Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,993
Mixed:
160
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
WilliamM.Mar 24, 2007
Perfect film, a beautiful story with a brilliant ending. Best film I've seen in a very long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FutureCriticMar 23, 2007
This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie amazing, from how it was shot to the story and acting. Sergi Lopez captured the part of a heartless villain better than any performer ever did, and Ivana Baquero should have the fame of Dakota fanning, that joke of an actress. I was amazed to see it didnt win best foreign film in the oscars, Who would pick "the lives of others" compared to this, what idiots think that heap of crap was comparable to this? The only explaination is that Pans Labrynth isnt the best film of the year, its the best film in the last 15 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnastashaC.Mar 21, 2007
The best movie I have ever seen. I have never been so moved by anything in my entire life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
2RoadsMar 20, 2007
This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndresZ.Mar 19, 2007
Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. He neither knows a good ending from a bad ending, and quite frankly it hardly even matters. What the viewer perceives is more than just a remarkable story. It's an illustrious work of magic made for a must-viewing. And in the end, after Ofelia's last task is done, and the masterful score lay in the background, one can't help but think: Could the film be meant for something else? Of course it is, for it is a clear and thought out political allegory. But even by viewing the film at diverse standpoints, in the end it really comes down to the real truth: The film is nothing short of a true and simple work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MiguelM.Mar 18, 2007
It's a bit boring, but visually powerful, the "real" part it's too simple, the fantastic part it's beautifull. Overrated and hype, but it's worth seen it. Greetings from Spain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelA.Mar 17, 2007
Beautiful and Mystifying. There was nothing wrong with this film. I'm surprised and sad to see that this did not win the Oscar for best foreign film. What won me over was the lullaby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimMar 15, 2007
Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more would have the care that Del T^oro does for their visions, and ignore that which has become the bane of existance, the MTVGen X/next claptrap. When we as artists create or do something, we need to take that level of pride and craftsmanship seen here, as we essentially are creating our legacy for others to follow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMar 14, 2007
I had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe ofI had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe of all the visual effects. Sometimes it's brutal, sometimes it's just enchanting. Really worth your time and money for this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuddhaB.Mar 14, 2007
From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic arts, Del Toro's vision exceeds many prior attempts to "visulaize" human emtions, temptations, heroic actions and egocentric evil. The violent acts of the "real" world juxtaposed with the fantasy life of the heroine imbues the film with a growing tension resulting in the final redemptive climax. Beautiful cinematography completes the masterful effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanMar 13, 2007
Solid, fully-realized, and powerful film-making here. However, I can't help but feel that certain aspects could have been toned down somewhat and that more ambiguity could have been introduced, if only to make the "reality" depictedSolid, fully-realized, and powerful film-making here. However, I can't help but feel that certain aspects could have been toned down somewhat and that more ambiguity could have been introduced, if only to make the "reality" depicted seem just a little more believable and not so needlessly shocking. Surprisingly, what was presented as the definite reality on-screen was a little harder for me to believe in than that which I was supposed to question, which I believe was not the film maker's intention (nor should it have been). Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
8
TooBooCooMar 13, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually stunnong and superbly acted. Indeed, in 'The Captain' I feel we have one of the best villains in cinema history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility of the fantasy sequences - but I do not get why it is getting the reviews it is. This sort of dark fantasy has been done before (Mirrormask being another recent example) and generally gets ignored by the wider audience. I hesitate to say it, but one really has to wonder if the accolades somehow reflect the growing American fascination with, and apparent approval for, sadistic torture sequences in their cinema and TV shows. This film has more than a few gratuitous mutilations by the Spanish fascists, which didn't particularly upset or enthrall me, but which seems to exert a perverse fascination for many others. A bit of a worry. Good soundtrack though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JIMD.Mar 11, 2007
This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Mar 10, 2007
This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardW.Mar 9, 2007
I enjoyed this movie tremendously. It is very powerful. At the conclusion of the movie, my wife's interpretation and my own were different. Consequently it strenghthened my conviction that this truly is a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KidA.Mar 9, 2007
This is the most beautiful film I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JosephP.Mar 9, 2007
It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a highly overrated foreign film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaW.Mar 9, 2007
The best film I have seen in the past 5 years. Del Toro has finally achieved the perfection he was close to in Devil's Backbone. After a few dull years I am actually inspired by the medium again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JustinBrekkeMar 6, 2007
All the tips will get out of this movie is the scene with the dude who has eyes on his hands and he chases after the girl. If you are not a tip however it is a great movie and will let you into the unbelievable imagination of a triumphant young girl.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
7
LanceD.Mar 5, 2007
Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Predictable. Gratifying visual effects. I would rate this a B or B+ but no where near the ranks of The Godfather as Meta-Critic did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaElorduyMar 5, 2007
As good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain inAs good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain in more than a thousand words why they were not satisfied by this magical, magnificent masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeAverageMar 5, 2007
Off the top of my head, 'bittersweet' and 'lyrical' are two adjectives that come to mind. Could come up with countless more. Will stay with you forever...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NenadJ.Mar 4, 2007
Mix of fairy tale and cruel war film, incredible feeling during watching, must watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayArkMar 3, 2007
An amazing movie. The best one I've seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretG.Mar 2, 2007
It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter horrorstricken suspense or gripping my seat, ect. Truly a great and very original movie. Although I half expected David Bowie to pop out at anytime to sing "Dance magic dance!" This is a movie that certainly doesnt disappoint, unless you want to see Davie Bowie pop out to sing "Dance magic dance!" maybe in spanish, theres nothing wrong with that I guess. David Bowie is cool man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorM.Mar 1, 2007
The best movie of the year- beautiful, magical, haunting, and suspensful. Who knew bloody and beautiful would be in the same movie??
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephenR.Feb 26, 2007
This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially in the parable of the rose surrounded by thorns. Thank you, Guillermo, for a masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseG.Feb 26, 2007
When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so glad I came across this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonC.Feb 26, 2007
Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a group of guys. Not a good movie for small children. Perfect family film, to watch together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MasterXFeb 22, 2007
I cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie byI cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie by the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCFeb 22, 2007
I'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, andI'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, and I'm still in awe. Guillermo del Torro has made cinema an art again in a business dominated by exploitation (Babel) and Oscar bait (The Queen). I can't imagine this movie being topped any time soon, maybe only by del Torro's next serious project (not Hellboy 2, even though I can't wait for its release). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyF.Feb 22, 2007
This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is not tasteless or useless. i think it's right. Guillermo Del Toro always has a lot of gore. Now, with that said... The movie's brilliance is almost indescribable. Ivana Baquero is an amazing aspiring young actress. And Sergi Lopez is amazing in his role as the heartless villain. All the acting is incredible. The visuals are as astounding as the hype makes them out to be. The music is breathtakingly beautiful. The whole thing is just a beyond perfect piece of work. This is not a work of cinematic stupidity. It's cinematic genius. 10/10, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DreezyBabyFeb 20, 2007
This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see these foreign films for what they really are. This movie is not Spirited Away or Princess Mononoke, and it's not an epic as any of the LOTR movies which it trumps by the critics' ratings ... This movie is ok ... Let's say a much darker Chronicles of Narnia at best. Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Feb 19, 2007
I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before Disneyland and overly-concerned parents. The movie is hardly violent on an unnecessary scale (Saw or Hostel), but instead focuses on the harsh realities of a world where good people do not always live. Ofelia's story is insperational and heart-warming; a young girl who is compassionate about good, wishes to vanquish evil and most importantly, seeks to find meaning in her world, her life. As I mentioned before, this film does not open your eyes to some new dimension; it simply tells a classic fairytale, without the make-up and glitter that hides reality in so much of our daily lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimBFeb 18, 2007
A film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovativeA film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovative fashion, but individual aspects of the film are by no means the best they could have been. While the acting is good, it's not great, and characters (particularly the Colonel) are flat. Arguably, the film is meant to transcend its characters, but at the very least, Ofelia should have been fleshed out to a greater degree. The fantasy and reality plotlines of the film are only nominally interesting and would make for a terrible film if they weren't mixed. Maybe this is intentional, but it doesn't make it good. In regards to the visuals and violence, I was neither impressed nor horrified. Maybe I'm just desensitized, but the blood and gore are far from gratuitious: people are capable of terrible violence, and the movie doesn't suffer for showing it. On the other hand, the visuals don't have nearly the same impact as the recent 'Children of Men', which masterfully used brutal but less bloody violence to much greater effect. The cinematography, while pretty, was also fairly bland for a supposed masterpiece. 'Pan's Labyrinth' is very much worth seeing for those with reasonably strong stomachs and the ability to suspend their disbelief long enough to take in the overall themes, but a noticeable lack of quality in the film's minor (and not-so-minor) details ruin its supposed greatness. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
SherryB.Feb 18, 2007
I loved this movie one of the best I've seen in a long time, not for small children though this is a film for adults, I think alot of people forget that this is set in a period where times were tough and you have to work to survive. I loved this movie one of the best I've seen in a long time, not for small children though this is a film for adults, I think alot of people forget that this is set in a period where times were tough and you have to work to survive. Highly recommened. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomA.Feb 18, 2007
This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing a comedy for not being scary enough. Yes shooting children is wrong. I'm glad you think so. The movie doesn't portray the act of doing so as correct or "right" in anyway. It troubles me to see such people with such logic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottJ.Feb 18, 2007
Certainly not for kids, but clearly one of the better movies in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinS.Feb 18, 2007
A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the wrong impression, but suffice to say it most definitely deserves and R and children should not be allowed anywhere near it. Nevertheless, the movie is very imaginative and very well done. Its also extremely engrossing and adults will probably find it immensely satisfying, even though it will probably leave you profoundly depressed at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.F.Feb 18, 2007
Quite simply, one of the most imaginative and original movies I've seen in a long time. Instantly one of favorite movies ever. It's executed almost perfectly on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 18, 2007
P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that actaully made me aware of how horrible it trully was. So I have to give props, not many movies can do that for me. The movies fantasy attribute was very unique and eye opening, while the horror and suspense made a true villian. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizzE.Feb 18, 2007
This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and fantasy. Furthermore, it wouldn't have made it so emotionally stirring. If you're complaining because you though you could take your kids to it, you need to get over it. YOU are responsible for your kids--not everyone else is. Stop being such an entitlement jack ass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JFTLFeb 17, 2007
Haunting.... This movie will be in your mind days after you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XXXXXXXXXFeb 17, 2007
Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90%Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There's part which has to do with her trying to complete her tasks to become the fantasy princess. Just go see it. Make your own judgement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Feb 16, 2007
This movie delivers exactly what it intends to deliver. I didnt expect much from this movie especially with it having subtitles, but left amazed. I shutter to think the impact had I been able to speak the language.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MagnificentB.Feb 16, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's blood and violence . . . war and facism, folks! It ain't pretty, it isn't supposed to be pretty, and if you took your kids to see it, what part of "Rated R" did you not understand? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarB.Feb 15, 2007
Restores my faith in the power of filmmaking to transcend the quotidian. It takes us to places we could never have imagined. There is hope after all. Easily the best movie of year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryKFeb 13, 2007
A film so unbelievably good that Del Toro could retire right now at the young age of 29 and never have to make another film again and his legacy would live on forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MATHIASMoschelFeb 13, 2007
I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went seeing it twice. "Hauntingly beautiful" and "magic realism" is what some say and I totally agree. It seems that the more you see it, the better it gets. Certainly the best movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeThomasFeb 12, 2007
best of 2006!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshCFeb 11, 2007
Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same people who say that they don't like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Singing In The Rain. Come on, stop lying to yourselves. Pan's Labyrinth was an unarguable masterpiece, convincing and enchanting on a number of levels, in a world where most films released fail to do so on one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.Feb 11, 2007
I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and the hope and boundless generosity of myth and childhood. One of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanF.Feb 11, 2007
I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamT.Feb 11, 2007
I am 45 years old andthis is the finest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Feb 11, 2007
I must admit that when I heard this movie was in Spanish with subtitles, I was more than a little hesitant to see it. I took a chance and am most certainly glad I did!. Pan's Labyrinth will join the ranks of one of the best movies I must admit that when I heard this movie was in Spanish with subtitles, I was more than a little hesitant to see it. I took a chance and am most certainly glad I did!. Pan's Labyrinth will join the ranks of one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is truly captivating and spellbinding. As a matter of fact, I'm heading back to the theater today to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryH.Feb 11, 2007
I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with English subtitles, but you won't even realize it ten minutes in. This is not a film for children by any means, but it reminded me of the first time I saw movies like Tron, The Neverending Story, and Labryinth. It will take to a place in your mind where you were afraid of went bump in the night, but will make you want to see what is making the noises. Go see it, and be amazed!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneB.Feb 11, 2007
Brilliant on every level. Some viewers said the violence was too "graffic [sp]" and gratuitous. It was necessary, however, to show the extent of the horror from which the child escaped through fantasy. Torture and violence on the part of Brilliant on every level. Some viewers said the violence was too "graffic [sp]" and gratuitous. It was necessary, however, to show the extent of the horror from which the child escaped through fantasy. Torture and violence on the part of those in power exist in our modern reality, but we have done a good job of not wanting to see that either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YokSanFeb 10, 2007
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal enough to make people pay attention to you for 15 seconds.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
NancyHFeb 9, 2007
Wow--it's one of the best films all year--no kidding. This is heart breaking and brilliant. Acting is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJonesFeb 9, 2007
Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an understatement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HunterFeb 9, 2007
The most amazing movie I have ever seen. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimB.Feb 9, 2007
Excellent movie, very beautiful and surprisingly deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigD.Feb 9, 2007
Great Movie. Some of the special effects are unbelievable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayF.Feb 8, 2007
The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, the cinematography is seamless, and the narrative never slows or fizzles. An unmitigated masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomD.Feb 7, 2007
I would have to say most of the people who have negative words for this movie tend to like the crap that seems to make so much money but nobody really knows why. Example Epic Movie was at tops at the box office.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.P.Feb 7, 2007
I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears that I had witnessed magic. It has been months since I have seen the movie and it is still with me. This film and Del Toro challenges us to find hope and meaning in violence and innocence as they exist all around us. The balance is always in so much danger of tipping to one side. This movie doesn't need my support; it warrants personal interpretation not mass categorization. Watch this movie and you'll be still for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanC.Feb 7, 2007
I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps haunting me. The trailer does the movie injustice. See it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariusFeb 6, 2007
The film was mesmerizing. Brilliant political allegories and biblical parables, makes this a hard-to-miss-film. absolutely beautiful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
B.K.Feb 6, 2007
This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great movie if you knew what it was before you saw it or not. Another thing is don't follow the low user reviews, because there are people who are rating too low just to lower the score, which just chances people from going to see the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KuldeepT.Feb 5, 2007
An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be missed (i.e. military fascism, torture etc). This is a real contribution to the art of cinema, a landmark film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkR.Feb 4, 2007
Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had been long buried since childhood, but clearly aren't. There is an alchemy to this film that is breathtaking. I've never seen a film - or filmmaker - so artfully reflect our souls coping with mortality and evil. Without pandering, del Toro imagines the manifestations of wonder that guard us from reality and existential dread, as well as the monsters that rise in sleep from our reptilian fears. More importantly, he shows us these things to reveal the complexity of how we ultimately find hope. In the end, Del Toro creates ambiguity about Ofelia's fantasy, but what's ironic and beautiful and sad and heartbreaking about Pan's Labyrinth is that the movie itself is proof that magic does exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithFeb 4, 2007
Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic and 99% of those who've see the movie be so wrong?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanaM.Feb 4, 2007
I don't usually give movies 10s. But this one is special. Savage at times, mystical fantasy thorughout, this is a must see. Be ready to read the subtitles, but worth the effort.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CatherineC.Feb 4, 2007
Captivating, haunting, visceral and heartbreakingly sad, at times, this movie enobles the viewer in a way that few others have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OpheliaH.Feb 4, 2007
Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got my money's worth at the theatre. I say bra-friggin-va and cudos all around. (i dont know if i spelled that right). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marksfreecomixcartoonistFeb 4, 2007
Beautiful and gut-wrenching, fantastic and sad, people openly wept all around me. I am strongly tempted to give it a 10 'cause it really succeeds in all it attempts to do. Acting, story everything worked. Del Toro is a poet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mulderdogFeb 4, 2007
Maybe 98 is a little high, but I enjoyed this movie more than any other in recent memory. A solid 95 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettRFeb 4, 2007
Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to the obvious Goya reference of Saturno comiendo su hijo with the Pale Man eating the fairies, there are distinct influences in this movie which embody 40's Spanish sentiment. Patriarchy and Fascism are oft depicted through violence but never with such force and clarity. There's also nothing ditzy about a mother trying to save her daughter from the slums of 1940's Barcelona. Don't critize a film if you didn't understand it. Perfecto. Celeste, read some Borges while you're at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCJCFeb 3, 2007
Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies in quite some time. It starts out a bit on the slow side but by the end its hard not be fascinated by all facets of the story as they come together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryM.Feb 3, 2007
A great movie, but not for the squemish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyFeb 3, 2007
Great movie! Very weird, very disturbing, but very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.T.Feb 3, 2007
A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more obtuse one of how we must fight to help shape the paths of our children and their collective futures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Feb 2, 2007
One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to follow a story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaG.Feb 2, 2007
Masterpiece. Absolutely brilliant! I think is the best film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimKFeb 1, 2007
Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. My wife came out of the theater and said "That's what I want for Christmas next year". Hopefully we'll be able to view it again long before then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulN.Feb 1, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Visually stunning and a wonderful deomstration that fantasy can be reality too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jan 31, 2007
The last scene silenced the entire theater in an attempt to translate the meaning of what had been 2 hours of magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TorontoD.Jan 30, 2007
A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent A film like this only comes around every several years. It defies genres and must be viewed with an open mind. The violence is at a horror movie level, so don't go in expecting "Lord of the Rings". I gave it a 9 because it was excellent in all technical and artistic aspects, but I would have personally wanted to see more of the "fantasy" world, to give it a 10. Intense, daring, beautiful and scary all at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnaiMJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KadathB.Jan 29, 2007
Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open Beautiful. Disturbing. Emotionally draining. These are only a few words to describe Pan's Labyrinth, an amazing picture that will unlikely resemble anything you've seen before, but before you enter this film you must have an open mind. It's not the gore that disturbed me [though it is at a level of detail that many could find disgusting or shocking] but rather the magnitude and impact the movie has emotionally and visually, it's a beautiful picture but in a very dark and gothic way, in fact I don't know if I have seen a gothic fantasy work quite this well in a movie, and the tremendously well acted and portrayed vision of reality, blurs the line between the real and the fiction more than any story has before, and when it all comes together, you either feel everything the characters have felt or you feel nothing, and I can tell you the majority of the people will feel something. Pan's Labyrinth is far and away the best film in years, and considering it's limited release here, consider yourself lucky to catch it in the theatre, but even if you miss it on the big screen, you must make it a goal to see it on video- mthis is simply a film that cannot be missed, but once again keep an open mind [Also a warning for parents: It may be a fairy tale, but it is equally a horror, drama, and war film- it's most definitely not a film children under the age of at least 14 should see]. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikeperezJan 29, 2007
Anyone who felt this movie had bad writing or no meaning needs to take a film appreciation class. this is not a movie for people who dont want to think or make their own ideas about what the director was trying to say. For those who did notAnyone who felt this movie had bad writing or no meaning needs to take a film appreciation class. this is not a movie for people who dont want to think or make their own ideas about what the director was trying to say. For those who did not uderstand the movie it about fasicism and religion. Think chronicles of narnia with the closing scenes. The major theme of this movie is to no follow blindly but to question and create your own beliefs, to do what you feel is right and not what others tell you to do. Also many have complained that the violence was over the top. first of all we are talking about post-civil war spain. violence happened, its simple as that. Also it is a fairy tale. and no not like the fairy tales we have today but like the original fairy tales that the brothers brimm were able to collect. ever notice the violence and brutality in those tales. now bring them to real life and place those images in a modern movie and you will get more gore and violence then is in this movie. anthother complain is that the characters are one sided and are cliched. again its a fairy tale thats the way the characters are supposed to be in order to clearly polarcize the difference between good and evil. There are enough positice reviews on here to where i will not talk about the lighting and camera work or the special effects. But another complaint i hear was that people expected a different movie and because of this gave the movie a bad review. You should not base a reviewon the type of movie you wanted to see but the actuall elements that the movie you saw brought to the screen. just because a movie does not have as much fantasy as your stars wars fan wanted to see does not make it a bad movie. all-in-all this is the best movie of the year but not for those who do not know how to appreciate fine film making. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DaveJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the Absolutely brilliant! This is one of the best films not only from last year, but probably the last decade. Unlike many of the people here, I WAS NOT expecting more fantasy, because I read some of the reviews of the film. And as far as the violence, yes some parts of the film are hard to watch, but hey this is during Franco's reign near the end of WW II in Spain. If you knew anything about Spanish history, you'd know what a brutal dictator Franco was, so the violence depicted was all REAL. Actually, it was probably far worse. In any case, this is a must-see, one that will be remembered many years from now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidV.Jan 28, 2007
Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sidewinder572Jan 28, 2007
A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally I went in hoping for the best and at same time expecting the worst. How can a film with this much praise possibly live up to the hype? Well it does, and then some. El Laberinto del Fauno is the latest film by director Guerillmo Del Toro. It is easily his best work to date. Although I am basing this view having only seen two of his other films (Blade 2 and Hellboy). Those films were entertaining popcorn films. This however is something else all together. El Laberinto del Fauno tells the story of Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) is goes with her pregnant mother (Ariadna Gil) to live with step-father (Sergi López) who is a Captain fighting with the Nationalists at the time of the Spanish Civil War. The film takes place immediately after the war, when small pockets of Loyalists continue fighting the Nationalists. (For more info on the Spanish Civil War read a book) El Laberinto del Fauno however is not a film about the Spanish Civil War. It is a fairy tale and a dark one at that. Where this movie succeeds is that the lines between fantasy and reality are completely blurred and never once to the things happening in the fantasy world contradict those things going on in reality. Ofelia escapes into a fairy tale in order to escape the horrors around her. There are fairies, monsters, and a faun (Doug Jones) that sends her on various tasks. I won Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChayesJan 28, 2007
It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick It's an overal good movie, but like most people after watching this movie, I was expecting more "fantasy" scences. I don't agree with the 98 rating it's receiving here, although don't get me wrong it's a good flick all-in-all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FizgigP.Jan 28, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both Pan's Labyrinth was absolutely amazing. I did not know what to expect walking into the theater, but i knew what i saw when i walked out, a masterpiece. The parallels between the real world and the fairytale are very subtle, and both worlds in their own way were bitter and relentless towards ofellia. The Movie was very violent, but not overdone. The first scene in which captain Vidal kills a man you know what is in store for Ofellia. The monsters were beautiful in their own way each with a creepy dark fairytale aspect to them. The makeup was outstanding, and the cgi was not bad. Very Very Good Film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbeV.Jan 28, 2007
This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as I'd hoped. I think it may be one of the greatest accomplishments of cinema thus far. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StinkyP.Jan 27, 2007
all the negative reviews are written in the same style here. is it one reviewer submitting in mutliples? Anyway, I loved it. Incredible cinematics. Great mood and atmosphere. Mercedes from Y Tu Mam Tambien? Magnifique! How did they make that all the negative reviews are written in the same style here. is it one reviewer submitting in mutliples? Anyway, I loved it. Incredible cinematics. Great mood and atmosphere. Mercedes from Y Tu Mam Tambien? Magnifique! How did they make that stunner look drab? I didi see a 6 or 7 year old atthe theatre ... way too young for the disturbing scences in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisH.Jan 27, 2007
This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really This movie is really about how a girl dissociated from the real world to a fantasy/dream world, in my opinion. So, to be honest, I didn't care for it as much as I wanted to. (And I really wanted to.) I think part of it is that it really cheats the fantasy side of the movie, almost to be the equivalent of something like Donnie Darko, although just barely. Yes, it is beautiful, and the acting is very good, save the small girl, who's practically aimless. While it attempts to tie in the fantasy aspects with the real world, it more or less confuses the audience so that, at the end of the movie, you're left feeling, "So what?" It's not bad, but don't be surprised if it's not what you thought it would be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful