good movie except for the length and ending. There were 3 hard-to-get-passed-areas: 1. There wasn't a need for Mercedes' scene cutting the captain with her trusty knife. I couldn't get passed the fact that she could have ended the war right there by thrusting a couple more times instead of doing some dental work and then leaving. She can cut the mouth and even threaten to cut her own throat but can't cut the captain's and triumph? - 1 point 2. I also found it tough that the baby in Ofelia's arms just happens to silence itself as soon as ol' Captain comes tromping into the room. And if she used a special door to get in then why not use a door to get out? - 1 point 3. In the scene where she ate the grapes and ran from the wrinkle monster, why did she have to draw upward? Why not draw where she can reach and get through easier? - 1 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasW.Oct 21, 2007
Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't make sense of...definitely worthy of a 98 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArthurXOct 17, 2007
Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both painful and uplifting. In blending the real with the surreal, he creates an ending that is satisfying yet true to the movie's ambiance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IoannisS.Oct 15, 2007
Innocence triumphs over evil even if in another life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelrobinsonOct 8, 2007
I loved this movie. The best movie by far this year. It tells a story that is unforgetable about the choices we make and what will happen if we make the wrong choices. This is what movies should be about. Now a days all they worry about isI loved this movie. The best movie by far this year. It tells a story that is unforgetable about the choices we make and what will happen if we make the wrong choices. This is what movies should be about. Now a days all they worry about is fancy special effects but this movie focuses on not onlty the special effects but the story. Which is why i really like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarryOct 8, 2007
Good but stupidly overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Sep 30, 2007
Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble understanding the setup. Simply amazing is all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelB.Sep 20, 2007
This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to believe that Ofelia died in vain and that fairies never existed or you can choose to believe that she made a change, and some sort of "heaven" awaits for people who do the right thing, which most of the times is the difficult painful thing, in other words you can choose to be Vidal or to be Ofelia, it´s called free will, remember that the pan never forced Ofelia into nothing, she chose her path, the one she thought was the right one, and she lived with the consequences. People who bash this movie do it because they were expecting a clear end, they were expecting the director to take them by the hand and show them the way out of this madness, they couldn't stand the stress of the overwhelming ambiguity and uncertainty of the film, but it is ok because that was the intention of the film, (in other words you feel like Ofelia did, you feel lost, and you choose to believe what you think is right) This is not the never ending story kind of film where everybody lives happy for ever and ever, or the labyrinth where Sarah and her brother Toby return home safely. Hmmm or is it?? Greetings from Mexico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FernandoH.Sep 15, 2007
A masterpiece. Point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LydiaJ.Sep 10, 2007
This is clearly a brilliant film, a "fairy tale" for adults. Surely anyone who has lived at least 45 years recognizes the fact that evil tends to masquerade as innocence and beauty. Bravo to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a film that gives This is clearly a brilliant film, a "fairy tale" for adults. Surely anyone who has lived at least 45 years recognizes the fact that evil tends to masquerade as innocence and beauty. Bravo to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a film that gives words, and image, to the all so painful truths of life, and human behavior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentA.Sep 5, 2007
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE IT! A majority of bad ratings nowadays come from people who haven't seen the movie yet. Don't be ignorant like that. Anyway, see this movie, love it, rate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MasherM.Sep 1, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen it yet do not listen to the few stupid and deluded individuals who believe Pan's Labyrinth is a bad movie. See Pan's Labyrinth yourself, and prepare to be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Aug 26, 2007
Anyone who gives this movie less than a 9-- is just plain dumb. too dumb to figure out what a good movie is. this movie was brilliant, probably one of the best films I've seen in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyM.Aug 24, 2007
An excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement forAn excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply set (realistically) in a time when the victors of a terrible civil war were still violently suppressing guerrillas from the losing side (btw this continued into the 1950s and estimates are that as many as 200K people were killed). Read a book, and learn some history. Orwell's Homage to Catalonia is a good start, although it takes place well before these (fictional) events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful