Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2268 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,977
Mixed:
157
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
luisVDec 29, 2006
NO le encontré lo que la mayoria de los críticos le estan encontrando de impresionante.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattHarrisonNov 19, 2007
There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thingThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 16, 2008
obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinArcadeFireAug 29, 2010
I don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch aI don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardly ever gets boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebliApr 3, 2012
Literally the best of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebluApr 13, 2012
This is a real movie. All movies should be like this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
LiamRJul 3, 2012
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
SeriouslyRonJan 5, 2013
What a fantastic film! A masterful blend of horror, fantasy and drama. Del Toro is a true visionary. The fact that it's in Spanish makes it ten times better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
hardwired7Oct 12, 2012
This movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background of my mind. It is a canonical work of art.
26 of 30 users found this helpful264
All this user's reviews
10
JDubree_OKC13Dec 7, 2012
Pan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almostPan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almost perfectly acted. For a fantasy film; the acting brought a sense of realism. The major high-point of this film is the story, which was beautifully crafted, and thoroughly entertaining. Pan's Labyrinth is an all around amazing fantasy film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
QuixsilverFeb 18, 2013
"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while juxtaposing it to the harsh realities found in desperate times. It is a twisted fairy-tale that is shown aesthetically well and is told through the imaginative perspective of a child making fantasies to overcome struggles and tragedies. Del Toro's visual masterpiece is both plot and character driven and this combined with its dark themes make it an adult's fairy-tale that is easily toys with your emotions. Lovers of bittersweet endings will truly enjoy this film and even after the film is over; it continues to linger in your mind and may incite even further discussion. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
guyadfJun 6, 2013
great. This movie shows the pain and tragedy of war.
i can't enlish. so i can't write a reaview in english. but. this movie great i know it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChaserelliAug 13, 2013
Marvelous to the deep core, 'Pan's Labyrinth' is s astounding, so fantastic, that one must wonder how Guillermo del Toro came about some of the instances in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gdaddy72Sep 14, 2014
Del Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think of the how far Star Wars was ahead of it's time in '77) had...Pan's Labyrinth is well deserving of it's 98...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MummyFeb 4, 2015
wonderful movie and one of the great fantasy movies of all times.
it shows us borders between fantasy and real, between children's world and adult's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CavafyJan 5, 2016
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine period of great brutality set in Spain. But what is the film all about? The
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine
period of great brutality set in Spain.

But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and
with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense
of both watching and being sucked into a powerful story.

The film makes sense when you put in an even more brutal scene played out
almost nine months previously. The captain has clearly terrorised the area
and all the surrounding communities. We have learnt that mother knows it is
important that Ofelia recognise the captain as father; we know that Ofelia is
coldly indifferent or more towards him; that at the time of the dinner she
wilfully rolls in the mud – though ostensibly away with a faun (Pan has
always been the go-between twixt man and gods, being half man and half
mythical beast, a messenger and chord of communication with the other
World) – ruining the expensive shoes and beautiful dress that her mother has
given her for the occasion – Ofelia of course knows that such dress was
provided indirectly by her “father” the captain.

We learn that the mother is considered a great beauty, though in the film she
does not come across so, seeming a shadow, a shell of her perhaps previously
vibrant self; in conversation between her brother-to-be-born, Ofelia talks of
the wondrous way her mother comes alive when she smiles, informing he and
us that her present austerity and zombie condition is not all she can be ..
We know that Ofelia’s real father was a tailor, that the captain was one of his
clients; and the unseen, unshot scene of nine months previous comes
harrowingly view.

The captain whilst being fitted for a new uniform espies the beautiful wife of
his tailor, he must have her and he kills the father and rapes the mother. In
shades on the Tin Drum we see Ofelia perhaps observing this from beneath
the table and we understand what has driven this child to seek the solace and
comfort of her make-believe book-driven world…

We now understand the opening scene; the late arrival with birth imminent of
the mother and Ofelia and the Faustian pact that mother has made.
We can imagine this butcher, this captain, king of his territory seeing this
beautiful woman ripen into pregnancy carrying the child he must have
fathered and in the death-throes of a war he knows is lost the imperative of
the necessity for him to gather to him his heir – we have been told that he is
illogically certain that the unborn is a boy and we know he is totally unfeeling
to the mother and that her death is of no concern, but rather, at all costs, and
at any risk to the mother, the birth of his son and heir is paramount.
So he sends his troops and convoy to fetch this woman, this carrier of his
ripening seed, such that he too can pass on his watch..

The last scene, the death of Ofelia shot by the captain sees that as her life force
ebbs she seeks refuge in becoming her fairy princess alongside her mother
and real father and thus can, and does die, with an almost smile on her lips.. This is the only way that makes sense of this sometimes graphically brutal tragedy; the way a young girl seeks refuge from brutal reality and in the understanding comes an even greater sense of this time of brutality and savagery, which whilst set in the aftermath of the real civil war – the captain at one point reminding us of this by proclaiming that such war his side had “won” – sees an extension of this under the cloak of the broader 2nd world war. One of the best, perhaps even the best film I have seen that clearly has marked the psyche and consciousness of all who have seen it; though not one for either the faint-hearted or those without the backdrop understanding of this traumatic period. The impact and trauma of the times and the way this reverberates through the generations to the present day is a theme indirectly explored in the book by Robert Wilson, “The Blindman of Seville”, which book I am now moved to reread; or should I instead re-read “The Wisdom of Crocodiles” a book which explores the extreme consequentiality of disparate actions… A powerful film that has had me thinking all night and caused me to put pen to paper at 4am…..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Zohaibpk02Feb 16, 2017
This is the nice movie I ever watch. You should share this on Social networks for quick promotion. buy Twitter followers, Instagram followers and Facebook likes from http://Followersgain.co.uk/
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews