Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2302 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,008
Mixed:
160
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
TonyLJan 10, 2007
Although I do not think this movie is a zero, I want to decrease the bloated score of this film as much as possible. I am left utterly confused by the many critic and reader high scores. What movie did you see, am I blind, have I lost my Although I do not think this movie is a zero, I want to decrease the bloated score of this film as much as possible. I am left utterly confused by the many critic and reader high scores. What movie did you see, am I blind, have I lost my sensibility, am I or you in some way deluded? Is there an invisible wave of totalitarian group think affecting all the high scorers where a few high scores compel others to fool themselves into thinking that something is simply profound that attempts to make a profound statement. For how can you not love a movie that critiques Fascism and compares the violence of the real world with the violence of fantasy world. OOOOHHH that must be so profound, how creative and genius he must be to associate these two worlds. I gathered little or nothing from this, and his metaphor was as bloated as the critic scores were. Maybe that's it, people do not want nuance and want a metaphor, an image, and violence to smack them upside the head. It provokes little thought and only near the end when the band of brother comrades ambush the fascists and kill them in the execution style of the captain did I think, yes, that is it even the communist who pretend to be liberators and on the side of the good, participate in the same violence as the fascists. We are all potentially fascists, no one is safe, even in the fantasy world. Although del toro maybe hints at this, he leaves us mostly with his one-dimensional carictaured approach to a time in spanish history that was filled with ambiguity, violence, and tore a country and people apart which resonates to this day and continues to divide and be an issue for spaniards in 2007. At the end I was barely moved and was left numb not by the obvious but by a with-what-did-I-miss daze that everyone else so clearly seemed to see in this supposed beautiful, thought-provoking movie. A movie in the end that is neither a good fairy-tale or insight into the spanish civil war or human nature. Expand
1 of 18 users found this helpful
6
JoshB.Jan 14, 2007
Great visuals, but the plot lacks quality. The "real" aspect is simplistic and uninteresting, the "fantasy" aspect doesn't make sense, and there are no meaningful crossovers or parallels between the two plot lines.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RebeccaJan 15, 2007
This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for This movie wasn't what I was expecting coming into it. I did not read up on the movie because I did not want the plot spoiled, so I missed the part where it said it was subtitled. I do not mind subtitles, but was not expecting it for this movie. Other than that I really enjoyed the plot and the visual effects. It was shocking, gritty and had me on the edge of my seat. I will be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
WalterC.Jan 21, 2007
The merits of Pan's Labyrinth have been pretty well documented. Just look at the other users saying it's the greatest thing they've ever seen. It's definitely got some good points to it. Being marketed as a fairy tale for The merits of Pan's Labyrinth have been pretty well documented. Just look at the other users saying it's the greatest thing they've ever seen. It's definitely got some good points to it. Being marketed as a fairy tale for grown-ups, and with about half of the scenes in the trailer looking like an amped up Chronicles of Narnia, I assumed it would be equal parts fantasy and reality. Like many others, I was disappointed to find that the film only had about 15 or 20 minutes of fantasy in it. The rest focusing on an evil stepfather, a mother who makes bad choices, and a plane of reality where people are generally just jerks to each other. Had I gone into this thinking it was going to be a suspensful drama about how lousy life was for that group of people, I would have wondered why they decided to tack on the subplot about the girl's imaginary friends. But even then, any verisimilitude in the "realist" narrative is clouded by hyperbollic characters that are just as over-the-top as a 7-foot faun. Pan's Labyrinth is enjoyable, but certainly not the best movie in its genre, of its time, or even of this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicholasW.Oct 21, 2007
Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't Ya, I guess I can't understand the low ratings either, I guess if the moive wasn't for you...than an 8 maybe..I haven't seen many movies this good...this is a really good movie- period- the 4's I see I just can't make sense of...definitely worthy of a 98 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KarlaG.Jan 21, 2007
This movie was not as fantastic as everyone is saying. I was sorely disappointed with the fantasy elements, directing and the overall story. I expected much more and am surprised to find everyone rating this so highly.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
michaeld.Oct 22, 2007
Violent and grotesque, and sorely lacking in fantasy elements, Pan's Labyrinth is much more a war drama than a proper fantasy film. The story is more simple and common than critics have led us to believe and the effects are Violent and grotesque, and sorely lacking in fantasy elements, Pan's Labyrinth is much more a war drama than a proper fantasy film. The story is more simple and common than critics have led us to believe and the effects are poorly-crafted. There's not much for the average viewer, although I'm sure the film is a masterpiece to those who can't see beyond its indie veneer or for audiences who prefer violence to substance. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Jan 22, 2007
Wow. Pan's Labyrinth is easily the finest movie I've seen this year. The deck is stacked against it (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), but this is a foreign language film finer than most Best Picture winners and quite clearly Wow. Pan's Labyrinth is easily the finest movie I've seen this year. The deck is stacked against it (see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon), but this is a foreign language film finer than most Best Picture winners and quite clearly deserving of the award. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Jan 24, 2007
Breathtaking, I liken it to a Miyazaki film. Just utterly fantastic and unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MikeB.Jan 20, 2007
Beautifully done from a technical standpoint, but the frame story is pretty weak. The stepfather character is so over-the-top evil that he's hard to take seriously. Also, the rebels are uniformly brave and virtuous, which is pretty Beautifully done from a technical standpoint, but the frame story is pretty weak. The stepfather character is so over-the-top evil that he's hard to take seriously. Also, the rebels are uniformly brave and virtuous, which is pretty implausible...and not very interesting. I confess I have a lot of trouble with magical realism under the best of circumstances, so I may not be the best judge of that part of the movie. Nevertherless, I thought the fantasy seguences were the best part by far of what is otherwise a kind of cross between For Whom the Bell Tolls and the Halloween movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PatK.Jan 26, 2007
If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring If you expect a fantasy film, keep in mind fantasy is more than Tolkein and Lewis. Before them, fantasy and folklore were about the darker aspects of life and developed to attempt to explain the unexplainable cruelty, capricious and uncaring aspects of life. This movie is every bit a fantasy in this respect. Like the labyrinth (not the "maze" but the religious version, pictured on the floor of the chamber) each person's life is an attempt to navigate an often tortuous path without a clear destination - every character in this film does so, with those falling away suffering the physical and metaphysical consequences of doing so. The fixing of the broken watch, the pantomimed versus real knife-at-the-throat moments, the echoes upon echoes all suffuse the film with, like many a fairy tale, implied choice and consequence. I cannot wait for the DVD to continue to explore the many character contrasts in the film, and number del Toro amongst the truly great storytellers. If you went in expecting mindless fluff, you haven't seen a del Toro film before. He is a craftsman in an era of shallow and artless direction. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JOhnJan 20, 2007
This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world events unfolding in the film. If the film was more of a "pure fantasy" then that aspect of the film (the political allegory) would have been lost. Loved it. Fantastic. See this and Children of Men back to back. Both great, intelligent, politically charged films that don't pander to the crass, thoughtless impulses of most films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AbeV.Jan 28, 2007
This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as This was a brilliant movie. I really can't say enough great things about this film except that I loved it. Ever since seeing the preview I knew I had to see it, and it didn't let me down. It was every bit as tragic and glorious as I'd hoped. I think it may be one of the greatest accomplishments of cinema thus far. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Jan 7, 2007
I was fascinated by this film - Ivana Baquero evoked all the horrors of a child caught up in the European (Spanish) 20th Century. It wrenches us between the brutal real world with that of a girl's fantasy - or is it a fantasy? A I was fascinated by this film - Ivana Baquero evoked all the horrors of a child caught up in the European (Spanish) 20th Century. It wrenches us between the brutal real world with that of a girl's fantasy - or is it a fantasy? A gut-wrenching film that left me stunned - something that rarely happens any more to this jaded old guy... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
moviegoergeekJan 8, 2007
I don't usually rate the movies I don't like. This being my first time ever. It is because I can't understand the praise. AT ALL. Look, in spite of real good camerawork and some interesting visuals (hence, the 4) this movie I don't usually rate the movies I don't like. This being my first time ever. It is because I can't understand the praise. AT ALL. Look, in spite of real good camerawork and some interesting visuals (hence, the 4) this movie not only does LACK depht in characters, it is worse than that: some of them are the MOST DISGUSTING WALKING CLICHES I've seen in a long long time. Take the Captain, for instance. Not even in the dullest fairytale an evil-minded character was presented so one-sided as this one. It reminded me of Alfred Molina in that piece of crap called CHOCOLAT. Some scenes of torture are just for the sake of violence end doesn't add anything up for narrative or character development purposes. Some plot incoherences: why the hell Pan decides giving Ofelia another chance after she clearly failed to commit to her task? Because Del Toro was in need of some kind of closure?? Look, I live in a country who can really connect to military coups, torture and dissapeared people (I'm an Argentinian). I never expected these things to be treated as shallowy and gratuitous as in this movie. What is REALLY the message of Pan's Laberynth?? Because it HAS to be ANY!! After all, IT IS A FAIRYTALE, isn't it? (You know, the "Once upon a time" kind of thing - at least the movie begins that way) There must be a MORAL LEARNING at the end of it. Could be that ADULTHOOD SUCKS?? What an interesting and unique premise!!! Or there isn't? Oh wait!! It could be a fairytale with that latin-american device taken from novels and called MAGIC REALISM !! That would be GROUNDBREAKING!! Well, it's a crying shame It didn't work for THE HOUSE OF SPIRITS, and didn't work that much (at least for me) for LIKE WATER FOR CHOCOLAT. So I wonder why some critics are calling this VISIONARY AND GROUNDBREAKING!! What the f***!!! I'm sick and tired of MAGIC REALISM in movies. It desguises some SOAP-OPERATIC characters trying to lecture us into something REALLY important and profound, ultimately playing for effect and saying NOTHING. I CAN SAFELY BET no one that is giving this movie the highest rating will come away knowing anything of substance about the Spanish Civil War. I CAN ALSO BET no one looking for a fantastic and inspiring fairytale will come away seeing something fresh and new (This is no EDWARD SCISSORHANDS, nor Del Toro is Tim Burton) To me, Del Toro either was not inspired nor confident enough to mesh both worlds together into something plausible or smart. And THIS IS NOT GROUNDBRAKING as some dull critics say, for God sake!!!! He is a fine director, for sure, but he seems like a man desperately in needing of a TRUE plot. Nevermind it is a fairytale or a crime-thriller. If you are looking for a Mexican director making REAL waves, try Alfonso Cuarón's CHILDREN OF MEN instead. Now, that is a movie DESERVING ALL THE PRAISES IT'S GETTING. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AmandaM.Feb 15, 2007
This is definitely in my top 10 worst films of all time. Mediocre acting at best, horribly graphic and violent. Leave the kids home.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
LarryM.Feb 3, 2007
A great movie, but not for the squemish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanaM.Feb 4, 2007
I don't usually give movies 10s. But this one is special. Savage at times, mystical fantasy thorughout, this is a must see. Be ready to read the subtitles, but worth the effort.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KuldeepT.Feb 5, 2007
An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be An amazing visionary movie. A masterpiece. American cinema has been needing some re-invigoration and with no surprise it comes from outside the establishment. The striking analogy to today's headlines and political climate should not be missed (i.e. military fascism, torture etc). This is a real contribution to the art of cinema, a landmark film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DariusFeb 6, 2007
The film was mesmerizing. Brilliant political allegories and biblical parables, makes this a hard-to-miss-film. absolutely beautiful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MichaelE.Feb 7, 2007
Not a BAD film, but it doesn't feel like anything I haven't seen before. It's flatly shot and much too literal in its portrayal of both worlds. I think it's supposed to feel like The Lord of the Rings as directed by Not a BAD film, but it doesn't feel like anything I haven't seen before. It's flatly shot and much too literal in its portrayal of both worlds. I think it's supposed to feel like The Lord of the Rings as directed by Bunuel, but it feels more like the opposite -- Peter Jackson directing The Phantom of Liberty. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JonasW.Mar 10, 2007
ultimately fails to tie together the fantasy and the civilwar plot. The creature scenes seam strangely stiched on to an otherwise engaging post civil war story.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
TrevorM.Mar 1, 2007
The best movie of the year- beautiful, magical, haunting, and suspensful. Who knew bloody and beautiful would be in the same movie??
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeffC.Mar 1, 2007
Rated 98 out of 100. No way. It's short, rushed, kinda pointless. Not bad at all, just fairly boring in the end.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
7
MiguelM.Mar 18, 2007
It's a bit boring, but visually powerful, the "real" part it's too simple, the fantastic part it's beautifull. Overrated and hype, but it's worth seen it. Greetings from Spain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretG.Mar 2, 2007
It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter It's not often you see anything with a score this high on Metacritic, so I just had to see this movie and I was awestruck. At every point in the movie I was either contemplating "what this is" or "what this could be", gasping in utter horrorstricken suspense or gripping my seat, ect. Truly a great and very original movie. Although I half expected David Bowie to pop out at anytime to sing "Dance magic dance!" This is a movie that certainly doesnt disappoint, unless you want to see Davie Bowie pop out to sing "Dance magic dance!" maybe in spanish, theres nothing wrong with that I guess. David Bowie is cool man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
InexhumeMar 2, 2007
A film too simple-minded and and too unambiguous to be manipulative, which is why the rabid critical adulation has left me feeling somewhat perplexed. The visuals were subpar at best, though not because they weren't pretty to look at A film too simple-minded and and too unambiguous to be manipulative, which is why the rabid critical adulation has left me feeling somewhat perplexed. The visuals were subpar at best, though not because they weren't pretty to look at (they were), but because they lacked a keen sense of spatial awareness; the viewpoint remained consistently stagnant, even when in motion. As for the narrative bit, both threads, fantasy and real, were equally banal in their cosmology. Both world's were as readable as children's books, which equated to shallow film/character dynamics and total absence of dramatic complexity. All we're left with is a theatrical cartoon tacked with a transparent morality tale preaching the wonders of our ability to be rich, ethereal, and layered beings; ironic considering the movie and its superficial meanderings were anything but in execution. Anyone serious about film will know better than to praise this garbage. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Mar 24, 2007
Perfect film, a beautiful story with a brilliant ending. Best film I've seen in a very long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeAverageMar 5, 2007
Off the top of my head, 'bittersweet' and 'lyrical' are two adjectives that come to mind. Could come up with countless more. Will stay with you forever...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KidA.Mar 9, 2007
This is the most beautiful film I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MelissaW.Mar 9, 2007
The best film I have seen in the past 5 years. Del Toro has finally achieved the perfection he was close to in Devil's Backbone. After a few dull years I am actually inspired by the medium again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FrennB.Apr 2, 2007
I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not I'm a little bit surprised that so many critics, and viewers have given this film a 10. I think it's a beautiful, disturbing movie, and I would give it 8.5, cause I feel it stops short of true greatness only just. But a 10? Not sure. I'm a Spaniard, so I had the advantage of watching the movie in my mother tongue and accent. I happen to like a lot Sergi Garcia, from his earlier movies in France and Spain. He's great at comedy, and outstanding as a villain, as in this movie here. Maribel Verdu is a thirty-something actress who's been in movies since I was a kid (so was she), and is also a fine actress. The girl, Ivana Baquero, is also pretty good. So the acting is very good. The plot is OK-ish, if somewhat predictable , but it's well told, edited and beautifully shot. The imaginary and the real world are very well put together. The music is also beautiful, and falls into the "haunting" category so sought after nowadays, especially in a fairy-tale movie like this. I loved this film, and I strongly recommend it to anyone, but I wouldn't go to the cinema expecting a masterpiece, cause it ain't one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MH.Apr 5, 2007
This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and would probably have been more content to rent out Disney Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Great drama, unique story, not bad FX, still didn't like it much - fascists etc. - not quite entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.May 20, 2007
Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as Wow. This isn't a fantasy movie like it seems to be getting labled, but it is a masterpiece. It's got such an amazing amount of depth, and a story that is just as stunning as its visuals, and thats saying a lot. They're not as off the wall crazy as Lord of the Rings, they're more akin to a great painting. Simple and beautiful. If this film doesn't move you emotionally, and hit your soul like a ton of bricks, than you're a complete, heartless monster. And I'm dead serous about that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RexMay 30, 2007
I will be VERY blunt . . . This film does not deserve 98 out of 100 from the critics. It blows my mind how this film deserves that kind of score. I liked the movie, yes, but blown away? No, not even close. My main impression of the movie was I will be VERY blunt . . . This film does not deserve 98 out of 100 from the critics. It blows my mind how this film deserves that kind of score. I liked the movie, yes, but blown away? No, not even close. My main impression of the movie was slow and steady. None of the acting was inspired, the dialogue was not out of this world and even the special effects were ordinary. I am to the point where I think the film got 10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.May 30, 2007
An uncompromising fantasy epic. One of the very best of 2006.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PizzleRizzleMay 5, 2007
I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and reality started. The shocking violence was also refreshing. Only disney made fairy tales family-friendly. Hansel and Gretel is one of the most brutal and disturbing stories for a child. Their parents abandoned them, a witch tried to cannibalize them, and then they murdered her via fire. This film is what a fairy tale is supposed to be: invigorating, tragic, and thought-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewMay 7, 2007
Honestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco'sHonestly this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Superbly acted, and written, this movie is just masterfully crafted around reality and an escape from the rough life of a young spanish girl who is living through Franco's Spain in 1944. Just a great movie, do yourself a favor and watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KeetonJohnsonJun 1, 2007
This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's adventure and less of the war. One of the greatest movies of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MacW.Jun 13, 2007
Did we really need yet another movie to teach us that fascism is bad? Or that innocence should be cherished? We know these things, already; but, apparently, the makers of Pan's Labyrinth don't trust us. Really, though ... exactly Did we really need yet another movie to teach us that fascism is bad? Or that innocence should be cherished? We know these things, already; but, apparently, the makers of Pan's Labyrinth don't trust us. Really, though ... exactly what demographic is this film catering to?? IS there a market for movies that intercut fairy-tale sequences with graphically violent images of people repeatedly getting shot and having their faces bashed in? (Yes, this film really does show that...) Wake up, people!! The great movies are about characters and plot, not about visually stunning sequences that ultimately have no meaning. What a waste of celluloid this movie was. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradCJun 25, 2007
Perfect. Instant classic. Movies do not get any better then this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CTJun 2, 2007
A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most Western children are removed from except for their game consoles or news broadcasts. Read some pre-Victorian or non-Western children's stories and you may see why this more modern story is told so well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EduardoM.Jul 1, 2007
One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, original. A visionary film whose power of creation is unparalleled. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyLJul 20, 2007
First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar First I have to say great movie, second I agree with Lena, third it bothers me that people watch movies they know they're not going to like and then give them low scores. This film, as many have said, is the perfect mix of so many polar opposites. It is truly amazing how Del Toro actually pulls this movie off with such grace. I do believe that this movie deserves this score, it was breath taking... and the end?! Oh the ending was... well I won't spoil it but I left that movie feeling upset for Ofelia. Anyways the point is the movie is wonderful and no matter what there will always be that one person saying to the most universally acclaimed film, "It sucked, don't watch it." But always trust the minority or just watch whatever you like watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimmyJJul 20, 2007
It is disturbing. People exalt this movie with phrases like "exquisitely violent" letting me know that others saw the same things in this movie that I saw, but what I found repulsive they have found wonderful. For all of its qualities, I It is disturbing. People exalt this movie with phrases like "exquisitely violent" letting me know that others saw the same things in this movie that I saw, but what I found repulsive they have found wonderful. For all of its qualities, I cannot wrap my head around the idea that violence in and of itself is entertaining. I like action movies, I like car chases and kung-fu, I am a pretty self centered person when it comes down to it, why is that I am the only one who seems to find the idea of a father watching his sons face being smashed in with a bottle while begging and pleading only for both of them to be shot to be beyond reconciliation with the idea of an entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JordanHJul 20, 2007
Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the damn movie and decide for yourself but before you watcha and say it's stupid remember GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenUJul 20, 2007
Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer Very good movie, very compelling. And to say that I claimed it was good simply because someone told me it was is a lie. I can think for myself and watch a good movie. And yes critics usually rate foreign films high, but look at the sheer originality of those films, my opinion is that a lot of american directors either take a book and make a terrible movie, take a play and make a decent movie, or remake a foreign film and everyone loves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BickBJul 30, 2007
Lots of style but virtually no substance. Yes, fairy tales used to be much darker in the pre-Disney era, but just adding real-world violence and unhappy endings to a rather generic and underdeveloped fantasy plot does not the Brothers Grimm Lots of style but virtually no substance. Yes, fairy tales used to be much darker in the pre-Disney era, but just adding real-world violence and unhappy endings to a rather generic and underdeveloped fantasy plot does not the Brothers Grimm make. As for the script's many shortcomings (and, to be fair, the visuals were great and the acting as good as could be expected), other users have spoken most eloquently. I would only add that those who see the girl's dark fantasy world as a response to the brutality of living with her oh-so-wicked stepfather seem to have forgotten that the fantasy world was introduced before the stepfather was! Moreover, the ambiguity of the ending---one of the film's few narrative strong points---is apparently shattered by del Toro's DVD commentary; turns out it wasn't all in her head after all. Yet another problem for the "psychological response to cruelty" theory. But even if that WERE the film's intent, the message would be patronizing---as though there weren't countless other children in Spain and around the world suffering far worse yet maintaining their psychological strength (at the cost, of course, of innocence and imagination) rather than collapsing into self-destructive hallucinations. Manipulative rather than moving, "Pan's Labyrinth" calls to mind the old adage: "If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with B.S." Don't believe the hype. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RobHJul 3, 2007
I'm a lover of fantasy movies, and I still disliked this film. I am scratching my head at the mainstream reviews, some of which have the gall to compare this film to "The Lord of the Rings." This is the furthest thing from epic fantasy; I'm a lover of fantasy movies, and I still disliked this film. I am scratching my head at the mainstream reviews, some of which have the gall to compare this film to "The Lord of the Rings." This is the furthest thing from epic fantasy; it's a bloodbath that should be compared only to other horror films. Highly overrated, and definitely not for the squeamish. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MiriamMJul 6, 2007
Simply stunning. Nuff said.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FredrickT.Jul 8, 2007
This is one of those movies that shows that the public can't be trusted to think for themselves. Reviewers gave it high marks, like they do most foreign movies, and people say it was good because they were told it was good. The film had This is one of those movies that shows that the public can't be trusted to think for themselves. Reviewers gave it high marks, like they do most foreign movies, and people say it was good because they were told it was good. The film had some decent special effects, the over all plot was OK, and scenes were shot nicely. But the story moved along way to slow, the violence was too graphic, and had cookie cutter characters. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElinGAug 2, 2007
This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at This movie is amazing and I believe it deserves its place on metacritics all-time high scores. It is a beautiful, tragic, and sometimes traumatizing portrayal of how brutally war affects children. Yes, this movie is very violent, but at least the violence is there for a reason: to demontrate the horrors of war. And Bick B, I think you're completely wrong. This film dazzled with brilliance, which is why it is one of the highest rated films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DaveRomitoSep 10, 2007
Did I miss something in this movie?? I thought it was awful. Could have used a lot more Labyrinth, and a lot less "Captain" shooting people in the face. This was a huge disappointment, and the whole chalk door on the wall....well that wasDid I miss something in this movie?? I thought it was awful. Could have used a lot more Labyrinth, and a lot less "Captain" shooting people in the face. This was a huge disappointment, and the whole chalk door on the wall....well that was cool 15 years ago in BeetleJuice. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AndreaF.Dec 4, 2008
A very stupid, pigheaded, and hamfisted movie with a cartoon fascist villain, noble communist heroes(in fact, communists were worse in the Spanish Civil War), and a squeashily soapy story about an innocent girl. What a cheap and low way to A very stupid, pigheaded, and hamfisted movie with a cartoon fascist villain, noble communist heroes(in fact, communists were worse in the Spanish Civil War), and a squeashily soapy story about an innocent girl. What a cheap and low way to tug at our hearts by having the guy tormenting helpless little children? Like the recent chic for Che Guevara the mass murderer, this films is part of the radical leftist revival--funded by capitalists and suckers. Bad ugly movie. By the way, the fantastical elements are hoary and cliched. It's C. S. Lewis crossed with Stephen King. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JonMJan 3, 2008
A great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thoughtA great fantasy adventure that despite some incredulous remarks and 0 scores still rates at 8.4. This says much for the maligned few who judge not on message but on appearance, choosing to bypass the part of the brain that processes thought and sends them straight out of the rear. To avoid this film because of such pretentious folks thinking they are above the underlying meaning of the film is nigh on criminal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Feb 21, 2008
This film is haunting in every sense of the word. In fact, this movie redefined it for me. Every scene has stayed with me in a way that entire movies rarely do. An accomplished feat of filmmaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
The most successful of it's kind. Great, memorable scenes. Beautiful and grotesque, always tense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisS.Jun 6, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is a beautiful fairytale for adults, that will remain in someone's mind for a long time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveJ.Jul 24, 2008
My wife & I rarely watch a rented movie twice--preferring to return the movie as soon as we can & get another one. This one we not only watched twice, but we also invited others to join us when we watched it the second time! Loved it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarioJan 15, 2009
Pan's labyrinth is a must, if you haven't rent it, then DO IT! it's a nice movie I loved it and I hope everyone else does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BryanLJun 5, 2009
Variety reviewer Justin Chang calls the violence in Pan's Labyrinth "exquisite." I suppose Del Toro's bloodlust is shared by all critics, since its Metacritic score is 100. I don't abhor violent movies. But the violence here Variety reviewer Justin Chang calls the violence in Pan's Labyrinth "exquisite." I suppose Del Toro's bloodlust is shared by all critics, since its Metacritic score is 100. I don't abhor violent movies. But the violence here is overly gorey and in your face though not in a Kill Bill way. Despite the title, little time is spent among fairies and such, but when they do appear, their horrific appearances and actions elicit almost no terror from the certifiable little girl around whom the (lack of?) plot revolves. Slow, drab, boring, disturbing, and without anything positive to say, Pan's Labyrinth is one of the worst movies I've seen. Now if only I had savored all those delectable torture scenes and exploding brains like the "pro" critics seem to have done. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KanePJul 2, 2009
Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are Very few times do I watch a "hyped" film and expect it to meet the expectations. Pan's Labyrinth smashed all my expectations. Never have I viewed a film so beautifully crafted and executed. Beautifully constructed fantastic elements are juxtaposed against violent realism, creating an uneasy yet beautiful environment that is also an extremely tragic. This is the perfect example of film making at its finest. A film made with care, love and passion for the medium that is rarely seen in modern film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ReneCSep 25, 2009
Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these Excellent! I used this film as part of a school curriculum... Yes a I am a professor.. Some critics said: "a 6 because is violent"... These people should just look around them.. maybe they are playing the part of Ofelia... I think these people should go and live in Disneyland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EusebioPSep 7, 2009
Wonderful fairy tales and atrocious reality melt a lake of fantasy where you will drown like a child in the bed reading the Lord of the Rings for the first time. Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiagoFJan 6, 2010
Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece Brilliant. Magical realism at it's best. Some people don't like it because they expect something else. Others don't like it because they just don't get it. People who now what to expect and can understand this masterpiece will NOT be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
regsmithFeb 10, 2010
This was the most horrifying film I have ever seen. Considering it looked like it was for young children, I couldn't believe the violence and gratuitous horrible torture throughout. It was not my cup of tea and I would not recommend it This was the most horrifying film I have ever seen. Considering it looked like it was for young children, I couldn't believe the violence and gratuitous horrible torture throughout. It was not my cup of tea and I would not recommend it to anyone, there was no value to it unlike Schindler's List or Saving Private Ryan where the story line at least made one understand the violence. I know this was about war and the horrors of war, but I sure could have lived without seeing this film. It was rated R but I think it should have been rated "Don't bother." Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
DaveHFeb 14, 2010
I did enjoy this film but I believe Guillermo del Toro can do better films than this one, it's good, but it doesn't interest me much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerrodApr 30, 2010
Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you Absolutely spectacular in its ability to simultaneously dazzle and provide scathing insight into the more sordid nature of the human condition.(In a side note the person who gave this a one for being too gruesome for children, which you claim is the intended audience, this movie is rated R which has never denoted that children should watch). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianneCMay 21, 2010
I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements I just saw this movie for the first time a couple days ago. I've never had the chance to see it and I've wanted to for the past four years. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes horror and fantasy. It has strong elements of both. It's a fantastic movie. So what if it has blood and gore in it and it's a fairy tale? No one ever said it was for kids. I wanted to see it when I was 12 and I think I would've been fine with it. This movie is definitely one of my favorites and I completely love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TroncoE.Jun 7, 2010
Netiher Goebbels could have done a better work... Luckyly, is not so easy to change the history. Spanish Fascism also ate the children... "La pasionaria", one of the famous republicans's leaders said once to another politician who had Netiher Goebbels could have done a better work... Luckyly, is not so easy to change the history. Spanish Fascism also ate the children... "La pasionaria", one of the famous republicans's leaders said once to another politician who had just spoken: "those were that man last words". Two days later, Sotelo was murdered by republicans assassins. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ColeeW.Dec 30, 2006
Intricate and graceful, del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth is a work of art to savor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeC.Jan 11, 2007
I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all I must say this movie was so good I'm going to see it again easily. I don't quite get all the negative reviews everyone (minus the critics of course) have been posting. Is it because mainly all critics enjoyed it? Probably but all this aside Pan's Labyrinth in my opinion is easily the best film of the Year! Full of character, mysteries & mainly a great story reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland Meets Hellraiser meets All Great Wartime Films. An astonishing accomplishment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenM.Jan 13, 2007
One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the One of the best films of the year if not the best. It's a grown-up, unrelenting version of a child's fairy tale. The key difference -- we don't get the happy, joyful ending that children need. It's grand mix of the realities of war, and the fantasies of a child stuck in its middle. The violence is grisly, unrelenting, but that's the point. War is hell, life can be hell, and to not show the gore, the blood, the terrible deaths, is coddling to the viewer. One viewer says the violence is "entirely gratuitous" -- how lucky she is to have never seen anyone shot or killed. Heartbreaking? Yes. Shocking? Yep. But hopeful, too. And not easily forgotten. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
4
JoshA.Jan 13, 2007
I don't see what all the fuss is about. It was okay. That's all. Just okay. Nothing deep. Nothing profound. The most interesting scenes -- in the labyrinth -- are about 20 percent of the movie. Just not much to write home about. I don't see what all the fuss is about. It was okay. That's all. Just okay. Nothing deep. Nothing profound. The most interesting scenes -- in the labyrinth -- are about 20 percent of the movie. Just not much to write home about. Total example of critics being too scared to be the only bad review for an artsy film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradG.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful, terrifying, and heartbreaking. Fantastic movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LauraG.Jan 14, 2007
I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood I would score an 8.5 if it was an option. With a 97 rating on Metacritic, I was expecting something totally amazing. Don't get me wrong, it is very good, but just not amazing. I will say that it is inspiring to see this Hollywood director create something so visually engrossing. The actors for Ophelia, the Captain and Mercedes are in very good form. But the story itself needs some fleshing out - I just wanted more. You never fully connect with any character except a complete disgust for the Captain and sympathy for his victims. The transitions between reality and fantasy are often odd or abrupt. Could have been amazing, but just didn't quite get there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GiulioP.Jan 14, 2007
Stay away from this film unless you would like to see pointless violence, a vapid heroine, two dimensional characters, and boring seen-it-before art direction. This film is a complete loss and a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ZimonZ.Jan 14, 2007
The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. It's a total wreck. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadShiiraJan 15, 2007
"Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex."Pan's Labyrinth" might've been a coming-of-age film had there been a boy for Ofelia(Ivana Baquero) to come-of-age with. In the absence of cute guys, Ofelia invents a fantasy world, which can easily be read as a sublimation of sex. There's phallic symbols all over the place. In one scene, she seems to run away from, by all appearances, a seven-foot penis, after eating some forbidden fruit. Her sexual awakening is conducted brilliantly in code. An argument can be made that she's actually creating from her bed whenever the film switches into fantasy mode. In another scene, Ofelia crawls into a tree stump and gets mud all over her face. She feels dirty, but still her curiosity lingers. Check out the size of the key she discovers. "Pan's Labyrinth" also works as a very sophisticated genre film(like "The Devil's Backbone"), which is this filmmaker's speciality whenever he's not making inspired pop entertainments, because he shrewdly places the fantastical firmly in a very realistic setting. "Pan's Labyrinth" is a great film to "read". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MichaelB.Jan 10, 2007
Apparently, I saw the same film as fellow reviewer Dave R. did. If you look beyond the special effects, the plot is hackneyed and paper-thin. So many of the characters appear as one-dimensional caricatures.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
AlanC.Jan 18, 2007
New York Magazine rates it 80...their reviews are the most unreliable of any publication I read. The movie is fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
A.HadJan 10, 2007
The extreme violene and gore in the real-life depiction sucks the life out of the movie. Cutting back and forth between the two stories, fantasy and reality, was tiresome. The experience was laborious for me and at times just distasteful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeF.Jan 19, 2007
Better, even, than The Devil's Backbone. I was astonished at how much I liked this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidSchajerJan 19, 2007
If you enjoy endless scenes of gratuitous violence -- rush to see this film. If you believe that gunshots to the head, stabbing a man's face then shooting him, a woman cutting a man's mouth open, and so on have any place in a "fairyIf you enjoy endless scenes of gratuitous violence -- rush to see this film. If you believe that gunshots to the head, stabbing a man's face then shooting him, a woman cutting a man's mouth open, and so on have any place in a "fairy tale" -- then this is the film for you! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful
10
TimJan 21, 2007
i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house i just saw this film and... i dont even know where to begin. my heart has been ripped in two... the devastating beauty, yet the devastation- the entire theater was dead silent when the credits began to roll, every soul in the house marinating in the beautiful sadness... the reviews cannot convey... you must see it yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyM.Jan 21, 2007
I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that I just saw the movie not too long ago and it was worth it. It's not for young children and then again people should have understood it knowing that the rating was and R rating.. The subject that came to my mind after the movie is that no matter how old you are you are always clashing between what is fantasy and what is reality. In our minds as people we are always clashing with what is fantasy and what is reality. It does not matter what perception our minds are in the chaos is there to deal with as of now. M.S. said a lot in his comments and I am going to put them in here because this person made sense "M. S. gave it a9: Before I say anything about this movie I would just like to ask a few questions. Is the violence in this movie as gratituous or as brutal as many of the reviewers here would suggest? The answer to that question is no. The violence was by no means as gruesome or as intrusive to the film's messages as many of these score keepers suggest. I apologize but this isn't Hostel. Can you be THAT squeamish? My belief is a few of you don't believe that a contemporary piece can possibly merit such critical acclaim. As many of you have pointed out, you wanted to see that 98 go down a notch. Ok. Your vote only affects user scores, idiots. With that out of the way, I would like to announce that this is one of the most beautifully directed and realized films of the year. Though it's plot may be simple and the special effects may not devour the screen, the stark and grim reality of what is seen is portrayed with an unflinching love for what is possible in our minds. If anything, my only complaint would be that the fantasy world of Ophelia, the main character, was not seen enough. But I realize that this was necessary. It shows how the greed, bloodlust, and chaos of our world affects the minds of the young and the curious and how the real world's scary tendencies are not forgotten within the imagination. The scene with the horrifying "Pale Man" is the perfect example. A hideous and bloodthirsty, yet totally fantasized entity wishing to do harm to Ophelia. This helps emphasize on the truth that pain and fear as well as love and laughter encompass all worlds, whether fictional or factual. The concepts of our reality never die even if its imagery and logic does. Acting wise this movie is grade A. Every person in the cast makes his or her role believable and vital to the overall presentation. The camera work was gorgeous and the special effects were, if not subtle, breath-taking in their aesthetic. Before I decide to top this review off, I would like to say that the packed theatre I was in clapped loudly and before that clapped a particularly tense yet triumphant escape scene. It had a totally unanimous effect on the crowd, showcasing the genious of the movie's acting, writing, directing, and pacing. This film is not for everyone but for anyone with an open mind, heart, or imagination...please see this." Stephanie P's comments made sense as well.. "Stephanie P. gave it a10: For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen." Cindy L's comments are with writing on here.... "Cindy L. gave it a10: The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive." I can go on and on and find the right remarks that makes this movie worth seeing again and again and I for those who understood the movie's psychological conflict. The comments that these people made on here are exactly what the movie hits on. For those who give this movie a 1 or a 0, are you afraid of reality and live in a fantasy world? Open your minds and think for once!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieP.Jan 20, 2007
For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're For the naysayers who think that there was (a) no plot or character development, (b) lack of fantasy elements throughout the film, and (c) nothing worth loving in this film other than startling visuals, then I have to wonder if you're thinking outside of the box at all!!! del Toro does an amazing job at paralleling the fantasy of the Underworld and the fantasy of Fascism - the "fantasy" is throughout; it is a fairy tale throughout... sometimes you don't always need monsters with eyes in their hands to signify "fantasy"... but, that was pretty creepy/awesome too. And, insofar as lack of character development, if you didn't cheer when Mercedes did the-thing-that-she-did-that-I'm-not-going-to-say-here-so-as-to-not-spoil-the-plot, then I can see how you thought character development was lacking but I also wonder if you were paying attention. All in all, del Toro's statement on horror both in fantasy and in politics, is so of the time that the movie goes beyond a simple beautiful piece of cinema. It is also very well crafted and intelligent and one of the best examples of traditional-horror-as-reflection-of-the-current-zeitgeist that I have seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
E.K.Jan 20, 2007
Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood and much more fantasy... and maybe a few points of light throughout the film. I left feeling depressed and unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkA.Jan 20, 2007
Vastly overrated. If you're a fan of violence and horror movies, this movie is for you. If you're looking for an engaging story, skip this one. The graphic violence and torture scenes (which together make up more of the movie than Vastly overrated. If you're a fan of violence and horror movies, this movie is for you. If you're looking for an engaging story, skip this one. The graphic violence and torture scenes (which together make up more of the movie than the fantasy scenes, as others have pointed out) place this movie squarely in the category of "routine horror movie", not worthy of its must-see hype. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KurtS.Jan 20, 2007
I went to this movie with very high expectations, due to the critical acclaim in the press. Despite the intriguing visuals, the "fairy tale" aspect of this film lacked on a few key points. While classic fairy tales often weave their story I went to this movie with very high expectations, due to the critical acclaim in the press. Despite the intriguing visuals, the "fairy tale" aspect of this film lacked on a few key points. While classic fairy tales often weave their story between normal and alternative realities, the fantasy world of Pan's Labyrinth exists in a bubble, unaffected by the violence of war-torn Spain, and indifferent to changing those events. Ultimately, these two sides of the film don't speak to each other, and the viewer is forced to change gears between short snippets of a fantasy world and unrelenting, violent scenes of torture and civil war under the constant grim stare of the captain. I would have found it far more interesting if these two realities were allowed to intermingle and comment on one another. In the least, the fantasy should bring some point to the cruelties of a war-torn world. When it doesn't, this viewer is disinterested by what amounts to gratuitous violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BobB.Jan 20, 2007
I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come I agree with people saying that the advertisement campaign was pretty misleading, but at the same time I believe this movie is still pretty darn good. To be honest, I wouldn't have been disappointed at all if the ads had just said "Come see this movie, it's great". But instead they were pretty misleading, and in the end you think to yourself "Wow, that was a pretty good movie, but it wasn't what they said it would be", so overall you end up being pretty disappointed. Definitely not a smart move, in my view it's better to let the audience decide for themselves before you tell them how great your movie is. As for Ryan C, I think you missed the point of rating movies : You rate it what you think it should get, not rate it based on what other people gave it. If you thought it's overrated, fine, but lowering your score in an attempt to lower the overall score is just imposing your beliefs on other people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChazM.Jan 20, 2007
(**Possible SPOILERS warning**) Though this film has solid acting all around, pretty cinematography and an impressive visual imagination and control, the writing is just weak. For all the people who gave this movie a 10, can you remember me (**Possible SPOILERS warning**) Though this film has solid acting all around, pretty cinematography and an impressive visual imagination and control, the writing is just weak. For all the people who gave this movie a 10, can you remember me one line that stood out in your mind? Did any of the characters use--exercise--their minds or hearts deeply at any point in the story? No. They were wound up with keys in their backs in the beginning and set off: the vapid mother, the gritty servant, the evil tyrant, the earnestly vapid daughter, etc. Plus, for a movie called Pan's Labyrinth, why is the Labyrinth nothing more than an easily navigated maze that ends in an easily descendced staircase to a dull pit where nothing happens other than some dull conversation. What is so magical about this? The challenges Ofelia faces seem arbitrary, unpoetic, tasklike, and none of them really challenges her mind, her spirit, her heart, etc. Compare her choosing the keybox on the left instead of the middle with the scene in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade where Indy realizes the Holy Grail is the simple wooden cup, because that would be the cup of a carpenter. That scene showed both Indy's mind and his expansiveness of understanding humans. Ofelia strikes me as sort of dumbly just following Pan's directions other than her inexplicably leisurely stroll through the pale guy's lair, in which she, suddenly disregarding the faeries for no good reason, eats just one grape from a table filled with cakes and such. What was that? Del Toro thinks some really harsh violence will spice things up, but any of us could make an audience wince if you stick a sharp object where it ought not be stuck. That is no challenge, and it was so extreme as to be aggressive to the audience, and it left me with a real sense of disrespect for Del Toro as a person. Overall, such a disappointment from what this could have been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Jan 22, 2007
I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really I simply do not understand the dislike for this movie I've been seeing around the web. It's not Hellboy, but it really is a perfectly realized fable about life's choices, working on multiple levels which, frankly, are really not too difficult to figure out. This is Amelie-level accessible, and just as poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillG.Jan 25, 2007
This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. This movie is perhaps the most amazing movie I have seen in quite some time, certainly the best of 2006. It grabs you from the first scenes of the film and doesn't loosen its grasp even after it is over. Incredible acting by all actors. Not only a fantasy film, but a perfect drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
sointelligentJan 26, 2007
man, i'm really really smart, and this movie just wasn't as smart as i am! i'm sorry, but it really makes me feel even smarter when i can say a movie sucks that everyone else loves. i also hate the godfather (totally unrealman, i'm really really smart, and this movie just wasn't as smart as i am! i'm sorry, but it really makes me feel even smarter when i can say a movie sucks that everyone else loves. i also hate the godfather (totally unreal storyline), gone with the wind (yeah, as if there was a civil war??), and pulp fiction (not very well directed). i just wish more people would consult ME before making a movie, because i could really write a much better movie than this one. that's why i'm sitting on my ass passing judgement on people WAY more talented than i am! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful
9
SteveA.Jan 27, 2007
This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's American audience is burned out on war movies (and war period). I can also see a back-lash toward Eastwood's current war movie. Anyhow, I found this to be a wonderful movie. I loved the Mercedes character. Not only was she extremely humble and kind, but her fate seemed grave, and you could see the sadness and fear in her eyes throughout. To a lesser extent, my heart also went out for the little girl. However, the child was so entrenched in her fantasies (and her situation more hopeful) that it gave the character less rooting power than the Mercedes character. I think that might have hurt the end a little. Furthermore, by giving his artestry back to his people, Del Toro probably did the right thing. However, I also feel that Del Toro cooked his golden goose. If this movie had been made in English, it probably would have swept the Oscars and box office. (But is that what movie making is about?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidG.Jan 27, 2007
Dull, uninspiring, trite, over the top and clichéd. The ending? Give me a break.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidV.Jan 28, 2007
Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has Magical realism at its very best. Lyrically, one can not deny its relevance to Marquez. Likewise, this is the kind of story Rushdie has been trying to tell his entire career and has fallen short. The Renaissance of Mexican filmmaking has been underway for at least ten years now, and "Pan's Labyrinth" ranks among the country's very top achievements. Undoubtedly, the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimbeauR.Jan 28, 2007
This one gets my 2006 award for Movie Most Over-hyped by Intellectual Critics. Excellently acted and produced, but it ruins itself by an ending that destroys the (rather paranoidal and grim) fantasy part, which turns out to have been just a This one gets my 2006 award for Movie Most Over-hyped by Intellectual Critics. Excellently acted and produced, but it ruins itself by an ending that destroys the (rather paranoidal and grim) fantasy part, which turns out to have been just a lonely girl's attempt to escape an evil reality. And knowing the historical context--that the rebels' efforts were doomed to failure and that Franco's regime would rule Spain for another 30 years--made the ending even more pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful