Pan's Labyrinth

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 2126 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JoeThomas
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    best of 2006!
  2. HarryK
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    A film so unbelievably good that Del Toro could retire right now at the young age of 29 and never have to make another film again and his legacy would live on forever.
  3. RobertS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    This movie delivers exactly what it intends to deliver. I didnt expect much from this movie especially with it having subtitles, but left amazed. I shutter to think the impact had I been able to speak the language.
  4. MagnificentB.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's One of the best movies I've ever seen. A wonderful story that captures the horrors of war, the evils of facism, and the oftentimes difficult decisions involved in making "moral" choices. Del Toro has finally made a movie that not only delivers on the promise he showed with "The devils Backbone", but actually eclipses it. And to the reviewers who criticized the film for it's blood and violence . . . war and facism, folks! It ain't pretty, it isn't supposed to be pretty, and if you took your kids to see it, what part of "Rated R" did you not understand? Expand
  5. XXXXXXXXX
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Anyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There'sAnyone who has rated this less than an 8 doesn't know what good movies are. This one is Amazing! Yes, there are some brutal scenes of violence, but its done well and (if you didnt close your eyes) looks very real. This is NOT 90% violence like one reviewer has said. Most of the movie has to do with the little girl's relationship with her mother and her step-dad. There's part which has to do with her trying to complete her tasks to become the fantasy princess. Just go see it. Make your own judgement. Expand
  6. JFTL
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Haunting.... This movie will be in your mind days after you see it.
  7. LizzE.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and This movie is rated R. Anyone who thought this was a flick for kids clearly didn't see that bit. Furthermore, the acting is fantastic. The violence is very graphic, but the choice to make the "real world" parts of the film as realistic as possible was a wise one--hollywood BS would have completely ruined it, and made it difficult to differentiate between Ofelia's reality and fantasy. Furthermore, it wouldn't have made it so emotionally stirring. If you're complaining because you though you could take your kids to it, you need to get over it. YOU are responsible for your kids--not everyone else is. Stop being such an entitlement jack ass. Expand
  8. TomA.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing This is such an amazing, amazing movie for so many reasons. So good, in fact, that it has been in my dreams for the past few nights. Not since Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers have I felt so alive after watching a film. Also to some of the complainers down bellow: The film is a Gothic fairy tale, meaning it's supposed to be very dark and devoid of humor. That's like criticizing a comedy for not being scary enough. Yes shooting children is wrong. I'm glad you think so. The movie doesn't portray the act of doing so as correct or "right" in anyway. It troubles me to see such people with such logic. Expand
  9. TimB
    Feb 18, 2007
    7
    A film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovative fashion, but individual aspects of the film are by no means the best they could have been. While the acting is good, it's not great, and charactersA film of sufficient quality to meet my standards of good art, but by no means does Pan's Labyrinth stand up to the kind of hype it's been given lately. Analyzed as a whole, the movie mixes fantasy and reality in an innovative fashion, but individual aspects of the film are by no means the best they could have been. While the acting is good, it's not great, and characters (particularly the Colonel) are flat. Arguably, the film is meant to transcend its characters, but at the very least, Ofelia should have been fleshed out to a greater degree. The fantasy and reality plotlines of the film are only nominally interesting and would make for a terrible film if they weren't mixed. Maybe this is intentional, but it doesn't make it good. In regards to the visuals and violence, I was neither impressed nor horrified. Maybe I'm just desensitized, but the blood and gore are far from gratuitious: people are capable of terrible violence, and the movie doesn't suffer for showing it. On the other hand, the visuals don't have nearly the same impact as the recent 'Children of Men', which masterfully used brutal but less bloody violence to much greater effect. The cinematography, while pretty, was also fairly bland for a supposed masterpiece. 'Pan's Labyrinth' is very much worth seeing for those with reasonably strong stomachs and the ability to suspend their disbelief long enough to take in the overall themes, but a noticeable lack of quality in the film's minor (and not-so-minor) details ruin its supposed greatness. Expand
  10. DreezyBaby
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see This movie is ok, it really doesn't warrant the 98 of a hundred it got. If this movie was made in Hollywood and I mean the exact same movie, it wouldn't have scored more than 85 at best. The movie really feels more like a 76ish type of movie. There is the need to escape from the usual brain numbing garbage Hollywood keeps churning out movie after movie, but we also need to see these foreign films for what they really are. This movie is not Spirited Away or Princess Mononoke, and it's not an epic as any of the LOTR movies which it trumps by the critics' ratings ... This movie is ok ... Let's say a much darker Chronicles of Narnia at best. Thank you. Expand
  11. AnaG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Masterpiece. Absolutely brilliant! I think is the best film of the year.
  12. Tiffany
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Great movie! Very weird, very disturbing, but very good.
  13. JCJC
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Celeste R. seems to be missing the point. The characters are supposed to be somewhat one dimensional. This is a modern day fairy tale and a resoundingly brilliant one at that. One of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences at the movies in quite some time. It starts out a bit on the slow side but by the end its hard not be fascinated by all facets of the story as they come together.
  14. OpheliaH.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got Overall the movie had an excellent storyline. You really don't know what to expect and I definately didn't get what I expected, but I am not saying that is a bad thing. I personally would opt for less violence, but it really shows how dark some peoples souls really are. I just hope that it doesn't fill anyones head with any ideas. The movie makes me feel like I went and got my money's worth at the theatre. I say bra-friggin-va and cudos all around. (i dont know if i spelled that right). Expand
  15. Keith
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic Thanks Celeste! Thanks so much for setting us all straight. You'd think all the critics, what with their fancy smancy degrees and years upon years of viewing and reviewing films could have seen the movie for what it really was. I guess they and all the rest of us who agreed with them are just not as bright as you! You certainly proved your point. I mean, how could every single critic and 99% of those who've see the movie be so wrong?! Expand
  16. MarkR.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had Astonishing to see the reactions this film has prompted. Even the rationale behind the lower scores are thought provoking, rare for metacritic boards. As for myself, I believe this to be one of the very finest movies I've ever seen or likely ever will. But not because I think it's perfect. Rather, I think this is a masterpiece because it touched feelings in me that I thought had been long buried since childhood, but clearly aren't. There is an alchemy to this film that is breathtaking. I've never seen a film - or filmmaker - so artfully reflect our souls coping with mortality and evil. Without pandering, del Toro imagines the manifestations of wonder that guard us from reality and existential dread, as well as the monsters that rise in sleep from our reptilian fears. More importantly, he shows us these things to reveal the complexity of how we ultimately find hope. In the end, Del Toro creates ambiguity about Ofelia's fantasy, but what's ironic and beautiful and sad and heartbreaking about Pan's Labyrinth is that the movie itself is proof that magic does exist. Expand
  17. J.P.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears I'm not sure a movie like this needs much to be said about it. It exists independetly of us, it doesn't need us to live. If you have not seen this movie, I plead with you to go see it. This not a child's film or is it supposed to be. This is a film that despite the violence (the violence is never unnecessary or over-simplified) had me in tears at the end. These were tears that I had witnessed magic. It has been months since I have seen the movie and it is still with me. This film and Del Toro challenges us to find hope and meaning in violence and innocence as they exist all around us. The balance is always in so much danger of tipping to one side. This movie doesn't need my support; it warrants personal interpretation not mass categorization. Watch this movie and you'll be still for a long time. Expand
  18. TomD.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I would have to say most of the people who have negative words for this movie tend to like the crap that seems to make so much money but nobody really knows why. Example Epic Movie was at tops at the box office.
  19. JayF.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    The best film I've ever seen. Period. I don't usually get worked up about these sorts of things, but I've never seen a film as compelling, rich, and beautiful as this one. From start to finish, the performances are perfect, the cinematography is seamless, and the narrative never slows or fizzles. An unmitigated masterpiece.
  20. CraigD.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Great Movie. Some of the special effects are unbelievable.
  21. Hunter
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    The most amazing movie I have ever seen. Period.
  22. TooBooCoo
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Pan's Labyrinth seems perhaps a little overrated by critics, who seem to gift foreign language films a token 15% extra when deciding on the rating. However, it was a thouroughly well crafted and imagigined piece of work, both visually stunnong and superbly acted. Indeed, in 'The Captain' I feel we have one of the best villains in cinema history.
  23. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    I had low expectations for this, as I find many movies that are critically acclaimed to be uninteresting and confusing. But I actually really liked this. Sometimes you're on the edge of your seat, sometimes you're just in awe of all the visual effects. Sometimes it's brutal, sometimes it's just enchanting. Really worth your time and money for this masterpiece.
  24. Kim
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more Not many movies rate a re-watching after I have seen them. 99.8% of all th stiories today are retreads and schlock. El Labyrinto del Fauno is not only worth every second of film. I will own it, cherish ih and enjoy it Many more times. It is so artfully and caringly crafted, you feel a part of the story. fantasy and brutal reality mix and collide in most fascinating ways. I wish that more would have the care that Del T^oro does for their visions, and ignore that which has become the bane of existance, the MTVGen X/next claptrap. When we as artists create or do something, we need to take that level of pride and craftsmanship seen here, as we essentially are creating our legacy for others to follow. Expand
  25. MichaelA.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and Mystifying. There was nothing wrong with this film. I'm surprised and sad to see that this did not win the Oscar for best foreign film. What won me over was the lullaby.
  26. AnastashaC.
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. I have never been so moved by anything in my entire life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
  27. FutureCritic
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie This is my second favorite movie of all time. Definatley the best made in my lifetime. The only movie I like better than this is Jurrasic Park, and that is because it is one of the first movies i ever saw. This movie was a masterpeice to be remembered and revered as the godfather or casablanca, different genres, but both are amazingly well done. I am only 13 and i found this movie amazing, from how it was shot to the story and acting. Sergi Lopez captured the part of a heartless villain better than any performer ever did, and Ivana Baquero should have the fame of Dakota fanning, that joke of an actress. I was amazed to see it didnt win best foreign film in the oscars, Who would pick "the lives of others" compared to this, what idiots think that heap of crap was comparable to this? The only explaination is that Pans Labrynth isnt the best film of the year, its the best film in the last 15 years. Expand
  28. KayArk
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    An amazing movie. The best one I've seen this year.
  29. RafaElorduy
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    As good is this film that everyone who has given it a "10" (including myself of course) don´t have to explain much to say that it is one of the best movies ever made. On the contrary, those who give it a low rating have to explain in more than a thousand words why they were not satisfied by this magical, magnificent masterpiece.
  30. LanceD.
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Surprised at such high score on Meta-Critic. I do believe if this movie was made by and in Hollywood it would not have scored as high. The plot is simplistic. I kept waiting for surprise twist at the end with the Faun but it never developed. Predictable. Gratifying visual effects. I would rate this a B or B+ but no where near the ranks of The Godfather as Meta-Critic did.
  31. JustinBrekke
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    All the tips will get out of this movie is the scene with the dude who has eyes on his hands and he chases after the girl. If you are not a tip however it is a great movie and will let you into the unbelievable imagination of a triumphant young girl.
  32. RichardW.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed this movie tremendously. It is very powerful. At the conclusion of the movie, my wife's interpretation and my own were different. Consequently it strenghthened my conviction that this truly is a great movie.
  33. Miko
    Apr 13, 2007
    7
    Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film Perspective is required with this Movie. So far reactions have been completely over the top. The film is neither so brilliant as to make you reconsider how you live your life or so poor as to make you wish you had taken your granny out for tea and scones instead. Yes it very imaginative with great acting and contains thought provoking insights. But the magic only touches the edges of film like elaborate embroidering and the violence distracts to the point of gratuitousness. In the end, the movie fails to be truly immersive or involving and one feels like one has had a quaint trip to the theatre rather than a journey to the other side of imagination. Expand
  34. KurtisR.
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    One of the best film of 2006. The idea of magic realism translates onto the film medium with breathtakaing visual veracity and power.
  35. JasonL.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is simply one of the best movies ever made. The ending scene was simply brilliant, it makes no judgement, and lets you decide if you are sad or elated.
  36. MattP.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Although it is no longer in theaters, it will soon beout on DVD. If you are seventeen or older, and can stomach some pretty brutal scenes, you will be treated to, at least in my opinion, the best movie of 2006
  37. MojoPiN
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, This movie was as astounding as they say. More so then even the brilliant acting and directing was the mood that was set throughout the entire script. You were able to really place yourself in the beginnings of what was to be Franco's Spain and the whole affair flowed seamlessly. There was no overacting here, no overt Hollywood drama whose formula is old and tired. It was genuine, believable and most of all inspiring. A beautiful flick for anyone to see, even the most alpha of males. Expand
  38. RobinJ.
    Apr 24, 2007
    8
    I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more I don't really understand Spanish and there are no subtitles to help me understand while I watched the movie. But i can see the struggles of war and the classic tale of good versus evil. And this one, of course the good triumphs. After I watched, all I remember was that the film is a war film. It depicts the horror, the fear, the violence and the selfishness of war. For more squeamish people, like me, this film is a bit difficult and uncomfortable to watch. But the fantasy part of the film is beautiful. The fantasy side is used to describe the hope of peace and safety that you wish for when you are facing war. It's original and i give credit for that. Expand
  39. Ghostly
    Apr 25, 2007
    8
    this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director this film was vibrant with darkness life and death spirtual...and brought me to my own childhood...where i looked for escape doors and other portals to get away from the dreary parisian buildings and adults...who surrounded me...with their sharp energies. Children are not as innocent as u think. especially in today s modern world. think about what a fairy tale really is. Our director honnored the true function of a fairy tale. we tell our children fairy tales to warn them about the world educate them about courage faith trust and honnor we educate our children that death and life exist and that magic is the power of their own hearts and souls and basically many worldy fairy tales are bloody and scary and horrid and also magical with prizes and challenges and punishements and risks. this little girl moved me...she was very very brave. she was alive and cared deeply about life about her mom s well being...about her new friend mercedes well being and understaood the wickedness of her stepp father. She was able to recognize evil. and choose good. she was a child. but she had the soul of a warrior princess. adn in this world we live in why should we hide the truth from our little children...? Dont they see hellraiser friday the 13th and other creepy movies anyways? Or what about all the cartoons on tv. do u think those cartoons are that sweet. they are more perverse. or what about the glorified politics of ou r governemtns which are killing children? Should we hide this stuff from our children. Fairy tales and life and blood have always been hand in hand. even hensel and grettel is not nice story and it is europeen. it s like pocahontas lies..made by disney...that she was in love and happy with the blond dude... but actually...she was forced to marry him and follow him to his ugly grey old england city..where she got sick from a european disease and then died. But that fairy tale with Disney made it look like colonization never happened... So thank u for Truth and for loving ly working on every single frame. Also ...I just want to say ...that it was about God and life and death...and life after Death...and spiritual life. Our world ..hahhaha...do u know how many children live thirsty..on the streets ...how many children beg...are victims of organ traffic business...victims of sex exploitation business... are victims of pedophiles... so please... do bring ur kid to see this flick. i would have loved it when i was a kid. Expand
  40. MattB.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    One of the most moving pictures I have ever seen. Unique, creative, and memorable. Simply put, it was amazing.
  41. RyanTerry
    May 15, 2007
    10
    I loved everything about this movie. Incredibly imaginative. It takes you to a whole other world.
  42. PatrickD.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Stunning film that should have won Best Picture. Along with United 93 and Children of Men, it was one of the best films of the past decade let alone the year of 2006. What all those 3 films have in common is what people do when confronted when society is falling apart. This film is worth the emotional investment
  43. ChadSwee
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Pan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of aPan's Labyrinth, a film (written and directed) by Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy), is a memorable, unique, and adventurous movie that excells in many aspects. The plot revolves around a young spanish (and that's Spain spanish, not Mexico spanish) girl, Ofelia, whose mother has been widowed and is now moving in with her new husband who happens to be the captain of a fascist group that overtook Spain. The captain plays the role of a ruthless ruler, similiar to that of the Nazi in Schindler's List. The actor plays this character flawlessly, but he is not the only person who brings a good acting performance to the table. The mother, doctor, maid and many others perfectly play their parts also, with the exception of the lead character, Ofelia. Ofelia comes off as a very dull and undramatic young girl, roughly the age of 12, eventhough she is supposed to be full of imagination. She has a passion for fairy tales, and as she witnesses the violent nature of the captain and his group she uses her mind to escape reality. This movie, in all actuality, is a fairy tale for adults. The plot is interesting, and definately a fresh breath of air compared to recent films that keep using revenge as a motive for every last thing. From a directing stand point Pan's Labyrinth is amazing. It's gorgeous to watch, exciting to watch, and, most importantly, fun to watch. Pan's Labyrinth may not blow you away, but is ultimately a great movie. It gets, on a scale of one to ten, five being average, a nine.
    Oh and just a little fore-warning, this movie is in spanish and therefore you have to read english subtitles. This may shy people away from watching it, but by no means should you let this one go simply because of having to read subtitles.
    Expand
  44. TriciaR.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I have spent almost as long reading these comments as I did watching the film - fascinating. Maybe the distinguishing feature of art is that 'all or nothing' engagement on many levels. Genius doesn't have to be perfect.
  45. JoeZ.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    This is an oustanding film which is deeply moving. when I left the theatre I felt like my emotional stability had been put through the ringer, but only to emerge stronger in the end. For me this film really evoked one of those expreriences where you are so wrapped in the drama that the consequences of the story feel real. Excellent.
  46. LL.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    The movie was wonderful with one massive omission. I am baffled by the directors decision to include the nose bashing scene. It was something out of a B' slasher movie. Other wise it was truly thought provoking. Is the afterlife as individual as each of us?
  47. ArielL.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and originally. I think my next one will be Once.
  48. BlakeW.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both its story and visuals. If you don't realize this there is something wrong with you...seriously.
  49. JayA
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Stirring, violent, emotional and fantastical. Ivana Baquero is a wonderful actress and the whole story is well thought-out and incredibly well executed by the whole cast.
  50. BruceQ.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's Labyrinth is beautiful, thrilling and poignant. Unless you are looking for Disney fare or think films with subtitles are too taxing, you will enthralled. Expand
  51. PhilO.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A display of on-screen magic perfectly crafted by Del Toro.
  52. MattF.
    May 30, 2007
    8
    I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, I would definitely agree with many of the reviewers of the film in that Pan's Labyrinth is better than pretty much anything I've seen in recent memory. This is due neither to it being a foreign film or it being made out of the Hollywood system. If the film is separated into it's constituent parts - acting or special effects or cinematography - there are, I will give you, better films made. But what makes this film stand out is its tapestry use of these constituencies. The special effects, for example, are not made to form the alltogether trite "spectacle" reaction. The acting as well doesn't have the crying breakdown scene, another form of hollywood-derived spectacle. The film, rather, is a study in subtlety. The story does not call for crappy remake King Kong special effects, its cinematography is subdued to counterpoint some of the ultraviolent scenes, etcetera etcetera. With that said, I was actually a bit disappointed with how the fantasy realm was set up. The child was obviously utilizing this fantasy to escape the militaristic strife around her yet her fantasies did not, for me, become enough of an escape. They were still too rooted in a realism - a non-eden, non-childlike state - that left me understanding a dichotomy that wasn't entirely functional. Overall great stuff. Expand
  53. TimF.
    Jun 19, 2007
    8
    Good movie, yes. but perfect? a 10/10? No. Critics have seriously over-hyped this movie don't go along expecting to see the movie of the year and you will be richly rewarded rather than slightly disappointed.
  54. LisbethJ.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you Great movie. Really beautiful and touching. I wouldn't give it the highest vote though, because it's not the best movie I've ever seen, but it's very good. If you like movies that are visual stunning, has an adventurous story and will move you, you should watch it. If you only like action packed comedy or movies that will leave you with a happy feeling, you shouldn't watch it. Expand
  55. MatthewH.
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away I do not believe this movie was ever over hyped, for e.g star wars episode1 suffered greatly to over-hyping, what this movie got was critical acclaim. The difference being, this film was not forced down our throats with advertising, but instead critics and people all found the film highly enjoyable. That said, going into it i was scared of the fact it was subtitled might distract me away from the on screen fun, I'm happy to say it didn't, in fact helped the story feel even more of an escape. It is a fairy tale for adults, and one which i believe should be seen by everyone. Expand
  56. JordanR.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama Instantly in my top 5. Emotionally complex and dark, not a kids movie, although for adults this film is wildly entertaining and insightful to our own inner child as we find courage to face our biggest fears and challenges every day. Beautifully crafted with unexpected and likable (though not all human) characters, spot on acting, and brilliant cinematography brings a unique blend of drama & suspense like no other film I've seen before. Expand
  57. PeterJ.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie. This film had every possible emotion in it and played it out perfectly. The guy that gave it a two would probably enjoy NORBIT.
  58. MegB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Excellent film, very well done. Much darker than I expected. I've recommended it to several people since I saw it.
  59. Abbyl
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    This movie was beyond my greatest expectations. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who likes a mind blowing movie. It was intense and very real, but magical.
  60. MarkB.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point Excellent film, through and through. For the few people who posted on here and said that it was filled with unnecessary violence: I agree and I disagree, and I think you missed the point. Here's what I mean: The entire point is that the violence IS unnecessary, and ultimately inconsequential. But it was necessary for the director to show this violence because he's making a point about fascism. It is necessary to see that the consequences of blind obedience and fascism is unnecessary and meaningless deaths. Get it? Expand
  61. AdrianneZ.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this whole movie is in Spanish, you understand it all.
  62. ChrisC
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    Outstanding. Del Toro managed to mix innocence,fear and politics with a fairytale. The way Del Toro built up the climax of the movie was just perfect to give this sdult fairyutale a fantastic ending. Splendid script and genius photography. The movie was outstanding and didnt need a great score to make it better like other movies, but Navarrete's score is a classic.
  63. GordonS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    7
    I liked it. I don't agree with such a high marks though. There was quite a few boring scenes that didn't bring much or help building the atmosphere.
  64. ****
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    Another breathtaking example of the incomprehensible talent Guillermo del Toro has at his disposal. And to echo the discourteous Lena J, kiss my ass Fredrick T!
  65. TBird
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    For me this movie was perfect in every way. I encourage everyone to view it and form their own opinion as this movie deserves to be watched and discussed by all.
  66. PatC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of undeniable insight and power.
  67. NormL.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Awesome. Stirring. Take your breath away.
  68. SiniH.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Very sad and fantastic with solid story.
  69. SaulS.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    The Best fantastic movie, and the best, he made for a Mexican.
  70. AndrewR.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gives this movie less than a 9-- is just plain dumb. too dumb to figure out what a good movie is. this movie was brilliant, probably one of the best films I've seen in my life.
  71. RobertK.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as any visual art in recent years. (You close your eyes hoping the image will have passed; it's usually that much more intense.).
  72. EricG.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
  73. LydiaJ.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    This is clearly a brilliant film, a "fairy tale" for adults. Surely anyone who has lived at least 45 years recognizes the fact that evil tends to masquerade as innocence and beauty. Bravo to Guillermo Del Toro for creating a film that gives words, and image, to the all so painful truths of life, and human behavior.
  74. MasherM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen it yet do not listen to the few stupid and deluded individuals who believe Pan's Labyrinth is a bad movie. See Pan's Labyrinth yourself, Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen it yet do not listen to the few stupid and deluded individuals who believe Pan's Labyrinth is a bad movie. See Pan's Labyrinth yourself, and prepare to be blown away. Expand
  75. MiguelB.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to believe that Ofelia died in vain and that fairies never existed or you can choose to believe that she made a change, and some sort of "heaven" awaits This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to believe that Ofelia died in vain and that fairies never existed or you can choose to believe that she made a change, and some sort of "heaven" awaits for people who do the right thing, which most of the times is the difficult painful thing, in other words you can choose to be Vidal or to be Ofelia, it´s called free will, remember that the pan never forced Ofelia into nothing, she chose her path, the one she thought was the right one, and she lived with the consequences. People who bash this movie do it because they were expecting a clear end, they were expecting the director to take them by the hand and show them the way out of this madness, they couldn't stand the stress of the overwhelming ambiguity and uncertainty of the film, but it is ok because that was the intention of the film, (in other words you feel like Ofelia did, you feel lost, and you choose to believe what you think is right) This is not the never ending story kind of film where everybody lives happy for ever and ever, or the labyrinth where Sarah and her brother Toby return home safely. Hmmm or is it?? Greetings from Mexico. Expand
  76. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    This movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the Spartans or Epic Movie, since you obviously don't know what a real film is. A perfect 10/10 for Pan's Labyrinth.
  77. JeanB
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    This movie is definitely not a fantasy film. If you judge by the normal measures of cinema, and not by your own arbitrary expectations, you will find an truly epic film.
  78. JanetC
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    A BEAUTIFUL anti-Fascist allegory, which can also be enjoyed merely on a surface, aesthetic level. Anybody who fails to be impressed by this has no heart, no soul and no mind. Flawless in concept, casting and execution.
  79. CooperH.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    I have never fallen so much in love with a story before seeing this.
  80. MarkD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Stunning visuals and a great story.
  81. JajaM
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    It was so beautiful shot and i fell in love with the characters.
  82. PedroM.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie. Very entertaining, really a classic. It has lots of violence, but instead of insulting it is sad, and makes one aware that reality is more violent.
  83. HugoB.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Most beautiful, emotional and gripping movie I've ever seen. I was left feeling happy and sad all in one go.
  84. MikeN
    May 20, 2008
    9
    Honestly, this film is simply confused. Del Toro should have choosen one story line or the other to be the center of the film and the other story to support and enrich it. As it stands, neither story seems real. That said, the imagery is unforgettable.
  85. JakeH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Holy Shit! This movie kicked ass! The gory bloody parts are amazing and the fact that it's in a different langauge totally ROCKS!!
  86. MichaelM.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    Imaginative, amazing.
  87. ChenL.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    What a beautiful movie.
  88. joeq
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so great, so I'd have to say you're the one who is being "simply ridiculous". I though the film was good movie, and be a big Guillermo del Toro fan Um, liz S, you just picked the two people who rated below you to comment on, you didn't even read most of the reviews. Also, saying, the movie is perfect doesn't provide any sort of insight or details as to why the film is so great, so I'd have to say you're the one who is being "simply ridiculous". I though the film was good movie, and be a big Guillermo del Toro fan certainly doesn't hurt. I though it was creative enough, but also a little excessive at points. Expand
  89. GrantZ
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around her mad? Examine the story closely and it can be made more life-like. The fawn that tells the girl to steal the baby and do all this bad stuff could Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around her mad? Examine the story closely and it can be made more life-like. The fawn that tells the girl to steal the baby and do all this bad stuff could just be paedophile. She lives in a war torn area. So the monster with eyes in it's hands couldbe a blind person, who has been tortured to feel their way around. The film is deep, you have to think to get it and it's also beautifully haunting. Expand
  90. TomT
    Jan 27, 2009
    7
    Brilliant elements, but they don't quite cohere. For me, the graphic ultra-violence limits the appeal. Yet the savagery of the Spanish conflict can hardly be overstated. A friend's father was a youngster who fled his bombed provincial town with thousands of civilians, mostly women and children. Every warplane they encountered, of either side, bombed and strafed these innocents.
  91. BillL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Flawless masterpiece. Unforgettable.
  92. EddieEagle
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic performances by the lead actors. Del toro cleverly interweaves the fantasy world and the real world proving to be a true master of his art. Bodes well for his Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic performances by the lead actors. Del toro cleverly interweaves the fantasy world and the real world proving to be a true master of his art. Bodes well for his next project- the hobbit. If you have not seen this film I would encourage you to check it out and if you do not have a tear in you eye at the end you are made of some stern stuff Expand
  93. goodmovielolz
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Kevin c is incredibly ignorant. this movie is brilliant. im sorry that some of you are too stupid to understand it.
  94. CarmineC
    May 3, 2009
    10
    i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a smart argument for why it wasnt a great movie, post it here, Miguel V, you and kevin c are the only morons that rated it with a 2, you are not i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a smart argument for why it wasnt a great movie, post it here, Miguel V, you and kevin c are the only morons that rated it with a 2, you are not critics, me neither, but i see good movies and i can differ a good movie from a bad one. Expand
  95. PaulD
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into the human need for religion, the need to believe in life beyond death etc. in a world that is often cruel and without meaning. I'm personally an This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into the human need for religion, the need to believe in life beyond death etc. in a world that is often cruel and without meaning. I'm personally an agnostic but this film gave me a new understanding of the religious mindset. A beautiful film that works on almost every level. Everyone should see it. Expand
  96. EmericC
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Great movie, great actors. But something's missing in the plot.
  97. LizS
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of cinematography. It is simply perfect and enchanting. It has some much more meaning than most of the films out there playing in theaters at the present moment.
  98. Unknown
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described as one the most provocative films of the decade. The story brilliantly portrays the harsh realities of the Spanish war and a young girl's After reading some of the reader reviews, I have completely lost faith in public opinion - moreso.This hauntingly beautiful foreign fairy tale/war movie, that intricately interplays abstract fantasy, and gritty realism can only be described as one the most provocative films of the decade. The story brilliantly portrays the harsh realities of the Spanish war and a young girl's desperate need to escape it, which leads to a heartbreaking climax which will annoy most, and leave others wallowing in its wondrously ironic metaphor. This is a thinking persons movie, and for those who say complain about the graphic violence, are the types of people who live in complete ignorance and shelter themselves from the realities of war. Although I would have liked to see more the subtly stylized fantasy aspect of the film, I understand why they abruptly cut it short - fairy tales do not last forever. With a haunting soundtrack, brilliantly well told story, fantastic acting and exquisitely disturbing images of the war - this is one film a smart person MUST see. Expand
  99. BillyC.
    Feb 12, 2010
    9
    Modern fantasy tale - as graphic as any of the old Germanic tales. Visually wonderful - one of the very few movies I'd suggest getting on Blu-Ray (Yes, there is a visible difference in this movie).
  100. WIlC.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I still watch it habitually and I am still completely blown away by it every time I watch it.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Pan's Labyrinth artfully fuses a war film with a family melodrama and a fairy tale. The result is visually stunning and emotionally shattering.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    100
    Dark, twisted and beautiful, this entwines fairy-tale fantasy with war-movie horror to startling effect.
  3. 100
    One of the greatest of all fantasy films.