Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2277 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,984
Mixed:
159
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Bugger217Sep 3, 2017
There's not much to say about Pan's Labyrinth that hasn't already been said. It's Guillermo del Toro's masterpiece. An intoxicating and tragic fairy tale set in post-war Spain. It's amazing how a film could possibly be so beautiful in lightThere's not much to say about Pan's Labyrinth that hasn't already been said. It's Guillermo del Toro's masterpiece. An intoxicating and tragic fairy tale set in post-war Spain. It's amazing how a film could possibly be so beautiful in light of the truly ugly acts taking place within it. A juxtaposition that gets under the skin and leaves a lasting mark on the soul. I've seen this film a handful of times now, and each time I find something new to love. Each time, I am left a blubbering mess. It's truly special, but you probably already knew that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50May 30, 2017
one of the best movies that i even seen. It´s the most beautiful fairy tale ever with really shocking scenes and beautiful images. This is for adults for sure, but when you´re kids are old enough please let them see this movie. At the end ofone of the best movies that i even seen. It´s the most beautiful fairy tale ever with really shocking scenes and beautiful images. This is for adults for sure, but when you´re kids are old enough please let them see this movie. At the end of the movie you make what some characters do in the movie constantly: disobey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Zohaibpk02Feb 16, 2017
This is the nice movie I ever watch. You should share this on Social networks for quick promotion. buy Twitter followers, Instagram followers and Facebook likes from http://Followersgain.co.uk/
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
Pan's Labyrinth is my absolute favorite movie of all time. It is so incredibly magical, and just thrilling all around. The creatures Guillermo del Toro has created are just stunning. Everything about this movie is amazing, I truly believePan's Labyrinth is my absolute favorite movie of all time. It is so incredibly magical, and just thrilling all around. The creatures Guillermo del Toro has created are just stunning. Everything about this movie is amazing, I truly believe it is a perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
badfantasyrxSep 14, 2016
An incredible look into the clash between mythology and technology, between childhood and real life, Pan's Labyrinth is a visual masterpiece that pulls you in and leaves you empty, and wanting more.

Tatianna Anne Jindra
on YouTube
BadfantasyRx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoshuaTobackJul 29, 2016
Even after 10 years, Pans Labyrinth is still as perfect as it was in 2006. look, this movie is dirty. This movie doesn't hold back punches, both mentally and physically it will crush you. Guillermo del Toro is a master of saying everythingEven after 10 years, Pans Labyrinth is still as perfect as it was in 2006. look, this movie is dirty. This movie doesn't hold back punches, both mentally and physically it will crush you. Guillermo del Toro is a master of saying everything with nothing, and that makes even the smallest scenes more impactful than some three hour movies. I'd go into more details but this movie STILL shouldn't be spoiled. Seriously, if you call yourself a film lover, you absolutely must see it.

Note: It's in Spanish.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mm007Jun 22, 2016
An interesting fantasy movie based on fairy tale like coating. Though I personally did not like the ending. Anybody who wants to watch this film, I'm warning you that it contains sheer violent scenes.Overall better than avg movie (rated :8/10)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
night4Apr 5, 2016
Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and
Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and the "real life" portions mirror each other perfectly and artfully. I will never forget this movie as long as I live.

There are very, very few movies that deserve a 10/10, and this is one of them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
Pan's Labyrinth is so heartbreaking that it actually takes your life away and burns it so you won't see your life ever again after see this awesome and burning movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jelenabiebs31Jan 21, 2016
Beautiful, violent, magical and sad....captivating from start to finish and one of my favorite movies.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-584-Pans-Labyrinth-online-free
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrianAD9Jan 14, 2016
Not much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, theNot much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, the film is perfectly directed and acted, and with some really nice visuals as well. Not all the CG looks that great (the frog, for example), but it doesn't take away from the experience. Pan's Labyrinth is Guillermo del Toro's masterpiece, a film that will always be remembered for it's brilliance, it's brutal violence, and it's enthralling story, as well as a perfect ending. The only thing that could really take away from your experience with this fantastic film is that it's a bit lower-key than many might expect. Don't get caught up in all the hype. Does it deserve it? Every bit of it. But it's always best to go into a film with no expectations, lest you be let down, even by something as well-done as this. In the end, Pan's Labyrinth has quickly made it's way into my top 10 favorite films of all time, and is my favorite foreign language film. I highly recommend Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CavafyJan 5, 2016
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine period of great brutality set in Spain. But what is the film all about? The
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine
period of great brutality set in Spain.

But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and
with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense
of both watching and being sucked into a powerful story.

The film makes sense when you put in an even more brutal scene played out
almost nine months previously. The captain has clearly terrorised the area
and all the surrounding communities. We have learnt that mother knows it is
important that Ofelia recognise the captain as father; we know that Ofelia is
coldly indifferent or more towards him; that at the time of the dinner she
wilfully rolls in the mud – though ostensibly away with a faun (Pan has
always been the go-between twixt man and gods, being half man and half
mythical beast, a messenger and chord of communication with the other
World) – ruining the expensive shoes and beautiful dress that her mother has
given her for the occasion – Ofelia of course knows that such dress was
provided indirectly by her “father” the captain.

We learn that the mother is considered a great beauty, though in the film she
does not come across so, seeming a shadow, a shell of her perhaps previously
vibrant self; in conversation between her brother-to-be-born, Ofelia talks of
the wondrous way her mother comes alive when she smiles, informing he and
us that her present austerity and zombie condition is not all she can be ..
We know that Ofelia’s real father was a tailor, that the captain was one of his
clients; and the unseen, unshot scene of nine months previous comes
harrowingly view.

The captain whilst being fitted for a new uniform espies the beautiful wife of
his tailor, he must have her and he kills the father and rapes the mother. In
shades on the Tin Drum we see Ofelia perhaps observing this from beneath
the table and we understand what has driven this child to seek the solace and
comfort of her make-believe book-driven world…

We now understand the opening scene; the late arrival with birth imminent of
the mother and Ofelia and the Faustian pact that mother has made.
We can imagine this butcher, this captain, king of his territory seeing this
beautiful woman ripen into pregnancy carrying the child he must have
fathered and in the death-throes of a war he knows is lost the imperative of
the necessity for him to gather to him his heir – we have been told that he is
illogically certain that the unborn is a boy and we know he is totally unfeeling
to the mother and that her death is of no concern, but rather, at all costs, and
at any risk to the mother, the birth of his son and heir is paramount.
So he sends his troops and convoy to fetch this woman, this carrier of his
ripening seed, such that he too can pass on his watch..

The last scene, the death of Ofelia shot by the captain sees that as her life force
ebbs she seeks refuge in becoming her fairy princess alongside her mother
and real father and thus can, and does die, with an almost smile on her lips.. This is the only way that makes sense of this sometimes graphically brutal tragedy; the way a young girl seeks refuge from brutal reality and in the understanding comes an even greater sense of this time of brutality and savagery, which whilst set in the aftermath of the real civil war – the captain at one point reminding us of this by proclaiming that such war his side had “won” – sees an extension of this under the cloak of the broader 2nd world war. One of the best, perhaps even the best film I have seen that clearly has marked the psyche and consciousness of all who have seen it; though not one for either the faint-hearted or those without the backdrop understanding of this traumatic period. The impact and trauma of the times and the way this reverberates through the generations to the present day is a theme indirectly explored in the book by Robert Wilson, “The Blindman of Seville”, which book I am now moved to reread; or should I instead re-read “The Wisdom of Crocodiles” a book which explores the extreme consequentiality of disparate actions… A powerful film that has had me thinking all night and caused me to put pen to paper at 4am…..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLOct 30, 2015
¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las criaturas y demonios que Del Toro creo para esta película es de admirarse y de respetarse, pues a mi consideración creo unos personajes tan únicos y originales que le dan un toque fresco y innovador a esta película y se agradece que usaron poco CGI, el maquillaje y el diseño de vestuario se ve mas real y mas clásico. Es una de las mejores películas de fantasía de todos los tiempos, la mezcla de fantasía, horror, magia y suspenso hacen que "Pan's Labyrinth" sea un triunfo. Una aventura épica y mágica! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoOct 16, 2015
An astonishing movie. Well directed, well written and visually amazing. The best part about it isn't the visuals though. See, the movie's set back during the Spanish Civil War and combines fantasy with harsh political realism. That's whatAn astonishing movie. Well directed, well written and visually amazing. The best part about it isn't the visuals though. See, the movie's set back during the Spanish Civil War and combines fantasy with harsh political realism. That's what makes it so great. And I'm willing to bet that a lot of people negatively reviewing the movie missed the point-without the war elements, it might have gotten a 79 on Meteoritic but Doubt it would have gotten a 98. I'm in shock that it didn't win Best Foreign Language movie at the Oscars. In fact, if it weren't for this movie, I doubt I could forgive Del Toro for that disaster of a film, Pacific Rim. An amazing movie, truly as good as they say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RobertBroganOct 5, 2015
Pan's Labyrinth has all the elements of a fantasy adventure: costumes, props, effects, sounds, score, sympathetic heroines, detestable villains, mystery, and wonder. However, there is a great deal of cruelty in the film, and it is taken suchPan's Labyrinth has all the elements of a fantasy adventure: costumes, props, effects, sounds, score, sympathetic heroines, detestable villains, mystery, and wonder. However, there is a great deal of cruelty in the film, and it is taken such a high degree that it detracts from the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jedwardsAug 30, 2015
Speaking as someone with a distaste for all things fantasy, this is one of the most incredible films I have ever seen. It is brilliantly directed, acted and written. The fantasy world serves to convey a message of escapism and perfectlySpeaking as someone with a distaste for all things fantasy, this is one of the most incredible films I have ever seen. It is brilliantly directed, acted and written. The fantasy world serves to convey a message of escapism and perfectly juxtaposes the reality of civil war torn Spain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Will_EarwoodJul 21, 2015
It really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more thanIt really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more than just a fairytale. While most fantasy concepts are in some way predicated upon resolved suspense throughout its plot and in reaching its conclusion, not all are able to fuse the two such that neither one or the other is its own. As a result, Pan's Labyrinth transcends our expectations and preconceptions and reaches its audience in more than one way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 19, 2015
Heartbreakingly apt in its musings on war and fascism, but also simultaneously poetic with its eye-teasing cinematography and production design, Guillermo Del Toro's seminal fantasy/drama is sure to move even the stoniest of fellows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MummyFeb 4, 2015
wonderful movie and one of the great fantasy movies of all times.
it shows us borders between fantasy and real, between children's world and adult's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WARCHILDJan 13, 2015
I have long felt this was Del Toro at his best. If you happen to be bi-lingual you would notice that the Spanish version offers a bit more depth and meaning to each scene. It can't be helped really, all translations lose a little something.I have long felt this was Del Toro at his best. If you happen to be bi-lingual you would notice that the Spanish version offers a bit more depth and meaning to each scene. It can't be helped really, all translations lose a little something. Nonetheless, Pan and Ofelia found a way into my own dreams, or nightmares? You can't help but respect this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thetvreviewmanNov 11, 2014
BEST MOVIE EVER. this movie is just perfect it has a great blend of drama and syfy/fantasy really a masterpiece that everyone should see at some point in their lives.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 30, 2014
A young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ranA young girl (Ofelia) travels with her mother to live with her new step father, a cruel encampment captain, in a rural area of Northern Spain towards the end of World War II. On her way there Ofelia learns of the story of a Princess that ran away from her kingdom only to be killed. Her father vowed he would wait for her return as long as breath still flowed through his body. Upon her arrival, Ofelia is visited by fantastical creatures urging her to claim her rightful crown as the missing Princess, a process that sends her on a journey that provides an escape from the horrific real world events all around her.

Pan's Labyrinth is a dark movie with most scenes set in the brutal, and very real world, of the Spanish encampment that sees some shocking moments of violence. Sergi Lopez plays the Spanish captain to perfection making the events seem all the more real and horrifying. The visual effects of the fantasy world are simply stunning, providing an excellent contrast to the real world in which Ofelia lives and making her decisions all the more understandable.

Where Pan's Labyrinth really succeeds though is in allowing the audience to make up their own mind about what is real and what is not. Talk to a selection of people who have watched the movie and each will have their own take on events, all of which are plausible when watching the film for a second time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
naptakerOct 10, 2014
It's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the mostIt's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the most beautifully and painstakingly crafted films in recent memory (and all on a budget of only $19 million too, which is pretty impressive considering the size of a lot of movie budgets these days), but the writing manages to seamlessly blend a dark fairytale (that doesn't lose its sense of childhood wonder and mystery) with the searing drama of the Spanish Civil War. Everyone's acting is up to the task too, even the 11 year old's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerSep 28, 2014
A stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects and creatures that just look real. It's a mix of a fantasy and a war movie with touches of horror. It'sA stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects and creatures that just look real. It's a mix of a fantasy and a war movie with touches of horror. It's overall just a work of art that can appeal to audiences of all ages, although due to some mature content and potentially frightening images it is probably better left to the older ones. Del Toro created a masterpiece, one that should be at the top of your must-watch list. It is one that will stick with you long after watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
mustard_tigerSep 23, 2014
I seriously don't understand the love for this movie. It is far from being a bad movie but its a 7 out of 10, not an 11 like most would have you believe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gdaddy72Sep 14, 2014
Del Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think of the how far Star Wars was ahead of it's time in '77) had...Pan's Labyrinth is well deserving of it's 98...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JUIKERAug 30, 2014
It is, in my humble opinion, perfect from start to finish, a visionary, thrilling, moving, completely unique film-watching experience. I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
zperry-20Aug 16, 2014
Visually stunning , with an excellent amount of depth and some of the best storytelling and Pale face was as perfect as I imagined. It was just let down by its stupid characters such as Omelia and at times I found my self yelling at theVisually stunning , with an excellent amount of depth and some of the best storytelling and Pale face was as perfect as I imagined. It was just let down by its stupid characters such as Omelia and at times I found my self yelling at the screen at her stupidity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MuddsjrAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. do not pan Pan's labyrinth, because quite frankly, it happens to be a truly fabulous and greatly inspired mish-mash of fairy-tale fantasy (told in an eerie, unnerving perspective) and a little historical adventure too (the film is based in the Spanish civil war). As a little advice though, don't go crawling inside large trees to go looking for giant burping frogs, no 1: because there won't be any, just insects and not very happy badgers, and no 2: like Ophelia in the film, you'll be very muddy. otherwise, enjoy!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 13, 2014
Damn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes,Damn, this was a really good film. Visually stunning, Guillermo del Toro has crafted a marvelous film here. The visual effects are to perfection and brilliantly done. The sheer beauty of the film is amazing. The cinematography, the themes, the visual effects, are all ravishing. In addition, the thrills, the darkness, the terror, all work extremely well and have the desired effect on the audience. This one is truly magical to watch and really keeps you on the edge of your seat as you watch the events unfold. The comparisons It is truly impossible to not like this film. The combination of the fantasy elements with the war elements are very well done as well and both only serve to further one another. While the film is undeniably about the fantasy element, it would be nothing without the war element. Not a minute of the film was wasted.

On the negative, I only have one thing, but it is a big thing for me that turned me off at times. The violence was over the top, it was far too graphic for my liking. I can connect the dots as to what is about to happen without having to see it happen. Most films do not commit this sin, but sadly, this one does. I still love the film, but I cannot give it a higher rating for that reason.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews